Hotel Bernerhof(3 stars)

Hauptstrasse 3718 Kandersteg View on map

Average rating

50 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.8
  • Room
    5.8
  • Service
    5.9
  • Location
    5.7
  • Food and Drinks
    5.9
  • Sport & entertain
    5.2
Filters
You selected:
24 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Hugo
Winter abode in kandersteg
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • December 2012
Very friendly staff, well managed, very pleasant ambience, brilliant food, good value for money. We felt really comfortable and will gladly come again read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Werner
Always super
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2012
Since 1997 we have the bernerhof over 50 times. We felt here like at home. The couple liter is the perfect hosts. Every wish was fulfilled immediately. The guest is in this house king. Werner/ 1952 read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Heini
A great hotel, also for persuade yasser and all other!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2012
The most important: a attentive, liebenswiederwürdiger service, from the constantly present hotelier-couple to the trainee, without ever seeming fake. Accommodating, honestly, friendly. Us four jass -friends there one more time looking forward to it, in a great setting, that offers great value for money, our annual short jassurlaub, the 6 time in this well run three star hotel to enjoy. That is again and again an experience; somewhat remote the large tourist destinations. On individual beurteilungskritierein I am able to do, as the full picture for me simply far above the average, which in this category is to be expected. ... Simply keep it up. Can only be recommended, if you in this hotel-category the best finds. Food, cleanliness, friendliness everything was excellent. And all hotel-stars the world, assets close proximity to guest in this hotel not counterbalance. Uster read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very clean, for this hotel category absolutely in. Order!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food, service everything great. The is nothing more to.

  • Service
    6.0

    Simply outstanding as mentioned above, attentive, without being pushy. There the guest is still guest!

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    The most important: a attentive, liebenswiederwürdiger service, from the constantly present hotelier-couple to the trainee, without ever seeming fake. Accommodating, honestly, friendly. Us four jass -friends there one more time looking forward to it, in a great setting, that offers great value for money, our annual short jassurlaub, the 6 time in this well run three star hotel to enjoy. That is again and again an experience; somewhat remote the large tourist destinations. On individual beurteilungskritierein I am able to do, as the full picture for me simply far above the average, which in this category is to be expected. Simply keep it up. Can only be recommended, if you in this hotel-category the best finds. Food, cleanliness, friendliness everything was excellent. And all hotel-stars the world, assets close proximity to guest in this hotel not counterbalance. Uster

  • Location
    5.0

    Somewhat remote the large fine swiss-tourist stops, but therefore no less pleasant; on the contrary!

Close
Felix
Lovely hotel with very friendly and pleasant staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2012
We are already some years guest at the bernerhof. We enjoyed it again and again, our Jasstage in kandersteg to spend. Especially is the friendly serving staff to mention. Very young team, but quite friendly, and really trying, the guest to fulfill every request. The innkeepers couple Lehmann tried their customers with real friendliness. The rooms are big and clean. For hiking excursions, and other activities offers Kandersteg right lots of possibilities. We look forward now already again on next year, if we go back in the bernerhof our Jasstage to stay. A kind regards to the very team twice ... Ernst, Heini and Felix read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Christian
Lovely hotel with great restaurant
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • July 2012
Very nice hotel with beautiful rooms ( family room). Some could the condition the decor was a little better (but details ( leaky shower hose, lotternde door handles, etc.) , here would be the hotel certainly benefit, if times everything okay be brought. The half board for 35-/ person (4 courses) is really recommendable, we have always ate well, the value for money the food was unbeatable. We felt really great there and are definitely coming again in the bernerhof, if we to kandersteg run. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Nina
Every year again a really great vacation! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • February 2012
The food is always delicious and varied, the staff always very friendly and the rooms really nice and well equipped. We go for years to this hotel and was always very satisfied. It is therefore every year a wonderful vacation in the hotel Bernerhof ☺! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Distance to ski lift
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Elvira
Hotel Bernerhof archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • February 2012
We felt immediately welcome. The hotel is extremely clean and the owners and staff are exceptionally friendly. The food, from breakfast to dinner, was a delight! We wish we could have stayed longer. The gondola to the ski slopes and the cross country ski paths are in walking distance. We had a great time with family and friends, and we'll be back! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We were able to rent a two bedroom apartment in the hotel. Very clean, great kitchen if you want to cook for your family. And very nice family room with TV, and also a balkony.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We took advantage of the 'Halbpension'. There are usually three menue choices. And it was hard to choose! Delicious dinner, wine and, of course, desserts.

