Almuñecar Playa Spa Hotel(4 stars)

Paseo de la China, S/N Playa De San Cristobal View on map

Average rating

498 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.1
  • Room
    5.1
  • Service
    5.2
  • Location
    5.3
  • Food and Drinks
    4.8
  • Sport & entertain
    4.9
Filters
You selected:
54 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Armando
Magic beach holidays
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Littles and bigs pools, with bubbles, with slides and inside a cave (spa) , the best animation team and knows Delfi (the friend of the boys) , have got my childrens thinks the hotel is magic. The food is varied and very good. It,s possible very much trips to near little beaches. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Frans
This is our most popular hotel in Spain
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
Giving this hotel an excellent rating could be somewhat exaggerated, but when I would purely consider value for money, than I would certainly rate it excellent. There may be more luxurious hotels than this 4-star spa hotel, but than the price is always also "luxurious". Our trip was for 4 nights of which we stayed 3 nights completely free of charge in half-board as a result of using our loyalty Club Playa Vip points from this hotel group (Senator Hoteles). You might expect a somewhat more basic stay because of this "free of charge" stay, but this was certainly not ... the case. Our entire stay was to the same high standard as usual. Some customers have complained in their reviews that the hotel needs some "refreshment". While the hotel can indeed use here and there some renovation we noticed several elements that have already been improved over the past year. Furniture in the hotel hall is old, but was renovated recently, old TV's in the suites were replaced by modern flat-screens (1 of the 2 TV's in each suite), leak in the hall roof seems repaired, partial repainting of part of the hotel Knowing what crisis Spain had to confront, I would call this an achievement. If the hotel continues its efforts for the future, this should no longer create an issue. Food is good with a wide selection possible. Free cava and water are offered during breakfast. You can ask your omelet made-to-order on the show-cooking counter, etc. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Sheets are replaced frequently and towels daily if you want to. Extra pillows can be requested easily. Floor was swept daily as were the bath, toilet and shower.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food is good with a wide selection possible. Free cava and water are offered during breakfast. You can ask your omelet made-to-order on the show-cooking counter, etc...

  • Service
    6.0

    Excellent service of loyal personnel. Most of them work there since our first visit 5 years ago, which I consider a good sign. All hotel personnel is very friendly and they make an effort to help you in French/English.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    An extended entertainment program is available, even in low season. This includes rifle shooting, aqua gym, line dance, darts, mini-golf, ....and may other activities. All free of charge. There is an outdoor pool, an indoor pool (free entrance). The welness centre is not free of charge, but frequented also by locals.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Giving this hotel an excellent rating could be somewhat exaggerated, but when I would purely consider value for money, than I would certainly rate it excellent. There may be more luxurious hotels than this 4-star spa hotel, but than the price is always also "luxurious". Our trip was for 4 nights of which we stayed 3 nights completely free of charge in half-board as a result of using our loyalty Club Playa Vip points from this hotel group (Senator Hoteles). You might expect a somewhat more basic stay because of this "free of charge" stay, but this was certainly not the case. Our entire stay was to the same high standard as usual. Some customers have complained in their reviews that the hotel needs some "refreshment". While the hotel can indeed use here and there some renovation we noticed several elements that have already been improved over the past year. Furniture in the hotel hall is old, but was renovated recently, old TV's in the suites were replaced by modern flat-screens (1 of the 2 TV's in each suite), leak in the hall roof seems repaired, partial repainting of part of the hotel, ... Knowing what crisis Spain had to confront, I would call this an achievement. If the hotel continues its efforts for the future, this should no longer create an issue. Food is good with a wide selection possible. Free cava and water are offered during breakfast. You can ask your omelet made-to-order on the show-cooking counter, etc...

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located next to the beach and you have a nice promenade between hotel and beach. View from the hotel -especially if you have seaview - is nice. Public market (on Friday), city park and city castle are all within walking distance.

