SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort(4.5 stars)

Hurghada, Makadi Bay, Red Sea View on map

Average rating

6,616 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.7
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.7
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.6
  • Sport & entertain
    5.8
Filters
You selected:
2820 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Susan
A fantastic holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Lovely hotel, even better staff. Lots of restaurants serving different food and all was well cooked and something for everyone. Varied guests, British, German, Russian, Spanish. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The family room was clean, spacious and with air conditioning. Had a safe and fridge with water. 2 televisions and adequate bathroom.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    All the restaurants are fantastic with plentiful food, you will not go hungry with something for everyone. Being peak season, it does get busy but if you get to the main restaurant for lunch before 1pm then this was not a problem. Same with dinner, before 8 is easier to get a seat. We ate at the Mexican for breakfast which was the same food as the main restaurant but on a smaller scale and much more personal. The omelette chef here (Nassar I think was his name) always had a big smile for me when I arrived and was so friendly. One of the waiters Ahmed was here at breakfast, in the Mediterranean for lunch and the Bedouin for dinner. He was fantastic and so friendly. The kids loved him and always wanted to go to his restaurants to see him.

  • Service
    6.0

    All of the staff were friendly and spoke well in English. I had to get some antibiotics from the pharmacy and although expensive was able to get them without even seeing a doctor (I knew what I needed).

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We stayed around the Family pool 2 for most of the 2 weeks and got to know Mohammed (barman) and Hassan (pool man) really well, they were always happy and loved chatting to us. Again, the boys loved them and they were always eager to please. What the made holiday even more special was the Entertainment Team. They all work so hard to make sure everyone is happy and checking that there are no problems. We decided to have a go at the shuffleboard where we met Sepastian. What an amazing guy! He was so happy to see us every day and helped the boys become "champions" at the shuffleboard. He always had a smile on his face and it was one of our highlights everyday to play with him. He is an asset to the Sunrise and wish him all the best for the future.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Lovely hotel, even better staff. Lots of restaurants serving different food and all was well cooked and something for everyone. Varied guests, British, German, Russian, Spanish.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beautifully kept gardens, on the beach which was clean and well kept. Few excursions on offer, we did a couple and had fun. Nothing in immediate vicinity but didn't feel the need to venture out.

Close
Julie
Fantastic Animation Team loved every minute of hol
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
The Hotel surpassed my expectations. I have to say the Animation Team was amazing, very friendly, very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Kareem, Silvi, Gazal were fantastic. Kareem was brilliant, I am going to miss the Team a lot!! :) I certainly hope to go back and meet them again and I have never returned to a hotel I have been to before. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sophie
10/10 hotel and staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
We stayed at the sunrise makadi bay for two weeks in August with family and friends. We all agreed this was the best holiday we have been on!! The staff were incredible, the food and a la carte restaurants delicious and the animation team were the friendliest, most helpful and no hassle team we have ever come across! They made our holiday. Kareem is an absolute star and would do anything for you. Other stuff including gazal, yana, brown, moris, jamaica etc are all fantastic at what they do too! They always have a smile on their faces. The hotel ... is big however it was always so quiet strangely as there are many pools and restaurants to chose from. There was never a problem getting a sunbed. The men in the little shops are also great. Eric and Gerges were very friendly and we bought some gorgeous bags without being pestered. If you love a boat trip we definitely recommend ABDUL from blue waves on the beach. We wanted to bring him home with us! Such an amazing man. We had a great trip with them and it was definitely the best trip we have ever been on. And we've been on many. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was always clean by the great 'gamil' room 29106. It was not very close to reception but it was a nice walk to get away from the centre of the hotel.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Great choice. Great management always on the ball. Great service and cleanliness. Best food we have had abroad

