Villa Ocean View(3 stars)

Samanthara 1 View on map

Average rating

312 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.0
  • Room
    4.4
  • Service
    4.6
  • Location
    4.3
  • Food and Drinks
    4.6
  • Sport & entertain
    4.2
Filters
You selected:
137 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Horst
Something good.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
We had a beautiful, quiet holiday, the hotel is already a bit older, but for a 3 star hotel very good. Other highlights include the waiter in the restaurant, who is always very friendly and accommodating. The food in the restaurant was always sufficient, well seasoned and very well presented. That the other reviews criticized dogs and cattle egret in the dining area are only due to the fact, that there were always tourists gives it great the animals at the table to feed. The pool area is good and the pool boys are very helpful. We were already 4 ... times in Sri Lanka in different resorts, here we come gladly again next year. Finally, i must say once again: if you want a 3 star hotel, you should not 5 stars expect. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Janet & Detlef
The land yes, but this hotel never again ☹
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
We had a 2 week holiday in this hotel. We would not be at the beginning 2 days on inlandsreise in other hotels, we would have probably at night no sleep found. Each night we had to pathetic hundegeheule (as the wolves) bear, bloody revierkämpfe of animals and begattungen with loud bark and fight (2 the female were randy). Always again rügten this problem and again and again it was remedy accepted, that the dogs at least at night from the property be removed, so that night's sleep is guaranteed. But nothing happened. A girl, which under us stayed, at ... night difficult one of the dogs biting. Then we requested another room on the beach or threatened departure. We stayed at the restaurant, and in barnähe is no sleep possible, as here (the 'feeding') the dogs. Also during the meals you had to the animals suffer not only in the bar, but also in the closed restaurant area have all animals entrance. Dogs, cats, large birds. It is disgusting. In the property there were 8 adults dogs, in addition, at present, more 7 juveniles through the staff raised. We do not want than tierfeindlich designate, no not at all, but there are now once hygienic borders, degrees in such countries. The animals are very neglected and sick. Wounds of the animals are not treated, blood-smeared, you can sit on the table and beg with large black eyes. Their skins have large holes and ausfallzeichen, shameful. If i animals have, i am responsible and must maintain and provide, but this condition does not go at all. The specifications of our organizer was the meals contain wine. This we received only after major complaints on 6. days. On the last days there were no more, with the statement, our organizers (show insland ) the bill the day before not yet settled. The management at this hotel in absolutely inadequate. You understand, laugh, say everything and nothing happens, the employees have no knowledge of alleged instructions. We have locally with a native a 3 - tages-trip agreed. This was wunderwunderschön. Thank you dear indi, you saved our vacation. The sea was always very high waves and a very strong lateral stream, absolutely unsuitable for small children. But there is also a pool. Those waves like, loved it, but we have strong adults men as the matches twirl see and 2 people are during our time locally drowned. We were much swimming, but with the highest respect for these waves. By the way were 30 °c water temperature ☺ We do not know however, if at any time of the year it is. The country, we will gladly come again, but the hotel, we can't recommend. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    1.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    2.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    2.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    1.0
Close
Martin
Ultimate tips for a super beautiful holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
The Hotel Villa Ocean View is a very nice and with 148 rooms quite well arranged area, the a bit older is, in which you but a great 'relax' among palm trees to spend can. Price-performance ratio is definitely correct. We love to stay there again. Here are some tips, right in the hotel. Hotel area: The facility is old, but very very green and despite minor flaws (for example at the pool) - very nice and well maintained. At the moment they renovated at some spots. The but you could also stayed in many older reviews read. It looked ... at the work in such a way, as if none of the parties to a real interest, ever to be ready. Animals in the area: There are great many mostly trusting animals in the area. Next to Frechen ravens, from the hand-guzzling mini storks nesting (cattle egret), chipmunks, dogs, puppies and cats there are flying foxes, small geckos and even a wild mob monkeys (langurs), often in the morning by the trees of the area hit. The hotel elephant Monika we are divided on. At least found girls the eli great and even against an intermediate payment on the haarigen animal five minutes ridden and could it also scrub. Tip: the staff is very fond of animals and went with all animals friendly. We had no problems (or said nothing) if the dogs at the food fed have. Wi-fi network in the hotel: In the hotel there were four free wi-fi networks, but not very stable. The most reliable network you will find in the lobby of the hotel, you got the password problem-free at the reception. The lobbynetz has a private password, the passwords of the other three networks are the same. The networks are vov lobby, vov -new wing, vov-cabana-1 and cabana 2. