SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort(4.5 stars)

Hurghada, Makadi Bay, Red Sea View on map

Average rating

7,824 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.7
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.8
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.7
  • Sport & entertain
    5.8
Filters
You selected:
3357 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Lucy
Fantastic holiday again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
We had a fantastic time again at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, and will be back next year! The Entertainment Team were great especially Kareem, Achmed and Yessir (excuse the spelling). As the Hotel motto goes ' Welcome Home' and it definitely feels like it. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Peter
Lovely and helpful animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
Lovely stay.thanks to Kate. This hotel is complete. Everything is ok. The food the entertainment. Specialy Kate.. she is so friendly and helpfull and nice to the kids.the garden is verry nice. Enough swimming pools and playground for kids. The shows at night are verry proffesional. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Dawn
Can't wait to return
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
First time at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay think the rooms could do with a little bit of updating and the decor could do with a bit of improvement but overall had a very enjoyable stay read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    We felt the room could do with some decorating and generally updating

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    So much food so much choice unbelievable and so many à la cart restaurants

  • Service
    6.0

    Could not fault the service of the waiters in the main hotel they were always there first hand especially in the main restaurant where they were kept so busy by so many guests. They deserve a pay rise!!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Our holiday was made special purely by the running and friendliness and kindness of the animation team. They were amazing could not fault them in anyway. The hotel should be so proud of them. They always had a smile on their faces and welcomed us with open arms

  • Hotel
    6.0

    First time at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay think the rooms could do with a little bit of updating and the decor could do with a bit of improvement but overall had a very enjoyable stay

  • Location
    6.0

    Beautiful gardens and always well watered and maintained

Close
Monika
Another great stay. Superb Kareem & animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
It was an unforgettable week, but expect it because it's my next stay at this hotel. Great hotel, a large, well-kept. Room with private bathroom and balcony, cleaned every day by a very sympathetic the peaceful. The food was great, the hotel has several restaurants (one general and several thematic - I recommend Asian). The service was very friendly and nice, some know a few words in Polish but primarily English and Russian, although it can safely communicate. But there is someone who not only knows a few words even more than a few sentences in Polish - Kareem is ... the animation team who made our holiday has always been the best.is a nice animator, you can say that the combination of a professional in their field with a very nice and helpful man with a good heart and speaks Polish quite well. Beyond the animation team is about 15 people who had engaged in entertaining guests and care about their well-being. They all made the holiday my and my family are wonderful. Thanks to all. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Phil
Another fantastic Easter holiday here
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
Great holiday for the second year running and can't wait to go back next year, 7 exellent ala-cart restaurants with t-bones and the Itallan being the best, The staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you, The animation team were brilliant day and night especially Kareem and Ahmed who always help you have a great time. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Gerry
Our family holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
I have just returned from a family holiday to Makadi Resort Hotel. I travelled with my wife, daughters/ partner and grandchildren,and can say what a truly amazing experience we all had. I have not been abroad or on a family holiday for over 13 years and due to my wife and I both celebrating significant birthdays, we decided on such a trip. The hotel was lovely, clean and comfortable. All staff were friendly and approachable and they were visible in a positive way throughout our stay. The animation team could not do enough with the children. All in all ... our stay was amazing and we look forwad to returning in the future. Gerry read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Andrew
Simply the best!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
what can I see I really liked this hotel, everything was great even if the hotel was fully booked, specially the staff they work very hard specially the animation team they are the best animation I have seen in my life, they are always smiling and happy, I did water polo with kareem all most everyday and it was fun and I beat kareem three times hahaha just kidding, I also loved my room it was to close to the main pool where I always spend my day, last thing I recommend this hotel for sure I will go there ... again read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Maria
Great staff, super animation team, the best Kareem
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
Just returned from a holiday in this amazing hotel. And once again, without any discord, full of positive energy, rested. Therefore, I would like everyone warmly recommend this hotel. This is where it is located, how everyone already wrote. With a clean and well maintained too. Amazed me great service, the animators and atmosphere. From the first moment was occupied a very warm reception staff with us every hour it was still nice people more and more. Every employee of warmth and high culture, spoke with us (mostly in English). Until we saw passing near our sunbed Kareem could not ... hide the joy that is still here, and certainly with him this summer will be wonderful. Turned out to be a really amazing person and has made a lot of each other making our stay wonderful. Also, other members of the team, bartenders, waiters and others every day enjoyed his sense of humor us, jokes. Therefore leaving when Kareem with several animators came to see us off, I felt like I was leaving good friends and even shed a few tears. I will be happy to come back and all I recommend read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Angelique
A very good resort
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
It's a very beautiful and Large resort. There is plenty of choice of food and drink. And it's all good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is much to do at The resort. The animation team is very active. And provide entertainment for young and old. I Will definitely return again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kim
Excellent stay at the Makadi Bay Resort in Egypt
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
Such a lovely hotel all the staff were really friendly. A big thank you to the animation team who made our holiday. They worked so hard to ensure that everyone had a good time. There was always some activity to do during the day if you wished. The Animation Team show on Mondays was excellent. The hotel facilities were excellent. Everywhere was kept spotlessly clean. A good choice of restaurants and pools. The beach area was also kept spotless. Would really rate this hotel for couples and families and would definitely return. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Claire
One of our best ever holidays
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
Brilliant hotel, excellent food, drinks & staff. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room was a family room in block 36 it was massive and kept very clean. Lovely towel art too. Mini fridge testicles daily with bottled water and every week with cabs of pop.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food is the best we have ever eaten in an all inclusive resort. The ala carte restaraunts are all great especially T bones, the Asian, Mexican & Bediouin. All the drinks are great alcoholic & non alcoholic. The tables are cleared straight away and all restaraunts ate extremely clean.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff are fantastic especially the animation team. Any problems speak to guest services and they do their best to sort it.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    All the pools are great, it's nice to be able to move around to a different area. We had no problems getting sunbeds onthe beach or around the pools & there was 8 of us. (Easter hols). The animation team are great we loved aqua gym especially with Kareem & Ahmed. Meditation every night with Orla and belly dancing with Bocca Bocca Bocca. Only put 4lbs on with all the exercise. Haha dread to think how much if just sunbathed.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Brilliant hotel, excellent food, drinks & staff.

