Hotel Grand Paradise Samana(3.5 stars)

Playa las Galeras Samana Las Galeras Nordküste View on map

Average rating

1,203 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.8
  • Room
    4.9
  • Service
    4.8
  • Location
    4.9
  • Food and Drinks
    4.7
  • Sport & entertain
    4.9
Filters
You selected:
233 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
CRivera
Excelent hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
great stay, very servicealbe staff, clean rooms. than you Noris Silverio for making our stay unforgetable, we are looking forward to returing. Great restaurants, lots of atcivities for kids, we were never bored, GREAT STAFF, very friendly and always willing to help read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Starling
Goood...
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • January 2016
Ok resort with great staff... Great bartenders... Great waiters... Fantastic animation and late shows... I specially thanked Lima and Mikiki for going the extra mile to make me feel welcome and make my stay enjoyable... Thanks everyone!... read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Rose
Amazingly beautiful!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2015
The hotel is beautiful. The grounds were very well maintained. The beach was beautiful and there were always enough loungers for everyone.even by the pool. The staff was simply amazing. They made us feel like part of a family. Making a point of knowing our names and helping in any way they could. Special thank you to the Select Club team - Roberto, Alfonso, Willy, Maria (at the bar - she was fantastic), Alvaro - super helpful all the time and Samuel for proving that I had nothing to worry about! The entertainment staff - kids club specifically - ... kept my daughter busy and gave me some worry-free time to myself. I will return to this resort! Gracias! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Marta
Best vacation ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2015
The resort itself is not too large neither is it too small, it's secluded. You have the choice of having a room or live in a bungalow. We had a double room overlooking a small pond and palms, you could see the ocean. The rooms are a reasonable size and include a t.v., mini fridge stacked with water and pop, A.C., balcony, walk in closet and a bathroom. A safe is available if you want to keep your travel documents and cell phones safe, it costs $15.00 a week.The resort grounds are very well maintained, the ... sidewalks are swept constantly, gardeners work everyday to maintain the flower beds etc. The pools are cleaned every morning. The washed up seaweed is cleaned off of the beach. The beach itself features beautiful white sand. The water is fairly calm, and not too deep, there are corals that block the big waves but it's not suggested for you to swim there in the event that the waves are too big. There is a buffet and two restaurants. We enjoyed the food choices, There was a new feature everyday and a snack bar. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are a reasonable size featuring A.C., t.v. balcony, walk-in closet, mini fridge, bathroom, work table and a little dinning table. There is a telephone, you have to pay to use it, unless you call another room or front desk. The building we were staying at was a new one, some are older and are currently being renovated. The rooms are cleaned every day. There is security checking the premises at all times of the day.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We really enjoyed the food. There is buffet. Breakfast starts at 7:00 am to 10:00 am, lunch from 12:00 p.m.. to 2:00 p.m., dinner from 7:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.. There are two restaurants Sea Scape and Michelangelo, there is also a beach BBQ dinner once a week to which you are invited. The buffet features different foods every evening including American, Italian, Oriental, and Chef's favorites among others. The food quality was very good. The atmosphere was very relaxing. The food is refilled quiet often, so even if you show up late you will still enjoy a hot meal. If you missed out on a meal there is a snack bar that is open late. It s not mandatory for you to tip, but you should do it non the less.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff is very friendly. Most speak English and French if you do not speak Spanish. Language barrier was not a problem. The rooms are cleaned everyday unless you prefer not to be disturbed. Laundry is done everyday. There is a doctor present on the grounds 24/7. There are plenty of security on the resort grounds at all times. Most of the bars close at 11:00 pm. except for the bar at the disco which remains open for the duration of the disco. Complaints are handled on the spot in a calm manner. We havent noticed any disturbances, neither di we have anythign to complain about.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Even if you do not want to leave the resort premises, there are plenty of thing you can do. You can learn archery, horseshoe tossing, exercise at the pool or the beach, shuffle board, bocce ball, pin pong, pool volleyball, beach volleyball, which was my favorite, you can also take the scuba diving lessons, go to the disco, or simply enjoy the beautiful beach. There is also a sports bar where you can watch your favorite teams compete. When we were there at the beginning of November there was some rain but we heard from other guests that the week before the water was crystal clear. Every evening there is a show. Some of the shows engage the audience to participate, which makes up for a lot of fun. The entertainment team really goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and to make sure that are enjoying your vacation. We made friends with Malvin Henrriquez and Franklin who became our go to guys if we had any questions on how to pass the time. All around great entertainment team. There was never a dull moment.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The resort itself is not too large neither is it too small, it's secluded. You have the choice of having a room or live in a bungalow. We had a double room overlooking a small pond and palms, you could see the ocean. The rooms are a reasonable size and include a t.v., mini fridge stacked with water and pop, A.C., balcony, walk in closet and a bathroom. A safe is available if you want to keep your travel documents and cell phones safe, it costs $15.00 a week.The resort grounds are very well maintained, the sidewalks are swept constantly, gardeners work everyday to maintain the flower beds etc. The pools are cleaned every morning. The washed up seaweed is cleaned off of the beach. The beach itself features beautiful white sand. The water is fairly calm, and not too deep, there are corals that block the big waves but it's not suggested for you to swim there in the event that the waves are too big. There is a buffet and two restaurants. We enjoyed the food choices, There was a new feature everyday and a snack bar. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing.

