Hotel Gran Ventana Beach Resort(4 stars)

Playa Dorada | PO Box 22, Puerto Plata 07560  Playa Dorada View on map

Average rating

120 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.8
  • Room
    5.3
  • Service
    4.9
  • Location
    4.5
  • Food and Drinks
    4.9
  • Sport & entertain
    4.9
Filters
You selected:
20 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Anne
Very beautiful, clean hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2012
The hotel area was very well maintained and beautiful laid out. The sea was only a few Steps. The pool area is located in the middle of the hotel, just behind the lobby. We had a junior suite, which was nice commodious with balcony and a view of the ocean. The employees are very concerned with the welfare of the guests hard-working and friendly. You should however a bit of English speak, as German almost not spoken is. In the kitchen a run German Cook, the food was fantastic. We cannot understand, which some guests the food to complain about ... had, there was everything. 80% Canadians are as guests and a few Finns, German not so much. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    we had a junior suite, very spacious with balcony and a view of the ocean. We had every morning with its own coffee machine a coffee or tea. 24 hours a day while by the pool a coffee bar is furnished.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    as already mentioned, there a German Cook, great food of roulades denktash on gull, pork, baked turkeys or pig club, mashed potatoes, fish types of pasta, cakes, ice, etc. there are but also absolutely nothing the food to moan! If you didn't find anything here it was your own fault. Waiter really nice and friendly!

  • Service
    6.0

    All are hard-working, the guests so pleasant as possible to make. The laundry service taken, and it was early afternoon already again back. 35-45 Peso per clothing on average (rate was 48 pesos= 1 euro), you can exchange in the hotel, the same rate as in the shopping center, which is located 5 minutes walk from the hotel. From there, you could also excursions reasonably priced book. Cleaning of the rooms was OK.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    No offers used. There was water aerobics, Trial diving. Have more pool and table tennis played

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel area was very well maintained and beautiful laid out. The sea was only a few Steps. The pool area is located in the middle of the hotel, just behind the lobby. We had a junior suite, which was nice commodious with balcony and a view of the ocean. The employees are very concerned with the welfare of the guests hard-working and friendly. You should however a bit of English speak, as German almost not spoken is. In the kitchen a run German Cook, the food was fantastic. We cannot understand, which some guests the food to complain about had, there was everything. 80% Canadians are as guests and a few Finns, German not so much.

  • Location
    6.0

    One drives about 30 minutes from the airport the hotel. It is directly at a long beautiful and very clean beach, which every day in top condition, it was really nice and not a little dirt was there. Chairs on the beach and by the pool there is plenty! In the background you can see the mountains, great Backdrop to the sea. This was very clean and nice turquoise color. No high green waves by the lying off reef. So no seaweed.

Close
Rita & Mario
Also a second time to! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2011
We, were the second time we have stayed at the Gran Ventana and were fully satisfied.1. It is the best beach section playa. Dorada2 the whole without a big tip, drinks were immediately refilled or offered through a third party with all rooms complain, I can only say it was the just went out, on the beach or a trip. The room is nevertheless only to sleeps and showers available... And yes there are many Canadians fourth and English, but also on Malle are mostly only German. It is quite clear! Furthermore, there is also good ☺ read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Manni
Great hotel, gladly again archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2011
Overall optical a wonderful hotel. There were guests of all ages on the ground, that is why a average age difficult to estimate. In the frequency were british, americans and australians in the hotel. Which didn't bother us with a little english you without any problems further. We have many met nice people. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are big enough and nicely furnished. We had a room with two king size beds. It did not bother us, that is why we have nothing to say. But famous have therefore weighted and right a new room received. The bathroom was also clean and beautiful. We had a problem with our toilet not so close. But it was quickly settled.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    From the food we were absolutely loved it. In the buffet restaurant there was really a lot of diversified cuisine. There was also everyday something special and you could also somewhat fresh from the grill fetch. At the snack bar on the beach, there was rather fast food (pizza, burgers, chicken, etc.). Highly recommend is the chicken bbq. A must for every guest are the a la carte restaurants! Per week may 2 the 3 restaurants visited and the food and the service is super. With the beverages we were mostly also satisfied. I am with beer and generally Cuba Libre or santo libre we could have stayed longer. My girlfriend on Piña Colada. I found the cocktails generally just a little too sweet. Super is also the local rum mamajuana, the in the hotel itself manufactured. For hard there is also a rum with 70 revolutions. I tried it once and then left ☺ Of course also happy to get the people about tips. This is always a common glass of the staff and i hope in the afternoon divided.

