ClubHotel Riu Karamboa(4 stars)

Lote HO-1, Urb. Morrinho De Baguincho, Praia de Salines View on map

Average rating

1,000 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.3
  • Room
    5.2
  • Service
    5.4
  • Location
    4.7
  • Food and Drinks
    5.2
  • Sport & entertain
    5.1
Filters
You selected:
479 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date
Frank
Great Hotel at very nice beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
The Hotel Riu Karamboa is a very big hotel complex with a lot of rooms and at a great very nice sandy beach. The Hotel has a very good standard and good facilities. Everything is very clean. Everybody who book the hotel has all inclusive. Only if you book at the hotel direct, maybe is possible to book only hb or breakfast. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Nice rooms, with safe for free and good beds. Nice view from balkon to the sea.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    They have one very big restaurant, it is very noisy inside, but you can go out and there are some tabels with garden view, very nice and more silent.

  • Service
    6.0

    Very good and friendly service. The staff works good and is always very friendly. Rooms are in good condtion and clean.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The offer a lot of sport and acitivities at the beach and pool at day. In the night they have a disco for free.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The Hotel Riu Karamboa is a very big hotel complex with a lot of rooms and at a great very nice sandy beach. The Hotel has a very good standard and good facilities. Everything is very clean. Everybody who book the hotel has all inclusive. Only if you book at the hotel direct, maybe is possible to book only hb or breakfast.

  • Location
    6.0

    The Hotel has a very nice sandy beach in front of the hotel. There are many sunbeds at the beach for free with nice sunumbrellas. The beach is good to go swiming, the weaves are not to big in this area.

