Hotel Orca Praia(3 stars)

Estrada Monumental 355 9000-236 Funchal View on map

Average rating

598 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.1
  • Room
    5.5
  • Service
    5.1
  • Location
    4.6
  • Food and Drinks
    4.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.0
Filters
You selected:
344 hotel reviews in Englishsorted by travel date
Bernd
Very good hotel.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Nachweis erbracht
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • January 2014
It pleased us very well. The location directly at the steep coast is great. You have to the sound of the waves may. We will be safe see them again. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.5
    Größe des Badezimmers
    5.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    6.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    6.0
  • Gastronomie
    5.3
    Atmosphäre & Einrichtung
    5.0
    Geschmack & Qualität der Speisen & Getränke
    5.0
    Sauberkeit im Restaurant und am Tisch
    6.0
    Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Kompetenz (Umgang mit Reklamationen)
    5.0
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    6.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    6.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    6.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    5.3
    Zustand und Qualität des Pools
    6.0
    Kinderbetreuung oder Spielplatz
    5.0
    Freizeitangebot (Sauna, Tennis, Animation, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Familienfreundlichkeit
    5.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    5.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    6.0
    Behindertenfreundlichkeit
    5.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    4.5
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    5.0
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    3.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    5.0
    Sonstige Freizeitmöglichkeiten
    5.0
Weniger anzeigen
Dorina
Beautiful hotel with a fantastic location!
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Andere
  • January 2014
We were to 2. the 'Orca Praia' and it was a beautiful holiday. We would gladly come again into this hotel. Many thanks to all the staff! Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.8
    Größe des Badezimmers
    6.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    6.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    6.0
  • Gastronomie
    5.5
    Atmosphäre & Einrichtung
    6.0
    Geschmack & Qualität der Speisen & Getränke
    5.0
    Sauberkeit im Restaurant und am Tisch
    6.0
    Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    6.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    6.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    5.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    5.0
    Zustand und Qualität des Pools
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    6.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    6.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    4.7
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    4.0
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    4.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    6.0
Weniger anzeigen
Peter
Always gladly again.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Nachweis erbracht
  • Andere
  • January 2014
We enjoyed the stay very much. The view from the room overlooking the atlantic ocean is second to none. We can recommend this hotel. In the evening one can very beautifully at the promenade to eat and gorgeous sunsets. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0
    Größe des Badezimmers
    6.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    6.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    6.0
  • Gastronomie
    0
  • Service
    5.7
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    6.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    5.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    6.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    5.5
    Qualität des Strandes
    5.0
    Zustand und Qualität des Pools
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    5.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    5.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    5.3
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    5.0
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    5.0
    Nähe zum Strand
    6.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    5.0
Weniger anzeigen
Corinna
New year on Madeira.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Familien
  • Übersetzt
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • January 2014
Very clean rooms, good location of the hotel in Funchal with uncomplicated shuttle service by prior arrangement. Very beautiful panorama-way directly by the hotel, good for jogging. The guests were rather over 50 years old and mostly from Germany. British, french and dutch were represented. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    Very nice large rooms with comfortable bathroom and a wonderful sea view. Tv with 3 german programs. Always cleaned very well.

  • Gastronomie
    5.0

    Breakfast: there was a hot and cold buffet. The selection changed little, but there was something of everything, so that always something found, the him tasted. Always fresh pineapple, sometimes bananas, pancakes, cakes, very good selection of bread. Dinner in form of a buffet: always the 2 fish and 2 meat dishes, starters buffet and dessert buffet, in addition there was always a soup. International and portuguese cuisine, a bit apprehensive seasoned (with a little chili from the supermarket was it delicious!) Very clean tables, attentive service, the drink prices were moderate.

  • Service
    6.0

    Very friendly staff, front desk with german and english. In the restaurant english was spoken. Attentive and friendly service. Complaints were dealt with immediately and fixed. The room cleaning was spotless.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    4.0

    Entertainment in the bar in the evening were good and entertaining. Internet access 2 Euro per 30 minutes Cleanliness in the pool area was very good, unfortunately the pool water with 17 degrees too cold to swim in.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Very clean rooms, good location of the hotel in Funchal with uncomplicated shuttle service by prior arrangement. Very beautiful panorama-way directly by the hotel, good for jogging. The guests were rather over 50 years old and mostly from Germany. British, french and dutch were represented.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    5.0

    Direct access to the beach, which means you can hear the bed the atlantic waves and no traffic noise. The shopping possibilities in the area are rather rare. A rental car for a few days is to be recommended, the wonderful island to explore. Excursions to Funchal ( about 6 kilometer), with the hotel shuttle are taken. After camara de lobos there are 2 kilometer on the waterfront. A nice evening stroll.