  • Service
    5.0

    The service was great. All of the staff were always friendly and also minor problems were tried to solve. As soon as you in one of the restaurants has set itself, the glass directly filled with water and after another drinks asked. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned and also the mini bar was with water and beer refilled daily.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The pool is wonderful. At the swim up bar, i spent a large part of my vacation ☺. The animation is good as well. We quickly with the boys and girls of the animation team got. It will be during the day different games were offered as water polo, table tennis or pool games. And the daily dance of the entertainers was also very entertaining. Every evening there was a great show. Amongst others a great beach party celebrated. The entertainers do a great job.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Overall optical a wonderful hotel. There were guests of all ages on the ground, that is why a average age difficult to estimate. In the frequency were british, americans and australians in the hotel. Which didn't bother us with a little english you without any problems further. We have many met nice people.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located right next to beach. There is also a beach bar with buffet hall. The beach is spacious and not crowded. Everyone gets without any problems a beach chair with umbrella. The water must one a little watch out. It is located directly at the beach already a coral reef. The beach was cleaned every day, really great. From the airport it is just 15 minutes to the hotel area. This is a secured tourist area. No 5 minutes away from the hotel is the shopping center Plaza. Here, souvenirs and further be bought. Highly recommend is the state of the german tour operator mar y sol. We have several tours there. To the center from Puerto Plata one comes by bus about minutes. A trip is definitely worth it. The only annoying were the many locals, what the city want to show and of course a tip to have want. In Plaza is also the disco boco bongo. Here are not only tourists what really good is. The entertainers are in the evening also still with come to a little to celebrate.

