Villa Florence(4 stars)

225 Powell Street CA 94102 San Francisco (California) View on map

Average rating

17 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.7
  • Room
    4.7
  • Service
    3.9
  • Location
    5.7
  • Food and Drinks
    4.7
  • Sport & entertain
    0.0
Filters
You selected:
13 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Christian
Nice, but high' extra charges'
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • August 2012
This year to 2 time in the villa. We are therefore' repeat offender. One important tip at check in after a 'quiet room' to questions. Then one gets ( as long as available) a room to the inner courtyard. The prospect is then not at all as nice as forward, but the Union Square is only 1 block away, and the city never sleeps before 2:00 o'clock! Our room was this time slightly larger (corner room 320) and with 2 flat tv equipped (if you like that kind of on vacation need). Clock radios with Iphone dock and so ... on. We could from the staff a bit more commitment requested. After a week stay you should have someone recognize! Valet parking costs now 48 $plus 6.72 $tax! The 2010 just 25 $! Here you really fleeced. Selfparking there is in the perimeter of 2 blocks for 25 to - euros. Everyone must decide, if you the car driven up like or, if you 5 minutes on foot goes. Wireless-lan 15§plus 2.10 $tax per day!. In mc sad and Starbucks around the corner free of charge! Breakfast is for this category reasonably priced, is but also for the half from the price ( and the dual quantity) in the sears fine food (439 Powell Street, left out of the hotel and 200 meters on the same page!) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    3.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Christiane
Beautiful atmosphere and central location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • August 2011
We arrived in the middle of the night ( at: am) from Maui to San Francisco. At the front desk one took us in a friendly and made sure, we immediately a room got. The standard -rooms are however nothing special large, but nicely furnished. The bathroom is small, but one has everything, what you need, and the selection of toiletries from l'occitane makes up for that again. The hotel is centrally located close to the Union Square right at the Powell Street. The cabel car drives right on the hotel past. Numerous restaurants and shops ( also a large ... shopping center) is in the immediate vicinity. There are internet portal, which one can use for free, to for instance for the flight to check. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Simone
Never book for two! Mega small, dirty rooms! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • City break
  • October 2010
No way to book two!!! The room has a size of 11m². The bed a width of 1,20 m. The room with a suitcase is completely full. You can move around the bed. The windows were probably never cleaned and the floor makes with every step. We had the size of the room, especially complained about the size of the bed and only the brutal response that "our trip to San Francisco and here all hotel rooms could barely trigger". Clear lie. 2 weeks before we were at the Hilton Union Square. For just 16 euros more we had ... a super huge room! I wouldn't recommend it and would warn here for two wanting to stay! read hotel review
  • Room
    2.3
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
  • Service
    2.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
  • Hotel
    1.7
    Family friendliness
    1.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Susanne
Nice hotel right in the heart of Union Square archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2010
The Villa Florence is really a great city hotel for a short stop in San Francisco. We booked this hotel as last our 3 week trip. So we gave our rental car directly after check in, as the embursement in SF really are extortionate. The check in was smooth the service complaints our hotel bill was very good, our services not consumed things the mini bar were easily from the bill. Hotel shuttle to the airport is very easy. The room was very nicely furnished, a bit small and not very sound proof. The street sweeping unfortunately we did every ... night. The bathroom was clean and adequate. One of the few hotels in the United States with free safe. Wireless internet was also free of charge. The hotel is integrated with a small bar and restaurant Kuleto's, which we didn't use (though was always very popular and used). The hotel can be easily reached on the cable car up toward the piers but also on foot you could explore much. For a city hotel in the USA, the Villa Florence really great and could only recommend it! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Karola
great Stadthotel-despite negative reviews! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2010
Hi, would like to comment on this hotel. Was with a friend in the year 2010 in September for 3 nights in this hotel and I can only say, it was OK for us. Well, we have at the start right our assigned room again changed, but it was received on our needs. We got a room with a view of the street, on the cable car right long drove, had a slightly bigger bathroom, and a right built-in cupboard, in which you easily to third place. I found this hotel ideal for a city break after San Francisco and ... next year, I want to go with my daughter a Mietwagentour of California make, certainly stay there again, because the location was just ideal. Only a few steps the terminus of the cable car and almost directly at the Union Square. What more could you want. And in the street slanted opposite there was a Chinese restaurant with good and cheap food and more restaurants. We would gladly come again! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Were satisfied with the room, was not the largest, but it was everything available and the flat screenTV was almost larger than the wall. we were with the room (after our change) satisfied. And finally, it is a city hotel room and not a suite in the Hilton or similar

