Hotel Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & Spa(5 stars)

Bingesik Mevkii, Kumkoy Yolu, Side - Antalya View on map

Average rating

3,883 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.4
  • Room
    5.6
  • Service
    5.4
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.6
  • Sport & entertain
    5.5
Filters
You selected:
1640 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Gillian
Tophotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2015
we had a great week at the crystal sunrise. good food, great service and very enjoyable entertainment. would recommend to friends and would most certainly return. thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so memorable. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Alen
Amazing stay at Crystal sunrise queen
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
We have an amazing holiday at the Crystal sunrise queen resort. I traveled in a large group and we were taken care of to the best possible standard. Amazing five star resort. Cannot fault the food, drinks, service or staff. A special shout out to mr Altan A. (Office manager) he really looked after us and ensured our stay was excellent. We cannot thank you enough! Defiantly recommend this resort! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Lynda
Another relaxing holiday ag this lovely hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Our third visit here. Never fails to impress. Lovely terraces and scenic views. So relaxing with numerous places to sunbathe or sit. Lovely food with great choices. Lunch is taken at Waterfall Restaurant alongside the sea and promenade. Staff very friendly and helpful but don't speak much English. A lot of Germans and Russians stay here. Special Dinner for returning guests on open terrace with wonderful food and wine. Wonderful entertainment each evening. The manager Ali mingles with guests and makes sure everything runs smoothly. Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends. Most of the guests have returned ... here year on year. Can't fault it. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Bhavni
Lovely place
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Other stay
  • May 2015
sunrise queen in amazing location. when you are in sunset bar on terrace you feel like you are in cruise ship trip its really nice. foods and drinks were ok but personal of service not enough and sometimes foods are no fresh. animation team was great they are always smiling and entertained us. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Geoff
A happy return to the superb Crystal Sunrise Queen
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
We returned for a fifth stay at the Sunrise Queen and were not disappointed at the friendly welcome back to this excellent hotel. We had a sea view room with large balcony complete with two sun beds,table chairs and small lounger table. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day by Ummu Topal with frequent top sheets changed frequently. This all inclusive hotel and spa provided great restaurants supplemented by four fine Al a Carte restaurants, which required booking, no supplements just good value. The waiters and waitresses were all here in Sept. 2014 and all worked hard to maintain ... the standards required by the General manager Mr. Ali Ucas and his departmental managers who were visible at all meal times etc. The majority of guests were German and in our senior age bracket. They tended to stay for long duration holidays at the current winter season. The weather was very good apart from one morning which had rain until late morning and then got back to sunshine and a pleasant finish to the day.not bad half a day lost in a winter fortnight! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our large size sea view room and balcony with separate shower, separate toilet and bidet was provided with good toiletries and many towels, changed each day. Aircon and heating is provided and controlled from the room. Flatscreen TV , kettle, coffe,tea,milk,cups,saucers,spoons all provided.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Two main restaurants with 4 Al a Carte restaurants with numerous bars dotted around the complex. Food quality was excellent with a quality controller noted present at all meals, to supplement the managers and chefs regular patrols. Cleanliness was also excellent with designated cleaners wandering round at all meal times. International food was provided with regular theme nights that threatened the Al a Cartes for quality. Tipping is optional and at the discretion of guests, however the effort put in by the waiter service meant gratitude was regularly recognised.

  • Service
    6.0

    Waiters Tuncay, Serkan, Kenan, Memhut and Mustafa with waitresses Deyra, Asla, Chanan, Bentay and Memhon all deserve praise for the skilfull professional way they speak to and service all guests. Room cleaning by Ummu Topal was first class as was the mini bar refill each day. The hotel has a spa, a full time on-site doctor and shopping alongside the cinema. Wi FI is free of charge as is free bath robes, slippers, mini bar refill and room safe- which is great value. Also guests who required to keep their room after normal check-out were not charged and allowed full use of the hotel until their collection from the hotel.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Outdoor pools were cold but the indoor was a regular 29 degrees C and seemed to have plenty of swimmers taking advantage of the facility. Beech towels were als provided in all rooms again at no charge even for changing. Blue flag beech provided with environmental refuse cartons at each beech entry point for refuse. Free sun beds and parasols were provided on the beech and at all pools. The adult pool is not for children use and gives spectacular views of the coastline. Again the swim up bar was provided for adult pool guests.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We returned for a fifth stay at the Sunrise Queen and were not disappointed at the friendly welcome back to this excellent hotel. We had a sea view room with large balcony complete with two sun beds,table chairs and small lounger table. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day by Ummu Topal with frequent top sheets changed frequently. This all inclusive hotel and spa provided great restaurants supplemented by four fine Al a Carte restaurants, which required booking, no supplements just good value. The waiters and waitresses were all here in Sept. 2014 and all worked hard to maintain the standards required by the General manager Mr. Ali Ucas and his departmental managers who were visible at all meal times etc. The majority of guests were German and in our senior age bracket. They tended to stay for long duration holidays at the current winter season. The weather was very good apart from one morning which had rain until late morning and then got back to sunshine and a pleasant finish to the day.not bad half a day lost in a winter fortnight!

