Hotel Grand Paradise Samana(3.5 stars)

Playa las Galeras Samana View on map

Average rating

907 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.0
  • Room
    5.1
  • Service
    5.1
  • Location
    5.1
  • Food and Drinks
    4.8
  • Sport & entertain
    5.1
Filters
You selected:
223 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Anne
Third Time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
We have been to this hotel three times this year an the reason we return is the simple beauty. It is secluded from other resorts and is truly paradise. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Clean...beautiful view of the beach, fresh water and drinks in fridge... Well working air conditioning...we stayed in the loft with a wonderful porch with beach view.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is a lot of options despite what I have read. It is not gourmet in any way but we have never gotten sick in three visits and there was always plent of options to choose from.

  • Service
    6.0

    The people at this resort are truly wonderful. Having been there in February, May and October....we have been exposed to the resort at busier and quiet times. Each time the staff were all excellent from the front desk, wait staff and bartenders....Samuel Vasquez the hotel manager always makes sure we are well taken care of.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team is what makes this resort. They work hard from early in the morning to late at night in the disco. Plus they put on a different show every night. They are wonderful, sweet and warm people and part of the reason we return. A special thanks to Pinky, Mikiki, Lima, Olga, Yessi, Yonathan, Bombi, Francesco, Daniel, Andujar, Alexis....just wonderful people....thank you so much!!

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We have been to this hotel three times this year an the reason we return is the simple beauty. It is secluded from other resorts and is truly paradise.

  • Location
    6.0

    Located approx 2 hours from the airport in Samana, the drive is lovely and gives you a wonderful picture of the way people live. We always get a couple of drinks at the aiport and enjoy the scenic drive to the hotel. Sit in the right hand side of the bus to get a wonderful view of the ocean. The hotel is not to large...its in a bay which provides a lovely view. Not to mention the horses that run wild next to the resort. So beautiful

Close
Anne-Sophie
Nice vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
The hotel was a very calm and peaceful place to stay. The rooms are pretty big and always clean. The beach is relativly big but it is very clean. There are no waves which makes it better for relaxing in the water. It is different shades of blue so pictures come out nice. The buffet has a variety of different foods that are good. In the end it was a very good hotel and we will definitely go back! A big thanks to Samuel V., a pleasant and fun man to talk to, who made our stay extra fun :P read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Shannon
Amazing stay!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
The hotel was very well kept. The landscaping was great, very lush. Hotel rooms were in very good condition. Everything was cleaed daily. No bugs in our room which was lovely. Always had hot water. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was bright, clean and well cared for. The maids did a very good job in maintaining fresh clean sheets and towels. The towels often did arrive after 830pm which was a tad bit bizarre.

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    The service was incredible. Samuel, Lima, Raylin, Ariel and Julio made our stay unforgettable. They were always very polite and friendly. If we had an issue Samuel and Julio would solve it very quickly. Never had an issue with rude staff. Best service I have experienced on a resort.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There were always many things to do on the resort. Catermaran, snorkeling, swimming, volleyball, spanish lessons. You name it they probably have it. We really enjoyed the water aerobics. It was a great way to start off the morning.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was very well kept. The landscaping was great, very lush. Hotel rooms were in very good condition. Everything was cleaed daily. No bugs in our room which was lovely. Always had hot water.

  • Location
    5.0

    Quite a trek to the main city Santa Domingo, but Las Galars was a 10 minute walk from the hotel via beach. The locals may seem to be over whelming at first but they just want you to look in there shops, even if its for 2 minutes.

Close
Anne
Tranquil and Unique
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
The hotel is located in a beautiful secluded area. An hour and half approx from the airport in a comfortable air conditioned bus made the treck seem short. The resort is peaceful and relaxing. I cant say enough about how wonderful the Domincan people are and they work exceptionally hard long hours to make sure you have a great vacation. I would definitely return....... read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a beautiful room and porch that looked out on the ocean. Comfortable beds, well air conditioned. Daily supply of pop and water.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Great variety of food....The outdoor dinners were dinner and the atmosphere fantastic. The pool dinner was a special treat on our last night. Candle light and a delicous buffet.....

