Hotel Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort(4 stars)

South Male Atoll Maldives Olhuveli View on map

Average rating

258 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.4
  • Room
    5.3
  • Service
    5.4
  • Location
    5.3
  • Food and Drinks
    5.3
  • Sport & entertain
    5.5
Filters
You selected:
81 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Fiona
Terrible staff
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
This hotel is in a beautiful setting but the staff have no idea of customer service and can be quite vicious. We made a complaint to the hotel because of something one of the staff did to one of our children. The manager refused to take responsibility for his staff and suggested we report it to the police, presumably thinking we wouldn’t. We did. The children were interviewed separately like criminals and their fingerprints taken. The hotel did not apologise to us or offer to try and resolve the problem. The whole family was so upset by the events and ... our treatment by the hotel that we left early, paying to move our flights. Then the staff tried to stop us leaving. The only way off the island was on their speedboat and four men took our cases off the boat just as we were trying to get away. In summary, whilst it does look like the ‘little bit of paradise’ mentioned in the marketing, looks can be deceiving. More like hell in this case. Would recommend you avoid the place. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    1.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    1.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.3
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    2.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Franziska
Good but price/performance ratio is not correct!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Very positive is the friendliness of the staff in all areas, all give themselves endlessly much trouble and nobody is importunate. Nice beach, clean pool area, general: very clean resort. It was noticeable very negatively however, that all the extras (drinks, snorkelling equipment, excursions.) Extremely overpriced. Generally is much value on Olhuveli not harmonious. Several days drew a thick puffs (including aschepartikeln ) on the island. Including once during the evening had eaten. Background is, that on the direct neighboring island apparently regularly several times a week garbage incineration in larger companies. Generally The view of the dirty pool ... no beautiful sight. Not like and inappropriate we found also the regular disco-evenings on the island - with the bass and the volume to long distance schallten. Our idea was, a relaxing and quiet holiday far away from stress and noise very positive is the friendliness of the staff in all areas, all give themselves endlessly much trouble and nobody is importunate. Nice beach, clean pool area, general: very clean resort. It was noticeable very negatively however, that all the extras (drinks, dinner in the restaurant, snorkel equipment, excursions.) Extremely overpriced. Generally is much value on Olhuveli not harmonious. Several days drew a thick puffs (including aschepartikeln ) on the island. Including once during the evening had eaten. Background is, that on the direct neighboring island apparently regularly several times a week garbage incineration in larger companies. Generally The view of the dirty pool no beautiful sight. Not like and inappropriate we found also the regular disco-evenings on the island - with the bass and the volume to long distance schallten. Our idea was, a relaxing and quiet holiday far away from stress and noise to spend. But the idyll was evenings due to the unpleasant volume often massive bother us. The livemusikabende with guitarist and singer were very pleasant. In principle we can this resort in sum recommend, but would even with the Next time another island. U spend. But the idyll was evenings due to the unpleasant volume often massive bother us. The livemusikabende with guitarist and singer were very pleasant. In principle we can this resort in sum recommend, but would even with the Next time another island. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Sabine
Just brilliant.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
It is a place for feeling well, the staff was great, the cleanliness of everything. As few very recommendable. Only it has many asians well as you can be of different opinion. We had pure relaxation. Will definitely go back. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Christina
Maldives pur
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
For us, this vacation was fantastically beautiful and it exceeded our expectations! This island although it is very small but the distances are very short and each room has a sea view! Just great! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Flo
3 time Maldives - unfortunately no recommendation ;-(
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
We booked the deluxe vatervilla 325 had, the service was ok-it was clean, but smells it also here as many criticized from the shower. Otherwise the room service 2 times to clean ready (even early-even evening), which we personally was too much and the whole to once limited had. Price-performance ratio here okay! However, we are on the final day in the garden bungalows, which 'deluxe' bungalows call had been moved, because we a late check oute booked (believe it or not 118 Dollar surcharge) and our room apparently already again was occupied. Here we had the number 220-these so-called ... 'deluxe' bungalows i can really not recommend. The bathroom was a dark small musty chamber, the bed hard as a rock and also otherwise is all more of a scruffy hotel and vacation feeling. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Deluxe water villa was good, spacious.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    Gastronomy was also compared not good. The buffet repeated after 4-5 days. Food mostly tasteless, very little fish! But here, you can probably adapted to have. Since very many japanese on the island were, was this is taken into account. Personally, i do not need in the Maldives 5 types of pasta, chips and so on. But there is a very good salad buffet where you are the salad to order order can. However a selection of local or indian food rather none. The mandatory curry it every day, was definitely not the bringer. Otherwise on hygiene, it was ok. The 'a la carte' restaurant, is well, but also with drinks not under 2 00 $out. The service is very good. Breakfast as in all maledivenaufenthalten monotonous, but ok!

