Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso(5 stars)

Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309 77710 Playa del Carmen View on map

Average rating

186 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.9
  • Room
    5.9
  • Service
    5.9
  • Location
    5.8
  • Food and Drinks
    5.8
  • Sport & entertain
    5.8
Filters
You selected:
97 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Andrew
Excellent
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Entertainment and staff were exceptional read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our butler cesar was amazing and room was maintaned well

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was extremely acomodating . Olivia and cesar were great

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The staff made our stay so much fun. Our time was well spent with activities and great people. Especially ximena she was so much fun and kept us involved in everything. She is a great at making us feel welcome

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Entertainment and staff were exceptional

  • Location
    6.0

    Was easy to get around. Spa was amazing

Close
Jacques
Time of my life
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • July 2014
Good rooms, good food, good people, hard working staff, all made for a great time. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    As nice as we have found anywhere. Staff very good.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We loved all of the restaurants.,

  • Service
    6.0

    Extremely attentive. Everything wonderful

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We enjoyed the exercise classes, the games, but mostly the staff.Ximena Sanchez was extremely friendly and fun every time we saw her!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Good rooms, good food, good people, hard working staff, all made for a great time.

  • Location
    6.0

    We love waking up to the ocean waves.

Close
Amanda
5 star resort
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Great staff, 5 star resort and attention to detail is perfect! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The beds are so comfy! Great view at the ocean front room!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Surf and turf was my fave! At the french order the fried cheese!! Yum!!

  • Service
    6.0

    Amazing attention to details!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Evelyn is the best!!!! Best entertainment staff member! She needs a raise!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Great staff, 5 star resort and attention to detail is perfect!

  • Location
    6.0

    Beautiful! Ocean front room is worth the money!

Close
Julia
Best vacation ever
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
The hotel is gorgeous and modern read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Luxurious room modern amenities and theres even a swing on the balcony

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Excellent food, varied. Lots of seafood which is not always available on other hotels

  • Service
    6.0

    All the staff were very helpful on every resquest we had, and always ready to please

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team is fantastic and so friendly. Especially Ximena who was so nice, always smiling, always ready to answer questions, in different langusges, to help us, to show us around and most importantly to entertain us!! She has become a beautiful friend. Andres was very nice as well, always trying to speak to us and include us in the resort activites. Very friendly¡

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is gorgeous and modern

  • Location
    6.0

    Beautiful location, close to the airport

Close
Melinda
Best All Inclusive vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
The hotel had 24 hour room service, incredible staff which included: butler, concierge, restaurant captains, spa, gym, pool staff, entertainers and more. There was nightly entertainment, lots of choices of where to eat, 3 different pools and turn down service. The property is well maintained. Staff is very detail oriented and caters to your individual needs. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Spacious, air conditioned, clean, beds were very comfortable. There was a pillow menu, marble floors, television and great balconies.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    5 restaurants. So many choices on the buffet. Unlimited deserts, drinks and so tasty. The scenery is beautiful, relaxing and makes you feel that your money is well spent.

  • Service
    6.0

    Extremely friendly! Everyone so helpful. We especially enjoyed our butler, Joanna at the pool, Luis from Toni's, Jose from the Spa and Nayelli in the Spa.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Evelyn, Jorge and Javier from the entertainment dept made our trip special. They were engaged, had lots of daily activities and always giving a smile.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel had 24 hour room service, incredible staff which included: butler, concierge, restaurant captains, spa, gym, pool staff, entertainers and more. There was nightly entertainment, lots of choices of where to eat, 3 different pools and turn down service. The property is well maintained. Staff is very detail oriented and caters to your individual needs.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beach front property, easy access to shopping, helpful travel agents on site.

Close
Mike
Exceeded our expectations...again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Everything was perfect as it was on our previous visit eight months ago. Facilities very clean staff extremely engaging and helpful. Star friends always there to welcome and knew names of people in our party. Especially Jorge, evelyn and Andres. Highly recommended. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Joelle
Paradise!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
It's our forth time here and it is always exceeding our expectations read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The bed is comfy and the room always cleaned to perfection

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food is excellent. The Italian restaurant is our favorite. We always get a great service from Armando and Alfredo at the buffet!

  • Service
    6.0

    We always get the best service. All the staff is always so friendly and doing their best to make our vacations the best!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Eduardo and Ximena made our trip so much fun! Humberto at the pool bar is the best!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    It's our forth time here and it is always exceeding our expectations

  • Location
    6.0

    We love the fact that it is close to playa del carmen, but you can find all you need in the Iberostar complex.

