SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort(4.5 stars)

Hurghada, Makadi Bay, Red Sea View on map

Average rating

6,443 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.7
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.7
  • Location
    5.5
  • Food and Drinks
    5.6
  • Sport & entertain
    5.8
Filters
You selected:
2778 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Emma
Amazing holiday...again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
This hotel is the best we have ever stayed at. Dont know how else to describe it other than amazing! The whole team of staff are fabulous, nothing is ever too much trouble. In particular I have to mention the animation team. What a wonderful bunch of people! The best animation I have ever come across. Must say Natalie, John, Brown, Sebastian, Boca, Mezo and made our holiday. They are always full of energy and were great with our 2 children. Must also mention all the staff in all the restaurants and bars were wonderful. If I mention all their ... names this review would never end!! The night manager is a lovely man and also Hashem is the kindest man we have ever met! Cant recommend this hotel enough. Was our second visit and certainly wont be our last. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Chloe
Amazing place with amazing staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Excellent hotel. Everything you need is there. The pool and beach is amazing and so are the restaurants and hotel reception. Rooms are not modern but have an egyptian feel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    A large balcony shower room and bedroom. Twin beds pushed together to make a double was unexceptable and the fridge had a bad smell. Air con was amazing however could get a little too cold.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Lots of choice. They were beautifully decorated however the menus are limited and the food is only ever average. Nothing spectacular.

  • Service
    6.0

    Any problem and the hotel would resolve it within minutes. Except for thinking that pushing 2 single beds together makes a double.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation do a great job of providing sports and games. Especially kareem. NIght time entertainment is usually good but sometimes can be a bit naff but always makes a laugh.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Excellent hotel. Everything you need is there. The pool and beach is amazing and so are the restaurants and hotel reception. Rooms are not modern but have an egyptian feel.

  • Location
    6.0

    Excellent location. About 20 minutes from the airport and you can get a bus into town however we were advised not to go into town because of pick pockets.Many excursions were also close.

Close
Saffi
From Saffi and family
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
The hotel was lovely, always very clean. Full-board service was fantastic and always very professional. The rooms were very comfortable and were a good size. They were cleaned well every day. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was comfortable and of a good size. The A.C was great.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food in the main restaurant was nice, but it is very busy. My family and I preferred to eat in the a la carte restaurants within the hotel that were included in the all inclusive package. The food within these restaurants was absolutely delicious. There is also a teppanyaki restaurant available at additional charge which my family and I would highly recommend. It is delicious.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service of all the staff was fantastic. Their linguistic ability was second to none and communicated fluently with all guests. The cleanliness of the room was always amazing, and was always decorated with towel origami.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment team at the hotel were amazing. From the very first day of our holiday they made sure we were getting involved with all the different activities. Each member of the entertainment team were fantastic. Kareem was so friendly and would always chat with us during the day and in the evenings. Kareem was kind enough to teach my dad and I his native language; we would often try to have conversations in Arabic! Kareem was often in charge of water polo and water gym which were 2 of my favourite activities to do at the hotel. Ghazal was also in charge of waterpolo and beach volley ball was really friendly and approachable. He always encouraged everybody to get involved. He also often chatted with my family and I in the evenings which was lovely. Brown also took a group of us on a night out in Hurghada which was so much fun! John and Natalie were very welcoming and made us feel at home in the hotel. My family and I were all really sad to leave the hotel and especially sad to say goodbye to the animation team. They are a fantastic team and really bring the hotel to life. Without them, my holiday would have been boring and lifeless. I can't describe how fantastic they all are.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was lovely, always very clean. Full-board service was fantastic and always very professional. The rooms were very comfortable and were a good size. They were cleaned well every day.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is situated in Makadi Bay and is ideal for snorkelling and diving. It is only a short drive away from the airport (30 mins) and has a variety of small shops on site, including a pharmacy.

