Hotel Koggala Beach(3 stars)

Koggala, Habaraduwa View on map

Average rating

257 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.6
  • Room
    4.8
  • Service
    4.8
  • Location
    4.8
  • Food and Drinks
    4.8
  • Sport & entertain
    4.5
Filters
You selected:
82 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date
Michal
Good location
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
Very good location, good food and drinks. But there was many dogs and cats staying at the area of the hotel. We think, that some people can feel very uncomfortable when cats walk under tables in the restaurant or a one dog comes and put under your sunbeds. There`s also not nice atmosphere at pool area because of the smell of the toilet which are very close, near the pool bar. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Inge
Not completely contently.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
We had specifically with Neckermann on the koggalla beach, because since specially renovated room promised were. With arrival it was not possible, these type - it would be all occupied. Even after 2 tel. Consultations with the Neckermann-tour guide on site they gave us a renovated room. If we would have known that, we would have the not reconditioned rooms on other suppliers also cheaper. Moreover, this hotel mostly with soot. Guests - i am not hostile to foreigners - but for example a beach chair at the pool in the ' soot. Corner' (statement of soot. Guest) was not ... available. Incidentally, you on every step from the staff to Cigarettes begging - this was very annoying. The cleanliness of the resort is okay - the room service worked very hard. The food at the buffet were mostly cold (we had all inclusive) we have with desserts full meal. In the am sure not picky and already much in asia on the way - but the kogalla -beach was a bit sobering. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Room size and condition ok, but not our organised 'renovated' rooms. Coffee maker was subsequently brought, after our complaint. Toilet and bathroom were ok.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    The 'warm food' was cold. The cleanliness of the restaurant was okay. The food was rather typical for the country - we are abroad. The prices are in contrast, as for example Thailand but very high. The friendliness was often, as already mentioned, of zigarettengabe subject.

  • Service
    4.0

    The friendliness that most of the staff is ok, the communication in english worked mostly. The room cleaning was good. Minor flaws, such as broken locks, toilet flush, etc. were dealt with. the dealing with complaints (we had a different room) must one already very massive always return to hooks (but we didn't use it). We did not get another room, except that the möglichk. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    Pool ok, sun loungers, and showers are partly in need of repair, which you not registered by the staff. Sport and entertainment only in the sister hotel kogalla Hotel Village.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    We had specifically with Neckermann on the koggalla beach, because since specially renovated room promised were. With arrival it was not possible, these type - it would be all occupied. Even after 2 tel. Consultations with the Neckermann-tour guide on site they gave us a renovated room. If we would have known that, we would have the not reconditioned rooms on other suppliers also cheaper. Moreover, this hotel mostly with soot. Guests - i am not hostile to foreigners - but for example a beach chair at the pool in the ' soot. Corner' (statement of soot. Guest) was not available. Incidentally, you on every step from the staff to Cigarettes begging - this was very annoying. The cleanliness of the resort is okay - the room service worked very hard. The food at the buffet were mostly cold (we had all inclusive) we have with desserts full meal. In the am sure not picky and already much in asia on the way - but the kogalla -beach was a bit sobering.

  • Location
    4.0

    The beach is directly in front of the resort, but the surf was so strong, that you hardly could into the sea. The resort is located outside, to the next town with tuck-tuck (caution: these tuk- tuckfahrer try regularly excessive rates). Also there were almost no other restaurants in walking distance. With the public buses you can get a good in the nearest towns come.