  • Location
    6.0

    The Sunrise Queen enjoys the best location with a beachfront position and sea view rooms overlooking a panoramic view from Side to Kumcoy some 6 km away. At the end of the hotel entrance road is the local shops and bars and is the place where you can get the dolmush bus services to Side or Kumcoy, with the bus terminus at Side providing dolmush service to all local areas and hotels. Shopping is prevalent at both Side and Kumcoy, also many restaurants and bars service the holiday and tourist demands, including excursions.

Close
Christopher
Pleasant Surprise at the Crystal Sunrise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
A pleasant surprise at the Crystal Sunrise. Hotel has mainly German guests (over 90%) at this time of year but staff soon learn who is who. Out of season in March so not much by way of entertainment other than the Animation team who were really good overall and the more than willing to try to improve their English. A very friendly bunch. Overall we had a great break with lovely food and excellent surroundings. Close to Side and a pleasant walk along the beach, no more than 30 minutes. The high number of repeat guests to this hotel says ... it all. Almost every British couple that we met had been several times and that goes for the Germans as well. They love the place and keep coming back. If you are happy seeking out fellow brits or are happy with your own company then this is the place to be t get away for a break from our miserable weather. Was surprised just how good the weather was for the first two weeks in March. Suntanned and swimming in the sea. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Susan
Fantastic hotel and excellent staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
Beautiful hotel. Fantastic choice of food and drink. Staff are very welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble and they are all lovely people. Great service at front reception. Beach and pools are beautiful and very clean. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Ann
Fabulous holiday in a wonderful hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
This All Inclusive Hotel is outstanding we have just had our 40 Plus time of holidaying in this beautiful Hotel and always look at it in amazement. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Large Ensuite Rooms with hairdryer and rooms have TV, air-conditioning, safe, telephone, minibar, tea/coffee making

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are the Main restaurants, in a morning the tables are set bothon the outside area and inside. My favourite is to sit outside in the sun for my breakfast and admire the view out to sea. In the evening there is the Dining Room and in the warmer weather you can eat outside. You can also choose one of the Al a Carte Restaurants, Fish, Italian, Mexican and Turkish

  • Service
    6.0

    Outstanding Staff who have been with this Hotel for many many years and are thrilled to see guests return. No one ever waits for anything and are served within minutes

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Fantastic Beach with an enormous amount of sunbeds the Beach Staff keep the beach spotlessly clean, also the many swimming pools surrounded by Sunbeds and for the energetic they can play Bocia, Darts, Arobics, Volley Ball etc

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This All Inclusive Hotel is outstanding we have just had our 40 Plus time of holidaying in this beautiful Hotel and always look at it in amazement.

  • Location
    6.0

    Situated right on the Beach. There is a paved Walkway which goes right into Side Town and passes all the Hotels along the beach and then the other way is a shorter walk passed a few Hotels. To the front of the Hotel you can walk up the driveway and on to the Main Road which is lined with shops.

