Sunny Days El Palacio Resort & Spa(4.5 stars)

Courniche Road, P.O.Box 427 Hurghada, Red Sea View on map

Average rating

1,457 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.9
  • Room
    5.0
  • Service
    4.9
  • Location
    5.3
  • Food and Drinks
    4.6
  • Sport & entertain
    5.2
Filters
You selected:
116 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Mariye
Sunny Days El Palacio the best!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
Salut! Je vous Écris avec mes amis et nous voulons laisser les commentaires et les opinions de cet hôtel. Eh bien, je vais commencer par le principal))) J'ai étée la 1ère fois dans cet hôtel. Nous y sommes allés le 27 décembre, nous avons choisi de temps après Noël, donc nous sommes partis sur la mer RougeNous avons choisi l'hôtel Sunny days el Palacio,parce que là,il y a une belle lagune et le grand territoire. On nous a dit que là, il fera beaucoup de monde,et on nous a propose d'autres variantes, mais nous n'avons pas ... voulu d'autres variantes. Nous étions beaucop de fois sur le Nouvel An Russe en Egypte, et toujours nous sommes restés très satisfaits. Nous sommes arrivés très tôt,on nous a rencontré parfaitement. Sur l'entrée nous ont donné le bracelet sur la main, après À chacun on a donné le numéro ou les fenetres donne sur la mer,sur la piscine ou sur la lagune.C'était comme dans le rêve. Dans quinze minutes on nous a apporté nos valises, le personnel était très gentil chez nous.Nous avons en peu de problemes avec la langue, parce que Je mal parle anglais, mais mes amis m'ont aidé avec un grand plaisir. Donc, quant au personnel tout étaient très bons, très gais et tout souriaient tout le temps,et chantaient les chansons) Dans les numéros était toujours propre et est enlevé, il y avait beaucoup de fleurs naturelles, Je voyais déjà semblable, mais au Sunny days,tout Était excellent et ornait extraordinaire. Nous avons mange toujours dans le restaurant, ou il y avait beaucoup de nourriture, beaucoup de diverse nourriture.2 fois on nous a propose de visiter le restaurant italien, Nous étions là 1 fois. Les premiers deux jours, nous avons examine le territoire, plus tard le jeune homme s' est approche de nous, il s'appelait Adriano. Ce jeune homme était très poli,gentil,et a offert son aide, il nous a parlé de discothèques et sur le programme à l'hôtel,tout nous a montré,et a immédiatement proposé de participer dans le programme. Chaque jour, nous nous occupions de l'aquagym,jouaient dans la piscine ou sur la plage,en soirée, a été spécial programme d'animation. Le soir, nous avons fait connaissance avec l'animateur Bido,il est très joyeux et fait de très remarquables et interessant spectacle.Plus tard nous sommes allés en boite de nuit-Papas beach, la musique etait cool comme en Europe, il y avait beaucoup de monde.Nous avions beaucoup d'émotions et de bonne humeur pour cette sortie Clairement, nous pouvons dire que nous sommes restés très satisfaits d'avoir choisi cet hôtel:un excellent programme d'animation.(football,volley-ball,la danse,l'aérobic)un territoire immense, c'est tout simplement merveilleux. Grand merci àAdriano,Bido,Juli et Mido,pour sa belle musique sur la plage Nous sommes très ennuyé et essayer de revenir bientôt là read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Medhat
Very pleasing holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
Very good located and very good managed read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Very good rooms with excellent view

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    very good gastronomy with excellent team

  • Service
    6.0

    excellent service with fast responds

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Very good animation team with many varities

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Very good located and very good managed

