Veligandu Island Resort & Spa(4 stars)

Veligandu Island Resort & Spa Ari Atoll Republic of Maldives View on map

Average rating

446 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.6
  • Room
    5.8
  • Service
    5.7
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.8
  • Sport & entertain
    5.7
Filters
You selected:
198 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Alberto
Great spot in the Maldives!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
We went there for our honeymoon and spent an amazing week. Hotel stuff is friendly and helpful, the amenities are good, and the landscape breathtaking. I did a good research of the area to find the right spot, and surely did. Highly recommended! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Harry
Veligandu Iceland - a paradise on descent!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The 'inhabited part' of the island about 400 times 70 meter unfortunately the bungalows of 74 piece (until 2012) on nun 91 houses expanded. Plus the accommodation for about 200 employees, power station, dieseltank, desalinization, trinkwasserspeicher, purification plant, laundry room, store, cuisine, the restaurant, the pool, the spa and recently 2 bars is not much space. There is unfortunately not on the sandy area hardly more beach area, without, that a beach bungalow in the back is. The view of the new strandhäusern rambles not on the wide sea, but partly on the outside standing water villas. We had over ... christmas three (!) Construction on the island, but don't worry, since the beach is built up, it will probably not be another. Robinson-feeling - it was once. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Remained good, very clean, very good service. Air conditioning even once, was repaired immediately. The jacuzzi-box on the terrace would have urgent gestaltungsbedarf, to friendly to describe. Wi-fi in the room did not. Mini-bar prices high (2 cl Wodka 8 American Dollar). Water, beer, wine belong to all inclusive. Cushions for the beach chairs were available, for the terraces chairs unfortunately not.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    A disaster! We were now for the 5 time on veligandu and until 2012, the food was a dream. It is now poor. During our stay (12 nights), dishes for part 5 times. The food in the rechauds was always cold, the kitchen had no explanation and could not help! Queues at the ' show cooking station because of much more guests and the always cold food at the buffet. Because of the recently many chinese guests nun 50% share of the buffets on China-kitchen moved. Moderate preparation (completely with red cabbage mess in a vessel, steaks with böhnchen in a vessel, etc.). Many dishes without reference very hot (for example red cabbage, soups, bolognese sauce). For children a disaster. The pasta station is unfortunately not more-existent. Breakfast 4 kinds of cold cuts and a 2 sorts of cheese, not varied, only small provision, etc. Etc. Ultimately seems the food was very much under a reduced budget to suffer, because the chef (Frank) was the same as a year earlier. At that time was his meal completely in order. He will leave the island early january. There is a new chef South Africa. The construction of the restaurants was probably without interior planned, has the charm of a nursery-cafeteria. The waiters were hard working, it was missing however a lot of permanent staff, they were all the more trainees in use. In the restaurant was the drink the eye. The waiters waited constantly and very long on their orders and thus got the guests your drinks only slowly. At the egg station with the breakfast one had a lot of time, which not due to the cooks was, but to the increased guest appearance. The large bar is always again gorgeous. (evaluation 6.0) what the interiors inside was spent, for the external area however since years no budget more left. A shame.

  • Service
    3.0

    Much worse than in previous years. Especially in the restaurant with the service, the all-inclusive drinks you had the impression, that the experincenced excessive wanted to save and to its waiters the motto has spent 'ever more slowly, the better' (for the hotel). If for dinner am24 dezembereinen day before after a weinwunsch (we wanted white wine) is being asked, and for the bottle 60 American Dollar paid, should the wine already at least be cold, if it is served. Unfortunately, we had to about 15 degrees' warm ' wine, as every evening, with ice cubes beverage. Supply of drinks on the pool tends to zero. Towels at the pool only once set, then only on demand because of the bar staff. In the bar is the drink service remained good. Very dedicated and attentive service by the new guest supervisor Monika (thanks again)

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    Beach chairs at the pool are scarce, since the number of beach chairs and the area around the pool has not been changed, but during full allocation now at least 34, maximum even 68 guests more on the island today. The new houses are only beach bungalows, which families can be occupied (17 new houses x 4 guests = 68 people). As you lie down with its towel, if you got one has, also on the floor. But what you want for 9.400 Euro for 12 nights as already expect!