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is located about an hour and a half from Samana airport. There is a small town about 20 minutes away from the resort. We did not visit the town, but we heard that it has nice restaurants and a Western Union in the event that you need to exchange money. There is a little store at the resort where you can get souvenirs, and anything that you may have forgotten to pack, also there is a person selling souvenirs at the beach and a market that comes to the resort at least two times a week. There are many excursions that are available. You can go zip lining, visit the beatiful Los Haitises National Park, or visit the Rincon and Fronton beaches. We did the Loss Haitises excursion. It was amazing! We saw mangroves, visited bat caves, learned about the history of this park. After the excursion we had a buffet lunch and went snorkling and explored corals. I should mention that during this excursion you get to drink rum and you can learn how to dance.

Close
Conny
Dutch review, try to do it in English
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2015
We had some problems when we checked in, because they gave us a room on the first floor, while we asked for a ground floor room, but within half an hour we got the right room, so we were happy. Two days later, the cleaning people only took our towels, but didn't give us new ones in return, they also didn't give us toilet paper and water bottles, but after complaining at the reception everything was fixed and for the rest of our stay we didn't have any problems anymore. So to my opion, everybody makes mistakes and nobody's perfect ..., but this hotel tries to do everything possible to get you the best vacation. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Our room was ok, only missed we couldn"t make thee or coffee in our room. And we didn't have a kingsize bed, like I asked. Only 2 small beds we had to put together.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    I think this is a 3,5 star resort, so I shouldn't complain. But I think they could show more variarity, because it was most of the same in 2 weeks. And it wasn't always warm enough. The buffet is fine. We went to the seafood restaurant 2 times. The first time a very nice girl brought us to our table and served us very well. The second time nobody was there, we just sat on an empty table, after 15 minutes a waiter askes us what we wanted to drink and what we wanted to eat...after that it was a disaster...we were with 3 people, only one of us got his drink...we had to wait a long time to get our starter and even longer to get our diner...so that wasn't a succes. But the bartenders were very nice, especially Jose from the beach bar and from the pool bar, Miguel, Fransisco, Benito, Roberto and last but not least Luis, Mr nr one internationale.