  • Gastronomy
    0

    We didn't used, but you could wonderful outside -direct at the entrance -sit and vorbeieilenden passersby watch! Were in the middle of the action and yet in our hotel, we found that really great.

  • Service
    4.0

    the staff were friendly and very good service hard-working. we were satisfied. As mentioned, our complaint on the room it was immediately by a room changing fixed.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.0

    Hi, would like to comment on this hotel. Was with a friend in the year 2010 in September for 3 nights in this hotel and I can only say, it was OK for us. Well, we have at the start right our assigned room again changed, but it was received on our needs. We got a room with a view of the street, on the cable car right long drove, had a slightly bigger bathroom, and a right built-in cupboard, in which you easily to third place. I found this hotel ideal for a city break after San Francisco and next year, I want to go with my daughter a Mietwagentour of California make, certainly stay there again, because the location was just ideal. Only a few steps the terminus of the cable car and almost directly at the Union Square. What more could you want. And in the street slanted opposite there was a Chinese restaurant with good and cheap food and more restaurants. We would gladly come again!

  • Location
    6.0

    Only a few steps the terminus of the cable car and almost directly at the Union Square.

Close
Manuela
Perfect location / perfect hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2010
It was my first time in the United States, but my partner has had several holidays in the states and he said he have never seen such a clean hotel in the States. The hotel is really well maintained and clean. The very spacious lobby is unusual for the size of the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Nice clean, spacious (upgrade) room. Rooms with air conditioning, very well stocked mini bar, coffee machine, safe, telephone and free W-Lan (WiFi).

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    Upon check-in everything was perfect and friendly. Generous we were given a room upgrade. On the day of check out we will see the hotel at check-in for our rented the voucher wrongly also motorhome with has collected. The staff member of the front desk was very helpful in getting voucher Rediscovered and after a long search (approx. 15 Minutes) he was actually found. Thank you for effort

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    It was my first time in the United States, but my partner has had several holidays in the states and he said he have never seen such a clean hotel in the States. The hotel is really well maintained and clean. The very spacious lobby is unusual for the size of the hotel.

  • Location
    6.0

    Right in downtown San Francisco, this is perfect. A cable-car line station is right in front of the entrance