  • Location
    6.0

    very good location in the middle of hurgada

Close
Jessika
There is no other option when we go to Hurghada!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
This was the 4th time we have stayed in Sunny Days El Palacio and it will not be the last time. Since the first time (3 years ago) we have always been very well treated here, it feels like home! The hotel is situated right on the beach, with just a couple of minutes with taxi to the city centre of Sekalla were you can do some shopping or visiting the new marina. There is also some shops on the hotel area - we recommend a visit to Ali on the right side when you enter the area if you ... want bags or a laughter. Don't get afraid of the salesmen - they want to sell, but also sometimes they just like to talk and drink tea. The hotel area is nice and you can spend all your time here if you want to, every night they clean everything so it will be ready for the next day. About the cleaning we didn't ask for cleaning every day because three Girls don't make so much mess. On the hotel there is mostly russians, like in all Hurghada, but English is well spoken by almost everyone. If you have any problems you can always visit the reception and they will help you. The animation team will keep you busy all day on the beach with morning gym, belly dance and latino dance Courses, aerobic and watergym and other games and fun. And every night will Amir, Donga, Kasper, Bido, Julia, Tito and the rest entertain you with dance shows or make you laugh at their Comedy shows. One of our days we spent out in the sea with Crazy Waves - we had a perfect day on the boat with snorkeling to see corals and fishes and we made a visit to Paradise Island with the most perfect sand and blue water - next time we will try on diving also because it was amazing. We arrived home yesterday and already are we dreaming about coming back! All the love to everyone read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kim
Fantastic , will go again , sun fun and good food
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
the hotel was very clean and tidy , staff were all lovely . read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    we had a suit that was fantastic, plenty of space & very clean .

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    the food was lovely, fish restaurant was the best

  • Service
    6.0

    top class service , we were treated as VIP

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    we loved the in house shows , sports were they if you wanted it , no problem with sunbeds ,

  • Hotel
    6.0

    the hotel was very clean and tidy , staff were all lovely .

  • Location
    6.0

    the location was beautiful , stunning view shops were walking distance , choice if were to swim sae lagoon or pool .

Close
Kaarle
Review from Finland
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
We spent a 2 week holiday with our children aged 6 and 8 years. As north Europeans I can say we had good service all the time while our stay. The hotel staff was helpfull and also taking care of our children which was nice. We had All inclusive service with some extra fitures such as breakfast in the Hotels Italian restaurant with not so busy athmosfere. It was nice and quite for a change. Also the fish restaurant was great and awailable for us. Hotel is clean and we had no read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was exellent. Air conditioning which was also worming during the night or when we felt cold. TV had several chanels also for kids. They loved to watch the arabian-germany kids channels!

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    In general the food was good. Children loved the pasta, me and my wife tasted all the food and espesially loved the fish awailable every day. The oriental night was great also because of the music show.

  • Service
    6.0

    Service was good. No compleins.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The animation group was active and arranging show or happening for every night. There was Mini Disco for Kids and some show later for adults. Little minus was the information given about the shows and the sheduales. We had be active to find out when the shows will start etc. The guest relations was not the one to know this kind of matters. It was the members of the animation team. But this we found out pretty soon. We missed the snake show because of the late star time of the show 11 o'clock in the evening. We adults had to sleep the children.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We spent a 2 week holiday with our children aged 6 and 8 years. As north Europeans I can say we had good service all the time while our stay. The hotel staff was helpfull and also taking care of our children which was nice. We had All inclusive service with some extra fitures such as breakfast in the Hotels Italian restaurant with not so busy athmosfere. It was nice and quite for a change. Also the fish restaurant was great and awailable for us. Hotel is clean and we had no

  • Location
    6.0

    This was the 3th time in Hurgada so we wanted to have a hotel with a good situation. The Hotel el Palacio is situated " in the midlle of " Hurghada old town el Dahar and new city center Segala. That was a great thing because we love to spend time also outside of a hotel.