Weniger anzeigen
Klaus
Hotel in the best location.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Andere
  • January 2014
A hotel in a beautiful location, directly on the sea. Very friendly and helpful staff. The verkehranbindungen after Funchal and on the island are good. Long tischzeiten and good, varied food round good impression from. The hotel we can only recommend it. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.0
    Größe des Badezimmers
    5.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    5.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    5.0
  • Gastronomie
    5.3
    Atmosphäre & Einrichtung
    5.0
    Geschmack & Qualität der Speisen & Getränke
    5.0
    Sauberkeit im Restaurant und am Tisch
    6.0
    Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Kompetenz (Umgang mit Reklamationen)
    5.0
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    5.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    6.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    5.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    5.0
    Zustand und Qualität des Pools
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Familienfreundlichkeit
    6.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    5.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    5.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    4.0
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    3.0
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    4.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    5.0
    Sonstige Freizeitmöglichkeiten
    4.0
Weniger anzeigen
Carmen
The regular guests drag unfortunately.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • December 2013
The location of the hotel is unique, but also isolated and remote location. All rooms, all, have a sea view! One look from the window directly on the sea. The hotel was eventually to 2008 or earlier renovated. The superior rooms have walk-in showers with black slate, mostly huge balconies, on which also two couches room! The cleanness was flawless. Wi-fi for me is pure rip-off. Half an hour with a Euro to compute! There are tagesflats from its own suppliers, the you should use. In the city there are hot spots for this. Tourists of all nationalities. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.0

    I don't know what the rooms shortly after the renovation. Now were the armchair already worn out. Who back has, the looks forward to tough mattresses. I would only the superior room! 2. pillows get! Soap, shampoo and a hair dryer, everything available.

  • Gastronomie
    2.0

    Here i prefer the hotel the first time a star from. I can much understand, everything is more expensive, but not the breakfast save. Issue scrambled eggs, if it was. A sticky, overcooked, tasteless mass. Boiled eggs, so hard, that someone hit could. Joy came on, when it finally fried eggs were. Canned fruit. In december there was pineapple in the offer. They were fresh in the morning. Bread, rolls like cardboard. Greasy sausage in the oil roasted and again the best... The bacon solid black burned on the plate put. The best is the coffee. A liquid, which one does not stand. Sorry, but after 4 days one then finally on the city or covers evening before with having dog treats a. Dinner i can't review. Due to some complaints 2008 i have never used it.

  • Service
    6.0

    German speaking staff. Friendly and courteous. Cleaning flawless.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    6.0

    Pool and the whole area was in great condition. The descent until there is wadenkrämpfe arise.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The location of the hotel is unique, but also isolated and remote location. All rooms, all, have a sea view! One look from the window directly on the sea. The hotel was eventually to 2008 or earlier renovated. The superior rooms have walk-in showers with black slate, mostly huge balconies, on which also two couches room! The cleanness was flawless. Wi-fi for me is pure rip-off. Half an hour with a Euro to compute! There are tagesflats from its own suppliers, the you should use. In the city there are hot spots for this. Tourists of all nationalities.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    5.0

    The only geröllstrand is under the hotel. With surf is it dangerous. If you don't fit or even impeded, with the steep descent problems. In the proximity there is absolutely nothing. One tippelt good 2 miles to the next kioks. Bus stop directly before the door and please sooner rather be there. The giroticket in the city charge, otherwise it will be hard. Bus or car you, the hotel is rich 5 miles away from Funchal. The pool bar only in good weather on. Who missed breakfast, the hungers a way. There is a bar in the hotel. Never used them. Spa are also available. For those who need it, just ask at the reception or in the elevator look.

Weniger anzeigen
Udo
Absolutely recommendable
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Nachweis erbracht
  • Andere
  • December 2013
The Orca Praia is absolutely recommendable. Great view, nice room and friendly staff. We had only booked with breakfast, this was ok. The drinks at the bar tasted not at all. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.0
    Größe des Badezimmers
    4.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    5.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    6.0
  • Gastronomie
    4.5
    Atmosphäre & Einrichtung
    4.0
    Sauberkeit im Restaurant und am Tisch
    5.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    4.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    5.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    4.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    4.0
    Zustand und Qualität des Pools
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    5.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    5.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    3.5
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    3.0
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    4.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    4.0
    Sonstige Freizeitmöglichkeiten
    3.0
Weniger anzeigen
Uta
Hotel in calm situation with a fantastic view of the ocean.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Nachweis erbracht
  • Andere
  • December 2013
We have us in the orca praja very well and were treated very friendly. The hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of the room, which was very spacious, the cleanliness and the condition in all respects to. We had booked half board, which was very useful for the location (outside funchal and therefore hardly possibility which to find). Breakfast was always plentiful and always got re-filled and the evening buffet is every cup of tea. You could between some dishes. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    The rooms were very roomy and very well furnished. We booked a room with a balcony and were not disappointed. The bathroom was also very big and everything available, which one needs. Air conditioning and fridge were not available, which we didn't really bother us, because we not so hot in december was, but in the summer it is very hot in the room. The is missing. Direct sunlight the temperature in the room by. Tv with 3 german programs available. Receipt well.