  • Service
    6.0

    Staff in the a la carte restaurants were again excellent and we preferred the a la cartes as they were more relaxed and enjoyable for us. However food in all the restaurants was delicious and plenty of choice. Service in all areas of the hotel was outstanding, from arriving late at night on a Tuesday and being offered a meal in the restaurant to leaving two weeks later with an amazing send off from the animation team. Nothing was too much trouble from the hotel as a whole.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Couldn't rate the sports and entertainment high enough. They have something for everyone all the time!!! They encourage you to join in without being a pain. They are amazing at their job. Beach party is a must!!!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We stayed at the sunrise makadi bay for two weeks in August with family and friends. We all agreed this was the best holiday we have been on!! The staff were incredible, the food and a la carte restaurants delicious and the animation team were the friendliest, most helpful and no hassle team we have ever come across! They made our holiday. Kareem is an absolute star and would do anything for you. Other stuff including gazal, yana, brown, moris, jamaica etc are all fantastic at what they do too! They always have a smile on their faces. The hotel is big however it was always so quiet strangely as there are many pools and restaurants to chose from. There was never a problem getting a sunbed. The men in the little shops are also great. Eric and Gerges were very friendly and we bought some gorgeous bags without being pestered. If you love a boat trip we definitely recommend ABDUL from blue waves on the beach. We wanted to bring him home with us! Such an amazing man. We had a great trip with them and it was definitely the best trip we have ever been on... And we've been on many.

  • Location
    6.0

    Many pools and the beach is gorgeous too. Didn't leave the hotel as we didn't feel like we had to. We had everything at our doorstep.

Close
Ilke
Great resort and such a lovely animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Well i can say the animationteam makes your holiday. All the girls and boys are so helpfull, walking around from morning till evening with a smile and always ready to help and solve a problem. Plenty of acitvities in daytime no time to get bored and they aren't pushing anyone if you just want to relax. Nice shows in the evening followed by a disco, bingo, karaoke and plenty more. All members of management, staff, reception, bar and restaurant are so friendley and try to make your stay as relaxed as possible. Resort very clean, gardens are wonderful, and food's ... more than enough with all the a la carte diners read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Aleksandra
"Jamaica is the best"
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Excellent hotel,fantastic staff,greate service and the beach like a fairytale. Best of all - Animation team. They will make you feel as comfortable as in your home. This is so far our most beautiful holiday thanks to our friend,animator Jamaica. He is the best!!! You must visit this hotel. Best regards from Bosnian friends. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Annabel
Absolutely loved every second
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
The sunrise royal makadi bay resort is all you can ask for and more! The most important part of the hotel for me was the animation team! They all made my holiday amazing! Kareem, John, Gazal and Sepastian all made sure we enjoyed our time at the hotel and they are great fun to do activities with. They are easy to talk to and are all very talented. They all take care of you and make sure you're having a wonderful time. The daily shows we're amazing and the pool party was so much fun! The trips available we're also ... amazing! And even if you don't go on a trip there's so much to do in the hotel like water polo, aqua gym, archery, shuffle board, Zumba, Arabic lessons and so much more! I really enjoyed my stay and the sunrise royal makadi bay resort and I would recommended it to anyone! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Petra
Perfect holidays
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
This vacation was perfect. Animation team were great. They were funny and helpful. Evening programs were creative. Sea was clean and beautiful.Hotel services were good. I very satisfied and will come again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jane
Fantastic holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
The hotel was on the beach with plenty of coral to explore when snorkeling. It was very clean we were all inclusive. It also has seven al carte restaurants. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room was excellent TV, safe and kettle with tea and coffee provided. We had a fridge which was stocked daily with water and soft drinks at no extra cost.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The quality of food was excellent in the main buffet if you couldn't find anything to eat you must be really picky. The Al la Cart's were excellent and the service was great.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were all polite and friendly and could speak very good English. Our room was cleaned daily. If you had any complaints they were sorted straight away not they we had any. We could not fault this hotel. The entertainment team were excellent especially Kareem, John, Sylvia, Ta Ta, BoCa and not forgetting Moris (OK).

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There was activities throughout the day and evening. The entertainment team came to the beach to see us everyday for a chat even if we didn't want to take part in the activities. They were excellent at there job as making us feel welcome.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was on the beach with plenty of coral to explore when snorkeling. It was very clean we were all inclusive. It also has seven al carte restaurants.