Close
Einārs
A decent hotel with an excellent lagoon
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2014
We stayed there with friends and enjoyed the sea side and the lagoon. All in all, for Egypt, it was a good hotel. Apart from the massive drunk russian crowd which represented about 95% of the residents, absolutly rude and loud, we enjoyed the stay. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Yahia
Good experience
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
We have spent a nice beach holiday in October. It seems that the location of El Palacio in the terms of seaside is the best in Hurghada. There are several beaches, we always stayed at coral beach as our room windows faced it. You need special shoes to walk in the water there. Lagoon has normal sandy bottom and stairs to enter the depth. We didn`t use the pool but it seemed to be fine. Animation makes their daily and evening programs, but to hear them or participate -you need to be at lagoon area. There is professional aqua center ... "Crazy Waves" and diving center "White Dolphin". We took trip to Paradise island with them and tried intro dive (for those, who are afraid, hhhh), which made us take diving trip after. Everything was perfectly organized! We stayed in the left annex building, the view from there is great. The rooms start with number 5. or 6. Just don`t take rooms 50. or 60. as they are at the ground floor and everyone will pass by all the time. It was a good relaxing holiday and equal to the money we paid. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Margaret
Most important was the sea!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Food: food was delicious, but we are not choosy people in the food, lack of lobsters did not disappoint us. It was enough food for us. Dining room (this place doesn't dare to be called as a "restaurant") was quite clean, the staff tried as best as it could, very helpful. All staff was friendly and courteous. Requests were made quickly (for example, when the TV didn't work - it was changed within 20 minutes). Inna from GR helped a lot. Animators were doing their best - trying to entertain the guests. The water in the pool was warm, and ... in the sea - too. The places were always available at the beach - at what time you would come. And of course we can notice the very beautiful views. In general, and overall we liked the hotel. So if you do not delve into the details and just want to enjoy the sun and the sea - you are welcome to come to this hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.3
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    2.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Helena
Great holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
All in all we were relaxed and in general it was a very nice holiday. The food could be more diverse but we did not go hungry. Animation team was great and very funny in all the shows. All staff were very friendly and ready to help in every way possible. We would like to recommend this hotel to all people that wants to go swimming, snorkeling and relaxing in every way possible. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Farah
Perfect week
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
It was my first time in sunny days. This hotel is seriously one of the best hotels in hurghada!! I enjoyed the whole week especially with the animation team. They do so many activities to entertain the guests. The service is absolutely perfect. It was an amazing week and i wish i could stay so much longer!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Mona
According to our kids: one of our best vacations!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
pros: -extremely friendly staff -great variety & quality of food -clean sea water at doorstep -clean swimming pool -excellent animation team & shows -exciting activities all day long contras: -someone (not me) to whom having a giant LCD TV in the room is a must, may not like the existing old-fashion TV. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Tatty
Good for the first time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
It was a nice holiday at this place as it is located directly at the seaside. Hotel is huge with big territory. Among the advantages are: wide beach area, nice lagoon, plenty of underwater creatures and fish just near your legs, active animation, pleasant service from some waiters. The disadvantages are: average variety of food, not clean areas, old furniture in the room and the a/c which was out of order almost every day. But the good memories were all from the beach and sea. It's fantastic! There is center "Crazy Waves" at the hotel area.We went to 4 ... island trips with them.It was great to see the beauty of Red sea, to feed the seagulls and swim not far from dolphins. We recommend to try their trips, it's worth going indeed. Hotel is not far from the city center-you can take taxi even from the hotel (they are trustful) and will be there in 5 minutes. Some souvenir and clothes shops are at the hotel entrance, but you should negotiate the price everywhere. In all, if you travel for the first time,- this place will be good enough for you to stay. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    3.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Inna
The first bad hotel in Egypt
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
First of all I don't' understand why Germans write feedback that the food in the hotel is for Russians! Russian people love good food, not this bad dishes! I am Russian myself and I was really upset and dissappointed with the food quality and variety and service. And this is my 5th time in Egypt.There is no service at all in the hotel, Egyptians take you not as a guest, but as a problem. No reaction in reception! In the restaurant there are no tomato, only pumpkin and lime!!! The long queues for fish and meat! I was with ... 2 children and I was always afraid to eat and to drink smth as it's dirty in the restaurant and the quality of water in cooler is bad! I had to buy in bottles. The only advantage of the hotel is blue lagoon and the sea. I DO NOT RECCOMMEND to go there! Waste of money! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    1.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    1.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    1.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    2.0
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Marc
Aaaaaand, we're back
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