Close
Maria
Simply wonderful! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2011
For little peace the hotel is perfect, if you want to party you have to go somewhere else. I found the vacation there 3 time perfect! And I am going back. It must be for me not speak German will, because then I can have a vacation. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ilona
A great hotel. Always again with great pleasure archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2011
The hotel leaves nothing to be desired. We were very satisfied. The only drawback: It is almost only Canadians and almost no German. But with my little english, I am everywhere come. I would go at any time again in this hotel. The food, the cleanliness, the friendliness of the staff is great. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Rita & Mario
Great hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2010
Great hotel, great location. The beach was always clean, there's enough. Drinks and food was sufficient and delicious. Mostly Canadians, British, a few Finns and German. did nothing. Three Al acarte restaurants the really to be recommended. With a few English you got along well. This hotel is only to be recommended, good value for money. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Wilhelm
Not bad, good for families and couples archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • October 2010
All in all ok, recommendable, as cheap holiday on a beautiful beach. talked with lots of guests there ( Dutch, German, Spanish ... ) The all thought it is best for couples and for families, not for young people and singles. Shower slightly broken. Breakfast from the choice was ok, food was rather modest ... Coffee ready, iced tea consists of Eisteepilver plus water ( tastes like the from Walmart, very sweet), service was quite good. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    3.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Susanne
Highly reccomended, quiet resort archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2010
Overall this is highly recommended. Quiet location, 2 minute walk to the beach, on the beach sufficient beach chairs available, catering a lot of choice and delicious. Very friendly, fast service. They are all very clean. Room absolutely big enough and sufficiently equipped. Always perfectly clean. Some spots are a bit dated, but that didn't! We had absolutely recommendable! We had booked all inclusive and we were more than pleased with! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Brigitte & Karl-Heinz
Good hotel with some minor flaws, nice holiday archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2010
A relaxing holiday in a quiet atmosphere, no pushy entertainment on the beach or by the pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was clean, all dishes were varying and tasty. All drinks were served quickly prepared or at the bar. The evening entertainment was in the (mostly American and Canadian guests and did not interest us. But it was always from 11:00 pm almost peace. Our room could have been cleaner and was also very humid, also the beds and that was about unpleasant smells not good. If you weren't exclusive holiday is well taken care ... of here, as the value for money. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Joachim Hans
Inadequate archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2010
We stayed at the Gran Ventana for one night by our airline, we had after 3 weeks in Luperon a very good opinion of the cathedral. Dominican Republic. And hence immediate to compare it to. Our room (3230, hands off) was unacceptable. It was a stone's throw from a Diskothekeneingang away ( this was also the view). Sleep was impossible to at 5 in the morning, we ended up on the bathroom floor to try to go to sleep before the toilet, as the door a little noise. The grounds of the hotel are in an impersonal mass processing coordinated ... and you felt like being in a anthill. Well, that we had to do here don't go to a vacation, it could have been different, as we could learn three weeks. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    1.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    2.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
Close
Franz
Never again archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2009
The guests mainly came from USA and Britain this is reflected in the standard of this hotel. Just not recommended. The beer served there you can't drink and the many cocktails are just sugar sweet and with lots of rum and finished mixtures We will surely not visit this hotel. We were the last two years in Punta Cana and were very pleased with the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.7
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    1.0
Close
Kai
Was ok, but not more archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2009
In our opinion: in the buffet restaurant was always everything well-appointed and varied. Only the People who kept coming back was very slow and unattentive. I recommend the a la carte restaurants. We had a superior room, where the showed we know not yet, missing towels, shampoo, lack of Fussmatten missing, something was always. Evening entertainment on rather modest level, the entertainers were for example. Rude and pushy. Beach chairs at the beach in a large enough number, but partly in such bad condition, so that you can not be used anymore. The proximity to the golf course was a ... criterion for us, here then try the staff caddies, which you have to rent the tourists, so really exclude with very imaginative stories. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    3.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Katharina
Perfect, a beautiful and well-kept dream hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2009
