Hampshire Hotel - Plaza Groningen(3 stars)

Laan Corpus den Hoorn 300 9728 JT Groningen View on map

Average rating

16 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.7
  • Room
    4.4
  • Service
    5.6
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    4.8
  • Sport & entertain
    2.5
Filters
You selected:
12 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date
Sylvia
Price-service: top!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2012
Great peaceful atmosphere, very quiet, clean rooms. The lobby in modern black ( matter of taste). Many comfortable places to sit, accommodate large groups! The kippbaren window in the room, but not to open. Very friendly staff, price-Achievement of completely OK one! For tight 15, -taxi in city center. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
Close
Günther
Never again
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • July 2012
The air conditioning did not work, the much too small room was unbearably hot, after complaining was only communicated it is not a right air conditioning, but only to another Kind of air conditioning, and all other rooms are anyway full. Never again, Groningen is however worth a trip. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    2.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    3.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Nils
For a weekend okay archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2011
The room is okay for a weekend. If you have a longer stay plans, you should look elsewhere. More at the watch the cleanliness is not so hundred %. The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. Prices for fahrradverlei bike (5, 50 Euro per day) is perfectly okay. 15 minutes walk to the city center by bike and a beautiful lake right in front of the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Sebastian
A very decent hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2010
A very decent hotel, a little outside of Groningen. How and whether it can be reached by public transport is we would not say. Only for guests without drivable vehicle, it will probably be worse. The room itself was very neat and clean. In the bathroom you will find some small faults concerning the cleanliness, but no one 'see' the could. Price/performance ratio is completely right. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Chris
Nice hotel, good value archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2010
As an overnight stop on the passing through, for a short stay or as a business traveller, then this hotel is good. The rooms are not very big but absolutely enough. You also with TV and wireless internet was 2 good working communications! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Sabine
Very dirty hotel, friendly staff archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • August 2010
Large hotel, the exterior & surface. The cleanliness of the hotel is very limited. We had to for 2 nights 3 x move to another room because either the TV didn't work or the air conditioning. The windows were extremely dirty and full of spiders. When as last a thorough cleaning was completed is questionable! The swimming pool on the floor plenty of sand! In the rooms dust GALORE! In the lobby also plenty of dust, even in the restaurant (don't see under the table or under the ceiling)!!! Spiders are everywhere. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    The rooms are rather small. Unfortunately a very poorly designed as the closet in a corner of next to a bed and behind the desk is. You have to arrange, if someone always want to the cabinet! Fortunately, this doesn't happen often! The shower is very wobbly. The cleanliness wasn't very well known to be desired!

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    I personally found the buffet breakfast, which is supposed € 15.00 charge, not good. As a 1 . time in Holland was, but I didn't do much in the way of comparisons and can only my position.

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff were very friendly and willing to help us. With the German language the employees no problems. The room cleaning left a lot to be desired. Here the hotel management should have handled.

  • Sport & Leisure
    1.0

    The pool is dirty. No robes to hire to get to the pool. In the bar, there was no cocktails (for me today standard). There is a internet corner for an extra, but also filthy!

  • Hotel
    3.0

    Large hotel, the exterior & surface. The cleanliness of the hotel is very limited. We had to for 2 nights 3 x move to another room because either the TV didn't work or the air conditioning. The windows were extremely dirty and full of spiders. When as last a thorough cleaning was completed is questionable! The swimming pool on the floor plenty of sand! In the rooms dust GALORE! In the lobby also plenty of dust, even in the restaurant (don't see under the table or under the ceiling)!!! Spiders are everywhere.

  • Location
    3.0

    For our taste a bit too outside! If you're looking for peace and nature, this is the right place! With the bus one is in about 25 minutes on the Grote Markt.