  • Service
    3.0

    Friendliness of the staff was mixed-all in all ok, which i had also didn't know of the Maldives this was double service package, there are on the generally very expensive prices a 10% service fee and partly 8% zusatzpauschale oppositionally.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    2 swimming pools, are ok i was not in the pool!

  • Hotel
    4.0

    We booked the deluxe vatervilla 325 had, the service was ok-it was clean, but smells it also here as many criticized from the shower. Otherwise the room service 2 times to clean ready (even early-even evening), which we personally was too much and the whole to once limited had. Price-performance ratio here okay! However, we are on the final day in the garden bungalows, which 'deluxe' bungalows call had been moved, because we a late check oute booked (believe it or not 118 Dollar surcharge) and our room apparently already again was occupied. Here we had the number 220-these so-called 'deluxe' bungalows i can really not recommend. The bathroom was a dark small musty chamber, the bed hard as a rock and also otherwise is all more of a scruffy hotel and vacation feeling.

  • Location
    2.0

    A shame, i am the 3. time on the Maldives. It was reasonably priced my offerings and only stay, where i say, once and never again. Why: - snorkeling almost not possible, reef or as it claims is almost non-existent, no comparison to other islands. Very little fish. - the whole island is' carelessly ' in comparison to other islands - the water was very with seaweed covered - the island is not could be, 25% are attractive and descriptive, however, also here not worth it on the sand and from with the rake refined. Hence, the korallenreste, everywhere in the hard floor reingerannt have. Definitely no 'barefoot island'. - likewise everywhere plastic and müllreste, particularly on the side where the water villas are. - the stuffarea ( mitarbeiterviertel ) is partly separated, one on the back side of the island directly the neighboring island with large garbage mountains. Also is on the holiday island of trash rum (back) I think if someone for the first time on the Maldives is. He says-really nice nice island! But if compared knows, i must say, definitely not recommendable. If i go here example the Ari atoll walkest, here is alone the underwater world, the corals everything still much better intact! Our last visit, was on kuredo Iceland, also here everything was much better, cheaper and far and by far, great!