Close
Mehrdad
Amazing holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
We was in holiday for a week and it was amazing hotel. Everything was really good. Architects about hotel was very good. We are 4 friends coming from Iran. Food was really delicious and bar staff was pretty nice. Entertainment team was really friendly. Thanks for everything we would like to come back again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Tim
How much detail do you need? It is here.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
This is the long version of the review I wrote for my previous stay. It adds much detail and is updated with thought on my return albeit after an absence of just a week. Nostalgia I first encountered the Sunrise Queen in 1999, only a year or so after its, or should I say 'her', opening while staying at the neighbouring Hemera. Being something of a hotel 'nut' I was immediately taken by the stunning architecture (more on this below). I had to explore then tried but failed to upgrade with my package tour operator at the time. I immediately ... booked and returned for a four-week stay in 2000. That was just the start. Now, eight long stays at the Sunrise Queen (and many shorter ones), almost 50 stays in Turkish Riviera hotels and sixteen years later, I am writing my first detailed review of this grand old queen. It is actually eleven years since I stayed at the Sunrise Queen for any length of time. From 2004 to 2008 I lived in Side and so often visited the Sunrise Queen for a night or two or just a meal. When I could afford, this would be the venue for a special occasion or to don my dinner suit for a New Year's eve party. All the hotels on this stretch of the coast have special gala nights for New Year's eve but none does them quite as well as the Sunrise Queen. I am here now in February 2015, staying for a total of 31 nights. I have described the experience as 'going back to Titanic'. Every little space and familiar face brings many memories flooding back. None more so than Ali Ucas, the general manager extraordinaire, who, with his English wife, Debbie, and two young daughters, emigrated to Australia in 2004, we thought never to return. I knew many of the regular winter guests then, the 'friends of the Sunrise Queen', and, when Ali and Debbie left, we knew it was the end of a very special era. The sadness was tempered only by our best wishes for their future. Some of those friends have since passed on, making this return even more poignant for me. Fast-forward eleven years and the Sunrise Queen is now in the management the Crystal Group and Ali Ucas has been persuaded to return from Australia to manage the Sunrise Queen and her newly opened sister hotel, 'The Crystal Sunset', at the end of the drive. The Sunrise Queen is now all-inclusive, as opposed to the half-board of my era. I seriously wondered how this latter conversion would affect quality and service. I need not have been concerned. Immediately prior to this stay at the Sunrise Queen, my mother and I had just sailed on the Queen Mary 2 from Southampton to New York. Cunard's 'White Star Service' is known as being around the very top of the industry. We are agreed and without doubt that the service and food are both superior at the Sunrise Queen. Now, nostalgia trip over, I will elaborate with some hard-earned details. Arrival & Check-in We had a privately-booked transfer from Antalya airport to the Sunrise Queen. I had forgotten how long the driveway from the road to the hotel was. As we approached the main building, the transfer driver started to take us up the ramp to the first floor VIP entrance. I have never seen this used - ever, not even for VIPs! For a moment, I contemplated Ali arranging a special welcome for us then rightly dismissed the notion, as did the driver who reversed and followed the sign for reception instead. We were met by the familiar but a little older face of Atilla, the bell 'boy' (now grey-haired, he must surely be 'bell man'?) who immediately recognised me. Check-in was smooth, fast and charming. We were told that we could still go for dinner even though it was after official closing time. We opted to find our rooms and have the 'late buffet' (10:30pm-12:00am) instead. Atilla led the way to our rooms with our luggage and gave us the once-customary but much-missed orientation tour of the rooms. It felt as though not much had changed. Except that as everything is as-new, it must all have been replaced many times over since my last visit. Noticeable changes include a switch from carpet floors to laminate, more hygienic and far preferable in the heat of summer though perhaps not the winter, replacement of the bath tub with a large, walk-in shower, large LCD TV and now an included mini-bar. The mini-bar is the best stocked included minibar ever: bottles of malt beer, orangeade, lemonade, cola, peach and cherry juice, still and fizzy water plus peanuts and a chocolate wafer bar all replaced daily. I was sorry to see the bar soap replaced by liquid soap but there is liquid soap and shower gel from wall dispensers plus shower cap, tissues and cotton buds. Perhaps the influence of the Crystal group? There were ample hangers - I like to hang everything up and did not use half of those available - and an included, easy-to-use safe. I was surprised to see the brass-faced wired and rather quirky 'remote control' still in use. I have not seen the like of this at any hotel before or since. Without getting out of bed, this enables the control of all the lamps in the room, heating/cooling fan speed and even the remote opening of the door lock. I had thought this eccentric little box would have long fallen foul of modernisation. Fantastic! The 'late dinner' buffet was superb. There was a choice of meat or fish, salads and delicious soups, plus a tempting array of desserts. Drinks were ordered and delivered instantly. Then there were only six of us in the restaurant at the time. Already, in