Hotel Riu Palace Madeira(4 stars)

Praia dos Reis Magos 9125 Caniço de Baixo View on map

Average rating

685 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.4
  • Room
    5.5
  • Service
    5.7
  • Location
    4.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.4
  • Sport & entertain
    5.1
Filters
You selected:
355 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Anja
Hotel for retirees.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • January 2014
The hotel makes at least at this time of the year more the impression of a senior residence. Corresponding is also the service and the decor, from the gummibettlaken about the opening times of the sauna and spa services, who during the day excursions did, has nothing of the offered. The breakfast buffet was good quality not particularly and also not very varied. Internet is only available in the lobby. For the price we would have expected more! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Katrin
Enjoy pure pampering.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Countryside & spa
  • December 2013
We had originally booked the neighboring hotel. Disappointed there, we changed to the Riu Palace. The decision gave us a wonderful vacation. Everything was pure enjoyment, nothing to complain about. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Manfred
Great island, great hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2013
Had room with a partial ocean view. Big enough. Relatively old furniture, (typical Riu-furniture) the room cleaning was very thorough and clean. Free wi-fi only for 30 minutes in the lounge bar. We had booked all inclusive, we were very pleased with it. Lunch in the restaurant with a wide selection of food. When the weather on the terrace. Drinks served. Very good buffet dinner, for us, better than in many other 4 star hotels. Guest structure predominantly 50 plus, all elegant, respectable people. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Everything was fine, clean and big enough. Minibar with mineral water filled for free. Furniture old Riu-standard, but everything was clean, the age of the furniture didn't bother us.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Everything was very good, especially the dinner. Existing 2. restaurant was not used by us, since we have not really recommendable, in the main restaurant everything was top.

  • Service
    5.0

    Friendliness of the staff's friendliness was very good. Foreign languages mostly english, it was also with german. Complaints as fast as possible was repaired, not working fridge. Since the air-conditioning of the hotel staff was, on complaint an electric heater brought. Pleasant for the bathroom.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Two outdoor pools, one of which is heated. Was used by the guests. Number of the beach chairs this time sufficient, one should however in occupancy to the sun make sure. Many beach chairs were already relatively early in the shade.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Had room with a partial ocean view. Big enough. Relatively old furniture, (typical Riu-furniture) the room cleaning was very thorough and clean. Free wi-fi only for 30 minutes in the lounge bar. We had booked all inclusive, we were very pleased with it. Lunch in the restaurant with a wide selection of food. When the weather on the terrace. Drinks served. Very good buffet dinner, for us, better than in many other 4 star hotels. Guest structure predominantly 50 plus, all elegant, respectable people.

  • Location
    5.0

    It is i believe everything written, not a beach hotel, no night life. Daily free shuttle to Funchal. Municipal buses in the vicinity of the hotel. Airport shuttle about 20-30 minutes.

