Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort(5 stars)

Qasr Al Sarab Road 1 Abu Dhabi View on map

Average rating

123 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.7
  • Room
    5.9
  • Service
    5.6
  • Location
    4.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.7
  • Sport & entertain
    5.6
Filters
You selected:
76 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Stefan
Stunning Desert Hotel - nearly perfect
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2014
Scenic and the way the Hotel is built is impressive. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very good. Huge bathroom and bathtub (what a waste of water...). We had nice rooms with fantastic outlook over the dunes.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Restaurants had a very good quality. Not the best atmosphere though (inside), but food was pretty good.

  • Service
    4.0

    Here the Hotel suffers a little. I assume it is very difficult to get excellent staff in the middle of nowhere. They still gave their best, but there is definitely room for improvement. However, this was the only small down side.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Pool needs some refurbishment... Some tiles were missing and it is not up to date standard anymore. Some electric cords were visible in the water (hopefully without any power anymore...). Kids club was ok, but not great.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Scenic and the way the Hotel is built is impressive.

  • Location
    6.0

    Of course, there is nothing than sand around you, but you should know this before you book this Hotel. Next road is 15KM... I still give full points, as the sand is why you are coming and this is simply amazing.

Close
Kevin
Gorgeousness in the dessert!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
A gorgeous hotel that gave us an excellent and relaxing stay in the most beautiful surroundings I have ever experienced - even the drive up to the resort is fantastic. The rooms where excellent with an amazing bathroom and bath tub - which, be warned takes around 45 minutes to fill its so huge! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Alan
Outstanding Desert Experience
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • March 2014
From first arrival through the desert the impact of the hotel is stunning. Our arrival late evening could not have been better and this set the tone for the whole stay. From the hotel manager downwards, the service was immaculate - attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. We stayed in one of the pool villas which I would strongly recommend - they are expensive but having the ability to wander out to your own infinity pool overlooking the desert is a very special experience. We ate at most of the restaurants and found them excellent. Overall a great stay - ... excellent service, first class accommodation, great food and sociable and very friendly fellow guests. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The pool villa was exceptional. Plenty of room, private, excellent infinity pool for cooling off and outstanding views over the desert.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We ate at most of the restaurants and found them excellent. The Suhail Steak Restaurant was particularly good. The only slight issue we had was presence of flocks of sparrows at breakfast which were intrusive - if you didn't cover your food they would take it - and unhygienic. If this had been addressed then I would have awarded 5 stars.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were friendly, attentive and discrete - nothing was too much trouble. They made the whole stay trouble free and went the extra distance to make the whole stay special.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The pool and sporting facilities were good - I played tennis. We also went on a couple of stunning beautiful desert walks which we both enjoyed very much.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    From first arrival through the desert the impact of the hotel is stunning. Our arrival late evening could not have been better and this set the tone for the whole stay. From the hotel manager downwards, the service was immaculate - attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. We stayed in one of the pool villas which I would strongly recommend - they are expensive but having the ability to wander out to your own infinity pool overlooking the desert is a very special experience. We ate at most of the restaurants and found them excellent. Overall a great stay - excellent service, first class accommodation, great food and sociable and very friendly fellow guests.

  • Location
    6.0

    Situated in the Liwa Desert it is about a 90 minute drive from Abu Dhabi. Surrounded by rolling dunes it is a beautiful location and the hotel has done its best to fit into the surroundings.