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Rooms and cleanliness: We stayed in the bungalows, very nice right on the ocean. The rooms were clean and functional, the beds were comfortable. New hand towels daily, but the bathroom in the near future be renovated. Tip 1: plug adapters you don't need, the german plugs in the outlets. But you have to at the putting in a small verrieglungsschalter above the plug unlock, for example with a ballpoint pen. Tip 2: unfortunately there is no coffee machine or kettle in the room. So if you wake up early and to the breakfast or snacks coffee or tea slurp would like, should a small travel kettle with you. Tip 3: hair dryer (if needed) is also even with you. Mosquitoes and other critters: Mosquitoes, there were quite a few. The closing we, that we little bites were and the animals also at night not buzz. However we at night always with Anti Brumm sprayed (really is and in Germany to buy). There is also in the evening a hotel boy past, next to 2 bottles of water a chemiekeule in the spray at hand. Except two half dead cockroaches, which we in the morning in the bathroom have found, was the threat of vermin quite clearly. Tip: if you every evening the chemiekeule in the room, you can decide for yourself. The hotel boy always ask for, whether he spray or not. I only always the feeling: what mosquitoes and cockroaches from doubletalk, can also not so super healthy with the sleep in the room.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Dining/food/drinks: We had 'all inclusive' stay. Even, if you from time to time in one of the small restaurants around the corner to eat, one as' all-inclusive 'guest for the tiny difference between the' all inclusive 'price and' breakfast only ' price many benefits and always delicious food & drinks. Food: the food at the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet was plentiful and there was something for everyone. The choice was quite well arranged, so if you want a culinary tour through the indonesian cuisine, he should choose a different hotel. The dishes repeated with the time, there was a lot of chicken and fish in different variations. On the duration is the buffet was a bit monotonous, for two weeks the choice was but ok. Drinks: at 'all-inclusive' you always till about 23 hours the possibility anchor beer (ok as long as the beer cold), water, Pepsi, 7 up, tonic, juices and mixed drinks with: Gin, Brandy, whisky, arak, red rum, white rum or Wodka (everything cheap brands, but drinkable) to order. There is still some more drinks (for example, malibu orange) and a variety of cocktails, between 450 and 1000 Rupees (circa 3-6 Euro) costs, but mostly also very good. Wine despite 'all in' to be paid extra (about 7 00 lkr) and didn't taste especially. Tip 1: arak relaxation on ice cream try with a Pepsi in separate, small glass of Tip 2: the sunset with a drink ' arak -Sun down 'enjoy (there are' all in ' free of charge). Annoying: for each drink (whether free of charge or not) must one the waiter a note sign. The supposed to serve, that the 'all inclusive' guests not as beverage service for the 'not all inclusive' guests are being abused. Russian: This cute asian man, which each year for 2-3 weeks on the continent unfoldings, were also in the complex to find. Mostly they were quite loud, drink a lot and had smaller deficit which the approach when the fill a commercial piled up with food from the buffet are concerned. The usually somewhat picky male specimen is often accompanied by a female, in large tuchbahnen gehüllten, female copy, the male in the waist measurement is at least equivalent, but often the weight of the male for a multiple matches. A few, selected male russians were - in the comparison to the standard russian male - but also with blutjungen female in the grounds of the hotel to see. This female were nice to look at and fell by a striking hrastovlje in the face (lips and eyes) and sparse clothes on. In general, but the whole tribe learned, through massive physical exertion a prominent place in the buffet queue to secure. Is it, in the twinkling with skillful movements the last hänchenkeulchen so precisely on the already about 2 kilogram heavy, overloaded plates placed. This will be in the greatest effort and without too much loss on the own table spent, on the already 5 other plates of the same size are. After further 3 self-started the essensritual at, the very exotic tooth. The meal of the russian citizen begun, that firstly the waiter snapped at is. The reason is immaterial - something is always. Next begins the actual food. Loud smacking and slurping a small quantity of every plate try. Here, meticulous attention, that at least 80% of the food on the plate remains, so that the waiters enough to clear has. Any russian, which respects itself, should also not forget, the anblaffen of endeavored waiter during the feeding at least 5 times to repeat. Important for good russian behavior: should definitely 2 drinks at the same time be ordered. The waiters 6 times has much more possibilities, about the quality of the food, the drinks, the hot coffee, or whatever... , to complain. Also here: the reason of complaint is actually no matter, they must only very loud and mutually incomprehensible way. Summary: unlike our last holidays in Egypt, where the russian barbarenhorden the buffet in the attack daily niederplaniert have, behaved the russians in the hotel area as the petting zoo. In the villa Ocean View there were about 60% russians, the, except for a few exceptions, our holiday happiness but not spoil things with thier.