Close
Heidi
The food quality as 2012.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • December 2013
This hotel is a lot written about and in many ways i can reviewers before me only attach. But i was in the summer of 2012 14 tg. There and the food was much better. Not only the diversity, but also from the taste. All sauces very diluted, the meat was often tough and always the same salads. The was 2012 better, there were still no - all-inclusive. The hotel would do well, this change. We stayed with some talked to other guests, which the same opinion are. And probably are therefore now 70% english in the hotel, in the ... year 2012 80% german guests and the rest other nationalities. Very sad. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Matthias
Actually okay.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • November 2013
Very large, tidy house. Essentially focused on guests, who spend the entire day in the pool. Equipment adequate, wi-fi in the lobby free for a 60 - minute session per day free, apart from this 5 Euros per day or 20 Euros per two weeks. All German TV channels available. Safety deposit box : 2.50 Euros per day. There is nothing bad about this hotel actually, but nothing exceptionally good either. The evening buffet is a little strange: Turkish moussaka, liverwurst marked as Foie Gras etc. And the price for the worst chili con carne they themselves deserved very well! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Ilona & Michael
Recommendable hotel, various island!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • November 2013
The hotel is certainly not the newest, but in every corner it was very clean and tidy. The staff is always friendly and helpful. We had all-inclusive, we can also recommend. Although we also with the car the island to have explored, so all inclusive in the whole but worth it. Since the drink prices with Germany comparable, in the bar evenings quickly a few Euro vertrunken. Those who don't want this, is certainly also with hp well served. The structure of the guests was safe a bit older, but at the time, we were there, we could also few ... pairs in our age mind. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are very spacious and clean. In our opinion there is almost nothing to complain about. The carpet could be replaced, the already. The dark furniture, the already 'insulted' were, we couldn't complain, the fits absolutely the style of the hotel.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We have read a few reviews and were a little worried because of the meal, since but the one or the other rating is not so positive. We must ask ourselves, however, what people are and how the live at home. The food was absolutely delicious. At the salad bar is, in fact, almost the same every day to find (the complaint of another guest), however, there were every day 'everything' which the heart desired! What do i want more? Every day only 5 sorts, but something different every day?!? Then nehm' i nevertheless rather each day of everything! The food repeated on a weekly basis. But even in our 2. week we still have something else found, although we were at one-two days even over the repetition pleased! A tip to the dessert: During the evening, next to the soup a chef and served ice cream with hot fruit and a shot 'vitamins'! Very delicious! There were 2 meal times (6:00 p. m. and 8:00 p. m.) and you get at the beginning of a fixed table. That was very pleasant, because no need to fight for the best table is. We have at no time felt, that all-inclusive guests are treated differently, as half board guests. Great service!

  • Service
    6.0

    The service is fantastic. The staff is so friendly, as we rarely experienced it. Almost all speak german and to have also always a kind word ready. The room cleaning was super. We booked directly on the first day notice, that our patio door did not close correctly, within a few minutes was maintenance man as and everything was taken care of.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There is a small gym with what looks like new equipment. At the time we were there, not very well visited, if things were otherwise, would probably a treadmill missing. The pool is in the november always a place to get! There are 2 pools, one of which would be a bit warmer.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel is certainly not the newest, but in every corner it was very clean and tidy. The staff is always friendly and helpful. We had all-inclusive, we can also recommend. Although we also with the car the island to have explored, so all inclusive in the whole but worth it. Since the drink prices with Germany comparable, in the bar evenings quickly a few Euro vertrunken. Those who don't want this, is certainly also with hp well served. The structure of the guests was safe a bit older, but at the time, we were there, we could also few pairs in our age mind.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located directly on the sea. Beach was none available, you know that but usually, if you Madeira bay. To night life Canico we cannot say anything, since we in the evening never were gone. In the hotel was always a little for entertainment. And Funchal probably also the one or the other to offer, for the, the are with the car on the way. Shopping, for the, the, is not all-inclusive, are in the near distance given. Almost directly in front of the hotel there is a small supermarket and if one runs the promenade along, you will find the one or the other possibility. The hotel's shuttle bus several times a day to Funchal, it works great.

