Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort(5 stars)

Coastal Road View on map

Average rating

98 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.4
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.5
  • Location
    5.1
  • Food and Drinks
    5.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.7
Filters
You selected:
21 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Antoinette
Outstanding
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
I so enjoyed our stay at the Heritage Awali. Outstanding food and service always. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are always obliging. Do take the full-board as food and drink has become expensive in Mauritius if travelling from South Africa. All ages can be found at this resort and mostly South Africans, British, French and Germans. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    My husband is disabled and wheelchair bound. Room 1009 has a fully equipped bathroom to meet the needs of a disabled person. Imagine my delight as there was another en-suite for me so I did not have to share a bathroom with my husband. Spacious room with fan and air-con, mini-bar,safe,telephone, coffee machine, TV and patio. Buildings were in excellent condition and do have a spa treatment.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Excellent food especially at Infinity Blue. The resort was always clean as well as their restaurants and bars. Excellent service. Take the fully inclusive package so that you need not worry about the cost of food, beverage or drinks. Variety of food is excellent

  • Service
    6.0

    FANTASTIC FANTASTIC and OUTSTANDING always. Nothing was ever a problem that the staff could not see too. Staff are friendly and extremely professional.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Entertainment was lovely with various musicians and local dancers and dancing.Internet access. Pool and beach in tip top condition and beautifully maintained and clean always. Plenty sunbeds and outside shower. Don't have small kids so I cannot comment on the kids club and a little too old for a disco.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I so enjoyed our stay at the Heritage Awali. Outstanding food and service always. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff are always obliging. Do take the full-board as food and drink has become expensive in Mauritius if travelling from South Africa. All ages can be found at this resort and mostly South Africans, British, French and Germans.

  • Location
    6.0

    The south of Mauritius is beautiful and green. Nature reserves and nature trails and so much of the south is in its natural state. The north area of Grand Baie is touristy and expensive. Far distance to the airport. Must take that into consideration. Being in the south is to be in touch with nature.

Close
Terry
Best holiday ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
The whole resort is tastefully landscaped in luxurious grounds and gardens, full of colour and variety. The ground staff keep the place immaculate with constant attention to detail. Nothing is regimented and the whole accommodation layout is comprised of sweeping paths and quiet corners. Many of the main buildings are built using old sugar cane mill stone, the colours of which have a beauty of their own. Everywhere you see tile, marble and other natural materials. the roofs are of African timber shingles supported by natural round timber, while the interior furniture is comprised of a beautiful blend of dark ... hard woods. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was ample in size, with very efficient air conditioning, two sinks, bath and shower, well stocked, very comfortable bed, evening terrace, kept immaculately clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Top quality food, great variety, top quality service.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were kind, considerate and friendly. Nothing was ever too much trouble. There exists a genuine atmosphere of wanting to ensure that you enjoy every minute of your holiday. Everything is attended to down to the last detail. At all times during our stay we felt we had space around us, whether on the beach, swimming, eating or just taking a stroll. And we saw no litter during the whole two weeks!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Many leisure activities. Beautiful pools and clean beach with ample sunbed facilities and service.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The whole resort is tastefully landscaped in luxurious grounds and gardens, full of colour and variety. The ground staff keep the place immaculate with constant attention to detail. Nothing is regimented and the whole accommodation layout is comprised of sweeping paths and quiet corners. Many of the main buildings are built using old sugar cane mill stone, the colours of which have a beauty of their own. Everywhere you see tile, marble and other natural materials. the roofs are of African timber shingles supported by natural round timber, while the interior furniture is comprised of a beautiful blend of dark hard woods.

  • Location
    6.0

    Situated on the south west corner of Mauritius, this all inclusive resort boasts an off shore coral reef marked by the line of breaking surf as the Indian Ocean swell rolls in and an evening meal at the Infinity Blue eating location offers a sunset view over the ocean. At all times during our stay we felt we had space around us, whether on the beach, swimming, eating or just taking a stroll. And we saw no litter during the whole two weeks!