  • Location
    6.0

    Our room was 2 mins walk from the beach, pool and restaurants. The hotel has shops. We went on excursions Luxor, Swimming with Dolphins and Jeep Safari

Close
Claire
Relaxing, hospitable, entertaining, family holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Wonderful holiday resort, ideal for families. Good all round holiday with a wonderful team of staff that take great pride in there hotel, and there guests, nothing is too much trouble. Entertainment staff always happy to help, and there knowledge of English language is next to none. Big thank you to Kareem, Mostafa, John, Elena, Deejay, and the rest of the team. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Natasha
Best holiday ever
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Just got back from a fantastic holiday at this amazing hotel, WOW what can I say, we travelled as a group of 4, my parents, my friend Annabel (16) and myself Natasha (14) and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, We would like to say a big thank you to all of the animation team, especially Kareem (Karen), Ghazal, Sebastian and John (Sharon) who made our holiday absolutely amazing and made us feel at home, they are all such a laugh and are always trying to get you involved in every activity such as- Water Polo, Shuffle Board, Aqua Gym ..., Archery and so much more! Also ask Kareem about his walking on water magic trick which stunned us all! With 7 al a carte restaurants there's always something for everyone. We went on 3 amazing trips whilst we were there including a jeep safari into the desert ( highly recommended) a trip to Mahmya (an island in the middle of the red sea) and a dolphin watching trip (very hit and miss but we were very lucky!) we did have a bit of a problem with the dolphin trip as we were picked up from our hotel over an hour late as the organisation of the trip had somehow forgotten us, but this was quickly resolved. overall the hotel, staff, shows and parties were amazing and I would like to thank all the staff and animation, for making our holiday amazing and we hope to return soon! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Anne
Wonderful holiday in sunshine at sunrise makadi
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
the resort was perfect for a family holiday.rooms were clean and comfortable. the food was good and plenty of choice for all nationalities. all staff were pleasant and helpful but what made my holiday was the animation team especially BOCA. and KAREEM. They worked especially hard from morning to night and nothing was too much trouble. BOCA was wonderful with the children and i had so much fun watching him. A big thank you to the animation team and hope i will see you all again soon. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    I had a twin room with bathroom which had air conditioning,patio, minibar,safe and telephone. Disappointed with TV as could not receive news in english.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    plenty restaurants to choose from rangeing from traditional to mediterranean, asian, mexican, italian several restaurants and bars including traditional fare. steak house, italian. mexican. asian and mediterranean.

  • Service
    6.0

    staff friendliness and many spoke various languiges. rooms were clean and additional services available eg laundry. clinic and pharmacy. reception staff were available at all times.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Leisure activities included all kinds of sport, kids club, disco, shopping and internet access. The beach was clean and plenty sunbeds available with sunscreen. Selection of pools including a kiddies pool all with sunbeds with sunscreen.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    the resort was perfect for a family holiday.rooms were clean and comfortable. the food was good and plenty of choice for all nationalities. all staff were pleasant and helpful but what made my holiday was the animation team especially BOCA. and KAREEM. They worked especially hard from morning to night and nothing was too much trouble. BOCA was wonderful with the children and i had so much fun watching him. A big thank you to the animation team and hope i will see you all again soon.

  • Location
    6.0

    beautiful location and surroundings. close to beach. 25 minutes from Hurghada and airport. plenty of excursions available.

Close
Sophie
Best holiday we've ever had!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
The hotel is fantastic, the restaurants and food were amazing. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Rooms were nice and had everything you needed!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The best family holiday we've ever had!

  • Service
    6.0

    Service was great the waiters and bar staff are really friendly and remember your orders!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team are brilliant, Kareem and Silvie made our holiday great but they are all so good at what they do. A bunch of friendly, talented people, thank you for making our holiday special and we will definitely be back to see you!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is fantastic, the restaurants and food were amazing.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is right on the beach and the views from the room are beautiful!

Close
Sarah
Home is where family are
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Clean intact spotless nothing is too much trouble read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    If travelling with a family the block 10 is at the heart of family pools but couples or friends then request 14,15,16,17 as these are right close to all the action for the evening

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    Amazing and we didn't have to tip at all if we didn't want but please be aware that they do free pour the beer etc and in the high season it can make people extremely ill

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Oh my the animation team is amazing kareem is like a member of our family also a massive thank you to Natalie John brown boca and momo aka MJ you kept us entertained for 2 whole weeks

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Clean intact spotless nothing is too much trouble

  • Location
    6.0

    This is in a peaceful environment but not too far if you want to get about it's a short taxi ride which the hotel can sort for u

Close
Lisa
Amazing
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Highly recommended, pools, rooms, staff, food were great but the animation team made our holiday especially Natalie and Momo they always made sure we didnt need anything and the kids loved Momo. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Chloe
Amazing place with amazing staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Excellent hotel. Everything you need is there. The pool and beach is amazing and so are the restaurants and hotel reception. Rooms are not modern but have an egyptian feel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    A large balcony shower room and bedroom. Twin beds pushed together to make a double was unexceptable and the fridge had a bad smell. Air con was amazing however could get a little too cold.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Lots of choice. They were beautifully decorated however the menus are limited and the food is only ever average. Nothing spectacular.