  • Service
    6.0

    I read some reviews earlier, people were complaining that they only spoke Spanish. Well, I don't agree with that. Of course nobody could speak Dutch, but that's because no many Dutch people come here. In fact, we were the only ones. But they all know some English, even the women who cleaned our rooms. Especially Antonia, she cleaned our room most of the times and always understood me, when I asked her something in English.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment people were very great. But I first want to thank Papo, who was our towel boy, but also a member of the entertainment people. He took us on his motorcicle to his house to meet his wife and children. We really loved that. So, Papo, say hi from us to Lilin and to all of your 4 children :-). But everybody of the entertainment team was very great, they all tried to involve the tourists every way they could. So thank you Yousseff, Olga, Daniel, Margarita, Aleksi, Franklin, Lima, Pinky, Melvin, Mikiki and Kaki...hope I didn't forget anyone.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We had some problems when we checked in, because they gave us a room on the first floor, while we asked for a ground floor room, but within half an hour we got the right room, so we were happy. Two days later, the cleaning people only took our towels, but didn't give us new ones in return, they also didn't give us toilet paper and water bottles, but after complaining at the reception everything was fixed and for the rest of our stay we didn't have any problems anymore. So to my opion, everybody makes mistakes and nobody's perfect, but this hotel tries to do everything possible to get you the best vacation.

  • Location
    6.0

    The only negative thing was, we had to drive 3 hours from the airport to our resort, but it definately was worth it. I have never seen a more beautiful resort than this one. The whole resort is just one tropical garden. If you want to go to Las Galeras, it's only a 15 minutes walk, nothing special there, except Marcel's Sunshine Holidays, where you can book your excursions. I would really recommend him instead of the hotel's excursions. Much cheaper and very trustable. I really recommend his "candeligth diner" at Monte Azul. They bring you to a very small restaurant on the top of a mountain, where you have an amazing view on the bay of Las Galeras and also the bay of Samana, where the owners Vanina and Pierre welcome you. They do everything to give you a nice night out and the most important...their food is really delicious.

Close
Monique
Worker Alvaro was a great and wonderful person
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
Was kind of worry about going to a 3.5 Stars but they surpass all expectations. The workers were excellent especially Alvaro, very friendly and joyful at all time. The food was awesome a great variety. I found that they could have a bigger variety of drinks. Are room were clean every day but should the bedding at less once during the week. The beach was great lots of shady spots. All in all it was a great vacation. Would definitely go back. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Catherine
Perfect place to relax...
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
WoW! Nice place for a relaxing vacation... Excellent service... We did have issues with the AC on arrival... Just the time to pick a bite and everything was taking care of... Noris is the best... Don't be shy to ask people if you need something... They will do there best to accomadate you... The fact that the beach is almost only grass is very cool... No big wave's... Kid's loved the pool area... If we have the chance to come back we won't hesitate... Love the place... read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    WoW! Renovated and very nice... We had a second floor seaview... Cleaning lady very sweet...

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Good in general... Drink are the best... Try the Banana Mama at the pool bar... They have a mixer and put a real banana in it...

  • Service
    6.0

    Excellent... At the front desk ask for

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Kayak... Catamaran... Everything is free...

  • Hotel
    6.0

    WoW! Nice place for a relaxing vacation... Excellent service... We did have issues with the AC on arrival... Just the time to pick a bite and everything was taking care of... Noris is the best... Don't be shy to ask people if you need something... They will do there best to accomadate you... The fact that the beach is almost only grass is very cool... No big wave's... Kid's loved the pool area... If we have the chance to come back we won't hesitate... Love the place...

  • Location
    6.0

    Right next to a small village...

Close
Anne
Third Time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
We have been to this hotel three times this year an the reason we return is the simple beauty. It is secluded from other resorts and is truly paradise. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Clean...beautiful view of the beach, fresh water and drinks in fridge... Well working air conditioning...we stayed in the loft with a wonderful porch with beach view.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is a lot of options despite what I have read. It is not gourmet in any way but we have never gotten sick in three visits and there was always plent of options to choose from.