Close
Dieter
Comfortable hotel in Maritius.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • February 2014
We were for the first time on Maritius. The hotel was very much around its guests endeavored. Requests were fulfilled without any problem. Absolute well feeling hotel with very good cuisine and rich all-inclusive offer of drinks. You could eat lunch in the beach restaurant right on the beach in high quality food. We were german from the employee jölle very well looked after and advice, once again thank you. We can happily recommend this hotel. Dieter & Brigitte s. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Werner
Nice facility with very good service,
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Maybe not 5 star, but very good. Mainly french guests. Service not always perfect, but the friendliness makes everything more than made up for it. Drinks and food was very good, a very relaxing holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
Close
Nanna
Wonderful place
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
This hotel is very recommendable for families. The all inclusive arrangement is very god. Nice og good restaurents and several possibilties. Massage included. Very atmospheric african style hotel. very nice people working in the hotel. Poolssystem i beatyful and clean. Rooms are nice. Bathrooms perfect. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Roelof
Best holiday and resort ever
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The resort was really one of the best I've stayed in. We are planning to do our next holiday at the same resort and we are looking forward to that. The service was very good and they have a excellent kiddies club. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ieva
Amazing wedding and honeymoon in Heritage Awali
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
The hotel and all the grounds were really nice, you definitely get the "wow" factor after arriving. We were welcomed with drums and a refreshing drink. We had an early arrival and had to wait for our room to be prepared for a while, but got to use a shower in another building, which was really nice after a long trip from London. We actually had our wedding at the hotel, so a few hours after arrival we had a meeting with our wedding coordinator Nadine. I can only remember the best things about her, she was very attentive and ... made our wedding day just like we imagined. We were very pleased to have our wedding dinner in a beach kiosk for the same price as we would have had it directly on the beach! We were on Awali all inclusive basis and believe it's the best choice to go for it as everything in the hotel is quite expensive. You don't have much dining opportunities around the hotel, as the nearest town is not in a walking distance. The guests were mostly from UK, France and Spain. There were not so many kids in September and they most of all spend their time in one of the pools, so we could spend our time in piece. The hotel was full, but we couldn't understand where all those people go all the time, it really wasn't crowded or anything. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Rooms were really spacious and clean and we liked the window to the bathroom. The bathroom was also huge with a separate bath and a shower.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food was really good, even the buffet is amazing, because everything is prepared in front of you. For example, for breakfast you can choose an omelette with any additions you like and the staff will cook it for you in a few minutes. You can order drinks and pizzas directly to the beach, which was comforting. For dinner we mostly liked Infinity blue restaurant, they always had seafood, like prawns, fresh fish, etc. Lunch at Infinity blue is also a must! We also had lunch and dinner in the C Beach Club, but the food didn't mach our taste that much. Although it was nice to spend a day there on their beach nests/sofas. We didn't leave tips all times, it's not a must, but if you do, they are really grateful and even more attentive.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was really helpful and friendly, you can ask for anything or just pass by and everyone will smile for you, that really made our holiday more welcome. Of course, a tip always helps, after leaving a tip we always got extra attention, like some sweets delivered to our room, etc. You can speak English of French with them, we didn't have any problems with understanding each other. Our room was cleaned every day, we had a very friendly cleaner. We had free massages for the two in the spa and for us they were the best ever had.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We liked kayaks and pedal boats during less windy days. It's quite difficult to swim during windier days because of the tide. We always found free sunbeds although didn't come to beach very early. The hotel has three big pools in the main area and some smaller ones in the spa.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel and all the grounds were really nice, you definitely get the "wow" factor after arriving. We were welcomed with drums and a refreshing drink. We had an early arrival and had to wait for our room to be prepared for a while, but got to use a shower in another building, which was really nice after a long trip from London. We actually had our wedding at the hotel, so a few hours after arrival we had a meeting with our wedding coordinator Nadine. I can only remember the best things about her, she was very attentive and made our wedding day just like we imagined. We were very pleased to have our wedding dinner in a beach kiosk for the same price as we would have had it directly on the beach! We were on Awali all inclusive basis and believe it's the best choice to go for it as everything in the hotel is quite expensive. You don't have much dining opportunities around the hotel, as the nearest town is not in a walking distance. The guests were mostly from UK, France and Spain. There were not so many kids in September and they most of all spend their time in one of the pools, so we could spend our time in piece. The hotel was full, but we couldn't understand where all those people go all the time, it really wasn't crowded or anything.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is in an hour drive from the airport. It is situated directly on the beach in a peaceful location. The village Bel Ombre is not far away, but it's really small. Le Morne is on a short drive, but remember, that driving is on the left. We are used to right and found driving in Mauritius quite difficult, but possible. The other day we hired a taxi from the hotel and it was much better - we visited many places through the day, like Chamarel fall, Alexandra falls and Black River Gorges, Rochester falls, local market, etc. Casela nature park and interaction with lions is also worth a visit. We liked the south as everything was near - the beach, the mountains. The hotel is in a national park.