Close
Stefan
Hotel koggala beach and sunday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
The hotel koggala beach was on the whole completely okay. As i anhahm i was the first two days in another hotel as everything was overbooked for me however not was so bad. Then i am in the hotel and i must say the room number 500 have seen better days. But for me as alone traveler the anyway rarely in the room was not a problem. The food was very varied and good. The bar was ok and there was always something to drink only the cleanliness at the bar left a little to be desired. The staff was ... very that endeavors and friendly. If someone not on exact details value is always gladly again into the hotel koggala beach otherwise i would a hotel in the higher price class recommend. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    3.3
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Darius & Dana
Praise & criticism/the truth.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
A well-kept 3 star hotel for a very demanding guest. praise: beautiful puderzuckerweißer, fine, long, wide, clean beach • resort the 3 stars; well-kept, clean palm garden very recommended full-body massages in the hotel koggala Village (next door) for 1500 Rupees (9 Euro ); not be confused with the other hotel long beach (also next door), where 0.5 hour massage for 4 0 us $offered • bus stop directly at the hotel; very cheap (simple travel after galle for 30 Rupees = €0,20 ), but adventurous (depending on the bus driver very rapid fahrstill horn, gas, brake, horn ..., horn.) good and cheap shopping possibilities for urlaubgarderobe on the beach at the strandfrauen available (pareo for 300 roups = 2 Euro, beach dress for 5-9 Euro ) criticism: • driving directions from 5.5 hours on gravel roads; after possibility the drivers direct over the highway drive (only 2.5 hours) with selbstbezahlung the highway costs amount to amount of 400 Rupees (about 3 Euro ); it's worth it for all-inclusive you have to Coca-Cola pay; all-inclusive includes only Pepsi without carbonic acid (pure sugared water) from an automat • lack of ice in drinks; no matter what kind of (each around ice cubes beg) alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails sparse & tasted inedible (without ice, carelessly - to paraphrase snout mixed - bottle glasses; lime as window part of each cocktail) run by one overworked, badly trained and bad mooded staff at the dining room (waiters) and at the pool bar (barman), what negative impact on tip had and the staff still discouraged made • special offer for russian ' bottles' tourists: 1 liter Wodka + 2 liter Cola or Fanta for 1.800 Rupees (about €1 0.50) presented during the day directly at the pool as decoration • beware of stelzenfischer directly at the hotel - only actor, the fifth for 20 Euro on pictures posture want respect: crocodiles from the middle koggala lake excursions to the sea!; This was the case during our stay at the 07. and 08 january 2014 at the koggala beach; about 3 metres long crocodile gyrated in distance between 20 and 100 metres from the beach and then even the lifeguards in alert; swimmers were hectic from the sea in/out privileges and it was 2 - day swimming ban by red flag imposed; the event at the film 'the white shark' reminds. Conclusion: • hotel guests Russia (60%) and Poland (20%) very popular. The remaining 20% fall to german, english, austrians, croats, and swiss. if you have the non intrusiveness of the beach boys complained, should go to Kenya flies. The here in koggala are harmless; it is a friendly, but definite no (no empty promises and make any promises) and you have peace and quiet here until the end of the holiday because of the distance to attractions and the poor road conditions in Sri Lanka where a trip to book/make, with a subsequent immediate vicinity; excursions, which offer are expensive and time-consuming (2 days on the way to kandy, without food, despite al, for €1 60.00); totally unnecessary: a 3 - day trip to the Maldives for €5 50.00 offered We €1,149 per person (as a couple) for 2 weeks all-inclusive in the high season as the last minute and thought the price-performance ratio thus appropriate. It is worthwhile itself pictures and images to look at. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    4.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Fredi
Why we only booked this hotel = letdown!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Wi-fi, only at the reception, hp, a 3 tel europeans chinese and russians from young to old. Complaints because of foul always, furnishings, etc. were in the wind beaten without improvement. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    Number 618,15m to the pool. Ausstattung ok. Beds in the truest sense of the word in stone = concrete with thin mattress.

  • Gastronomy
    1.0

    The food (typical of the country, european) was rather quantity because quality. Atmosphere outside and inside restaurant well. it was so quite everything dirty from chair, table, set, napkins etc. (photos)

  • Service
    3.0

    Staff was overtaxed, because eh nothing was better. Room 618, clean

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    1 pool chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, showers, everything available.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    Wi-fi, only at the reception, hp, a 3 tel europeans chinese and russians from young to old. Complaints because of foul always, furnishings, etc. were in the wind beaten without improvement.

  • Location
    5.0

    Beach about 10m away from the rooms. All rooms with a view of the beach. Bus near the hotel. Great beach. Shopping only in the hotel, but very expensive!

