Barroco Pousada(3 stars)

Rua Jogo do Carneiro, 75 40045-040 Salvador da Bahia View on map

Average rating

67 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.0
  • Room
    4.9
  • Service
    5.5
  • Location
    5.0
  • Food and Drinks
    5.2
  • Sport & entertain
    5.0
Filters
You selected:
18 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Peter
Pousada barroco na Bahia in Salvador da Bahia archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • November 2011
Salvador Bahia in Brazil who wants to visit, for those is the 'pousada barroco na Bahia' in the historic centre of Salvador da Bahia was very good. Live there in the middle of the real Brazil and not in a sterile tourist area, as you can get in contact with the Brazilians in one of the many small and smallest restaurants and bars. The 'pelourinho', a historic attraction Salvador, it is only a few minutes walk. At the pousada particularly like is, that they are not one in the last few years to support a form of pseudo-modern hotel is ... born, but it still leaves the old colonial Brazil reliving. Breakfast in a very charming art nouveau villa, with original baroque-style furniture equipped is. Whoever wanted, could be (very good) breakfast on a large communal table take, and gets so quickly got into contact with guests from all over the world, or select a Einzeltisch, where it can enjoy all your breakfast. The pousada has a beautiful large inner courtyard, where one looks for more than a hundred years old mango treat some peace and quiet, or planning the next vacation activities. By the way, you pass at the pousada a very personal attention, the indications to visit-and programs of the sightseeing contains. The hotel owner spoke German, so that one even without a large Portuguese instruction. You want information on touristic Objectives to obtain, so is around the o'clock dial-up Internet access (Wiki, WI-FI) available. The rooms are very clean and stylish equipped, and the whole of value for money is good simple. You need a shuttle to the airport-pousada, so that is very reasonably priced (R $85) from the pousada. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Jürg
Hotel with a beautiful inner courtyard at hidden location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • October 2011
The hidden location in the old town Mach self-journey with the car. Labyrithfahrt GPS is not usable, ended up in a one-way street. The rooms are functional equipped. Internet is available free of charge. The jewel in the crown of this pousada is the inner courtyard, which invites you to sit down and relax a. The old town is within walking easy to reach but in the hotel night the streets should be cautious. Drive in Salvador can turn into a nightmare, the street pattern confusing. A Auschilderung is mostly not available and if you do, this is immediate at ... the junction, so you can respond too late. We have hours with the search for the way overdone. A shame, that this city is not to achieve a reasonable signs. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    2.8
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Herbert
Nice pousada, great inner courtyard, central location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • November 2010
The cultural project barroco na bahia based on youth work with classical music. The reference humanitarian values of ordinary people and middle classes in the foreground (should be aware of the guest, because it evaluates the pousada very clearly). It is very centrally located, close to the famous pelourinho (a few minutes), (original) in salvador. The rooms are simple, adequate, functional and the pousada is a great inner courtyard. The prices are reasonable. Outstanding is the personal contact with mr example, the person responsible for the project and the pousada, the always good advice and very helpful is. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Matthias
Nice and reasonably priced pousada nearby old city archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • November 2010
Due to the reviews here for the pousada and were not disappointed. Nice and reasonably priced pousada with lots of flair. German owner, German consulate is across the street, cultural background. We were picked up right at the airport, stay great, check-in or out very well. Mainly German Guests, you at the Breakfast was great in the conversation and could change. Same to the beach, it is with the inexpensive bus only a stone's throw away, in the direction of the north. The further you get out of the city, the more beautiful will beaches. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Karl
Pousada of a very special kind archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • October 2010
A pousada under German management. Stayed for four days and salvador met. The German Consulate is across the street. An exciting excursions, in the inland. Pick-up from the airport. Large furnished with taste equipped Rooms, clean, minibar. Pool if necessary. Breakfast was delicious, always fresh fruit, fresh mangos directly from the tree in the inner courtyard. I would recommend the reviews I previous speaker confirm. Had then booked here and was not disappointed. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Holger
Nice pousada ideal for city trips salvador archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • October 2010
Nice and clean pousada in the heart of salvador. From here it is only a 'stones throw' in the old city. Under German management, which provides personal attention to the guests and always ask is advised for response. Here it pleased us very well, the pousada is first choice for stay in salvador. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Anna