  • Service
    6.0

    Owners are very involved in day to day happenings. Staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We went skiing and sledding. You will be able to get your free sled from the hotel to venture down the sledding hill (4 km). Ski rentals available from nearby sporting good stores. If you bring your own skiis you can store them in the ski room. Sauna, herb showers, and exercise room available downstairs.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We felt immediately welcome. The hotel is extremely clean and the owners and staff are exceptionally friendly. The food, from breakfast to dinner, was a delight! We wish we could have stayed longer. The gondola to the ski slopes and the cross country ski paths are in walking distance. We had a great time with family and friends, and we'll be back!

  • Location
    6.0

    Walking distance to gondola for slopes and sledding hill. The cross country ski paths are across the street. Ski rentals readily available in walking distance also. We would like to come back to hike in summer.

Close
Liane
beautiful new year 2011/2012 archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2011
The hotel has us offered, which is beautiful holidays need. A very friendly Front desk, a comfortable equipped rooms, in which one also times with bad weather, longer can hang out and a dreamlike view from the balcony on the mountains. The entire hotel was very comfortable decorated and with a lot of loving details was a beautiful and festive mood created. Be comfortable pure relaxation! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    the room was very clean and especially very comfortable furnished. Additional to the bed and the closets (behind the glass and there was also dishes glasses) we had a couch, table and a extra Seat Stool. It had a small Kitchenette in the corridor ( fridge, coffee machine, etc.) the balcony was equipped with balcony furniture and we had a fantastic view of the mountains. the bathroom very clean and big enough. Especially I really liked the window in height, so it was when showering the view of the mountains enjoy.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There is a comfortable restaurant. Good kitchen and appropriate prices. We had because of the vacation days at the new year's Eve gala diner and were very pleased. the breakfast buffet was sufficient and diverse and also extra desires were fulfilled.

  • Service
    6.0

    friendliness was capitalized here.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Cross-country ski run right past the house, funicular railways in the immediate area. the wellness area in the hotel rather small, but adequate. Here could especially in the peace area are (only 2 beach chairs available). Apart from that very clean the experience and connections and the excursion options were nice.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel has us offered, which is beautiful holidays need. A very friendly Front desk, a comfortable equipped rooms, in which one also times with bad weather, longer can hang out and a dreamlike view from the balcony on the mountains. The entire hotel was very comfortable decorated and with a lot of loving details was a beautiful and festive mood created. Be comfortable pure relaxation!

  • Location
    6.0

    the location is a dream. The place, or the valley offers everything, which one of sport (both in the summer, as well as in winter) undertake would like to. The Kandertal has been included in the UNESCO world heritage site. You just have to experience.

Close
Susanne
Great hotel with familial atmosphere archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • September 2011
Very friendly owners, very attentive, courteous service, beautiful sophisticated atmosphere in the restaurant, sorgfältie kitchen with very good half board with excellent price/performance ratio. Nice large rooms, well furnished. beautiful hiking area with numerous hiking possibilities. We'll gladly go again in the bernerhof, be pampered. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Gary
Beware of surprise charges archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • August 2010
Nice rooms with outstanding balcony views from the "Blümlisalp“ (front side/spectacular mountain view) rooms. I recommend this hotel only for the views from this type of room. If you don't want to pay for the Blümlisalp room, I suggest you say somewhere else in Kandersteg for much less money. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5

    Room was pleasant and clean. Housekeeping service was good

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    We were early for check in. I smelled coffee and asked if we could have a cup. Sure, sit in the lobby. We did. We were brought coffee, a cookie, and a bread roll. Upon checkout, suprise! 10chf! There was a charge for the coffee, and another for the bread roll, which we did not order. No mention of cost was made at the time of order. There is no sign or menu mentioning this in the lobby. One morning we ate the included breakfast, went up to our room, came back down and wanted more coffee. Breakfast was still being served. Sure! Sit in the lobby. Guess what-another surprise charge at checkout. This time no bread, though. One morning I took a boiled egg to my table. When I opened it, it oozed out of its shell. It was very soft boiled. I asked if I could have a hard boiled egg. She became incised and adamant that the egg that was oozing in front of her was the perfect breakfast egg, seemingly insulted that I would suggest otherwise. She also said that if she cooks them one way, people will complain they want it another way. All I did was ask for a hard boiled egg. Well, I have had extensive experience trying to persuade Swiss German women to do something out of their set procedures. (Try getting a second key for your hotel room anywhere in Switzerland, for example.) So I let her wind down and shrugged my shoulders. I did not mention salmonella, nor did I suggest cooking both soft and hard boiled eggs and labeling them. Then, later, I pocketed an egg each morning and cooked them another 5 minutes in my room. When I complained about the bill for the coffee, and especially about the bread, I encountered the same lady again. Sheeze. The fact that no price was advertised or mentioned did not faze her. She said that if I did not want the bread, I should have refused it. The fact that I did not order it had to be stated emphatically several times before she would remove the charge for it. The fact that one time the coffee was requested during breakfast hours did not face her. Apparently where you drink the coffee makes an economic difference in her mind. I had no success getting the charges for the coffee removed. Apparently the fact that I was paying CHF 215. 00 per night is not relevant. The hotel will still nickel and dime you when it can. In retrospect, I am glad that my removal of the eggs for more cooking for food safety was not noticed. I can imagine an attempt at charging me for eating my egg in the wrong place.

