SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort(4.5 stars)

Hurghada, Makadi Bay, Red Sea View on map

Average rating

7,961 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.7
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.8
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.7
  • Sport & entertain
    5.8
Filters
You selected:
3434 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Tom
Royal makadi 4 stars
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
I would say It is a good 4 stars Hotel. I could not say it is a 5 stars hotel. The restaurant is to small and you must wait sometimes 15 minuten to enter. The staf at the Pergola Bar is realy friendly, but staff at Reception bar very unfriendly. Also please do not make any booking for the Spa. Prices wat to high and very very bad treatment!!!!!! There are still lots of points of attention!!! -not enough towel regarding the quanty of guests. -the toilets at the Reception are Like a sauna, and smell alot. -a la carte ... system booking by touchscreen computers, please do it your first day our it is Positieve Points + ANIMATION TEAM IS REALY TOP!! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Žan
Great place to relax
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
First time in Egipt and in Sunrise Royal Makadi resort. Everything was just like expected, a lot of pools, nice beach, good food, friendly staff and very beautiful environment. Special mention must go to one member of the animation team, John, who made us smile on more than one occasion and answered to all of our questions. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Alena
Super animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
I enjoyed my holiday here, but here more russian. Food was good..:) and personal were excellent I recommanted this hotel for family holiday. The animation team was super!! They were super in dance. They was happy all day and they was super for all the time read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Lesley
Good hotel with lots to do you can never get bored
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
The gardens are beautiful and lovely to walk around. The hotel itself is clean. It is a large complex so there is always plenty going on. The gym and spa areas are impressive. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was clean, we had a mini bar with Pepsi,water,orange. There is tea & coffe in the room, large tv and air con. The room was cleaned daily to a good standard. We had lovely views over the gardens.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The seven Al a carte restaurants are lovely. We ate in the Asian, Mexican, the T bone and the Bedouin. There is no limit to how many times you can eat there the food was delicious although a bit disappointed in the Bedouin as they had no cous cous left. The bars are all friendly and the only niggle was they ran out of tonic water, vodka and rum towards the end of our stay so I couldn't enjoy a cocktail.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service was great. We asked to change rooms as our balcony was facing a wall with no view at all. We were not disappointed, the reception staff were great and moved us to a ground floor room overlooking the beautiful gardens. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. Everyone from reception to the gardeners always had a friendly word for us every day.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team and entertainers are brilliant. The evening entertainment was excellent and well worth a visit. There was plenty of daytime activities as well. The pools are well maintained and there was always plenty of sun beds available as well as on the beach.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The gardens are beautiful and lovely to walk around. The hotel itself is clean. It is a large complex so there is always plenty going on. The gym and spa areas are impressive.

  • Location
    6.0

    You can go for a decent walk . The hotel in close to the beech but you can walk all the way along from one end to the other. It's ideal for snorkelling and boat trips. There are plenty of shops in and around the hotel.