  • Service
    6.0

    All the staff were super friendly and at any time accessible Tip Waiters, beach boy, guard and cleaning we talked with all about the same: about 10000 to 12000 Sri Lanka Rupees (lkr ) per month (6 days a week/10 hours a day). Sounds like a lot - but it is not. About was about 72 Euro monthly salary. Tip 1: the staff is very friendly, even without being tipped. We have tips but gladly and distributed. Usually we have 100 Rupees (about 60 cents) given, for class use already times 500 Rupees (€3,00 ). Large notes are available at the reception 100 Rupees notes be exchanged. Tip 2: individual cigarettes are gladly taken Tip 3:a few sweets for the kids (for example small Haribo sachets) charms kinderlachen out.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Beach and pool: The beach was quite nice, clean and with palm trees equipped. However during our 2 weeks stay because of the strong waves a about 1 meters wide beach bit worn. Also at least 3 palms were undercut and stayed over night at the sea had disappeared. If anything here regarding strandbefestigung happens, is the beach end of 2014 down the drain. The pool areas in the pictures bigger, as they are. For a schwimmerchen or rumlümmeln in about 25 degrees warm swimming pool water is the pool okay. Tip 1: for a small tip, we had every morning the beach chairs at the beach from the pool boys reserved. Basically, but always enough beach chairs at the beach free, so you no longer the top places gets, but always place. Tip 2: the waves was to our travel time very rough. Also inexperienced swimmers should the waves and the current take care of. Entertainment in the hotel: Since we prefer the type: 'stand-in-the-bar and a stupid-run' and ' pan-fried at the beach-to-the-tan-to-the-shoes-fits' types are, we had with the animation in the hotel nothing on the hut. Two entertainment boys were during the day tried hard, the guests to so exciting actions such as Bocce, darts, water aerobics, Midget Golf or Volleyball to persuade. Then in the evenings it was a tv evening, a magic show, karaoke and a disco evening offered. Since we were not there, we can't say anything about it. Definitely was the two boys not pushy, which already means a lot.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The Hotel Villa Ocean View is a very nice and with 148 rooms quite well arranged area, the a bit older is, in which you but a great 'relax' among palm trees to spend can. Price-performance ratio is definitely correct. We love to stay there again. Here are some tips, right in the hotel. Hotel area: The facility is old, but very very green and despite minor flaws (for example at the pool) - very nice and well maintained. At the moment they renovated at some spots. The but you could also stayed in many older reviews read. It looked at the work in such a way, as if none of the parties to a real interest, ever to be ready. Animals in the area: There are great many mostly trusting animals in the area. Next to Frechen ravens, from the hand-guzzling mini storks nesting (cattle egret), chipmunks, dogs, puppies and cats there are flying foxes, small geckos and even a wild mob monkeys (langurs), often in the morning by the trees of the area hit. The hotel elephant Monika we are divided on. At least found girls the eli great and even against an intermediate payment on the haarigen animal five minutes ridden and could it also scrub. Tip: the staff is very fond of animals and went with all animals friendly. We had no problems (or said nothing) if the dogs at the food fed have. Wi-fi network in the hotel: In the hotel there were four free wi-fi networks, but not very stable. The most reliable network you will find in the lobby of the hotel, you got the password problem-free at the reception. The lobbynetz has a private password, the passwords of the other three networks are the same. The networks are vov lobby, vov -new wing, vov-cabana-1 and cabana 2.

  • Location
    4.0

    Not much going on in the surrounding area...

