Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort(5 stars)

Qasr Al Sarab Road 1 Abu Dhabi View on map

Average rating

169 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.8
  • Room
    5.9
  • Service
    5.8
  • Location
    4.8
  • Food and Drinks
    5.8
  • Sport & entertain
    5.7
Filters
You selected:
86 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Marten
Great experience in the middle of the UAE desert
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • January 2016
The Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort really goes beyond every expectation. The area, the rooms, the staff, the facilities and the food are amazing. It is a quite expensive hotel but worth every penny. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    3.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Jessye
Great place to stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • April 2015
The hotel is very Nice, the middle of the desert super clean , has a great staff the gym is also nice and we really enjoyed staying there to relax and enjoy the view on the dunes i am definitely going back there this year. the food is also good and they have a large choice for breakfast the room was big and pretty , very clean read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Great room Nothing bad about it

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We had a great dinner and nice wine breakfast was à Los very good

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was very helpul and smiling

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    I enjoyed my time at the gym and the pool was perfect for sunbathing

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is very Nice, the middle of the desert super clean , has a great staff the gym is also nice and we really enjoyed staying there to relax and enjoy the view on the dunes i am definitely going back there this year. the food is also good and they have a large choice for breakfast the room was big and pretty , very clean

  • Location
    6.0

    right in the dunes the drive to the hotel is worth it

Close
Anton
Awesome desert getaway!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • April 2015
This is a perfect desert getaway! Food is awesome and you feel yourself in a real desert. There are many activities you can do. Pool is awesome. Temperature during the summer can go up to more than 100 degrees read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Yasser
Amazing place for honeymoon
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • April 2015
This was one of the best hotels I ever stayed in, the area was desert life that you would love to experience every year, the room was with an amazing pool and amazing toilet with excellent furniture that made look incredible. This place is amazing for honeymoon stay as its in the middle of the desert surrounded with desert life and incredible view. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Mian
Treated like a Royal!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • February 2015
By far the best place. in the middle of desert. Use taxi or ur own car. excellent drive, easy drive. I rented the car from airport. Place is just magical. Sunset and sunrise is amazing. you are treated like a royal and food is great. A must stay place in a life time. Safe place. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Adele
Best resort, we ever visited
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • City break
  • January 2015
This is truly an awesome resort. We lived the peace and quiet of the desert. Sunrise and sunset is an experience not to be missed. The layout of the resort is very inviting. Thank you for this magnificent place. We can't wait to go back again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Tom
Relaxing time in a desert oasis
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • November 2014
The resort is tucked away in the Liwa Oasis, around two hours drive from Abu Dhabi. The drive to the resort is not especially pleasant until you get to the purpose built road which finishes the journey through the orange sand dunes. The surroundings are lovely and the different colours which sunset and sunrise bring are gorgeous. Room was good (a balcony room - not overlooked) with a very comfy bed and the biggest bath tub I have ever seen! The pool is very nice (swim up bar!) and there is a gym (didn't get time to use). If you ... want to sit by the pool all day you can, or you can take part in the activities on offer (at extra cost - however we booked through a UK based website and got an early booking discount with an activity (worth around AED300 each) thrown in). My only observation is for the food. You are in the middle of nowhere so you are beholden to the resort's restaurants, and these are quite pricey. We found the Al Liwan lounge to be decent. We booked B&B so we were able to skip lunch (we took some snacks with us) an go through to dinner. Overall a very nice stay and as close as you can get to the desert experience without actually staying in a tent in the middle of the desert! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Stefan
Stunning Desert Hotel - nearly perfect
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2014
Scenic and the way the Hotel is built is impressive. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very good. Huge bathroom and bathtub (what a waste of water...). We had nice rooms with fantastic outlook over the dunes.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Restaurants had a very good quality. Not the best atmosphere though (inside), but food was pretty good.

  • Service
    4.0

    Here the Hotel suffers a little. I assume it is very difficult to get excellent staff in the middle of nowhere. They still gave their best, but there is definitely room for improvement. However, this was the only small down side.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Pool needs some refurbishment... Some tiles were missing and it is not up to date standard anymore. Some electric cords were visible in the water (hopefully without any power anymore...). Kids club was ok, but not great.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Scenic and the way the Hotel is built is impressive.