Close
Nicole
Fantastic holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Overall fantastic holidays, very friendly staff, beautiful area & sandy beach. A deficiency were the sometimes longer waiting periods for the all-inclusive receipts in the restaurant, but since it came on the waiters on it. The staff is otherwise very service oriented and attentive. The island was supposedly partly up to 98% occupied, which one not at all pointed out. Before the start of the journey i had a little concern, that the large island with little Maldives-holidays to do. It was during the day everything was very well arranged. Neither the beach, nor the pools were very überloffen. Was ... of course the restaurant during dinner but rather full, but it was perfectly ok (of course is a private dinner much nicer; o). Also no disturbing activities or much jet ski's rents. Actually i am sorry the to say, but the many chinese would not have to be! The goods way too loud and inconsiderate (with the staff). Luckily the but only to the extent that 3-4 days remained (but came new). The island houses approximately 300 employees in a separate area. Many by the staff you don't see, because they work in the background. The conditions for the employees are - so we noticed-ok, but certainly not great. Exaggerated we found the laundry. Unlike in other resorts/hotels the towels etc. Changed daily (even if you the towels again hooks has). Particular emphasis should be on the birthday surprise i received. We were greeted with a flower bed, a small schockoladekuchen and a weisswein surprised! The few things the us negatively noticeable are, were really quickly forget and the positive thing outweighs clearly. Overall, these were really gorgeous and luxury holidays. We would drive immediately again there and would the island also very good! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Maja
Dream holiday in a dream hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2013
In spite of the high gästebelegung you feel pleasantly alone and during the day only a few people. The lagoon and the nearby riff are wonderful and right from the beach or jetty distance. There are beach-bungalows with in each case 4 units, as well as various strandvillen and the water villa. While we were there, there were many chinese and french guests in the resort, but also individual representatives of various other nationalities. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    We had a balcony room in one of the two-story beach bungalows and felt really good there. The bathroom is unfortunately in the standard something from. It is very simple and smells mostly to clear the drain. As our bungalow right next to one of the premises internal bewirtschaftungsbereiche lag, we had during the day often fan and lüftungsgeräusche. We personally i didn't mind but not further and at night it was nice and quiet.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    For us was half-board completely sufficient. The beverage prices are quite high. Who thus many drinks needs, you should recalculate. On the rooms there was daily per person 0,5l of water free of charge, as well as coffee and tea. We were for the breakfast and dinner in each case in the sunrise restaurant and very satisfied. The places outside are gorgeous, therefore is worthwhile evening timely knowledge. Daily change the themes of the evening buffet (asian, mediterranean, grill, divehi...). And here not only for europeans, but for various nationalities cooked, is the diversity really impressive and you could try quite a few new things. It is next to the sunrise two further restaurants and 2 bars.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was without exception very friendly and spoke very good english. Although we didn't have tips to throw, it was a pleasure, the one or another a few Dollar to, because we so cordially treated.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The nearby riff has a lot to offer and surprised even after repeated abschnorcheln still. In addition to the numerous fish we turtles, rays and reef sharks met. Other reefs is within the hotel's excursions visit. The diving school offers a large the offer for excursions and offers also schnuppertauchgänge at the nearby reef at. There is also a water sports center, where you can borrow, what your heart desires. We are for example with the canoe to the island paddled. The bungalows have no own beach chairs and the tendious reserve chairs usual. So we had to us at lunchtime on schattensuche on our balcony retract. Each of the bars a pool. But in the strömungsfreien lagoon swim it is located on the most beautiful. There is evening entertainment in the lagoon restaurant, however, we have not looked at.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    In spite of the high gästebelegung you feel pleasantly alone and during the day only a few people. The lagoon and the nearby riff are wonderful and right from the beach or jetty distance. There are beach-bungalows with in each case 4 units, as well as various strandvillen and the water villa. While we were there, there were many chinese and french guests in the resort, but also individual representatives of various other nationalities.

  • Location
    6.0

    The transfer to the airport is 45 minutes by speedboat to the lower end of the south male-atolls. The hotel offers various excursions to the surrounding reefs, islands and malé.

