Hotel Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge(4 stars)

Kilimanoja P O Box 2551 View on map

Average rating

31 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.3
  • Room
    5.0
  • Service
    5.2
  • Location
    4.2
  • Food and Drinks
    5.4
  • Sport & entertain
    5.2
Filters
You selected:
11 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Carmen
Great view!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • November 2013
A very nice lodge, for us not quite as nice as the sopa lodges, but with you to an unequaled standard of pool! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Unfortunately we had from our room on the ground floor not a good view. The room itself was nicely furnished, nothing special, but ok.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    All meals from the buffet. When we were there, was the lodge quite crowded. So standing in line at the buffet, which we in the other lodges thanks to lower occupancy and food à la carte menu that is. Nevertheless the food was fine.

  • Service
    5.0

    The service was friendly, all meals from the buffet, which we just didn't as à la carte. English knowledge of the staff very good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The view from the large pool - breathtakingly beautiful!

  • Hotel
    5.0

    A very nice lodge, for us not quite as nice as the sopa lodges, but with you to an unequaled standard of pool!

  • Location
    6.0

    Above the lake manyara national park, with incredible views, especially from the pool, on the level with lake manyara on the horizon.

Close
Manu
Resort to feel good-pure relaxation!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • July 2012
Our first for the safari was a great choice. Absolute peace, great view. Since the plant is not too large, you have definitely not the feeling of mass tourism succumbed to his (unlike for example ngornongoro serena lodge). The hotel really is recommendable, apart from the lake manyara park, which is a very good contrast to the serengeti is. Very green and rather contemplative! You will be rewarded with delicious drinks and refreshing towel welcome, check-in was quick and easy, even if a trainee but rather holprig with the plant familiarized had. Everything else in the other paragraphs. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Rooms are functional, relatively clean, but already getting old... One should make 8 a room in the upper floor to enjoy, as in the lower floors, some rooms with a solid wood laid bricks are, and the prospect therefore equal to 0 is.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food was both at the breakfast buffet, as well as the à la carte dinner menu very tasty. Something for everyone. Dinner is served only from 7:30 p. m. offered, which in my opinion a bit late to occur if you for example: 17 hours of the safari back comes. Atmosphere was very pleasant, not too silent, not too loud. You feel good ☺ - if you sit outside should want to early to get, or in advance his haunt reserve.

  • Service
    5.0

    There is nothing to complain about, the service was inconspicuous, but good. It at nothing was missing. Questions are good english answered.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    As one on the pictures, is the main attraction surely the pool with this magnificent view. - evening entertainment (dancers and trommelgruppe ) there are before dinner.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Our first for the safari was a great choice. Absolute peace, great view. Since the plant is not too large, you have definitely not the feeling of mass tourism succumbed to his (unlike for example ngornongoro serena lodge). The hotel really is recommendable, apart from the lake manyara park, which is a very good contrast to the serengeti is. Very green and rather contemplative! You will be rewarded with delicious drinks and refreshing towel welcome, check-in was quick and easy, even if a trainee but rather holprig with the plant familiarized had. Everything else in the other paragraphs.

  • Location
    6.0

    From the main road you turn right still 5-7 minutes to get to the hotel is, it is so fast towards the national park or back, good 15 minutes. As one on the pictures, is the great vision (and quiet) especially worth mentioning!

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Jeanette
We enjoyed it! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • April 2012
We were totally amazed! It was the best hotel, in which we in Tanzania stayed in. It was not only very nice from the optics, it was lovely from the division, from the leadership, everything. The food was brilliant, the bar great, the atmosphere unbeatable. We would have a week to stay there, so had it pleased us. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Rainer & Doris
Great location, spacious rooms, dinner in lake Nakuru archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • February 2012
As a part of a safari round trip we were guest at this lodge (in a four-room house the rooms 29 + 30). Also in this Serena- hotel the sensitive building style excellent view of the countryside broken edge to the national park lake manyara. The lodge pleases through spacious Layout and cleanliness of the room, located in the public areas of front desk, bar, restaurant and toilets continues. Absolutely brilliant is the swimming pool. Practically 'floating in the clouds' The breakfast buffet is versatile, the omelets with an abundance of even elected ' ingredients' has a very solid and ... delicious Basis for a long Tierbeobachtungstag. The dinner -after a short' jungle- hike'-under the open sky instead of. Even here in the 'Bush' correct setting and napkins, as well as a wide selection of tasty food. And in addition ice-cold beer the trademark safari, the at the bar another follows. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Ronny
clean Lodge and wonderful view archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2012
On our Sarfari this was the first lodge and we were very excited as they could. (Duration of the stay 3 nights. ) the condition the lodge was all right to very good. But we were surprised with the hospitality of the staff very surprised. (since we had to the safari to the part other read had) the food was good and it had by all enough. Also the cleanliness was guaranteed. (since I am surprised, however, that there are people, the to moan! It was a very poor country) also the breakfast was just great. Had by all. And ... especially lots of fresh Fruits. ( delicious) all together a decent lodge the would always book again would. ☺ read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    the rooms were clean and not filthy. The decoration in the African style. as I have already mentioned was the view from the room from great! ☺