Close
Louise
Holiday of a lifetime for everyone
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
The hotel is the best I have stayed in and I have stayed in many in Egypt! I have just returned after my 7th visit to Sunrise The food is amazing both in the main dining room and the ala carte restaurants, again the best I have experienced. More than anything the animation team made our holiday perfect for us and the children. Momo and his double ( brother read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Patryk
Awsome holiday. Superb Kareem
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Speaking of Egypt - I think Sunrise. The hotel is situated by the sea with beautiful reefs and a wide pieszczystą beach. The property is really sizable and everyone can find a place for themselves. The food in the main restaurant may not be the top-flight, but it is a revelation themed restaurants. And finally - the most important -animation Team simply a revelation, from morning gymnastics, games, fun for everyone from children to the oldest holiday makers, and the evening show time and games not once late into the night. Thanks especially for Kareem - you're the best! ;) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Lenka
Sunrise Royal resort Makadi and Spa
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
This hotel is very luxourios.There are very more restaurants,bars.Animators are very friendly,families.The accomodation is best.The trip to Egypt is interesting.I will go to here again.Thanks,my holiday were very beautiful.:-* read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ewelina
Amazing place, great people, super Kareem
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
This is my third stay at this hotel, this time just with my husband. Great stay. This time, little different from the previous one. This time we came to have fun, active rest and were not disappointed. Hotel wonderful, clean, beautifully located with good leisure facilities (many pools, gym, spa, beach). Everywhere is clean and pleasant. There are working great people, friendly, helpful, not pushy, eager to everyone who solve our problem. This time we focused on entertainment. The whole day actively rested in what helped us a great animation team (from morning to evening organizing numerous activities: gymnastics, dancing ..., volleyball, water polo, evening shows, etc.). They are lovely people who, if we can only make us feel at home and spend time just like we like most. Hot thanks to Kareem - the third time he managed to make that our arrival was a really enjoyable and thanks to him we think about the next one. And in the evening there is nothing that improves humor like a romantic walk on the beach, a good dinner and dancing. It was wonderful. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ada
Another great stay. Thanks Kareem :)
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
It was a fab holiday. Wonderful place, beautiful views, sandy beach with a coral reef, quality hotel on 5+. Large rooms with balconies, large bathroom, clean, towels changed daily while cleaning the room. Food varied, everyone will find something for themselves because a very large selection, I recommend the themed restaurants (Dalia, Mexican, t-bons, Italian, Asian, around the world, Bedouin). The hotel people are nice and polite, both guests and staff. It is not difficult'll also get bored very rich program of entertainment for everyone - would recommend. People from the animation team are great and even if you do ... not participate in the animations always will help you. We had a great. I would recommend lessons in Arabic and aqua aerobics with Kareem, a great man, the soul of the hotel, if you need something, you have a problem just a word, always help you. We are delighted to stay here, great service and atmosphere. So I definitely will be back. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Vicky
Fantastic once again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
The hotel is beautiful but could benefit from a little refurbishment and updating of the rooms. It's location is close to the airport with everything on site, this was our 3rd stay without the need to venture out of the complex. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept, the cleaners, bar staff, reception and restaurant staff are all fantastic and endeavour to meet your every need, nothing is too much trouble for them! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are fully equipped with everything you could require, they could do with abit of refurbishment would be my only criticism as everything is tired but efficient in use. Our cleaner arrived quite late some days (4:30pm) which was the time we came back go our daughter to nap so do tell him to leave it a couple of times however they are cleaned everyday for 14 days so this was only a minor inconvenience.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We only ate in the buffet restaurant once during our 14 night stay as we booked the Al a carte restaurants for every evening and ate by the pool throughout each day. The buffet gets very busy but has a great selection of various different foods and has a specific area for children. The restaurants are outstanding, beautiful food, great service and your drink gets topped up before you've even finished! The waiters are always at hand and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Service
    6.0

    Your every need is catered for you just new to ask!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The pools are a lovely temperature even for children and are always spotlessly clean, the watermark is a great addition and is fun for all ages! My husband lost his wedding ring whilst on the slides and a lifeguard named moussa helped him search for it but couldn't however when we arrived at the pool the following day he handed the ring to my husband as he had continued to search after we had left so a massive thank you to moussa! The entertainment staff work tirelessly to keep everyone happy, particularly Momo, kareem, Ahmed, John and I think Elsam (I'm not quite sure if the spelling) Not to sure of his name but they are all great at keeping everyone entertained with a variety of different activities throughout the day and a fabulous show in the evening. They really made us feel and our holiday very special and are the prime reason that we return to our second home :-)

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is beautiful but could benefit from a little refurbishment and updating of the rooms. It's location is close to the airport with everything on site, this was our 3rd stay without the need to venture out of the complex. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept, the cleaners, bar staff, reception and restaurant staff are all fantastic and endeavour to meet your every need, nothing is too much trouble for them!

  • Location
    6.0

    The beach backs onto the hotel and is clean, safe and very much like the pictures you see in the brochures. Considering the climate the gardens are always in full bloom with a beautiful array of greenery and flowers. I'm not sure how far it is to Hurghada itself but the airport is a 30minute coach journey.

Close
Lenka
The best hotel Sunrurise Royal select Makadi
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
The hotel is very luxorious, beautiful. The room is very large with balcony, TV..The activities are best. Animatoras are very friedly, diligent and so on. Variety and yuality gastronomy is excellent. I like these foods. reception is willing. I heve to thank delegate, because he helped me. Thanks. I come next year again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Łukasz
Two weeks in heven. Great service & animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
I am so glad I finally got to spend in a place where I felt great. Already the moment you arrive to the moment you leave the hotel everyone treats you here as a special guest. The staff are amazing everyone from management, waiters to gardeners. The animation team works very hard all day to make guests feel their best and every day without disturbing encourage anyone to entertain or ask about your mood if you do not want to participate in organized by their pastimes.Among them they stand out Kareem, who every day giving me a lot of ... his time to talk, fun with water polo and helped to organize great entertainment. The hotel food delicious, but for dinner I recommend a la carte restaurants are amazing, every night you can use another. This hotel is second to none, not because it is beautiful and clean building but because of the people working there who create a wonderful atmosphere. I would recommend read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sandra
Amazing holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Brilliant check in, we were greeted with a refreshing drink and a wet flannel for our face! We were in block 29, which was quite a walk from beach and restaurants but was also quite nice because the grounds are immaculately kept and was a pleasure walking around them! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Large and clean, what more do u want, you don't spend any time there!

