Esther's Guesthouse(0 stars)

Kirchstatt 3826 Lauterbrunnen, Gimmelwald View on map

Average rating

11 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.7
  • Room
    5.6
  • Service
    5.9
  • Location
    5.5
  • Food and Drinks
    5.7
  • Sport & entertain
    6.0
Filters
You selected:
9 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Elaine
Outstanding!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • June 2014
A delightful place! We stayed in room 3 -- a spacious room with an incredible view of the Jungfrau. Everything from check-in to the end of our stay was spot-on. The porch chairs with warm blankets was perfect for sipping wine and enjoying the view. Breakfast was amazing. Cooking facilities are exceptional and well-stocked. Beds are wonderful. I can't say enough great things -- we will return! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
John
An excellent place to stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • September 2013
We found Esther's Guesthouse to be an enjoyable place to stay in Gimmelwald. We stayed in room 6, which has its own bathroom, shower, 2 windows and a skylight. Everything was just what we wanted. Sleeping was great. The area is great. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Richard
A little piece of heaven in the Alps
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Other stay
  • May 2013
Excellent place to stay while in Gimmelwald. Just seconds from the cable car stop. Home was very clean. Room we had was great size and breakfast provided had sufficient variety. Given the limited options to eat out in Gimmelwald, it was great to have access to a full kitchen area for cooking. Murren (next town over) which is an enjoyable 30 minute walk away (or 5 minute ride by cable car) has a larger selection of restaurants to choose from and a supermarket to purchase food items. Surrounding scenery is breath taking no matter what direction you look in. I ... would certainly recommend staying at Esther's Guest Home if you plan to visit Gimmelwald. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
Close
Laurence
Quiet and family stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Other stay
  • September 2012
A great place to relax and hike. The advice are very helpful and the breakfast amazing. A kitchen is available at any time and the shared bathrooms are clean and shared with few people. The view is great. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Joanna
Wonderful vacation at Esther's Guesthouse!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Other stay
  • August 2012
I have stayed in Esther’s Guest House five times since 1990, most recently in August, 2012. Gimmelwald is my “favorite place in the world”, and I would never consider staying anywhere except Esther’s. It is conveniently only 2 minutes from the cable-car lift. I chose room # 2, a large single room with one double bed. It suited my needs perfectly; it’s quiet, clean, comfortable, and best of all has a magnificent view! I’ve previously stayed in other rooms; they are all wonderful. Breakfast offers lots of choices and the opportunity to chat with other guests. There was great diversity ... of nationality and ages, from children to people over 70. The group kitchen came in handy when I wanted to cook something simple for dinner. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room #2: quiet, peaceful, clean, fantastic view. I am a single woman traveling alone. It was fine for me, and would also be good for a couple. There are a number of other rooms, all of them wonderful! Has TV.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Great breakfast at Esther's guest house! Only one restaurant, directly across the street from Esthers. LOTS of other places to eat in Murren, 10 minutes away by cable car.

  • Service
    6.0

    Esther herself is friendly and welcoming, and speaks good English. She offered ideas for near-by places to explore, and printed out explicit directions for my getting to Scotland, including times of trains, etc.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0

    I come to Gimmelwald for peace and quiet, gorgeous views, and good places to hike. I'm pleased to say there are NO sport facilities. However, those are 10 minutes away in Murren.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I have stayed in Esther’s Guest House five times since 1990, most recently in August, 2012. Gimmelwald is my “favorite place in the world”, and I would never consider staying anywhere except Esther’s. It is conveniently only 2 minutes from the cable-car lift. I chose room # 2, a large single room with one double bed. It suited my needs perfectly; it’s quiet, clean, comfortable, and best of all has a magnificent view! I’ve previously stayed in other rooms; they are all wonderful. Breakfast offers lots of choices and the opportunity to chat with other guests. There was great diversity of nationality and ages, from children to people over 70. The group kitchen came in handy when I wanted to cook something simple for dinner.

  • Location
    6.0

    Gimmelwald, Switzerland: Close to Interlaken. Peaceful and gorgeous, has lots of opportunities for strenuous hiking or just easy walks. It has no “shops” and only one restaurant, but anything you might want is only 10 minutes away in Murren (by cable-car lift).