  • Gastronomie
    6.0

    In the restaurant was the breakfast buffet and dinner. These were very clean and the staff was the guests very friendly. They were all very courteous. Service was very good. The atmosphere was very friendly, you were always greeted, if you came to the meal. The food there was nothing to complain about, taste was good. For everyone there was something. Full there was always.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was always very friendly and tried hard, the guests to dedicate. At the front desk could all speak german, they understood well and could therefore all questions or desires edit. The cleaning of the room was very good, everything was always clean and tidy.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    4.0

    Pool was available, but not used in the december. Looked however everything very clean. Activities such as sport or a. were not available.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We have us in the orca praja very well and were treated very friendly. The hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of the room, which was very spacious, the cleanliness and the condition in all respects to. We had booked half board, which was very useful for the location (outside funchal and therefore hardly possibility which to find). Breakfast was always plentiful and always got re-filled and the evening buffet is every cup of tea. You could between some dishes.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    5.0

    The hotel is located directly on the sea, if you opened the balcony door, you could hear the sound of the ocean. A view as from the catalog. It was outside of Funchal, so was the use of the hotelbusses after Funchal or own drive with bus necessary, but the connection was very good. Above the hotel was the bus stop, and easy to reach. Otherwise there was nothing else in the area, very quiet.

Weniger anzeigen
Tobi
Nice hotel with fantastic ocean view
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • November 2013
No significant deficiencies. Most guests are Germans pensioners. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    Our room was very neatly, cleaned up every day, perfect! An air condition and refrigerator were missing (all room are on the south side and having fantastic ocean view).

  • Gastronomie
    4.0

    We only booked bed and breakfast. Dinner buffet in the Hotels Restaurant was offered for 20 Euros per Person and day. We prefered to eat in other Restaurants for having an greater selection and eating cheaper. The beakfast buffet was extensive and satisfying.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff ist helpful, speaks fluent english and also other languages. The free Shuttle Bus to Funchal is very useful. Additional Services (wifi, fan, leisure-time activities) are available but expensive.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    4.0

    We didnt use the entertainment offers. As we noticed, the pool and the live Music in the evening are for free. Spa, Wellness and games (i. e. billiard, game console) seem to be very expensive.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    No significant deficiencies. Most guests are Germans pensioners.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    4.0

    This Hotel is located between Funchal (6km to centre) and Camara de Lobos (2km). There are no Shopping facilities and only a few Restaurants in close proximity. There is a stony sand beach directly in front of the hotel. There are some restaurants on the upper street to Funchal and on the beach promanade reachable by foot. There are shopping Centers (Forum Madeira, Continente) at Sao Martinho, an Suburb of funchal, reachable in 30 to 45 minutes by foot. You can reach the centre of Funchal along the beach by foot within two hours and by the free Hotel Shuttle Bus within 20 Minutes.

Weniger anzeigen
Serge
One of the best vacations
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Badeferien
  • November 2013
Original design. Modern and convenient interior, large rooms, huge balcony, every room has a sea view. Very clean. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    Very large rooms, all with sea view. Huge balcony. AC is not needed there. Bathroom was very clean and modern. TV worked perfectly (though we didn't watch it a lot). Hearing the sound of the sea at night - it was very impressive. I missed it a lot the first few days after coming back...

  • Gastronomie
    5.0

    Good restaurant. We only had breakfast there. The choice of food was good enough, its quality was very good. Eating area was clean. I went to the bar only once, there were just a few people. The bar at the pool was OK. I didn't like coffee there and took it only once - that's the only reason why I rate this item as "good".

  • Service
    6.0

    Friendly and helpful staff ready to answer any of your questions or to address your concerns. For example, they fixed the phone line in our room in ~10 min after I reported about the problem. Their English is very good. I heard the same people from staff talking German pretty fluently. The room was cleaned regularly and very well.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    5.0

    I saw some ads about entertainment, but I'm not sure anything of it happened. Probably because of November and low season... The pool is good: large, clean. There was enough sunbeds: only about 1/5 of them maximum was occupied.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Original design. Modern and convenient interior, large rooms, huge balcony, every room has a sea view. Very clean.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    6.0

    Madeira beaches are not great in general, but this one is one of the best available. It's not very close to the city, but it's a very calm and quiet location, although pretty close to Funchal and Camara de Lobos.

Weniger anzeigen
Ute
Wonderful vacation in a great location!
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • November 2013
A hotel, perfect in the cliffs integrated, with (i think) 124 rooms, where each room has an ocean view. The hotel was renovated several years ago and it was in a good condition. It will virtually always cleaned or tidied up, but not disturbing. I always find it positive, if you on order applies. We had half board - but i also believe be booked only breakfast. Guest structure was mostly german, but also some portuguese i could mind. From the ages are we with mid -30 more in the younger field located... Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    We had room 608 - in the immediate vicinity of the elevator and the stairs. No noise. All of the rooms have sea view and a big balcony. The room had a very nice size (circa 35 square meter) in the you to 2. good can hang out. I liked the large shower with a glass division very good. Toilet, bidet and sink were always clean. It was cleaned every day, we had nothing to complain about. Only a clothes rack for bedsheets or briefly durchgewaschene funktionsshirts we would have liked to have had. Tv was great - including remote control, only 3 german programs, but who wants on holiday tv?