Close
Myriam
Excellent for a beach holiday but nothing more
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Although this is a huge resort (750 rooms) we never felt as if we were in a huge resort. The hotel grounds are very spacious, with large swimming pools and a beautiful beach. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pools and on the beach. I emailed the hotel directly to ask for a quiet room with seaview and although they replied that they couldn't guarantee it because of the high occupancy, they gave us a big family room for just the two of us (no. 2028) with frontal seaview. Perfect! The rooms have an open bathroom which might be ... an issue for people sharing a room who are not a couple. There is a shower curtain, though, and the toilet has a door. The grounds, the rooms, the public areas everything was very clean. The staff were wonderful, always friendly and smiling. The food was good and plentyful, be it without much fantasy. Always buffet style, also in the themed restaurants. The food wasn't always very warm and the buffets lacked fantasy. I missed the pretty arrangements of the buffets in Carribean or Egyptian resorts. If you want to eat at the themed restaurants you will have to get up early to make reservations. Reservations start at 8 o'clock in the morning (but we saw people queuing at 7:30 already) and can only be made 3 days in advance. They are very quickly sold out! We have tried all three themed restaurants. They were not very different from the main restaurant (except the Asian). I would not bother to stand in line again. My husband celebrated his 60th birthday during our stay. Our table in the African restaurant was beautifully decorated with hibiscus from the garden and a bottle of sparkling wine was waiting in a wine cooler. Although I would not rate this resort 5* (which they officially are), it is well worth the money. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Jörg
Great relaxation and dream waves!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Great hotel, absolutely recommended for the sun-hungry and beach lovers! ok, as already mentioned several times, there is not much around but i found it just right for relaxing! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Monika
There are better alternatives ;-(
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The hotel is very nice from the outside, inside-catacombs-long corridor, left and right rooms-loud at 3 am by the corridors echo loud kindergeschreie, sheets during the 2 weeks only 1 time changed-( towels every day. Excursion possibilities, bad we booked 2 tours south and north, took 4 h and well north could be interesting are, if we in the small villages stop could. Are only past swoshed-(. Friendliness and helpfulness na ja. No personalleuten had good mood, eh, because, holla, - mürrisch does said-smile you could only with money lady.-(. No evening entertainment, bad gefuhrte theatre and ... choreography, no german tv programm. Only snow. No leisure facilities. No shopping possibilities. In the hotel the prices completely overpriced! -for example shower gel of dm costs normal 0.89 cent cost in hotel from 8.00 until 15.00 Euro! Flip-flops -25.00 Euro! Freundschaftsbändschen from 8:00 Euro. Food ok, little seasoned - whole week after garlic and Cayenne pepper or chili requires. Otherwise. There was nothing, at urlaubende the chef with a dry in quite, chilischote, you will not served - even wine or beer get-( no cutlery in the breakfast at the table -. Everything yourself. In the restaurant a volume as in bahnhofhalle-noisy! In the food no entertainment nothing. A shame. 2 issues restaurant, but also as for example thai food-no spices!-(. In karaoke bar stereo broken, sing anyway akapela. Complaints: you always said - morning, morning. Nothing happened. So, for me bottom line, - once and never again.-( perhaps found it other vacationers funny and nice. I do not. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    2.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    1.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    1.0
Close
Sebastian
Dream vacation in a top hotel: unconditional recommendation.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
One thing: on arrival, first time in the room, first time at the beach, look back at the hotel, first time at the restaurant, and actually several times every day with the view of the hotel/food/drink/pool bar/beach, you'll simply think: WOW. Just a dream, this resort. One more thing: we can 100% - really 100% - recommend this hotel for young or old couples, families with teenagers, children, even singles. The hotel offers something for everyone, you can do something different every day for two weeks; different restaurants, different meals, different cocktails, different walks, different trips, different sport activities in ... the hotel, different 'entertainment', pool, beach - pure variety! I don't want to write so much about the 'hard facts', as basically everything has been said: Note: I constantly compare it to a similar vacation we took last year - 2 weeks at the Catalunya Gran Dominicus in the Dominican Republic. Also awesome, but I didn't know the Riu Karamboa at that time. • room: we were lucky and were upgraded to a sea view - wonderful, almost every day there