Close
Tanja
Seelenbaumeln and hintergrundinfos
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
Who relaxing time out need, you are in goods hands here. We were there with the intention of absolute wellness holiday arrived and not disappointed %blank%. It is the offer the resorts in activities very extensive, but good possibilities, its own highlights in the lagoon and in the nearby reef to experience. The food and the choice is very good quality, the premises were constantly kept clean. Towels, as well as towels daily (or on request) changed. We have during our stay some valuable lesson. Coarse trash you should avoid as much as possible or take back home, since the ... maldivian problems with the disposal have. It is advisable, enough suntan creams take away. On the island you get almost all kinds of, but extortionate prices. The all-inclusive offer as regards drinks begins in the morning at 10 o'clock and ends around midnight. For every drinks, that the all-inclusive offer runs, a receipt (voucher) signed. The drive with the speedboat resembles sometimes a überlebenstrip-but on the likeable way. Behind the bar are first of all no maldivian, but literally temporary workers from Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and so on since the maldivian islamists are (for us not obvious), it is not allowed, alcohol to drink or to serve. Malediverinnen you saw the staff hardly. These are but circumstances, the slowly change. In the conversation with maledivern or even the zugereisten staff receives one a lot of information. The staff are unobtrusive, friendly, polite and in no way pushy. Even with little english one gets along here well. On staff we experienced also, the coral of the hotel reef, at the time construction the hotel were used. That's why is the nearby riff not the ideal conditions a reef. For some years it is now prohibited by law, in the korallensystem intervene, thus can the reef now very slow to recover. Taking 8., while snorkeling or diving the corals not to touch. Unfortunately we found, that our asian reisekollegen in no way this awareness. During our stay were two-thirds of the accommodations with asians occupied. First of all chinese. Since the chinese mostly cannot swim, were the beaches not crowded and very peaceful. We noticed, that our asian friends always very loud and lively conversation. So, if you arrive here, should be prepared. On the eastern side the island swept a fresh breeze, the stay at the beach all the pleasant made. On the opposite side, around 2 minutes away on foot, it was calm and very hot. The tiden one noticed already a strong current, the view underwater is nevertheless still remarkably. Tip, like for instance for the occupation of the speedboat, room boy, waiter and so on for the employees very important, as many here work and so that your families on the mainland, where also always, feed. Unfortunately comes the tips but not the maledivern itself, because this, as already mentioned, often in the background work. In between penetrated from the resort separated staff right background noises by, and then, if a soccer- or kricketmatch transferred. Some times they seemed even to have done. This aroused for us at least the impression, the staff live take place, which us to the smile brought. They seem absolute ballsportfreaks to be. For us, the Maldives an experience, we outsiders not so can give, as we even experienced. It is and remains furthermore a urlaubstraumziel, that we, if possible, often again target will be. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Sonja
Gorgeous olhuveli
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2013
In spite of the small size the island it is not built up and very unspoiled. You partly the feeling, that you alone on the island is. Everything distributed well. Also to the meals are the guests on several restaurants distributed, so that it was never overcrowded. The island was always and carefully cleaned, the paths raked, the rooms 2 time cleaned daily and the few seaweed at the beach away. Mainly the island from japanese visited, a few italians and a few germans. All together a nice and harmonic mixture dehumanise. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We have a jacuzzi water villa occupied. Very nice large living area and a luxurious bathroom, as well as a large terrace with jacuzzi and private access to the sea. Very clean and maintained atmosphere. The only drawback was a broken water pipe, so our jacuzzi directly into the sea drain. And not use of the bidet it smells after a few days after discharge, if one not now and a little water through leaves. We would the villas with number 301-310 on the sonenuntergangsseite recommend one there to about 14 hours a place in the shade on its terrace and these villas during the winter months on the downwind side. The deluxe -rooms are also very nice, if not quite as luxurious and spacious, the bathrooms are ageing. However, also here everything clean and tidy. Each deluxe room is a terrace or a balcony, as well as two private beach chairs with umbrella at the beach (the water villas not).

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are four restaurants on the island. The food is very good to excellent. Rich selection and every night different. There were theme nights such as for example chinese, italian or maldivian buffet, after the food oriented. The topics repeated every week, although the next week only the same food the topic as in the preceding week offered. We had half board and are great so seamlessly. You have to the surcharge to all inclusive before calculate and know, if you so much money for beverages and a lunch would be spent. It is every day for every guest a 0.5 liter bottle of water, as well as a kettle and different tea bags, which always refilled, and coffee free of charge. The tap water could be without hesitation after cooking drink. A beer costs 7,50 American Dollar and cocktail Tequila Sunrise 10 American Dollar (always plus 10% service plus 8% tax). A 1.5 liter bottle of water for dinner 3 American Dollar. A pizza for lunch at the 20 American Dollar.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was always very friendly, accomodating and never pushy. Most speak very well understandable english. Certainly a tip was important, but one also without the well treated! You have to the staff not 'grease' like in other holiday regions too. The staff is extremely child friendly, although i personally think the Maldives not a destination for families with small children are. On the island there is a doctor at certain times to visit.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The island features a diving school and a range of watersports station. We went snorkeling and from the hotel the island enthusiastic. (sharks, mantarochen, turtles, octopus and so on. Everything there) the corals are not more colorful, but there is a variety of colorful fish. We are with the catamaran to dolphins sailed. Actually hundreds of us expected. The trip was really worth it. For kitesurfers: great area, since huge gezeitenabhängige lagoon, lots of space. One just bargained at this sport luck with the wind have. We were 10 days and had always wind (10-15 node). For january noisy staff very untypical. But if the wind as is, it is gorgeous. Kitematerial is to rent there is required (half day 40 American Dollar kite, board, trapezoid, shoes). Otherwise you could rent everything. (canoe, sup, windsurfmaterial, paddle boat...) Free of charge one can billiards, table tennis and Tennis play. Us minute boring and we should also have 10 days stayed longer.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    In spite of the small size the island it is not built up and very unspoiled. You partly the feeling, that you alone on the island is. Everything distributed well. Also to the meals are the guests on several restaurants distributed, so that it was never overcrowded. The island was always and carefully cleaned, the paths raked, the rooms 2 time cleaned daily and the few seaweed at the beach away. Mainly the island from japanese visited, a few italians and a few germans. All together a nice and harmonic mixture dehumanise.