Close
Leah
Amazing
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
What can I say this hotel is amazing bedroom was very clean size good bars where fantastic pool was nice beach was lovely went dawn there everyday loved it verity of food was good best food iv tasted animation team where amazing made you feel at home and they made you feel welcome and part of there family best team ever did not want to come home kareem was so friendly they all where they work very hard to make your holiday special and they did I will recommend this hotel and we will be back for our third stay ... see you in july read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Olga
Best summer ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
I've been second time in egypt and I enjoyed. Obviously it was the best summer ever! The hotel is wonderful and clean. Food was very tasty and always fresh. In the evening were a lot of partys, karaoke etc. Show times were great and always interesting! And the most important thing; I just fell in love with animators ! Everyone was just perfect! Kareem who was helping us whenever we need his help and he was very friendly and kind all the time. Ghazal was always smiling and make us feel good. Sebastian was also great and always wanted our ... happiness! And of course Moresio who was the sweatest one. All of the animation team are the best. We will come back there again ! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ada
The best summer ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
It was my second time in Egypt and SunRise is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I really dont know how else to describe it other than awesome! Our rooms were big and always clean. Food was very tasty. Everything was just amazing! In this hotel was the best animation team ever. Everyone was wonderfull and full of energy. Specially Kareem, Gazal, Sebastian and Bocca made my holiday! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Karen
Thank you for a wonderful week!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Although the hotel is very big we never felt far from anything or overcrowded. Constant attention was paid to cleanliness and tidiness but even the pool attendants were quiet and discreet. Every single member of staff we came into contact with was friendly and helpful, the food was varied and excellent with the chefs always on hand if needed. The guests were various nationalities and ages and we met many different people. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room wasn't the most luxurious we have ever stayed in but had everything we needed. It was clean, bright, had air con, fridge, safe, etc so absolutely no complaints.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    As well as the buffet restaurant there were a number of a la carte restaurants, we went to 4 of them and the rest of the time used the main restaurant. The food was always excellent and well presented, and the dining areas kept spotless. Despite the number of guests the staff were always on hand to ensure you had a table and everything you needed. Drinks were readily provided and the whole atmosphere was warm and friendly.

  • Service
    6.0

    Every single member of staff we came into contact with was friendly and helpful and we never had any difficulty with languages. The room was cleaned and tidied daily and water replenished with little extra touches . We never had a reason to complain about anything but were often asked if everything was ok and if we needed anything which was really nice.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We have never involved ourselves in activities in the past, however this time probably due to the amazing animation team we joined in with a number of activities and had a brilliant time. The Animation team were great fun, made sure we were ok and knew what was on and where without pushing us into anything. Between the hotel staff and Animation team they really made our holiday. The beach, pools etc were great, wifi was a bit hit and miss but maybe a holiday is the time to leave wifi behind, although it's nice to post photos letting everyone know what a fab time you're having.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Although the hotel is very big we never felt far from anything or overcrowded. Constant attention was paid to cleanliness and tidiness but even the pool attendants were quiet and discreet. Every single member of staff we came into contact with was friendly and helpful, the food was varied and excellent with the chefs always on hand if needed. The guests were various nationalities and ages and we met many different people.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location was perfect for us, less than an hour from the airport. We often chose to lay by the pool but for a quick dip in the sea only had to follow a short path. There were shops at the hotel although we wanted for nothing so didn't really use them. We only actually went out on one excursion, dolphin safari, and had a really amazing day.

Close
Bradley
Everything we wanted and more!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
My boyfriend and I travelled to Egypt for a relaxing all inclusive week away after a busy year. What we expected was a nice week where we could chill out and enjoy the sun, which we got, but there is so much more to this hotel. We were greeted after our delayed flight with drinks and food still provided for us at such a late hour and a really nice welcome from all the staff. Throughout the week we got to know the amazing animation team who really made our trip special. Natalie and Sylvia in particular made the trip ... as homely and comfortable as it was, they along with others in the animation team spoke to us regularly, acknowledged and remembered us, came to wave us off when we left, which was a lovely touch. The entertainment was fun, the food was excellent, the a la carte restaurants offer a great variety for everyone and they're very easy to book on to - and they're unlimited!!! We could not have asked for a better vacation, and felt vey welcome as a gay couple in a Muslim country! I would recommend this holiday to anyone and everyone, there is no prejudice to anyone at this resort. We also found there were no extras added on to our bill at the end, everything was actually free, just as it should be in an all inclusive but sometimes isn't! Our room was located so close to the pools, bars, beach and reception without it ever being too noisy or loud! The views of the clear blue Red Sea were exceptional and the fish you can swim with on your own private beach mean there is no need to pay the extra for a snorkelling trip, although we would highly recommend the scuba diving company found within the hotel!! The only slight niggle is the wifi is fairly slow, but there is enough to do at the resort to distract you from your twitter, email or Facebook! Don't judge what you hear about Egypt as this is not true at this resort. Thank you for everything, thank you for a great holiday, it was so much more than we could have ever asked for. Miss you all already! Bradley and Thomas) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Konstantin
Sun, air and great animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Hotel condotion is good. There are one big clean room for us. Satisfactory cleanliness in the room. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room size is big. Equipment is good-working.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 5 restaurants we visited. Not availible registration in the T-Bone (Stake House) and greek restaurants. I want to mark Italian restaurant - MOLTO BENE!!! Thanx a lot for delicious cuisine and perfect service!