  • Hotel
    3.0

    The 'inhabited part' of the island about 400 times 70 meter unfortunately the bungalows of 74 piece (until 2012) on nun 91 houses expanded. Plus the accommodation for about 200 employees, power station, dieseltank, desalinization, trinkwasserspeicher, purification plant, laundry room, store, cuisine, the restaurant, the pool, the spa and recently 2 bars is not much space. There is unfortunately not on the sandy area hardly more beach area, without, that a beach bungalow in the back is. The view of the new strandhäusern rambles not on the wide sea, but partly on the outside standing water villas. We had over christmas three (!) Construction on the island, but don't worry, since the beach is built up, it will probably not be another. Robinson-feeling - it was once.

  • Location
    5.0

    Great water, snow white sand, reef easy to reach. Well-kept beach. Barefoot island with sandfußboden in bar and restaurant, in the new additional restaurant block flooring.

Close
Regina
Dream holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
There was only 3 * at the check-in/check-out. The check-in was totally great (could have been normal 6 * given), it was already at the airport of los. Very fast friendly forwarding to the seaplane, nice front desk on the island, and we got very quickly our water bungalow. The check-out was so loosely. Around 6:30 a. m. bags in front of the door and at the same time check out. 6:45 hours breakfast, scheduled departure 7:30 a. m. - only, that in this plane no capacity for us was. From the front desk staff we were ... at the anlegeponton'parked'. We were then only shortly before 9:00 a. m. picked up, which was quite annoying was. As brief a statement the debt to the airline on. Otherwise our holiday was an absolute dream. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Kathrin
Dream vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
This resort leaves nothing to be desired. The jacuzzi water villas are brilliant. You have loads of privacy on your own terrace. The food is magnificent, the staff very accommodating and friendly... An absolute dream vacation... We'll definitely be back. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sebastian
Paradise on Earth
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
It was nicer than we had imagined. The staff definitely deserves praise, as they were very professional and very friendly, and made our stay into an unforgettable experience. Little chats, witty conversations in the restaurant or bar were the order of the day, they looked after us 24 hours a day. The water villa was tidied, cleaned and freshly decorated several times a day. The hotel managers also spoke to us several times in the restaurant, or at the Wednesday cocktail party, to ask us about our satisfaction and if we had any requests. The food was fabulous and we ... had to go up for seconds of the delicious creations every day. (-; The selection of excursions and dives was very comprehensive and professional. In conclusion: A fantastic spot with an underwater world, better than in every movie. It has a staff which looks after its guests with an indescribable level of attention and friendliness, coupled with high-quality food, massages which should never end, and no chance of boredom! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Julia
Island in paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
A wonderful island that leaves nothing to be desired, we were on our honeymoon on the island and they fulfilled all of our wishes. The best holiday ever. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Angela
Relaxation for body and soul
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
A 2013 dream vacation . We had a jacuzzi water villa. Whoever wanted relaxation, good food and very good service searches is in the right place. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Christine
Pure relaxation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
Beautiful island with a great restaurant. The water villas are newly renovated and very spacious. Just the outdoor area needs more shade or a canopy for rainy days. We felt very well-looked after at the associated diving school. The organization was perfect read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Manfred
Welcome in paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
A wonderful resort in the middle of the indian ocean. Who much privacy finds, will find them here! Very remarkable is the nice and very friendly nature of all the staff (from the gardeners, the room boy, reception and service staff). The island was very clean and was daily at least 1 times' swept '. The spa can be recommended without restrictions may apply, the team is something very special. If you after a treatment from the spa, one is simply relaxed, it is not to describe (the costs are not low). The food is magnificent very varied. The 'live-cooking' ... is outstanding and on every wish is received. You can say the guest always comes first. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Anke
Perfect romantic honeymoon including tauchspaß
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
The island itself is in terms of size well arranged. The island has thank god not with bungalows built up, so you never overwhelmed works, even if it was completely full. The entire area is in a good state and the staff is always hard to keep everything clean. The benefits of all-inclusive are so far ok, but upgradeable (for example, only certain cocktails included in the price and the included wines are only a house wines without surcharge to have); even in the mini bar you have to be careful, what you take, since even here not everything is ... included. But otherwise everything was perfect for a totally relaxing, great vacation to enjoy! The guests were all very pleasant and quiet, no matter which Nation they came (few exceptions prove the rule ) ☺ read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    All the best-very clean; good condition. It recommends nespresso capsules from home mitnzunehmen if you coffee vieltrinker is, since only 2 capsules/day are inkludiert. Air conditioning system perfectly adjustable-does not-top (i am very sensitive).