We were there at the beginning of November for two weeks at this wonderful hotel. Worthy of its star thoroughly deserved. We loved it so much we didn't want to leave. When we arrived we were greeted with two delicious cocktails. Wished we had a room in the house, which is what we were promptly got Catlina. The room was very nice, big enough. The king bed was awesome comfortable and very clean. Fridge and air conditioning worked perfectly. Everything was great from the maids cleaned. The beach was fantastic. long and broad and clean. were always enough beach chairs. ... At the umbrellas you would be very early in the morning and under the palm trees. beach vendors was in abundance were but not too intrusive. The pool was just great. Very large, clean. With bar in the water just great. animators really tried very hard were really fun and nice. Annoying but didn't go out if you don't goat had. 4 minute walk to the shopping center. There was no had to get bored. Food was brilliant delicious. Rich and good. Good choice. Cocktail menu endlessly long and a delicious than the other. Fridge in the room all inclusive. Few German guests in the area. Many English, ami's and kanadierer. Well behaved. We just couldn't find anything bothered us. You just felt perfectly well taken care of. Everyone was very friendly, everyone greeted you and the good mood of the Dominicans were around an absolute must. Would stay at this hotel again. Was a perfect holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Christoph
Simply Best Holiday and Great Service archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2009
The hotel was located in a remote hotel area (ca. 10 hotels) ca. 20 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from Puerto Plata and consisted of 3 buildings. 2 buildings (Saona and Catalina) were directly located on the beach, the third building (Beata) was located a few meters behind, which had the most beautiful rooms and housed the Italian a la carte restaurant (We had one of these rooms for 30 minutes to get fresh after our check-out, these were a bit larger and also somewhat more modern / better furnished). Clean: Really super! The whole area was really ... daily cleaned the best, one always saw the gardeners cleaning the really very beautiful outdoor area, the rooms were really daily thoroughly cleaned. In general very much importance was given to keep it clean (!). Constantly and everywhere the floor was cleaned, everyday mornings a car came to clean the washed ashore trash, even at the beach bar the tourists or wind blown sand was constantly swept from before each meal all the tourists and the waiters hands' in the entrance were disinfected, also the buffet was kept strictly clean. Tourists: As already described by a few tourists ratings before we met very few Germans there which really didn't bother us. Most of the tourists by far came during our holiday from England and Scotland. Afterwards still a few Americans and Canadians were present as well as a few Spanish. The age average was really a colorful mixtures of families to young couple and still a few retirees. Services: In the all inclusive all was really included, all the offered drinks, which one had on the card were free (next to beer, many cocktails) food and drinks from 7am mornings to 2am night and in the room there was still a minibar, which was always free and refilled. All inclusive food was in the main restaurant (breakfast, lunch and supper) as well as also the beach bar with the snacks for every taste (open from lunch to afternoons). For example a kayak rental for paddling on the hotel beach also belonged to the all inclusive offer. We had really no additional charges in the hotel(except for the tips for a few of the bag boys). read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Size absolutely sufficient, furniture (TV and closet) somewhat older, but really in order. Whoever expected the luxury there as in a German 4 star hotel will always complain in such a country. We were very satisfied. TV (no German channels, but who cared?), telephone and refrigerator as well as a hairdryer and air conditioner were available and worked. The safe could be rented for a fee. Every room had a small balcony. We had a side ocean view through the palms and on a wedding pavillion directly on the beach :-). The rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily and upon request hand towels, beach towels and bed linen changed. As already mentioned in a few previous ratings, the cleaning maids often left fresh flowers on the bed or the hand towels were presented into artistic figures - and that all was done without tips before. As mentioned - whoever looked in a southern country for every flaw in a room was just wrong here - but also the bathroom was absolutely ok, no mold in the shower, the shower ran somewhat slowly, sometimes a bit low water pressure, but really in order!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    In the normal restaurant one always found a spot, one received immediately cold water offered and several waiters also brought other drinks as beer, cola or wine directly to the table. Here one was never really forced to tip. Everyone asked right away, how you are and after a few days one was already joking around. There was a large main restaurant for breakfast, lunch and supper. In addition with reservations - 3 a la carte restaurants. The breakfast was - with the tourist structure understandable - mostly prepared for the English tourists. It didn't bother us, there was something for everybody (croissants, bread rolls, employees freshly pressed fruit juices at sight, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, cold cuts, jam, scrambled eggs, egg, coffee, tea, beans with tomato sauce, bacon, wienies etc). There was never anything which wasn't refilled and it looked very (!) hygienic. Very tasty and also really delicious. Large choice. Lunch and supper were also in buffet style and things were also again and again directly prepared in front of our eyes (for example omelettes, grilled steaks, fish). With the selection one never came too short. There was always something for 'everybody's taste' for example pizza, noodles or fries), but also always a dish of local food and always with alternation different vegetables, potatoes and meat dishes. Clearly there could always be something which wasn't so tasty, but with the choice one found really something for everybody if they weren't too picky! Whoever said something else here was just spoiled. Even at the snackbar on the beach it was great for in between meal hunger. Here there were always burgers, fries, hotdogs, chili, cake, salad etc. directly next door was the beach bar with most all drinks which one desired. A large compliment to the hotel - we never had to wait long and it was always tasty.