  • Gastronomie
    6.0

    I have never seen in a hotel of this class was such a comprehensive, healthy and delicious buffet found. The dishes repeated after a week, so we had the opportunity, in the 2. the to try, what with the first time be omitted had. Daily a nice, extensive breakfast buffet with coffee, tea, bread/rolls, fruit, cereals, jam, sausage and cheese as well as british (sausages, egg, bacon, beans). In the evening large, delicious salad buffet with various dressing, 2 meat and 2 fish dishes, various side dishes, soups and a dessert buffet, the my projects the healthy diet a bit difficult. Nevertheless i could my weight! The kitchen style was between portuguese and german laid out, i found the prices for the drinks ok! Bottle of wine 9-14 Euro, water 0.75 liter 3,50 Euro, glass wine about 3 Euro.

  • Service
    6.0

    From the front desk upon arrival about the staff in the restaurant to the cleaning staff were all very friendly. Most of them spoke a little german, i speak spanish, and a few words of portuguese tried, we had so much fun! Everyone got what he wanted! There is a spa area available, which we didn't use, the price ok. We had no complaints, the evening entertainment was offered, but also not used.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    6.0

    There is the sea a nice pool with pool chairs and a pool bar. Because of the wind it was me in november too cold for swimming, otherwise a very nice facility. Over the beach promenade above and you are at the beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas at the pool, but i think, that might be for no a problem, since the promenade not wide, the beach anytime again leave could.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    A hotel, perfect in the cliffs integrated, with (i think) 124 rooms, where each room has an ocean view. The hotel was renovated several years ago and it was in a good condition. It will virtually always cleaned or tidied up, but not disturbing. I always find it positive, if you on order applies. We had half board - but i also believe be booked only breakfast. Guest structure was mostly german, but also some portuguese i could mind. From the ages are we with mid -30 more in the younger field located...

  • Lage und Umgebung
    6.0

    I personally thought the location on the steep coast simply genial! Families with small children may have trouble, because the path to the beach and pool over steps and a path down leads, it is only a very small pool available. The handicapped or not quite physically abled seniors, the hillside and the stages on a permanent basis have difficulty. It was alright for us - we are avid hikers and healthy - we are like a little on the promenade in the direction of the Funchal or after camara do lobos (circa 30 minutes) walked. The airport was by car in about 15-20 minutes, excursions in maximally one hour. We are a couple of times Funchal drive, to the Forum Madeira (shopping center) about 5 minutes, to the port/ altstadtgebiet maximum 15 minutes with much traffic. Bus stop directly at the hotel, there is also a hotel shuttle after Funchal, which we did not use both.

Weniger anzeigen
Peter
For 3 time here - again gorgeous.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Badeferien
  • November 2013
After 2008 and 2010 we were again here in this ** * hotel. The hotel is in the hillside and therefore there are only room with a sea view. The rooms are different in size and equipment up to the suite. The terraces of the terrace room are generous in the dimensions, as they are almost all the dimensions of the including presides room are. The entrance to the hotel is from the road on the top floor! The hotel has no pool, but a pay spa department. Important: the hotel is not suitable for small children and people with ... bewegungseinschränkung. Meanwhile almost daily evening entertainment in the bar (top floor) with live music (room to small), group dances, magician, folk dance - wine tasting and poncha (honig/rum/maracuja) action. Unfortunately at our time almost no visitors. Planned is probably a small building-increase to transfer the bar after further up the prevention of harassment by smell the including presides rooms. The dining room is down in the last floor. The hotel is ideal for hikers, the guided hikes through the levadas book. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    Here there are different categories to the spacious suite. Everything is perfectly maintained. Safe against fee. Windows and bathrooms were only a few years renewed. Tv with 3 german channels (ARD-RTL-satellite) No air conditioning.

  • Gastronomie
    4.0

    The breakfast was adequate. Dinner: soup, starters buffet, dessert buffet always the best. The small hauptmenübüfett itself was different, but almost always there was something for everyone. To complain about is the bar service during our stay. No matter, whether poncha, Singapore sling, Martini or san francisco - the advertising movie everything was for the eyes carelessly zusammengegossen and water glasses - even with at least one separately serierten nearby eats. The taste the optics.