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We only used the buffet restaurant taken into account. Top notch! I am really fussy, but in the restaurant it is impossible not to find. Just top. The fish (i am normally not) was delicious and all meals by taste and quality fully convinced! The all-inclusive wines i would like to mention: if you only 'white' ordered, get a totally sweet wine, the i maximum to dessert drink would. You must be specially a 'dry white wine' order, then you get a dry wine, that completely okay was. Desserts are amazing-so delicious! :-) We gave tips gladly, as the service as already mentioned was very good-but it was surely not expected.

  • Service
    6.0

    The entire staff was really always super friendly. No matter, whether you in the lobby was, in the restaurant, in the tundi -bar, in the diving center-everything the best.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Diving center: perfect service! The diving school is swiss and courses to padi offered. We have the aowd courses and also the normal fun divers; altogether 10 tg. We were very well looked after, both on the land, on the boat and in the water. If someone ever at the diving thought-really try - it is worthwhile! Pool is clean, but we didn't often used, because the sea was so great!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The island itself is in terms of size well arranged. The island has thank god not with bungalows built up, so you never overwhelmed works, even if it was completely full. The entire area is in a good state and the staff is always hard to keep everything clean. The benefits of all-inclusive are so far ok, but upgradeable (for example, only certain cocktails included in the price and the included wines are only a house wines without surcharge to have); even in the mini bar you have to be careful, what you take, since even here not everything is included. But otherwise everything was perfect for a totally relaxing, great vacation to enjoy! The guests were all very pleasant and quiet, no matter which Nation they came (few exceptions prove the rule ) ☺

  • Location
    6.0

    The journey via water taxi took about 15 minutes and worked perfectly. Great location, with nice reef and good possibilities nearby dive sites to start

Close
Colin
Everything positive you read is true!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
Simply a great break. Positives: * Small island, but a lot to do. The island is beautiful - the photos of the turquoise water is all true! * The Reef / Lagoon at your doorstep is amazing * Choose all inclusive, the additional excursions are certainly worth it * The food is amazing, a really diverse range, and we didn't have the same thing twice (atleast not at Lunch & Dinner). The curries are simply amazing * The staff are very friendly and happy to help you out at every opportunity * The bar and restaurant is fresh & airy. ... * We chose the Water Villa without the outdoor jacuzzi. Personally, I'm happy we did. There was still a whirlpool in the apartment and if you want the "outdoor experience" you could always open the window over the bath! Plus when swimming outside the villas I didn't see anyone else using their jacuzzi. * Snorkelling is amazing. There is a lot to see & the water is crystal clear Negatives / Improvement Points: The weather (obviously nothing that one can control) did turn into monsoon weather earlier than normal, so although we travelled at the start of May, and stayed for 9 days, 50% of the time it was raining & windy at night, with waves licking the bottom of the villa. Quite an experience & if you are a light sleeper (I'm not but it still kept me awake), this could be something to consider. Lessons Learnt: The bags on the return water plane flight are not weighed. but they are on the flight over. The weight limit we had was 25kg. If you are travelling on Emirates, as we did, the limit is 30kg. so take care on this, as we saw they were quite strict, although I'm not sure what the additional costs are. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sadri
Dream island
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
This hotel is suitable for people, which a high value on design and quality place. The food corresponded to the highest requirements. For all the people more value on a good reef put, this is certainly the wrong hotel. The reef is not very colorful. Sharks and rays, we have seen. We liked it excellent and we would definitely come again once. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are very modern equipped and about 70 square meters. The rooms are on day 2 time cleaned and you get 2 times per day new towels.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Better can hardly be. From bread to the dessert everything ourselves. Here is clearly value on the quality rather than quantity put. The food has in the 2. weeks not repeated and was very diverse

