SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort(4.5 stars)

Hurghada, Makadi Bay, Red Sea View on map

Average rating

6,908 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.7
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.8
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.7
  • Sport & entertain
    5.8
Filters
You selected:
2940 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Danka
Everything in one
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Very beautiful hotel, like mini city, with all kind of restaurant, very clean, very nice aqua park. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Rooms are very clean, comfortoble and figure of towels will always wait for you when you come back to the room.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is about seven of restaurant with different food, italian, mexican, arabian, mediteran and so many more. You only need to reservate one of these restaurant one day before, but you also have one big resaturant with so much food for choice.

  • Service
    6.0

    All of the staff is very friendly, warm, esspecially team of animation. Everyone is very dedicated to the job and do everything with smile. Cleaning is on the very high level.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Team of animation give shine on everything. They will make that this hollyday lapse unforgettable. Start from there kindness, friendliness and they will to help you in anything . Really, if you have some problem or you need something one of these great guys will fix that. Boca with his unimaginable talent as entertainer will make that your children never get boredom, Kareem so helpfull and friendly, Jamaica and Kimo so warm, sweety and ofcourse my dear friend Sepestian. He was always there to help us with everything we need, so caring, charming, warm, make you feel as you're home. I think i dont have a lot of words to describe energy that have these team. They work as one, real proffesional, commitment, like they know you long time. Because of them I will come back always here and recommend this hotel to my frined.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Very beautiful hotel, like mini city, with all kind of restaurant, very clean, very nice aqua park.

  • Location
    6.0

    I was three times in Hurghada, and I can say for sure that this is one of the most beautiful beach in Hurghada.

Close
Elena
Great holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Particularly worth mentioning animation team. Very cool guys, working 1000%. Very friendly and cheerful. Evening shows are just amazing. Bocca, Mido, Momo, Olga, Katya, Kimo, you are the best! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sean
Fantastic return visit - this is our 4th time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
the hotel has got a lot bigger, but the friendliness and quality has improved. The staff could not do enough for us, the bar staff were friendly and liked a laugh, the animation team were brill, especially Mido Brown, John (front of house) Kareem and the rest of the team. Entertainment was good with guest appearances. 7 Restaurants to choose from with good quality of food you would not struggle to find something you like. The water slides opened whilst we were there and they were great fun. Swim up bars excellent. Life guards were great went above and beyond ... to help especially Ahmed. Sea life was fantastic, weather was fab and room boys were excellent, polite friendly and clever at the towel decorations. We will definatley return again to see everyone. We stayed for 11 nights, but could have done longer. The Wifi access is a bit hit and miss even if you pay for it, but worth speaking to reception and the IT guys if you are having trouble. WELL DONE SUNRISE hope to see you soon read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ola
Wonderful holidays
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • October 2014
This hotel is very good. I think everyone can find something for yourself. The rooms are clean and homely. You can find swimming pools for children and adults. Hotel offer a lot of restaurant where you can eat whatever you want. The animators team is the best. They are very nice, polite, funny and creative. Best to remember Kareem and Zidan. That was a great holiday with great people so I think I will come there next year. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Nathan
Animation team made the holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
This holiday was by far the best that I have ever been on. The entertainment team made the whole holiday for us! Especially Mido B.! He helped us with a lot on our holiday, with amazing local knowledge, very talented guy! The all round standard of the hotel was out of this world! Clenliness was on very top form always! Pool and sea areas were kept beautifully. Food was amazing and always a wide verity of choice! I highly recommend going to the al a carte restaurants, but the buffet meals are always gorgeous! Its honestly a second home ..., and we all cant wait to go back next year! Thanks for an amazing holiday sunrise! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Hannah
Just what the Dr orderd
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Me and My husband and another couple spent 7 days at the Sunrise Royal Markdi hotel. It was absolute fantastic the staff couldn't have been friendlier. The a La cart restaurants have a good Varity of food on offer. My favourite was the Egyptian one as the food was very different but so tasty and had a good ambience. Our Room was clean, a good size with a nice balcony view. Another reason our holiday was so enjoyable was because of the entertainment team. They were brilliant there was plenty going on for adults and kids at all times throughout ... the day. They worked none stopped to make sure your holiday was all you wanted to be, if you had any problems they tried their best to sort it out. You always felt welcome from the moment you stepped into to the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Brian
Fabulous from start to finish
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Food was very good, great service and very clean . The entertainment team made the holiday for us, especially Mido, Bocca, Morris, Kareem, Sebastian, and all the others . The staff were very helpful and friendly and would always have a smile for you. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Plenty of space and good air conditioning

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Some of the best meals I've had especially the Asian

  • Service
    6.0

    Always willing to help . very keen to get your feedback. Clean room every day and a great laundry service

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Always something going on, pools are clean and plenty of them

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Food was very good, great service and very clean . The entertainment team made the holiday for us, especially Mido, Bocca, Morris, Kareem, Sebastian, and all the others . The staff were very helpful and friendly and would always have a smile for you.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location is great right on the beach, the surroundings are just what you would expect in a desert.