  • Service
    5.0

    The hotel is simple - all of whom have obviously joy with the work, were friendly and nice and even the reception you try the guest all possible to fulfill all wishes. Wi-fi zone and 2 pay internet spots available.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    3.0

    Entertainment at the pool was not used by us and will certainly be in the pre and off-season by seeking guests didn't wish.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    After 2008 and 2010 we were again here in this ** * hotel. The hotel is in the hillside and therefore there are only room with a sea view. The rooms are different in size and equipment up to the suite. The terraces of the terrace room are generous in the dimensions, as they are almost all the dimensions of the including presides room are. The entrance to the hotel is from the road on the top floor! The hotel has no pool, but a pay spa department. Important: the hotel is not suitable for small children and people with bewegungseinschränkung. Meanwhile almost daily evening entertainment in the bar (top floor) with live music (room to small), group dances, magician, folk dance - wine tasting and poncha (honig/rum/maracuja) action. Unfortunately at our time almost no visitors. Planned is probably a small building-increase to transfer the bar after further up the prevention of harassment by smell the including presides rooms. The dining room is down in the last floor. The hotel is ideal for hikers, the guided hikes through the levadas book.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    6.0

    Ideally located in the formosa bay, nestled between Funchal and lobos. For lobos at the foot of the largest cliff of europe (cabo girao) it went either on again fixed beach promenade or the upper street in 45 minutes walk. ( for me one of the malerichsten and gorgeous places with fishing port, 2 things churches nosa senhora coucciao and Fatima, shops including a small supermarket pingo doce, winery, dining etc.). From there steep climb up to the restaurant teleferico with panorama view possible. After Funchal it is in the other direction first on the promenade with a redirection interruption, a short kiesstrecke, through a pedestrian underpass A small supermarket and uphill to a large shopping mall (forum) overall approximately 45 minutes. Continue on the road to Funchal centrum Another hour. Lobos and Funchal can but also against about 2 €with the public bus (stop before the hotel) or with the anmeldepflichtigen, free shuttle bus from the hotel to Funchal in 15 minutes. From the lowest floor of the hotel 61 steps down and then a about 100 meters long, steep, paved path down to the hotel pool with snack bar. From there one comes into a few steps with the little promenade to the sea. (gravel/sand beach). Of course this path must also again up to be taken!

Weniger anzeigen
Walter
Nice hotel with a great view - really recommenda.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • November 2013
Nice hotel, great view - highly recommended Cleanliness of the rooms were perfect; breakfast absolutely ok for a ** * - star hotel; very attentive staff in the breakfast room. For wi-fi, you had to pay; At the front desk was the commitment and the friendliness of the ladies limited; they have more or less friendly your job - but not more. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.0

    The rooms are sufficiently large. We have in the first stick used, so at the top. Very large terrace with beautiful views of the sea. Very quiet. Nice, large bathroom. Only the hair dryer is for today's standards a disaster. I had no foehn thereby, since the hotel-own foehn always sufficient had. Here i me right in Funchal buy one! Cleanliness absolutely in order.

  • Gastronomie
    5.0

    We had just bed and breakfast, so the quality of the meals - except the breakfast - not judge. Breakfast was however for a ** * star hotel absolutely in order.

  • Service
    5.0

    As i said, the front desk staff was not very friendly. We had however to you no demands, in this respect, we could ignore that. Room cleaning was very good; there was nothing to complain about.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    Nice hotel, great view - highly recommended Cleanliness of the rooms were perfect; breakfast absolutely ok for a ** * - star hotel; very attentive staff in the breakfast room. For wi-fi, you had to pay; At the front desk was the commitment and the friendliness of the ladies limited; they have more or less friendly your job - but not more.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    5.0

    You can take public transport in the city and the surrounding area is. Bus stop directly before the house. Perfect connection. Bus transfer to Funchal circa 10 minutes

Weniger anzeigen
Karina
Nice and quiet hotel with superb location
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Badeferien
  • October 2013
This hotel is superbly located: in front of the promenade along the ocean and close to the beach. You can walk to Camara dos Lobos in approximately 20 min. and you can also walk in the other direction to the Lido-area. Walking to the old center of Funchal was too far for us.However, you can go to Funchal with the hotel courtesy bus or with the citybus that stops in front of the hotel. A great advantage of the hotel is that every room has an oceanview, we could not get enough of it! The rooms are very spacious ..., but rather warm when you enter the room(no airco), after opening the windows it is okay.The hotel is very clean and has a friendly staff. We chose half board: the breakfast was really okay, the buffets for dinner could have been more varied.The pool is very clean, there are always free sunbeds and umbrellas. The towelservice is also very interesting(10 euro for a towel, but you get the money back at the end of you stay).Nice stretching and dancelessons(3/w) at the pool and in the bar (2/w). Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.5
    Größe des Badezimmers
    6.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    5.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    6.0
  • Gastronomie
    4.5
    Atmosphäre & Einrichtung
    5.0
    Geschmack & Qualität der Speisen & Getränke
    5.0
    Sauberkeit im Restaurant und am Tisch
    5.0
    Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken
    3.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    6.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    6.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    5.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    5.7
    Qualität des Strandes
    6.0
    Zustand und Qualität des Pools
    6.0
    Freizeitangebot (Sauna, Tennis, Animation, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    6.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    6.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    4.5
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    3.0
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    3.0
    Nähe zum Strand
    6.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    6.0
Weniger anzeigen
Petra
Direct sea view and the sound of waves on the outskirts.
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Städtereisen
  • October 2013
We had a suite, which was very spacious with a very large balcony. It was super quiet and had a fantastic view over the sea and sunset. Very suitable for peace loving people, less for families. Breakfast was average, with little variety, quite noisy in the room, but nice view. Mostly german, older guests. In the evening we in neighbouring local food. The pool was also peaceful, no shortage of free beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. Staff could be friendlier. Most helpful one was at the desk, but otherwise a procedural partly ruppige routine. Price-performance ratio was really good. Distance to ... Funchal-mitte but quite large. Travel agent spoke of 2 hour walk. In Funchal mitte is currently the whole waterfront ripped and expanded. Significant sichteinschränkungen and noise. Regular busvewrbindungen (all 30 minutes) in front of the hotel, shuttle bus from the hotel free of charge, but sometimes fast. Nice walk after camara de lobos (about 35 minutes) on the promenade. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.0