Close
Monika & Herbert
A journey which was worth it, always again.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The 2 time in Sri Lanka Arrival in a in the tooths hotel, in which one is endeavored new flair to platzieren. We were always friendly and courteous from management and staff catered for. The rooms are cleaned daily, towels were changed every day. Almost every day was a ' hand towel animal * or lovingly designed flower decorations on the bed. The hotel is the old colonial charm life. On our side of the hotel all rooms have been entirely renovated. We would say, for the existing circumstances, the whole vacation super great and the koggala beach in each ... case very pleasant memories. Very recommendable also are the massages, the in the neighbor hotel koggala Village are offered. The masseur was trained in ayurweda, the really to feel, simply super! The ladies are great masseurinen, the towel however, is highly recommended, to bring itself! This hotel is for a quiet hotel not recommendable, because of domestic firms celebrations are held, the very active expire. For the young people a lot of fun, the also fully savour. The long beach hotel we only in short raid Combed, but also here, as in the other two hotels very friendly socialable staff! Who has desire the country, could be delighted to Ann piya, shall apply. He speaks perfect german and answer all Questions always with much knowledge of his country. After 28 years tour Experiences with german and english guests it has Still important, country, culture and attractions in quiet and wünscher its guests appropriate preferences to present. After this 3 week of stay we can say, that a real friendly relationship has developed. Also here at home, we are in contact with him. To find it quite simply, because everyone knows piya. Simply call under tel. 0094 777 907080 or life guards address The authorities the contact was. Still small comment on the food, it was really hot, but it is in this country so, there are always other options available. The food is very lovingly from the chefs, the for the food also for all questions present are! All in all everything is very tidy, with a smile you can over some small error ignoer, since all are very hard to make you stay as comfortable and nice as possible. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Rooms are spacious, kettle and daily nescafé tea and 2 small bottles of water provided.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Bar at the pool, otherwise a staircase higher! Water is not recommended, it tasted very of chlorine. Bottled water is in front of the hotel cheap buy. Tip goes without saying, as everywhere in the world every guests! Absolute must.

  • Service
    5.0

    Very friendly staff. English important! Daily room cleaning.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Sport and free time in the hotel we didn't use, a very friendly entertainer is daily.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    The 2 time in Sri Lanka Arrival in a in the tooths hotel, in which one is endeavored new flair to platzieren. We were always friendly and courteous from management and staff catered for. The rooms are cleaned daily, towels were changed every day. Almost every day was a ' hand towel animal * or lovingly designed flower decorations on the bed. The hotel is the old colonial charm life. On our side of the hotel all rooms have been entirely renovated. We would say, for the existing circumstances, the whole vacation super great and the koggala beach in each case very pleasant memories. Very recommendable also are the massages, the in the neighbor hotel koggala Village are offered. The masseur was trained in ayurweda, the really to feel, simply super! The ladies are great masseurinen, the towel however, is highly recommended, to bring itself! This hotel is for a quiet hotel not recommendable, because of domestic firms celebrations are held, the very active expire. For the young people a lot of fun, the also fully savour. The long beach hotel we only in short raid Combed, but also here, as in the other two hotels very friendly socialable staff! Who has desire the country, could be delighted to Ann piya, shall apply. He speaks perfect german and answer all Questions always with much knowledge of his country. After 28 years tour Experiences with german and english guests it has Still important, country, culture and attractions in quiet and wünscher its guests appropriate preferences to present. After this 3 week of stay we can say, that a real friendly relationship has developed. Also here at home, we are in contact with him. To find it quite simply, because everyone knows piya. Simply call under tel. : 0094 777 907080 or life guards address The authorities the contact was. Still small comment on the food, it was really hot, but it is in this country so, there are always other options available. The food is very lovingly from the chefs, the for the food also for all questions present are! All in all everything is very tidy, with a smile you can over some small error ignoer, since all are very hard to make you stay as comfortable and nice as possible...

  • Location
    5.0

    The beach in front of the rooms is very long, white sand, and as the storybook. Bus directly in front of the door, every half hour, the train very exciting, in the next surrounding towns and cities you can get around without problems. English knowledge are very important! Tuk-tuk in front of the hotel, but be careful negotiate prices before and after the drive to pay. To the airport it was a long 5 hour shuttle. But for the fantastic location of the resort is the purchase.