One of the larger resorts in Hurghada, if I'm correct, the Sunny Days El Palacio Resort is basically all you could ever want for a week of total relaxation, lovely weather, and no sorrow. We stayed here in March 2013, March 2014, and we're leaving for this hotel again this year, this time in February. We've always taken the All Inclusive formula, I do not know whether they offer anything else, but why would you want anything else, right? Everything catered for, no sweat. Lovely staff, kind waiters, and very helpful lobby personnel. The only real negative feedback I could ... give this Resort is the abundance of Russian and other Eastern-European guests. My sincerest apologies to the nice, laid back Russian tourists out there, but the people you send out to the Egyptian resorts are the most anti-social, degenerate and despicable people out there. There really is no nice way of putting this. Drunk at 9 in the morning, all food is gone when they arrive, generally the rudest attitude I have ever come across, and the loud mouth to match. Luckily, the hotel's staff recognizes this as well, and while they cannot outright refuse them, since unfortunately they are the hotel's main source of income, they do go out of their way to keep the negative impact on the Western European guests to a minimum. They reserve the rooms in the outlying wings, away from the main buildings and their noisy guests, reserved for Western Europeans, who can enjoy some peace and quiet there. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    If, like us, you are lucky enough to be situated in one of the wings, instead of the main building, you'll have a great room. They are a bit newer than the main building, and have recently been refurbished, so they're all around lovely. Do mind the fact that you have to shower in the bathtub (whoever came up with that did not have a soul), and that the water might sometimes turn brown for no particular reason. Furthermore, since the hotel, like many in Egypt, still uses a system of water tanks instead of general plumbing, hot water is sometimes harder to come by. However, it'll usually be back quite fast. The rooms themselves are tidy, built to an Egyptian standard, so sometimes there is some loose plaster in the corners, and appropriately sized. Perfectly capable of entertaining you for your visit here.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    This is the only part of the Resort that I feel could use quite some improvement. I have no qualms with the breakfast; fully continental, about a thousand forms of bread, eggs, pancakes, you name it. The meat and cheese section could use a bit of a do-over, but other than that, it's fine. Lunch follows the same routine, from fries to pizza's, hot and cold, you name it. Just don't be unfortunate enough to be standing in line behind a Russian, since they will simply take all the pizza's that are present in the oven, and leave you waiting for the next batch. Dinner, however, is a bit of a different story. In the main restaurant, the food itself is very catered toward the aforementioned Russian guests, which I'm sorry to say is quite tasteless. That is, if there is even anything left, because apparently Russians are also quite apt circus artists, who can balance several fully-laden plates per person at the same time. The food that is there, however, fulls the stomach, but is nothing to write home about. They do make an effort to give every night a 'theme', which in practice means that two of the carts make something vaguely related to said theme, which is usually tastier than the regular stuff, but not quite to a Western standard. Then again, if you really want a Western standard, go to a Western country. Some cultural adaptation is to be expected. Which is fine. A great addition to the general restaurant, however, is the a-la-carte variant. Better food, better atmosphere, better everything. The lovely addition in this case is that this restaurant is free to at least us coming from the Netherlands, but I'm pretty sure I saw other Western nationalities enjoying the same comfort. This translates into caring waiters, less noise, and a generally pleasant environment. Kudos to this. If we then move to the drinks, it could do with some improvement as well. The beer is kept in fridges which I doubt are plugged in, and are poured into small plastic cups that can basically be drained in one sip. Solution; take two at a time. I can imagine that this is done to prevent 'certain' guests from emptying the bar, but overall it comes across as rather cheap. Coffee is an issue as well; while it is freely available, the machine adds a layer of foam that my spoon can stand straight up in. I'll not go into detail about the quality of the brown brew, but suffice it to say that if you do not need the caffeine, don't bother.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff truly are a gem. Very friendly and accommodating, as long as you act normal to them as well, which is basically a prerequisite for any hotel visit as far as I'm concerned. While their English is of course not perfect, it is as good as anyone can expect in a country such as Egypt. During our second visit, last year, we were put in rooms in the main building, which were quite noisy and didn't have the greatest view, to be honest. We asked the lobby staff whether we could be relocated to the wing we'd occupied the year before, and within the hour, the call came through that this was no problem, and a bell boy showed up at our door to relocate our luggage. Which brings me to the cleaning-and-running personnel. Even though they rarely speak anything other than Egyptian, they do their job diligently, daily, and without any fuss. No lingering for tips, and it's never a bother when you ask them do clean something that they seem to have missed. Another great feature is the pool staff. Talk to them once, and they'll remember you for the rest of your holiday. They will set up your pool beds before you even get there, do not linger around for the euro in your pocket, and are very pleasant to talk to. Their greatest invention is the red flag, which they put in the sand in front of you, so the beach salesmen know to give you a wide berth. One pool boy actually chased a salesman away with a broom. I do not believe I've ever laughed so hard in my entire life. The one negative I would want to express is the fact that my sister, who is a twenty-one year old redhead, otherwise known as an Egyptian-magnet, was sometimes harassed to the point of annoyance by some of the main restaurant waiters. However, kind intervention by one of the head waiters (Hakim, you are still our hero), put this to a stop quite quickly.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The sport and entertainment division is entirely Russian, so we've not had the opportunity to test or evaluate it. We've seen beach volleyball, yoga, swimming contests and the like. A particularly nice event is the daily aqua-aerobics class, which for those of you who are into whale-watching is enough entertainment on its own. Joking aside, the pool is of sufficient size and quality, and isn't used all that often, so you'll always have plenty of space. The pool itself is laid out around a bar-island, which is great, because who doesn't like drinking while sitting in the pool?