  • Gastronomy
    0

    Food is amazing, so much choice, pizzas were lovely, stone baked while you wait, we ate in 3 restaurants steak house was lovely, Italian was lovely and we loved the Mexican apart from the dessert, the creme caramel was non edible it looked like scrambled egg, and my cheesecake with fresh fruit was a little bit of sponge with a glacier cherry on the top, the mains was gorgeous though so it didn't really matter!!!

  • Service
    6.0

    Service is brilliant, such helpful lovely people

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Sooooo much to do, so many activities, the Animation team are amazing , special thanks to John, Boca, Kareem, Mumu, such lovely people, never stopped entertaining from morning welcome on the beach to showing us many tricks of an evening. The shows are brilliant we loved the amphitheater everyone can see wherever you sat! The pool was very cold, which was a shame, but we loved the beach!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Brilliant check in, we were greeted with a refreshing drink and a wet flannel for our face! We were in block 29, which was quite a walk from beach and restaurants but was also quite nice because the grounds are immaculately kept and was a pleasure walking around them!

  • Location
    6.0

    Location is wonderful, right on the beach!

Close
Martin
Another great holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
The hotel is well kept, clean and gardens beautifully maintained- the management take great pride in the overall appearance. The rooms are made up of 30+ apartment blocks scattered around the resort, some larger than others and some more conveniently placed than others dependant on your requirements. For example, if you choose a garden room location you will be further away from the action areas (pools, bars, restuarants, beach & reception). Garden rooms are therefore a little cheaper, the pool view rooms tend to be popular with younger families and groups, where as the sea view would be an area ... for older couples and singles. The guests during the first week of our stay were predominantly Russian and Baltic States (75%) mainly due to the holiday period VE Day or the equilent. The rest of the guests were made up of British, German and Dutch with a small sprinkling of Egytians. The second week was a little more equally balanced with around 50% Baltics. The demographic of the guests was made up of 60% young families, 30% couples (30% young, 30% Middle-aged & 40% mature) with singles making up the numbers (I think)? read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are spacious and clean. Any problems you may have are dealt with swiftly and efficiently. The shower works well as does the AirCon, there is a safe, TV, mini bar and hairdryer along with tea, coffee and kettle. The rooms are nice and a good place to retire after a hot day.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    This All Inclusive resort has 2 areas for breakfast, the main buffet area (large) and the smaller/quieter Mexican restaurant both serve a wide verity of food including eggs cooked to your preference as well as a big cold selection. The food is good and flavoursome. There are 3 areas which serve lunch, the main buffet area, the Around The World Restuarant and a snack bar at the T-Bones Restuarant. You can also find snacks throughout the afternoon in the Pergola Bar area serving chips and a different selection of either burgers, chicken and other foods as well as freshly made stone baked pizzas. Dinner is again available in the main Buffet area with a wide choice of food available which is changed daily with themed nights. In addition, there are 7 Al a Carte Restuarants which serve a diverse range of dishes which will provide a varied option for everyone; La Tratorria (Italian) Asian (Oriental) T-Bones (Steakhouse) Dahlia (Mediterranean) El Paso (Mexican) Sirena (Fish) Bedouin (Egyptian) All in all the meals are of a very good standard and cleanliness is good. The atmosphere in most of these places is relaxed and enjoyable. The staff do not expect or look for tips, this is done at your own discretion.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff are helpful and friendly, they strive hard to make your time spent as comfortable and special as possible. The reception staff are attentive and speak English well. The waiters are friendly and attentive, happy to talk offering advice to get you around and who to see for what you need. The rooms are cleaned daily and occasionally you will have a special presentation left for your return after a hard days relaxing. Three is a child care service in the form of a kids club/crèche available. A laundry service is also available and speaking to those who use it every time they holiday, the cost is very reasonable and the finished item is excellent.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There are a wide range of activities available for those who are looking to be a little more athletic, you are encouraged to do activities but not overly once you say it's not for you. The Animation team are superb, well organised and very passionate about what they do and they want to give you a great show. Momo was an absolute star during our stay and he loves to make you feel very special. Other mentions go to John & Karim who are both friendly and helpful, but their choice of football team as with most of their colleagues is somewhat predictably boring. The pools are well kept and attended by attentive, friendly staff. The family pool has a lifeguard called Mohammed Taqi who is a real gentleman, a kind soul and I am proud to say a good friend. Thanks to Mohsen, Amir and Alaa who looked after us during our stay.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is well kept, clean and gardens beautifully maintained- the management take great pride in the overall appearance. The rooms are made up of 30+ apartment blocks scattered around the resort, some larger than others and some more conveniently placed than others dependant on your requirements. For example, if you choose a garden room location you will be further away from the action areas (pools, bars, restuarants, beach & reception). Garden rooms are therefore a little cheaper, the pool view rooms tend to be popular with younger families and groups, where as the sea view would be an area for older couples and singles. The guests during the first week of our stay were predominantly Russian and Baltic States (75%) mainly due to the holiday period VE Day or the equilent. The rest of the guests were made up of British, German and Dutch with a small sprinkling of Egytians. The second week was a little more equally balanced with around 50% Baltics. The demographic of the guests was made up of 60% young families, 30% couples (30% young, 30% Middle-aged & 40% mature) with singles making up the numbers (I think)?