    See above. Bathroom was large and clean, 3 german channels ARD, RTL, Sat.1, Chair in the room were worn out. Minibar, safe, beach chair for the balcony everything against fee! A shame!

  • Gastronomie
    4.0

    1 restaurant/breakfast room See above Very loud busy the waiter, slammed the cutlery and crockery In closets... , you could have been quieter can do. Everything was clean.

  • Service
    3.0

    Friendliness: see above Room service was very good! Wishes, such additional hangers (very little space for wardrobe) were fulfilled immediately.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    4.0

    Sport offers were little on the guests. Nice, large and well-kept pool. Water was a bit cool (about 19 o) Rest of see above. Good massage, you should definitely try it. Evening entertainment rather quiet, for the elderly.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We had a suite, which was very spacious with a very large balcony. It was super quiet and had a fantastic view over the sea and sunset. Very suitable for peace loving people, less for families. Breakfast was average, with little variety, quite noisy in the room, but nice view. Mostly german, older guests. In the evening we in neighbouring local food. The pool was also peaceful, no shortage of free beach chairs, umbrellas, etc.. Staff could be friendlier. Most helpful one was at the desk, but otherwise a procedural partly ruppige routine. Price-performance ratio was really good. Distance to Funchal-mitte but quite large. Travel agent spoke of 2 hour walk. In Funchal mitte is currently the whole waterfront ripped and expanded. Significant sichteinschränkungen and noise. Regular busvewrbindungen (all 30 minutes) in front of the hotel, shuttle bus from the hotel free of charge, but sometimes fast. Nice walk after camara de lobos (about 35 minutes) on the promenade.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    4.0

    Beach directly before the door. Small and black. Airport about 30 minutes. Shopping not possible in the immediate vicinity. Excursions through the travel agency, which does not come punctually was, similarly began the excursions unfortunately always with 20-30 minutes late. A shame, qwenn you extra get up early and you had the impression, that the lost time in the places worth seeing again be deducted.

Weniger anzeigen
Sven
Orca praia - again in any case
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Familien
  • Übersetzt
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • October 2013
The hotel is built on a rock and in comparison to other hotels a interesting architecture. The small lobby and the front desk are located, together with the bar on the top floor. The other floors are over three small elevators or the stairs downwards to reach. The pool is located at the bottom to the gravel/sand beach and is only separated by the promenade, the jogging used. The promenade leads to a page in a picturesque fishing village, on the other hand, he three restaurants and ends on a wall. Direction funchal must the beach used. The exact number ... of rooms is me not well-known. Apparently the hotel was during our stay was fully booked. This noticed we however hardly. In the restaurant was holding, but there was no queue at the buffet, every time there were plenty of beach chairs to get. To reserve beach chairs there were not. The hotel is in top condition and the cleanliness was exemplary. This applies to both the toilets, and the restaurant or the pool area. There were a lot of tourists from germany and france in the hotel. During the day were few guests in the hotel. There were many excursions and hiking actively used. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    Our room in the 4. floor was very large, so that we also have four people och sufficiently place had. There is a tv, a hair dryer and an incredible view. For four persons the closets were a bit tight, for two persons but absolutely sufficient. The castle for the safe was for a fee of 10 euro + 20 euro bail at the reception. There is no air conditioning, which during our stay also not missed. The balcony was also exceptionally large and two sliding doors to enter. There is a lamp, so that one also in the evening well can hang out. As already mentioned everything was very clean and well maintained.