  • Location
    6.0

    Of course, there is nothing than sand around you, but you should know this before you book this Hotel. Next road is 15KM... I still give full points, as the sand is why you are coming and this is simply amazing.

Close
JOSEPHINE
Beautiful arabian palace in the desert
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • May 2014
Qasr al Sarab is a luxury resort obviously aiming for 5 star guests who only stay for the weekend. The design of the hotel is like a huge centuries ago Arabian palace, which spreads out over a vast area, round every corner this is something interesting to see, of another fabulous water feature, it is a photographers dream to stay here. The hotel has different sections, the main part with rooms and suites, then private villas with plunge pools, then in the distance, you see a separate part of the hotel, this is where the royalty of Abu Dhabi come ... for the weekend. It has been beautifully landscaped with bushes, and palm trees everywhere, and has the largest shaped swimming pool you have ever seen. There are lots of internal tarmac narrow roads, and everyone travels in small golf buggies = totally amazing, as it is so remote, it also has its only helicopter and pad, because if anyone takes ill it is 2 hours to the city of Abu Dhabi. The check-in was disappointing, just left to sit and wait – not a good first impression. We began to wonder, had we made a big mistake trying ‘the’ 5 star hotel in the desert? read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    It was a good size, with a great large comfortable bed, but quite dark, also great views from the balcony. Staying for 3 nights then moving on into the city for 2 weeks we wanted to unpack. We could not do this as only enough room for my clothes in the wardrobe also 3 silly sliding doors and difficult to access clothes in the centre part. My husband clothes had to stay in his case, as I took up all the wardrobe space – also not enough drawer space. Bathroom although long, it was very narrow, and again quite dark. We wanted to use the wi fi, but this was only available in the mornings, they could not fix this.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Breakfast was a great affair. Plenty of choice either cereals, fruit or cold meats with a huge choice of rolls etc. Great to sit on the balcony with views of the desert, have to eat early to get one of these outdoor tables. Only problem was the service, and trying to get a coffee. Dining in the Sunhail restaurant was disappointing, we dined here twice during our stay. It was was okay, but poor presentation, wrong cocktails/wrong glasses, no cold towels, not as impressive as we had imagined. The menu only two pages long, not very impressive. Prices, totally outrageous , an Australian steak was £75 (I think you pay for it’s flight). Before we could eat we had to look round for decent chairs to sit in, the seats in the chairs had almost disintegrated – obviously why you need cushions provided. Lunch at Ghadeer the poolside restaurant was another disappointment, despite the wonderful setting. The waiter on our first day showed my husband the menu, he totally ignored me, I was just left to wait, we had to constantly ask for cold towels, nothing seemed to be automatic, everything seemed such a huge effort for them. The impression the staff gave - no interest in giving guests a true 5 star service, just doing a job. The lunch here was so different, the young waiter was American and the service was great. What lets this fabulous hotel in the most amazing location down is ‘the staff’. Guests who are true ‘foodies’ do not receive a true 5 star dining experience, if some of the staff worked in the city giving this type of service, it would not be tolerated. Unfortunately the hotel has a captive market, there is nowhere else to go and it seemed to us they take advantage of this.

  • Service
    3.0

    The check-in was disappointing, just left to sit and wait – not a good first impression when we had been travelling from the UK since 9am that morning. We began to wonder, had we made a big mistake trying ‘the’ 5 star hotel in the desert? After staying her for 3 days/and nights we both decided it has a long way to go to match a 5 star hotel in the city. The main problem is the level of hospitality, staff are just going through the motions of doing a job, very lack lustre no passion. they are dis-interested, poorly trained, lack professionalism in dealing with guests, devoid of passion. The resort/hotel room was extremely clean.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The swimming pool was extremely huge/very inviting, a great unusual shape with a swim up bar, and several islands in the middle. The sunbeds round the outside had plenty of room, not overcrowded. The service from the pool butlers was fantastic, extremely helpful = even clean your sunglasses. Rather strange sitting sunbathing or swimming surrounded by desert.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Qasr al Sarab is a luxury resort obviously aiming for 5 star guests who only stay for the weekend. The design of the hotel is like a huge centuries ago Arabian palace, which spreads out over a vast area, round every corner this is something interesting to see, of another fabulous water feature, it is a photographers dream to stay here. The hotel has different sections, the main part with rooms and suites, then private villas with plunge pools, then in the distance, you see a separate part of the hotel, this is where the royalty of Abu Dhabi come for the weekend. It has been beautifully landscaped with bushes, and palm trees everywhere, and has the largest shaped swimming pool you have ever seen. There are lots of internal tarmac narrow roads, and everyone travels in small golf buggies = totally amazing, as it is so remote, it also has its only helicopter and pad, because if anyone takes ill it is 2 hours to the city of Abu Dhabi. The check-in was disappointing, just left to sit and wait – not a good first impression. We began to wonder, had we made a big mistake trying ‘the’ 5 star hotel in the desert?