  • Service
    6.0

    Staff helpful and always smiling toward children. Knowledge of a foreign language satisfactorily. Russian language should learn better. Handling compliance is satisfactory. In room did not work and refrigerator was broken window on the balcony, but after complaining everything was fixed immediately.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    I want to thank the team of animators. This is the best animation I've ever met. Guys, thank you for the holiday. Tata, Olya, Elena (Lina) we love you so much.) Moresio, my friend! Thank you for Zumba and Shuffel Board`s time! You are the best! Momo, you are the Bocha-Man) I was very pleased to play petank (bocha) against you! Best regards! Gazel, you were the best water-polo player of the season 2014) And finally I want to say Shukran for my arabian language teacher Kareem Chelsea) I hope next year I will speak with you not only English, but Arabian too)

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Hotel condotion is good. There are one big clean room for us. Satisfactory cleanliness in the room.

  • Location
    5.0

    Distance to the beach is about 7 minutes by walk. Shops are presents. Sellers polite and not annoying.

Close
Trish
The best holiday for everyone
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
To be honest, this was the best holiday I have ever been to. I made a lot of friends here all over the world. There are a lot of Russians but when you don't like them, you just don't have to pay attention to them. The age range is very varied. There are a lot of kids, teenagers (which was great), but I didn't see many old people. Hotel is very clean, gardens are beautiful, rooms are spacious. There are approximately 39 blocks of rooms. Only the 19th block has see view, but you have to pay some extra money ... for it. The 19th block has also a pool with a bar only for these guests. We stayed in the 16th block which was great, because it was near the pool, reception, restaurant and see as well. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are quite big. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are clean and you can get new towels everyday. There is a TV in every room but you won't watch it... believe me, there are a lot of better things to do.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are plenty of restaurants. It's very unusual that you can eat at the A La Carte restaurants every evening. We tried only the Asian and Mediterranean. Most of the people say that Asian is the best but I enjoyed the Mediterranean more. There is the main restaurant which is very good too, but sometimes it's hard to find a seat. The food is plentiful. Cutlery and plates are usually very clean. Waiters are friendly and helpful.

  • Service
    6.0

    "Welcome home" were the first thing you hear when you come to the reception. Staff is polite and friendly, and they want to do everything for your satisfaction. I spoke in English with all of them. They could say some phrases In Czech and Slovak as well.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    I have to say that this animation team was the best one you can ever meet. There are so many activities during the day you won't find in any hotel.You can learn capoira, latino dances, belly dancing,... You can play a lot of games with the animators. I couldn't decide which one I want to play the next. The animators are super friendly, super funny and super clever. My mother felt sick and one of them even showed her how to make a special tea for the stomach problems. The dance show they do is incredible. And also there are some competitions after the show where you can get a medal. They speak a lot of languages.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    To be honest, this was the best holiday I have ever been to. I made a lot of friends here all over the world. There are a lot of Russians but when you don't like them, you just don't have to pay attention to them. The age range is very varied. There are a lot of kids, teenagers (which was great), but I didn't see many old people. Hotel is very clean, gardens are beautiful, rooms are spacious. There are approximately 39 blocks of rooms. Only the 19th block has see view, but you have to pay some extra money for it. The 19th block has also a pool with a bar only for these guests. We stayed in the 16th block which was great, because it was near the pool, reception, restaurant and see as well.