Close
Peggy
Adventure Sri Lanka - and koggala beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
Despite partly controversial opinions we have the 'experiment' koggala beach dared. We (2 adults, a child, 4 years) have deliberately decided on this hotel. Because of the great location, the other because of the almost unbeatable price. Luxury you here in koggala beach not find. But if you a casual, casual beach holiday and regarding with quality and cleanliness of the hotel, the can certainly be a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka spend. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    The room was spartan and a bit sparsely furnished, offers little comfort, or even luxury, but it was for our needs sufficiently equipped. Due to the very high humidity (every day there would be monsunartige rain), it smelt very musty. Showers and fixtures were fossil and moldy, key rusty. Water pressure moderate. No drinking water! Extra bed/3. bed for our daughter not available. Balcony/terrace right on the sea side.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    The meal was - for a 3 star hotel- it was ok and varied. However, it was always very hot, but the selection for our daughter restricted. Up to one evening there was almost always at least one dish, the european level was hardly seasoned. On request handed our daughter decided chips. The cleanliness in the restaurant was ok. Live music every night, in the times good, sometimes less good ditty the best was offered.

  • Service
    3.0

    We were always friendly received. Also the dealing with our child was very cordial. However, one should the singhalesische mentality, in the restaurant and in the service, cease. Free after the motto: you have the hours - we have the time. Child care, there was no, but that was before us. Minor complaints, as clogged toilet on the first day or dripping air conditioning system, within a few hours was repaired. Room cleaning was decent, and now comes the but. The great creative artwork on the bed, decorated with flowers and leaves, use nothing, if sheets and towels with stains and holes' decorated ' are. Massages are available at the neighboring hotel Village offered. Costs about 10 Euro for an hour. Ambience very questionable in a dark, musty cabin with loud dröhnendem fan and dauergequassel from the radio. Of relaxation could be no question - i am definitely better from Thailand used.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    The pool was, except for minor damage, acceptable. A small integrated children's pool is available. Once in the evening, as a singhalesische company to guest, there was a kids disco. That was all with children's entertainment - probably mostly for lack of children. Only twice was water gymnastics offered. Here one had the feeling, that the entertainers to their job be persuaded had. They made often a listless impression. A shame. Beach chairs were sufficiently available. Coconut trees are as natural shade. On towels and drinks you sometimes had to wait quite a long time. Who does not have gladly on stained towels is, packs rather its own a.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    Despite partly controversial opinions we have the 'experiment' koggala beach dared. We (2 adults, a child, 4 years) have deliberately decided on this hotel. Because of the great location, the other because of the almost unbeatable price. Luxury you here in koggala beach not find. But if you a casual, casual beach holiday and regarding with quality and cleanliness of the hotel, the can certainly be a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka spend.

  • Location
    6.0

    Admitted: the 25 - hour prior is a real challenge. But this once created, with one of the most beautiful beaches of the island, as well as an incredible variety of the country rewarded, so that the long journey well worth it. To the beach it is no 25 metres. All rooms and bungalows are equipped with balcony or terrace and are located directly on the sea side. Closer it really couldn't get. The loud waves drowned out the noise from the busy street, the directly adjacent to the hotel. The beach is already positive been mentioned. Beware of high waves. Every day we had the red flag and everyone, which further than knee-deep into the water ventures, risked his life. The undercurrents are so strong, it already in knöchelhohem water reveal. The life guards are 24/7 present and during our stay two tourists from the water. Excursions in the vicinity you can easily reached by Tuk-tuk make, for all further away targets (for example candy) you should at least two, better three days with the bus plan. Transfer airport/hotel about 3-4 hour (motorway), depending on the traffic in Colombo and on the south coast. A few restaurants (for example vienna jungle) are in about 30 strandminuten away. In koggala there are some shopping. You can buy souvenirs at the hotel (no food).