  • Service
    6.0

    Here I could only give the highest compliments - all the whole employees had also without tips always asked, how you are, were also trying to fill all the requests. All spoke at least good English, a few also a bit of broken German. When one could speak a few phrases of Spanish, all of the employees were still more courteous (as one called in the forest...:-))!). The room cleaning was thoroughly made everyday. Upon request also the bed linens and hand towels were exchanged daily. The beach hand towels were also without charge given upon request daily. We didn't have complaints, but at the reception they took them all and tried really to always care for them immediately. We were offered a room for a short term on the last day for showering since we still had 5 hours to wait from our check-out to the departure. After my request it worked right away (we even rode in the golf cart 200m with the bag boy:-)!). The activities were available, but never pushy. The offered evening shows were partly very great (especially the Caribbean show and Michael Jackson imitations!!). Even the cleaning maids and the gardener greeted one always friendly again and again. One felt really welcome and well cared for. In the hotel itself there was a small store for small necessities and even a money exchange (was of course a bit expensive).

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Who went in the pool, on a great Caribbean ocean beach holiday? Anyway for your information: the pool was ok, here there wasn't a pool bar, possibilites for volleyball and also small children's pools. The activities were very reserved, now and then aqua aerobics or contests. A kids club was also available. Beach: the beautiful beach was located really directly in front of the door - no annoying street or such which separated the hotel from the really beautiful and very clean beach (the beaches in the Mediterranean which I had already visited were definitively dirtier). The bay was kilometer long. The beach was located really at an endlessly long bay, there was always enough room and at least enough beach chairs were always freely available (we also were laying under the palms at the edge of the beach when we didn't get an umbrella). The water was very warm (ca. 27-28 ° and in the Atlantic!) and crystal clear. Very few waves as an offshore reef caught the most. For snorkeling and swimming super beautiful, real fine sand. Evenings it was sometimes relatively windy and even then somewhat more waves. At the beach also free kayak rental to paddle in the ocean also otherwise a few water sport offers as parasailing etc. which we however didn't use. There were two showers on the path to the hotel. There were always a few people selling on the beach - but they weren't too annoying as a simple no was enough opposite to the many other countries (whoever was once in Tunisia, knows what I am talking about!!!!). They were always also ready for a good saying and always stayed friendly. If you buy there, don't expect the best quality and barter in any case (maximum the half of the requested price at the first offer). Trips were offered directly on the beach entrance - we booked once there with César, a great guy. You could without any thoughts, since these there were all permitted agents with ID etc and it was a bit cheaper than at the travel agency. There we booked our tour to paradise island and we weren't disappointed. Two tennis courts were directly at the hotel. The internet access was for a fee at the hotel (whoever really needed it in holiday?!) A disco- was at the shopping center for whoever wanted one. One didn't hear anything of it in the hotel, and it seemed that not a lot was happening, the shows in the hotel were enough. Billiards and ping pong tables were free of charge in the hotel. There was even a hair dresser and spa offer.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel was located in a remote hotel area (ca. 10 hotels) ca. 20 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from Puerto Plata and consisted of 3 buildings. 2 buildings (Saona and Catalina) were directly located on the beach, the third building (Beata) was located a few meters behind, which had the most beautiful rooms and housed the Italian a la carte restaurant (We had one of these rooms for 30 minutes to get fresh after our check-out, these were a bit larger and also somewhat more modern / better furnished). Clean: Really super! The whole area was really daily cleaned the best, one always saw the gardeners cleaning the really very beautiful outdoor area, the rooms were really daily thoroughly cleaned. In general very much importance was given to keep it clean (!). Constantly and everywhere the floor was cleaned, everyday mornings a car came to clean the washed ashore trash, even at the beach bar the tourists or wind blown sand was constantly swept from ... before each meal all the tourists and the waiters hands' in the entrance were disinfected, also the buffet was kept strictly clean. Tourists: As already described by a few tourists ratings before we met very few Germans there which really didn't bother us. Most of the tourists by far came during our holiday from England and Scotland. Afterwards still a few Americans and Canadians were present as well as a few Spanish. The age average was really a colorful mixtures of families to young couple and still a few retirees. Services: In the all inclusive all was really included, all the offered drinks, which one had on the card were free (next to beer, many cocktails) food and drinks from 7am mornings to 2am night and in the room there was still a minibar, which was always free and refilled. All inclusive food was in the main restaurant (breakfast, lunch and supper) as well as also the beach bar with the snacks for every taste (open from lunch to afternoons). For example a kayak rental for paddling on the hotel beach also belonged to the all inclusive offer. We had really no additional charges in the hotel(except for the tips for a few of the bag boys).