Close
Andrea
Wonderful hotel in the Desert
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • February 2014
What a wonderful hotel! Just the perfect breakout from everyday life. The staff is extremely friendly, you feel as guest most welcome all the time. The food in the restaurants is excellent. The size of our pool villa was huge. Photographers can't stop taking pictures of the pitoresque hotel and the fantastic surrounding with all the dunes. It is worth getting up early before sunrise! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    1.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Catherine
An isolated location hotel with big sand dunes
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • February 2014
This hotel was located about three and a half hours from Dubai airport by road. The hotel has a couple of hundred rooms in a number of three storey buildings as well as individual pool villas. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. The hotel is Arabic style and is located in the Empty Quarter of Abu Dhabi not far from the Saudi border. The pool at the villa was very small - just a plunge pool but the resort had a beautiful large pool area with lots of sunbeds and it never appeared crowded. The large deck area ... and garden was beautiful and there were facilities for outside dining as well as an indoor dining room.Cleanliness was superb and the rooms were well serviced twice daily. The hotel is an ideal romantic location but is also suitable for families. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our one bedroom villa was exceptionally large and had a lounge, dining room, small kitchenette, large bedroom and exceptionally large bathroom with a his and hers vanity unit on either side. The small opening doors (I think they might have been sliding doors but can't quite remember) on the wardrobes were not well designed and it made it difficult to take things in and out of the wardrobes. Be careful as well with the exit doors to the garden, both my husband and I caught our hands on the catch. There is air conditioning . TV, huge deck area, small plunge pool and garden with a canopied king size sunbed as well as two other sunbeds on the deck area. The kitchenette was well equipped with a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. There was a safe in the bedroom.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Our package was bed and breakfast and we added the half board option which gave access to dinner in the buffet restaurant with cooking stations, or a fixed sum towards the a la carte restaurants. The buffet restaurant had a good range of foods and catered well for children. We stayed at the hotel for Valentine's Day and the special buffet that evening was world class.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were the greatest asset of this hotel. The standard of service was outstanding and all the staff were so friendly and provided attentive service. We did not have any complaints so can not comment on how complaints were handled. Room cleaning was excellent.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There are a range of activities and excursions offered by an external company that has a booking desk in the hotel reception. The activities were quite expensive and some had age restrictions. The resort had a beautiful large pool area with lots of sunbeds and it never appeared crowded and there were pool attendants.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    This hotel was located about three and a half hours from Dubai airport by road. The hotel has a couple of hundred rooms in a number of three storey buildings as well as individual pool villas. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. The hotel is Arabic style and is located in the Empty Quarter of Abu Dhabi not far from the Saudi border. The pool at the villa was very small - just a plunge pool but the resort had a beautiful large pool area with lots of sunbeds and it never appeared crowded. The large deck area and garden was beautiful and there were facilities for outside dining as well as an indoor dining room.Cleanliness was superb and the rooms were well serviced twice daily. The hotel is an ideal romantic location but is also suitable for families.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel was three and a half hours drive from Dubai airport which we found tedious after a long haul flight. We would recommend guests to fly into Abu Dhabi as it only takes under two hours to reach the hotel from Abu Dhabi airport. The hotel staff provide a warm welcome and soon have you transferred to your room. The hotel is spread out and provides a buggy service to transport guests around the hotel. We enjoyed the walk. The hotel is in the Empty Quarter so there are limited shopping facilities - just a small hotel shop on site. The desert is beautiful and there is a very high sand dune which it is nice to climb to watch the sunset.

Close
Susanne
Extraordinary desert hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2014
If you like the desert and experience would like, is here very well. Pilates and yoga in front of the sunrise in the desert, the sunset on the nearby dunes hiking and enjoy the view. The rooms were built in arabian style and shop with large balconies facing the long view of the desert landscape a. Good spa. All the restaurants were good, the service excellent. Highly recommended is the camel. The could have been for us for hours so go further. On a Abu Dhabi trip should, if the budget allows, the hotel with 3 nights in. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Barbara
Arabian Desert Adventure
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • January 2014
The hotel lives up to its name, which means the Mirage Palace. I had my sister with me who was on holiday from the UK and she was simply blown away by the setting. The beds are super comfy and the view from the bedroom balcony is breathtaking - huge dunes - kind of expect Lawrence of Arabia to ride over the crest at any minute. The choice of food at breakfast is almost bewildering. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are now over large but large enough - the bathrooms is huge. The rooms are beautifully decorated in Arabian style - plush beds and bedding with lots of cushions. The balconies are large enough for two and are very clean - there's every amenity in the room you would associate with a five star hotel.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The choice of food is excellent. We ate at the pool bar which has a very good menu and great fresh juices. We went to the Suhail rooftop restaurant/bar for a cocktail as the sun goes down - I can recommend that. The atmosphere of the whole hotel, including restaurants, is in keeping with the setting - quiet, luxurious and you feel at one with the world. No-one asks for a tip - but it is the norm here and also, I think the staff deserve it.