  • Gastronomie
    5.0

    Breakfast and dinner are served at the panorama restaurant (etage -9) taken. You have not booked half-board, you pay for the dinner 20 euro per person. With the meal one can enjoy a wonderful view of the sea. The previous reviews is to read, that guests of the hotel with the food to the part were unhappy, so that we also skeptical the meals were across, which fortunately completely unjustified was. Breakfast has at least two types of bread, two rolls and croissants to offer. There are several types of sausage and cheese. Furthermore, there were sausages, bacon, beans and eggs in the offer. Muesli and cornflakes, different fruit and yogurt offered. There are two types of juices, coffee, cocoa, tea, milk. With the coffee the tastes certainly apart. Us it tasted really good. Other guests were less impressed. The dinner was for us also always be catered for. There were usually two sorts of fish and a meat dish, as well as beilagenin form of potatoes, rice or noodles was offered. Furthermore, there was salad and dessert including ice cream. Us it tasted always very good. We stayed in the last few years on a regular basis in riu-hotels, in which the part of a bigger offer. The orca praia, however, at least on a par. There is a wine list, as well as the usual alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was always friendly and understood english. At the reception also spoke very good german. We were there with our two sons (7 and 10 years) in the hotel and were first somewhat sceptically, since neither madeira the orca praia pleasant appeared. The hotel is certainly a different audience as families with children, but our children with open arms. Our söhn felt in the hotel 'at home' and regretted it very, that the vacation already so early to At the end of was. In the room we got two setting beds for the smallest, which due to the room size worked out well. A playground or child animation gives it not. The rooms were always cleaned very thoroughly.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    4.0

    The pool is a medium size. The water was very clean and the whole area is available throughout the day, very conscientious well maintained. There are towels at the reception (per towel 10 euro deposit) there is a pool bar, where snacks can be taken (hamburger came with us especially good). Otherwise there were various spa treatments, which were however not used by us. At the pool in the mornings aerobics took place. The evening entertainment was limited to dance nights (monday, wednesday, friday), a weekly magic show (well) and a folklore evening. These events are organised in the bar. The entertainment was not always fully our taste, other guests were apparently satisfied

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is built on a rock and in comparison to other hotels a interesting architecture. The small lobby and the front desk are located, together with the bar on the top floor. The other floors are over three small elevators or the stairs downwards to reach. The pool is located at the bottom to the gravel/sand beach and is only separated by the promenade, the jogging used. The promenade leads to a page in a picturesque fishing village, on the other hand, he three restaurants and ends on a wall. Direction funchal must the beach used. The exact number of rooms is me not well-known. Apparently the hotel was during our stay was fully booked. This noticed we however hardly. In the restaurant was holding, but there was no queue at the buffet, every time there were plenty of beach chairs to get. To reserve beach chairs there were not. The hotel is in top condition and the cleanliness was exemplary. This applies to both the toilets, and the restaurant or the pool area. There were a lot of tourists from germany and france in the hotel. During the day were few guests in the hotel. There were many excursions and hiking actively used.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    5.0

    Distance to the airport: about 12 kilometers, of funchal: about 5 kilometres. In the immediate vicinity about the pool which promenade some restaurants, but we did not try out. More dining or shopping one experienced in funchal or on the way there. Above the hotel which runs the bus line 01, after funchal and the harbor promenade after about 20 minute walk. Tickets are available at the front desk (3.30 euros for two travels) or with the bus driver (1.90 euro per ride). It is electronic tickets, the remainder will be charged,. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus, several times daily the opportunity, to funchal. (reservation at the reception is required). We had a rental car from europcar (renault clio -218 euro for 5 days). It was a perfect car for the well-preserved, but partly narrow streets. The traffic was' took some getting used to ' announced. These we couldn't tell.

Weniger anzeigen
Marcus
Sea view!
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Wander- und Wellnessurlaub
  • October 2013
The hotel is in great condition and very well-maintained. The rooms of the hotel are very large and the balcony with 17 square meter Can't be bettered. The free shuttle service to the center of funchal is very pleasant. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    6.0

    As already said, the rooms are in its size almost unique and the balcony was a dream! The bathroom is also very large and the cleaning leaves nothing to be desired. We enjoyed a small fridge or similar was missing. Air conditioning is an option but no must. The sound of the ocean and the evening air replace technical equipment.

  • Gastronomie
    5.0

    The food and drink the standard of the hotel (3 *) adequate, only the coffee is something to get used to. There was always enough food and the taste was ok. The prices for the drinks we found adequate. In Germany for example, cost. A large beer also 3,50 Euro to €4.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff was always friendly to us and had for us all with a smile on the lips. We could wonderfully communicate in english, partly also on german. A few words of portuguese make the whole thing easier and we have been with a smile. The rooms were cleaned daily to our full satisfaction and special requests were immediately fulfilled.

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    5.0

    The pool is very pleasant and not too busy. There were always enough beach chairs available. The toilet at the pool is clean and the shower also.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is in great condition and very well-maintained. The rooms of the hotel are very large and the balcony with 17 square meter Can't be bettered. The free shuttle service to the center of funchal is very pleasant.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    5.0

    The hotel is located in a bay and is from the street, not as such. The access to the beach promenade is about the pool access solution. The distance to a supermarket is in both directions given (circa 25-30 minutes). The supermarket in direction Funchal is easier to find, in camara de lobos is above the local market. Restaurants nearby, you will find some, the best part was the 'Espada preta' in camara de lobos much.