Close
Micha
Weekend in Groningen archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • March 2010
We were from Friday to Sunday in Hampsihre hotel in Groningen and were quite thrilled. It is quite a large hotel and has the feel of a Glasbunkers! The lobby but have been quite upmarket and the staff very friendly, which you can say about all Dutch on the weekend we spoke about. The hotel is very clean, only the sealing of the shower was not more all white. But otherwise, the rooms are in a very clean condition, which is supposed for Holland not, it is. Guests are almost only Dutch in every age ... read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Cable TV (German program only ARD / / N3 ZDF) was not: ( with satellite program must be more ... , No minibar, but clean and we used it was only a place to sleep!!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We booked half-board and enjoyed the quite extensive breakfast. All things are constantly refilled and what is missing in the twinkling emergency concerned. (The tables were not cleared during breakfast) when you leave the table porter appologised everything away. (Other countries, other manners) didn't bother me but not at all!

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff is very friendly and speaks fluent English. advise you on bus lines and excursions were super well explained!

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The pool was not in the newest condition, but clean and to splash totally sufficient. Water depth 1 ,40m

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We were from Friday to Sunday in Hampsihre hotel in Groningen and were quite thrilled. It is quite a large hotel and has the feel of a Glasbunkers! The lobby but have been quite upmarket and the staff very friendly, which you can say about all Dutch on the weekend we spoke about. The hotel is very clean, only the sealing of the shower was not more all white. But otherwise, the rooms are in a very clean condition, which is supposed for Holland not, it is. Guests are almost only Dutch in every age ...

  • Location
    4.0

    The hotel is about 5 km from the town center and easily reachable by bus. The hotel can provide bicycles (we had rain and went there with the bus in the City)

Close
Annika & Mario
Nice hotel in Groningen archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • March 2010
The hotel was beautiful to see with the glass front and also seemed so very welcoming and friendly. Around the hotel everything was neat and tidy. They have free parking. About the guest structure can we say that much about. We have German, Dutch and British. The lobby is very modern and stylish. We really enjoyed it. There is a free internet terminal ... But everywhere in the hotel there's also Wi-Fi without extra cost. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Our room was quite small but perfectly adequate. Nice king sized beds and a flat screen TV on the wall, what more could you ask for. Unfortunately the pillows were very hard, but that was a matter of taste. Otherwise is enough storage area and the furnishings are well maintained and not worn out at all. The bathroom is also furnished sufficiently and unfortunately somewhat light = a larger lamp wouldn't be bad. Beware -- a hair dryer with you, it was not available!

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We have booked overnight stay with breakfast. The breakfast was very extensive and tasty. There was everything from bacon, sausage to yogurt and freshly squeezed juices, fish, cheese, croissants, etc. everything your heart desires. It was always re-filled and coffee and tea or similar. You get to be brought to the table. Also the breakfast restaurant is very nice and modern.

  • Service
    4.0

    The lady at the front desk was not very friendly. The staff at the breakfast restaurant is very nice, though and gracious. Foreign language skills in English available ... Only a little German. But with English you could get by very well.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The hotel has a swimming pool, which you could use for free. On weekend till 22 hours. We took advantage of this and found it to be very relaxing. The pool area is clean and well presented.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel was beautiful to see with the glass front and also seemed so very welcoming and friendly. Around the hotel everything was neat and tidy. They have free parking. About the guest structure can we say that much about. We have German, Dutch and British. The lobby is very modern and stylish. We really enjoyed it. There is a free internet terminal ... But everywhere in the hotel there's also Wi-Fi without extra cost.

  • Location
    4.0

    Of course the location is not so good if you quickly to just walk into town. However, there are Park and Ride places with bus as well as the normal city buses run frequently. You can also walk - 2.5 kilometers (1.5 miles) of course if you are a good walker. In a few hundred meters away is a supermarket where you can shop well. There is a canal and a nice big park where it was a nice walk.

