Parkhotel Schoenegg(3 stars)

3818 Grindelwald View on map

Average rating

484 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.8
  • Room
    5.6
  • Service
    5.9
  • Location
    5.8
  • Food and Drinks
    5.7
  • Sport & entertain
    5.7
Filters
You selected:
284 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Steve
A top quality hotel, fantastically well run
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • August 2014
An excellent and very comfortable hotel, extremely well run. The quality and feel of the hotel is first class with top quality food. I was competing in a mountain bike event during my stay and the hotel has excellent bike and ski preparation and storage facilities. The staff were extremely helpful offering additionally to provide food out of hours and providing energy drinks for my bike event without me having to ask. The swimming pool and well being centre are a good size, warm, clean and modern. We have been to this hotel three times before and I couldn't recommend ... it enough - we will be back very soon. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jean
Coming home
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Other stay
  • July 2014
As a guest of this hotel over many years, it is always a pleasure to return. The friendliness of the owners and staff and the attention to detail never fails to impress and make the holiday really enjoyable. The hotel caters for a wide range of guests of all ages and nationalities and the number of return guests speaks for itself! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms have been refurbished and you are able to choose between a room with a balcony, with views of the mountains, or a garden view.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Breakfast is buffet style with high quality local produce on offer. As we'll as a selection of juices, cereals, yogurts and cold meats, there are boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and bacon on offer. The bread, rolls and croissants are freshly made locally. Dinner is a set menu, with each day's menu being available at breakfast to allow you to request an alternative to anything that may not be suitable. In addition, there are speciality events in the 'Stúbli' on some evenings (e.g. fondue)

  • Service
    6.0

    Service in the hotel is of the highest standard. The hotel has an extremely high level of cleanliness and staff are approachable, considerate and extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The hotel has a swimming pool, jacuzzi, as well as steam room and sauna. The view from the jacuzzi onto the North Face of the Eiger must be one of the best views possible!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    As a guest of this hotel over many years, it is always a pleasure to return. The friendliness of the owners and staff and the attention to detail never fails to impress and make the holiday really enjoyable. The hotel caters for a wide range of guests of all ages and nationalities and the number of return guests speaks for itself!

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is well situated, just a little way back from the main street, with amazing views to the mountains. The cable car to the restaurants on the mountain behind the hotel is close by and the railway station is only a 5-10 minute walk. (if you are arriving or leaving by train, the hotel can arrange to collect you and drop you off with your luggage) Staff in the hotel are able to provide advice on walks, local transport and excursions. The hotel 'Guest Card' also allows free transport on buses within the village as well as reductions on entry to some local attractions.

Close
Peter
Grindelwald-Week July 2014
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • July 2014
Very nice, very friendly 3 star Hotel with 4 star comfort (pool). We were coming for several years, winter and summer. We will come again. The service is very good. The rooms are cosy with top view to the Eiger. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Mel
Quiet perfection
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Other stay
  • July 2014
From being collected at the rail station throughout the rest of the holiday everything about the Hotel and its staff was perfect. Maybe if they could have done something about the weather. I had a single room with a large terrace (130) and a great view of the mountains. Everything was spotlessly clean, the food was varied and beautifully cooked, the lounge was spacious, welcoming and and comfortable. The swimming pool was immaculately clean, with a large Jacuzzi and panoramic windows to watch the Mountains. The owners, Thomas and Anja, came round and chatted to us all every day at ... dinner, and were full of good advice for things to do, walks, weather. The receptionists too were very helpful, and helped me sort out a missing boarding pass for my flight home. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Large room with a terrace and wonderful views of the mountains, king size bed, ensuite bathroom, modern TV, plenty of wardrobe space, everything you could need. If you've forgotten your plug adaptor you can borrow one from reception. And it was immaculately clean, as was the rest of the hotel.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The breakfast was an amazing help yourself buffet, the most comprehensive I could imagine. There were packed lunches available which were excellent, and the five course evening meal was varied and beautifully cooked, with vegetarian and childrens options too.