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    So, since I and my girlfriend rather good food are used but also gladly in world travel, I have to say: the food was reasonable, it had by all enough and the variety was available. (with a Übernachtungszeit of 3 days can one say, it's not sufficed or simple!) the better values which we got, (you get on the safari with over) was surprisingly good. It had even fresh Fruits, fruit juices, Chicken, bread, nuts, chocolate, water, sandwiches, included! (almost too much for us, but we have all had gone by. Finally starve the locals, you shouldn't expect deferential with the food bypass)

  • Service
    5.0

    as already mentioned... The staff were always friendly and accommodating. (rare Ausnamen prove the rule) the service the food was also great. ☺ Always hard-working the best to and about the food to informiren. ☺ also in the room the service was reasonable. Always we during dinner were was the room prepared and the Mosikitonetze on the beds beaten, the mosquito bites to be limited. (I was very plagued:/... My girlfriend not at all ☺. ) also here is to say, any time again!

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    On our Sarfari this was the first lodge and we were very excited as they could. (Duration of the stay 3 nights. ) the condition the lodge was all right to very good. But we were surprised with the hospitality of the staff very surprised. (since we had to the safari to the part other read had) the food was good and it had by all enough. Also the cleanliness was guaranteed. (since I am surprised, however, that there are people, the to moan! It was a very poor country) also the breakfast was just great... Had by all... And especially lots of fresh Fruits. ( delicious) all together a decent lodge the would always book again would. ☺

  • Location
    6.0

    The view was just the superlatives. We had already our rooms have dreamlike view, not to mention the view from the pool. (view over the whole lake manyara)

Close
Pascal
Wonderful view, solid Hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2011
All in all a decent Safari Hotel, great location with great views. Rooms are spacious and relatively large, as was the bathroom. Country typical furnishings, the bathroom maybe a bit worn, but otherwise everything was clean and neat. Unfortunately there is no safety deposit box. The service is OK, not more, since the staff unfortunately tends, everything was a bit too fast and then please pay and out. Food was good, not necessarily every dish works out well, the choice is not huge but everyone could find something. This is a safari and the easy access to the National park ... was very good, except for the very nice other leisure activities are not really relevant, not least, because the stays usually 2-3 days here in time. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Tina
Very nice hotel for Safari archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • July 2011
Very nice location with a great view of the lake. Like to visit baboon the area. The food was very good and varied, the service was friendly. You can eat in the dining room or eat on the terrace. We didn't use the pool, but it seemed very well maintained. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. Mosquito net is closed in the evening. Unfortunately, there was no hot water. The whole area was very well-kept. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
Close
Katrin
Great location with clean, cute rooms. archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • June 2011
This area was on our Safari the, the second best I liked. It is not as big as the ngorongoro lodge, but therefor designed with love. The pool was medium sized with pool chairs, the bars have a great view, the buffet huge and the rooms were very nice and clean (I always very important).: o) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Julia
Gladly again archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • March 2011
A simple, but very pleasant hotel. Pleasant staff, very good food and unbelievable great view of the lake manyara. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
Close
Steffi & Dieter
Clean and beautifully located lodge Lake manyara on archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • March 2011
Well-run lodge, our first destination in the context of the one-week Safari, Very delicious food in buffet form, we had in the evening off the Buschdinner Lodge, it was very romantic (included in the booking), stay one night, Unfortunately, we had no view from the room to the lake manyara, the pool with a view over the lake read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
Close
Julia
Lodge with great views and great service archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2010
The lodge Lake manyara Liget above the parks. The rooms are in small cottages. The food was very good, the staff was super friendly! In comparison to the sopa lodges was the higher class of Serena lodge noticeable. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
Close