  • Service
    6.0

    Any problem and the hotel would resolve it within minutes. Except for thinking that pushing 2 single beds together makes a double.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation do a great job of providing sports and games. Especially kareem. NIght time entertainment is usually good but sometimes can be a bit naff but always makes a laugh.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Excellent hotel. Everything you need is there. The pool and beach is amazing and so are the restaurants and hotel reception. Rooms are not modern but have an egyptian feel.

  • Location
    6.0

    Excellent location. About 20 minutes from the airport and you can get a bus into town however we were advised not to go into town because of pick pockets.Many excursions were also close.

Close
Matthew
Fantastic holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
This holiday has been one of the best we have been to! The Sunrise Royal Makadi is massive and has plenty on offer and is also located right on the beach so you don't even have to leave the resort. We went as a family with our 3 children aged 11, 7 and 3 and with my parents. The two rooms we stayed in were huge and comfortable which were located next to the family pool which was ideal for us as we spent most of our time by that pool. There is plenty of choice when it comes to ... food whether you eat in the main buffet restaurant or dine in one of the many a'la carte restaurants, my favourite was the Mexican my dads was the Tbone, there's something for everyone. The new water slides was not finished while we were there but could see it coming along and looks great. We had 3 birthdays whist over there and they celebrated all of them with cake and drums which was fantastic. Finally I would like to say and I think this is the most important that ALL the staff from the room cleaners to the barmen to the reception staff and entertainment team could not of done more for us if they wanted to. It made our holiday that much more special and everyone of Royal Makadi's staff are a credit to the hotel and the Egyptian people and would like to say a big big thanks to all of them for giving us a fantastic holiday! Would definitely recommend and would definitely come back! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Renate
We love Sunrise Select Roazal Makadi!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
We booked a last minute with kids and 'came home' for the 5th time. We like this hotel soooo much!!! Get the room we asked for. Tnxxx for that) enjoy the food in the restaurants.Make many friends with staff. We enjoy the animation team, they are really wonderfull. Thnxxx natalie and jojojoooo and the others). Even tnxxx to hassan the towelguy and the barmen saleh and elgendy. The kids are in love with them tooo:) they are sooo nice for kids. Play with them. Talk with them. Joking with them. Real fun. Sadly saleh go on ... holiday on our last few days so we became another barman at the familypool 2. Dont know his name. Kids didnt like. No joking. No laughno nice talks. He only looks on his phone and to nice bodys of young women. Dont feel comfortable with it. The familypool 2 was, after 5 years, no longer the most pleasant pool of sunrise( we searched for a nice barman and find elgendy at the mainpool. So the last days we spent at the main About a few months we come back for the sixth time and hopefully saleh and elgendy will be back at the familypool2, because a nice barman MAKES a nice pool! And a nice familypool2 makes SRM to our second home read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Natalie
Fantastic in every when
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
This is the second time we have been to this hotel and both time we have had a great time. The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure that everyone has a great holiday. The food is good and the rooms are large and very clean. There are all nationalities at the hotel, unfortunately some guests are very disrespectful of other guest and staff but of course this is not the hotels fault, the pools are clean. We will definitely be returning in the future. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very large rooms, with everything that you could want it them. With a minibar, tea and coffee, a safe, telephone, hair dryer, TV, Every room has a balcony .