the first hour or so, there was a palpable sense of luxury the like of which had been forgotten and we never expected to experience again. Not much had changed in the intervening years but we had expected it to have done so. Doesn't everything get worse with time? Not so at the Sunrise Queen. Food The best ever. There were a group of us who stayed at The Colours West in Gundogdu, around 10km towards Antalya from here, the same time last year and, although it was not a fine hotel by any account, we agreed that the food there was the best of any hotel any of us had ever experienced. Given our combined age and experience that is saying something. I said so in that hotel's review. The presentation and trouble they went to everyday on top of the choice and taste of everything was extraordinary. The Sunrise Queen beats that while coasting. The displays at dinner especially are astonishing. The food is so good that people appear to feel the need to dress up. I will upload some photos of the food to accompany this review. If you manage to get a reasonable rate to stay at the Sunrise Queen, the quality and presentation of the food alone may make you feel guilty, as it does us. Bring smart clothes! A La Carte & Transition to All Inclusive Not everything is perfect. The evening a la carte experience is satisfactory but not the expected 'special'. There are notionally four a la carte restaurants in operation during the winter season: Turkish, Italian, Fish and Mexican. They are however all co-located on different nights in the same 'Aspendos' restaurant which most repeat guests from a certain era will know as the venue for the 'Old Friends Dinner'. We have found food quality and ambience inconsistent there. One totally unexpected bonus however, is the a la carte lunches, also at the Aspendos. This is everyday inside and when the weather suits, which even in January and February has been almost everyday, tables are set outside with great views overlooking the sea. More than any other experience so far, the a la carte lunches symbolise the transition of the Sunrise Queen from half-board to all-inclusive. 15 years ago, lunch was available, superb but really quite expensive. I usually opted to walk into Side for a combined street-kebab-lunch and internet cafe visit. Now, the menu is exactly the same down to the 'Pizza Queen' and everything is made to order as before but now there is no charge. The point is that the Sunrise Queen has made the transition to all-inclusive without losing any of the previous service levels, quality or offering. That is extraordinary! Just my last hotel stay, at the Mirage Park in Kemer - a former grand hotel from the half-board era - was a huge disappointment in this regard. Drinks had to be queued for at the bar and there was constant contention over seating and food. Our experience at the Sunrise Queen is embarrassingly the opposite - if you want a waiter and chef to yourself you can have them. There is space everywhere - how much do you want? Waiters know what we want when we want and how we like it. In the end, the experience is not down to the rules or menus but the willingness of the staff to over-deliver on expectations. A little more discipline on music, lighting and the thermostat would transform the a la carte evening experience. Repeat Guests The Sunrise Queen, like a few other five star hotels in this area, has a repeat guests programme. This first manifests itself with fruit and wine delivered to the room the day after arrival. Any repeat guest will also be invited to the 'Old Friend's Dinner'. When wine had to be paid for these occasions they were exceptionally valuable. I still love them. We were the only two native English speaking repeat guests at our dinner so struggled a little with conversation. This was our fault, not theirs. I had a week away at another hotel, the Arcanus Side, which looked promising and plenty of Tripadvisor reviewers rave about it. The come-down from the Sunrise Queen was quite a shock to the system. Not that it is a poor hotel, it is not. In most ways it is near the top of the game. However, I had just spent 23 nights being totally spoilt at the Sunrise Queen. When I returned to the Sunrise Queen, Ali, the general manager happened to be outside reception with the hotel's owner just leaving. Astonishingly, Ali introduced us. Turkish society is so regimented this would normally have been thought impossible. Ali crosses all the divides casually, with humour and humility. As an example of this, I will give a brief aside. I witnessed Ali in the main buffet restaurant one evening dressed casually on one of his many routine daily inspections. He was on his mobile phone while simultaneously straightening up the serving plates at the buffet. Any other hotel general manager would summon the restaurant manager, who would tell the relevant captain who would instruct the person responsible. That is if anyone in the chain of command noticed or cared about a plate misalignment. Ali just did it himself casually but would be observed by all relevant staff so as to do it themselves next time. He talks to all staff and guests alike and it is so heart-warming to see him make the lowliest, most junior members of staff laugh as he talks away and pats their backs. When I was checking in, Ali asked me how many times I had been to the hotel (I knew because it was the Old Friends Dinner that night). "Eight, not including the times you were not manager", I laughed. "We'll call it ten and then we'll give you a special gift tonight". True to his word the gifts do not appear to have stopped flowing - fruit & wine delivered to my room, the Old Friend's Dinner and cocktail party invitations, a beautiful Turkish coffee set in a gift box presented to me at the dinner, a very luscious collection of Turkish honey-pastries, nuts and dried fruit. The Sunrise Queen takes the best care of repeat guests of any hotel I have encountered. Architecture I referred