  • Service
    5.0

    Extremely friendly staff most of whom have excellent English. Found the room service prompt and the food good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There are a lot of activity options - fatbiking, horse riding, a falcon and saluki show, camel riding and desert dune walks. The pool is large and you can have a really good swim - the area is kept immaculately clean and the staff are very attentive in organising sun beds.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel lives up to its name, which means the Mirage Palace. I had my sister with me who was on holiday from the UK and she was simply blown away by the setting. The beds are super comfy and the view from the bedroom balcony is breathtaking - huge dunes - kind of expect Lawrence of Arabia to ride over the crest at any minute. The choice of food at breakfast is almost bewildering.

  • Location
    6.0

    We went fatbiking - it is quite challenging but fun then adjourned to the pool for some rays and a swim in the afternoon. On the night, we went for the Arabian dinner in the Falaj outdoor setting - once again, the food was terrific - and there were Arab guests there who obviously also loved the food so it is as authentic as it should be. The highlight for me was the dawn horse riding activity the next morning - I can't recommend it highly enough. Riding with the dunes as a backdrop is and exceptional experience. I would also recommend the falcon and saluki show, which was a highlight for my sister. We felt totally relaxed when we left - the guest mix crosses all ages and nationalities - and all I can tell you is that my sister said it's the best hotel she's ever stayed in - and she's stayed in a few in her time. The drive to the hotel from Abu Dhabi city is a tad long and boring - but worth it in the end. Went for a hamman treatment in the spa which, if anything, was the only thing that didn't quite come up to the mark - not really authentic at all. Would have preferred Arab staff in that setting than the more Thai experience that it is. I would say this is a great place for special treats - and a real romantic setting for any guy looking to pop the question! There was an excursion offered to the nearby oasis town of Liwa which we didn't have time to do - but it's on the bucket list now.

Close
Xavier
A good hotel in an exceptionnal context
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • December 2013
The hotel is located in an exceptionnal place in the Liwa Desert. It is a very good hotel and very relaxing although you feel its sheer size in the breakfast room. Activities are good and varied and the pool area is a place you'll enjoy to stay. The staff is generally very helpfull. I would recommend a 4 or 5 days stay if you are in the Abu Dhabi area. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Sandra
Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • December 2013
We had a really good time in the desert. We have enjoyed the silcene and the wonderful sunrises and sunsets. You can walk along the dunes. The food was very good and there was a lot of choice. Also the breakfast buffet. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Marco
Wonderful exclusive!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The hotel is a wonderfully exclusive oasis in the middle in the liwa desert! Impressive architecture, stylish luxuriously furnished and very large villas with a private pool, great restaurants... And even for kids very suitable thanks to pool area, kid-friendly staff and great facilities such as camel rides, falkenshow and desert -Jeep Tour! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Claudia
One is spoilled and get, what you pay for
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Hotel is huge, but very well arranged and there for little guests designed not crowded Cleanliness top Wi-fi in the room was very good Lot of germans among the guests, otherwise english, locals and indians read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Unfortunately, we got the nespresso machine in motion, otherwise everything was great! Cleanliness spotless

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Deduction due to the very high prices, quality is excellent, but the cheapest bottle of wine for 42, - euro can already start! Other members here too little international cuisine complain about, i couldnt understand, the food offered something for every taste and the best! If you like, and custom can, of course, a beef fillet 200 g steak for 100 euro food... We especially the arab and asian dishes and just loved it

  • Service
    6.0

    Top service, no improvements

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pool is clean, 2 lifeguards are there, pool bar is nice and the prices of the drinks at the pool... Alcohol from 12:00 a. m.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Hotel is huge, but very well arranged and there for little guests designed not crowded Cleanliness top Wi-fi in the room was very good Lot of germans among the guests, otherwise english, locals and indians

  • Location
    6.0

    2 hour drive from the airport, but that is why you are there Nearby is fortunately only saanndd...