  • Service
    6.0

    Everything I needed was there. The staff were attentive and efficient, the owners stopped to talk to all their guests and were great sources of advice and knowledge - in English, French, German, American, and Portuguese! (maybe more as well). Rooms were clean and immaculately recleaned every day.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Billiards/ Snooker table in the lounge bar area, which I did not use, excellent lounge with plenty of seating, quick bar service ( free crisps). The swimming pool was warm and comfortable, a large Jacuzzi too, panoramic windows to gaze at the Eiger whilst swimming or relaxing. Also a sauna which I did not try.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    From being collected at the rail station throughout the rest of the holiday everything about the Hotel and its staff was perfect. Maybe if they could have done something about the weather.... I had a single room with a large terrace (130) and a great view of the mountains. Everything was spotlessly clean, the food was varied and beautifully cooked, the lounge was spacious, welcoming and and comfortable. The swimming pool was immaculately clean, with a large Jacuzzi and panoramic windows to watch the Mountains. The owners, Thomas and Anja, came round and chatted to us all every day at dinner, and were full of good advice for things to do, walks, weather. The receptionists too were very helpful, and helped me sort out a missing boarding pass for my flight home.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is close to the village centre, one minute walk to the first cable car and five minutes to the station. Set back from the main street with its own large terrace and car parking, and grounds to sit out in and enjoy the sunshine and mountain views.

Close
Julian
A template for running a first class hotel!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Countryside & spa
  • June 2014
A midsummer stay at the ParkHotel Schoenegg is a delight. Newcomers are constantly amazed at the warmth of the welcome and attention to detail of the hosts Thomas and Anja and their team. You could not wish for better...and furthermore it is outstanding value for money. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Peter
An Freundlichkeit nicht zu übertreffen
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • March 2014
I can simply recommend this wonderful Hotel. Quality in the whole house, and everybody is so friendly. I am shure to come back and to enjoy once more this wonderful Grindelwald. Thanks a lot to the whole Crew! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to ski lift
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Andreas
Dream holiday in dream hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • January 2014
Since 20 year alway again a fantastic winter; completely simply super! We look forward already to the next stay... read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to ski lift
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jolanda
Perfect vacation in the Parkhotel Schönegg.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • January 2014
We are just back from our holiday Grindelwald. We, 2 adults and 2 young people, were allowed our relaxation-meet in Parkhotel Schönegg enjoy. We can pass the best rating for this hotel. Everything was perfect. The entire staff was very friendly, obliging but not obtrusive. The service was efficient. One felt, that everything well-trained people work there. Especially the mr stettler, the Manuel and the bar lady. The three you had to just take into one's heart. One felt, all with a full heart and with fun their job. The hotel was perfectly clean and the food was heavenly. We ... can this hotel with very good conscience recomend it. We are already looking forward to our next holiday in Grindelwald. Only stay at the schönegg! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to ski lift
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ian
A place to return to time and time again
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • December 2013
The Schoenegg enjoys an enviable location set back from and above the main road that passes through the village. Therefore it has a peaceful air about it yet it is only two minutes walk to the main centre and a minute to the First Gondola. It prides itself on being 'typically Swiss' with a family run ethos and a strong team of regular staff who are there when you return each year. There has been a programme of regular refurbishment over the years to rooms and the dining room in particular. It remains very homely and comfortable throughout. Breakfast is ... buffet style with pleenty of choice. Dinner is a 5 course fixed menu with salad bar and cheese board available. They will always accomodate any dietary requests and are very flexible with children. Guests include a core of Swiss up from Bern and Zurich. Also Germans and Dutch. A few British like us who have discovered the hotel and want to return each year. A relaxed cosmopolitan feel. The hosts Thomas and Anja make everyone feel welcome read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our typical room - twin with balcony - has plenty of room for an extra bed for our child. TV, Phone, free Internet, Safe are all there. Quality feel to everything in the room No minibar but not a problem for us.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Overall very good. In addition to the fixed evening menu you can also opt to go into the lovely little Stubli and enjoy more traditional Swiss food - Fondue, Raclette etc - if you wish. Every week there is a main course carvery buffet which caters for all tastes.