  • Location
    6.0

    Gorgeous island, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon. Wonderful watercolors. Olhuveli is 45 minutes with the speedboat from male to the hotel. For those for other cultures interest is worthwhile a trip to male for life to meet. On olhuveli itself has one also the possibility souvenirs shopping and everything you needed apart from that on such a small island-but of course maldivian prices.

Close
Klaus
Gorgeous island, not crowded, good food
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
The bad first: as regards the structure you should always a star off. Wi-fi and other services are overpriced. The nearby riff is very short and not very interesting. Partly the beach grey and hard and full of corals. Now the positive thing: the lagoon is ideal for swimming: deep, quiet and with little current. Although the resort 97% was occupied, one hardly met people at the beach. Thus you could at the beach the beautiful bodies choose. The buffets you noticed the high occupancy not. It was both inside, as well as outside always enough seats. The food was ... diverse and the ingredients of a very high quality. The staff was very exceptionally friendly and helpful, everything worked perfect. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The rooms were big enough, the condition the building was in need of improvement, as could the staff still so hard. The bathroom only 2 star rating. The cleanliness was ok.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Meals and drinks are overpriced. We had all inclusive, therefore bothered us not. In the all-inclusive were pizza at the beach or a ice cream not included, that was petty. Also the mini bar was all inclusive not included. The food was diverse, the ingredients of high quality. Here was not saved. The buffets were always immediately refilled, there was never something empty eaten. On the departure day there was even in the morning at 06:00 a. m. already a breakfast, one finds not often. Drinks were always brought immediately, although not earned (we had all inclusive). The one experienced differently. The sit outside to meals on a jetty was wonderful.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, everything worked perfect. The english were better than most german.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There were 2 small pools, the had a gorgeous location. The beach was huge and looked like empty, beach chairs and umbrellas were sufficiently available. A few fresh water showers at the beach distributed would have been nice. The sport i can't rate.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The bad first: as regards the structure you should always a star off. Wi-fi and other services are overpriced. The nearby riff is very short and not very interesting. Partly the beach grey and hard and full of corals. Now the positive thing: the lagoon is ideal for swimming: deep, quiet and with little current. Although the resort 97% was occupied, one hardly met people at the beach. Thus you could at the beach the beautiful bodies choose. The buffets you noticed the high occupancy not. It was both inside, as well as outside always enough seats. The food was diverse and the ingredients of a very high quality. The staff was very exceptionally friendly and helpful, everything worked perfect.

  • Location
    5.0

    Although the resort 97% was occupied, one hardly met other people on the beaches or on the paths. Partly the beaches were fantastic, partly but also hard and gray or full of corals. But one always found a gorgeous spot. The resort is ideal for swimming, because of the deep and large lagoon with little current.