Close
Josephine
You will be blown away how fabulous it is
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
The hotel is truly amazing. It resembles a very old Arabian Fort from the middle ages, as you cross the bridge you enter a series of courtyards, all with water features. Inside the hotel it is quite dark, mainly because of the dark furniture and extremely cool. Near to the reception is a small shop, selling everything to do with the desert and arabia. You are taken to your room by golf buggy, and this is the mode of transport for the rest of your stay at the hotel. Round every corner there is a photo opporuntity, totally breakthtaking. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    You are taken to your room by a golf buggy, we reserved a room with a balcony which is a must for great views of the desert. The room is spacious, if a little dark due to the dark wooden furniture and arabic, the bathroom is well equipped but long and thin with a large round bath at the end, again unfortunately as no natural daylight somewhat dark. We both wanted to unpack, but the wardrobe was very small, so i unpacked but my husband could not, so this was not ideal, this was only for 3 nights so we managed. We had a TV but not many channels to choose from. Great balcony with views of the left side of the hotel and the huge sand dunes - the sunset in this part of abu dhabi was disappointing. The hotel has only been completed for a few years and is pristine clean. Be aware before you visit, there are masses of steps as the building is on lots of different levels.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    There are 3 restaurants here, one by the pool and two inside the hotel. Breakfast was great, huge room plus the balcony, great choice of fruit, cold meats, bread and also a cooked selection. Unfortunately the staff we not quite upto typical 5 star standard. Very slow bringing coffee, collecting plates etc. Lunch round the pool the food was great but spoiled by bad service from one waiter, but the next day a great experience from an american waiter. Dinner in Sunhail the first night was disappointing but it was 10pm at night. For our anniversary dinner we thought they would push to boat out to make it special, but this event was totally ignored by them - which ruined the experience for us. Food extremely is expensive, un-impressive, the illuminated menu was fairly limited, steak for £75 outrageous, apparently it came from Australia.- presented lacked inspiration - not 5 star.

  • Service
    3.0

    The staff although friendly, are many different nationalities, so some speak great English, others not so good. Some give amazing professional service, others give basic service - but this is down to what training they have received. We did have several issues over hospitality, and particularly our pre-ordered special anniversary dinner, but basically once we had left, the hotel were not really interested, and could not understand what they should have done for us to make it special. The staff lacked interest and passion.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The pool which is truly amazing, the largest we have ever seen. Swimming and looking at the desert at the same time is totally awesome. Great amount of sunbeds, lots of room between them, good drinks service. Fabulous swim up bar which was a real treat. Extremely clean everywhere. Fabulous way to spend a day. Lots of different activities, ie with falcons, camel riding, bike riding, but we had a short visit so we stayed around the pool.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is truly amazing. It resembles a very old Arabian Fort from the middle ages, as you cross the bridge you enter a series of courtyards, all with water features. Inside the hotel it is quite dark, mainly because of the dark furniture and extremely cool. Near to the reception is a small shop, selling everything to do with the desert and arabia. You are taken to your room by golf buggy, and this is the mode of transport for the rest of your stay at the hotel. Round every corner there is a photo opporuntity, totally breakthtaking.

  • Location
    6.0

    Two hours plus from the airport and city travelling down a unlift two lane highway in the dark, your eventually you turn left. About another 20 minutes driving down a narrow tarmac road you go through a grand entrance. About another 20 mins you see the hotels glittering lights in the distance, the closer you get the more excited you get. You will not be disappointed. The hotel is obviously surrounded by desert and lots of very high sand dunes, with the odd palm trees dotted about, and lots of blue sky.