Close
Isa
Great holiday in a beautiful area
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
We were there at the beginning of september this year Hotel Villa Ocean View. We have previously many applications read and were therefore prepared, that the rooms are not the newest. Therefore we were on arrival not negative surprised. The entire complex is very nice and well maintained, only the rooms are in need of renovation. In the hotel there was free wi-fi, but that doesn't always work. In the lobby you get the best reception. As already mentioned in previous reviews mentioned, are very many russians in the area. It did not disturb however, because none of the russian ... guests negative impression. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    As i said, the rooms are a bit dated. We found this not too bad, but the rooms were at least clean, which for us the most important. Every day the towels and bedding changed, in addition, evenings someone spray for the mosquitoes in the rooms. My tip: take a bungalow, the rooms here are fresher than in the main building. We booked directly with the check in after a bungalow was asked and this worked without problems.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The food was really good and various. Every day there were different theme evenings, for example thai, grill, chinese, italian, Sri Lanka. In addition there was always a chef on the terrace, the certain food freshly prepared. For the drinks you have to each time sign, this but we didn't particularly bother me. The waiters are very friendly and clear immediately empty plates away and constantly then, that everything is clean. Reductions must one with the coffee, as it was only nescafe is. However Sri Lanka well known for his tea, which i for the two weeks of coffee on tea transferred ☺

  • Service
    6.0

    The whole staff was very friendly and accommodating, many even german spoken. A rough handling of the dogs for me was not at all noticeable, on the contrary. After the food for 22 hours the dogs the leftovers from the staff, otherwise only in the trash would. We found that very positive. The dogs were also never disturbing, they often only the proximity to the people and oneself simply beside the chair to them. The pool boy were very friendly and were immediately with towels and mats run, as soon as they saw us. They also very on one or another arrack, the you secretly to the pool house is ☺

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    There were daily animations such as aqua aerobics, darts, beach volleyball, and every evening different activities. For example there was a snake show, a magician or a disco. We have once the aqua-aerobics participated, which was really funny. Otherwise we had however no animation deals in use, but us every evening with the other 8 german at the pool bar and our own entertainment organized ☺

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We were there at the beginning of september this year Hotel Villa Ocean View. We have previously many applications read and were therefore prepared, that the rooms are not the newest. Therefore we were on arrival not negative surprised. The entire complex is very nice and well maintained, only the rooms are in need of renovation. In the hotel there was free wi-fi, but that doesn't always work. In the lobby you get the best reception. As already mentioned in previous reviews mentioned, are very many russians in the area. It did not disturb however, because none of the russian guests negative impression.

  • Location
    4.0

    The hotel is located right on the steep sloping beach. By the rainy season in september was the sea very wild and the waves correspondingly high. We would have rather a gently sloping beach desired, but we didn't from swimming in the sea was held. There were enough beach chairs available and the palm trees on the beach offer enough shade. The beachboys are also every day on the beach, should not, however, more than to first palmenreihe. This means, if you're in the 2. series sets, one there also nice its peace and quiet. We have the presence of the beachboys never disturbing. Around the hotel is unfortunately not very much was offered, for those who love action and wants party, is here at the wrong address. For quiescentlooking for the hotel is ideal.

Close
Eberhard
Up to minor flaws, the hotel you can recommend
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
Reception can fremdprachenkenntnis much! Improve. The ' russenkanal rt' worked well dw not! -the says the 'welcome' the germans from! (in case it rainy weather there)- For 'desk' and restaurants there are enough ' tuk-tuks ' in front of the hotel(price is negotiation!) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    3.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    3.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Erich
Always again a nice holiday in Sri Lanka
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
We were now already the 3. time in this hotel and had opposite the last year substantial, positive, note changes. The complete 1st leitungseben was exchanged. Which in many areas noticeable. The hotel has 140 rooms (including bungalow) and are also big enough. The rooms are cleaned daily and the beds also with flowers or a towel is as elephant head rolled. In the hotel it gives for this year a free internet access. The hotel offers all-inclusive and half board. The types of people are as everywhere multicolored mixed, whereby a constant increase of citizens from Eastern Europe there ... is. But it was no problems given. The average age begitt in about 25 years without limitation to the top. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The hotel has 140 rooms including the bungalows. These are plentiful large and equipped with a tv, balcony, air conditioning and telephone. The rooms, including bath and shower are cleaned daily and the beds got daily fresh bedding. The size from the shower and the bathroom was sufficient.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is an air-conditioned restaurant and an outdoor terrace. Quality and quantity of the dishes and drinks we can truly appreciate. It is something for everyone, what the meals concerns, but also the cold buffet or the sweet dessert then already times a few pounds increase. The dishes were local (spicy ) but also daily european dishes are for offer. In the evening there is additionally still diverse food Europa for example knuckle of pork or tailändisch. The kitchen staff makes a clean impression it is equally positive the cleanliness in the restaurant to evaluate. With a small tip (100 sl rubis ) now and then you should not dishwasher soap. The salaries of the staff is located at 5 0 €in the month.