to the architecture in my opening, with very good reason. The Sunrise Queen has the most unique of architectures. After all my stays here, I am still finding new areas tucked away. I know of 12 swimming pools of different sizes on five or so different levels. There may be more. There are fountains and waterfalls, little caves, curved little travertine staircases with ornate wrought ironwork that simply beg explorations, everywhere greenery and then when you least expect it, a few tables with a waiter standing by. That is not to say that the hotel is some crass theme park - far from it. The Sunrise Queen has immense elegance. From the beach, the hotel has the appearance of a 1930's grand French Riveria hotel with ornate, curved balustraded terraces cascading, level after level down to the sea. The scenic elevator rising from the beach terrace is the first clue that this is not a 1930's hotel. The second is that the room balconies resemble the travertine terraces of Pamukale and there are numerous references to the fairy-chimneys of Capadoccia. Interiors are grand but everything is arranged with curves, grand columns, plants, artwork on small dividing walls etc. such that you never feel as if you are in an over-bearing space as is often the case in most other hotels. You could spends months here and still be surprised by the extraordinariness, complexity and detail of the architecture. How it was ever conceived is simply beyond imagination. Executive Summary Many little details distinguish the Sunrise Queen from other hotels at which I have stayed - such as the soft cushions on the outdoor chairs, the freshly squeezed orange juice, pre-filled thermos flasks of coffee and strained ('Greek') yogurt at breakfast, the stunning displays of intricate hors d'oeuvres and sweets every lunch and dinner that taste as good as they look, the most palatable all-inclusive wine, the number of outdoor venues and a la carte restaurants open even in mid-Winter, the immediate at-table drinks service everywhere, the room tea and coffee making facilities, the most generous minibar offering, the bathrobes and slippers, the luxurious bed linen and pillows, the included overnight room service, the 24 hour bar, the repeat guests dinner with the management and yes, even Baba, the mischievous hotel parrot resident since the hotel opened. I could refer to the palpable sense of luxury, the generous space-to-guest and staff-to-guest ratios, the elegance and grandeur of the architecture, the presence of a cabaret-style theatre with theatre bar, the dedicated cinema, the location directly on a beautiful beach and the proximity to ancient Side. However, it is the extraordinary staff and management of the Sunrise Queen that, after 49 hotel stays on this coast, make the Sunrise Queen simply the best hotel on the Turkish Riviera I have ever experienced. Tim read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Tim
Best hotel on the Turkish Riviera - here is why...
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
Many little details distinguish the Sunrise Queen from other hotels at which I have stayed - such as the soft cushions on the outdoor chairs, the freshly squeezed orange juice, pre-filled thermos flasks of coffee and strained ('Greek') yogurt at breakfast, the stunning displays of intricate hors d'oeuvres and sweets every lunch and dinner that taste as good as they look, the most palatable all-inclusive wine, the number of outdoor venues and a la carte restaurants open even in January, the immediate at-table drinks service everywhere, the room tea and coffee making facilities, the most generous minibar offering, the bathrobes ... and slippers, the free overnight room service, the 24 hour bar, the repeat guests dinner with the management and yes, even Baba, the mischievous hotel parrot resident since the hotel opened. I could refer to the palpable sense of luxury, the generous space-to-guest and staff-to-guest ratios, the elegance and grandeur of the architecture, the presence of a cabaret-style theatre with theatre bar, the dedicated cinema, the location directly on a beautiful beach and the proximity to ancient Side. However, it is the extraordinary staff and management of the Sunrise Queen that, after 47 hotel stays on this coast, make the Sunrise Queen simply the best hotel on the Turkish Riviera I have ever experienced. Tim Millea. Previous Stays Hemera, Side, 1999 Sunrise Queen, Side, 2000-2004, 6 times Kaya Belek, 2002, 3 times Hillside Ma Biche, Goynuk, 2002, 2 times Kaya, Side, 2003 Kremlin Palace, Lara Beach, 2004 Club Voyage Sorgun, 2005 Club Voyage, Belek, 2005 Marina Kemer, 2005 Turkiz Hotel, Kemer, 2004/2005, 2 times Kemer Resort, 2005 Marina Residence, Antalya, 2006/2007, 2 times Grand Seker, Colakli, 2007 Linda, Side, 2008, 3 times Xanthe Resort, Evrenseki, 2008 Argos, Antalya, 2008 Royal Wings, Lara Beach, 2008 Amara Wing, Kemer, 2009 Viking Star, Kemer, 2009 Viking Nona, Kemer, 2009 Palmet Resort, Kemer, 2009 Sentido Perissia, Side, 2009-2010 Lara Beach Resort, 2010 Limak Lara, 2010 Concorde Lara Beach, 2011, 2 times Sunberk, Side, 2012 Diamond Beach, Gundogdu, 2012 Side Yesiloz, 2013 Royal Atlantis Resort, Gundogdu, 2013, 2 times The Colours West, Gundogdu, 2014, 2 times Majesty Mirage Park, 2014 Crystal Sunrise Queen, Side, 2015 read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Dawn
She is a Queen
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2014
An excellent, elegant hotel with everything you could need in a holiday read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    My room was very elegant and tasteful decor. Well pleased to see a return of tea making facilities. Very clean with daily housekeeping. Free mini bar, plasma tv etc. loved it.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food is enough to suit all tastes with a huge variation to choose from. Breakfast was a feast. I loved lunch down by the beach and the elegance of dining on an evening