Close
Heike
Hotel top; tour operator disappointing
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
We were not for the 1st time in almunecar Playa and as with the previous visit very satisfied. The hotel could at some places a renovation, special. The carpet in the hallway on the 3. floor. That was really not acceptable. Since the hotel was in the november for some time, there is hope, that with our next attendance (probably in february 2015) on the floors in the corridors work has been done. We enjoyed the food both the breakfast and the dinner mostly good. The selection was plentiful and good. We had a while and at the beginning of ... problems with the hand towel change. The towels were in the bathroom not dry. After the hotel manager asked at the front desk had switched, we could the towels when necessary with the zimmermächdchen exchange. With the cleaning, 2 times a week, we were very clear. Unfortunately, this good assessment not for the tour operator v-tours As our rückreisetag in nrw the rosenmontagszüge moved, we had a abendflug booked, the of air Berlin painted and on the lunch was moved. But the travel agent nothing. Our request, us a other flight in the evening in the air Berlin (it went in the evening still flights from malaga on Palma after Düsseldorf) to procure was immediately by e-mail for. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Luis
Almuñecar Playa Spa Hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • City break
  • December 2013
The hotel is placed very close to the sea, on the seaside promenade so it has a perfect location. Good and quiet atmosphere and an excellent service. A competent staff idoneous for the hotel. Good choice. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Helga
Wellness in andalusian surroundings.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • October 2013
Family friendly hotel with an international audience in direct beach proximity. The place is good to foot to reach. Playa-guests are already when entering the impressive lobby with a great foliage, aviary and waterfall at home, new customers probably not much later. Also in the restaurant the famous variety and quality. The starters and obstfan i had no wishes open, everything very appetizing and also immediately refilled. Animaionsprogramm versatile. My room was spacious and nicely decorated with a view of the pool area and partial ocean view. It was clean, but the stone floors in some spots a speckle removal ... use, so that the original beauty again effective. Receipt and consultation in the spa are friendly and competent. The spa area was in order, but i would like to see a haubenpflicht. I can recommend the massage. Overall, a pleasant stay. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Frans
This was our 6th visit and we go back next year !
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
This is now our sixth visit and we intend to go back next year April. Food is very decent with a wide selection of cold and warm vegetables; fish, meats, stews, pastas, fruits, dessertsFood is partly prepared in advance, but includes also show cooking and includes even made to order cooking (e.g. omelets at breakfast, pancakes in the evening). Everyday you can have cava at breakfast. Rooms are kept clean, our linen was changed 3 times in a week and towels daily if you wish so. We booked a suite (of course somewhat more expensive). This has ... frontal seaview and we had a beautifull view over Almunecar castle too (with superb sunrise in the morning). Booking a suite has some advantages like reduced cost in the hotel parking (and in some periods even free of charge) and a nice attention in your room at arrival (or in our case when we returned from our souper). Go for a room on the higher floors (5th and higher). Views are beautiful and streetnoise is limited (if any). Drinks are priced very reasonable and there is also daily a happy hour between 17.00 and 18.00 hrs. Buy one, get two ! We will certainly go back. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Rooms are kept clean, our linen was changed 3 times in a week and towels daily if you wish so. We booked a suite (of course somewhat more expensive). This has frontal seaview and we had a beautifull view over Almunecar castle too (with superb sunrise in the morning). Booking a suite has some advantages like reduced cost in the hotel parking (and in some periods even free of charge) and a nice attention in your room at arrival (or in our case when we returned from our souper).

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food is very decent with a wide selection of cold and warm vegetables; fish, meats, stews, pastas, fruits, desserts, ...Food is partly prepared in advance, but includes also show cooking and includes even made to order cooking (e.g. omelets at breakfast, pancakes in the evening, ...). Everyday you can have cava at breakfast.

  • Service
    6.0

    All hotel personnel is very friendly and making efforts to help you in French/English where possible. This goes from receptionists over barmen, restaurant waiters, animators, room cleaning ladies to the hotel manager.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Of course the animation is focused on July August holiday period. But even during our visit in October there was a full animation program for most part of the day (except Sundays)

  • Hotel
    5.0

    This is now our sixth visit and we intend to go back next year April. Food is very decent with a wide selection of cold and warm vegetables; fish, meats, stews, pastas, fruits, desserts, ...Food is partly prepared in advance, but includes also show cooking and includes even made to order cooking (e.g. omelets at breakfast, pancakes in the evening, ...). Everyday you can have cava at breakfast. Rooms are kept clean, our linen was changed 3 times in a week and towels daily if you wish so. We booked a suite (of course somewhat more expensive). This has frontal seaview and we had a beautifull view over Almunecar castle too (with superb sunrise in the morning). Booking a suite has some advantages like reduced cost in the hotel parking (and in some periods even free of charge) and a nice attention in your room at arrival (or in our case when we returned from our souper). Go for a room on the higher floors (5th and higher). Views are beautiful and streetnoise is limited (if any). Drinks are priced very reasonable and there is also daily a happy hour between 17.00 and 18.00 hrs. Buy one, get two ! We will certainly go back.