  • Service
    6.0

    Everyone from the bartenders, serving and reception staff are friendly and eager to help. SAMUEL VASQUEZ was very helpful and kind throughout our visit.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment staff are pleasant and work hard long days to make sure you have fun....A special thanks to PINKY...ERICK...YONATHAN...AND DANIEL....Friendly fantastic people!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is located in a beautiful secluded area. An hour and half approx from the airport in a comfortable air conditioned bus made the treck seem short. The resort is peaceful and relaxing. I cant say enough about how wonderful the Domincan people are and they work exceptionally hard long hours to make sure you have a great vacation. I would definitely return.......

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is located just near a small quaint town. The beach is not large but perfect for floating and cooling off. The grounds are well kept and the lake area beautiful for watching the turtles and fish. Lots of shade or sun....

Close
Susann
3.5 stars okay for
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
For a 3 star superior hotel is ok, but you shouldn't expect much. The beach is great, but worn beach chairs. Food is rather poor: 2 times on the day you got the same food. The linen (sheets) in the room is inadequate. The hotel is very to meet the needs and preferences of americans/canadians laid out. Who likes it, is here well waived. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
Close
Darlene
Excellent Stay at Grand Paradise Samana
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • April 2014
I found this resort to be a perfect size. With only 420 rooms, you're not over crowded with people. The resort was very clean. Rooms were also very clean. The food was excellent. So many choices at the buffet. Guestes ranged from people in their 20's to 80's. There were also some families with small children. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was a good size for the both of us. Even my 3 sons were fine with the size of the room. (They were all 3 in the same room)

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is the main buffet and a A la Carte restaurant. Both locations were very clean. Food and drinks were excellent. You have many choices in food and drinks.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were extremely friendly. Juan from the Sports Bar always had a smile and he was very pleasant. Yessi at the towel exchange was always very chatty and polite. She is also a great entertainer.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is entertainment every night. The staff put on a great show of dancing. They work very hard. My hat off to all of the staff. The beach was beautiful. It was kept clean. Loved the Palm trees, they were great for shade. There are 3 beautiful pools too. We didn't use the pools, we chose to be at the beach.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I found this resort to be a perfect size. With only 420 rooms, you're not over crowded with people. The resort was very clean. Rooms were also very clean. The food was excellent. So many choices at the buffet. Guestes ranged from people in their 20's to 80's. There were also some families with small children.

  • Location
    6.0

    From our room the beach was approx. 3 min walk. I am not a shopper so we didn't venture off the resort to go shopping. There is a local market. The Gift shop on the resort was sufficient for my shopping. There are a few Excursions to choose from. You can go horseback riding to a beautiful waterfall, a boat ride to a island.....

Close
Nadine
Best Vacation! Incredible staff!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
Had the most fun vacation and it's all because of the staff and beautiful location. Mikiki Johnson is the greatest! Met him on the first day and he made our vacation extra special. If you go, make sure to ask for him, he is part of the animation team. All the employees go out of their way to make sure you enjoy every moment. The resort is small and in the most beautiful location. Unspoiled beauty everywhere you look and the water is so green, calm and warm, perfect for swimming. Rooms are nice and super clean. Food is quite ... good and lots of choices. If I could go back tomorrow, I would! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Regula
Hotel Grand Paradise Samana
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
I’m just back from my first visit at this resort/hotel and it was so beautiful…a little place in paradise!! I arrived at the reception with a private transfer at 2.00 am …the welcome was so kind I felt really good from the very first in spite of high tiredness. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    First I had a room with garden view, the room was really clean and comfortable but the view in the garden was not so nice like the sea view…so at the second day I changed and I received a room with sea view….really top (number 1153) a big hug to Samuel Vasquez!!! My room was sparkling clean every day …thank you very much my chambermaid.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food in the restaurants (all in all 3) was really multifarious…rice, potatoes, fish, meat, salads, fruits, vegetables, candies…you're not going to starve ;-)). The staffs in the restaurants are so nice too…smiling, always a «Hola, como estas»