  • Location
    5.0

    Although the hotel is located right on the beach, it's so huge you can be very far away from the beach. The city is like 30/40 minutes away from the hotel as well as the airport. You can shop for jewelry, sand art, clothes, grocery, souvenirs, perfumes and a lot of stuff right in the hotel. On the beach there is a little wooden office of a "trip agency". They offer a lot of beautiful trips with boats. I recommend the "Dolphin House" trip.

Close
Keith
Excellent Stay for a Relaxing Break
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
The grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms a good size and clean. There are 7 a la carte restaurants included and all are good to excellent - we particularly enjoyed the food and service in the Bedoiun and Asian. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Good size and very clean, quiet location - didn't feel like we were in a block (25). Plenty of hot water for showers, Felt safe.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    7 a la carte and options for buffet style eating. All the food excellent.

  • Service
    6.0

    Always very friendly and helpful - some of the nicest hotel staff I've experienced

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team are brilliant and we don't do animation! Kareem, John, Momo, Gazal, Natalie and all are so friendly and dedicated themselves to ensuring you have a great holiday, always checking (without being pushy or disturbing) that you are having a good holiday. Lots going on if you want to do stuff, yet they make great conversation if you just want to chat. Enjoyed Gazal playing the Lute in the Lobby Bar.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms a good size and clean. There are 7 a la carte restaurants included and all are good to excellent - we particularly enjoyed the food and service in the Bedoiun and Asian.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beach in th resort with excellent snorkelling on the house reef and at Fort Arabesque nearby. 30 mins to the airport. Good excusrions available - we did Dolphin House which included swimming with Dolphins.

Close
Lisa
Memories made, friends gained
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
This hotel is brilliant from the minute you arrive! We arrived quite late but were still able to eat at the main buffet. Greeted by Natalie who is reassuring and welcoming after a very disorganised airport experience. Our room was clean and spacious and the beds were extremely comfortable! I would recommend having breakfast in the Mexican restaurant which is just past the reception building as it's quieter but with the same range of food. A lot of variety to choose from at lunch time such as pizza, chips, burgers and a main buffet! The a la carts are all ... fantastic with such lovely waiters who are constantly happy and welcoming! My favourite was the Asian restaurant but it's worth trying them all! The animation team are some of the most caring, helpful, kind people I've ever met! Special mention to Kareem (do his water aerobics, it's something everyone should try once) and Momo who made our holiday that little bit more special! Nothing was a problem for them and they care so much about the guests. All in all I'm so glad I got to visit this hotel and I hope to return in the future! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Alison
Fantastic hotel, staff, and animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Fantastic clean hotel, beautiful grounds, endless meal options, the staff at the hotel couldn't do any more for you. But the highlight of the hotel has to be the animation team - wonderful bunch of people, Natalie, John, Sylvia, Momo to name a few constantly entertaining the guests, nothing was to much trouble for them, so so friendly and welcoming an absolute asset to the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Perfect !! Family room was where we stayed in block 36, 2nd floor. Lovely views of family pool 2. So much space it's hard to describe. Rooms cleaned immaculately every day, with clean towels too. TV , mini bar, air con in both rooms, enormous beds ! And so comfortable too. Plenty of wardrobe space, drawers etc. lovely spacious balcony, small inside seating area - you couldn't ask for more.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    From all you can eat buffet, to a la cartes, poolside snack bars, ice cream and cakes, there will always be something for everybody in the sunrise royal makadi. For me, the main restaurant was amazing, so many choices each and every day you couldn't possibly sample everything if you stayed for a month - my absolute favourite.

  • Service
    6.0

    I have never experienced service such as this, truly 5**** all the way! from waiters! to chefs! gardeners, room cleaners, bar staff, towel boys, and the constant attention and friendliest entertainment team ever.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pools were fabulous, cleaned literally all day long! Beautiful and clean. You do have to get up early to bag a sunbed despite there being signs saying that they can't be reserved with towels, this was pretty much ignored and it was very much a case of getting up early to bag a seat! Again massive input from the entertainment team, you really couldn't fault them they were amazing. Always friendly, never pushy, just a fabulous team of people.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Fantastic clean hotel, beautiful grounds, endless meal options, the staff at the hotel couldn't do any more for you. But the highlight of the hotel has to be the animation team - wonderful bunch of people, Natalie, John, Sylvia, Momo to name a few constantly entertaining the guests, nothing was to much trouble for them, so so friendly and welcoming an absolute asset to the hotel.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beautiful location, gorgeous swimming pools, lush gardens, idyllic beach and a sea that's like swimming in an aquarium ! Simply fantastic.