Close
Marion
Holidays
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
We makes holidays for three weeks. It was a nice time and we relaxed in the sun and go on tour. The hotel is nice, small and clean. The people are very friendly and helpfull. Hot and spicy food, but food is variated. Good conditions for small price. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Danie
Good value for money!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
An outdated, but charming and solid hotel, which was not so much by cleanliness and standard rather but by a absolutely perfect beach and to the beach, and the warmth of its staff and good food is convincing. The value for money is rest and if you don't have high expectations and smaller flaws overlooks, will certainly make you feel right at home! We had only half-board and use the kogalla beach mostly as a place to sleep, since we were traveling a lot. Caution is recommended for the ''s' and tuk tuk drivers, you get from each store, hotel ... or service where their ' customers' spend up to 20% percent of sales! We unfortunately only at the end the travel function. First you get the feeling, you want to help, but they want all our best!-) read hotel review
  • Room
    3.3
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Beate & Gregor
It was very nice holiday ☺
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
The hotel was good. The workers were all very nice, we will definitely again then flies! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Astrid
Koggala beach-a paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
We have already been 2 years ago in this hotel and were very excited by our room. So sent our travel agent a fax, that we this room again would like to get. When we arrived exhausted from a long flight and the 4-hour drive came, one explained us, that this room now to the new longbeachhotel and thus also much more expensive. We still had our standard and wanted this again and so it was called perseverance to have. Finally we have a decent room. The staff, whether roomboy or restaurant staff were very friendly and accommodating. The mentality ..., indeed of all local, which we became acquainted with, is really great. There could so some german a piece of truncation! We have much contact with the locals and met as their country and their simple lifestyle know very well. A true friendship unites us, which already 2 years inventory and loved refreshed was. We recommend this hotel further! The staff is always honest and accommodating. Even with the beachboys and strandverkäuferinnen maintained a good contact. Why not, it is but also only people, like you and i. Were just honest and nice, then they are it also to you across the street! We will definitely come again! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Franz
Gladly come again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2013
We liked it very much. The waves from the sea but very steep, only good swimmers can swim. The beach is excellent. And some of the comments are simply rude. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Nina
Warm compatriots, beautiful vegetation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2013
I have felt good in this hotel. The hotel is in the 'simple' but very cozy style, fortunately, koggala (still?) Not tourist stronghold. Travellers, the a hotel in style Hilton or intercontinental expect, there are in the wrong place. The staff is very exceptionally friendly, courteous, helpful, candid, communicative and humor. I fly again next year there. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Klaus & Martina
The most beautiful beach in the whole of sri lanka
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
We are for 15 years guests of koggala beach hotel, we look forward every time on the new, in our hotel Again spend your holiday. The beach is wonderful, the water is clear and clean, you can at the beach hours jogging. Although the hotel is not the newest, but clean and tidy, the rooms are cozily furnished. The staff were friendly and nice. The hotel has two pools, the one is in koggala beach and the larger in the village-club, which you can also use. You can in the whole complex freely move. The bdemeister are very vigilant, when ... it comes to the safety bathers is. The food is very good and something for everyone there. Recommendable as beach vacation and good starting point for tours through the country. Value for money is the expectations. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Rainer
Family vacation with behind the scenes
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
Family vacation with two kids 14 and 3-years-old. The hotel is already outdated, but the tzunami survived. Our expectations were not too big. The staff has the best of circumstances, and was always make an effort. As we are early birds, we could every day watch how the complex and the pool cleaned, before the hotel started. We have every day also before the time our coffee. There our daughter ( 3 years) blond is, it was the large star with the staff. And we could really relax, because all always keeping an eye on you had. The hotel was ... deteriorated, but we found to be very pleasant. It also a very nice ambience. Up to a safari we have our excursions ourselves organized. Offers by the ' beach boys ' at the beach yes enough. Mostly annoying the very. We have ourselves then from a 'boy' named saliya ( very good german) operator. And already we had his brother ' sumith' with his tuktuk as a guide. And sumith we can definitely recommend! He tried with of german, is not so pushy and holds itself really to the agreements. And is priced very fairly. Exactly the right thing for people, the secluded from hotel something of the real life to see. We have therefore also much secluded from guide seen. What really annoying, is the one constantly and all try a as a potential customers in any shops to drag. There must be really everywhere commission give. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Ilona
Good location, but lousy hotel
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2012
A very big complex, rooms are in bad condition, in the first room the door didn't close, after we had moved in 2. room no telephone, rusted shower, moldy pillows. After some complaints and photos in front of the hotel staff was a new shower installed and a new pillows brought. The food was satisfactory, but in the evening fell on the terrace a heavy piece of metal mad from the lamp some meters deep directly to our table. It is in the nebentrakt no sufficient umbrellas by the pool - the paths to the main building are far. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    No safety deposit box, telephone didn't work, door didn't close, the shower rusty, jet barely pressure, toilet seat worn out and unsteady.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Alter wartesaal or train station atmosphere, that means large dining room, the kitchen was local typical and satisfactory. Staff friendly and officious but perhaps only because of the massive previous complaints.