  • Location
    6.0

    The shopping possibilities were in 100 meter walking distance (Plaza). The salesmen were somewhat annoying there - everybody spoke to one, but a clear no was enough, if one didn't want to buy. The prices there and in the hotel were naturally somewhat more expensive than farther away from the hotel area. The excursion possibilities were numerously available. We had participated in 3 tours (Puerto Plata- City Tours with cable cars on the mountain - beautiful view!! Paradise Island (coral island with snorkel tour and Samana with Baccardi Island and Mangrove Boat Tour) - the tours we could absolutely recommend. 2 of them we booked directly at the travel agent and at one of the salesmen on the beach (Cesar), which was somewhat cheaper after bartering and also absolutely ok! Careful: partly longer trips between 2 and 3 hours over the longer and partly very bad streets. We enjoyed it, during it we also saw something from the real island life and the country and people.

Close
Tina & Harald
Clean and well-kept hotel area, exc. Kitchen archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2009
We can recommend this hotel area. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a fruit cocktail drink friendly and the check-in worked fast and easy. The bellboy's brought our bags in the room. The rooms are spacious and meadows no faults ( we had two double rooms. ), Not optically technically. Room service is tidy and towels are changed every day. The grounds were daily by staff checked and cleaned, if necessary. Nothing was missing. Also the pool a clean water quality. One always had the feeling, the cleanliness and courtesy and service, in this hotel the first commandment" is. The ... staff seemed very laid back and made a real effort for the well-being of the guests. It even if it is running full at the bars to remember. Of course the staff where happy about a little tip. But not hot, as there were only so, works out. To the beach can't say anything negative, as he, unlike the neighboring hotels clearly clean seems ( less share of shells and angeschwämmten seaweed). Once a day a tractor came with three employees and it actually clean. However, you should go to the left to the sea and swim (200m), there it was simply beautiful. Beach chairs were in sufficient number available, but could use some updating! Unfortunately the beach chairs and umbrellas are also morning from most hotel guests reserved with towels in the morning! Especially in the pool. But it is not necessary, as sufficiently available. The only negatives are the annoying beach vendors, sufficient in number, the right to the pool chairs and already come by far attention. That was annoying. There is an improvement area is required. It would be enough if the traders mark for the beach chairs. Especially Stubborn a seller with the number 52 Beware of the rip-off price. Bargaining was on servicing trip to Puerto Plata. Take dollar with or stays in pesos. During our stay, there were many British ( scottish people) and some US citizen or Canadians in the area. German were hardly available. Come during the winter months, they told us. Everything was peaceful, even after the bars were closed. The entertainment I can only say that there is not much to offer. The food in the hotel is very rich and tasty and tastes like at Mothers. It turned out later, the chef would conjure up a German. Absolutely delicious! You can do in the other theme restaurant's food. Free of charge, you just have to sign up. Of course, creole typical food. Child care, and fitness room with proper equipment are available. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Hans
Ideal for vacation with friends archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2009
All in all a very enjoyable holiday. Impressive the quality and the choice of food at all meals here is just something for everyone there. The staff in the restaurants is friendly and attentive - the Nu is an empty glass filled up and used plates were cleared away. Coffee and tea is available from early morning to late night at the main restaurant and the Beata Building available as well as a solid offer of cocktails, beer and soft drinks at the four bars. Unfortunately were shaded areas at the pools and on the beach rather scarce. For loading ... and power supplies you need an adapter. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
Close
Cornelia
Excellent holiday archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2009
We are a couple dorthingereist (49 and 52 years old), I am a little movement and we booked a room in the 2 I got floor for our length of stay of 14 days to exhausting. Since we arrived late in the evening, we could only our guest relation speak next day, he was quickly taken care of and we had a great room on the ground floor and even with sea view. Our tour guide, from ITS, deserves a big compliment. The activity staff were excellent, the every day the guests with a great day and evening entertainment. I ... would also mention some name, sexy boy, Afri-boy, Big Mama, Michael Jackson/his nickname and Pepe. The hotel, the pool and the rooms were very clean. fallen teams are leaving for every two days and the grounds around the pool scrubbed. Once a week, the room had been ausgespritzt Schweizerhof bugs. The dining room was very comfortable even divided into smoking and non-smoking. The food was varied and plentiful. What we had there was very tasty. Excursion and shopping possibilities we had also enough. The holiday at this hotel is really finest holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Martin
busy archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2009
There were very many Americans and Canadians. So the atmosphere was also very relaxed. It isn't meant negatively. But unfortunately the, and Arising starvation, the beach chairs at the pool ( before breakfast to reserve very high standard. Beach was good but not very good. Waiters in the restaurant gave a lot of effort but cups. Otherwise OK. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Karl
Compact in English hands! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2006
It is ok when you travel there with many friends or family. But one will find out pretty fast that he is surrounded 90 % by English tourists! The personnel can mostly speak only broken or a little English! Else only Spanish! Else very good service and kind personnel! I would immediately book there again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Petra
Great holiday! Not enough Germans archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2005
Hotel was superb! Standard of hygiene excellent- really no complaints there. While we were there they were in the process of building a new ramp for wheelchair users. There were three or four wheelchair users in our party. We had all-inclusive. The food was great. There are three houses. Take care that you get one on-site- there is one located off-site, which is further away from everything. We should have been in this house but when I said that we wanted to be on-site it was no problem. When I told the staff that I read about the houses in ... the internet they were over the moon. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The only problem is that 94% of the guests are British. They're very nice and friendly (and they don't just drink like everyone says). But if you want to talk to a native German-speaker you really have to look- we came across the first after a week. Everyone very child-friendly. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5