Close
Harald
Hotel good, food so-so
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • November 2013
The hotel in general is rather nice. The location for guests looking for peace and quiet is absolutely suitable. A shuttle, which runs daily several times to Funchal for free, is very pleasant. The staff is without exception very friendly and attentive. Our room (junior suite) was very large. However, the carpet should be removed urgently and be replaced by the laminate. Tiles are too cold. With small exceptions much attention was paid to cleanliness. A very large disappointment was the food. Here a few examples: the buffet was partly not refilled. So, if you came later, you had the ... disadvantage both at breakfast, and at the other meals. The salads were unimaginative every day the same choice. For meat, fish and chicken there was the so-called pieces of sirloin, it looked more like strips. A bit of a 'kick' was missing. We also had the impression that there were often frozen foods. Since we were already in the Rui Palace in Portugal/Alg. we are very disappointed. Generally, the hotel should be equiped a bit more modern, although the 'Old Fashion' was certainly liked by many guests. At this time of the year the average age is at 65 to 70 years or older. This is just for the information we met a lot of nice people and had thereby no problem. Younger guests may possibly have a problem. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Michaela
Nettestes staff always - we gladly come back!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • November 2013
Big but never crowded style house. Everywhere it was very clean and tidy. In the one or the other body the age of the hotel noticeable, but never unpleasant. We had all inclusive. This includes the safe was, as well as prior a delicious früchtekörbchen and two picollo. There is a free shuttle to Funchal, several times daily there and back. There was a hour free wireless internet access in the lobby, but on the item should be taken. Bathrobes against fee to lend possible, towels are free. The guests were mostly from Germany and England. The average age was ... significantly down reduced ☺. If one rather worth on peace and relaxation is, is here exactly correct one. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms were big enough with plenty of space in the closet. Flat screen tv with all the necessary german programs. The balcony is large and has a small clothes line to hang the towels. Mini bar is available. Well it pleased us, that when a small hallway, then the bathroom and then through a separate door to the actual room. So there was no noise from the hallway. Air conditioning system gives it, but we didn't use them. The temperatures were pleasant. We also had a ceiling fan.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There is a main restaurant and a pool bar. Evening there was at the pool bar after previous registration a rodizio. The food in the main restaurant we found great. There was always something for everyone and we liked the, that it almost every day different fish, mussels or scampi were. Best of all was the fried squid. Super delicious. Many dishes were directly freshly prepared. There were also different salads and cold starters buffet and a large selection of desserts. Different sorts of ice cream as well as various delicious cakes.

  • Service
    6.0

    We have never had such friendly and super nice staff Experienced in a hotel. All, from the front desk to the cook takes you from, that you work there and they enjoy makes the guests some weeks to prepare. In the dining room waiters were super courteous and polite. It was immediately nachgescheckt and when i lobster picked, i had two seconds later the towel for the hands on the table. Almost all of them spoke very good german, except perhaps the chambermaids. Directly with the arrival one has asked us, complaints or problems address, so that a solution can offer. For us a very professional handling of this issue. We had a small ladekabelproblem, when we fast and funky one helped. The rooms were cleaned well. It was surely not every day completely dusted, but do we at home also not.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Activities took place according to the rather higher altersdurchschnitts rather reserved. We wanted to have it however not differently and therefore it was for us absolutely ok. There were always enough pool chairs and there is a heated and unheated outdoor pool. A indoor pool there were also, depending on the time of day different was frequented. The sauna was small, but sufficient for our needs. There is also a fitness room with treadmill, bikes and elliptical machine and various equipment with weights. Evenings there were two shows, which we didn't have seen. But we had the impression that the people really liked it.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Big but never crowded style house. Everywhere it was very clean and tidy. In the one or the other body the age of the hotel noticeable, but never unpleasant. We had all inclusive. This includes the safe was, as well as prior a delicious früchtekörbchen and two picollo. There is a free shuttle to Funchal, several times daily there and back. There was a hour free wireless internet access in the lobby, but on the item should be taken. Bathrobes against fee to lend possible, towels are free. The guests were mostly from Germany and England. The average age was significantly down reduced ☺. If one rather worth on peace and relaxation is, is here exactly correct one.

  • Location
    5.0

    The distance to the airport is only 15 minutes drive away. Aircraft one gets however nothing with, as these from the other side from starting and landing. Shopping and restaurants in the vicinity are rather few available. At the short promenade there is a café and a diving center. Public means of transport are very good nearby access to Funchal are it maximally 15 minutes with the car/bus.