Close
Mathew
Best holiday ever
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Well what can I say apart from wow everything was fantastic. the only bad point was when we arrived we where in a room that I thought was a bit to small for me my wife and 2 kids but that was sorted out within a few hours with a room change. The entertainment team ( mido brown, boca,Kareen,moriso,mono,and all the rest off the brilliant team)are the best. Very very friendly and helpful always there to help nothing was ever a problem. Thanks to everyone for a really good holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Lisa
Made to feel special :)
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
It was my 4th time to Egypt, and my partners first The sunrise royal was amazing, it was spotlessly clean all the time, the restaurants were amazing including the Asian and T-bone The entertainment was brilliant and professionally done, the animation team were the best team iv ever seen abroad, they are all very hard working and always happy to talk to you and make sure you are enjoying your holiday All the staff in the sunrise royal make you feel very special from the moment you arrive to the moment you go home ( they even waved us goodbye ... with sad faces) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Dana
Excellent holiday with Sepastian F.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
We spent our wonderful holiday there, very satisfied. All animators-especially Sepastian F.- make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much for them. The hotel is very clean and friendly and the food is perfect. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Simon
Outstanding again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Stayed here again for our fourth visit. Things just keep getting better. The choice of a la carte restaurants is second to none and the quality of food and choice is maintained throughout each restaurant. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and really do welcome you home! Right on the beach and with a wide range of pools and now a new set of water slides just opened. We have never been back to any holiday hotel before but are already planning our fifth and sixth visits. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jemma
Dream Holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
I completely left the selection of hotel up to my friend, and based on a family recommendation she chose Makadi Bay. We had a fab time from the moment we arrived. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the pool area was a dream. I had planned a completely lazy holiday but ended up making quite a bit of use of the sport pool and gym which I was impressed with. I also got talked into doing a few activities such as waterpolo and archery which were really fun. I particularly enjoyed the option of the a la carte ... restaurants. All were lovely but the Asian was gorgeous! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ollie
Great resort, great food, great animation team.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Just got back from the resort. I went with my gf and another couple. The standards in the hotel were brill, all areas, rooms, and corridors were spotless (dont think we saw even 1 pest while there) The food was good in the buffet restaurant and excellent on the whole in the other restaurants (Asian or Egyptian was the best) our only comment is there could have been more fresh fruit available. Drinks were good overall and there was never really a wait for the bar although only the basic spirits? no liqueurs for more interesting cocktails( which would ... of made it perfect. Staff overall friendly, we found the chaps on the desk a bit surly but still efficient at answering questions. Our highlights of the holiday was the guys at the Egyptian restaurant (la goose!) who were great fun, and of course the one and only Morrisiooooo, who looked out for us all holiday and always had a smile on his face - just a shame he wasnt that good at archery) To wrap up this is a great resort and well worth a visit. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Galina
Simply great!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
we just came back from the hotel it was the best holiday , the staff was so friendly specially the animation team they could do anything to make sure that you enjoying your holiday, i would like to thank kareem for the Arabic lessons and for teaching my children his magick tricks , really can't wait to come back . read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Rowan
Amazing week :)
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