  • Location
    5.0

    There is a public market every Friday at walking distance (about 1.5kms) which is worthwhile visiting. Hotel is next to the promenade and opposite the beach. The city park and the castle are very nearby (at 5 minutes walk).

Close
Marian
Fantasctic family holidays
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
The best bedrooms are in front of beach and pool. I think that the pool is a bit small for the number of rooms The situacion is perfect, the beach is only a few metres. I stayed three times in this hotels company and I think that all are perfect. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Elvira
The hotel is getting old
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
A hotel of the have already gotten very old is. I would recommend a star off. But one must still say that it was clean. The rooms and bathrooms are large. In the hotel there were almost only spanish guests and so it was incredibly loud. The staff in the dining room spoke only spanish and a simple order like pineapple juice was almost impossible in english it was not understood. The food was ok but unfortunately not warm enough but i think that everyone could find. The breakfast was very to praise large choice so here's a big plus. ... The pool very small and beach chairs were very close together and a lot of noise. However on the beach just across the street is, it was beautifully quiet and for chair you paid there 4 Euro per person. It was a great vacation overall and one can the hotel further-recommend. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    2.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Dieter
Hotel okay-extra charge not
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
Safegebühren, 2 weeks 52,5 Euro are very high. Bath towels for the pool change, both 2 Euro for washing. It is always additionally pay immediatly. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Lutz
Rather 3 instead of 4 stars
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
On closer inspection, the decision 3 stars wãren more appropriate, not spa, but savings hotel. Pool and beach chairs are available only in limited number for the size. After 3 days poolbaraufbau there was also finally there something to drink. The course to the rooms, carpet was the whole time not cleaned stained and full mutzel smelled a little musty. Toilet paper there was 2 days not tissues. In the restaurant you felt like in a großraumkantiene too loud. With the food and the staff you could be satisfied. Further spa offer i cannot judge were once in the basement ... durcbgegangen the only thing which was a gym at lunchtime. My conclusion, it is a lot of renovation the pictures always looked better! Otherwise top position right on the beach the area really enjoyed. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.7
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Mario
Good hotel with small drawbacks
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
The hotel is ideal for excursions to Granada, Ronda, Cordoba etc. Definitely book a rental car (in the hotel). The town of almunecar pleased us totally well, nice small tapas bars and pubs, narrow streets for shopping. Necessarily the castle look at. The beach is a mixture of gravelly and coarse-sandy. The water is crystal clear. For all inclusive guests there was at the bar no cheap fusel, but original brand (for example Bacardi, liqueur 43 etc.). Genuinly the hammer! Also super delicious cocktails were prepared, the for all inclusive guests only half the cost. Here a greeting to ... the bar people! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Uwe
Completely satisfied in the 'Playa spa almunecar'
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • May 2013
Optically the hotel, which in almunecar already on the way there noticeable. Looks optically not so, as the number of rooms is (227). You have to the hotel have to a judgment to form. It's all clean, friendly staff, small 'damage' on the object there is like in every other hotel and excusable. The types of people are completely mixed, all ages and distributed (in our travel time) good. All, at the meals went fault, i can only congratulate, if home someone there is this supply guaranteed ☺! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    There was actually in the room nothing to complain about. Balcony with a view of the mediterranean sea. Decor is typical for the country. Plenty of space, a large bathroom and enough storage space. There are not all channels-whoever wanted to watch tv you should stay at home. Mini fridge was good, our own drinks. Can be cooled down. Sauberkeitn is o. b.! ps! For small people is the high fastening the shower was a problem, because the shower not tangible!