  • Location
    6.0

    This luxury resort has stunning views of the desert. When approaching the hotel, which is miles off the main road, you drive down what seems forever a very long narrow tarmac road. The first sign of life is when you see lights well into the distance this was at 9pm at night, and closer you realise it is the resort. It stands so majestically between several large sand dunes, it is a truly fabulous setting, totally unreal, compared to the hussle and bussle of being in the city of Abu Dhabi. From our balcony you can see straight infront in the distance is an absolutely huge desert of beautiful soft light beige sand, with a large mound of sand. At the front of the hotel, all you can see is miles of desert and the odd palm tree. At the resort you are about 2 hours from the city, this is a small sovenier shop in the hotel. The excursion programme is very extensive, something for everyone.

Close
Kevin
Gorgeousness in the dessert!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
A gorgeous hotel that gave us an excellent and relaxing stay in the most beautiful surroundings I have ever experienced - even the drive up to the resort is fantastic. The rooms where excellent with an amazing bathroom and bath tub - which, be warned takes around 45 minutes to fill its so huge! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ross
True luxury
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • April 2014
Everything about Qasr al Sarab is well-thought out. From the moment you arrive through until the journey back over the dunes. It's a magical place and made all the more special by amazing staff who seem to really enjoy working there. Truly exceptional and one of the most beautiful locations possible. Will definitely be back. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Alan
Outstanding Desert Experience
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • March 2014
From first arrival through the desert the impact of the hotel is stunning. Our arrival late evening could not have been better and this set the tone for the whole stay. From the hotel manager downwards, the service was immaculate - attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. We stayed in one of the pool villas which I would strongly recommend - they are expensive but having the ability to wander out to your own infinity pool overlooking the desert is a very special experience. We ate at most of the restaurants and found them excellent. Overall a great stay - ... excellent service, first class accommodation, great food and sociable and very friendly fellow guests. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The pool villa was exceptional. Plenty of room, private, excellent infinity pool for cooling off and outstanding views over the desert.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We ate at most of the restaurants and found them excellent. The Suhail Steak Restaurant was particularly good. The only slight issue we had was presence of flocks of sparrows at breakfast which were intrusive - if you didn't cover your food they would take it - and unhygienic. If this had been addressed then I would have awarded 5 stars.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were friendly, attentive and discrete - nothing was too much trouble. They made the whole stay trouble free and went the extra distance to make the whole stay special.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The pool and sporting facilities were good - I played tennis. We also went on a couple of stunning beautiful desert walks which we both enjoyed very much.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    From first arrival through the desert the impact of the hotel is stunning. Our arrival late evening could not have been better and this set the tone for the whole stay. From the hotel manager downwards, the service was immaculate - attentive and friendly, without being overbearing. We stayed in one of the pool villas which I would strongly recommend - they are expensive but having the ability to wander out to your own infinity pool overlooking the desert is a very special experience. We ate at most of the restaurants and found them excellent. Overall a great stay - excellent service, first class accommodation, great food and sociable and very friendly fellow guests.

  • Location
    6.0

    Situated in the Liwa Desert it is about a 90 minute drive from Abu Dhabi. Surrounded by rolling dunes it is a beautiful location and the hotel has done its best to fit into the surroundings.