Weniger anzeigen
Martin
Beautifully designed hotel with friendly staff!
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Nachweis erbracht
  • Badeferien
  • September 2013
+ spacious, clean rooms + each room with sea view and balcony + large bathroom with glaswanddusche + / - the average age during our stay was about 40-45 years, most of them from Germany and England. - wi-fi is only for payment, and only in the reception area available - the hotel bar is quite boring and unemotionally, despite live band, which but not really good entertainment offered. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.0

    + the rooms are spacious, with balcony and balkonschiebetüren equipped + comfortable, not too soft and not too hard beds + nice, spacious bathroom with plates and glass wall shower + clean and well maintained + existing nachtvorhänge, the rooms good darkening shades to + large modern flat-screen tv (even with international channels!) - safety deposit box was without a lock (!) And therefore useless as a safe (more than decent place to retention for money and key suitable; since we but no valuable things include had, we also did not complain).

  • Gastronomie
    4.0

    + large buffet with plenty of choice + the restaurant is very pleasant and comfortably furnished, comfortable chairs and tables are tablecloths available + / - quite bland food, which heavily on the origin of the tourists (England, Germany) is oriented. - very boring, ultra-classical background music, which day-a, day-out and always repeated themselves (probably speaks rather the older generations!)

  • Service
    6.0

    + the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful + with english no problems communicating, german is it rather difficult, to communicate + the rooms were always to our best satisfaction was cleaned and cleared up

  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    6.0

    + the pool is very clean, spacious and there were always enough beach chairs and umbrellas available, which could be used. + at night is the pool color lit (by underwater lighting) - the pool can officially only from 9a 19 o'clock use, outside these times, it is for cleaning closed (unofficially will presumably bother anyone, if a guest is exceptionally a midnight bathroom treat yourself!)

  • Hotel
    5.0

    + spacious, clean rooms + each room with sea view and balcony + large bathroom with glaswanddusche + / - the average age during our stay was about 40-45 years, most of them from Germany and England. - wi-fi is only for payment, and only in the reception area available - the hotel bar is quite boring and unemotionally, despite live band, which but not really good entertainment offered.

  • Lage und Umgebung
    6.0

    + the hotel is located very close to the pebble stone beach, which still a few areas of black sand (from volocano rocks) offers + with the public bus (number 01) takes you within about 15 minutes to the city center fenchal and back (the bus runs about every half hour) + the hotel offers a private shuttle bus to the centre of town, this however must be ordered in advance. + / - in the immediate vicinity there was only a restaurant, which we however never visited, since the city numerous to choose from.

Weniger anzeigen
F. Erasmus
Hotel ok,
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Nachweis erbracht
  • Andere
  • September 2013
For a week's stay and as a starting point for other activities on the island the hotel is completely in order. You even had a, though, rocky beach. A rented car is recommended however. Half-board, there are definitely better options in Funchal and the neighboring areas. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.0
    Größe des Badezimmers
    5.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    5.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    5.0
  • Gastronomie
    4.0
    Atmosphäre & Einrichtung
    4.0
    Geschmack & Qualität der Speisen & Getränke
    3.0
    Sauberkeit im Restaurant und am Tisch
    5.0
    Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken
    4.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Kompetenz (Umgang mit Reklamationen)
    5.0
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    5.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    5.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    4.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    5.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    5.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    3.3
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    3.0
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    3.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    4.0
    Sonstige Freizeitmöglichkeiten
    3.0
Weniger anzeigen
Alexander
All in all a good hotel
  • Weiterempfohlen
  • Paare
  • Übersetzt
  • Andere
  • September 2013
All in all a good hotel, only the furniture is very worn. The breakfast monotonously with any significant variety and you get instant coffee for breakfast. Not recommended is the buffet, rather with the taxi to one of the many restaurants eating. Bewertung lesen
  • Zimmer
    5.3
    Größe des Badezimmers
    5.0
    Sauberkeit & Wäschewechsel
    5.0
    Ausstattung des Zimmers (TV, Balkon, Safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Größe des Zimmers
    6.0
  • Gastronomie
    2.0
    Atmosphäre & Einrichtung
    2.0
    Geschmack & Qualität der Speisen & Getränke
    1.0
    Sauberkeit im Restaurant und am Tisch
    4.0
    Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken
    1.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Kompetenz (Umgang mit Reklamationen)
    4.0
    Rezeption, Einchecken, Auschecken
    5.0
    Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft
    5.0
    Fremdsprachenkenntnisse des Personals
    5.0
  • Sport und Unterhaltung
    3.0
    Zustand und Qualität des Pools
    5.0
    Freizeitangebot (Sauna, Tennis, Animation, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Familienfreundlichkeit
    3.0
    Zustand des Hotels
    4.0
    Allgemeine Sauberkeit der einzelnen Bereiche
    5.0
    Behindertenfreundlichkeit
    4.0
  • Lage und Umgebung
    2.8
    Restaurants & Bars in der Nähe
    2.0
    Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in Umgebung
    2.0
    Verkehrsanbindung und Ausflugsmöglichkeiten
    5.0
    Sonstige Freizeitmöglichkeiten
    2.0
Weniger anzeigen
1 3 4 5 ... 18