Close
Graham
The desert with a difference
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2013
Built in the style of an Arabian Fort - it is truly breathtaking particularly as you arrive and you see it in front of you through the sand dunes. It has eveything you would expect a 5 star hotel to have including one of the largest swimming pools you will ever see and a helicopter pad (complete with helicopter) in case of any illness as it is a two hour drive to Abu Dhabi. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Lovely views from the balcony of the room. Although the room is of reasonable size the wardrobe space is pathetic particularly if you are in the area for a 2 week holiday and you start at this hotel and have all your luggage with you. It contains Arabic style furniture which is very pleasant but on the dark side

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 3 restaurants (4 actually if you count having dinner in an Arabian tent) which is there for private functions The breakfast was a good 5* hotel breakfast with a large range of products The restaurant we had dinner in each evening was in Al Waha and this has 2 levels - try and get on the top level which gives you stunning views over the desert landscape whilst enjoying some excellent food. The wine in the restaurant was a bit pricey and it was best to stick to water.

  • Service
    6.0

    The bedrooms although small are kept clean and the service is very good We used very few of there other services except we did use one of the buggies they have to get us from our room to breakfast and we also took advantage of the buggy to take us on a trip around the resort. The reason for this is that it is very spread out amongst the dunes and it was incredibly hot

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The pool is fabulous and you go there by buggy as it is some distance from the rooms. It is very large and has a number of islands in the middle of it. It also has a swim up bar. It is a huge area and as such you have plenty of space - even when the hotel is full at the weekends (Friday and Saturday) it still seems as though there are few people at the pool.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Built in the style of an Arabian Fort - it is truly breathtaking particularly as you arrive and you see it in front of you through the sand dunes. It has eveything you would expect a 5 star hotel to have including one of the largest swimming pools you will ever see and a helicopter pad (complete with helicopter) in case of any illness as it is a two hour drive to Abu Dhabi.

  • Location
    6.0

    It is built in the middle of the Liwa desert - the largest sand only desert in the world. It has 2 or 3 small shops - but do not go for shopping, maybe just a souvenier. On all sides are spectacular desert views and in the distance you can see the camel farm owned by the hotel - which is an excursion if you want it. The hotel is designed primarily for people from Dubai and Abu Dhabi just staying the weekend - hence things like bedrooms have very little wardrobe space.