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Omar
Esther's is the Best Deal in Switzerland archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Other stay
  • June 2012
I absolutely recommend Esther's. The accomodations for the price are unbeatable. We had 3 people in apartment B and it was an excellent setting. Plenty of space, clean, well equipped, balcony overlooking mountains, and a great staff. The location is perfect. There are many secluded places in Switzerland, but none that I found are so secluded, yet so accessible. It is above the valley floor and in a quiet village. It provides beautiful vista's and separation from the mass of tourists. A very private and quiet setting in a beautiful small village. Waterfalls immediately visible across the valley, and views ... of some of the most dramatic geological faces in Switzerland. It is also located next to the cable car station (making it easy to get to and from) and is a short cable car ride away from Murren, which gives easy access to grocery and a wide variety of restaurants. Esther is also a great host. She is not intrusive, but knows everything about the area and offers great advice on how to enjoy the area. Perfect combination of many important qualities for lodging. If you want to slow down for a few days (or longer), and let the Alps sink in, the Lauterbrunnen Valley is a perfect setting and Esther's is the perfect place. It will always be my first choice whenever I go back to the area. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Clean, spacious apartment, great view with balcony, and unbeatable price. WiFi connected and all.

  • Gastronomy
    0

    Didn't eat their prepared food, but the kitchen in the apartment was great. Spacious, well equipped, clean.

  • Service
    6.0

    Great staff. There to help in any way, friendly, and knowledgeable about the area.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    I absolutely recommend Esther's. The accomodations for the price are unbeatable. We had 3 people in apartment B and it was an excellent setting. Plenty of space, clean, well equipped, balcony overlooking mountains, and a great staff. The location is perfect. There are many secluded places in Switzerland, but none that I found are so secluded, yet so accessible. It is above the valley floor and in a quiet village. It provides beautiful vista's and separation from the mass of tourists. A very private and quiet setting in a beautiful small village. Waterfalls immediately visible across the valley, and views of some of the most dramatic geological faces in Switzerland. It is also located next to the cable car station (making it easy to get to and from) and is a short cable car ride away from Murren, which gives easy access to grocery and a wide variety of restaurants. Esther is also a great host. She is not intrusive, but knows everything about the area and offers great advice on how to enjoy the area. Perfect combination of many important qualities for lodging. If you want to slow down for a few days (or longer), and let the Alps sink in, the Lauterbrunnen Valley is a perfect setting and Esther's is the perfect place. It will always be my first choice whenever I go back to the area.

  • Location
    6.0

    Perfect. Right next to cable car, easy to get to all points. Easy access to grocery and wide variety of restaurants. But, Esther's itself is in a small, quiet and walkable village. Off of the valley floor with greatly enhanced views of mountains, and waterfalls. Near many hiking trails and close to other important sites.

Close
Tony
Our favorite place in Switzerland archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • June 2012
Our stay at Esther's Guesthouse was the best part of our Switzerland holiday. Located in the lovely alpine village of Gimmelwald in sight of the cable car, the guesthouse is easily accessible. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the view was stunning. The condition and cleanliness of the guesthouse was immaculate. A nice breakfast was prepared each morning. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was spacious and comfortable. There was a double bed, couch, table and chairs, a hair dryer and plenty of packing space. The condition and cleanliness was excellent.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    A hearty Swiss breakfast was provided each morning upon request. The quality and quantity of the food was very good. The dining area was always immaculate.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was very friendly and helpful with a good knowledge of the area. There was a baby bed for our son when we arrived and there waw laundry service available. The room cleaning was excellent.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    Our stay at Esther's Guesthouse was the best part of our Switzerland holiday. Located in the lovely alpine village of Gimmelwald in sight of the cable car, the guesthouse is easily accessible. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the view was stunning. The condition and cleanliness of the guesthouse was immaculate. A nice breakfast was prepared each morning.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location of Esther's Guesthouse is perfect for seeing and experiencing the best of the Swiss Alps. Sitting just across the Lauterbrunnen Valley from the Jungrau Mountain you can sit on the veranda or just open your window and be treated to amazing beauty. From Gimmelwald you can take the cable car up to the top of the Shilthorn with stunning views of the Eiger, the Monch and the Jungfrau or easily access the Jungfraujoch train which takes you to the unsurpassed view from the "top of Europe."

Close
Courtney
Family of 4--Great vacation spot archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • May 2012
Esther's was perfect! We parked our car in Stechelberg, rode the gondola 5 mins up to Gimmelwald and walked the 50m to Esther's front door. It was raining when we arrived and the whole process was so smooth! For those with luggage/strollers etc., there are carts at the gondola stations to help with luggage. There is a playground for kids in the town. Esther's is across the street from the Mountain Hostel which serves great food and take-away pizza. The breakfast is included: great coffee, fruit, bread, eggs, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal. She has one high chair, one booster seat ..., and one baby cot-very accommodating for kids. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Marco
One of the most wonderful places in the world archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • January 2012
It's a guesthouse, warm and friendly athmosphere read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    clean, simple and perfect. All you need for passing perfect days

  • Gastronomy
    0

    self service: Whatever you need you get it from Esther. Asked for the fondue

  • Service
    6.0

    Excellent, like you would like to have it at home.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Good sking resort for long runners

  • Hotel
    6.0

    It's a guesthouse, warm and friendly athmosphere

  • Location
    6.0

    one of the most amazing locatios in the world

Close