Close
Andrea
Wonderful hotel in the Desert
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • February 2014
What a wonderful hotel! Just the perfect breakout from everyday life. The staff is extremely friendly, you feel as guest most welcome all the time. The food in the restaurants is excellent. The size of our pool villa was huge. Photographers can't stop taking pictures of the pitoresque hotel and the fantastic surrounding with all the dunes. It is worth getting up early before sunrise! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    1.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Catherine
An isolated location hotel with big sand dunes
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • February 2014
This hotel was located about three and a half hours from Dubai airport by road. The hotel has a couple of hundred rooms in a number of three storey buildings as well as individual pool villas. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. The hotel is Arabic style and is located in the Empty Quarter of Abu Dhabi not far from the Saudi border. The pool at the villa was very small - just a plunge pool but the resort had a beautiful large pool area with lots of sunbeds and it never appeared crowded. The large deck area ... and garden was beautiful and there were facilities for outside dining as well as an indoor dining room.Cleanliness was superb and the rooms were well serviced twice daily. The hotel is an ideal romantic location but is also suitable for families. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our one bedroom villa was exceptionally large and had a lounge, dining room, small kitchenette, large bedroom and exceptionally large bathroom with a his and hers vanity unit on either side. The small opening doors (I think they might have been sliding doors but can't quite remember) on the wardrobes were not well designed and it made it difficult to take things in and out of the wardrobes. Be careful as well with the exit doors to the garden, both my husband and I caught our hands on the catch. There is air conditioning . TV, huge deck area, small plunge pool and garden with a canopied king size sunbed as well as two other sunbeds on the deck area. The kitchenette was well equipped with a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. There was a safe in the bedroom.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Our package was bed and breakfast and we added the half board option which gave access to dinner in the buffet restaurant with cooking stations, or a fixed sum towards the a la carte restaurants. The buffet restaurant had a good range of foods and catered well for children. We stayed at the hotel for Valentine's Day and the special buffet that evening was world class.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were the greatest asset of this hotel. The standard of service was outstanding and all the staff were so friendly and provided attentive service. We did not have any complaints so can not comment on how complaints were handled. Room cleaning was excellent.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There are a range of activities and excursions offered by an external company that has a booking desk in the hotel reception. The activities were quite expensive and some had age restrictions. The resort had a beautiful large pool area with lots of sunbeds and it never appeared crowded and there were pool attendants.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    This hotel was located about three and a half hours from Dubai airport by road. The hotel has a couple of hundred rooms in a number of three storey buildings as well as individual pool villas. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. The hotel is Arabic style and is located in the Empty Quarter of Abu Dhabi not far from the Saudi border. The pool at the villa was very small - just a plunge pool but the resort had a beautiful large pool area with lots of sunbeds and it never appeared crowded. The large deck area and garden was beautiful and there were facilities for outside dining as well as an indoor dining room.Cleanliness was superb and the rooms were well serviced twice daily. The hotel is an ideal romantic location but is also suitable for families.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel was three and a half hours drive from Dubai airport which we found tedious after a long haul flight. We would recommend guests to fly into Abu Dhabi as it only takes under two hours to reach the hotel from Abu Dhabi airport. The hotel staff provide a warm welcome and soon have you transferred to your room. The hotel is spread out and provides a buggy service to transport guests around the hotel. We enjoyed the walk. The hotel is in the Empty Quarter so there are limited shopping facilities - just a small hotel shop on site. The desert is beautiful and there is a very high sand dune which it is nice to climb to watch the sunset.

Close
Susanne
Extraordinary desert hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2014
If you like the desert and experience would like, is here very well. Pilates and yoga in front of the sunrise in the desert, the sunset on the nearby dunes hiking and enjoy the view. The rooms were built in arabian style and shop with large balconies facing the long view of the desert landscape a. Good spa. All the restaurants were good, the service excellent. Highly recommended is the camel. The could have been for us for hours so go further. On a Abu Dhabi trip should, if the budget allows, the hotel with 3 nights in. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Barbara
Arabian Desert Adventure
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • January 2014
The hotel lives up to its name, which means the Mirage Palace. I had my sister with me who was on holiday from the UK and she was simply blown away by the setting. The beds are super comfy and the view from the bedroom balcony is breathtaking - huge dunes - kind of expect Lawrence of Arabia to ride over the crest at any minute. The choice of food at breakfast is almost bewildering. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are now over large but large enough - the bathrooms is huge. The rooms are beautifully decorated in Arabian style - plush beds and bedding with lots of cushions. The balconies are large enough for two and are very clean - there's every amenity in the room you would associate with a five star hotel.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The choice of food is excellent. We ate at the pool bar which has a very good menu and great fresh juices. We went to the Suhail rooftop restaurant/bar for a cocktail as the sun goes down - I can recommend that. The atmosphere of the whole hotel, including restaurants, is in keeping with the setting - quiet, luxurious and you feel at one with the world. No-one asks for a tip - but it is the norm here and also, I think the staff deserve it.