was a gorgeous sunset from the balcony, or of course the beach. Very large room, large bath, huge shower, and everything was perfectly clean and not at all 'old' or worn. New flat-screen tv. Huge double bed, super cleaning service. (Please give a tip, our cleaning lady was delighted, wished us a good trip at the end etc., super friendly and warm, very different from the staff in the Dominican Republic) • restaurants: everything the heart could desire: always fresh, a lot is cooked/grilled/etc live, and despite that nothing is cold and everything is always there - mad, a logistical feat in the main restaurant. We found this almost always the best, you always got a reservation for the specialty restaurants for the coming evenings, but we only did that three times - only worth it for the variety, as we found that the food was better in the main restaurant. Drinks are also great, very enjoyable wine, the beer is good. Soft drinks anyway. • beach: awesome. Just unbelievable, just sandy beach right and left as far as the eye can see - super for a walk! We had also booked the Karamboa because there should be fewer waves there. Well, that worked out well, because at the Tuareg you can probably never really swim, at least in December? For us it was OK, yellow flags twice, but you could otherwise swim a bit, if you were very careful. if it is really dangerous, people are whistled out of the water anyway. Beach chairs were always plentifully available, limited at the wind net, but still ok (see 'weather') • Weather: Well - this surprised me somewhat. It was often sunny, but not as 'scorching' as in the Caribbean, and probably because of the wind. It's really fast, and if the sun doesn't come out, it also gets 'fresh' in the sense that a T-shirt makes sense. That is why places at the wind nets on the beach sometimes make sense - then you get the full package from above.) Generally, we had a bit of bad luck, perhaps. 2 days 'bruma seca', sand in the air, rather hazy and 2-3 kilometers' sight, no proper sun. It also rained for a whole day! The people wouldn't have believed it in the December. well, you were given free cards, poker games and so on there, and could pass the time well near the bar. • Swimming pool: I don't find it that important, because I can't understand why someone would fly 8 hours flying to the sea, then sit by a pool where the loungers are centimeters apart from each other. But okay. went in the pool a couple of times, huge, nice to swim, and of course the pool bar is a special highlight. Swim-up, which means you can sit in the water at a table and enjoy a cocktail - that's really something, it's awesome. Unfortunately due to wind and cold water it was often rather uncomfortable - shame! • entertainment: funny entertainers, but they're not pushy - perfect! Boccia was always on in the morning.) • Show: well. Always alternated between a show with playback (e.g. a musical) or live singing. Due to the poor sound system you often didn't know what to think was worse. Some of it was alright, for example the vocals at the karaoke night at the beginning were actually better than the pros a few days before. Live singing was mostly good and entertaining, personally I think the shows with playback were weak. • disco and karaoke bar: as they only open around 11/11:30, we never succeeded - after all the fresh air, swimming, excursions, a meal and a few cocktails etc we were so tired that it was too late for us. The karaoke bar is supposed to be very good, there are probably other cocktails there. • Cocktails: specifically mentioned again: they are very, very good. If you have a chat with the bar-ladies, sometimes they'll also happily make you their 'specialities' - really recommended. Also incredibly warm and friendly there, like all the service. There are all the alcohol you could wish for, of course no 'brands', but all tasty and well presented - they don't hold back here! Tastes super! Generally you just get the feeling that they don't hold back - drinks, cocktails, food, cleaning. You felt comfortable and well cared for, very nice staff, all around a great holiday! Will book Riu more often in the future, if the price is sensible. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Alois
If you in the warmth you were right here!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Compared to the opening about 4-5 years is everything green clearly grown. The grounds are very clean, however, show the first damage the billigbauweise, or unqualified statement some trades, such as the tiling. Some details in the rooms could be renovated soon. The tv was a total failure. Hardly a program went. Supposedly satellite dish broken. Who knows how long. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Fits! 5 stars are not. But also here! You would expect it was so! We had a great quiet location in the seitenflügel and above us was nothing more. Peace! Tv: unfortunately most no front desk, only the ZDF by the hour.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Whoever complained here, the at home only bread. Great kitchen. However complain many people on the drinks from the machines, the tasted of salt! The bars you should with high pressure wipers edit. It smelled partly solid, especially in the hotel lobby. It is also tons of spilled or overcrowded.