  • Service
    6.0

    At the bars you can try a lot of drinks but the best one for me was the «Caipirinha»…all the barkeepers are friendly, smiling, funny…a special thanks goes to Roberto (at the bar in front of the disco) and to Felix.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There are two pool sites too, nice not much of people especially at the little one…perfect for a nap. I was there for diving too, I never dived in Dominican Republic before but it was really great, nice spots…the caves, corals, ship wrecks…lovely! It is a good diving school, you can speak in german, english, spanish, italian…the guys are really nice, funny, friendly…I spent a good dive-time etc. with you: Thank you Valerio, Miki, Christian and Abraham (best captain)!! In the evening I always looked the great shows of the animation team…it was really worthwhile…several dance styles, lovely suits, beautiful backdrop… they are great dancers and so nice, friendly, always smiling, helpful…I was so charmed. After the shows the animation team opened the disco and animated the guests to dance or to learn their great dances like Bachata, Merengue, Salsa, Reggaeton etc. with so much patience and affection...I really loved it!! Big hugs and a special thanks goes to Olga (lovely dancer), Pinky, Viannely, Judith, Yessi, Youseff, Daniel (so funny guy and great dancer), Mikiki, Raylin (fitness man), Lima, Kaky (best Salsa dancer), Andujar (best DJ), Alexis and Erick (yeahhh Baby…crazy but so nice). I will come back as soon as possible…love this place and the great people there. See you soon….!!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I’m just back from my first visit at this resort/hotel and it was so beautiful…a little place in paradise!! I arrived at the reception with a private transfer at 2.00 am …the welcome was so kind I felt really good from the very first in spite of high tiredness.

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is really amazing, very clean with a lot of nature (palm trees, flowers….), the beach is great, enough place for everybody…beach loungers and towels are exist. A special thanks goes to the cleaner on the beach and the security staffs.

Close
Gerald
Great place to just relax on the beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
Airport was easy to navigate and fast, the hotel staff were wonderful, the food was good but not great. Lovely beach overhaul no complaints. Nice little walk to the nearest town friendly locals, cold beer and light shopping. Be prepared to barter. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Linda
Great holidays.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
• the hotel area was super nice and very well maintained. A compliment to the gardener. • the pools were always very clean and i could even watch, that they were cleaned every day. • in the restaurant, the food-offer 3 times daily very varied. Since we mostly in the same corner from the Restaurant sat we had mostly the care of el vido. He was always very friendly and attentive, as actually all service staff. With 9 him we felt very welcome and well cared for. • at the boers and sports bar there was, despite the stress, always ... a friendly smile. • the room was always pico bello. The beds were not only easy, but fancifully decorated. A thanks to decena aqueda. • we now still come to the animation team. You have a significant contribution, that our holiday so great were. The entertainment in the day (spanish lessons with mikiki, different games, dancing lessons etc. ) the leisure activities on offer were very impressive. A big compliment to yessie, Olga, Judith, margaritha - was, vionnely, Hotel Daniel, yousseff, japanese persimmon, mikiki, railyn, lima, andujar, jonatan, Eriberto and alexis. (i hope i have not forgotten anyone) We will definitely come back! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Tricia
Great 2 week stay at GPS with family!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
It was nice to get intouch with the hotel before we arrived.Noris, Samuel and Roberto told us everything we needed to know before hand which was nice. When we arrived at the hotel Samuel and Roberto were there to greet us which was very nice since we had spoke via email prior. Our bags were taken to our room by Ronny who we had fun with the entire two weeks.he was always somewhere around the hotel walking or in his golf cart with a smile on his face ! Our room was in a great location by the ... one pool, the hotel is spread out so it never seemed overly busy which was nice. Our room was kept very clean by Isabel and she is a very nice woman with a smile on her face at all times. The hotel itself was always being maintained while we were there.whether it was a gardener, repair man or painter all were friendly. We bought the wifi for our daughters devices and whenever we had a problem with it working we went to the front reception and Mike, Guery or Euris always helped us. Julio Cesar was friendly aswell. The hotel has a very friendly feel to it, it was like we became family very quickly with everyone. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Our room was in block 5 which was in a good location to go anywhere on the resort right by the one of three pools. The size of the room was fine compared to other hotels. The shower nozzle was broken when we arrived but once I mentioned it at breakfast to Roberto who is the food service manager it was fixed in no time....I was planning on heading to the front desk after breakfast but that saved us a trip ! The mini bar was always stocked with water and pop, we are used to having it stocked with canned beer but it wasnt a huge deal...we went into town or went to the market on the hotel site and bought a few cans to go in it. Our room was kept spotless but Isabel, she is a wonderful hard working woman who smiled all the time and waved at us where ever she was on the resort ! A coffee maker would of been nice to have in the room, we brought our own kettle, mugs and coffee with us which wasnt a huge deal but would of been nice to have supplied in the room. The air conditioning worked really well...so well we asked Isabel for an extra blanket !! We only got 3 channels on the tv but you are not really there to watch tv anyways but we did get all the shows we watch at home !!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Our experience at this hotel was wonderful. There were plenty of bars and at first I thought...only 2 a la cartes but then realized that at other resorts we probably only go to 2 out of 5 they offer anyways. The dinner on the beach was a nice touch and for many guests they did not know who management was so this was good for the hotel, kudos to Henry and his staff. The cleanliness of the dining areas was good, no different from other resorts. The type of food served was pretty much the same as other DR hotels...all cuisine, we stuck to what we usually eat so we didnt upset our stomachs and we do take alot of food with us ( ketchup, salad dressings, peanut butter, cheeze whiz and much more, when you travel with children you never know ) We always tip and at this resort it was well deserved. I did have sun stroke one day and the staff was very concerned about me and sent toast, cereal and bananas back to the room for me and when I did go to breakfast the next day they all seem genuinely concerned about me which was very nice !