  • Hotel
    5.0

    One of the larger resorts in Hurghada, if I'm correct, the Sunny Days El Palacio Resort is basically all you could ever want for a week of total relaxation, lovely weather, and no sorrow. We stayed here in March 2013, March 2014, and we're leaving for this hotel again this year, this time in February. We've always taken the All Inclusive formula, I do not know whether they offer anything else, but why would you want anything else, right? Everything catered for, no sweat. Lovely staff, kind waiters, and very helpful lobby personnel. The only real negative feedback I could give this Resort is the abundance of Russian and other Eastern-European guests. My sincerest apologies to the nice, laid back Russian tourists out there, but the people you send out to the Egyptian resorts are the most anti-social, degenerate and despicable people out there. There really is no nice way of putting this. Drunk at 9 in the morning, all food is gone when they arrive, generally the rudest attitude I have ever come across, and the loud mouth to match. Luckily, the hotel's staff recognizes this as well, and while they cannot outright refuse them, since unfortunately they are the hotel's main source of income, they do go out of their way to keep the negative impact on the Western European guests to a minimum. They reserve the rooms in the outlying wings, away from the main buildings and their noisy guests, reserved for Western Europeans, who can enjoy some peace and quiet there.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel itself is situated around a small inlet, and is built in a U-shape around the waters. This creates a very nice personal bay, which is easily accessible and generally rather quiet.