  • Service
    5.0

    Clearly better than they were! Absolutely not pushy. Nonetheless a glasreinigervertreter and a bodenwischervertreter rich. Both are hardly or is not known. Still, don't complain! Kudos.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Pool in need of refurbishment. High risk of injury by missing mosaic tiles. Really bad! Otherwise nothing to complain about. Shows: And again the murmeltier greets, probably at the shows for years! Sea: Again seven days red flag, but nobody can do anything about it.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    Compared to the opening about 4-5 years is everything green clearly grown. The grounds are very clean, however, show the first damage the billigbauweise, or unqualified statement some trades, such as the tiling. Some details in the rooms could be renovated soon. The tv was a total failure. Hardly a program went. Supposedly satellite dish broken. Who knows how long.

  • Location
    6.0

    Who knows what he is concede... The could not complain about. Similarly the film 'groundhog day' finds to each day after the same model instead.

Close
Flo
Super hotel! Recommendation: tour via cabokaitours. com.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Beautiful hotel, which really offered something to all conceivable amenities. Hiking trails are all other than far, no matter where the room was (the people exaggerate my opinion). Moreover, the wonderful sand beach directly before the door, including pool (and poolside bar with cool drinks) directly outside. Animation is not pushy. Definitely book the theme restaurants, especially the cape verdianische! There were tours with the world wide web. Cabokaitours. com very recommendable (small groups, you will see the real Boa Vista, great atmosphere, fair prices)! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Johanna
Great beach and decent hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Large hotel with more than 750 rooms. Very nice rooms with small usage, but very clean. All inclusive. Riu typically, similar to the Canary Islands. Everything was sufficiently available, but not very personal. Beautiful mixed ages and länderstruktur. Many english, scandinavians, dutch, luxembourg, etc. Germans do. N 10-20% of the guests. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Sufficiently large rooms, well furnished. Tv with 3 german programs, partly with disturbances. Balcony with table and 2 chairs. Air conditioning, fridge available. Very clean, but with smaller usage. Open bathroom, shower and separate toilet. Wardrobe with curtain. Free safe. Wi-fi only in lobby and relatively expensive.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    A main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants. Riu standard. Of the speciality restaurants best of asian food good. The others were ok. Differed but little from the main restaurant. ( cape verde and african). Food was otherwise ok. But little individually. In the main restaurant was rather loud and hectic. But you could well outside food, which we both for breakfast like dinner use. At the pool there is also another restaurant. Tips are in the restaurants are not necessarily expected, one is pleased, of course. Quality is adequate, quantity is more than adequate. To hygiene will constantly tried. There are no problems with salad, etc. , as these with drinking water washed. Everything must be imported, in this respect, some certainly not so easy.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff is friendly and reserved. Very pleasant. German we little spoken, but you can communicate in english. The room cleaning was very good. Further we did not use additional services. The entertainment was friendly and spread a good mood. The evening performances are already better than in most hotels.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Decent pool area. The fliesenproblem was already described several times. It didn't bother us. Entertainment program is available, we didn't use it. Many beach chairs and umbrellas, but sometimes takes hold. Until 9:00 a. m. the reserving sunbeds but cleared, so then all similar opportunities. Between 9 and 10 hours are enough beach chairs available. Many pool chairs on the beach. Disco etc. Available, but we didn't use it. Evening entertainment on a decent standard. Decent wellness and sports centre.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Large hotel with more than 750 rooms. Very nice rooms with small usage, but very clean. All inclusive. Riu typically, similar to the Canary Islands. Everything was sufficiently available, but not very personal. Beautiful mixed ages and länderstruktur. Many english, scandinavians, dutch, luxembourg, etc. Germans do. N 10-20% of the guests.

  • Location
    5.0

    Very close to the airport (3 minutes) without aircraft noise. The next town sal rei is by taxi ( 10 Euro) per vehicle easy to reach. Taxis are in front of the hotel. Sal rei, but relatively little of shopping and other options. Hotel is right on the beach. There surfing and diving school. On the beach you need depending on how fast you are about 45-60 minutes to sal rei. Shortly before, there are some nice beach bars. Otherwise no further shopping etc. Outside of the hotel. In the hotel there were small 4-5 small stores with high prices (jewellery, beachwear, bags, cosmetics) Excursions over the tour operator or private providers good to book. We have Germany from Baobab booked and were extremely satisfied.

Close
Tonia
Boa Vista brilliant. RIU Karamboa no thanks.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Architecturally the hotel is beautiful. The garden area was fantastic, as well as the hotel lobby/bar. The sea and the beach were great. The area was well maintained, and the rooms are reasonably clean. Aaberrr... You read more... read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a room type 3 this is a small suite with separate living area. We judge this room as well, the balcony satisfactory large and the cleanliness scarcely enough. The mattresses were very hard. We enjoyed very, own pillows took. As some cover is only a slightly nasty blanket available.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    First to the restaurants or you should only restaurant say? There is actually only one and the main restaurant which but from all the guests of the complex use. In the other restaurants we saw hardly ever anyone. The central location is good, but it leads to a partly unpleasant concentration to the rush hours. Breakfast: The breakfast was good. It is a very wide selection of food, but you have to the good of the less good things distinguish learning. It is no longer so much desired. But we were always full. Lunch: Lunch is usually at the pool serves. It is a buffet, but rather snacks, as real food offers. These were mostly cold. Dinner: At the dinner, there were actually in one form or another, always the same. This is again in the main restaurant. Every meal but you had to fight for! Due to the many guests and not established infrastructure it came regularly to situations such as the sommerschlussverkauf! Loud, busy and crowded. The food was generally good, but not more than middle class. We suffered no stomach - Gottlob xd. The premises and the buffet were always clean.

