Chelsea Star Hotel(1.5 stars)

300 West 30th Street, NY 10001 New York View on map

Average rating

33 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.3
  • Room
    4.3
  • Service
    5.3
  • Location
    5.5
  • Food and Drinks
    4.8
  • Sport & entertain
    5.5
Filters
You selected:
12 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Franzi
Chelsea Star Hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • City break
  • May 2013
I would recommend this hotel only recommend it. Clear the rooms are not what we had expected, but for the price performance ratio is simply not so much demand. We could always the people watching from the bed, which really sometimes extreme was-) air conditioning system gives it not, when it will be hot only helps windows and earplugs purely-) the bathroom, yes, for whom it is ok with 10 rooms that bath ok. We were the were aware, it is not. I thought it was partially really not nice, have once for minutes the toilet disinfected, since ... next to me in the normal toilet paper where the paper came in after the wash your hands, used toilet paper was-( don't know, if in some countries is done?! I found it to be really not great. Think we just had a bit bad luck, the sometimes. Otherwise the location is great you could reach everything in a few minutes walk, 7 eleven, discos and supermarkets, Time Square and theater's. you can also from and to on the roof and chill out. All our questions were always friendly answered. Style of the hotels shreds really, something different. We were the whole time always on the way and since it was completely enough for a low cuisine cheaply hotel to decide. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Alice
Again and again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • April 2013
We would go there anytime again. In april we only incredible 500 Euro to 2. for one week near the location paid-the hostel is so central that you can go anywhere. Many pubs and restaurants in the area and the pennstation is only 50 metres away... read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Anje
Very helpful staff, great location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2012
For city breaks absolutely sufficient, well maintained, recommend room to the inner courtyard with a private bathroom. Very friendly staff. Very good value for money (5 nights we had for 850 Euro). I was with my son (9 years) since, and the doormen were super nice to him. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Matthias
only for staying the night, not more. archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • October 2011
hotel in 3 categories divided. Once'normal hotel' and once hostel. as I for the hostel area have booked, I can also only evaluate. hotel and hostel have separate entrances and are not innerhäusig connected the means to check in or check out come one must from the a building out and in the other building purely. breakfast there are neither in the area of the hotel still in the hostel area. but you get between 7 and 11 o'clock in the morning free of charge coffee and tea. The hostel so run very different nations. Especially but were during my ... stay French and German since. so the topic cleanliness I can say, that the bathrooms all 2 days with Desinfektionsspary be cleaned. The hostel rooms are with 3 bunk beds, separated by a hallway leading (where the 2 bathrooms ) and then comes the second room where also 3 bunk beds is possible. Respect the beds squeak with any movement. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    The hostel so rooms have 6 people in total a room, slept in 3 bunk beds, the squeal as something. in the room there is no closet, a drawer for clothes nor is there a table and a chair. Only beds, nothing else. The minimal Equipment may exist. The 2 bathrooms are all in all for 12 people made, therefore you see it, when 12 persons showers were. All 2 days the bathroom cleaned. cleanliness the room leaves much to be desired. Could have been a new Paint type. Beds are not daily made. There is on arrival a fresh bed sheets and a blanket, the will not open until departure again changed.

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    i did ask several times had (get money, supermarket... ) I the staff without problems could answer questions. In the hotel there was a washing machine, 3 computer with which one in the internet surfing, is however of course not free of charge. coffee and tea you get between 7 and 11 o'clock free of charge. Subway plans there is free at the front desk

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    hotel in 3 categories divided. Once'normal hotel' and once hostel. as I for the hostel area have booked, I can also only evaluate. hotel and hostel have separate entrances and are not innerhäusig connected the means to check in or check out come one must from the a building out and in the other building purely. breakfast there are neither in the area of the hotel still in the hostel area. but you get between 7 and 11 o'clock in the morning free of charge coffee and tea. The hostel so run very different nations. Especially but were during my stay French and German since. so the topic cleanliness I can say, that the bathrooms all 2 days with Desinfektionsspary be cleaned. The hostel rooms are with 3 bunk beds, separated by a hallway leading (where the 2 bathrooms ) and then comes the second room where also 3 bunk beds is possible. Respect the beds squeak with any movement.