    The rooms were in good condition- they're not that new anymore. The mini-bar was restocked every day. There were water-dispensers and ice everywhere. Bed linen etc. was changed every day. The beds were superb. We slept better there than we do at home (even though we have new mattresses). There was also a hair-dryer.

  • Gastronomy
    5.5

    The restaurants were very clean. The service was also very good. There was also always a midnight-snack. A lot of variety on offer, the boiled potatoes were the only things that weren't so great. Food always tasted good. There were also speciality-restaurants.

  • Service
    5.0

    The club reps couldn't speak much German. On of them could though (Luis). He lived near Stuttgart for 7 years. Childcare was also good. Check-In was quick and uncomplicated. Room service was also very good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5

    Good sports-facilities. You could also rent jet-skis from the next door hotel. The pool was also good. The games in the pool were also fun. Internet access. The sun-loungers by the pool were a little bit too close together. They were also already reserved between 6 and 7 in the morning (although this was not allowed). The beach was very clean. It was normally cleaned around 8 in the morning. The water-temperature of the sea was 31 degrees, in the pool 26 degrees. There's also a kids club.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Hotel was superb! Standard of hygiene excellent- really no complaints there. While we were there they were in the process of building a new ramp for wheelchair users. There were three or four wheelchair users in our party. We had all-inclusive. The food was great. There are three houses. Take care that you get one on-site- there is one located off-site, which is further away from everything. We should have been in this house but when I said that we wanted to be on-site it was no problem. When I told the staff that I read about the houses in the internet they were over the moon. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The only problem is that 94% of the guests are British. They're very nice and friendly (and they don't just drink like everyone says). But if you want to talk to a native German-speaker you really have to look- we came across the first after a week. Everyone very child-friendly.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is situated right by the beach. The water was very clear. You don't have to go snorkeling to observe the many colourful fish. Puerte Plate is 5km away. Not expensive by taxi. The casino is just around the corner. We were there and had a good time. The shopping mall is also just around the corner. The price of two beers (El Presidente tastes really good) was only 190 pesos there. Transfer-time is about 30 minutes. Have a look at the neighbouring hotels- they'll be delighted.

Close