  • Service
    6.0

    The people at this resort are truly wonderful. Having been there in February, May and October....we have been exposed to the resort at busier and quiet times. Each time the staff were all excellent from the front desk, wait staff and bartenders....Samuel Vasquez the hotel manager always makes sure we are well taken care of.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team is what makes this resort. They work hard from early in the morning to late at night in the disco. Plus they put on a different show every night. They are wonderful, sweet and warm people and part of the reason we return. A special thanks to Pinky, Mikiki, Lima, Olga, Yessi, Yonathan, Bombi, Francesco, Daniel, Andujar, Alexis....just wonderful people....thank you so much!!

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We have been to this hotel three times this year an the reason we return is the simple beauty. It is secluded from other resorts and is truly paradise.

  • Location
    6.0

    Located approx 2 hours from the airport in Samana, the drive is lovely and gives you a wonderful picture of the way people live. We always get a couple of drinks at the aiport and enjoy the scenic drive to the hotel. Sit in the right hand side of the bus to get a wonderful view of the ocean. The hotel is not to large...its in a bay which provides a lovely view. Not to mention the horses that run wild next to the resort. So beautiful

Close
Anne-Sophie
Nice vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
The hotel was a very calm and peaceful place to stay. The rooms are pretty big and always clean. The beach is relativly big but it is very clean. There are no waves which makes it better for relaxing in the water. It is different shades of blue so pictures come out nice. The buffet has a variety of different foods that are good. In the end it was a very good hotel and we will definitely go back! A big thanks to Samuel V., a pleasant and fun man to talk to, who made our stay extra fun :P read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Shannon
Amazing stay!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
The hotel was very well kept. The landscaping was great, very lush. Hotel rooms were in very good condition. Everything was cleaed daily. No bugs in our room which was lovely. Always had hot water. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was bright, clean and well cared for. The maids did a very good job in maintaining fresh clean sheets and towels. The towels often did arrive after 830pm which was a tad bit bizarre.

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    The service was incredible. Samuel, Lima, Raylin, Ariel and Julio made our stay unforgettable. They were always very polite and friendly. If we had an issue Samuel and Julio would solve it very quickly. Never had an issue with rude staff. Best service I have experienced on a resort.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There were always many things to do on the resort. Catermaran, snorkeling, swimming, volleyball, spanish lessons. You name it they probably have it. We really enjoyed the water aerobics. It was a great way to start off the morning.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was very well kept. The landscaping was great, very lush. Hotel rooms were in very good condition. Everything was cleaed daily. No bugs in our room which was lovely. Always had hot water.

  • Location
    5.0

    Quite a trek to the main city Santa Domingo, but Las Galars was a 10 minute walk from the hotel via beach. The locals may seem to be over whelming at first but they just want you to look in there shops, even if its for 2 minutes.

Close
Anne
Tranquil and Unique
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
The hotel is located in a beautiful secluded area. An hour and half approx from the airport in a comfortable air conditioned bus made the treck seem short. The resort is peaceful and relaxing. I cant say enough about how wonderful the Domincan people are and they work exceptionally hard long hours to make sure you have a great vacation. I would definitely return....... read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a beautiful room and porch that looked out on the ocean. Comfortable beds, well air conditioned. Daily supply of pop and water.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Great variety of food....The outdoor dinners were dinner and the atmosphere fantastic. The pool dinner was a special treat on our last night. Candle light and a delicous buffet.....

  • Service
    6.0

    Everyone from the bartenders, serving and reception staff are friendly and eager to help. SAMUEL VASQUEZ was very helpful and kind throughout our visit.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment staff are pleasant and work hard long days to make sure you have fun....A special thanks to PINKY...ERICK...YONATHAN...AND DANIEL....Friendly fantastic people!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is located in a beautiful secluded area. An hour and half approx from the airport in a comfortable air conditioned bus made the treck seem short. The resort is peaceful and relaxing. I cant say enough about how wonderful the Domincan people are and they work exceptionally hard long hours to make sure you have a great vacation. I would definitely return.......