Close
Fritz
Exceptional holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • September 2013
It was very special and nice once in the middle of the desert holidays and felt very pampered. Pool butler including sunglasses cleaning and rosenwassererfrischung. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Sandra
Will be going back!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • August 2013
This is expensive unless you can get a deal but worth it. We went in August so cheaper, not very busy but obviously very hot which is the reason it is cheaper. The location is fantastic in the middle of the Liwa desert with no shops for miles. The dune bashing trip was really good and the guide was very knowledgeable. There are several restaurants, buffet was good but the Med/Middle eastern restaurant didn't have enough choice for me and was more Middle East than Med food but then that's probably personal choice. Gym large and well equipped. Pool area ... large with plenty of sunbeds and waiters around bringing water and cold drinks. It is on a lot of levels with a lot of steps so probably not suitable if you have difficulty walking although there is a lift down to the pool and golf carts to get you around as some rooms are quite a way from the main parts of the hotel. We will be going again! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Marta
Luxury in the desert!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • June 2013
We stayed one night spent in this hotel. It is a very big complex about 200 kilometer from Abu Dhabi away in the middle of in the desert. All pure luxury but also the prices. Alternatives nearby none. The pool is very big and simply super. We had the cheapest room with garden view and the desert behind and can this highly recommend. Since the area was very large, you need to have time 10 minutes from a to b walk or can call the front desk, then a golf cart past sends. The negative points: the welcome we were ... sat down and us a drink invited, which never came. The internet worked in our room and a promised zimmerupgrade was simply ignored, but we with our room but were satisfied. Nevertheless, these points in the price range not understandable. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    2.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Thorsten
Luxusfort in the desert
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2013
A dream resort in the desert. 2 hour of Abu Dhabi, 3 from Dubai and 4 of rak. A real castle in the desert. A gorgeous pool. A very good kitchen. Food in the suhail restaurant are excellent. Despite the poor reception definitely a recommendation. In the evening a Jeep Safari the sunset on the dunes. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    3.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Katrin
Good resort with few drawbacks
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • May 2013
Very nice. Hotel in the middle of the desert. Great desert adventure since the dunes are high. Housekeeping. And front desk are rather moderately to bad but the restoration the better. Al waha (main restaurant) is excellent. Excellent quality of the dishes and massive choice of local and international dishes. The entire staff there is very friendly and attentive, especially raja from al waha restaurant. He was always very attentive and friendly. The pool area is nicely decorated. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    1.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Frank
Another highlight in the uae
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • May 2013
The qasr al sarab is after Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi and the Madinat dar al masyaf in Dubai another highlight in the uae, which we to experience was allowed. The hotel is quite spacious and consists essentially of three areas: the main part with the main building (restaurant, reception, etc.) And garden, balcony and terrassenzimmern, the villas area and a little the area with the royal villas. The whole is with betonwegen connected on which the elektrobuggys run, the one on request to in the last corner of the area do. The state of the hotel is exemplary ... and the design just fantastic. Everything is very nicely with grasses and palm trees arranged and spotlessly clean. There is really nothing that unnecessary in the area herumsteht. Really great! Worth mentioning is perhaps, that it is on the weekend (friday-saturday) due to wochenendurlaubern from Abu Dhabi and Dubai very crowded. However, it is, that the service including did not suffer. On sunday is resolved and there is a fantastic peace. We were 9 days in this wonderful resort and every individual enjoyed. Wi-fi is in the room and the whole hotel area available free of charge. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a deluxe gardenroom (229). The room was fantastic. Everything was available, what your heart desires. A wonderful bed guaranteed a good night's sleep, a small terrace with a seat and two great relaxing armchairs, a small garden with direct view into the desert and a great bathroom with the best shower (rain showers) which i experienced. On the large flat screen tv you could Deutsche Welle, the ZDF and RTL 2 (at german channels) in a very good quality and see. A coffee maker was equally available, like a round bathtub in which a whole family capacity could have been.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The quality of the meals and drinks was excellent. We booked half board and the breakfast, as well as the dinner mostly on the fantastic terrace of al waha restaurants (main restaurant) were served. Breakfast offers all usual treats. For dinner there were always different dishes offered, according to the motto of the evening. If one however nevertheless nothing suitable finds should, are always on request, steak freshly fried and grilled fish. A poem! A special highlight was however, that due to the for this hotel probably unusual length of stay of 9 days, the use of two other à la carte restaurants with the half-board was offered. The food is not boring either. This we gladly accepted. One had per person 200 dhs (about € 40,-) available. I can the calamari in the restaurant next to the pool was very good.