  • Location
    6.0

    hotel is located 5 minutes' walk from Madison Square garden away. The main post office is also only 5 minutes' walk away. the subway (Penn station ) is in 3 minutes to reach on foot. if one runs the street down to the right one arrived after about 8 minutes on foot mc Donalds, opposite is a supermarket the 24 hours was open and a pharmacy it has. Penn station there is also a store for shopping. The bank of America you will find at the pennstation. in the same building as hotel or hostel there is a subway.

Close
Christine
Highly recommended! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2011
The hotel is an ideal accommodation for a city trip really great! We had a Superior room with en-suite bathroom and king size bed. The room was on the 8th Avenue, so it was quite noisy but we were always so broken, that the matter was! When you are not there to sleep in NYC! Room was great, you could smoke in the courtyard and meet nice people, across an Irish pub, and of course sup0er Central! The staff was super friendly-you felt great repealed. With all of our questions were the staff available! So all in all, really top! ... Unfortunately relatively expensive (Superior rooms), but central! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Gregor
Perfect to discover new York to archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • November 2010
We have two times (April/November) in this hotel/hostel genächtig. The hotel is very centrally located and has very good connections with public transport. The room is very interesting decor (for example, Madonna room) and sufficient for a city trip perfectly. The staff is very nice Price/performance ratio was on each case. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Sandra & Dietmar
Centrally located, has flair, good price/performance ratio. archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • City break
  • September 2010
A house with style! No hotel for a family vacation, rather for singles or couples. Then the is but class! International flair, therefore also funny atmosphere, also at the deli on the other side of the street. The are funny, like the UN to India, have a good selection of food. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Swen
Central =-to recommend = no! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2010
No elevator, luggage must the stairs up to the vacation also again and down. We had a superior room with private bathroom. The must be said here is a free safe on the rooms is. The room have no refrigerator/mini bar, it is no hair dryer in the bathroom (so bring your own!) The old air conditioning hang on the walls and not-but are now air conditioners in the windows, it is loud the room but unfortunately. We had the first night a room on the eighth street, here was hardly sleep possible, we have complained then us and were ... moved on a room to the inner courtyard, it was clearly more quiet here. The room were both the same size and same facilities. However, both room were also just dirty. The carpet has already seen more long no vacuum cleaners (we have in the ganzern week no vacuum cleaner see or hear it). The bed sheets were not changed, the bed not changed daily. The mattress was in a slide. The pillow cases had on the sixth day the same spot since the first day the it had. The bathroom was okay, but also here was not cleaned every day, because we our hair also a day later on the floor. We will look at the us next time again another hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    2.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Dana
To sleep top! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • June 2010
I actually found the hotel to be very good. The location was perfect. Very centrally located, just the 30th go downstairs and you are in the heart of the action. The staff were very friendly and gave a right tips. The rooms are very small. But you fit in there. It has not glazing, but wasn't dirty. Not everyone who are WAY too fussy is can feel comfortable in the hotel. So if you really just wanted to sleep and not spend the whole day in the hotel will I would wholeheartedly recommend!! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Bettina
Better than we thought archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2010
From the outside the hostel rather less good, but it is disappointing. we had a four-bed room even with private bathroom, room was for an hostel nicely decorated. It was actually clean, a bit of a strange smell is in the whole house. Staff was very helpful and gave us has all important information. you is really very Central, Empire State building, Macy's and so on only a few minutes go, it is really a good. alternative if you not want to spend so much money for the hotel, because in new yorkit need money anyway enough-hostel was really ... okay so this for the couple of days I would go there again. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    3.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Rebekka
Immediately again! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2009
On the first glance quite plain. Was in front of the door and I thought ' what is the?'. You must ring or comes only with the map to the hotel, what I find good, so comes not in. The room are pretty cool... So a kind of theme. The 'shared bathroom' is great clean... Also the we had never problems to to shower had to wait so long. Staff is very nice and accomodating. For the price and location this really only to be recommended. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Joe
Great location in Manhattan, room were clean archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2009
I can only recommend, would go immediately again there. Since the day I through on the way is, it is totally sufficient for sleeping. Location is great. The staff was friendly and helpful. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close