Close
Dana
Beautiful, elegant hotel but not so clean archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2009
The Hampshire Plaza is a nice and plush furnished hotel. The value for money was optimal (238€ for 4 nights), except for the breakfast was 15€ extra costs. The cleanliness was rather bad since it very dusty and not cleaned properly (but it is bearable if you don't spend much all day). The staff is very friendly, are on hand to answer any queries what to do and speak several languages. The hotel is located about 15 minutes (by bus) from the Grote Markt and is great also reachable if it is a bit more remote: )was very quiet and ... really lovely. Not far away from things to do. were for example. ice skating, swim in the comic strip center, etc. There is enough and not more than half an hour bus ride away. Generally it's a nice place to stay and highly recommended even though the cleanliness even some work: ) read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Oliver
more beautiful from the inside than the outside archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • August 2009
The hotel is part of a's toilet stack called "Meerwold", which should be no incentive to believe it with loads has aqua park nearby. These things are just two two-story office-deadbolt, leave the left and right from the hotel. From the outside and the lobby the hotel building a bit after a bunker, but the should be put off anyone. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The best: the wide, 2.20 meters long beds! Pretty hard, but very pleasant. The blankets were not too thick and not too thin and nice long, just my pillow was totally verknotet and silly. Our room was on the small side and around the giant bed. there were only a few inches. It was nicely decorated in dark wood tones. In my opinion the AC was broken, although they made some noise. At least she brought nothing and we just left the windows open - it was perfectly quiet even in the morning around the hotel. The bathroom was also small, the tiles not more last SCREAM, but still ok and clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We used the restaurant for breakfast only, but it smelled very pleasant to Italian cuisine in the evening. The breakfast was really not bad: to order eggs and Pufferkjes were prepared. Coffee, cappuccino, cocoa, tea was running out of the machine. The cheese was unfortunately already when we arrived shortly before doors closed, but there were rolls, toast, salmon, sausage, ham, jam, fruit juices (orange juice freshly pressed), hamphsire bottled water, nutella and in Holland popular Schokostreusel two kinds, peanut butter, fruit salad (although canned), it was all there. I didn't find yoghurt, well. The best is the big terrace where you can have breakfast could, if not the always the same the wasps.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were very friendly and spoke mostly German and English. Because we forgot to print our Vouture, was only problems, but the nice receptionist took us without the Vouture on and was ready to do so via an intermediary the expression of the supplier’s bill, which we had booked the room. Luckily!

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Swimming pool is fairly small and didn't seem so appealing to us. We didn't see sauna or similar, but then I didn't looking for intensively.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel is part of a's toilet stack called "Meerwold", which should be no incentive to believe it with loads has aqua park nearby. These things are just two two-story office-deadbolt, leave the left and right from the hotel. From the outside and the lobby the hotel building a bit after a bunker, but the should be put off anyone.

  • Location
    5.0

    First, there is free parking which is great for Groningen times, on the other hand, the hotel is outside the city center and so, the guests the bus nearby departing take bus number 6 to get to the central station or the "grottos market" to get there. which runs every 30 minutes which is sometimes every 20 minutes. In the city center is the lack of self-parking and the hotels take tidy charges. The bus costs 1 euro per person and direction and runs about until 12:00 at night.

Close
Rene
Top hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • July 2009
Very modern hotel with a unique architecture. There is ample and free parking available. In the immediate vicinity, the motorway doesn't noticeable. Check in was quick and easy. The staff is very friendly and multilingual. The rooms had functional furniture: a large double bed, desk, bedside tables and LCD television. The bathroom was sufficiently large. The cleanliness of the rooms and the bathrooms I could never complain about (is not always so yes in NL). Free internet in all rooms can be used. Breakfast costs €15 , what I too expensive steep(is the only thing I had to complain about). read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
Close
Lisa
Great for a trip archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • April 2009
Great hotel for a city break Groningen! We took the car and could right in front of the hotel for free parking. The check-in was easy and quick, and we stayed at the front desk just bikes for 8.50 Euro per day. The room was, although in the direction, quiet and in a modern, clean condition. As well as the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal: by bicycle is 15 minutes to city center (nice way along the canal) and dinner on the adjacent Paterswoldse sea we ate at a resturant (also about ... 15 minutes by bike in the other direction). So, to rent bikes. The hotel also has a swimming pool, which we didn't use it. At night we were still at the nice hotel bar. Great value for money (59, - Euro per room we found more than adequate)! Please note, the hotel is now the hotel Hampshire Plaza Groningen, not more Meerwold! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close