  • Service
    6.0

    Excellent service in all areas at this hotel ! We can not say enough about the staff....from Samuel looking after our rooms, Roberto in all the restaurants, Ronny making sure our rooms were fine, Franciso and Robert at our pool bar with table service most days, Nina as the greeter at the buffet and sometimes the a la cartes, Leocalina was a great waitress everyday at breakfast, Fenci and Super Carlos at the a la cartes were great and Ariel was always there with a smile on his face ! The staff was super friendly and seemed to be able to speak to everyone and if they couldnt we still got our point across ! We did stress to management that the animation crew needed new swimsuits and I think the suggestion was taken very well....they work long hard hours and a new swimsuit would make a world of difference for them to do ocean aerobics or beach games. It would make them look that much more professional.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The beach was the happening spot in the morning.....at 10 they usually had spanish lessons, yoga and stretching, then volleyball and archery....at 11:30 there was ocean aerobics which always got quite a crowd out in the water. Lima or Mikiki did the spanish lessons most days we were there, Youseff was on the mic getting everyone situated and he also ran crazy beach games......they had kayak tours down the river which Erick and Youseff did while we were there.....Railyn was great playing beach games with my daughter and he always got the largest crowd out to ocean aerobics during our stay !!! The pools were never busy which was nice....Yonathan and Erick did a great job at the towel hut, very friendly. All the animation team did a great job at this resort....it seemed to be an older crowd so at times it was hard to get people to participate but kudos to Railyn, Erick, Youseff, Kaki, Mikiki, Lima & Andujar and Roberto the tennis pro !! Always a smile on his face even when he didnt have any followers for tennis :) The beach is very nice at this resort, it is fringed with palms so you can get sun or shade if you want it. The ocean is calm and shallow which is very nice for small children or non swimmers. We husband and daughter also took a kayak out and enjoyed how shallow and calm the ocean was farther out aswell. They had just got new lounges around both pools before we got there and we never had an issue getting a lounge at the beach or pool. People will return to this resort due to the animation staff, they try really hard and we got to know them during our two week stay and hated to leave a few of them !!! Railyn was our fav :) we wanted to bring him home !!!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    It was nice to get intouch with the hotel before we arrived...Noris, Samuel and Roberto told us everything we needed to know before hand which was nice. When we arrived at the hotel Samuel and Roberto were there to greet us which was very nice since we had spoke via email prior. Our bags were taken to our room by Ronny who we had fun with the entire two weeks...he was always somewhere around the hotel walking or in his golf cart with a smile on his face ! Our room was in a great location by the one pool, the hotel is spread out so it never seemed overly busy which was nice. Our room was kept very clean by Isabel and she is a very nice woman with a smile on her face at all times. The hotel itself was always being maintained while we were there...whether it was a gardener, repair man or painter all were friendly. We bought the wifi for our daughters devices and whenever we had a problem with it working we went to the front reception and Mike, Guery or Euris always helped us. Julio Cesar was friendly aswell. The hotel has a very friendly feel to it, it was like we became family very quickly with everyone.