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The variety of food is enough to suit everyone. There are many different restaurants and all are very good both food, cleanliness and staff. Our only complaint would be that often we struggled to get a table in the main restaurant and when we did they often didn't seat the 7 in our group. But on saying that when we did find a table the staff were always helpful to set the table up for us.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service is excellent from the entertainment staff , to the cleaning staff they work extremely hard and always have a smile on their face. The staff all seem to speak a great variety of languages. The rooms are very large and kept very clean. Any problems are dealt with quickly and efficiently

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment is amazing there is something going on all of the time but you are not forced to join in but are just told daily what is going on and where. The activities that we did join in with were well run and really enjoyable. The pool party and beach party were enjoyed by the teenagers in our group. The pools and the beach were clean and looked after. Sun beds are plentiful but as for all hotels at busy times there are never enough by the pool but then you just go to another pool or the beach.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This is the second time we have been to this hotel and both time we have had a great time. The staff are amazing and go above and beyond to make sure that everyone has a great holiday. The food is good and the rooms are large and very clean. There are all nationalities at the hotel, unfortunately some guests are very disrespectful of other guest and staff but of course this is not the hotels fault, the pools are clean. We will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is on the beach which is well looked after. The trip from the airport only takes about 30mins

Close
Shannon
Amazing holiday! Will be returning!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
I went to this hotel on the 8th July for 2 weeks with my mum. It was the best 2 weeks I have ever spent out of the UK. I can't fault this hotel what's so ever. Everything were perfect. I arrived at 12 midnight and we was welcomed by Natalie (from animation team) and a few of the staff from reception. The welcoming was amazing. We got made feel at home and got offered drinks after a long exoasting day traveling to Egypt. Everyone was so helpful and did everything they could to ensure we had a fab holiday! ... Hotel - it was very clean and spacious. The reception area had its own area for the guests to use the computers. They was also security at the doors (entrance) which made us feel secure. The bar outside had it's own WiFi which all of the guests used but could be slow at times. The pools was amazing! Couldn't ask for better pools. We stayed around the main pool as it had its own pool bar which was a nice swim to Go to it and it was relaxing sat there enjoying our drinks in the pool! We walked past the kids club when its opened which looked excellent! And the pool with the slides looked very good. The main pool had plenty of sunbeds for the guests with umberellas to sit in the shade when ever we wanted. Room - we were on block 17 our hotel room was amazing. Always got cleaned to the highest standard. The rooms was big so had loads of space to walk around and the room had loads of draws for our luggage which was useful. We also had English channels on the tv which was good as we are British. Animation team - This animation team is the best I have ever come across! Every morning they would walk around the pool and greet everyone which made us feel at home. They was amazing. They did everything to make sure our holiday was the best. Especially Kareem. He went out of his way to ensure we was satisfied. If you have any problems you could go to him and he would make sure your problem is sorted in the next 5 minutes. Likewise the rest of the animation team are incredible too! Brown, Kareem, Bobo, John, boka boka, Olga, dino, Sylvia, Natalie, Ghazal, Sebastian, Tata and Zidan (sorry if I have missed anyone out) we enjoyed the daily activities. Like water polo, water aerobics with Kareem and shuffle board with Sebastian. The night time entertainment was amazing. Enjoyed the karaoke nights and the live singing and most of all the animation team dancing! They are incredible! I must sat a lot about the main people IE gardeners who maintain and look after the up keep of the gardens and the recreation people who walk about in the blue tops making sure the pools are safe and clean and cups and bottles are collected at the side of the beds. And the spillages are cleaned up immediately. They do a fantastic job all around! Would like to thank our room cleaner who cleaned block 17 so much! He was a genuinely, nice caring and polite gentleman who couldn't do anymore to keep us satisfied with our room. He always made sure we had water and drinks in our fridge and whenever we needed something he would be there. Also I need to bring in a mention of El Gendy; the pool bar man! He was a delite to meet! They was never a dull moment with him! He always had a laugh with us and made us smile! He had a amazing sence if humour and a funny character. He will never be forgotten as the chatty bar - man. I would like to thank the higher staff behind reception and the animation manager. They helped us a lot! Will definatly be returning! Shannon&Barbara. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Emma
Amazing holiday...again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
This hotel is the best we have ever stayed at. Dont know how else to describe it other than amazing! The whole team of staff are fabulous, nothing is ever too much trouble. In particular I have to mention the animation team. What a wonderful bunch of people! The best animation I have ever come across. Must say Natalie, John, Brown, Sebastian, Boca, Mezo and made our holiday. They are always full of energy and were great with our 2 children. Must also mention all the staff in all the restaurants and bars were wonderful. If I mention all their ... names this review would never end!! The night manager is a lovely man and also Hashem is the kindest man we have ever met! Cant recommend this hotel enough. Was our second visit and certainly wont be our last. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 141