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is located just near a small quaint town. The beach is not large but perfect for floating and cooling off. The grounds are well kept and the lake area beautiful for watching the turtles and fish. Lots of shade or sun....

Close
Sabine
A Heaven called Grand Paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2014
Booking this Vacation, we (young girls barely in our twenties) did not expect too much of a 3-star Resort in some unknown part of the island. We were just looking for an affordable, low-key vacation where we could relax and just escape reality for a week. Just have some fun!! The location is perfect: quiet, secluded, safe and in walking distance from a small town called Las Galeras. Our room was amazing! It was roomy and cool and always decorated with flowers) We stayed in building 5, close to the beach and the quieter of the three pools in ... the resort. The restaurant and the reception were about a five minute walk but the food was definitely worth it!! They had a great selection of meals at the buffet every day. And one night of the week they had a special dinner at the beach with candle light and everything! And that ladies and gentlemen is where you get to meet the awesome manager Samuel Vasquez!!! He can help with anything and will be more than happy to assist you with a smile on his face at all times) The rest of the staff also made us feel very welcome. They include you in all the activities whether you want to or not (and at the end of the day you'll be happy they do). Activities like organized volleyball, aerobics, spanish classes on the beach and many more!! Every night they had a beautiful show with lots of dancing!! Our favorite was definitely the pool show read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Carrie
A hidden gem
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
When I booked this vacation I had never been anywhere besides Canada. I knew I wanted white sands and blue water. The travel agen reviewed grand paradise and it sounded wonderful. The rate was reasonable. We had about and 1 hour ride from the airport in saman a which was a little different in Canada. Wasn't sure our bus would make it, but our lovely driver assured us it would. And it did safely. Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were greeted with singing and dancing from the animation staff along with an alcoholic beverage which was refreshingly cold. ... We were quickly shown to our rooms, where everything was perfect. The beds were made up nicely and the room was clean. From there we were informed of all of the daily activities and when and where our meals would be served. All of the staff was friendly and sure to include you in the activities. The beach was phenomenal. It had white sand and blue water. It was extremely warm and calm. Mikiki Johnson was my favourite animation member. While on stage he is sure to make eye contact and make you laugh. He would include you in all of his activities as well as join you for dinner. He was easy to talk to, like a friend you have known forever. It was an awesome 7 days which was way too short. I went solo for a second time in June and had the same wonderful experience. In hoping to head back there this March. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Susann
3.5 stars okay for
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
For a 3 star superior hotel is ok, but you shouldn't expect much. The beach is great, but worn beach chairs. Food is rather poor: 2 times on the day you got the same food. The linen (sheets) in the room is inadequate. The hotel is very to meet the needs and preferences of americans/canadians laid out. Who likes it, is here well waived. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
Close
Darlene
Excellent Stay at Grand Paradise Samana
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • April 2014
I found this resort to be a perfect size. With only 420 rooms, you're not over crowded with people. The resort was very clean. Rooms were also very clean. The food was excellent. So many choices at the buffet. Guestes ranged from people in their 20's to 80's. There were also some families with small children. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was a good size for the both of us. Even my 3 sons were fine with the size of the room. (They were all 3 in the same room)

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is the main buffet and a A la Carte restaurant. Both locations were very clean. Food and drinks were excellent. You have many choices in food and drinks.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were extremely friendly. Juan from the Sports Bar always had a smile and he was very pleasant. Yessi at the towel exchange was always very chatty and polite. She is also a great entertainer.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is entertainment every night. The staff put on a great show of dancing. They work very hard. My hat off to all of the staff. The beach was beautiful. It was kept clean. Loved the Palm trees, they were great for shade. There are 3 beautiful pools too. We didn't use the pools, we chose to be at the beach.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I found this resort to be a perfect size. With only 420 rooms, you're not over crowded with people. The resort was very clean. Rooms were also very clean. The food was excellent. So many choices at the buffet. Guestes ranged from people in their 20's to 80's. There were also some families with small children.