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We had the combination of the dishes at our meals (half board) no complaints. The compilation is typical of the country and everyone should before plan. It is even the chance a other kitchen to get to know. Can not everyone taste are taken. Highly recommended is the half board +, then are all drinks for dinner. The staff is attentive, friendly. Everyone can his spot during dinner times choose.

  • Service
    5.0

    We felt the hotel friendly welcome. With english one is everywhere well cared for (is to us). In a '2 star hotel' should be a little more german nevertheless already be!

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    While we were there the pool was still a bit cool, but perfectly laid out.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Optically the hotel, which in almunecar already on the way there noticeable. Looks optically not so, as the number of rooms is (227). You have to the hotel have to a judgment to form. It's all clean, friendly staff, small 'damage' on the object there is like in every other hotel and excusable. The types of people are completely mixed, all ages and distributed (in our travel time) good. All, at the meals went fault, i can only congratulate, if home someone there is this supply guaranteed ☺!

  • Location
    6.0

    From the airport of malaga was by car to the hotel approximately 50 minutes away the beach is just a step from the hotel-ideal! Items you can right around the corner procure. Top is the super-mercador-market behind the hotel. The old town of almunecar is in about 15. minutes walk away and always on the beach promenade along. Excursions to Granada, malaga, sierea nevada are with a rental car great.

Close
Frans
We looked forward to revisit, with good reason !
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • April 2013
We visited this hotel now for the fifth time or so and we will continue to return for several reasons. The hotel personnel is very friendly and helpfull and this is the case everywhere at reception, in the restaurant, the bar, etc We have always asked for a room on the highest floors (great views and very quiet) and this request was always granted, but it helps to send a mail with your request in advance. There are huge price differences when booking your arrangements. We booked through Jetair (with own transport) and with early booking reduction and this deal ... is very interesting. But also the hotel chain (Playa Senator) has interesting offers when using their early booking reductions, etc. Compare prices (also with and without transport at same travel agencies) We consider our arrangement as extremely high value for money. Some people complain that there is not a lot of variation in the meals. However, when the hotel gives you an extremely wide selection every day (e.g. daily 3 kinds of paté, english breakfast, daily cava at breakfast, 2 kinds of fish, 2 kinds of meat, 2 stews, etc. every dinner) than it becomes difificult not to repeat some platters during the week. But we were there 9 days and we never ate the same. Food is not luxurious (except on Saturday evenings) but always very decent. Also, you can order your own eggs with the fillings you want, the same is true for pancakes. The hotel could indeed do with some renovation, but all important functionality is working properly. And knowing what a crisis we have in Spain I personally think they do pretty well. Also important is that they keep their personnel. Only seldomly we see new faces under their personnel which is for me a good sign conserning employer-employee loyalty. The drinks are of good quality and prices are very acceptable (e.g. 1/2 liter of house wine is only 5.05 euro, 1 liter mineral water only 2.45 euro). Also remember that from 17.00 till 18.00hrs it is happy hour in the bar and you get 2 drinks for the price of 1. Location of the hotel is at the promenade and at walking distance from the park, the historical castle, the tourist information office. We can strongly recommend this hotel. Best proof we have booked already our next stay coming October. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Very nice rooms and excellent cleanliness. Blankets were changed every 2 days ! Cleaned daily. In the suites we have a fridge, 2 TV's, a safe, an extremely large terrace with sunbeds...

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There is an extreme large selection to choise from at every meal. It is so large that it is not possible to vary a lot from day to day. Yet, we were there 9 nights and we never ate the same. If you want, the personnel will cook you your specific egg, or your pancake. The also serve daily cava at breakfast, etc...