  • Location
    5.0

    The distance from the airport is rather long but if you know before hand like we did we just set ourselves in travel mode and took extra gravol and we were fine....we got there eventually ! Once you are there it is true paradise...its the lushest part of the DR we have stayed in and we have stayed in all areas now and I will return to GPS for this reason, its beautiful and the fact that the area around GPS is not developed is even better. You could walk either way and it was nice to just see the ocean and palms. Nature is everywhere at this resort....from the turtles and birds to the horses that run through the path in the morning and at night when you least expect it. Once morning while putting my towels on the beach 7 horses ran down the path right infront of me. You can walk into town in minutes is you like...the shopping is fine but after a few years going to the DR there isnt much left to buy but it is nice to walk to town for a change of scenery. There are all kinds of excursions to do from this hotel but we go to relax on a lounge with a book or people watch !

Close
Anne-Sophie
A great stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
The hotel is in a great location, there aren't any noises at night and it is calm. The service was awesome and the friendly ness of the employees was great, especially Samuel Vasquez. The food was great and the entertainment team also. We are planning to go again! Enjoy :) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Kiana
Great family vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
The rooms were always clean thanks to the wonderful cleaning ladies. Breakfast was served buffet style until 10am every day with tons of variety. Guests ranged from family to solo to couple to young groups of friends. The beach was gorgeous. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Always clean. Only complaints: there was not enough lighting so toward sunset and at night it was quite dark in the room. The lamp in the room had a sensitive plug and would turn off randomly. We had to fidget with the plug to turn it back on but it was fine, not a big deal. There was a small leak in the bathroom. Showers were always nice and hot. The beds were comfortable but mine didn't have wheels that locked so I couldn't lean against the wall while sitting on the bed but that's ok, I really worked out my abs trying to sit up straight instead. Tv was good, and the AC worked just fine but we didn't need it at night.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There was the main buffet which had different food every night and plenty variety. There were themes every night so you had all sorts of food like Dominican, Mexican, American, German etc. There was also a snack bar by the beach which we started eating at every day for lunch after we discovered it (open 11-4). There were also the "fancier" restaurants which you have to reserve. One seafood which was good and the other Italian which was better. On the last night, they gave everyone leaving the next day a nice bbq dinner on the beach with candle-lit tables. Also by both pools they would bring snacks around 4-5pm before dinner started at 6. Mini sandwiches, cookies, fries etc. Their cappuccinos were awesome. And the beer was great. Other drinks were alright (a little sweet for my taste though) but my absolute favourite was this drink with crushed lemons and rum (cannot remember the name). Absolutely prefect.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was super friendly and they made the stay wonderful for us. They all spoke English very well and taught us some Spanish. Our room was always clean thanks to the wonderful cleaning ladies. The Sunwing representative gave us a lot of helpful information so ensure that you attend the info meeting the day after you arrive. Every staff member made an effort to ensure everyone's needs were accommodated and they did it with a smile.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The beach was stunning with a nice breeze for the hot afternoon hours and the pool was also great. There was seaweed on the beach but they did clean it so that's good. Showers were always nice and hot. Beach chairs weren't all fully functional but that's alright. Kid's entertainment was good and adorable. Disco was good, mini market was alright but expensive. Fast internet. But what made the trip for us was the staff in particular the entertainment staff. They always greeted you with a smile and were full of energy. They truly went the extra mile to include everyone and ensure we all had a blast. Thankyou Railyn, Danial, Yonatan, Kaki, Margarita, Yesi, Judith, Mikiki, Lima, Erik, Yousef, Olga, and Viannely for making our stay extra special!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The rooms were always clean thanks to the wonderful cleaning ladies. Breakfast was served buffet style until 10am every day with tons of variety. Guests ranged from family to solo to couple to young groups of friends. The beach was gorgeous.