We visited Sunrise in early october with another couple, after booking through thomas cook online. On arrival (late at night) we were greeted with so many friendly faces, and offered a late night meal, which was much needed after the long flight. The next day we met Mohammed the Thomas Cook Rep who did everything to make you feel welcome, his little tips such as the red flag one really helped on the holiday. During the holiday we visited a couple of the a la carte restaurants our favorite was defiantly the Egyptian (thanks Mufasa/Laguse) the atmosphere was we amazing ..., and the food was to die for, we felt so relaxed and the staff couldn't do enough for us. A close second was the Asian, which could have been the best I have ever tasted. Again the staff was amazing. During our time the T-bone restaurant had been moved to the Italian, a little disappointing as was hoping for some nice pasta, all the same was lovely. We mainly ate breakfast in the Mexican restuarant as it was near to our room but ate in the main restuarnt once, many different choice, bit of a shame not much fresh fruit, seemed to improve later in the week though. Lunch we either ate in the main resturant or the Pergola bar, again many choices available. Not normally one for doing anything with the entertainment team, I thoroughly enjoyed the Archery with Moris he made if fun and enjoying and managed to get us to come back and try some more, even if he was rubbish haha. The entertainment team as a whole is the best I have ever seen, all members go out of their way to make you feel relaxed, all so open and friendly, they truly are a credit to the resort. Even in the evening they would come and make sure you are all okay, they work some crazy hours but they always had a smile on their face. We didn't see much of the nighttime entertainment (as we were normally eating) but we caught the dance show. amazing, some very talented people. The weather was amazing throughout our stay. We could always get a beach lounger by the pool and even by the beach. The pool was always refreshing, the pool bar was always a nice stop off on our swim around. Staying in block 38 we had a short walk to the main area, the room was always fresh and clean, with new bottles of water and towels each day. I even managed to have some towel art which made my day. Everyone in the hotel were so friendly from gardener to manager, everyone would say hello, smile at you and ask if everyone was okay. This was one of the best holidays I have had, only down side would have been the choice of spirits available, still enjoyable though. We will defiantly will be returning.! # note regarding the airport. We had looked up about this before travelling and i would advise the same to everyone else. You need a visa to enter Hurgada (thomas cook didn't inform you of this on the plane) when you enter arrivals there are lots of men holding plaques saying follow us for visa and stands half way down you think they are legit but they will cost you more, turn left when entering and you will see "The Bank" buy your visa there, so you know you wont be conned. I did feel like I was at a cattle market during the whole process and lucky to have 2 men with me, at times I did feel scared, would have been horrible traveling alone. See you again Sunrise read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Gaytan
Super holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Excellent holiday. You found here everything.Nice and clean beach. Many pool for everyone. Frendly staff. Spesial thank you - for the animation team. Kareem you are the BEST... Can not wait to come here agan. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sam
Amazing hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
The animation team to start with just make the holiday there's the best animation i have ever seen they do anything for you and bend over backwards to help they are lovely to talk to and are like a family by the end of the holiday. The food i cant fault everything was cooked perfect and really tasty there was always something to eat in the buffet restaurants and the al carte restaurants was even better easier to book and even if the restaurants was fully booked they would do anything they could to get you in to make your ... holiday even better. The room was always clean and towels and bedding was always fresh. To all the staff you made the holiday one to remember and we will defiantly will be coming back home. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kevin
Best hotel we have ever stayed in.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
The hotel is a superb It's a huge hotel with over 700 rooms. The hotel is well looked after by the maintainance team, a good they do as well, because I could not find fault with the place. The hotel is extremely clean, there are staff constantly going around brushing up, wiping tables etc. We had breakfast in the Mexican restaurant which was fine, the big plus for me was, they serve breakfast until 11 o clock. This is good if you don't want to get up early every morning and have to rush for breakfast. As for the guests ..., there is a big mixture of British, Russian, Czech and Egypyian. No problems with any of the nationalities to be honest. There is a good age range from 1 to 70, it caters for ages. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room location in block 15 was just what we required and as I've said before the cleaner Anwar was really helpful and kept the room spotlessly clean and even tidyed up after us. The rooms are a good size and had everything we required. The air conditioning was a little noises but worked great. There was a safe in the room as at no extra cost.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We ate in 5 of the restuarants in the week we were there, the Asian being our favourite, the food and level of service by the waiters in all of the restuarants was first class. The food was also superb, all of them spotlessly clean. We gave the waiters a £2 on each occasion that we ate but did not feel presurreised into giving tips, the same can be said of the waiters and bar staff around the Pergola bar day or night. Nina the barman at the Pergola bar was great, good fun.