  • Location
    6.0

    From our room the beach was approx. 3 min walk. I am not a shopper so we didn't venture off the resort to go shopping. There is a local market. The Gift shop on the resort was sufficient for my shopping. There are a few Excursions to choose from. You can go horseback riding to a beautiful waterfall, a boat ride to a island.....

Close
Nadine
Best Vacation! Incredible staff!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
Had the most fun vacation and it's all because of the staff and beautiful location. Mikiki Johnson is the greatest! Met him on the first day and he made our vacation extra special. If you go, make sure to ask for him, he is part of the animation team. All the employees go out of their way to make sure you enjoy every moment. The resort is small and in the most beautiful location. Unspoiled beauty everywhere you look and the water is so green, calm and warm, perfect for swimming. Rooms are nice and super clean. Food is quite ... good and lots of choices. If I could go back tomorrow, I would! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Gerald
Great place to just relax on the beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
Airport was easy to navigate and fast, the hotel staff were wonderful, the food was good but not great. Lovely beach overhaul no complaints. Nice little walk to the nearest town friendly locals, cold beer and light shopping. Be prepared to barter. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Regula
Hotel Grand Paradise Samana
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
I’m just back from my first visit at this resort/hotel and it was so beautiful…a little place in paradise!! I arrived at the reception with a private transfer at 2.00 am …the welcome was so kind I felt really good from the very first in spite of high tiredness. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    First I had a room with garden view, the room was really clean and comfortable but the view in the garden was not so nice like the sea view…so at the second day I changed and I received a room with sea view….really top (number 1153) a big hug to Samuel Vasquez!!! My room was sparkling clean every day …thank you very much my chambermaid.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food in the restaurants (all in all 3) was really multifarious…rice, potatoes, fish, meat, salads, fruits, vegetables, candies…you're not going to starve ;-)). The staffs in the restaurants are so nice too…smiling, always a «Hola, como estas»

  • Service
    6.0

    At the bars you can try a lot of drinks but the best one for me was the «Caipirinha»…all the barkeepers are friendly, smiling, funny…a special thanks goes to Roberto (at the bar in front of the disco) and to Felix.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There are two pool sites too, nice not much of people especially at the little one…perfect for a nap. I was there for diving too, I never dived in Dominican Republic before but it was really great, nice spots…the caves, corals, ship wrecks…lovely! It is a good diving school, you can speak in german, english, spanish, italian…the guys are really nice, funny, friendly…I spent a good dive-time etc. with you: Thank you Valerio, Miki, Christian and Abraham (best captain)!! In the evening I always looked the great shows of the animation team…it was really worthwhile…several dance styles, lovely suits, beautiful backdrop… they are great dancers and so nice, friendly, always smiling, helpful…I was so charmed. After the shows the animation team opened the disco and animated the guests to dance or to learn their great dances like Bachata, Merengue, Salsa, Reggaeton etc. with so much patience and affection...I really loved it!! Big hugs and a special thanks goes to Olga (lovely dancer), Pinky, Viannely, Judith, Yessi, Youseff, Daniel (so funny guy and great dancer), Mikiki, Raylin (fitness man), Lima, Kaky (best Salsa dancer), Andujar (best DJ), Alexis and Erick (yeahhh Baby…crazy but so nice). I will come back as soon as possible…love this place and the great people there. See you soon….!!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I’m just back from my first visit at this resort/hotel and it was so beautiful…a little place in paradise!! I arrived at the reception with a private transfer at 2.00 am …the welcome was so kind I felt really good from the very first in spite of high tiredness.

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is really amazing, very clean with a lot of nature (palm trees, flowers….), the beach is great, enough place for everybody…beach loungers and towels are exist. A special thanks goes to the cleaner on the beach and the security staffs.