Close
Iza
The best holidays ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
This was the best hotel I've ever been to! I cannot say a bad word about this hotel. The only disadvantage is that there are too many Russians there and they don't behave well while on vacation.... Therefore the whole hotel team took us for Russians, too and knew Russian better than English..... but really there are no more disadvantages about this hotel ! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Elena
Nice
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
The first time was in this hotel, I was with child. The hotel has a quiet atmosphere. The staff is very friendly. G.R Julia helped a lot because there were questions periodically. The food in the restaurant did not like at all! Very identical! No napkins!Long queues! The waiters are polite.I liked that heated pool, it was important because we were vacationing was in january. The hotel certainly does not correspond to a category 4* but we liked! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.7
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Annelies
Amazing holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
I spent an amazing time in Egypt! The hotel was very clean, the food was good, the pool was nice, and there was direct access to the ocean as well. The staff in the restaurants and the rest of the hotel was extremely nice and attending. But what made the stay absolutely great, was the animation team! They had plenty of activities during the day and a show every evening. I have to give special credits to Sasha. He comes to do a short chat every day, took us out to a club in Hurghada every night. He is funny ..., and cares so much about the guests joining that they have fun and enjoy themselves. He took care of all practicalities like transport as well. A special thanks goes out to him! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Darya
Nice hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • December 2013
Hotel is very nice! Next year I plan to go back. Hotel have a good food, beautiful and clean place. Servis in the hotel is very nice! Yet i want to pay special attention for Guest Relation - Maria. She helped us throughout the trip. Thanks for recreation! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Christin
Fun despite flaws in the el palacio
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
El palacio is a large hotel with about 800 rooms. Since it is a new resort, are naturally signs of usage. The room fulfills no german 4 - star use, but who this Egypt expected, is also quite naive. The walls are really thin, the bathroom not very clean, but due to the structural layout of the building, all the rooms a fantastic view of the red sea. The grounds are well maintained and the hotel's private laguna for those who like the water ideal. For those who prefer a peaceful beach its time, which is the little used to ..., but still great beach (beach 3) recommended. Here is also the usual fight for pool chairs and the like, since everything was in the abundance available. Wi-fi is chargeable and available in the lobby. The all inclusive food met described in the catalog the expectations, although it didn't speak english or russian speaking guests will be difficult, the names of the courts to learn. But if you enjoy the culinary surprise has, this has in the view of all vessels reliably its' joy '. Drinks were in the room only on the journey day inclusive (2 small bottles of water), afterwards, it is for the ability of the guest the roomboy with financial powers of persuasion to the refilling of the minibar to move. At the beach bars is the preservation of drinks significantly easier, although the flashy small cups the guests always in movement stops. In our travel period (26,12. 13 until 02,01. 14) the guest structur with 99% russians and 1% western european travelers describe. The hotel and the employees were always trying, the 1% less noisy guests clear benefits to. So were separate areas for westerners created (ital. Restaurant) and the tickets for the new year's celebrations were inclusive. Moreover, were all of the employees, that we as a german identified and we experienced a faster and bevorzugtere service. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The room had a good size of about 20 square meter and a very beautiful balcony with sea view. There was a gratissafe, a tv with international channels, air conditioning, a minibar, a telephone, wardrobe. Unfortunately we had two single beds and a double bed. With a small effort we could this without trouble together. The bathroom had a sufficient good size with a toilet, shower and sink and was in an acceptable condition. Unfortunately missing on the first day the towels and hand soap. Missing also has a hair dryer.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Total 2 restaurants: restaurant restaurant - full of russians and absolutely chaotic. The staff is very fast in the service and in the reload of the buffets. Atmosphere: completely overloaded and unattractive. Cleanliness and hygiene straight acceptable. The fish restaurant we can personally unfortunately not describe, as we never food. However, we heard from other vacationers it pretty crappy were. More money for little money paid. The italian restaurant saved us a bit the holiday. This was for westerners in the all-inclusive included. There was pasta, pizza, fish and meat. The food was ok, the service was very hard working and in all ok. Atmosphere compared to the main restaurant was very familiar and comfortable. The restaurant was clean. The food was ok. The hotel was very good a different daily cuisine in the main restaurant to cook, whereby also some food changed. For tips musstes you don't care, because all the waiters responsible for everything and everything in a huge crowds ändete. The service at the bar was great. Very fast and the staff understood us. Only the hygiene was a bit poor. The number of bars that enabled on every corner something to get a drink. With a little tip the waiter knew sometime your preferences and served without order have your favorite drink, if you are only the bar closer deliveredst.