Close
Uwe
Perfect hotel, perfect vacation!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
Typical RIU. High feel-good factor thanks to friendly staff, good food and super rooms. Booking a rental car online is recommendable. The excursions with the organizers are not very cheap, so 2 trips for 2 people equals the cost of a rental car. Streets in great condition, hiking trails well marked. I recommend booking all inclusive if possible. The drinks prices are similar to Germany, so can add up through the day. If not, there is a sufficiently large fridge in the room. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Heike & Wolfgang
great hotel, room service can be better
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
One of the best hotels, we have ever visited. top: no to reservation of the beach chairs in the morning, super all inclusive offer, very friendly staff. Negative: room was not cleaned well at the time of moving in (toilet was dirty)! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ulla
An all around feel-good package
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
Simply feel well and enjoy! The staff is always tries hard to make the stay as pleasant as possible. It begins with the front desk and ends with the hotel maids and craftsmen of the house. Especially worth mentioning was the TUI couriers, who understood their job extremely competently and friendly. The only unpleasant thing: an English speaking guest with his German wife, who were apparently not happy with themselves and their environment. But you can't blame the hotel for that. Such people should just stay at home. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Andreas
Nice hotel but old fashioned
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
Good hotel, with good very friendly service. But dated. Rooms need a revamp read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Nice large rooms with huge closets, so really ample storage area. However, the design 'old english' and not contemporary. Urgently brighten. The ' mahagoniemöbel' create a rather depressing atmosphere. Unfortunately equipped with carpet, here i would allergiefreundlich laminate or parquet recommend tiled flooring too cold.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Everyone found something on the rich buffet. If someone something to complain about, i wondered, whether derjehnige home only caviar from goldlöffel to take. Only the atmosphere in the specialty restaurant was horrible, charm of a converted indoor pool... , here you should urgently what to do. Also i wish personally a rather typical restaurant better than a rodizio, but that was a matter of taste. Also i think it would be nice, if the small complete room next to the main restaurant used, much nicer atmosphere. Would be nice also a station for packed lunches if you go - particularly for the guests had booked all inclusive and during the day in the hotel.

  • Service
    6.0

    All employees have only one objective: The guest's stay as pleasant as possible. Almost every employee spoke german. I can absolutely not complain about.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Dual pool area, the enough. There are ausreuichend beach chairs and umbrellas available. I cannot judge animation, since we didn't use. The gym is in need of a renovation. The evening entertainment was rather on the older audience.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Good hotel, with good very friendly service. But dated. Rooms need a revamp

  • Location
    5.0

    Canicio de baixo is a rather quiet section. If you great entertainment is wrong. There is no beach and the pier with waves not to use. In the roundabout above the hotel there was a small store. A bus stop is located directly opposite the hotel. Would still recommend a rental car. Since we wanted quiet, it was perfect for us

Close
Claudio
Top hotel Riu Palace
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • October 2013
Beautiful hotel in a dream location right by the Atlantic Ocean. Very clean in all areas. Pool area huge with enough umbrellas and beach loungers, lots of palm trees around. Food and drink great. Thanks to Cova our waiter who with his attention and friendly nature made our stay there very pleasant. Book unconditionally all inclusive, as the prices are like in Germany All of the staff, whether reception, service, maids commanded all the languages and are very friendly. A shuttle bus from the hotel free of charge runs to and from Funchal several times daily. My conclusion, the expectations ... of my wife and me were exceeded, although we are very demanding. We will go back next year. RIU PALACE read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Linda
Rather book up quickly!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
We were from the condition of the hotel and the location were very pleasantly surprised! The Riu Palace was very well-kept, cleanliness is largely written. Also that the decor was already a few years old, is no shortage. The hotel is spacious, the pool and garden area is very nice, as well as the sun terrace, on the great breakfast or a coffee can. At our travel time there were also many younger couples and families in the hotel; so, the guest structure was very mixed. We had booked all inclusive, which we can highly recommend! It is worthwhile itself ... already, if you like something a espresso lunch drink or relax in the evening in the bar or on the terrace The choice was super, only branded products served. The prices for the guests with half-board we found quite high (coffee about 2,50 Euro, wine at the four Euro, cocktails 7,50 Euro, liqueur about 4,50 Euro, whiskey about 7 Euro). Wi-fi was an hour in the day included in the price - better than nothing; us it was enough. The hotel can definitely be recommended! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Although we had a low cost room, we had a partial view of the ocean and a great view! The room was big enough and well equipped. Of course the furniture older, but it didn't bother us, since the cleanliness was very good. Everything in order!