Close
Wolfgang
Dreamlike family vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
We were very comfortable in the hotel. Direct access to the beach. Very nice, polite staff, which really each desire of the eyes reads (especially our 3-year-old son). The rooms were very clean and we were with fresh towels taken care of. The selection of food and drinks was large and the quality really reasonable. Good possibilities to go snorkeling. The beach spacious and quiet. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Daniel
Honeymoon in paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
A real paradise! Very friendly friendly and accommodating staff and the whole day. There, one really the feeling the guest always comes first. Every day there were during dinner another and the selection was enormous. Even if you not like sharp food, you can find something to eat. The salad is afternoons and evenings always freshly prepared. The excursions and the spa are quite expensive. We have only the delfinsafari made with 45 $still as a part of was. Drinks are not cheap. We had all-inclusive and would recommend this to anyone. Included are water, all soft drinks, fruit juices ..., Gin, Wodka, beer. At the beach one always finds a free sun screen and loungers. The people distribute themselves very good on the island. My recommendation in the evening at infinity -pool the sunset enjoy \u263a We stayed in a honeymoon water villa and it was really huge! Living room (couch, tv, kettle, espresso machine), bedroom, small dressing room with closet and massive bathroom. With a shower, toilet, bath tub. On the sun terrace we had a hot tub. Every day are stingrays vorbeigeschwommen and many other fish. The coral at the nearby reef were somewhat disappointing, but the wildlife all the more fascinating. I have a turtle, an octopus and even a shark seen. The mantra rays you could evenings on the pier very good watch. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
André
Dream vacation in paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2012
olhuveli is approximately 45 minutes out with the speedboat from male. The island from lake a very nice impression. Everything green and a reception area as you on the Maldives presents. We had a deluxebungalow booked all inclusive for 9 days. Too many we have guests from Japan respectively China seen, some italians and russians and rather few German. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a deluxe bungalow ( number 228). Big enough and really top furnished with a large bed, flatscreen tv, air conditioning, fan and a couch. The bathroom large and very modern with walk-in shower with a large shower head. Every bungalow consists of 2 units ground floor with a terrace and top with a balcony. We had ground floor and would recommend this to anyone because the view to the terrace on the beach ( distance approximately 15 meters) just lovely is. Otherwise it is under the roof very hot, because the sun burns. From the terrace you could directly to the beach go only by a kasuarienhecke dissevered was. The room boy came 2 times per day and controlled towels and cleanliness. There really was nothing to criticize. We also times the water bungalows and would never again: this area reminded rather of a off shore complex an oil pipeline. Closely the wooden bungalows with a beautiful view of the sea but also only on the sea. There is no plants or palms or something eas at beach remember, only decking decking or wooden jetty. If we go on the Maldives we were always for a bungalow at the beach decide.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We had all-inclusive and could therefore select everything what we wanted. Selection a main restaurant ( sunset restaurant) in which all meal times as a part of the full board/ half board or all inclusive were served. Furthermore there were a restaurant where you pay had (the four spices). Here sat hardly people so we also didn't eat there. There is an à la carte menu in the asian style, not very cheap. The dishes in the main restaurant were all excellent. Of course there was pizza, rolls which is not so tasted like at home however, I expect this not. Fish and curry gave it in the abundance and was delicious. Every evening there was a noodle bar where pasta and different side dishes freshly prepared were. Snacks you could during the day also on every beach bar buy, as always not very cheap. A sandwich from 12$ pizza from 25 $. We have waiter in the main restaurant and the two waiters at the bar each 8 $tip. Expected nothing.

  • Service
    5.0

    We have during our stay exclusively friendly and very polite staff met. There was a small problem the fast, friendly and satisfactory resolved. Also the waiter in the hotel were nice and you were treated like a king. All have good English spoken.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Leisure offers: a great spa, darts, tennis, table tennis, snorkeling, surfing, jet skiing, pool. There are 2 pools on the island with enough chairs and a beautiful pool bar. Particularly beautiful for us was the infinity pool with its great view over the sea and a very nice beach bar. Loungers there are enough for each. We were 3 times in the spa and a great massage carried, the cost massage with 100 $extremely high.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    olhuveli is approximately 45 minutes out with the speedboat from male. The island from lake a very nice impression. Everything green and a reception area as you on the Maldives presents. We had a deluxebungalow booked all inclusive for 9 days. Too many we have guests from Japan respectively China seen, some italians and russians and rather few German.