  • Service
    5.0

    The service is as good and there is little to complain about. The older generation brought for us the impression, that the friendliness was played is. As the Maldives a muslim country, work on the island mostly men.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    On a small island you can not many activities await. The pool is cleaned every day. If you want, can you from 17:00 on football training the employees participate.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This hotel is suitable for people, which a high value on design and quality place. The food corresponded to the highest requirements. For all the people more value on a good reef put, this is certainly the wrong hotel. The reef is not very colorful. Sharks and rays, we have seen. We liked it excellent and we would definitely come again once.

  • Location
    6.0

    We had the jacuzzi water bungalow on the west coast. This we had also by mail the inquiring and it worked great. The location: The bungalows are at the west and east coast distributed. On the east coast it had almost no waves and it is windstil. It is on the terrace from about 11:00 no more sun. The west coast was windy (which was blistering heat can be a great benefit) and more waves. The sun appears from 11:30 on the terrace. The jacuzzi waterbungalows on the west coast are the newest. There are still waterbungalows on the north side, but these are much closer together.

Close
Urs
Absolute dream vacation on veligandu!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
We can only recommend the hotel. Absolutely great price-performance ratio. Very good cuisine. Large bungalows. Pleasant and courteous staff. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Anita
We book soon veligandu.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
Perhaps the best resort on the Maldives? At least we are currently also for next year in the spring on the Maldives to fly and after a long research is the veligandu still under the top 2 resorts. Just in terms of the price-performance ratio seemed veligandu can't be beat. We are usually no ' repeater but this resort we really pleased. Clear advantages (compared to other resorts) at a glance: 1st affordable all-inclusive, that leaves no wish unfulfilled 2. the modern decor of the villas with a private jacuzzi 3. the minimum age for the category water villa (currently ... 15 years) 4. great swimming/snorkeling from the water villas from 5. the best service. And so weiterdas the Maldives a gorgeous destination is, i need here to explain. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room is very nice, modern, tv we didn't need it, large, comfortable bed with a view of the endless ocean (water villas). Hallway with a closet with plenty of space. Great, half open bathroom with a huge shower and a great jacuzzi. Super in order in the evening still to jump in again and drink. The greatest bathroom always!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food is excellent and we are already looking forward again to the restaurants and the entdeckenden delicacies. Selection, quality, atmosphere - just great. The all-inclusive restaurant is very romantic and has a sand floor. The popular places but on the terrace with a direct ocean view - gorgeous! What we can not recommend is room service, ordered food was average. Whereas breakfast in the villa is highly recommended (contract price about 8 Dollar per person). We were with the all-inclusive completely satisfied, only negative: you ate too much!

  • Service
    6.0

    We found the service was very good. Despite universe inclusive is often asked, whether you like to order. With the cleanliness we were more than satisfied, room cleaning left sometimes to wait, but that is i think normal. All the staff are always friendly, we can nothing negative to say.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We are mainly lot of snorkelling, swam in the sea and relaxed. They are clearly the best leisure activities there. Barefoot through the island strip is one of them. Or simply let the spirits dangle in one of the many hammocks. So relaxing was not a vacation so far. But there is also much to do, especially water sports.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Perhaps the best resort on the Maldives? At least we are currently also for next year in the spring on the Maldives to fly and after a long research is the veligandu still under the top 2 resorts. Just in terms of the price-performance ratio seemed veligandu can't be beat. We are usually no ' repeater but this resort we really pleased. Clear advantages (compared to other resorts) at a glance: 1st affordable all-inclusive, that leaves no wish unfulfilled 2. the modern decor of the villas with a private jacuzzi 3. the minimum age for the category water villa (currently 15 years) 4. great swimming/snorkeling from the water villas from 5. the best service... And so weiterdas the Maldives a gorgeous destination is, i need here to explain.