  • Service
    5.0

    Extremely friendly staff most of whom have excellent English. Found the room service prompt and the food good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There are a lot of activity options - fatbiking, horse riding, a falcon and saluki show, camel riding and desert dune walks. The pool is large and you can have a really good swim - the area is kept immaculately clean and the staff are very attentive in organising sun beds.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel lives up to its name, which means the Mirage Palace. I had my sister with me who was on holiday from the UK and she was simply blown away by the setting. The beds are super comfy and the view from the bedroom balcony is breathtaking - huge dunes - kind of expect Lawrence of Arabia to ride over the crest at any minute. The choice of food at breakfast is almost bewildering.

  • Location
    6.0

    We went fatbiking - it is quite challenging but fun then adjourned to the pool for some rays and a swim in the afternoon. On the night, we went for the Arabian dinner in the Falaj outdoor setting - once again, the food was terrific - and there were Arab guests there who obviously also loved the food so it is as authentic as it should be. The highlight for me was the dawn horse riding activity the next morning - I can't recommend it highly enough. Riding with the dunes as a backdrop is and exceptional experience. I would also recommend the falcon and saluki show, which was a highlight for my sister. We felt totally relaxed when we left - the guest mix crosses all ages and nationalities - and all I can tell you is that my sister said it's the best hotel she's ever stayed in - and she's stayed in a few in her time. The drive to the hotel from Abu Dhabi city is a tad long and boring - but worth it in the end. Went for a hamman treatment in the spa which, if anything, was the only thing that didn't quite come up to the mark - not really authentic at all. Would have preferred Arab staff in that setting than the more Thai experience that it is. I would say this is a great place for special treats - and a real romantic setting for any guy looking to pop the question! There was an excursion offered to the nearby oasis town of Liwa which we didn't have time to do - but it's on the bucket list now.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Xavier
A good hotel in an exceptionnal context archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • December 2013
The hotel is located in an exceptionnal place in the Liwa Desert. It is a very good hotel and very relaxing although you feel its sheer size in the breakfast room. Activities are good and varied and the pool area is a place you'll enjoy to stay. The staff is generally very helpfull. I would recommend a 4 or 5 days stay if you are in the Abu Dhabi area. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Sandra
Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • December 2013
We had a really good time in the desert. We have enjoyed the silcene and the wonderful sunrises and sunsets. You can walk along the dunes. The food was very good and there was a lot of choice. Also the breakfast buffet. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Marco
Wonderful exclusive! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The hotel is a wonderfully exclusive oasis in the middle in the liwa desert! Impressive architecture, stylish luxuriously furnished and very large villas with a private pool, great restaurants... And even for kids very suitable thanks to pool area, kid-friendly staff and great facilities such as camel rides, falkenshow and desert -Jeep Tour! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Claudia
One is spoilled and get, what you pay for archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Hotel is huge, but very well arranged and there for little guests designed not crowded Cleanliness top Wi-fi in the room was very good Lot of germans among the guests, otherwise english, locals and indians read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Unfortunately, we got the nespresso machine in motion, otherwise everything was great! Cleanliness spotless

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Deduction due to the very high prices, quality is excellent, but the cheapest bottle of wine for 42, - euro can already start! Other members here too little international cuisine complain about, i couldnt understand, the food offered something for every taste and the best! If you like, and custom can, of course, a beef fillet 200 g steak for 100 euro food... We especially the arab and asian dishes and just loved it

  • Service
    6.0

    Top service, no improvements

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pool is clean, 2 lifeguards are there, pool bar is nice and the prices of the drinks at the pool... Alcohol from 12:00 a. m.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Hotel is huge, but very well arranged and there for little guests designed not crowded Cleanliness top Wi-fi in the room was very good Lot of germans among the guests, otherwise english, locals and indians

  • Location
    6.0

    2 hour drive from the airport, but that is why you are there Nearby is fortunately only saanndd...

Close
1 3 4 5