  • Service
    6.0

    All employees are very friendly and willing to help if you a problem has. Next to english as a foreign language are very anxious also into german or russian meet. With complaints one is endeavored this immediately to fix it.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The free time activity offers were limited of activities to fountains, botia evening entertainment such as karaoke singing, disco or movie nights. But by the guests little accepted. The beach is clean and in the hotel complex there are enough chairs with cushions and towels. The pool area and also the water is very clean and cleaned daily and the water constantly filtered.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We were now already the 3. time in this hotel and had opposite the last year substantial, positive, note changes. The complete 1st leitungseben was exchanged. Which in many areas noticeable. The hotel has 140 rooms (including bungalow) and are also big enough. The rooms are cleaned daily and the beds also with flowers or a towel is as elephant head rolled. In the hotel it gives for this year a free internet access. The hotel offers all-inclusive and half board. The types of people are as everywhere multicolored mixed, whereby a constant increase of citizens from Eastern Europe there is. But it was no problems given. The average age begitt in about 25 years without limitation to the top.

  • Location
    6.0

    Right behind the hotelzaun (was this year renewed) begins the sandy beach. In the swim in the sea you should but on the untersrömung 8) there is also a daily until two bademeiszter or lifeguards on the complex. Shops are left and right the galle road on foot or tuk tuk to reach.

Close
Herbig
Hot 14 days
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
- the three stars for this hotel are ok (simply furnished rooms, meals sometimes vielfältigund and mostly very hot). - hotel facilitities are shaded by enough palm trees - breakfast on arrival, dinner on the departure day, possibly to pay (circa 9,00 Euro) despite universe inclusive (tip: with travel guides speak) - a flop was the trip with a visit of whales (7 hours wild kutterfahrt, no whales found), bentota river and turtle farm with Roy (beachboy) - worth it was the excursion with Roy (elephant orphanage, tooth temple, tea plantations) on 2 days, but twisty in the mountains ... and for a long time times - in the all in all were the german speaking beachboys as a tour guide 'Roy, podi, Dominic and so on. ' ok (many excursions) - beachboy silver (usually on the hotel entrance) showed us a adjacent city ' panadura' and his home (very interesting) - it was in april 2013 very hot in wadduwa (high humidity) - sea (very wild) was warm, pool like a bathtub read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Torsten & Ines
Top! - for three stars more than recommendable!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
When we after 10 o'clock flight and 2 hours adventurous drive through Colombo in the Hotel Villa ocean viewankamen, we were very warmly welcomed and got in spite of the early morgenstunde immediately our bungalow room. The rooms were regularly cleaned, change of towels every day, cleanliness in the whole complex commendable. Enough chairs including cushions available. Very friendly, as well as accommodating staff, you read a formal off the desire from the lips from. Now and then a small tip is like everywhere gladly seen. A little annoying were the beach boys. During our stay mixed clientele russian guests ... (you should not believe but there are even which behave can), german and at the weekend many locals guests. A small feast for the eyes are the now and then in the hotel 's weddings. The food was more than adequate, clean, varied and good in terms of taste, partly european mild to asian spicy, something for everyone. A little annoyed that you for every order again and again with zimmernummerangabe sign had. Result in the all in all one for three stars more than recommended place to go in the beautiful Sri Lanka, where we were very comfortable and certainly again there will travel. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Sandra
A really great vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Not so big, however also not small, i think that 200 rooms, consisting of a main building and bungalows, with 4 units. The complex makes on the first glance a good impression, but one sees with the 2. view, it also already somewhat older is. We had all-inclusive and it was also so as described in the catalog. The types of people were mixed as well as the age. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms in the bungalows were functional decorated, clothes could well in the closet be stored, with three hangers a little bit, but i think you can at the front desk received. Tv was available, when it rains, but there are problems with the reception. The bathroom was sufficient and also always clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There was a hauptrestaurnt and three bars. The food was always very good and you always something to find, there were theme nights and every day local cuisine, but not completely so hot is, as some tourist expected, after the meals the soil was cleaned, also here the staff was hard to make everything right for the guest, of course, tips were very welcome