Close
Daniela
Nice hotel and great central but room small archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2010
We booked the Villa Florence Hotel on our USA. The hotel is in a great central location, just a few meters from Union Square. You immediately right in the middle of everything and it is a great base for shopping. Also the Cabelcar station is just a few meters away. The hotel is very nice also and smartly decorated, staff very nice, large drawback is the parking fees (there is no parking and you have to take advantage of valet parking, costs for SUV $55 per night! Super expensive, so all you have to do if you had to give ... them the car and it will then in/out privileges) The rooms were nice but way too small. Hardly enough space to put your suitcases and the bathroom was just plain mini! You could just one step in and rotate, not more. Beds are also very small. Otherwise the good equipment. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.3
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Christian
A villa in the middle of San Francisco archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2010
The hotel looks like a small Oasis in the city jungle. Very beautiful Atmosphere and very friendly staff. the size of the bathroom I would at home absolutely to small, but for 3 nights absolutely okay. the 'valet parking' is with 25 $appropriate, since the private parking in Frisco really to racking would be on vacation. All together TOP! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Nicole
You can't be more city center archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2010
The hotel has a great central starting point, it couldn't have been better. We are also in the wrong hotel that we ended up there, because we missed the entrance. Italian-style lobby, check in very friendly. Big, clean rooms with a big flat screen TV. But with the central location take earplugs!! The rooms face the street and during the day and night there was operated, with plug it was ok. We had a small breakfast at the bar including. This consisted of tea/coffee, croissants, orange juice, not a lot to do, but very good quality and first you did ... a bit in your stomach. Two recommended tips for San Francisco: The bike ride across the Golden Gate, indeed with 80€ for 2 bikes including ferry from Sausalito to SF incredibly expensive, but an unforgettable experience. 2 Tip: the evening in the bar on the 36th. OG of the Hyatt hotels nearby, with superb views of the city. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Christoph
Great city hotel - but rooms on the elevator archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • May 2010
City hotel located in the heart of San Francisco. An ideal base from which to enjoy all that SF, as it is right by the Cabelcarlinie or to the nearest metro or tram station 24 - 500 meters. The hotel is also great for shopping. The hotel is only once plain. We are first 2 drove to Gee Jam. The lobby is Italian-style decor. There is also a bar and a classy restaurant. We didn't try the restaurant, but it should be noisy Marco Polo very good. We wanted to try other MP tips. The hotel room it wouldn't have ... been bad if it wasn't in the immediate vicinity of the elevators. This had a constant "bing" in the night and had the habit of leaving funnily enough to wait on our floor. In addition, all 2 minutes, the doors and openly. But otherwise the hotel was good. But personally I would not choose a "AAA" rate. Somehow they tell you always the worse rooms. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Fynn
Plain but good. archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • April 2010
Plain but good. Clean and modern. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    the rooms were small but OK. In San Francisco it is so lots to see, that one anyway better outside the four walls should be.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    The restaurant downstairs in front of the front desk the left was good. The food was delicious and the restaurant was stylishly equipped.

  • Service
    5.0

    very helpful and knew in tourist questions knowledgeable. Also had very good restaurant tips.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    Plain but good. Clean and modern.

  • Location
    5.0

    Directly in the city center. In front of the entrance drives immediately the cable-car line with the traditionally comes to the bay.

Close
Isabelle
Good value, smart rooms archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • City break
  • September 2009
The hotel is well kept and very Italian style, as the name suggests. Rooms are very nicely decorated, they're not huge, but adequate. The bathroom was the size of the room relatively large. Parking in San Francisco bad, the hotel offers parking for $40 a day. We are on other parking garages in the side streets, for example. The O'Farrell Street. Rate is per day $29 . It works out cheaper in downtown you also get hard. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Marco
Very good hotel in best location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2009
The Italian style of the hotel really enjoyed it. Good condition of a building and no long distances. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5

    We had a 4 bed room in the 6. Floor. The room was large and well furnished with extra chair and desk. furnishings, very good. New, large flat screen TV, hairdryer, bathrobe, safe large mini-bar (fridge), coffee machine available. Unfortunately the back window right across the street from a other wall. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. in the US often not the case. No noise at all. A quiet hotel.

  • Gastronomy
    0

    The hotel has an Italian restaurant extremely upscale and a qualifying bar. We didn't eat here. But in the evening was always full.

  • Service
    5.0

    Very friendly and courteous staff. Both at the reception so the housekeeping staff. Parking (surcharge) ($40 /day)

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There was free Internet access throughout the hotel (WLAN). In addition, there were 2 free PC workstations with printer on the ground floor, which we found very good. Well-equipped fitness room with modern equipment. A pool was not available.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The Italian style of the hotel really enjoyed it. Good condition of a building and no long distances.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located in the Powell Street right on Union Square. Also a cable car station is right across the street. The best Union Square shopping. To Market Street with further shops are only 2 blocks. Supermarket (Walgreens) is located directly in the Nachbarblock. Several good restaurants and bars on Union Square or directly adjacent. Even though we often driven to the port are (approx. 30 Minutes with cable car) we find the location clearly better than in the Fishermans Warf, which we were in wide sections a little run down.

Close