Close
Sue
Holiday in paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
The staff at this resort are wonderful, very happy in their work and can't do enough for you. We were thoroughly spoilt by everyone and made to feel very special. Wonderful food and location. Excellent resort can't fault it at all. Would recommend a torch for night time, some stairwells are poorly lit when it's dark. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Julia
Disaster
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • June 2013
Room was dirty, surfaces were sticky, even obvious dirt was not removed. After complaining was partly remedied. Toilet with security either before or during our stay cleaned. Room was noisy. Meal was more inedible, bad quality, little choice. A dinner per stay was possible in the chateau (better quality). Here was however tried, the reservation to prevent: shuttle was supposed to be paid for. Note, that drinks be paid separately have to. Many appointments were supposedly fully booked, although on the evening, at which we were there up to 15% utilization was available. Overall, we felt like guests 2. class ... felt. Despite universe inclusive (we have for the first and last time) were too many things impossible. Golf all-inclusive is to be still said, that the carts circa 50 Euro for 18 holes costs. Finally, i should like to say, that the 8-day horror stay at awali 10 days in another star hotel on Maritius spent there. The hotel was really 100% perfect. Only unfortunately we arrived 'from heaven to bright'. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    1.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    1.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    2.0
Close
Jan
Dream vacation on the indian ocean
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
Contrary to the first reviews the hotel we can warmly recommend. We were 10 days there and every day enjoyed. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is great and there is nothing to fault. Five star are more than earned. We can the rate, since my girlfriend from the fliegerei and already lots of hotels on the world saw, especially in caribbean countries. The food was very tasty and varied. There was also a sophisticated evening program in relaxed atmosphere. The hotel's atmosphere is beautiful, everything fits together, even the 'rusty' chairs ☺ complete the whole. All-inclusive ... is recommendable. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Burkhard
It's good value for money not. Too expensive!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • November 2012
The hotel is the price not worth it and no star hotel. After our first visit in 2010, we had this year determined again to go, despite considerable increase. The room was clean and standardly furnished. We had booked as all inclusive. We were this time surprised over the many children. The majority of the guests were french and english. The british upscale age. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Size alright. Equipment normally. As mentioned already older. Tv was bad. Mini bar was really only minibar, but we didn't need it. Coffee machine could be used. The room cleaning was the comb and the hairbrush in the teethbrush glass for toothbrush provided!

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    The gastronomy has in general very deteriorated. It was very hesitant refilled at the buffet and if you don't at the start was, were starters often not available. For breakfast was the selection of fruit or yogurt limited. At lunchtime was the possibility at the beach or at the bar a mini offer to choose something. We were shocked on the first day, as at 11 o'clock said the bar is closed, but with payment there were a bit.