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is right on the beach. There is a marketplace walking distance from the resort where you can shop for souvenirs and it is very safe. The distance from the airport was a comfortable 1.5 hours through the scenic parts of Samana.

Close
Greta
Good value for money spent
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Overall it was a good experience for the price I paid. If you want the luxury of a 5 star resort do not go here. This is a basic hotel that is well kept, great customer service, good variety of food. Drinks are basic local liquor. The draft beer however was comparable to ours in Canada. Walkways are flag stone and uneven for people with disabilities or elderly. The beach was nice, there was seaweed every morning that washed up. The staff raked it every morning, so it didn't really bother me. We flew with Sunwing; our room keys and ... package was ready for us at the airport. Check in was easy, our representative was great. He did everything possible to solve any problems that arose. Entertainment was limited to the staff, but was not bad. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Nicole
The hotel lives only by the location - else bad.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
We were very disappointed with the hotel. From a 4 star hotel, it is definitely miles away. When at all then 2 stars ☹ The hotel is very come into the years and there are massive deficit. The staff is very much saved in other words it is only untrained staff and much too little. Problems and complaints are just dismissed with a shrug - disaster. The hotel lives solely of its excellent location. Samana and the beach are really a dream. The area is in the middle of a sea of coconut trees right at the beautiful beach. Just ... perfect. We had a beach bungalow for rent. This is really very big and nicely designed with an open loft. Only - also here the ravages of time. Lamps fell from the ceiling, plaster crumbling from etc. The all-inclusive. Sports equipment are the absolute joke. Sailboat was broken, surfboards broken - except one takes for €2 0.00 a pay rate with a teacher - then there was a board. Tennis court was not playable. But the kicker is the snorkeling or diving in the bay ☺ There is a gated area in the bay - which one for the snorkelling money must be paid. Thus not simply with fins and snorkel into the water - no - only times money squeeze! I have on the whole world have never experienced something like that! We will personally not more go. There were incredibly many complaints and the guide could hardly be saved. Location is - like i said - perfect. The remainder can one but unfortunately forgotten. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    2.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    1.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    2.3
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Thomas
Relaxing holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Room is super (bungalow with a sea view), the area was well-kept, beach is spacious and absolutely great, beach chairs were unfortunately too little available (even though the brochure advertised), staff is always hard working and friendly, food was good but unfortunately always luke warm to cold, when the area was full, it works in the dining room nothing more (complaints at the reception completely worthless), end january and february a trip to the buckelwalen book fantastic. We'll certainly come again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    3.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Uwe & Tamara
It doesnt go worse!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The hotel has about 480 rooms and bungalows. This hotel came into the years, cannot deny. It is currently undergoing renovated until 24 hours (construction noise) and new mattresses in the rooms. It would have been good, if the new mattresses in occupied room and not in vacant. We had a bungalow we then after about 10 days against a standards room exchanged, hygienic reasons. Dirty sheets and towels. The curtains also completely dirty. Several families went from the bungalow in a standard room and took a downgrade in purchase. (pustules, insects, psoriasis) power outages, electricity blackouts and brown tap ... water. The air conditioning in the bungalows very loud. We had to you at night off. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    The bungalow as described above a disaster. Several people changed as already said. Everything was very old. The room cleaning took place daily and was endeavored. A flat screen tv without remote control, a fridge with daily Cola, Sprite and water restocked (all-inclusive). Cribs on the gallery completely worn out. All in all the bungalow was very dark. Broken bulbs were not replaced. The curtains dirty and from the rail torn. The safe costs 2 us Dollar per day. The air conditioning was very noisy.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There were two restaurants and several bars. Initially constantly changed the area of breakfast and dinner. Man never knew where the food was. The quality and quantity of the offered dishes was good. Also the cleanliness in this area was good. The tables were immediately cleared and kept clean. Thanks to Leo situated and Francis. There were local dishes as well as pasta and pizza, bacon, chops etc. A small tip delighted every. We gave in the rule per week 5 us Dollar. The atmosphere was great, as this hotel in our vacation period area was not completely booked.