  • Location
    4.0

    Maybe the airport male nearby islands easier (as by boat) distance, but a flight with the 'water taxi' an experience. The flight is short, if one has luck, must also not too long in the airport lounge to be waited.

Close
Delia
The paradise in the lifetime there really is!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
There are far from more water villa as beach-bungalows. There are just 12 beach villas and about 60 water villas. The room decor is all villas equivalent. The size of the rooms in around 45 to 55 square meter (with bathroom) beach chairs. Wireless internet connection in the bar - liable to pay the costs. The guests came from the Switzerland, from Austria, Germany and England. The age was from 14 years represented-to 90 years (no joke!). Average age around 40 to 50 years. The hotel could general 6 suns, if the beach villas not generally overbooked would be. Us ... it has happened, as many before us, that we because of overbooking one night in a water villa had to sleep (you can hear the whole night the water the stützpfosten sound and the day on the sundeck no shade-nothing for us. However is the beauty and serenity of this beautiful island that small faults. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms were as mentioned, very big and modernly furnished. The air conditioning was pleasant and quiet. An additional fan was also in each villa. Especially pleasant was the spacious timber deck with two very comfortable lounge chairs, two chairs and a table. In the bathroom through the shower to go outside, where the jacuzzi was. We have always evenings before dinner use. Al fresco we could in our relaxing 'whirlpool' clear stars and the herumfliegenden bats ( fledermausart ) watch. The sanitary installations, including jacuzzi were always in a very clean and hygienic condition. We never had a reason to complain, very on the contrary. We gave the bellboy in the week 10 American Dollar tip. It is on the Maldives in about the usual. Waiters as well as the staff.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is the thundi bar, the main restaurant and the pay madivaru restaurant (subject to charges). So in the main restaurant there are three times a day buffet and the is excellent, i would say, it has excellent standards and not only on the Maldives changed, but in terms of many 5 stars hotels weiltweit, where we already vacations have. Alone for breakfast there are at least 5 different types of bread (locally freshly baked), there are wonderful hot waffles, various delicious cold meat, different jams (Switzerland), bircher muesli, freshly made scrambled eggs, bread rolls and much more. To the meals is really something for everyone. International cuisine, indian curries, grilled hochseefisch and so on. You can all these delicacies not at all enumerate, this would scope. Absolutely, i would like to at this point mention, that we generally on the Maldives (so far 7 stays) never stomach/intestine problems had, or sometime were ill. It is very clean and hygienic.