  • Service
    3.0

    The staff was friendly and was in english and french approachable. Complaints were taken very doubting accepted, after the motto the can't be true. There was a lot of staff around, but they were often themselves. White wine was warm and you had to ice purely do. ( 5 stars) If one ordered champagne got one win mousseaux or if not careful, was mixed. After my complaint with the superintendent i got of him a new full glass, only was he didn't notice, that the glass was dirty.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Sports abundant. We were due to golf there. The place is very well maintained and in our opinion, highly recommended. But you should a kart take (about 48 €) Entertainment was only in the evening ( music) Child services is available. Disco does not exist. The beach is clean, the water clear, but for swimming not convenient. As umbrellas were fixed natural umbrellas available. The sun loungers are not very comfortable. The cushions also had seen better days. The rating relates only to the sport.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    The hotel is the price not worth it and no star hotel. After our first visit in 2010, we had this year determined again to go, despite considerable increase. The room was clean and standardly furnished. We had booked as all inclusive. We were this time surprised over the many children. The majority of the guests were french and english. The british upscale age.

  • Location
    4.0

    The hotel is directly at the beach, the clean and tidy is. The water is crystal clear. To the airport it was about 45 minutes. Shopping and night life are not possible. Public transportation we didn't use, but there were buses. Restaurants nearby there was in the neighboring hotel, the same chain or in the Beach Club, the also belonged to the hotel was. The choice of food in the Beach Club was poor! Fish, chicken breast or vegetables. These were the main courses! It was called a italian cuisine. In the neighbor hotel had be paid separately. What last year was not the case, as our daughter us told.

Close
Sascha
Heritage awali golf & spa resort
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • November 2012
Bad hotel, that no 5 stars standard. Very serious hygiene and cleanliness flaws. Unfriendly staff. Mainly english and french guests. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    We had a big room, open large bathroom with whirlpool tub and shower. Location directly by the beach on the ground floor The location and size was great but the cleanliness was not. Penetranter smell, that home everything then smell (bags, golfbags, shoes, etc.). Mold in the bathroom. Old, thick cobwebs under the bed. Decor african style (dark heavy wood furniture), is ok.

  • Gastronomy
    1.0

    The breakfast sit everywhere birds and peck leftovers from the tables and the fresh dishes at the buffet. Bird droppings on the cushions and tables. Food is very monotonous, hardly regional fruits. Breakfast is very much geared towards the english guests (for example beans instead of fresh fruit). Of 10 wines on the menu were 2 available! No table cloths at the dinner, instead worn unpleasant wooden tables.

  • Service
    1.0

    Staff is not very attentive and unfriendly. Often, you sat in the bar area and the staff not noticed. Starter before the drinks.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    Nice, well-kept golf course ( greenfeefrei for guests), staff very friendly and nice (except in the pro shop). Water sports at the hotel. Snorkeling is because of the current rather dangerous (but not mentioned above!). Underwater world (corals) are quite dead, no special fish. Every evening live music.

  • Hotel
    1.0

    Bad hotel, that no 5 stars standard. Very serious hygiene and cleanliness flaws. Unfriendly staff. Mainly english and french guests.

  • Location
    3.0

    Narrow sandy beach. Very strong current. Active bootsbetrieb for water sports. Beautiful golf course (heritage golf club) 3 minutes with shuttle.

Close
Kelly
Our amazing honeymoon
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2012
We loved every minute we where there. The staff where very attentive if you need anything they will do everything to sort or get it for you in a very quick time frame. The food was glorious at all the restaurants and the all inclusive breakfast and dinner buffet was very good also. The only bad thing was coming home :( Would defo say to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, sunny, all inclusive honeymoon on a beautiful island with many things to do and see that this is the place. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Jens
Really beautiful hotel at the indian ocean archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2012
The hotel and the staff are excellent. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are in the african style, tastefully decorated, clean and tidy.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The gastronomy is very diverse and tasty. All inclusive definitely book.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service is very good in this hotel.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The sport and leisure activities is also very good.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel and the staff are excellent.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location right next to beach, but also overall first-class environment.