Close
Linda
Great holidays.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
• the hotel area was super nice and very well maintained. A compliment to the gardener. • the pools were always very clean and i could even watch, that they were cleaned every day. • in the restaurant, the food-offer 3 times daily very varied. Since we mostly in the same corner from the Restaurant sat we had mostly the care of el vido. He was always very friendly and attentive, as actually all service staff. With 9 him we felt very welcome and well cared for. • at the boers and sports bar there was, despite the stress, always ... a friendly smile. • the room was always pico bello. The beds were not only easy, but fancifully decorated. A thanks to decena aqueda. • we now still come to the animation team. You have a significant contribution, that our holiday so great were. The entertainment in the day (spanish lessons with mikiki, different games, dancing lessons etc. ) the leisure activities on offer were very impressive. A big compliment to yessie, Olga, Judith, margaritha - was, vionnely, Hotel Daniel, yousseff, japanese persimmon, mikiki, railyn, lima, andujar, jonatan, Eriberto and alexis. (i hope i have not forgotten anyone) We will definitely come back! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Tricia
Great 2 week stay at GPS with family!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
It was nice to get intouch with the hotel before we arrived.Noris, Samuel and Roberto told us everything we needed to know before hand which was nice. When we arrived at the hotel Samuel and Roberto were there to greet us which was very nice since we had spoke via email prior. Our bags were taken to our room by Ronny who we had fun with the entire two weeks.he was always somewhere around the hotel walking or in his golf cart with a smile on his face ! Our room was in a great location by the ... one pool, the hotel is spread out so it never seemed overly busy which was nice. Our room was kept very clean by Isabel and she is a very nice woman with a smile on her face at all times. The hotel itself was always being maintained while we were there.whether it was a gardener, repair man or painter all were friendly. We bought the wifi for our daughters devices and whenever we had a problem with it working we went to the front reception and Mike, Guery or Euris always helped us. Julio Cesar was friendly aswell. The hotel has a very friendly feel to it, it was like we became family very quickly with everyone. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Our room was in block 5 which was in a good location to go anywhere on the resort right by the one of three pools. The size of the room was fine compared to other hotels. The shower nozzle was broken when we arrived but once I mentioned it at breakfast to Roberto who is the food service manager it was fixed in no time....I was planning on heading to the front desk after breakfast but that saved us a trip ! The mini bar was always stocked with water and pop, we are used to having it stocked with canned beer but it wasnt a huge deal...we went into town or went to the market on the hotel site and bought a few cans to go in it. Our room was kept spotless but Isabel, she is a wonderful hard working woman who smiled all the time and waved at us where ever she was on the resort ! A coffee maker would of been nice to have in the room, we brought our own kettle, mugs and coffee with us which wasnt a huge deal but would of been nice to have supplied in the room. The air conditioning worked really well...so well we asked Isabel for an extra blanket !! We only got 3 channels on the tv but you are not really there to watch tv anyways but we did get all the shows we watch at home !!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Our experience at this hotel was wonderful. There were plenty of bars and at first I thought...only 2 a la cartes but then realized that at other resorts we probably only go to 2 out of 5 they offer anyways. The dinner on the beach was a nice touch and for many guests they did not know who management was so this was good for the hotel, kudos to Henry and his staff. The cleanliness of the dining areas was good, no different from other resorts. The type of food served was pretty much the same as other DR hotels...all cuisine, we stuck to what we usually eat so we didnt upset our stomachs and we do take alot of food with us ( ketchup, salad dressings, peanut butter, cheeze whiz and much more, when you travel with children you never know ) We always tip and at this resort it was well deserved. I did have sun stroke one day and the staff was very concerned about me and sent toast, cereal and bananas back to the room for me and when I did go to breakfast the next day they all seem genuinely concerned about me which was very nice !