  • Service
    4.0

    The hotel staff in particular, after the guest as a 'german' identifies is very friendly and accomodating. The german skills were rather poor, but certainly at the russian power, located in the hotel. With a smattering of english, one comes thus fast to the desired destination. The rooms were cleaned every day.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The hotel had its own entertainment, and a kids club. There were sports activities (aerobics, Volleyball, belly dancing etc.) , as well as nightly changing shows and disco. Linguistically however rather russian-oriented. The condition of the beach - or poolequipment was ok. Some completely, some broken but still usable. Most important tip - beach 3 with eingener bar and a lot of peace.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    El palacio is a large hotel with about 800 rooms. Since it is a new resort, are naturally signs of usage. The room fulfills no german 4 - star use, but who this Egypt expected, is also quite naive. The walls are really thin, the bathroom not very clean, but due to the structural layout of the building, all the rooms a fantastic view of the red sea. The grounds are well maintained and the hotel's private laguna for those who like the water ideal. For those who prefer a peaceful beach its time, which is the little used to, but still great beach (beach 3) recommended. Here is also the usual fight for pool chairs and the like, since everything was in the abundance available. Wi-fi is chargeable and available in the lobby. The all inclusive food met described in the catalog the expectations, although it didn't speak english or russian speaking guests will be difficult, the names of the courts to learn. But if you enjoy the culinary surprise has, this has in the view of all vessels reliably its' joy '. Drinks were in the room only on the journey day inclusive (2 small bottles of water), afterwards, it is for the ability of the guest the roomboy with financial powers of persuasion to the refilling of the minibar to move. At the beach bars is the preservation of drinks significantly easier, although the flashy small cups the guests always in movement stops. In our travel period (26,12. 13 until 02,01. 14) the guest structur with 99% russians and 1% western european travelers describe. The hotel and the employees were always trying, the 1% less noisy guests clear benefits to. So were separate areas for westerners created (ital. Restaurant) and the tickets for the new year's celebrations were inclusive. Moreover, were all of the employees, that we as a german identified and we experienced a faster and bevorzugtere service.

  • Location
    5.0

    From the airport to the hotel it was about 20 minutes, including stop at other resorts, to vacationers on their destination to bring. The hotel is located directly on the beach. Between the two wings is a lagoon and directly adjacent a large beach. For snorkeling but rather unsuitable, since the hotel does not have its own reef has. To the city center Hurghada with the taxi about 3 kilometer. however directly at the area, as well as some steps outside smaller shopping possibilities were available (bazaars, Aldi, mc. Donalds, hospital etc. About 300m away). Regarding night life is to say, that the hotel had its own disco and with a entertainment scored. We still have two excursions with FTI booked. 1. snorkeling in the dolphin house. This trip was good. We could swim with dolphins and still had two snorkel courses including lunch. The distance to the starting point was acceptable. The 2. trip was a fun safari in the desert. This trip was very unsatisfactory. It seemed to us like a mass on the variety of tourists. The quad biking among other things was much too short and rather boring for a bit more action needs. The attendance with the bedouins also rather boring. In summary, the hotel is in a good location.

Close
Ina
Super
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • November 2013
Lovely hotel!! Rested there in November this year. Everything was just perfect: the sea, the food, the staff. Especially liked the attitude to us, really want to express my gratitude to Mary, who was our guardian angel there. All recommend a stay at this hotel, you will be very pleased and will return home well rested! Thank you very much! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 6