Close
Liane
The Paradise hotel in the disaster archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2012
Arrived from the Paradise hotel in Africa. The entrance area was not bad. But then chairs in Babereich old and rusted through. We had a deluxe double room with terrace and view of the sea booked. The room was the best the whole hotel, with a large bathroom, 2 separately Washtischen, shower and Bdewanne, separately toilet and small walk-in wardrobe. We had booked all inclusive, which not recommendable is, as we mainly golfing came. At the golf course were the drinks, then only during the meal time between 12 and 14 o'clock free. One took for example a coke before ... 12 hours to get this be paid. Also you got from 17 UR not yet once again a snack. The drink had then also be paid separately. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    large room new, with large bath there was no complaints.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    There were some restaurants. This wanted the 1 day. Got however solely in the reservation. The rest was apparently always fully booked, which with closer look not at all could be, as they always just half were full. The buffets were too few selection, it is missing above all things fruit. Once for breakfast I decided jams get, here attacked hundreds of ants. No thank you...

  • Service
    3.0

    Na, yes if some times a good tip, it was a little better, but more like a 2 star hotel. The best was the bellboy, these we gave but just on the first day with arrival €25, -and so was the service in the room the best. We also have some shirts to wash given. This morning was picked up and hung already in the evening again in the room.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    as already mentioned, beach dirty, beach chairs uaralt with risk of injury.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    Arrived from the Paradise hotel in Africa. The entrance area was not bad. But then chairs in Babereich old and rusted through. We had a deluxe double room with terrace and view of the sea booked. The room was the best the whole hotel, with a large bathroom, 2 separately Washtischen, shower and Bdewanne, separately toilet and small walk-in wardrobe. We had booked all inclusive, which not recommendable is, as we mainly golfing came. At the golf course were the drinks, then only during the meal time between 12 and 14 o'clock free. One took for example a coke before 12 hours to get this be paid. Also you got from 17 UR not yet once again a snack. The drink had then also be paid separately.

  • Location
    4.0

    The house is direct at the beach. The beach very well kept and the beach chairs should urgently be renewed. Also by the pool rusty and broken armrests and one had to watch out that you not injured. Excursions we then no more this we have 1 week before done.

Close
Friedrich
Just horrible! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2011
Unfortunately, we agree with the previous reviews. The hotel at the largest three star! In a five star hotel you will not find dirty chairs, tables (bird excrement, leftovers from meals and so on); the pool chairs were in such a bad condition and the mats you had to fear a disease. Food was poor quality and unimaginative. Beds way too hard (instead of mattress-plank). The cleanliness of the restaurant was found in good conscience with very good rate, the golf course is included shuttle, restaurant, friendliness and cleanliness. Have we learned at least all reviews, you will not believe! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    1.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    2.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Hartmut
Great hotel, but be careful when making a booking! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2011
It was a great holiday in a great hotel. Only Dear readers, pass the booking on, we booked with ocean view and stayed in the garden looked. Ocean view was with the tour operator (holidaycheck-I will definitely not book any more than that) not just view of the sea. For more the room paid, as we got. As mentioned above, the complex and the environment are amazing. The beach is very clean, but for swimming in the sea is the area nothing. Many sea urchins and at low tide to about 500 meters away, the reef is partly only knee-deep ... water. However therefor there are great pools. All in all, a very good spot. The whole Bay in a travel agency, where the details are described exactly and correctly. Rather once more questions, then suburb as a little disappointing experience. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Anne
Paradise now archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Countryside & spa
  • June 2011
Mattresses for our ideas unfortunately a bit too hard! Service was excellent, friendliness and attention not to beat, Both in the wellness and sports area, and also at the front desk and in the Restaurant area. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Stephanie
Great with kids archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2011
We are just back from 10 days Mauritius Heritage Awali and still totally relaxed and absolutely happy with what we got. I have to say so, that we booked a (the only) Villa with own pool and beach access. We loved it. We have three Kids, 5,3,1. They were in the pool or at the beach very often, and we just relaxed at the terrace. In the evening we got all Menus available to our villa, beautifully set up outside after kids dinner. So we enjoyed a perfect dinner together without leaving the sleeping kids to a nanny. ... Staff was very helpful and always friendly. Food was good. They even cooked all sorts of food for my little one every day. The kids Club was ok, coming from Dubai there is much greater Kids Club experience around. All in all, we would do it again, but only in the VILLA. We are Tennis Players and we got Martin R. as a daily tennis coach. He was excellent. He tailered a program to our needs and was a great Teacher. Thank you all so much for making our vaccation such a great pleasure. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Just too good to be true, Big Villa, with kitchen, 3 Toilets, nice own pool, perfect view