  • Service
    4.0

    The friendliness of the staff was good. It works hard all day for the guests. The cleanliness of the room we found rather poor, because some dust balls our check-in and departure experienced together. The public toilets were very clean. The broken room door lock was immediately and very competently repaired. The air conditioning worked very well and undisturbed. In the tv there was for d RTL and satellite. 1 and ZDF, what we also very happy. Internet works only in the lobby. And internet shop has almost never open. Certainly not to the listed times. 30 minutes to get turned out to be multi-day proposition. Cost Euro 5

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    The entertainment we didn't sample. This was however in various speech offered. We come to the absolutely black bigsplash of the holiday: pool. • the water was dirty, bubbled partially and had streaks on. The depth was maximum 125 centimeter Beach chairs were so many available - and all without exception all occupied. It was like a sardinendose. Fleischschau relaxation, some topless ladies. Of peace and no-stress no trace. It was very noisy and loud. Natural shade there is hardly any. Much too few umbrellas. Who blazing sun like in a fleischberg is here correct. As super gau our beach chairs of guests from, aufeinandergestappelt, the towels way. We found these conditions an absolute impertinence. The pool bar is so überbenutzt, that a bustle, which to nightmares reminds.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    Architecturally the hotel is beautiful. The garden area was fantastic, as well as the hotel lobby/bar. The sea and the beach were great. The area was well maintained, and the rooms are reasonably clean. Aaberrr... You read more...

  • Location
    6.0

    From the airport, it is reputedly only a stone's throw away. We found that very pleasant. Aircraft noise, there was no. The area bordered directly on the beautiful beach overlooking the atlantic ocean. Adjacent mall (or shops) is not. Attached to the hotel only desert. Some small shops in the hotel, which however Euro ask for trinkets, borders on an insolence. Theoretically, all the conditions for peace and peace. Aabeerrr you read more...

Close
Veronika
Completely satisfied with the holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The RIU Karamboa with 750 rooms actually a huge hotel, but the arrangement is very nice and generously arranged. The 'long' paths are actually only positive, because the 'all-inclusive'. Food you should occasionally really make a difference. The whole area is very clean and well maintained. The verpflegungsauswahl was more than adequate and also with the drinks was not screwed. The guest mixture was in november from infant to retirement age. There were english, scandinavians, italian, dutch, belgian, portuguese - at the end of we heard also still french. German and swiss we could rather less mind. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Large, comfortable room in the african style with an open bathroom, the toilet and instead of a closet door was a schnurvorhang the clothes rails. We found not bad at all, because closets musty like sometime. Air conditioning we rarely set, sometimes ran the fan. We had a room in 2. floor with frontal beach sea and large balcony. In the fridge was water; supplies could one at the reception get. Say was good.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Large dining room as main restaurant with appropriate background noise (children shrieking; strollers...). The choise of dishes was very good; cleanliness & hygiene were (as far as criticize) complied with. Pool restaurant somewhat less selection, often similar dishes - but one must not permanently fill your tummy-beat. Unfortunately, there was also guests in swimwear and barefoot aufkreuzten and the staff's attention had to be made, although the entrance stated and actually this should be self-evident. The three theme restaurants (asian, cape verde and african) we have ever twice booked (bookable at reception each 3 days in advance). We were inspired and had to for the reservations also never had to wait in line, if you the correct time selects. At the bars was despite großaufmarsch at certain times speedily served. Tips were gladly accepted and we have directly delivered (for example, the maid, when we are 'caught' have ; 2-5 Euro). But the service was also without tips very courteous.

  • Service
    6.0

    We had in two weeks not a single staff, the would have been rude. Always with a smile, desires and requests dealt with. Even the room maids a smattering of english, but also with our portuguese-knowledge content. Reception/restaurant you could itself problem-free on english, sometimes even in german. Room cleaning was very good, everything was always immaculate. We once needed a doctor and were within 10 minutes to the hotel's practice. The service was really excellent and we had the impression, that all teams motivated your work and among themselves good tone. Great!

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Beautiful pool area; unfortunately partially a bit strong besonnt. Mentioned already the couches and the lack of mosaic tiles had already been broken off in the pool. When the sun loungers is really an improvement area, they are not the yellow of the egg (partly extremely worn). And the from shattered stones? How can replace not the whole pool to empty? Perhaps there is a season where you can do - otherwise it is evenly sunday Showers, toilets were ok and were kept clean. Also the beach was well stocked with wind protection and beach chairs. The entertainment was good, not too pushy but available for the, the wanted it. We stayed in the 2. week experienced, that before 9 hours occupied are actually to be cleared. Since then stood at badetuchausgabe two couches hochbeladen with private things, bathrobes etc. We think, that the really solid is, if the hotel is very well occupied. We had always place found, but the shady spots were rather rare.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The RIU Karamboa with 750 rooms actually a huge hotel, but the arrangement is very nice and generously arranged. The 'long' paths are actually only positive, because the 'all-inclusive'. Food you should occasionally really make a difference. The whole area is very clean and well maintained. The verpflegungsauswahl was more than adequate and also with the drinks was not screwed. The guest mixture was in november from infant to retirement age. There were english, scandinavians, italian, dutch, belgian, portuguese - at the end of we heard also still french. German and swiss we could rather less mind.