Close
Justin
Grand Paraiso is the best resort!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The hotel staff is beyond friendly and will do whatever you need them to. The hotel is kept very clean. The pool area is nice and the beach is one of the best I have been on. Also, the Star Friends team is awesome and keeps everyone entertained. Best vacation hands down! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Michael
Great time in Paraiso
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
We came here for our anniversary. We really enjoyed the location and the resort. The facilities, activities, and amenities were all fantastic. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room and room service were great. We stayed in the basic room, but it was still phenomenal.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food and drinks were great. They did not skimp out on anything.

  • Service
    6.0

    Everything we needed was promptly attended to. Everyone greeted us and made sure every need was met.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We spent most of our time at the pool. Cabanas and daybeds were in great supply. The bar service was also excellent. We also liked the Star Friends activities throughout the day to keep us entertained, especially Ximena.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We came here for our anniversary. We really enjoyed the location and the resort. The facilities, activities, and amenities were all fantastic.

  • Location
    6.0

    The beach and properties were great. The location was the best.

Close
Martyna
Best honeymoon
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • June 2014
Grand was very clean and the staff was amazing. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very very clean, big and with a nice view.

  • Gastronomy
    0

    Food and restaurants were sooooo good.

  • Service
    6.0

    We received perfect service. Evelyn was AMAZING. Always smiling and friendly. She remembered our names right away and made us feel welcome. Jorge was also great. They never stopped smiling. Evelyn deserves all the best.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Again, evelyn made all the games by the pool fun.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Grand was very clean and the staff was amazing.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel was located near the beach and shopping centers. Fabulous.

Close
Cara
Amazing honeymoon experience!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
This was an absolutely amazing vacation. The staff was amazing and receptive to everything. We never had to wait for a chair or table or anything at all. We spent our honeymoon by the pool and we had a blast! The entertainment staff here was amazing with a variety of activities. I normally don't like to participate in games but they made me feel so comfortable that I went out of my shell and did a ton of things. They made it a point to know everyone's name and really make you feel special. I would go back here again ... and recommend it solely based on the entertainment team. Don't miss out on their activities and night shows. We will definitely be back! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Barbara
Fab holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The staff could not do enough for us. Israel ( Head waiter) and Alfredo in the restaurant were fab. Star friends brilliant- especially Ximena read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Excellent room- kept very clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Ate at all of the special restaurants. Food was very very good. No complaints.

  • Service
    6.0

    Staff very friendly. Understanding of English excellent.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Excellent. Star friends especially Ximena were fantastic. The shows at night in the theatre were really good.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The staff could not do enough for us. Israel ( Head waiter) and Alfredo in the restaurant were fab. Star friends brilliant- especially Ximena

  • Location
    6.0

    Fantastic location We were right on the beach which was superb. Kept clean. The sea was very warm

Close
Jackie
Excellent, friendly and amazing service
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The hotel is of superb surrondings, the atmosphere is very friendly and relaxing.the staff are very helpful and nothing is a problem. The food is great, fresh and varied in the buffet restuarant and of excellent quality in the speciality ones. Cleanliness is of a very high standard. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room was superb in size and comfort

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There r 6 restuarants, the quality and variety of the food is excellant.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff are very friendly and always ready to chat . From the cleaning staff to management there is always an acknowledgement. The rooms are cleaned every day and is of a very high standard.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment team are all very friendly and professional at their jobs, especially Ximena and Eduardo. They all work very hard at entertaining the guests and making our stay very memorable.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is of superb surrondings, the atmosphere is very friendly and relaxing.the staff are very helpful and nothing is a problem. The food is great, fresh and varied in the buffet restuarant and of excellent quality in the speciality ones. Cleanliness is of a very high standard.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is directly in front of its own stretch of beach, which is very clean and the water is beautiful. The hotel has a small shopping centre not far from it with a small variety of shops.

Close
Tom
Cancun adventure
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Loved the style and the layout of the hotel read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Good size, clean, and loved the balcony

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Loved each restaurant. Toni's was our favorite.

  • Service
    6.0

    Personalized service beyond our expectations.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Lots of fun, different activity each day. Evelyn was energetic and got me i to archery and shooting plus some pool games.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Loved the style and the layout of the hotel

  • Location
    6.0

    The grounds were great and the pool large amNd exciting.