  • Service
    6.0

    Excellent service in all areas at this hotel ! We can not say enough about the staff....from Samuel looking after our rooms, Roberto in all the restaurants, Ronny making sure our rooms were fine, Franciso and Robert at our pool bar with table service most days, Nina as the greeter at the buffet and sometimes the a la cartes, Leocalina was a great waitress everyday at breakfast, Fenci and Super Carlos at the a la cartes were great and Ariel was always there with a smile on his face ! The staff was super friendly and seemed to be able to speak to everyone and if they couldnt we still got our point across ! We did stress to management that the animation crew needed new swimsuits and I think the suggestion was taken very well....they work long hard hours and a new swimsuit would make a world of difference for them to do ocean aerobics or beach games. It would make them look that much more professional.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The beach was the happening spot in the morning.....at 10 they usually had spanish lessons, yoga and stretching, then volleyball and archery....at 11:30 there was ocean aerobics which always got quite a crowd out in the water. Lima or Mikiki did the spanish lessons most days we were there, Youseff was on the mic getting everyone situated and he also ran crazy beach games......they had kayak tours down the river which Erick and Youseff did while we were there.....Railyn was great playing beach games with my daughter and he always got the largest crowd out to ocean aerobics during our stay !!! The pools were never busy which was nice....Yonathan and Erick did a great job at the towel hut, very friendly. All the animation team did a great job at this resort....it seemed to be an older crowd so at times it was hard to get people to participate but kudos to Railyn, Erick, Youseff, Kaki, Mikiki, Lima & Andujar and Roberto the tennis pro !! Always a smile on his face even when he didnt have any followers for tennis :) The beach is very nice at this resort, it is fringed with palms so you can get sun or shade if you want it. The ocean is calm and shallow which is very nice for small children or non swimmers. We husband and daughter also took a kayak out and enjoyed how shallow and calm the ocean was farther out aswell. They had just got new lounges around both pools before we got there and we never had an issue getting a lounge at the beach or pool. People will return to this resort due to the animation staff, they try really hard and we got to know them during our two week stay and hated to leave a few of them !!! Railyn was our fav :) we wanted to bring him home !!!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    It was nice to get intouch with the hotel before we arrived...Noris, Samuel and Roberto told us everything we needed to know before hand which was nice. When we arrived at the hotel Samuel and Roberto were there to greet us which was very nice since we had spoke via email prior. Our bags were taken to our room by Ronny who we had fun with the entire two weeks...he was always somewhere around the hotel walking or in his golf cart with a smile on his face ! Our room was in a great location by the one pool, the hotel is spread out so it never seemed overly busy which was nice. Our room was kept very clean by Isabel and she is a very nice woman with a smile on her face at all times. The hotel itself was always being maintained while we were there...whether it was a gardener, repair man or painter all were friendly. We bought the wifi for our daughters devices and whenever we had a problem with it working we went to the front reception and Mike, Guery or Euris always helped us. Julio Cesar was friendly aswell. The hotel has a very friendly feel to it, it was like we became family very quickly with everyone.

  • Location
    5.0

    The distance from the airport is rather long but if you know before hand like we did we just set ourselves in travel mode and took extra gravol and we were fine....we got there eventually ! Once you are there it is true paradise...its the lushest part of the DR we have stayed in and we have stayed in all areas now and I will return to GPS for this reason, its beautiful and the fact that the area around GPS is not developed is even better. You could walk either way and it was nice to just see the ocean and palms. Nature is everywhere at this resort....from the turtles and birds to the horses that run through the path in the morning and at night when you least expect it. Once morning while putting my towels on the beach 7 horses ran down the path right infront of me. You can walk into town in minutes is you like...the shopping is fine but after a few years going to the DR there isnt much left to buy but it is nice to walk to town for a change of scenery. There are all kinds of excursions to do from this hotel but we go to relax on a lounge with a book or people watch !

Close
1 3 4 5 ... 12