  • Location
    6.0

    40mins from the airport. Can go outside but no need too.

Close
Caroline
Loved it
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
Had an amazing 10 days at this hotel. Rooms looked a little "tired" they were very adequate. Food was plentiful and a good variety although we tried to avoid the busy times. We ate in the a la carte restaurants almost every night and steakhouse and Asian were our favourites not only for the lovely food but the waiting staff who were very attentive. The Beach was beautiful. We luckily didn't struggle for a sunbed but weren't fussy where we were. We enjoyed staying round one of the pool where Kareem and Ahmed from the Animation team greeted us every ... day with their smiles. They checked whether everything was ok and that we were enjoying ourselves. Nothing was too much trouble and went above and beyond to make this one of the best holidays we have had. Will definitely return hopefully October read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Angela & Charlie
Another great holiday, best ever
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
food delicious in all restaurants We ate breakfast in Mexican which had great variety and there was always a table lunch in round world where ashraf and team looked after my son making sure he had diet coke has he's type 1 diabetic He's a great hardworking guyand dinner in alacarts Steak house Meditation and Asian are our favourites, the teams are great and create a lovely atmosphere to eat in My hubby liked Mexican too Pools galore and always got sunbed even though we rose around 10, Slides are amazing and fun for children and adults Animation team ... are fantastic, every single one of themthey speak many different languages and work hard to make sure we had a fab holiday Check out The lovely katya from animation, she was a darling always there to help us if needed / always friendly and smiling and her English was brilliant for somebody who is leRning ( better than mine lol ) She made our holiday special Can't wait to see her again in August read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sofie
Very good animation team, Thanks John Oss!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
It was our second time and it feels like coming home. Very nice staff, clean rooms, a lot of swimming pools and for the kids a heated pool with slides. Everything is very clean, the people are very nice. They do everything for the guests. A lot of thanks to John Oss from the animation team who gave us a great holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was very big. With 2 terasses. A nice bathroom. The fridge was filled with soda drinks and every day we got fresh water.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The main restaurant is sometimes very bussy and noisy. The food is very well prepared. There is a lot of choice. The only thing that bothered me, were the Russian people, they are sometimes very rude, they take a lot of food and they don't eat it. They leave it on the table.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff is very friendly and nice. You can ask everything. They do their best to speak English other languages. The rooms are very clean. We had a very big room on the main floor with 2 big terasses. Very nice to sit in the evening.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team off the hotel is very good. in the morning they come to the swimmig pools to say hello to everybody and to give information about the different things they do during the day. They are always there for a little talk. John Oss, thank you so much for the great holiday, it is thanks to you that we had a great room. I will never forget what you did for us!!! Our little daughter had such a great holiday once again. The animation in the evening with the shows are very good.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    It was our second time and it feels like coming home. Very nice staff, clean rooms, a lot of swimming pools and for the kids a heated pool with slides. Everything is very clean, the people are very nice. They do everything for the guests. A lot of thanks to John Oss from the animation team who gave us a great holiday.