Close
Sarah
Excellent - due to hotel, not Thomas Cook
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
We've just returned from a great 2 weeks. We are a family with a 6 and 4 year old and this holiday was everything we hoped for. The family rooms are great and worth the upgrade. The choice of a la carte restaurants is excellent, each themed and the fact they are unlimited is great - once the T Bones restaurant is reopened this will free up the extra spaces within the Italian (currently the 2 share the same restaurant). We particularly liked the oriental. The buffet is ok, I personally found the layout of food a bit random and ... therefore preferred the a la carte. We found that breakfast at the Mexican was much better and the staff very friendly, particularly Ahmed who each day brought a big smile to our children faces (Spiderman). Facilities are great, high standard of cleanliness (plenty of cleaners around keeping the place spotless), and the pools are lovely (once the new pool is open this will be fantastic). The beach is good with the added benefit of the coral reef next door; snorkelling with the fish was amazing and much better than the submarine trip which we paid for. Although it is all inclusive there are some extras available, such as the ice cream/fruit bar and spa - we didn't use either as the prices were high particularly the spa. The massage prices were more than I pay at home - I would have used if the prices were less A big thank you to the animation team - they are such an asset to the hotel. Each day we were asked if all was ok and if anything could be done for us. A special thank you to Momo, Buca and Kareem, your enthusiasm and effort in making us happy was much appreciated. Thomas Cook was the only disappointment - I had specifically wanted a Thomas Cook run kids club, within a couple of days of arriving this facility was withdrawn. Whilst they could attend another group (run by Teri and Lara - both lovely) it was not what we had been sold. The hotel picked up Thomas Cooks failings (for example running the mini disco), if it had not been for the hotel Thomas Cook would have unhappy guests. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Irene
Hotel to return to..
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Excellent hotel and resort caters from young to old..service of all staff was first class animation team one of the best we have ever come across in 9 years of visiting Egypt...we will be returning to this hotel sooner rather than later ...certainly recommended.. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ben
Great holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Fantastic hotel, great hospitality and service. First time in Egypt and will definitely come back, especially to this hotel. Entertainment team fantastic. Me and my partner were there for relaxation, and you weren't hassled into doing anything, just asked how everything was. Food great, people great and perfect place. 5* massive thank you. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Debbie
Absolutely fantastic!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
This hotel is fabulous! Cannot fault it one bit! Everybody from the cleaners to the managers are so friendly, and cannot do enough for you. The hotel is kept spotless and clean at all times. Our room was fantastic and huge, the bathroom was spacious and the shower was amazing and powerful, and as requested, we got a central location with view of the pool. Rooms are cleaned daily. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was spacious, plenty of room for 4 never mind 2 :) Well equipped with a fridge, kettle, hairdryer, shampoo's etc restocked daily as were the towels if you needed them to be. Cleaned daily and wonderful towel art left too :)

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are buffet restaurants which always have freshly cooked food, and PLENTY of choice! Also there are 7 A La Carte restaurants, enough food for anyone! My boyfriend is a fussy eater and even he demolished everything!! Asian was our favourite, closely followed by the Mediterranean :) Everything about these restaurants is simply fabulous!!

  • Service
    6.0

    Couldn't fault this one bit, everybody was so friendly and anyone would go out of there way to help you.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The Animation Team - well they are just out of this world! Special mentions for Natalie, John, Kareem, Boca, Brown, Jamaica and Sylvia, just to name a few. These guys work so hard and get everyone involved in daily activities, they don't pester so if you really don't want to get involved, you don't have to. They are so good with guests of all ages. By night, these guys amaze with a range of entertainment, which is fantastic, they never stop! BEST BUNCH OF GUYS EVER!!!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This hotel is fabulous! Cannot fault it one bit! Everybody from the cleaners to the managers are so friendly, and cannot do enough for you. The hotel is kept spotless and clean at all times. Our room was fantastic and huge, the bathroom was spacious and the shower was amazing and powerful, and as requested, we got a central location with view of the pool. Rooms are cleaned daily.