  • Location
    6.0

    Top location directly at the ocean, even if you from the room from a few meters to walk. Airport about 10 minutes away. No aircraft noise, since daily only a few flights. With the taxi one was in about 15 minutes in sal rei (10 Euro a way); along the beach takes about 1-1.5 hour. The hotel is like a riesenschloss in a large sandpit. Overall so there is nothing and there is one with universe inclusive really well served. On the way you are either with taxi, Jeep or rental car. This is quite good, if you the condition of the roads into account.

Close
Jörg
What a hotel and day trips with cabokaitours!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Large, well maintained grounds. This week a north and south tour with cabokaitours booked. We can only recommend it. Kai best on Boa Vista and it has huge fun, with her to explore the island. One is the hotelanlager picked up and dropped off. We would definitely stay with you again. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Stefan
The 5 time no stress.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Since we this year to 2 time in our holiday in this hotel spent, i agree on the size of the hotel and the all inclusive services not more. You can under ' again no stress' in may 2013 email confirmations. The cleanliness in all areas was held. The guest structure consisted like the november 2012 from often impossible behaving scandinavian the pool of polluted. This was already in other speeches mentioned. Other guests were from Italy, great britain,Germany France and the benelux countries, not negative noticeable. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a double room type 3, formerly suite. Unfortunately our wunschzimmer the first time did not receive, as the hotel due to the high season the northern kompl. Was fully booked and for the family room is identified. The room consists of a bedroom and separate living room with ausklappbarer couch with bathroom and separate toilet. The cleanliness in the rooms was always very good.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Since the middle of the year, there is a new chef, the hard is the standard. The versatility and quality of the food is also good and sufficient. Here again many greetings to Alberto in the Spain centraly. Supposedly cold food as described in other reviews we couldn't understand, as the food at the show cooking always freshly prepared and eíner electrical warmer is possible. Us much is nothing negative on. The cleanliness in the dining room and the excursion options are excellent. As always were allowed to use the kapverdianische theme restaurant not to be missed. This is a must if you visit to cape verde to eat would like. The procedure on the notification was unfortunately for regular customers, Riu class customers not changed. Here verschätft the situation rapidly, since norwegians and Sweden in the evening before at the reception and the application for the 3 days in advance to be transacted must be 20 Euro tip so that you have for the next date of filing of the list. This is impossible and as must immediately happen.

  • Service
    6.0

    The friendliness of the staff is also exemplary. No matter where we also appeared we were welcomed with open arms. The foreign language skills are noticeably better. Meanwhile, some a few words in german. Many are sprachl. Talented and hope to learn german. Many thanks also to Daniel the new stellvertr. Director who spoke german very well and for all the problems, if there are any an open ear. Mach further sunday Also at the stellvetr. Restaurant manager Miguel and his team. Kudos which in the peak times to go to and still have a smile and time for a small talk have.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We stayed at the activities participated, only in the evening some shows the we all know. The most beautiful were the Afrika show, brasil. Show and kapverdianischen dances from the individual islands. On the beach was with the start in may after all the beach chairs were changed and now new individual plots with windbreaks furnished. This was a long-awaited desire of the guests. Thank you to the management.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Since we this year to 2 time in our holiday in this hotel spent, i agree on the size of the hotel and the all inclusive services not more. You can under ' again no stress' in may 2013 email confirmations. The cleanliness in all areas was held. The guest structure consisted like the november 2012 from often impossible behaving scandinavian the pool of polluted. This was already in other speeches mentioned. Other guests were from Italy, great britain,Germany France and the benelux countries, not negative noticeable.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location is as already mentioned fantastic. The water quality is immaculate. This year in november the waves were not so high, and there was one day even the green flag .