  • Service
    1.0

    Partly friendly staff. The 'keeper' in the restaurant ran a constantly in the way rum and rempelten even the people. Spanish as language is always. English and german were very limited. The sheets and towels looked as if they as toilet paper are used. The hotel-own physician was not always available, despite 24 hour promises in the travel catalog. We have around 7:30 p. m. a used, and were then informed that this only on the next day around 10:30 a. m. was there. A complaint over the dirty bungalow yielded nothing. We wanted a different bungalow. These we could not, because the air conditioner was broken. Then we wanted to a standard room, which we got. In this there was the shower head and the toilet seat was hanging on the side down. You promised us the change to 6:30 p. m.. To move we could then finally at 11:00 p. m.. I can't imagine that it was even worse off.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The entertainment we did not use as we passivurlauber are. The beach was beautiful. The pool we did not use. The pool chairs on the beach were all inclusive. Partly quite new, partly with clear grbrauchssputen. There was no umbrellas on the beach. They are not necessary since trees and palms enough shade. The beach and the garden were cleaned every day.

  • Hotel
    1.0

    The hotel has about 480 rooms and bungalows. This hotel came into the years, cannot deny. It is currently undergoing renovated until 24 hours (construction noise) and new mattresses in the rooms. It would have been good, if the new mattresses in occupied room and not in vacant. We had a bungalow we then after about 10 days against a standards room exchanged, hygienic reasons. Dirty sheets and towels. The curtains also completely dirty. Several families went from the bungalow in a standard room and took a downgrade in purchase. (pustules, insects, psoriasis) power outages, electricity blackouts and brown tap water. The air conditioning in the bungalows very loud. We had to you at night off.

  • Location
    2.0

    The drive from Puerto Plata took four hours to the hotel. To the beach only few minutes. The shopping possibilities in the hotel were very limited. Whoever touristenkrimskrams can in las galeras go shopping. The hotel's disco was very loud. The best entertainment there was, if at the weekend the domenicaner the hotel flood. During the week was otherwise not much was offered. The beach vendors were also only stuff to rip-off prices. Despite action. The fresh coconuts on the beach, however, were really good. The taxis have tourist prices. Local drive much cheaper. The beach itself was gorgeous. The pool was cleaned every day and strong with chlorine contaminated. These used we do not.

Close
Rainer
Who the separatingness loves!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Nice hotel with a great outdoor area. Well kept palm grove with plenty of beach chairs, directly on a very beautiful beach. Nice staff, which unfortunately not all speak english. Dishes were repeated unfortunately very fast, it needs but everyone something find which him tastes. Quality of the food was good. Driving directions is about 4 hours long. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Bruno
A dream holiday once again.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Clean, well-kept basic hotel Condition is currently improved (new rooms and new reception) Very many repetentes so people the repeated the hotel what with such simple hotel of satisfaction with staff etc. Suggests. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Had a bungalow simply but cleanly furnished. Minibar refilled every day. The furniture was already a bit outdated, but now in the process of rennovation fully be changed. The size of the room was adequate possibly somewhat little reservoir for clothes otherwise everything in order

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Don't always warm but the quality was very good Everything we needed. Drinks for cocktailtrinker a bit sweet but also always everything there which one needs. A tip times occasionally helps as everywhere bit further-

  • Service
    6.0

    Very attentive staff at the hotel. Loved the friendliness and the amenities were provided. Every wish of ours was insofar as possible. We would like especially some people thanks. Noris silverio of the reservation Robert Carlos clase the manager of the dining And Henry ulloa, the director It was nice with you

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    Clean, well-kept basic hotel Condition is currently improved (new rooms and new reception) Very many repetentes so people the repeated the hotel what with such simple hotel of satisfaction with staff etc. Suggests.