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff at the hotel is very friendly and hard-working for every guest, with german you got very good with good reason. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis, in the evening from time to time also against mosquitoes sprayed, the child care and the doctor, we didn't need, so i should not make statements can

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    Not so big, however also not small, i think that 200 rooms, consisting of a main building and bungalows, with 4 units. The complex makes on the first glance a good impression, but one sees with the 2. view, it also already somewhat older is. We had all-inclusive and it was also so as described in the catalog. The types of people were mixed as well as the age.

  • Location
    4.0

    The beach is right next to the hotel, and since the complex is not so large, is the way to the restaurant to the beach also just a few meters, almost all rooms have a sea view. Shopping is nearby hardly possible, a few small shops are in the hotel, also in front of the hotel there is a dressmaking, and smaller shops, we weren't there, we were with Roy in a supermarket (cheaper). We are early 4:00 a. m. landed and were in 90 minutes in the hotel, at a later time, they could be a little longer. In front of the hotel there is a line, with breakpoint.

Close
Heinz-Otto
Beautiful vacation trip
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Yesterday, 03,04. 13 again to come home. Are thrilled by the friendly service and the service. Were beautiful 10 days. (unfortunately way too short) have already decided, if we go back to Sri Lanka flies, then to this hotel again! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Michael
Great hotel with excellent food
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
In spite of the many there antreffbaren russians and urkainer a rather peaceful hotel with fine cuisine. The variety of the dishes is adequate, the taste but very good. The dessert was good and delicious (unfortunately my wife and i each 4 pound increased). Very friendly service. For couples very suitable. I was in this hotel for the 2. time and shall probably go there again. Our eastern european guests same their conduct the normal practice, means, no saufgelage more, no drängeln at the buffet and overall has become quiet. All in all a very recommendable hotel. The staff is ... very hard-working, the be of the guests contrary to come. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ramona
The 2 time very satisfied
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
A somewhat older, however very clean hotel. The staff is very friendly and very attentive. The rooms are cleaned daily and towels and bed linen are changed on a daily basis. Chairs by the pool are sufficient available. The food is varied and very tasty. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Christoph
Quiet hotel for relaxing
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Quiet hotel for relaxing. Who a beach vacation looks for is in the right place here reversed. The animationsmöglichkeuten of the hotel are sufficiently and rather quiet and efficient. The liegestrand is big enough. The loungers including the cushions are exemplary. The staff at the beach and in the other pool is very friendly and hard-working. You can quickly in a personal contact. Surprise was for me the cleanliness of the rooms and also the entire area. You looked constantly people, which took care. Everything very intensive. Only the management left me regarding the leadership but a back impression. Everything ... strictly hierarchical laid out. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    3.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Rene & Denise
For three stars surprisingly good and very relaxing
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2013
A successful vacation overall in a beautiful country. If you don't set importance on luxury in the hotel the is here at reasonable good value for money accommodated. We had booked all inclusive which we could highly recommend, only the constant sign with the drinks annoying. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating, the gardener for example brought us flowers on our sun lounger. Beach chairs with cushions were always available and if you a couple of days locally was they were from the lifeguards prepared. You should however also not forget, since it is a poor ... country, from time to time the staff a small tip. Just at the beach to be is the country to shame and therefore we have on recommendation our tours all at the beach booked. We can therefore Roy absolutely recommend the us actually almost the entire vacation accompanied. We stayed with him a 4 day trip undertaken, the he great and of course the individual than a fully occupiers coach. Recommendable is definitely a whalewatchingtour what a really impressive experience for us. The prices for the tours are reasonable and cheaper than with the travel agent. Even if you something needed for example. Phone cards for mobile phone (very cheap) got it promptly. Our rooms in the bungalow were tidy but could once again a lick of paint to get. In our room were bugs none. The food in the restaurant we found very good but for us unfortunately not sharp enough which is a matter of taste. The buffet was always good refilled, but the russian guests had nahrungsangst and hauten themselves the plates full and half was junked (sad). Otherwise we were very satisfied and would like to come again. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    3.3
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Heidrun
Villa Ocean View
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
A hotel for people who their russian refresh want. 10 german tourist, the rest Ukraine. Noisy until early in the morning. The ukrainian hotel guests could alcohol kartonweise with to the hotel create (with the half-board) and hotel management watched. In all-inclusive there was 1 drinks per room per person. Only empty, then there was another drinks. But naturally everything by note with zimmernummerangabe listed and of course had to also sign up (very, very annoying). This hotel is simply german tourist not suitable. The employees this hotel i felt so sorry for him under this hotel management to work. ... Were twice in Sri Lanka, however on this vacation we are so bitter disappointed were. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    2.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.3
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Johanna
Without cockroaches a lovely stay!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
The complex is really nice, the staff very friendly and the food very diverse and tasty. At the beginning, we had a problem with our room - cockroaches, 2 time we have the room changed, but then it was really a lovely stay. One should be aware, that you have a three stars hotel booked and the general standard not Austria-level is. In a bungalow you should at check in point 8., that you already renovated room on the 1. floor. Excursions we did with indi, a beach boy made - is very recommendable the yala national park-indi has so ... lots of animals discovered, which we do not see them-its number +94776207042 Prior to we of the seaside holiday a 4-day tour, one should definitely go on, because Sri Lanka so many beautiful squares to discover: was fantastic the view from the löwenfelsen sygiria and very impressive were the cave temple in dambulla! A wonderful vacation! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Martina
Relaxing vacation in Sri Lanka
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
This is my 2. visit to the Hotel Villa Ocean View. The hotel is medium size, with a very spacious and well-kept area. The guests are not so co-it runs well. There were guests of all ages in the hotel, predominantly russian, but i had thereby not a problem. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    I had a room in one of the bungalow buildings. It was clean, well maintained and was often great adorned with flowers, etc.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food was in my opinion excellent. There was something for every taste. There were both local cuisine, and on different days foreign specialities (european, chinese, etc.).