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff in the restaurant is friendly and attentive. One speaks more or less bad english is however to understand. After massive complaints (see above) the complaints were taken serious. (photos balawat)

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    No shopping possibilities outside of the hotel, only in the hotel a mixed shop with clothes and souvenirs. No parasols at the 2. pool

  • Hotel
    2.0

    A very big complex, rooms are in bad condition, in the first room the door didn't close, after we had moved in 2. room no telephone, rusted shower, moldy pillows. After some complaints and photos in front of the hotel staff was a new shower installed and a new pillows brought. The food was satisfactory, but in the evening fell on the terrace a heavy piece of metal mad from the lamp some meters deep directly to our table. It is in the nebentrakt no sufficient umbrellas by the pool - the paths to the main building are far.

  • Location
    2.0

    Shopping possibilities only with three shops in the hotel, around the hotel there is nothing, at the beach there is nothing-no beach bar or snack possibility. As the beaches in sl public here all amenities for the guests - no umbrellas, no chairs.

Close
Manfred
Nothing for animal lovers
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2012
To 8'. I was now in this hotel. The rooms are well-kept, only the mattresses, should be cleaned more often. Had last year circa 20 wanzenstiche on the back. The food is every year better. The employees are friendly and helpful. Now for the negative. It cannot be, the dogs of some older wachleuten beaten, stoned and even be poisoned. Here must the management action. Apart from that, the hotel is for each alltersklasse recommended. Wish all a nice holiday. Petra&manni read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The rooms although they are getting old but there is room for room newly decorated. There is less money available. But you cleaned daily and all have seaview.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Restaurant and bar are clean. Food is every year become better.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff is always friendly and many speak german. Room are cleaned daily, thanks sunil. A tip for all, let before departure your clothes washed. Then have your home less stress,

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    The boys did their best. Beach chairs you get prompt. Beach should be cleaned repeatedly. Have in the water a circa 20 kilogram bag/out privileges, was full of tar and öllumpen. Pool cleaned daily.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    To 8'. I was now in this hotel. The rooms are well-kept, only the mattresses, should be cleaned more often. Had last year circa 20 wanzenstiche on the back. The food is every year better. The employees are friendly and helpful. Now for the negative. It cannot be, the dogs of some older wachleuten beaten, stoned and even be poisoned. Here must the management action. Apart from that, the hotel is for each alltersklasse recommended. Wish all a nice holiday. Petra&manni

  • Location
    5.0

    Beach is lovely. There are shops enough. Every small trains driver can all its wishes were met, even at excursions.

Close
Frank
Great holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2012
Great holiday, a resort which one can really recommend. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is really good. And someone should plan excursions, simply chula kumara (baba) calls. His language skills were great, he speaks perfect german is reliable and organised everything, exactly the right planner for your vacation place! So in short, we can really recommend him. We will be back read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Denise
For 3 time super
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2012
The hotel description you can in general with the provider accepts. I (with family and/ or friends) was now for the 3 time in a row, all inclusive, in this hotel. It was every time great! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Rooms are functional and clean. Whenever a been a complaint, you can get the room boys this address. Who luxury rooms, is in the wrong place here, but who spends the whole day in the room on?! To be comfortable, showers and changing rooms it was adequate. Whoever expected more must someplace else back!

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    The hotel belongs to a 'hotel-chain' whereas the beach hotel the longest-standing is. Since 3 hotels, beach, village and long beach, belong could you all 3 restaurants use. I would not recommend, but just the offer from the koggala beach. For the food you have to, if you again a seconds would be careful, that the cutlery not taken. In clearing up the plates are very quickly. One must but also say, that immediately if one has set itself, someone is, that you get something to drink. The food is always quite hot, but there was always something for people who it differently may! Tips are gladly seen, but not a must. If you're nice to simply can automatically have a small thank you very much.