Close
Nicole
A wonderful holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
It was a perfect holiday all round. The beach is just lovely. If you are looking for rest and relaxation, then this place is spot-on read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Cornelia
Repeat holiday makers Boa Vista
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
We are already on the island for the 3rd time, because we fell in love with it. We visited the hotel for the first time shortly after the opening and now 4 years later. Very much is done for the cleanliness done, however, unfortunately the pool area has gotten a bit long in the tooth. Also the water quality because of the 'pool bar' is not the best. On the beach everything is perfectly fine, there are no complaints about the public toilets either. We also know the hotel complex Riu Touarek and here in the direct comparison, in Touarek ... more attention is paid to it. However here the sea is somewhat stormier. We are already planning our 4th visit to Boa Vista and will probably decide to return to Touarek. We did not book our excursions through TUI, but online in Germany via Frank-Andrea@Boa Vista-tours.com, on repeated occasions. We can surely recommend both of them, perfect day excursions and NO STRESS. If you have more meet people and country you should also definitely book the Cape Verde evening, a must for all BOA Vista travelers. Have a lot of fun and all great days on BOA VISTA read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ralf
Textbook beach holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Very nice holiday, not really suitable for families and excursions. Perfect, beautiful beach for relaxing read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Claudia
Very nice hotel with friendly staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
We spent a very nice week at the RIU Karamboa. Very nice hotel complex, spacious, nice architecture, lots of palm trees and beautiful rooms. The main restaurant was very good - you could sit outside and the delicious buffet had loads of choice. Very friendly staff and competent management. (Director Ruth Gonzalez Nunez and Vice Director Miguel) Beaches fantastic! Absolutely recommendable: Tours with Ralf (Baobtours!) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Nadja
Pure relaxation! Anytime again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
The hotel area was already the approach to see. It is almost a village for itself. Just behind it is the airport in 3 minutes. Noise is hardly to be heard. The hotel is very well-kept, and spacious. The average age of the guests is multicolored mixed. During our stay there were many english and end some germans in the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are large. The bathroom is very spacious as well as the shower. The rooms are decorated in african style. In the room there was a free safe, a mini fridge and a tv. The beds were large and had a good mattress. The balcony was spacious and with a table and 2 chairs, as well as a small 'clothesline' stocked. The room, bathroom and toilet were very clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There was a main restaurant and 3 theme restaurants. We only the main restaurant visited, since we already have all had that you could possibly want. The food was great and very varied. The food was always refilled, so that never somewhat went out. It was always very relaxed meals. The food was typical for the country, but also european. The staff was also here very friendly and attentive for example, the empty plates were worn, or water poured out. As soon as you were finished, the tables with a new table cloth and new cover provided for the next guests. Bars are in the whole complex distributed.

  • Service
    6.0

    The people are very friendly and you will be greeted with a smile. Mainly versändigt in english, but sometimes also somewhat german spoken. The rooms are cleaned daily and wet mopped. There was a doctor in the hotel. An appointment you very quickly and must be announced at the reception.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Entertainment will take place throughout the day, but not intrusive. On the beach will be Volleyball and gymnastics at the morning. The other things in the area. Beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach are enough available - with plenty of space. At the pool there are few shade places. Unfortunately the beach chairs are not very comfortable. Lie prone is as good as not at all, because the headboard not be lowered can.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel area was already the approach to see. It is almost a village for itself. Just behind it is the airport in 3 minutes. Noise is hardly to be heard. The hotel is very well-kept, and spacious. The average age of the guests is multicolored mixed. During our stay there were many english and end some germans in the hotel.

  • Location
    5.0

    The clean, spacious, sandy beach is right next to the hotel and quickly accessible. There were enough pool chairs, and when one first in the afternoon, are still available. There are purchase possibilities only in the hotel or in the neighboring areas sal rei or rabil (a taxi to sal rei costs 10 Euro - walk 2 hours). Taxis are there each quantity. Trips could be booked with the tour operator book, or external suppliers (s. tips).