  • Service
    5.0

    All employees, from the cleaning staff to the management, are very friendly and courteous, and always ready to a nice conversation to lead. English language skills were good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Every evening there was something entertainment. Such as disco, shows or karaoke during the day sport (Volleyball, water aerobics, Boccia). Also equips the hauselefant the hotel always a visit from, which always good. There are two large pools with separate children's swimming pools and hot tubs.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    This is my 2. visit to the Hotel Villa Ocean View. The hotel is medium size, with a very spacious and well-kept area. The guests are not so co-it runs well. There were guests of all ages in the hotel, predominantly russian, but i had thereby not a problem.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is approximately 2 hours away from the airport. The next town is well within walking distance. Nevertheless quiet and pleasant location. Train, tuk tuk and public buses are easy to reach, to make excursions.

Close
Sabrina
Nice hotel in in need of renovation facilities
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
A very nice hotel is a great hotel but unfortunately not well-kept and very in need of renovation. The rooms are suitable however nothing special clean. Unfortunately are in the hotel very lots of russians what you much notice. If that doesn't bother is in good hands here. The beach is right in front of the door and the staff are very friendly. If you have a reasonable wants a vacation and don't have high expectations is in the right place here. The transfer to the airport is about 2 hours for a few days sun in the winter we ... would recommend this hotel read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Manfred
Proper hotel with private charm
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
We were pleasantly surprised of the hotel, the food was very diverse and constantly very good form presented, we everything tried and it has almost everything delicious tasty. Unpleasant only the complicated procedure with the expenditure for beverage, for every drinks a written order signature and unpleasant the performances of the russian guests %blank% in the restaurant, as well as by the pool until late in the night, read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Manfred
russenburg
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2012
We stiegenn after a 5-day round trip inn this hotel from, unfortunately was this hotel totally from russians crowded. The food hanging us after two days sick, unfortunately no variation and always rice with curry, chicken and Seafood, the whole was not. The bungalows should be a thorough overhaul. The staff were in the large young whole very friendly and helpful. The pool area was very dirty, and the current zettelunterschreiben with an order also in all-inclusive was very annoying! This hotel we could at all not recommend. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.5
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    2.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 7