  • Service
    5.0

    Personnel at reception, in the restaurant, at the bar, etc... is very friendly. We asked for extra pillows and these were brought within minutes to our room. We asked for a room on the higher floors and our request was always granted.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There is a full entertainment program. The hotel has an outdoor and an indoor pool. There is also a very nice wellness center, but this is at an extra cost. NAd high season and in week-ends there is also a special program for kids.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We visited this hotel now for the fifth time or so and we will continue to return for several reasons. The hotel personnel is very friendly and helpfull and this is the case everywhere : at reception, in the restaurant, the bar, etc ... We have always asked for a room on the highest floors (great views and very quiet) and this request was always granted, but it helps to send a mail with your request in advance. There are huge price differences when booking your arrangements. We booked through Jetair (with own transport) and with early booking reduction and this deal is very interesting. But also the hotel chain (Playa Senator) has interesting offers when using their early booking reductions, etc... Compare prices (also with and without transport at same travel agencies) We consider our arrangement as extremely high value for money. Some people complain that there is not a lot of variation in the meals. However, when the hotel gives you an extremely wide selection every day (e.g. daily 3 kinds of paté, english breakfast, daily cava at breakfast, 2 kinds of fish, 2 kinds of meat, 2 stews, etc... every dinner, ....) than it becomes difificult not to repeat some platters during the week. But we were there 9 days and we never ate the same. Food is not luxurious (except on Saturday evenings) but always very decent. Also, you can order your own eggs with the fillings you want, the same is true for pancakes. The hotel could indeed do with some renovation, but all important functionality is working properly. And knowing what a crisis we have in Spain I personally think they do pretty well. Also important is that they keep their personnel. Only seldomly we see new faces under their personnel which is for me a good sign conserning employer-employee loyalty. The drinks are of good quality and prices are very acceptable (e.g. 1/2 liter of house wine is only 5.05 euro, 1 liter mineral water only 2.45 euro). Also remember that from 17.00 till 18.00hrs it is happy hour in the bar and you get 2 drinks for the price of 1. Location of the hotel is at the promenade and at walking distance from the park, the historical castle, the tourist information office. We can strongly recommend this hotel. Best proof : we have booked already our next stay coming October.

  • Location
    6.0

    Hotel is near the beach with just a promenade and a street in between. View from the higher floors of the hotel on the surroundings is very nice. But also the park, the historical castle, the tourist office, are very close and if you have a car, you can visit a lot of extra lacations and cities in the vicinity (like Nerja, Granada, Malaga, .....)

Close
Dolores
A fantastic family holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
I will recomend you this hotel because I think it is a very good hotel to spend your holiday in family. Children can do sport and enjoy with other children in the teenclub. The rooms are big, we were three adults and one child and we dind't have any problems to be good. The staff of hotel is expecially pleasant and if you have any difficult they are always able to help you. We will again go to there next year and I notice a lot of people repeat this hotel because they like it. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Hartmut
Our 2. home
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • April 2013
We were already often in this hotel. Wonderful sea view from the junior suite from. We liked the food very much, the service is attentive and friendly. Very many spanish guests also groups, the just speak louder than we. We always look forward on the familiar environment, also the staff has long been almost always the same, which for good working climate speaks. Also special wishes were immediately fulfilled. Particularly like us the proximity to of the center with local population and the botanical garden with archaeological excavations and a large castle. The hotel's wellness and entertainment we can't judge ..., since we were already at the airport rent a car and many go on excursions to Granada, frigiliana and many little visited beaches. The hotel has a its own parking garage, otherwise parking not always easy to find. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.7
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
Close
Luk
Friendly
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
the main complaint for this hotel is the lack of FRESH articles in the salad bar( carots etc...) for the rest very well educated and friendly staff nice choice of drinks and wines even on the all in side read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jens
Hotel is outdated
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • March 2013
In 2003 and 2005 we are already in the almuñécar Playa spa hotel. Since then it seems to be the time warp : the rooms are although also today nor very clean, but already a bit 'worn'. Internet access only for one hour free of charge (and only in the lobby), speed extremely slow (download with 0.06 kpbs, ping 400 ms). Also the parking space is liable to pay the costs. We will next time another hotel visit. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Oliver
Excellent hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • City break
  • January 2013
Mega-hotel offers non-stop in 100 metres distance to the sandy beach, good overall impression. Wi-fi only for 45 minutes/day including in the lobby, partly very slow, otherwise fee. We had only booked half board because of flexibility for day trips. The guest structure was very mixed! First we nearly only native spanish, then came suddenly squadrons of german and english. Average age 50 +. When booking of the hotel wanted hc preisnachschlag 200 €enforce, alleged price increase, here you have to be careful. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a sea view, this is, of course, top top top. Rooms incredibly spacious, tubes tv with 3 german channels (ARD, satellite. 1 and RTL), refrigerator. Bathroom is huge, even bidet, really a dream, a praise goes to the architect. And the hit: there was a dividing door from hallway and bedroom. This means still a good night's sleep, if it outside in the corridor times louder. Unfortunately, such an inside-dividing door to the corridor only very few hotels-one view always directly on the haupttür with code-closed.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Only a restaurant-room, no theme restaurants. Service very hard and professional, despite considerable gastzahlschwankungen.