  • Service
    6.0

    This to my wife and myself is were this hotel leaves all the other hotels we have stayed well in the shade. The level of friendliness of the staff, special mentions go to John, kareem, Mido brown, Morris & mono. These guys in our opinion went out of their way to ensure that we had a great holiday, constantly asking if everything was ok. (Other hotels should take note), this is the level of service I would now expect from anywhere I go on future holidays. Nothing was too much trouble. All the animation team deserve a mention as they all try and help you. Guest services deservea mention, the reasons are, our daughter and her fiancé were still on their holiday at the hotel when we arrived, what they did for us was, on the night we arrived, she asked could they book the 4 of us into 1 of the splendid restaraunts for the following evening even before we set off from Manchester, we apparently never even had a room number given to us at that time. Later on in the evening she went back and found that they had put us onto the 3rd floor, my wife has difficulty walking and climbing stairs, she explained to guest services and they then changed our room to a ground floor Instantly. We did not know any of this until we checked and our daughter told us what they had done for us. Our cleaner a war in block 15 was so helpful and our room was spotless, so a big thank you to him. Finally because my wife has back problems we needed to extend our check out time in our room, you are supposed to check out at 12 , guest services extended this until 4 o clock at no extra cost. That is top service in anyone's book.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Kareem was the water polo king

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is a superb It's a huge hotel with over 700 rooms. The hotel is well looked after by the maintainance team, a good they do as well, because I could not find fault with the place. The hotel is extremely clean, there are staff constantly going around brushing up, wiping tables etc. We had breakfast in the Mexican restaurant which was fine, the big plus for me was, they serve breakfast until 11 o clock. This is good if you don't want to get up early every morning and have to rush for breakfast. As for the guests, there is a big mixture of British, Russian, Czech and Egypyian. No problems with any of the nationalities to be honest. There is a good age range from 1 to 70, it caters for ages.

  • Location
    6.0

    The beach is "attached" to the hotel, just at the end of 1 of the pools. It also has beautiful gardens, which are kept in check by a full time gardening team, day and night. The transfer is great 30 minutes from hurghada airport. There are approx 12 shops or more on the hotel complex which cater for all your needs if you run short of something or are looking for a souvenir. I think a special mention for the " Sand men" Waleed & his brother (Picasso the artist) should be put on here as we had some great fun with both of them while bartering with them, without being 'pushy'. They never once tried to charge ridiculous prices and their sand work is really good. We never did any excursions but I believe from other guests we did speak to they thought they were a little over priced.

Close
Carolyn
Wow!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
A fantastic hotel with everything for all age ranges. Very clean and amazing service from all of the staff but especially the animation team and bar staff. As an all inclusive resort it offers a wide range of food choices for all age groups and nationalities. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was a great size with everything we needed, a fridge, kettle and coffee/sugar etc supplied, safe, telephone, tv air conditoning. Cleaned daily with regular towel changes and fridge and coffee replenished regularly.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We dined mainly in the a la carte restaurants as the main restaurant was quite busy but also served a good range of foods for all nationalities and age ranges. There are several a la carte restaurants and we ate at the Asian, Mexican, Mediterranean and Italian but there are several others to choose from also. The standard of food and service is great and we are looking forward to trying some of the others next year. On our night at the Asian it was our wedding anniversary and a cake with a candle was brought out with all the staff singing, dancing and playing drums!! Fantastic!

  • Service
    6.0

    The most friendly staff we have ever encountered in any hotel. Genuinely helpful and easy to communicate with as most staff can speak several languages. Our room was cleaned daily to a high standard and the hotel was clean throughout, On arrival we discovered that the air conditioner was very noisy and contacted reception who responded immediately and moved us to another room.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is something to do all day long if you wish, the entertainment team work very hard to try and involve everyone from all age groups in a varied activity programme. We particularly enjoyed boccia, shuffle board, water polo and water aerobics. But there is lots for young children, teenagers and adults to do. There is free wi fi available in the lobby which can also be accessed around the pool area. I did not use this but several people doing so and they didn't seem to be having any problems with this. There are plenty of sun beds around the pool and on the beach and we had no prblem finding one. The cleanliness around the pool area and beach is great, staff constantly walking around picking up empty cups/ bottles etc and ensuring it is kept tidy.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    A fantastic hotel with everything for all age ranges. Very clean and amazing service from all of the staff but especially the animation team and bar staff. As an all inclusive resort it offers a wide range of food choices for all age groups and nationalities.

  • Location
    6.0

    We have really enjoyed this holiday and will be definitely booking again. Set on the beach and a short bus/taxi into the main town it can be as quiet a holiday or as busy as you choose. We went on an excursion to Luxor and enjoyed seeing some of Egypts history but there are lots of other trips to book to suit all.

Close
Chris
Fantastic holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at the Sunrise Royal Makadi. The hotel, beach and amenities were excellent and the animation team were fantastic. A mention must go to Kareem, Brown, Yassah and many others whose names I forget. The only thing we could complain about was the horrible smell that arose everytime the gardeners watered the gardens. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 147