  • Location
    6.0

    Excursions there is enough, however are the prices extremely high. We had a snorkeling excursion ( half-day) for 45 $per person. In short: save your money and go at the nearby reef snorkeling. The island was very quiet and they don't mind no car, motorcycle or about an entry lane from the airport.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Ute
One of the last paradises our earth! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2012
Very beautiful arrangement of the water bungalows and also the restaurants. Crystal-clear, fantastic warm sea! Two small, but well kept pools: sunrise, sunset pool. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The water bungalows are great! One can between air conditioning and fan choose. Since we the air conditioning system not like that, we only had the fan on and all windows, doors at the night opened. The rising sun was shining directly into our bed. Simply heavenly!

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We had all inclusive, what with children, after bathing, snorkeling, sailing, etc. Always hungry, in any case is highly recommended. The drinks were with us without all-inclusive on 3000 US Dollar total (for 4 people)! Although we Cola, Sprite, beer, wine, so no exclusive cocktails.

  • Service
    5.0

    Staff was not intrusive.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    We are very often with the top cats sailed, the one with the water sports school hire! The boats are in top condition. Various other water sports can be rented: surfing, water skiing, jet skiing, pedal boats, canoes. Everything was in perfect condition.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Very beautiful arrangement of the water bungalows and also the restaurants. Crystal-clear, fantastic warm sea! Two small, but well kept pools: sunrise, sunset pool.

  • Location
    5.0

    Spacious and beautifully into the lush tropical planting installed.

Close
Wolfgang
Vacation archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2012
Very nice beach holiday. More than a week stay not recommendable, as it after a week on the island, then get bored. Our room was in need of renovation. Apart from that is the island and the beach very nice and very well maintained. For a quiet beach vacation is the island very recommendable. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Olivia
Beautiful, relaxing, friendly! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2012
A wonderful, relaxing vacation! Great beach, beautiful sea, very friendly staff. Everything clean and tidy. Drinks, excursions, special Dinners, as well as article from the shop are unfortunately very expensive. Nevertheless a wonderful destination and very recommendable! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Alexandra
Immediately again! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2012
Sensational in almost every way! Up to tiny faults like for instance not very nice bathroom, everything was perfect, from the beach, pool, people, room, cleanliness, possibilities for excursions... We were totally end thrilled! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jörg
Secondly but not last time on Olhuveli! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2012
For the second time we were on Olhuveli and to have it had not repented. Very friendly, helpful staff, the quietest holiday accommodation, which, ( beach villa!), good, abwechslungsreichres food and quiet, civilized with -guests - a perfect holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Erika
The paradise on the Earth archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2012
For us, this vacation was a dream. Actually one cannot complain about. We absolutely felt at ease. Alone the trace is worth it. One thinks one is in a country of our time. These colors and the whole feeling there makes a just happy! The hotel offers good possibilities for excursions. Which we in any case recommend is the an excursion to see the dolphins. We have many dolphins seen. This is the field in any case value. The snorkeling excursion was also very nice. One drives to 3 different reef where we totally many species of fish, turtles, Morenen ..., a shark and even again dolphin and she in the water experienced. The service staff is nice and tries to keep every guest satisfied. You are very willing to make an effort. The rooms are very clean( with us 3 times per day cleaned ) What we found a bit overpriced felt was Wi-Fi. We would anytime again on Olhuveli drive. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Joachim & Edith
Dream vacation in great environment archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2012
We had booked all inclusive. Half board ( without lunch) was for us totally satisfying, since the breakfast more than enough and we no lunch required. Negative it is, the neither freshly squeezed juices or cocktails in the all inclusive offer and this extra must be paid. Also, the theme restaurants not included in the all inclusive offer included. We can the hotel absolutely recommend, just with half board the rooms will 2 times cleaned daily. One side the island was fantastically beautiful and quiet, the bay for swimming and relax. The other is the open sea and always something ... restless, to the snorkeling in a great reef with coral and lots of fish. Protection from the sun and a means for sunburn one should take. Costs a lot of money in the island shop (42 dollars). read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
1 3 4 5