  • Service
    6.0

    The maldivian have a very tactful and pleasant manner, their guests to spoil. You can feel them. Whether room boy, waiters or cooks at the buffet, all are extremely friendly, polite and focused on the wellbeing of the guests, without ever being intrusive. The language on the island is english, few waiters can also a few words of german. The room is very tidy cleaned, there were no complaints. The bed is generally twice daily winterseason would. All guest were alone 3 pillows (in different fillings and sizes ) available. If you want a 'soft topperunterlage' would, this desire immediately fulfilled. The bed linen at least changed every two days. Hand towels and beach towels every day fresh. In every room stands a kettle with six different teas and a nespresso coffee maker with coffee capsuls were available. The mini bar was rich with all sorts of beverages. There are however not all drinks in the all-inclusive included.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Who on the Maldives flies and no snorkel things with, commits a r i e s e n f e h l e r! The underwater world in the knee-high water actually disappear - is wonderful! If you are not seen, was not on the Maldives. Snorkelling can each child from 6 years (provided, it can swim). You can spend hours in the water (29 °c) and parrotfish, rays, surgeonfish, anemonenfische (nemo), moray eels, reef sharks (not dangerous!) , turtles, manatas, stonefish etc. See wildlife. Meanwhile, there are already very good unterwasserkleinbildkameras, where the beautiful underwater world very favorably. Initially a t-shirt while snorkeling dress-sunburn danger! Each beach bungalow has its own beach chairs and terrassenliegen. The water bungalows had two terrassenliegen. You can but also as bungalow inhabitants on the long sandbank in the south an umbrella with two beach chairs to get, if you'd rather at the beach is. The bungalows feature a small handheld showers with fresh water, with which one after a bath in the sea buzz off can. I thought that was very pleasant. The pool was nice to look at and very clean, but we didn't use it, since we the sea preferred.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    There are far from more water villa as beach-bungalows. There are just 12 beach villas and about 60 water villas. The room decor is all villas equivalent. The size of the rooms in around 45 to 55 square meter (with bathroom) beach chairs. Wireless internet connection in the bar - liable to pay the costs. The guests came from the Switzerland, from Austria, Germany and England. The age was from 14 years represented-to 90 years (no joke!). Average age around 40 to 50 years. The hotel could general 6 suns, if the beach villas not generally overbooked would be. Us it has happened, as many before us, that we because of overbooking one night in a water villa had to sleep (you can hear the whole night the water the stützpfosten sound and the day on the sundeck no shade-nothing for us. However is the beauty and serenity of this beautiful island that small faults.

  • Location
    6.0

    Air taxi - transfer from the airport hulhulé after veligandu went smoothly, quickly (15 minutes) and without long waits. Perfect. The island is located in the indian ocean in rashdu atoll. Kuramathi ( rieseninsel -actually maledivenuntypisch is the only tourist island nearby.

Close
Philipp
Twice and unfortunately not again
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Firstly veligandu is a small paradise. The location is fantastic, the rooms are great, The staff is super friendly and the kitchen (if also not more completely so good as last year) Excellent. The arrival over Dubai and times was once again exemplary and the transfer from male was Perfectly organized. Unfortunately the furtniture suddenly then when i on arrival told us, that no room is available. The hotel was simply good. This overbooking the hotel has already in the last few years again and again consciously practiced. Guests are after a long journey in about 20 minutes away and ... less attractive island of kuramathi accommodated. Or nights in male for sightseeing advertised. At our first visit was just as the case, and only after very energetic presence was of a sudden a room to the applicable. Knowing full well i this time two weeks before the room and the date of arrival from the hotel the return ask for a confirmation. Nevertheless one has it done again. The disappointment was of course huge and alternativunterbringung was of course unacceptable. The german-speaking guest relations employee seemed from the situation rather overstrained and There have been many telephone calls with our travel agent in Germany run. There were then a solution and i had to then a room with someone for one night parts or at the beach sleep. The whole place was already very disappointing. A 3 time, we will definitely not more after veligandu go unfortunately. As disappointing is the fact that something at a renowned suppliers meiers weltreisen occurs. I think, that i in future again right With airline and hotel and not more with a tour operator. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    3.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Maria
Plus and minus
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Veligandu is a natural real 4 star island. It was our 3. visit here, which already speaks for itself. As in the years before amazed us the simplicity and naturalness the island, the still great comfort and all the amenities. Pluses: spa, the open bathroom the water cottages, the terrace of the restaurant, the friendly maldivian staff. Downsides: the palms are yellow (they die?), the villas need new coat of paint, the terrace the water villa is a bit small and offers from lunch no shade, the nearby riff it is manageable, and unbelievable: the cook i could not persuade ... my knoblauchallergie to consider, he cooked even the spaghetti in garlic, therefore no noodles without sauce for me! Luckily was the fischkoch ready, me every day fish without marinade to grill otherwise i would have in spite of the great buffets verhungern must! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Safiria
Veligandu?
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
After repeated visits to the Maldives (adaaran prestige water villas, Lilly beach, w retreat and spa) are we last year on veligandu and we immediately fell in love this resort. Despite the initial problems ( overbooking) and violent protest we have our jacuzzi water villas then get. Some of our traveling companions had to the neighboring island of kuramathi avoid (not comparable, because larger, there is even a minibusshuttle from a, to b, to come) we have booked to go back, two jacuzzi water villas, one for my brother, one for me. Cost per head for 8 days locally €4 ...,200 (flight not included) the luxury we treat yourself every year. We booked at meier's weltreisen! For me one of the most renowned tour operator!' 2 weeks before journey we have through our travel agent once again our room desires check leave. With arrival at 18:00 veliganduzeit, overtired and sweaty, we just wanted to shower, dinner and then sleep, we were told, that my brother's villa not, because overbooked. Alternatively, he would have to kuramathi slick. This is common practice in veligandu! Ultimately, he with me slept. Unlike in other inselresorts (alone located) is kuramathi 5 minutes away by boat and has capacities) one my brother compensation amount of 500 US Dollar offered around the whole under the table to go back. That we are not taken seriously, but rules that now with meier's weltreisen, hence the tour operators are faced with this. On page 8 of the reviews there are many similar reviews about trouble due to overbooking. By my travel agent, i have the information, that will continue, because current practice. Conclusion: for me and my brother: relying on meier's weltreisen for a €5,000 travel (8 days) per person, a dream island with love people, the for a wonderful stay ensure, never again! Our next vacation on Bali w retreat and spa we book directly. I hope, that a lot of this evaluation read and not in this situation. The veligandu and all its good ' ghosts' not deserved. The management is incompetent and disgraceful. As mentioned, meier's book i not more, was no puschalreise for 1,00 Euro. For veligandu does it a pity, because the dream ever! For queries stand i available. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Great service. Everything available, nespresso capsules etc.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Okay. Last year under Jakob i found the food better.