  • Location
    5.0

    The beach is near the hotel. For us there where enough shops. It is an all inclusive hotel so you don't need to shop a lot. There a lot of excursions you can do: we did the trip to the Dolphins.

Close
Samanta
Great hotel, thanks Yasser
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
The hotel was amazing and the ground totally beautiful. The beach was wonderful but there is a need for more sunbeds especially in the morning. Being able to use the sister hotel was great as in both hotels the pools were good. WiFi was in the lobby and the pergola but was a good speed. Al carte restaurant good but you have to book at mid night. But of a fuss as shared with sister hotel. Hotel room had lots of space with safe and fridge at no extra cost. Our room cleaner did lovely creation everyday with the towels ... and our room had fresh towel everyday. All reception and lobby staff couldn't do enough for you. All inclusive was well worth the money and food was good quality and plenty of choice, we enjoyed our time with the animation team,they were helpful and cheerful all the time they work long time from the morning till the mid night asking you about their programs I need to highlight of the best animators YASSER, we are thankful for him, he did make our holiday and for sure we will come back again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Erik
Very good hotel for families with children
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
In general, this is an excellent hotel for everybody. For families with children and couples alone. We were here with 2 children, and there was never a moment that the were bored of anything. Nice staff, and always prepared to help, if needed. And then there was the animation team. They were by far the most complete animationteam we've ever seen. They were not "pushy" to make you do something you don't want to do. They all had something to show you, to "break the ice" when your children have a little fight. They even make the eveningshows look like ... this is there natural thing. They always make you laugh and give you the feeling being home. The Royal Makadi animationteam earned 5 stars! Thank you for giving us so much fun! Erik and Ilona from Belgium. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Victoria
Beautiful holiday, beautiful people
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
It was so great time, I never forget this, I just wanna back. All people here so kindness and helpful. I really enjoy it, it's how paradise. Thanks for every pleasure and just thank for everything. P. 'S Kate - thank you so much, you're the best. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Vincent
I had a nice time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
the hotel on his self is very big and beautiful. Nice pools and the animation is great! The food in the main restaurant is not bad but it is not like the food in europe and the cleaning is not really good. Otherwise there are 7restaurants and the a la carte restaurants are mutch better! It is nice to sit and the food is mutch better! The animation team are very nice people and they make you get comfortable and have a nice time. The water polo and all the other sports are nice! Some people behind the bar are ... less friendly to the people and that is not so nice. I went 1 week with my parents and we had a good time!maybe the food a little less but the sun and the animation and the pools make it al better ! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    2.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Mark
Awesome holiday and fantastic Yasser
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
Me and my wife recently returned from a great holiday at this hotel. The environment was extremely clean and well kept. The room was big and very clean. The food was excellent, especially the al-a-carte restaurants where the food was at a very high standard. The buffet restaurants were good with plenty of choice. The beach itself was very nice, soft sand and shallow waters. The aqua park is fab for kids with a huge selection of slides and the pool was heated so great for smaller kids. The staff at the hotel never stop to make your stay the ... best. The animation team especially Yasser were outstanding. Never stop and put 100% into everything they do. I liked my daily talks with Yasser, great asset to the company. Beautiful resort with amazing animation. We certainly going back to this resort. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Karen
First time to Egypt and thoroughly enjoyed it
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
This was my first time to Egypt and didn't know what to expect. Just me and 2 teenage children. I don't know really where to start. The room we had sleep 3, 2 single bed and an additional fold up bed and we still had plenty of room, the bathroom/shower room was something else loads of room. The grounds are very well tended to by the gardeners who are working all the time. Cleanliness is VERY good. Pool area is always being cleaned, towel men are very helpful and they even put my towel out for me. Animation team is ... something else, best team I've come across in a long while. They are pleasant and helpful and really try to keep all ages entertained, its not problem if you just want to laze and read a book like me they will still happy just to chat. There evening entertainment put on by the animation team was great and was enjoyed by us all, they where even better than the belly dancer they had on one night. There is also plenty of water sports and excursions to be found on the beach on with the travel reps in the hotel. The al la carte restaurants are a must and I can recommend T-Bones and the Asian restaurants especially. Sometimes the main restaurant seem very hectic but you have to remember that this is a very large complex therefore a very large number of guests to feed. Variety of food is good although it might not be to everyone's taste all the time, but I'm sure there would be something for everyone, All in all we found the whole holiday a great experience and plan to go back again next year. and every one we dealt with was very helpful. Please remember that different countries have different star ratings and if you want a 5* hotel like you have in the UK I suggest you stay in the UK. The Sunrise Hotel had it all for us so we have no complaints 10 out of 10 for us read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 168