Barroco Pousada archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2010
Simple guest house. Rather Charme a youth hostel. But not more. We had a room with little natural light (small skylight). Also a musty odor royal garden was first-rate. But had the room a safe. The check-in process was extremely smooth and it was not more everything was there when we arrived for breakfast at nine hours. Five different jam sorts, butter zerlaufene of the heat, ham and cheese. The 'warden' was always very reserved. We had the impression, that he just not quite cheap trips to 'man' tried. When will we thankfully declined had his arrogance in the neck. ... It is also the transfer to the airport worked super. He offered free internet. Conclusion: you can with the good reviews here don't expect too much. We made unfortunately the error and were very disappointed. Two days in salvador have been completely. In The centre it is within walking distance, 10-15 minutes. The way there leads by narrow streets and is perhaps not completely safe. Taxi to the city costs five euros. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
Close
Alexander
Charming pousada with flair archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2010
Were in October on a two-week Brazil-tour and two days in the pousada in salvador. Cheap and reliable airport shuttle by the owner, large apartment with two roof terraces, air conditioning, refrigerator- Minipar (cheap), high-quality mattresses (rare in brazil). Nice service, exciting trip (reasonably priced), tastefully equipped German composer for room or poet. Short footpath in the historic old city, by taxi about five €. German consulate to, pool. The pousada barroco is part of a German-brazilian culture project. For culture and music enthusiasts a must. About wikipedia on the project, and then click the pousada encountered. We overall in ... padre bönisch felt comfortable and would be again at any time check-in there. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Nicklas
Salvador de bahia beautiful days in archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • April 2010
beautiful relaxing days in the pousada barroco with very friendly staff spent... The proximity to the pelourinho is perfect, so you get to know brazil really. We would gladly return. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Philipp
Exceptionally attentive pousada archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • April 2010
Centrally located in the Art Nouveau style with beautiful Poussada inner courtyard and some with great antiques appointed clean rooms including in-room safe. But, above all, father bönisch Poussada the head of care with a lot of love and exuberance to its guests to ensure that every single time can enjoy in salvador. Thank you again for the great days! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Karl
Great ambiance and service! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • April 2010
We stayed at the April 2010 at the pousada barroco. The German Owner has personally picked up from the airport. On the evening we are under the 'mango' got into conversation. Ladies and gentlemen of interest is the best addresses in salvador. On the owners looked after an exciting music project, over easter was accompanied by the bar los. Now to the pousada. We felt very comfortable in the five days. Unfortunately that is far too short, in order to be able to discover this great city and its people in all. The breakfast is very delicious, the rooms tastefully ... equipped, 24 hour is always someone reachable. You should speak a bit of the language, otherwise, is non-verbal. There are even a small pool in the house opposite, we also cool used have. Our room was spacious, with sun terrace! Definitely enough sunscreen with 50 pack factor, this place is very expensive in bahia. An organized trip to the inland we had booked on the pousada. Cheap and not boring nec. Anntourismus. We have before, next year to stay over easter, possibly via carnival. The straßenkarneval here great its. Oh so, also for those who spend time on the beach about 1 hour away by bus after great beaches. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Klaus
Beginner real hotel for brazil archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • October 2009
We are each year in brazil holiday. Last time we're really hurt, how bad brazil adopts in the media, in particular, it seems that there is a absolutely a feeling of sheer fixation on security issues to give, the many travellers, for the first time to travel to brazil, really scared. We see the many different in brazil, but we have made here in brazil, many travelers, who really afraid of the security problems in brazil and you have had much of the joy of travel in brazil has spoiled. We have seen, that such guests at the pousada barroco ... na bahia particularly well cared for, because here each tourist individually on this issue is prepared and can recommend this hotel for brazil beginner. Otherwise, as far as the house is concerned, we agree with the many speakers, we we very pleasant. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Claudia
A successful city break archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2009
A really successful stay in salvador we stayed on our small city breaks with friends or colleagues in the pousada barroco na bahia spent. The breakfast in the historic baroque villa is like a trip into the magnificent colonial past. The rooms are nice, the staff is nice, the hotel grounds are spread over several historic building-very impressive. This also even the price is good, but we were looking forward to, we had expected the really not. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Stefan