  • Service
    6.0

    Perfect, which the waiters is concerned, not the management.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    After repeated visits to the Maldives (adaaran prestige water villas, Lilly beach, w retreat and spa) are we last year on veligandu and we immediately fell in love this resort. Despite the initial problems ( overbooking) and violent protest we have our jacuzzi water villas then get. Some of our traveling companions had to the neighboring island of kuramathi avoid (not comparable, because larger, there is even a minibusshuttle from a, to b, to come) we have booked to go back, two jacuzzi water villas, one for my brother, one for me. Cost per head for 8 days locally €4,200 (flight not included) the luxury we treat yourself every year. We booked at meier's weltreisen! For me one of the most renowned tour operator!' 2 weeks before journey we have through our travel agent once again our room desires check leave. With arrival at 18:00 veliganduzeit, overtired and sweaty, we just wanted to shower, dinner and then sleep, we were told, that my brother's villa not, because overbooked. Alternatively, he would have to kuramathi slick. This is common practice in veligandu! Ultimately, he with me slept. Unlike in other inselresorts (alone located) is kuramathi 5 minutes away by boat and has capacities) one my brother compensation amount of 500 US Dollar offered around the whole under the table to go back. That we are not taken seriously, but rules that now with meier's weltreisen, hence the tour operators are faced with this. On page 8 of the reviews there are many similar reviews about trouble due to overbooking. By my travel agent, i have the information, that will continue, because current practice. Conclusion: for me and my brother: relying on meier's weltreisen for a €5,000 travel (8 days) per person, a dream island with love people, the for a wonderful stay ensure, never again! Our next vacation on Bali w retreat and spa we book directly. I hope, that a lot of this evaluation read and not in this situation. The veligandu and all its good ' ghosts' not deserved. The management is incompetent and disgraceful. As mentioned, meier's book i not more, was no puschalreise for 1,00 Euro. For veligandu does it a pity, because the dream ever! For queries stand i available.

  • Location
    6.0

    Everything said by the previous bergwertungen. The island is wonderful.