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The quality and selection of the food was very good! Especially the breakfast was very delicious; the freshly prepared pancakes and fruit -smoothies! The lunch buffet was a little small and also contained some snacks to-assemble ( geflügelburger, bruschetta...). The dinner was served in two shifts, which at the beginning a bit unusual for us was, but completely in order. Thus the dining room was not too crowded, it was ok. The fixed table we also liked good. Much show cooking, vegetables and salad, and a delicious dessert buffet. Super service, high cleanliness, also during rush hour. We were always immediately drinks were refilled. There was also a midnight buffet, which we did not visit however.

  • Service
    6.0

    The friendliness of the staff was always very, very good! Excellent service, there was nothing to complain about! Attentive, fast and always had a smile on their faces! At our time there were about 50% guests with half board on location. Initially we were concerned, that the all inclusive guests is preferred may. But that was not the case. One notices clearly, that it is not a typical club holiday hotel. Hence the choice of the heading of the evaluation; we can't imagine, that the high standard of the service, quality of the selection of drinks for all inclusive holiday-makers as well as the treatment of both gästestrukturen in the long term can be maintained, although it is to be hoped. It is expected, that a clearer demarcation between half-board and universe inclusive are tangible (possibly through separate lists or service spaces) or that a concentration on all-inclusive place. The mix, it currently is, is optimal and at the highest level, but not easy to implement in the long term. We would ' halbpensionäre' defendendo, we would have certainly annoyed... To see, that other guests the expensive drinks for free received, these quasi 'inflationary' order and the same service, makes sure many for bauchgrummeln. Also the small buffets, the pool restaurant set up and signs can be 'for our all-inclusive guests', will certainly not for enthusiasm among other guests concerns. We are curious, what development will be available. All in all we can only repeat, that the service flawless is! Immediate assistance at the front desk, always an open ear for questions or problems. Even the meal times we could without difficulty from 18:30 to 8:30 p. m. change. The restaurant boss was personally for us and gave us the change of the mealtime still once confirmed. Top! The room cleaning was without blames, super!

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The pools were sufficiently large, nicely arranged and clean. The beach chairs were our time sufficiently available, but you should not later than 11 pm and will, if the hotel is full (was with us in the last two days of the event). Discreet animation: tai chi, portuguese, water aerobics. One could at any time good relaxation, no annoying music. In the evening played several times a saxophone player, half ten was a unterhaltungsshow (unfortunately a bit too early, if you only around 8:30 p. m. went to eat), then played until midnight a band. The same procedure every night, but still ok. You could well a few drinks and a little conversation. The bar was to 1 o'clock, also for all inclusive guests; this time the service was very good. At one o'clock all guests were gone - of noise until late in the night can be so no question. We were with the offer and the quality of the entertainment content!

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We were from the condition of the hotel and the location were very pleasantly surprised! The Riu Palace was very well-kept, cleanliness is largely written. Also that the decor was already a few years old, is no shortage. The hotel is spacious, the pool and garden area is very nice, as well as the sun terrace, on the great breakfast or a coffee can. At our travel time there were also many younger couples and families in the hotel; so, the guest structure was very mixed. We had booked all inclusive, which we can highly recommend! It is worthwhile itself already, if you like something a espresso lunch drink or relax in the evening in the bar or on the terrace,. The choice was super, only branded products served. The prices for the guests with half-board we found quite high (coffee about 2,50 Euro, wine at the four Euro, cocktails 7,50 Euro, liqueur about 4,50 Euro, whiskey about 7 Euro). Wi-fi was an hour in the day included in the price - better than nothing; us it was enough. The hotel can definitely be recommended!

  • Location
    4.0

    Quiet location; a walk on the beach promenade is very nice. The connections with buses good. Especially recommended is the hotel shuttle to Funchal! Super organized. There are some bars and restaurants in the vicinity. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel; totally relaxed and with 20 Euro also concerning the price correct.