  • Location
    6.0

    About 1/2 hour drive from the airport, you drive through desert, then arrive at this grand entrance of this hotel...it has some wonderful scenery, the beach was beautiful, as were the gardens of the hotel. Where ever you were in the hotel, every view was lovely!!

Close
Nicola
Excellent stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Great holiday, friendly and helpful staff and lovely clean hotel. Plenty to do and eat and weather was excellent. Beach was nice and clean and very close by. The a la carte restaurants were excellent. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Abby
Fantastic hotel!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The hotel is very big and there is a great variety of things to do there are many bars to drink from and also lots of restaurants to eat at which are included In the all inclusive. Very clean and tidy hotel always a good choice off food and drink on offer. The staff really made us feel at home and were always making. Sure that everything was okay with your stay especially the animation team! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We stayed in room 38316 which was about a 3 min walk from reception lovely room lots of room and wardrobe room had its own ensuit with built in shower excellent views of a water fountain. Rooms ver clean cleaned daily safe was included in your room as well as air con.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Loads of diffrent bars to drink from, also good variety of restaurants and in the main buffet there was a good selection to choose from. The hotel was very clean in all buffet halls and bars.

  • Service
    6.0

    All staff very friendly and spoke a variety of languages animation team were exelent especially Kareem who was always making sure we was okay and enjoying are stay. The rooms were cleaned every day and they were spotless very clean and tidy also got a rose from the cleaners at the end of are stay which was a lovely gesture but as we couldn't take it back through customs we had to leave it.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Always activities to take part in a diffrent show on every night there are sport activities such as volleyball and water polo to take part in. There is WiFi at selected parts in the hotel. Pleanty of sun beds available around the pool and beach. There was kids clubs available, the pools and beach area was very clean.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is very big and there is a great variety of things to do there are many bars to drink from and also lots of restaurants to eat at which are included In the all inclusive. Very clean and tidy hotel always a good choice off food and drink on offer. The staff really made us feel at home and were always making. Sure that everything was okay with your stay especially the animation team!

  • Location
    6.0

    Great location on its own beach, only a 30 min transfer time from the airport.

Close
James
Returned home once again
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
We arrived once again to a great reception as always. The manager greeted us and took us to our room. As always very clean, We were in block 17, great views and near reception. We have our breakfast in the Mexican restaurant as it is nice and quite. The main restaurant gets very busy in main season and there are all types of nationalities. We were situated near everything, pools, beach, restaurants, all minutes walk away. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Rooms are spacious all with air con, tv, cooler mini bar , and safe. Beds are queen beds, all kept clean with daily linen change.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 7 al-a carte restaurants and the food is excellent in each and every one of them. The Mexican has sea bass fajitas which are to die for. Around the world restaurant has Egyptian bread is also out of this world. All restaurants are kept very clean. Asian also great food, these all have introduced new menus. Tipping is a custom in Egypt.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staffs friendliness is second to none. Nothing is to much trouble for them. The hotel runs a laundry service if you need it. Also they have a babysitting service, and a doctor on site daily.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Lots going on for activities, barbecues in the summer season, beach parties. The Amphitheatre has lots going on, shows, comedy acts, clowns for the children and much more. There is a disco for the older ones too. All the pools are kept clean and tidy. At the moment there is work going on to make a water shoot park which they are hoping to be finished by the end of July. All clean towels are supplied in the kiosks by each pool.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We arrived once again to a great reception as always. The manager greeted us and took us to our room. As always very clean, We were in block 17, great views and near reception. We have our breakfast in the Mexican restaurant as it is nice and quite. The main restaurant gets very busy in main season and there are all types of nationalities. We were situated near everything, pools, beach, restaurants, all minutes walk away.

  • Location
    6.0

    The beach is only walking distance. The gardens are all beautiful flowers shrubs and palm trees. The hotel runs a daily bus into shopping mall. The airport is about 40 minutes drive.

Close
1 3 4 5 ... 139