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Delicious, 7 colours was awsome, Buffet good, Bar good

  • Service
    6.0

    Always, yes we can...always helpful and on time. Laundry perfect, kids club could be better

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    we liked Tennis with Martin a lot, Internet only in the Bar, a lot of Beach Activities

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We are just back from 10 days Mauritius Heritage Awali and still totally relaxed and absolutely happy with what we got. I have to say so, that we booked a (the only) Villa with own pool and beach access. We loved it. We have three Kids, 5,3,1. They were in the pool or at the beach very often, and we just relaxed at the terrace. In the evening we got all Menus available to our villa, beautifully set up outside after kids dinner. So we enjoyed a perfect dinner together without leaving the sleeping kids to a nanny. Staff was very helpful and always friendly. Food was good. They even cooked all sorts of food for my little one every day. The kids Club was ok, coming from Dubai there is much greater Kids Club experience around. All in all, we would do it again, but only in the VILLA. We are Tennis Players and we got Martin R. as a daily tennis coach. He was excellent. He tailered a program to our needs and was a great Teacher. Thank you all so much for making our vaccation such a great pleasure.

  • Location
    6.0

    60 min from the Airport, nice setting, not so many tourists, still close to some parks

Close
Christa
Dream holiday! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • April 2010
We took many beautiful holidays. But this was an absolute dream holiday. The hotel offered every comfort anyone could want in a holiday. The hotel was in a small, but very good assortment boutique. Here, a very lovely and cordial greeting to Christina. Evening entertainment in the bar had much variety. The spa area was incredibly beautiful. We originally wanted to use the gym intensively during our holiday, but we got no further than the spa area :-)) pure relaxation!! Overall the hotel was not a tourist bunker and the relaxation level was very high. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms were very spacious with a large bathroom.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We had booked half board which was completely sufficient. The food had lots of variety, rich and super delicious, the dessert buffet was a hit.

  • Service
    6.0

    The friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was above average without being pushy. English or French should be available. We only spoke very little German. The rooms were cleaned twice a day. The service was outstanding!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The pool area was very beautiful. Water sports varied.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We took many beautiful holidays. But this was an absolute dream holiday. The hotel offered every comfort anyone could want in a holiday. The hotel was in a small, but very good assortment boutique. Here, a very lovely and cordial greeting to Christina. Evening entertainment in the bar had much variety. The spa area was incredibly beautiful. We originally wanted to use the gym intensively during our holiday, but we got no further than the spa area :-)) pure relaxation!! Overall the hotel was not a tourist bunker and the relaxation level was very high.

  • Location
    6.0

    From breakfast it was only a few short steps to the beach. The beach wasn't very wide but very beautiful. However, there were very strong currents, for small children and uncertain swimmers not very suitable. Excursions could be booked directly in the hotel. According to our experience it was best to order a taxi in the hotel and explore the island on your own. For information (Thanks Carla) the tour operator was available at any time. Also, taking a taxi was cheaper than an organized excursion and the (local) drivers added many areas of interest and attractions. Shopping possibilities were a few kilometers away. A nightly promenade stroll was not possible.

Close
1