  • Location
    5.0

    The resort has its own beach area which is a great place to snorkel boasting its own reef with confined safety as it is roped and netted. The beach is well maintained a kept clean by the Recreation Team, this is very busy place and sun loungers are at a premium. There are shops scattered around the resort including handmade items, gifts, clothing, leisure equipment, snacks, cigarettes and a pharmacy. The are numerous activities available, it is suggested to go through your rep to get best deals.

Close
Sabina
Hotel at the highest level. Super Kareem
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
It was our second holiday at this hotel, this time without the kids but e because they did not want to come. On the contrary. The staff is wonderful and did everything to make us feel happy and at home. All the people working there are very cheerful, friendly, helpful and create a very friendly atmosphere. Our room was nice and clean, with all the necessary facilities, free Wi-Fi was at the Pergola Bar. The food was very different, a lot of choice, good quality, something new on the menu every day. We spent our days either on the beach ... or at swimming pools.The beach is clean and sandy, as well as the Red Sea is very clean and clear - very nice! We were very pleased that the hotel was nice and you can spend time actively. Cared about a great animation team with a very rich animation program. So we never bored. Every evening there were also wonderful evening show. We would like to thank the whole animation team for their hard work and great commitment to their work, especially Kareem, who is able to devote his every free moment to make our holiday was what is to be commended. It's a really great place to go back! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Grzesiek
Paradise thanks to wonderful atmosphere this place
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
The hotel is a really great place. Clean, well-groomed. Of course, this 5 * hotel in Egypt so hard to compare to European standards but it is a really good hotel. The entire complex consists of a large number of small buildings scattered over a large area of the garden. In addition to residential buildings are also reception, pub'u disco numerous restaurants, bars, shops, spa, dive center, hairdresser, laundry, etc. A well knows English and Russian (and most of the tourists are Russian and English), but there are also people who know the Polish language as Kareem with the animation ... team. Overall the service very friendly, helpful (not pushing for tips). The advantage of the hotel are precisely workers, mainly from the animation team who care not only about entertainment but also proving all the help visitors. Many thanks for the excellent service and assistance to all, especially for Kareem, who was devoting us a lot of time and helped at every step. I recommend the hotel to all, both those who want to relax in silence (there is a lot of space) as well as those who want to have fun read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Vincent
Great place to stay!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Just came back from a week in Makadi. The welcome on arrival is very good, the check in is done by the staff. Rooms are very good, enough space for everyone. We were in building 36 with perfect view on family pool. Food is good, the buffet as well as the a l a carte. Everyday Momo from animation came by (we sat at the family pool) to check how we are doing and if there is anything he can do. If there was he would solve it (not that it was neccessary). Buffet restaurant is a little busy and ... can be noisy (but that's how it is with kids around), but you can also sit outside where it's a lot quiter. Also minidisco and shows in the evening are nice for the kids. Conclusion; if you want to relax, enjoy good weather and a nice resort, you should definatly check Sunrise Royal Select Makadi. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Patrick
Great all-inclusive hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
We returned last Sarerday from a week vacation at Sunrise Select Royal Makadi Resort. Normaly we don't spend our holidays in all-inclusive hotels becauses we do not like it. This hotel really surprises us. The service, swimmingpool with glides, restaurants and most of all the great animation team made this holiday unforgettable. All of the staff wil do anything to make your stay perfect. We enjoyed the breakfastbuffet at the El Paso restaurant and preferred the a la carte restaurants in the evening. The boys from the animation team Momo, Eslam, John Oss, Kimo and Luca makes you really feel ... at home!! During the day the team presents A full programm with activities. They do this with A lot off energy and fun. Also the evening dance shows are very professional. We are sure to come back in the future!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Usha
Fantastic two week holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Two weeks of bliss, everyone at this resort cares about you as an individual and genuinely cares that you are having a great holiday, if they can do anything for you they will and that is exceptional service. The animation team work so hard from morning until night, always checking on you and doing all they can for you. A tiny couple of gripes, the Russians are rude, we wish they had a separate breakfast area, as they just grab everything they can. There was no kettle in our room (small gripe), we could have asked for one, but it ... was there in February without asking and it should have been this time. We look forward to going back next year. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Barbara
Amazing animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Just returned from amazing holiday. The holiday is made even more special by the animation team, kereem, boba and the rest of the team make it all so special. 2nd holiday here and it was even better the the last time 5 years ago. Rooms clean, food good and staff are all friendly. Will defo go back read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 172