  • Service
    4.0

    IN advance! In August is no peak season! The pool bar is rarely occupied. One must often up to the main bar go. In the high season it is different. The service people are mostly always very polite and accommodating. The room boys are very thorough, woberi I especially like to highlight. All complaints were to our complete satisfaction immediately. Name is still unknown, but it is the oldest of the and always in the complex to the rooms 200 to find. If there some problem should be, if you the best at the manager Leon. It solves each problem, if he is.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0

    The pool may, in any 3 hotels be used. The entertainers are tried, but as mentioned I was not in the high season since, so that you possibilities had people to entertain. Loungers are outdated, partly also broken and should just be replaced. The beach is great, but most ruling unterströmund not be underestimated.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel description you can in general with the provider accepts. I (with family and/ or friends) was now for the 3 time in a row, all inclusive, in this hotel. It was every time great!

  • Location
    6.0

    The location is just amazing.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Annett
For this price ok archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2012
The hotel is a ( ageing) long pulled complex with 2 floors. We had two double rooms, one with a view of the sea. The rooms were spacious, there was a fridge, air conditioning and a fan, on level 2 already so eierte, that we didn't dare to use. The cleaning was ok, there were daily flowers on the bed arranged, but unfortunately left the cleanliness and the condition the bed sheets to be desired. We had booked all inclusive, food was often very hot and not very varied. While we were there the hotel was almost empty, a couple ... of dutch people, french and German of 5a 70 everything was there. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Rooms were large and completely sufficient. Everyone had a balcony with furniture. The view was beautiful, through the palm trees you the sea. The furniture was old and worn, but the bothered us not now. Bathroom was large with a shower and also quite clean.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    There was just a restaurant, but was quite large. For breakfast there was only toast, unfortunately the toaster constantly broken. The dishes were often too hot, especially for children, just typical of the country. And unfortunately usually cold. There was very little fruit, what we were very disappointed, if the fruit vendors outside saw. The pool was disappointing. Most unpleasant were the musicians for dinner, from table to table pulled and only went, if one them money was. Thus times may I like, but not every evening. The were just annoying. Apart from that there was a bar, where but also nothing was going on there, apart from a large tv ran.

  • Service
    4.0

    At the nettesten was the cleaning lady. The waiters were often unmotivated, especially the at the bar. The drinks were often warm and glasses only half full. The tables were cleared very quickly. Because the hotel was almost empty, was the pool bar also rarely occupied. Complaints were very quickly eliminated. Like everywhere nahm you like tip. The staff partly spoke German and English.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    Although described in the catalog, there was no entertainment, yet animation. 3 days before our departure we saw 2 boys with animation-T-shirts. The found evenings a laptop and played music from. And, because some mekkerten, there is also archery, that was it. The chairs at the pool were in very bad condition, cushions and towels sunday There was a lifeguard/rescue float. We only booked our pool use it, since the other a piece missing was. Of the pool you directly on the sea looked, that was great.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    The hotel is a ( ageing) long pulled complex with 2 floors. We had two double rooms, one with a view of the sea. The rooms were spacious, there was a fridge, air conditioning and a fan, on level 2 already so eierte, that we didn't dare to use. The cleaning was ok, there were daily flowers on the bed arranged, but unfortunately left the cleanliness and the condition the bed sheets to be desired. We had booked all inclusive, food was often very hot and not very varied. While we were there the hotel was almost empty, a couple of dutch people, french and German of 5a 70 everything was there.

  • Location
    5.0

    It is from the front directly at the main road and in the back of the hotel right next to the sea. One had thus both, loud traffic noise and rushing waves, the yes were still pleasant. The way from the airport was difficult and took 5 hours. You could have the highway use it, if you are in 2.5 h there. The next town shopping is a piece missing, but in front of the entrance waiting enough small train-driver, the for little money their services. The area itself is nice, one can kilometer far at the beach along go. Despite the rainy season, we only had 1 rainy days, waves were high, but we could always into the water. From the hotel you can undertake, but bay for the tour operator. Read more at tpps guests.

Close
1 3 4 5