Close
Ovidiu
A dream...
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
A dream. Prior: with Emirates to male (p. nice) and seaplane on the island (still exciting). Please note: free luggage in the seaplane smaller than in Emirates (20 kilogram + 5 kilogram hand baggage; difference 4 $per kilogram; however no control the last gram). Very pleasant and friendly welcome from the travel agent (already ' times' en schwäbelnden maldivian g'sehn?-) ). Maldivian money we didn't need it. American Dollar have generally also made ☺. Euro we didn't need it. Front desk on the island very nice and friendly, both of the maldivian, as well as not maldivian staff; the ... climate is probably. No shoes, no stress, a lot of smiling. Accommodation: bungalow with jacuzzi; great, p. spacious bungalows on stilts with stairs right into the water! Fantastic! We had west side, and so that every evening sunset. By the location on the 'next to the airport' has the lifting of the float planes received (until several times daily). It was not at all bother us, we found it more exciting; the footbridge the access is in the midday sun hot; it is the only place on the island at which one no need for shoes ☺ each pier there are showers to rinse off the sand we had all-inclusive plus, it has some drinks in the minibar and the water in the room and it was worth it (otherwise 0.3 liter Cola or 1l of water 5$). Jacuzzi we (unfortunately) much too rarely used, even if the view from the jacuzzi on the sunset. Yummy was. Toilet was broken once is however very quickly repaired. Food (information for the better classification of the next row: our palate already have one and two Michelin stars experience anything), well. As i am/we are still the words. Thank you Frank! German chef with international experience. Not very long as (a few months). Has our expectations at this vacation exceeded. Breakfast was delicious, muesli, fresh omelets, pancakes, waffles, fresh fruits and so on. Lunch and dinner were the crowning! Excellent, changing, european, asian specialties. Two cooks constantly in addition fresh fish or other delicious freshly prepared. Always fresh fruits and produce the best quality. A constant fight with oneself to curb. But be careful! If you are going to be with children and every evening pizza and chips await (there was a gästefall ) are you rather go wrong here! Also the rather local conditions known büfettstürmen fell out, because never lack was. The realized the newcomers (thank god!) Also relatively quickly. Snorkelling was great! However you have the blaze of colors the corals from the red sea. Dominating color was brown. Still beautiful formations at the nearby reef. The highlight were The (non-dangerous) sharks. Snorkeling with sharks! A wonderful experience. Triggerfish, many surgeonfish, moray eels. Dolphin trip involved-great! Both dolphins, as well as the sunset. The island has a diving school, a doctor. You have the possibility 'behind the kulissen' of portfolios to look through guided tours. It is worthwhile the infrastructure to see and the whole operated effort to understand (wednesday at the willkommendrink management). The employees are very pleasant! Not, as in other resorts described, where only at tips do their job. Quite much praise goes to the management that's why! A small reward one has then always gladly given. The à-la-carte restaurant we didn't use and the bar unfortunately too rarely. The guests were mostly german speaking guests (germans and swiss ) but also some englishmen and french. Plug adapters for England carry forward. On the island we have no particular had. In 2 weeks in march it 2 times at night and 1 times during the day though it rained one day. To 2 hours again the sun shone. It is therefore hardly affected. Criticism (one is balanced stay ☺ ): the towels in the fitness were too small. What else we could make: much less clothes along ☺. For the island rich 1 times slippers and shorts and t-shirts (in march). read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Petra
Veligandu is always a journey werrt!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
After 18 on the Maldives, and including three times on veligandu, We are sure us the island to have found. On any other island is' for us' everything is so perfect like Veli. Here you can get a clean island with a huge heart from 220 employees. Every single one of them is very cautious and friendly and always in a good mood. The reef is perfect and intact. Here you can turtles, sharks, manta rays, eagle rays and all the colorful small fish while snorkeling watch. With each visit to this wonderful island we saw dolphins (and the not ... only on delphinsafari!). We have after the chef cooking Egon and Jakob, Frank as a cook met and we have to say, the food is very excellent! We only hoped, that Frank at least as long endure as the Egon! Especially we must this year when Laura thanks, it has our vacation this time a bit more to the excellent. Thank you Laura! We come back in the next march again ☺ we reserved already. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 10