Close
Kathrin
Standurlaub
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
A huge hotel area with, i believe 850 rooms. The complex itself is very well maintained. Guest structure was totally mixed. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The size of the room was completely sufficient. From the furnishings, well 5 stars were really not. But it was okay to sleep. From and to the air conditioning or time the water. So everything was clean.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    The selection at the buffet is amazing. Here you will find always somewhat. But i have to say, that i definitely already better eaten. The breakfast was super, lunch & dinner was ok. There are better restaurants in the other hotels.

  • Service
    5.0

    Staff very friendly and always helpful! Also the room cleaning was very good and thorough. German i only from a single staff is. But with english you got along very well.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Entertainment sufficiently available. In the morning around 10:00 a. m. with strandyoga etc. At. Water aerobics is probably the best i've ever seen - it's really every part - whether young or old. The evening shows are of course also great to look at. We were always on the beach - at the pool it was very busy and a beach chair after the other. Also hardly any shady spots at the pool available.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    A huge hotel area with, i believe 850 rooms. The complex itself is very well maintained. Guest structure was totally mixed.

  • Location
    4.0

    From the airport 3 minutes away, aircraft noise was hardly ever - i stayed on the day about 3 plane saw the brief over the hotel flies. But that was it. Around the hotel there was nothing. The next 'city' you can see from the hotel.

Close
Nadia
Just right for switching off and unwinding
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
We wanted relaxation and didn't have great expectations because there weren't many reviews. We had relaxation and we were also pleasantly surprised. However we consider 5 stars to be an exaggeration. A few 'small things' are missing, like drinks which are actually cold, wine that you can drink, but most of all, things to do aside from the entertainment. There are no table tennis tables, billiard tables, air hockey or similar. As there is a gap of at least one and a half hours every evening between dinner time, the mini disco and the actual evening entertainment, you can't really ... go out for a 'stroll'; it's difficult to bridge this gap, aside from watching TV, but who wants that on vacation? Otherwise, as already described several times, the complex is quite spacious. Hence the paths to the beach, pool, reception, restaurants and stage vary in distance, which we didn't think was a bad thing. There's nothing at all outside the complex, aside from a nice beach and countryside. They were beautifully green from earlier rains when we were there. Probably because of the time of year, the red warning flag was often up at the beach, so swimming was forbidden. The waves were sometimes really mad, even though it didn't look it, they were already unpredictable, even when just the yellow flag was up. As the sea is also sometimes quite sloping, it's not necessarily recommendable for kids. We didn't really experience reserving loungers at the pool and beach. You could always see free beach chairs, til at least 12. We unfortunately have to say that the pool area, which has been described a lot, really does need renovation in quite a lot of places. There are missing tiles, which in parts result in sharp corners. Our room was nice, clean and absolutely fine. We had a room on the 2nd floor with a sea view and balcony. Unfortunately our balcony did not have a roof, which meant that you couldn't use it until 6pm (we had strong afternoon sun) and also during rain (which we also had). However, we hardly had any bugs on the 2nd floor, just some 'larger bugs' from time to time. But that is natural in areas like this. We don't agree with the criticism about food, regarding quantity and variety, as there were always tasty highlights, variety and enough choice in the main restaurant. Otherwise we only tried the Asian and African restaurants, absolutely recommendable. It was a shame that the African restaurant was actually supposed to be in its own pool restaurant, which was unfortunately not the case when we were there. So there was no possibility to eat with a view of the water. Also a shame that there's no restaurant out to sea. Aside from that, we'd like to recommend taking the time to get to know the island. We did it through Boa Vista Tours, led by Frank and Andrea. Definitely recommendable! They aren't the usual mass offers, because you really can learn something from land and people, and in a totally 'no-stress' way read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    2.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Sonja
TOP Beach holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
A good destination for a beach holiday, sea lovers and relaxation . For the island of Boa Vista, you should only travel if you really just want to make a beach holiday. The island is also suitable for diving and absolutely for windsportarten. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    2.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    1.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 24