  • Service
    6.0

    Always of a high standard. Virtually all staff are multi-lingual. Cleaning of rooms is very good and efficient. Laundry and such as ski service is available if required.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Sauna is a real bonus at the Schoenegg. One of the best views in the World - North face of the Eiger - as you relax by the pool. A nice family feel around the pool.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The Schoenegg enjoys an enviable location set back from and above the main road that passes through the village. Therefore it has a peaceful air about it yet it is only two minutes walk to the main centre and a minute to the First Gondola. It prides itself on being 'typically Swiss' with a family run ethos and a strong team of regular staff who are there when you return each year. There has been a programme of regular refurbishment over the years to rooms and the dining room in particular. It remains very homely and comfortable throughout. Breakfast is buffet style with pleenty of choice. Dinner is a 5 course fixed menu with salad bar and cheese board available. They will always accomodate any dietary requests and are very flexible with children. Guests include a core of Swiss up from Bern and Zurich. Also Germans and Dutch. A few British like us who have discovered the hotel and want to return each year. A relaxed cosmopolitan feel. The hosts Thomas and Anja make everyone feel welcome

  • Location
    6.0

    The Hotel is slighly above the village centre yet all the facilities are well within walking distance. The First gondola is very close for skiers wanting to use that area. You could walk to the Station in 10 minutes - even in ski boots - but the hotel will run you there if needed. Together with the extensive bus service this allows you to access all the other ski areas. The hotel is directly opposite the valley of the Grindelwald glacier with a panorama of views from Shreckhorn past the Wetterhorn to the Eiger and beyond.

Close
German
We'll be back!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • December 2013
Friendly service, nice rooms, good food, large, well maintained swimming pool and other spa, management cared for the well-being of the guests, central location in the village, starting point for beautiful hikes in the summer and winter, various means of transport. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Joe
Outstanding hospitality and excellent views
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
We had a wonderful experience at the Parkhotel Schoenegg. The staff is very friendly and helpful and by the time you leave you will feel like you have stayed with family. The location and views are excellent. This is a Spa Hotel and I highly encourage you to enjoy all that it has to offer. We went sightseeing most of the day and got back o the hotel around 4:30 or 5:00 and then enjoyed the whirlpool, steam room, sauna, cold tank and pool before getting ready for dinner. We did the half board food option and the ... food for breakfast and dinner was delicious. I highly recommend the Parkhotel Schoenegg. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Christina
Excellent value for money
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
Value for money is excellent in this hotel as you feel in a four-star-hotel. Especially the friendliness of the staff has to be pointed out. We recommend to book half board: The dinner is always great in Schoenegg and dining in a restaurant elsewhere in Grindelwald will be more expensive for sure. The hotel has also a very nice pool and spa area. The location is perfect for both winter and summer activities so that you do not need to use the car during the whole stay there. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
René
Very nice stay in a great hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the Parkhotel Schönegg very much. We didn't want for anything. The staff and management were always very friendly, helpful and attentive. Some other time, we would love to stay there again and can recommend the hotel wholeheartedly. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Shelby
The Best Hotel in Switzerland
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Other stay
  • October 2013
I have enjoyed the Schoenegg for more years than I can remember. It is 'home' for me. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Everything I could wish for - spotless, lovely balcony

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food excellent as always - personal requests always honored.

  • Service
    6.0

    The porter, Josef, fixed my broken glasses with his 'special glue.'

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Beautiful pool with view toward Eiger

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I have enjoyed the Schoenegg for more years than I can remember. It is 'home' for me.