  • Service
    6.0

    Reception very friendly, but even at the little things (wlan is not) rather overstrained, wants better pay offer sell. Complaints are directly implemented. Room cleaning good.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    Spa hotel deserves its name: indoor swimming pool was an afterthought installed on base plate (thus deckenabstand about 1 meters), and spa area (surcharge!) Is an area, dearless furnished, 6 together klappliegen, no friendly atmosphere, ancient saunas, pools are however clean and maintained. The spa is especially personnel manned, around massages and treatments to sell.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Mega-hotel offers non-stop in 100 metres distance to the sandy beach, good overall impression. Wi-fi only for 45 minutes/day including in the lobby, partly very slow, otherwise fee. We had only booked half board because of flexibility for day trips. The guest structure was very mixed! First we nearly only native spanish, then came suddenly squadrons of german and english. Average age 50 +. When booking of the hotel wanted hc preisnachschlag 200 €enforce, alleged price increase, here you have to be careful.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beach 100 meters away, airport 1 hour transfer time (malaga). Shopping right next to the building, supermarket mercadona, also tapas bars directly next to the hotel, and not at all times bad food! Bus station for day trips to almunecar downtown, you walk about 15 minutes The outdoor pool of the building is located in the transit area for guests, the check-in or check out, that means guests with their suitcases to guests-a bit strange arranging, i have not yet so knew. It seems that the entrance area of the hotel after back put. There are 2 hoteleingänge.

Close
Angelika
Pigeons plage
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • City break
  • January 2013
The hotel has a pigeons plage on the balconies-pigeons, the you can see, the you can hear, the one smells. I felt that these critters massive troubled. Sitting on the balcony was not possible. Alone because of the pigeons i can this hotel not recommend it and will certainly never stay there again. Positive emphasized should be the one-hour free internet access per day in the (architecturally very interesting) lobby. Otherwise was the hotel in all average. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    See above A tip: there are the possibility, locally a upgrade to book, i paid 6 Euro per day. The room had direct view of the ocean and the alignment south/west direct sun. Unfortunately changed by the removal of the doves-problem.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    A little more choice at the buffet would have been nice.

  • Service
    4.0

    Front desk friendly and anxious, speaks but didn't speak german.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    The hotel has a pigeons plage on the balconies-pigeons, the you can see, the you can hear, the one smells. I felt that these critters massive troubled. Sitting on the balcony was not possible. Alone because of the pigeons i can this hotel not recommend it and will certainly never stay there again. Positive emphasized should be the one-hour free internet access per day in the (architecturally very interesting) lobby. Otherwise was the hotel in all average.

  • Location
    4.0

    Strandhotel, pebble beach, transfer time about 50 minutes

Close
Manuela
Hotel was the expectations
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2012
Thanks to the many Vorbewerter we knew what to expect. A lot totally matches, as the pigeon droppings on the balcony, the rocky beach and the guest structure. Overall the hotel is but when middle occupancy in the late season definitely recommendable. We found the complete staff guest and child-friendly and communication tried. The food was fresh, varied and more than enough ( although for the German taste partly took some getting used to). The Economy -cleaning of the rooms (2 times per week) was excellent. The warm indoor pool ( with a large jacuzzi) has a low ceiling, but ... great, if the days outside chilly. In the 2 large beds we have four of us slept well. The large bathroom and the towels have been positively mentioned. Our points of criticism: 1.) the glasses in the restaurant were not always clean (lipstick.). 2.) the extensive entertainment was despite many present children only for adults planned, that (as many 50 +) hardly interested. It would be more flexibility appropriate. The evening entertainment ( Flamenco, Parrot show) we liked, was at 22 o'clock to us as a family but also very late. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
1 3