Bed & Breakfast The Balboa Inn(0 stars)

Las Cruces 2311a Balboa, Panama 0843 View on map

Average rating

14 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.0
  • Room
    5.1
  • Service
    5.5
  • Location
    4.2
  • Food and Drinks
    4.9
  • Sport & entertain
    0.0
Filters
You selected:
8 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Roland
Acceptable place in very green area
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Business trip
  • September 2014
Located in a very green, very tropical area the cosy B&B sees loros, the occasional humming bird and agutis at breakfast time. It sits in a residential area with many villas with gardens and neurotic dogs, some of them barking even for hours at night. Another noise stems from the very close, national airport that gets you smaller aircrafts approach right above the trees. You are fairly close to the Canal, but depend on transport (i.e. taxi whether you like it or not) for other parts of this car-dominated city. The room is functional, has a safe, TV, table ..., chair, aircon and fan. The bed is a weak point as it is overused and too soft by any standards. Staff is extremely friendly. The website offers real time info about availabiliy. If you book directly (as I planned to return, I did), be prepared to encounter a surprise with the price. What you paid, is not necessarily considered the basis of any new deal. Prices vary even within the same season. Breakfast is enough in quantity, but modest in quality. Fruits were not entirely fresh and the toasts (the only bread) had to be defrozen in the toaster. While you sit on the terrace for breakfast you can watch agutis, loros and other animals having their breakfast in the garden as they are also fed. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
Close
Steve
The best place to stay in Panama City
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • January 2013
Bill and Meike are great hosts who will help you however they can to make your stay in country as pleasant as possible. Rooms are clean, food is good, transport is available nearby. Highest recommendations. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Norbert
Nice Hotel in silent location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2011
as the end of a trip to San Blas we were two days at the Balboa inn-super nice and helpful staff. The owner took care himself much. The rooms are clean, with tv, DVD, air conditioning and fan. Breakfast is toast, fruit and eggs. There was also cereal. All in all a great hotel to relax and a good starting point for all activities thanks safe location. Norbert and Gabi read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Gera
Very nice and clean B&B and friendly staff archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • City break
  • August 2010
The Balboa Inn B&B is a little piece of tropical paradise in the outskirts of the city Panama. It is in a safe location in a nice quiet residential neighbourhood and it has a beautiful big garden where you can sit and watch lots of birds and these cute 'neques" (agouties, and not rats somebody thought). It is very special to see all these beautiful animals of Panama. The owner and the staff are very nice people, they were extremely helpful assisting us with our trips to everywhere in Panama. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Mia
super great, great service, gladly again anytime archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • January 2010
We are after a sailing vacation, a few days in Panama City and stayed at the Balboa inn. This property is a bed & breakfast Hotel family Atmosphere in a quiet location. The guests are individually from the German-speaking owner or the very good English-speaking manager Gina looked after. We received very good support unfortunately, when we organize our excursions. Gina has very good relations with professional Travel Guides. With early transfers is a staff Driver. In the hotel, we had a room in a new ones Cultivation. The room room was very large, with a double bed and an ... extra bed. The bathroom was also new and very modern, with European standards. Breakfast is served on the terrace in buffet style. You had the choice between assortment of cereals, bread and toast, jam, honey, fruit and eggs (fried or scrambled eggs). From the terrace you had a great view in the garden, of the new laid out and in the morning of many animals visited is. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Jörg
The best way to Panama holiday to start archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2009
24 hour service, nice Ambience, Reliable transfer from and to the airport, taxireference, Expert advice in all the things you to start in a perfect holiday needs! We need your Panama-stay start and stop! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Alejandra
Friendliness & helpfulness redefined archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • December 2008
The Balboa Inn operated by Saskia & Thorwald and their great staff is the jewel of Panama. The website is very informative. Making reservations was easy and the follow-up was prompt and helpful. We once asked about a possible trip and the next day an informative blog post was dedicated to it. Even before we left we were excited and arrived with high expectations. I must say that every expectation was met and exceeded. We planned to stay three nights. In the end we stayed five nights here. At the airport we were met by Israel, the Balboa Inn driver. ... He had the biggest sign out there with our name on it. Upon arrival Gina, an American from San Francisco greeted us and showed us to our rooms. After getting settled, she and Thorwald spend over 40 minutes to help us plan activities for the next few days. Each morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast with the friendly and attentive service of Yaris. When we asked about the availability of soya milk, it was there the next day. Our room was the perfect size for us. It was clean and the wireless Internet in the room worked well which was great as I needed to get connected at least once a day. Nelson, the night porter from the Embera indigenous tribe was so friendly and informative about his people’s customs and history, it made our trip to the Embera Village with Anne Gordon’s Embara Village tours even more rewarding. Everybody was exceedingly efficient and kind. We felt like the whole Balboa Inn team worked to make us feel welcome. On our last day we "hung out" at the property all morning. We had a great conversation with Thorwald who has lived 18 years in my native Costa Rica and then just enjoyed the peacefulness of the surroundings. You simply can’t go wrong staying at the Balboa Inn and we are so happy we did. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Walter
Superb archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • December 2008
After arriving in Panama City on a 3-hour delayed evening flight, The Balboa Inn was an excellent start to our 10 day stay in Panama and thankfully, the Balboa Inn-arranged airport pickup didn't fall through. The location, accommodations, breakfast and service were all superb. All the staff was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and hassle free. Gina's help to change travel arrangements made all the difference and I wish other inkeepers would take lessons from her on how to treat visitors. The area around the Balboa Inn is very residential and ... quiet yet within minutes of every major attraction. I travel frequently to Latin America, alone or with family members and this was one of the very best experiences we have had while traveling for well under £ 70 a night. I highly recommend the Balboa Inn to anyone I know traveling to Panama! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close