nice, small hotel in the old city archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2009
Although we only stayed for two days, we were a whole week in the pousada barroco, because we really enjoyed it. The staff is very nice, our room was very nice and spacious, the breakfast was delicious and varied. We found the hotel for brazilian standards really top! In The inner courtyard we sat every night with beer and soft drinks under the big mango, and the ducks, the court watched in around. The location of the pousada is walking in the extensive old city absolutely ideal. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Anneliese
Here you could also alone travel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • August 2009
As those who travel alone Madam is in brazil really not always very easy, as I travel to brazil last more often already had the pousada barroco na bahia I am felt comfortable, a whole week that I spent have, in spite of the fact that I only two days stay. Particularly at the common breakfast in the splendor of Art Nouveau comes one with the other guests, interesting, kulturintreessierte people from all over the world immediately conversation. I met many nice people, with whom I had many things to do in this interesting city have carried out. The breakfast ... is very good wide, the rooms are clean and lovingly, individually decorated, I have the hosts before the check out practically the whole hotel show. The staff is nice and helpful, the situation in the middle of the old city absolutely ideally, for all the exciting trips salvador during the day and in the evening. The price performance ratio is very good. I was particularly pleased, that is also the cultural pousada, in which young people joint european choral singing. The choir samples on monday and wednesday you can listen. I even once sung, because in Germany also in a choir sing. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Anselm
We felt very comfortable here archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • August 2009
On my last business trip in brazil that I am the hotel reviews on holidaycheck. De on the pousada barroco na bahia in salvador was excellent. The three-day stay here is what I liked very much, especially the interesting situation of the hotel, in the heart of the historic old city from salvador is concerned. Here you really is in the middle of the real brazil and not in the tourist area. The restaurants and bars near the hotel critics of holidaycheck. De I could not agree more, apart from the only a few truly unqualified statements, which come into ... the bottle and in the wrong city are traveling. We really felt very comfortable here and will be going back next year. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Eli
A very interesting place and decent for the price archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • City break
  • April 2009
Having stayed various times in Salvador, I decided to try a new hotel. In the past, the price I was looking for - BUDGET - would invariably lead to terrible hotels and terrible service. Well, with the Pousada Barroco, I got more than I bargained for. They offer transfers to/from the airport - you won't find that in other small hotels. Of course, this costs, but it actually worked out to be about R$10. 00 to R$20. 00 less than what taxis would charge. Then, the owner of the inn was very kind and made sure that we were comfortable. ... Once, he even invited us to dinner in the inn's courtyard with some other guests. It was a very entertaining evening and gave a chance to meet some other travelers. The location is very close to Pelourinho, the historic center of Salvador. Granted, the area is not that safe, but the inn is very safe and has people who stay the whole night, has good illumination, and high walls. In fact, it is right across the street from the German Consulate. It's an interesting street, at any rate. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The shower was excellent. There is WI-FI in the main house (where I stayed), but no English television. There are other rooms in a house across the street, but I did not stay there, and I was told that there is a swimming pool in the other building as well. I think those rooms probably cost a bit more, I really don't know. Anyway, the water in our bathroom was super hot and was central. In cheap hotels in Brazil you with either not have hot water in the shower or it will come from an electric contraption which half-way does not work or it is really scary to turn on. So, the shower was really good (for those of you who enjoy a hot shower). The history of the inn is very interesting. Part was the home of the founder of a local newspaper owner in the 19th century. So, that was really cool. A simple breakfast is included every morning which consists of bread, various fruits (like mango and papaya), coffee and eggs. Interestingly enough, the inn has a huge courtyard and there is a mango tree in the middle. The mangoes served in the breakfast come from that tree (can't get any more organic than that!), and the owner of the inn makes sevetral of the jellies served in the breakfast. In short, decent place for the price, and I think has a lot more charm than you are going to find just about anywhere else in Salvador. The owner really cares about your stay and strives to make up for any shortcomings. You can send an e-mail to book the hotel through their site: www. pousadabarroco.com. br read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    My room was in good condition and was the regular type of room. Had a minibar, t. v., double bed, air conditioning, very clean. Very quiet.