  • Service
    5.0

    The service is the class of hotels was absolutely fair. The first rule is really : the guest always comes first. As i said, a call and you will be rewarded with a buggy everywhere dangers. At the pool there were special 'sunshine butler', the the whole day be careful, the really good. So back the chairs always in the right light and shade, the cleaning sunglasses and constantly ice-cold water. This is everywhere (in the room, at the pool, the buffet) unrestricted free of charge. Only in the à-la-carte restaurants, it is liable to pay the costs. Especially gratifying, i would like to check-in say. You are in the beautiful lobby set, are all documents (passports, vouchers etc.) The nice lady and enjoys its welcome drink. To a couple of minutes everything was taken care of and the breakfast good. Was particularly pleasant, that we directly after the breakfast (already at 09:30 o'clock) could move into our room. Great! Unfortunately i must however a star off, since there were some 'juddering' in the service were available. These were not serious but for completeness i would like to mention them: so you had to on the eve of the return even at the time of the transfer and pickup the bags take care of it, the bill was incorrect, and in the restaurant were not rarely orders forgot. Also the mini bar in the room not regularly replenished. The other was the collection of the suit-cases also not in time. However with a few calls could always everything very quickly. As i said, all not a disaster but worth mentioning.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Here, i can only the pool area rate. This was exemplary. The service, the cleanliness, the beach chairs, the atmosphere were incredible. Of course, there is no entertainment! An amazing peace, a wonderfully relaxing holiday contributed. The water is rather warmly, which my wife really liked, i prefer it a little bit cooler. The is however a matter of taste. Towels are of course unlimited available.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The qasr al sarab is after Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi and the Madinat dar al masyaf in Dubai another highlight in the uae, which we to experience was allowed. The hotel is quite spacious and consists essentially of three areas: the main part with the main building (restaurant, reception, etc.) And garden, balcony and terrassenzimmern, the villas area and a little the area with the royal villas. The whole is with betonwegen connected on which the elektrobuggys run, the one on request to in the last corner of the area do. The state of the hotel is exemplary and the design just fantastic. Everything is very nicely with grasses and palm trees arranged and spotlessly clean. There is really nothing that unnecessary in the area herumsteht. Really great! Worth mentioning is perhaps, that it is on the weekend (friday-saturday) due to wochenendurlaubern from Abu Dhabi and Dubai very crowded. However, it is, that the service including did not suffer. On sunday is resolved and there is a fantastic peace. We were 9 days in this wonderful resort and every individual enjoyed. Wi-fi is in the room and the whole hotel area available free of charge.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located, as we all know, in the middle of in the desert. For this reason i find it a bit sad, that was partly negative assessment, that no restaurants and shopping opportunities in the area are. This should actually be clear to everyone. There is a very extensive road to directly into the resort. From leaving the highway is the drive through the dunes an incredible spectacle. The immediate area we by the huge hausdüne certainly, their erklimmung the sunset or for early risers at sunrise simply duty. Let you not to be missed! Otherwise, the desert a sublime panorama, which us on the 9. day blew. This color play i so not expected.

Close
Mario
Paradise in the desert
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • May 2013
We are already much traveled, but this resort was certainly one of the absolute highlights. The rooms are (either with small garden or terrace) most luxurious and very big. The view of the endless desert with the always changing colors every day anew impressive. The room was twice daily cleaned. The hotel management (french) try to fulfill every wish, is friendly and very competent. Outstanding is the food and the quality of the dishes (we had the half board). read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    There are many different categories to the villa. We had the lowest category and even the was very luxurious. If you need: flat screen tv, a dvd player, etc. Also a nespresso machine is free, top!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We had the half board and were therefore breakfast (buffet) and dinner (buffet). Both were outstanding. The selection and quality excellent. The kitchen is a mix between international and arabic. Especially worth mentioning is the terrace, where you have dinner with a view of the desert can. Also great: the water from the bottles the resort free of charge!

  • Service
    6.0

    As already mentioned - i had rarely seen a hotel with this quality-absolute class in all areas.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The pool is beautifully landscaped, the loungers are of a 5 star hotels, and very comfortable. Umbrellas and beach chairs are more than enough.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We are already much traveled, but this resort was certainly one of the absolute highlights. The rooms are (either with small garden or terrace) most luxurious and very big. The view of the endless desert with the always changing colors every day anew impressive. The room was twice daily cleaned. The hotel management (french) try to fulfill every wish, is friendly and very competent. Outstanding is the food and the quality of the dishes (we had the half board).

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is surrounded by the largest sandy desert of the earth. From Abu Dhabi airport it is between 90 and 120 minutes journey by car.

Close
1 3 4