  • Location
    6.0

    If the long transfer time omits and in purchase takes you by the location - fantastic nature at a beautiful beach. Everything you need is in the nearby village of available. Otherwise very quiet and beautiful location.

Close
Ralf & Sandra
Rather Asien again as once again cathedral. Repair.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Hotel is very dated. But it was to our travel strongly renovated. At least. The 'newer' houses. House 4a 6. The rooms are quite large, but the furniture has its best times already several times behind itself. And the cleanliness of the rooms and the houses, well, is everything bit different. Still quite russians free, but if the weekends replace the locals the russians excellent with everything you could think of. Otherwise quite mixed of the nationalities and the age. The area was really super large and quite nice. Due to the large and clean area 3 stars from us. ... Small tip, if you still think a 4 star hotel in the cathedral. Repair. With a german 4 star hotel compare to have, it should not book! Never again will we something over schauinsland book! This really is the all. Stay with Neckermann and co. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    The rooms are quite large, but the furniture has its best times already several times behind itself. And the cleanliness of the rooms and the houses, well, is everything bit different. At the Walls and bedside lamps you can even puzzle, which so had in the room and we ate. Bath is from the size completely sufficiently. There is a hair dryer (you better not use, if you see him) Cleanliness hmm best short and quickly as possible. Quasi eyes too and through. Logical it differently than at home is, so that you should expect.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    2 restaurants, 1 at the beach and one next to the lobby. Several bars in the entire area. Small tip: stay away from the seafood that had all which we have become acquainted with at least. 3 days then shortened. Food was ok to good and one was almost always full. , if not degrees 500 local the hotel seize as with us. Scary, if we only remember! On those evenings we were for example not full, as there were hardly any something to eat was there and at the bars you could at least. 30 minutes to queue after drinks, even the staff was completely overstrained and also with a tip not even with 2 0 $worked as a bit. Cleanliness was okay, but who of course if the finds also which. Themed nights, especially the dinner on the beach and at the pool. The cocktail menu you can up and down the drink with ice cream and tasted also everything.

  • Service
    3.0

    Friendliness mark 4. With english you got along well, be it you have something to complain about then you understand you no more. So only spanish. German no sound. We had a lot to complain about, as mold on the bedding, leftovers on the tv, no balcony furniture not have a handle on the door to all on this and to get a toilet seat, there was also not etc. Etc. With all these traffen we on mega casual lobby staff. Conclusion: insoluble even after 3 days. Only the very nice service Neckermann it could be a little better, since the tour guide from schauinsland never distance was, even to the specified dates!

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    Hotel is very dated. But it was to our travel strongly renovated. At least. The 'newer' houses. House 4a 6. The rooms are quite large, but the furniture has its best times already several times behind itself. And the cleanliness of the rooms and the houses, well, is everything bit different. Still quite russians free, but if the weekends replace the locals the russians excellent with everything you could think of. Otherwise quite mixed of the nationalities and the age. The area was really super large and quite nice. Due to the large and clean area 3 stars from us. Small tip, if you still think a 4 star hotel in the cathedral. Repair. With a german 4 star hotel compare to have, it should not book! Never again will we something over schauinsland book! This really is the all... Stay with Neckermann and co.

  • Location
    3.0

    Beach comfortable all rooms at 5 minutes walking distance. From the airport puerte plate about 4-5 hour drive. In the immediate vicinity there is not much, even las galeras offers nothing, except for a german emigrant travel somewhat cheaper offers, and a born salesman ☺ Excursion tip: the restaurant on the cliffs. Before the tour guide phone book. Was absolutely worth it.

Close
1 3 4 5 ... 12