  • Location
    6.0

    Lovely landscaping and view. Short walk to the RR station

Close
Susanne
Welcoming and friendly hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • October 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the Parkhotel Schoenegg. The rooms were clean and comfortable with the most fantastic view of the mountains from our lovely little balcony. The food was excellent, both the buffet breakfast and dinner. What makes this hotel so special is the warm and welcoming attitude of the hosts and other staff. Nothing was too much trouble and their attention to the comfort of their guests made us feel like treasured friends or part of the family. We are already planning how soon we can go back! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Peter & Ann
Basic review
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2013
Peter and I have very happy memories of our stay at the Hotel Schoenegg and hope one day to return. The hotel was recommended to us by friends who have been coming to you for a number of years. The staff were most welcoming and helpful. Our bedroom although on the small size had a balcony from which we had a wonderful mountain view. We found the swimming pool together with evenings enjoying our balcony the perfect remedy for aching limbs after days of strenuous walking! I would however, suggest, that you make the availability of window tables at breakfast ... clearer. My observation was that guests felt that if they had dined at a particulat window table the night before it was reserved for them the following morning. A simple matter, to avoid confusion, might be to mention this on guests' arrival at the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Julian
Quality, Quality, Quality
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2013
Tom Stettler and his team excel in running a hotel. Their friendliness, anticipation of the needs and wishes of their guests and attention to detail are unparalleled in my experience. The leisure facilities on offer, particularly the swimming pool and fitness area and the electric bikes,and the comfort of the rooms are first class. The upgrade to the dining room and kitchens and the creation of the smaller Stubli dining area have been of the highest quality and the variety of the food, both at breakfast and dinner, is always impressive. I especially like the interest taken by Tom ..., Anja and the staff in the activities of the guests. They are ready with knowledge and advice on request - most useful when the weather is very hot or wet. This personal touch is the trump card and complements the glorious and sunny views of the Eiger and surrounding mountains from the terrace and the attractive situation, neatly set back from the main street. The Stettler family have every right to be proud of their hotel - it is first class in every respect. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
Close
Margaret
Very friendly and helpful staf, excellent food
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2013
Excellent breakfast and very good dinner ,located very centrally. Staff provided excellent advice and I would recommend it to anyone. It was ery welcoming to pets- especially our cocker spaniel Honey read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Karin
The art of making a guest feel welcome
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2013
The friendliness and cordiality of the hostess and host and the whole staff made us feel very welcome. More than once a guest could be overheard saying "See you again next year!". To us, it is a joyful prospect to return some day, too. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Peter
Wonderful family-owned hotel! Great value!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2013
Beautiful, new expanded hotel. 4th generation family owned. Super-friendly . Personal service. GREAT VALUE for money because the room charge includes a high class 4 -course dinner ( a welcome change from standard Swiss tourist restaurant dinners). We decided to stay there 3 nights instead of 1 night because we were so happy. We plan to go back again! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Good size room. VERY clean and fresh. Perfect !

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The room charge includes an excellent 4-course set dinner . Much better and more varied types of dishes than at most normal Swiss tourist restaurants.

  • Service
    6.0

    Fantastic ! Super- friendly. Family-owned hotel (4th generation)

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Spa and swimming pool in hotel. From Grindelwald village ( just 5 minutes walk) there are literally hundreds of sporting options , both for summer and winter

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Beautiful, new expanded hotel. 4th generation family owned. Super-friendly . Personal service. GREAT VALUE for money because the room charge includes a high class 4 -course dinner ( a welcome change from standard Swiss tourist restaurant dinners). We decided to stay there 3 nights instead of 1 night because we were so happy. We plan to go back again!

  • Location
    6.0

    Beautiful location on the east edge of Grindelwald village, with excellent unobstructed views south over the valley and mountains Quiet location. Easy easy walking distance to the village and train station.

Close
1 3 4 5 ... 15