  • Gastronomy
    3.5

    There is no restaurant, just the morning breakfast which is basic and okay.

  • Service
    5.0

    Very friendly. Owner can speak German, English and Portuguese. Has airport transfers available. Very easy check-in and check-out.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5

    Has Wi-Fi. Did not ask about any other services. The other building has a swimming pool, but not sure if that's for all guest or just those of the other building.

  • Hotel
    5.5

    Having stayed various times in Salvador, I decided to try a new hotel. In the past, the price I was looking for - BUDGET - would invariably lead to terrible hotels and terrible service. Well, with the Pousada Barroco, I got more than I bargained for. They offer transfers to/from the airport - you won't find that in other small hotels. Of course, this costs, but it actually worked out to be about R$10. 00 to R$20. 00 less than what taxis would charge. Then, the owner of the inn was very kind and made sure that we were comfortable. Once, he even invited us to dinner in the inn's courtyard with some other guests. It was a very entertaining evening and gave a chance to meet some other travelers. The location is very close to Pelourinho, the historic center of Salvador. Granted, the area is not that safe, but the inn is very safe and has people who stay the whole night, has good illumination, and high walls. In fact, it is right across the street from the German Consulate. It's an interesting street, at any rate. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The shower was excellent. There is WI-FI in the main house (where I stayed), but no English television. There are other rooms in a house across the street, but I did not stay there, and I was told that there is a swimming pool in the other building as well. I think those rooms probably cost a bit more, I really don't know. Anyway, the water in our bathroom was super hot and was central. In cheap hotels in Brazil you with either not have hot water in the shower or it will come from an electric contraption which half-way does not work or it is really scary to turn on. So, the shower was really good (for those of you who enjoy a hot shower). The history of the inn is very interesting. Part was the home of the founder of a local newspaper owner in the 19th century. So, that was really cool. A simple breakfast is included every morning which consists of bread, various fruits (like mango and papaya), coffee and eggs. Interestingly enough, the inn has a huge courtyard and there is a mango tree in the middle. The mangoes served in the breakfast come from that tree (can't get any more organic than that!), and the owner of the inn makes sevetral of the jellies served in the breakfast. In short, decent place for the price, and I think has a lot more charm than you are going to find just about anywhere else in Salvador. The owner really cares about your stay and strives to make up for any shortcomings. You can send an e-mail to book the hotel through their site: www. pousadabarroco.com. br

  • Location
    5.0

    Walking distance to Pelourinho, the historic center. About 40 mins. to the airport.

Close
Peter
Stylish accommodation with cultural atmosphere archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2008
The Pousada was attached to the sozio cultural project Barroco na Bahia of Hans Bönisch (http://www. barroconabahia.com. br/alemao/default. asp) and served for the financing of the numerous activities of this project. As these, amongst other were here to keep the historical building substance of Salvador, the area stretched out into several historical buildings in the area, lovingly renovated in the past years. Partly located around the patio with an old mango tree, partly on the other side of the little road. The rooms - in the meantime there were over 40 - were clean and tastefully furnished. In ... the upper price range they were partly furnished with antique furnishings. The breakfast buffet in the beautiful rooms of the youth style villa was included in the price. The guest structure was well mixed and international. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5

    If you consider the cultural background of the Pousada, it shouldn't surprise you that all rooms had the name of a composer, author or painter. The rooms had different sizes and typically air conditioning and/or a ventilator as well as a TV and minibar. The standard ranged from simple to suite with roof terrace.

  • Gastronomy
    4.5

    The Berlin cafe in the vaulted basement of the Pousada unfortunately only opened on Sundays at noon after the concerts of the project. On sufficient demand, Hans Bönisch also cooked for the guests himself and he did that sumptuously and well ("water doesn't come into my kitchen").

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff was helpful, we had nothing to complain at the room cleaning (or about something else).

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5

    A computer with internet access was available for free, in the small patio of a building was a pool.

  • Hotel
    5.5

    The Pousada was attached to the sozio cultural project Barroco na Bahia of Hans Bönisch (http://www. barroconabahia.com. br/alemao/default. asp) and served for the financing of the numerous activities of this project. As these, amongst other were here to keep the historical building substance of Salvador, the area stretched out into several historical buildings in the area, lovingly renovated in the past years. Partly located around the patio with an old mango tree, partly on the other side of the little road. The rooms - in the meantime there were over 40 - were clean and tastefully furnished. In the upper price range they were partly furnished with antique furnishings. The breakfast buffet in the beautiful rooms of the youth style villa was included in the price. The guest structure was well mixed and international.

  • Location
    5.0

    The houses of the Pousada were located together at the Rua Jogo do Carneiro, a small street in a rather familial and simple city district of Saude. Perhaps inspired by the Pousada, now also in Saude it seemed it was realized that old construction also outside of the Pelourinho was quite worth conservation. Anyhow one saw meanwhile one or two construction sites. Pelourinho itself could be reached in 10 minutes walk with no trouble, a few minutes farther there was good food from the simple (however good) pizzeria in the neighboring building up to the also superior quality restaurants. The transfer to the airport (about 45 minutes) as also daily excursions could be organized with expenses reimbursement by the Pousada.

Close