  • Service
    6.0

    All staff friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The follow up on the simplest of enquiries, just mention it and it's done

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is a full activity programme throughout the day which there was no pressure to join but good fun if you do and sports for those wanted to do their own thing in the hotel

  • Hotel
    6.0

    An excellent, elegant hotel with everything you could need in a holiday

  • Location
    6.0

    Central to the resort amenities, short walk down the hotel driveway. Within walking distance of the antique city of Side along the resort promenade.

Close
Vera
An excellent hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2014
It's a hotel where i want to come back every time. They do every thing to feel the guests like at home. Maybe there are Some things who are not 100 % ok, but there is a always a solution with a big smile. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Andreas
Goodbye...
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2014
... see you next year. I can only join the positive reviews. All in all it was a relaxing two weeks. The staff was very friendly, also at the front desk. The customer service as always competent and helpful. I felt very comfortable the entire stay and can only recommend the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Mak
Crystal Sunrise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Very nice Holiday!!! The location is super. The food is fantastic. The animation team very friendly. The rooms are very clean. The beach is very good. Overall is a very good hotel. I recommend it. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
David
Return to Relax
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
This was our 14th visit to Sunrise Queen> It always gives us the perfect relaxing holiday and even though we visit other countries returning to our favourite destination is always a pleasure as we are always looked after so professionally by Ali, Altan and their wonderful staff. A special mention to Abdil our favourite waiter. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Dorothy
Outstanding holiday, with fabulous sea views
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
My husband and I had a very relaxing holiday, the pool area was quiet and very clean, the food was Exellent in all the restaurants with the right amout of service the hotel was full when we went but had no trouble finding a seat in any of the bar areas inside or out, and the cocktails were exellent and served very nice. We were invited to their Repeat Guest Dinner as we had been to another crystal hotel before and we enjoyed the night, the tables were set out beautiful, the show was great and the hotel manager sat ... at our table for the meal that was served to us and was very nice and very approachable. The room was clean and nice, and the beach was clean and lots of sun shades. We walked along the promonard about 3/4 hour walk to Side where there's lots of shops and restaurants which are very good. The downside to our holiday was the weather was very bad at the end of the week and the hotel was damaged, the staff worked very hard to make sure all the guests were safe, so I hope the hotel and the staff are back to normal now. We will be visiting this hotel again in the future as we were treated as friends and we enjoyed ourselves very much. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Margaret
Excellent hotel; perfect for a beach holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
This is a great hotel in an excellent position for a beach holiday. The staff and management team do a great job. The week we were there the hotel was hit by a terrific storm which lasted a couple of days. Although there was considerable flooding in the hotel itself, the management team soon had everything dealt with - we were most impressed. I was amazed that some people were complaining, but if you are a regular visitor to Turkey you know that such extreme conditions are very unusual. We walked into Side town along the seafront path one day ... - a great way to spend half a day. It is worth taking a visit to the sister hotel Sunset Queen to see their facilities etc. This was our second visit to Sunrise Queen and we shall be booking again. We met many people who had been over 10 times so it must be good! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Julie
Excellent
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
This was our first visit to Turkey. The food was unbelievable. Very friendly service. Good entertainment and nice evening shows. Always enough su beds at the pools and beach. Thanks Crystal Sunrise Queen. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Maurice
Return visit to the Cyrstal Sunrise hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • October 2014
This was our 26th return visit to the hotel. The hotel and its amenities continue to be improved upon.the food and dining facilities continue to be of A very high standard.if you want a touch of luxury this is the hotel for you it continues to Be the best hotel in the side area bar none. For that extra bit of luxury and really spoil yourselves book into one of the queen suites they are well worth the extra cost. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 82