Close
Rainer
Everything ok!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2013
We were all pleased with this hotel. Here everything is right. All are friendly and helpful. The room With balcony was comfortable and always clean. In the restaurant the staff was nice, attentive and fast, which in southern countries is not obvious. The food is plentiful and good. Complaints (outlet and hair dryer broken, water in the shower ran off badly) were friendly taken up and while we in the restaurant were immediately dealt with. Subsequently, asked, whether everything to our liking was taken care of. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Dominik
Summer vacation Madeira.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • July 2013
All in all the hotel is highly recommended. Everything was in a good condition and clean. More suited for older travelers. All-inclusive is very recommendable, and totally worth it. Unfortunately, there was only one hour per day free wi-fi, which was much too little and only in the lobby worked. Food is great and plentiful. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Amenities in the room, size and cleanliness are perfect correct. The reingungskolonne moves however already very early on and is also very loud in the communication. Overall the rooms are very badly soundproofed. With the blanket i am not managed.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    All-inclusive is very recommendable. Food in a very good choice and quantity. Very good selection of drinks and cocktails and other beverages.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Some staff it but fails to the communication. Most of the waiters and the front desk staff understand but everything was good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    Free time activities were rather limited. The tennis court and the clubs are in a very good condition. The same applies to table tennis and billiards as well as darts. The fitness is the equipment was okay, but had the disadvantage that no air conditioning system is available, and it's extremely stuffy without to move around. What i didn't like was the number of beach chairs. Here there is clearly too few. Furthermore, they are strongly weathered exactly like the editions. As usual everywhere chairs every morning occupied by towels. Lt. hotel is the not permitted, is done but nothing which i personally very regrettable. Even worse is the entertainment every day at the pool offered as well as the evening program. Each day in the lobby 1 hour saxophone played, then shall enter into force in the salon the late-night band on, what 6 days the same. Of half ten until ten was the late-night show. Well half an hour was not much and the quality of the offered presentations rather bad.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    All in all the hotel is highly recommended. Everything was in a good condition and clean. More suited for older travelers. All-inclusive is very recommendable, and totally worth it. Unfortunately, there was only one hour per day free wi-fi, which was much too little and only in the lobby worked. Food is great and plentiful.

  • Location
    5.0

    The location of the hotel is right on the beach, where a beach holiday was probably on the pool because of the very rocky beach. To the actual place Canico de Baixo walk a while traveling and it is a steep uphill. Here you should the money for a taxi or the bus to invest. Airport is 10 minutes. Especially good is the free shuttle bus to Funchal, which drives off directly before the hotel.

Close
Beate
Relaxing weeks in a friendly environment
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
Very polite and attentive staff! A calm plant to the 'soul'. Here, the guest comes first! Enough loungers by the pool. Swimming in the ocean difficult. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Jörg
Once Riu Palace - always Riu Palace!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • June 2013
If Riu then palace... Service, comfort, cleanliness, very nice staff (german ) especially the Excellent food, seems at Riu Palace (no matter in which country) standardized to be. All mentioned above. Categories are always just as good or very good. The motto of my wife and i is: once Riu Palace - always Riu Palace! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Brigitte
Super hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
Super hotel, very pleasant and german-speaking staff, varied buffet, very nice hotel, Almost everything perfect read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Alina
Also for young reisene a dream!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • June 2013
The hotel we have on explicit recommendation from our travel agent and have no minute. A beautiful, well-kept hotel with tasteful decor and above all incredibly friendly staff, as well as food to kneel down. In this holiday i would not have thought, that food from the buffet so well. We had booked half board and had a cosy ground floor double room with terrace, well kept gardens and views of the atlantic ocean. The staff is the handyman to cleaning lady on the front desk and the waiters incredibly friendly, competent and ready to help. German is generally understood ... and mostly also spoken. The hotel is ideally located on the sunnier southern coast, all of the sites and attractions on the island are very good about the extensive road networks to reach. Though the hotel offers a very well organized bus service to Funchal, general is Madeira however a rental car is recommended. We have all in all a wonderful week in the Riu Palace and on Madeira spent and are definitely coming again! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 18