Close
Eddie
Super
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The hotel was unbelievable! We were so impressed! We had our our anniversary while we were here and they brought us champage and roses read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Awesome! Clean and beautiful!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food and beverages were too wonderful to mention!

  • Service
    6.0

    We were so impressed with the friendliness of the staff! We did not have one complaint! We met a very personable lady who made us feel so at home. She was also that way with all guests. Her name was Ximena and she made everyone want to participate in all the activities!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    This was the best part! Everyone kept telling us that the pool activities were the best and we agree! The guy named Edwardo kept everyone entertained! With his jokes and personal touches! Then there was a person who kept everyone involved and interested in joining in, her name was Ximena. I had heard of her her from some of the people we met on the beach, she made being at the Grand fun and everyone felt like joining in on the activities because of her! We would not of had such a great time if it were not for her.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was unbelievable! We were so impressed! We had our our anniversary while we were here and they brought us champage and roses

  • Location
    6.0

    We enjoyed the location of our room because it was central to everything. We loved all the amenities and the golf carts were readily avaiable to take us where ever we need to go on the properties.

Close
Thomas
A great family vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
First time at an Iberostar resort and we will come back. The resort was top notch and the staff made you feel at home. We will come back, we are already planning our next trip. Has our full recommendation. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    More than enough room, and we loved the balcony and swing.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We were not disappointed at any restaurant. Our favorite was Toni's Surf and Turf.

  • Service
    6.0

    Cannot say enough about the service. Always there to make this the best experience possible.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The games were great, the pool was perfect. We had great support here from Ximena and Evelyn, who just made it feel like family.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    First time at an Iberostar resort and we will come back. The resort was top notch and the staff made you feel at home. We will come back, we are already planning our next trip. Has our full recommendation.

  • Location
    6.0

    Easy to get to from airport and the lush tropic feel makes it seem quite remote.

Close
Ann
Excellent
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Hotel was very clean and the service outstanding. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was fantastic...maid service outstanding...never had to wait for room clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food was excellent at all restaurants...especially liked the Mexican buffet.

  • Service
    6.0

    O'the service staff very helpful...pleasant with good attitudes.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Entertainment excellent...all staff so helpful...especially Ximena...we loved her.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Hotel was very clean and the service outstanding.

  • Location
    6.0

    We had ocean front room...everything was close and convenient.

Close
Marie
Fantastic hotel and very helpful staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
Superb surroundings with excellent facilities. Made to feel most welcome by very friendly staff. Everyone on complex from gardeners to management pleased to help you. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Large bright well furnished and kept very clean by maids and room service.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Excellent food beautifully prepared and expertly served.

  • Service
    6.0

    First class nothing too much trouble from all staff.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Truly excellent with all star friends very friendly and helpful especially Ximena who help to make this a very special holiday and time explaining the complex and facilities on offer. She was very kind and most helpful.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Superb surroundings with excellent facilities. Made to feel most welcome by very friendly staff. Everyone on complex from gardeners to management pleased to help you.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beautiful grounds and luxury furnishings throughout.

Close
Donna
Excellent Hotel!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
The hotel is very beautiful.The employees are hard working,very caring,and exceptionally friendly. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very nice.the bathroom floor could be dangerous coming out of the shower a mat would be helpful.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    The food is adequate.i feel there should be more variety.Each themed restaurant serves similar dishes. The vegetable variety is limited The food was not hot enough in the Italian and seafood restaurants.The buffet buffet is adequate,however the lettuce is not cold and the leaves not easy to eat,the lettuce would be better if smaller.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service is wonderful. Everyone goes the extra mile to see that you have everything you need.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Ximenia is great,extremely friendly and a joy to be with .She is always trying to involve every one in some activity.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is very beautiful.The employees are hard working,very caring,and exceptionally friendly.

  • Location
    6.0

    The facility is fabulous.the beach is one of the finest in Mexico.

Close
Kristen
Amazing fun combined with superior service
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
Loved the pool area, the staff are friendly and spot on. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Housecleaning was REALLY great.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Very yummy food. Fantastic selection. Wonderful presentation.

  • Service
    6.0

    Ximena was a rock star!! She made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were beautiful.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Lots of games, fun activities, great variety. Ximena was a great bike tour guide. She brought the party and gave us lots of info about the resort.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Loved the pool area, the staff are friendly and spot on.

  • Location
    6.0

    Perfect location. Short bus ride from the airport

Close
1 3 4 5