  • Service
    5.0

    Except for my restaurant comments below, the staff was quite helpful, especially on suggestions for hikes and trips on rainy days. Quite functional automatic old washer and dryer are located in the basement for use of guests for laundry. Wash and dry about 4-4. 5 CHF.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    Nice rooms with outstanding balcony views from the "Blümlisalp“ (front side/spectacular mountain view) rooms. I recommend this hotel only for the views from this type of room. If you don't want to pay for the Blümlisalp room, I suggest you say somewhere else in Kandersteg for much less money.

  • Location
    6.0

    This hotel has the very best location for spectacular balcony view of the Öeschinensee valley.

Close
Evangeline
Excellent holiday archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • May 2009
We were again totally spoilt by the hotel with its friendly hospitality, delicious meals and fine wine. We are return guests as we like the ambience, the magnificent view to the Bluemlisalp and the good service. We would recommend the hotel and return there again in the future. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Terry
The beautiful Bernerhof archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • August 2008
A lovely original style Swiss Hotel in seperb surroundings. Food and table layouts were exquisite and the owners, Claudia and Gerhard, were very friendly as were all the staff. A pleaseure to stay there. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Julia
This is an excellent hotel with lovely people archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • July 2008
We have nothing but praise for the Hotel, the owners, the staff, the restaurant and the way the hotel is managed. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a superior room – large and comfortable with beds, chairs, settee and balcony etc, with superb views across open grassland to the magnificent Blumlisphorn Mountain. The ensuite bathroom has a toilet, bath with a shower over, two hand basins, hairdryer etc.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    In addition to an A la Carte menu offering a wide variety of choices (with generous portions), the set menu offers four courses (different each night)…all with top quality ingredients. If there was anything on the set menu that we did not like we were offered alternatives. There is a continental buffet breakfast again offering a wide range: cereals, fruit salad, yoghurts, rolls, croissants, jams, honey, cheese, cold meats, eggs, fresh fruit basket, fruit juices, tea and coffee.

  • Service
    6.0

    the owners, are totally charming, friendly and helpful. One or the other is always available for help/information. All the staff are friendly, courteous and speak English.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    During our stay this year we arranged (through the hotel) a tandem paragliding session with a local expert.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We have nothing but praise for the Hotel, the owners, the staff, the restaurant and the way the hotel is managed.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is centrally located in the village, only a 5-10 minute stroll to the shops and the railway station.

Close
Andy
Bernerhof by mistake! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • March 2008
We arrived at Hotel Bernerhof in the belief that we would be going to Wengen. Our initial disappointment was offset by the warm and friendly welcome and atmosphere at the Bernerhof. The Fam Lehmann and staff were always keen to make sure that our stay was as pleasurable as possible. The food was consistently good throughout the week and the lovely wellness room a relaxing way to wind down after a long day in the mountains. Accommodation was always kept clean and tidy. A very pleasurable stay, we would definately recommend to travellers in the area, to visit the Hotel ... Bernerhof read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Eric
A great comfortable hotel full of friendliness archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • July 2007
Very nice family run hotel, with friendly people and an excellent kitchen. wonderful view over the mountains read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Lindsay
Hotel Bernerhof best 3 star ever archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • July 2007
Fantastic location ,food ,and service , merits 4 stars.The hotel was exceptional. The care and attention by the owners Claudia and Gerhard was better than the 5star hotel we had stayed in the week before. Lindsay jones read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
David
A beautiful 2 weeks in The Bernerhof archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • June 2007
The hotel is well situated on the main street, only a few minutes walk to the station and has wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and always kept impeccably clean. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5

    The rooms are very comfortable with ensuite bath and shower facilities, ample storage for toiletries, spacious wardrobes and relaxing beds.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food at the hotel is absolutely wonderful. I stayed there previously four years ago and, with the last visit, have totalled about 21 nights at the hotel without once having the menu repeated. The ingredients are always top quality and cooked to perfection. The food would grace any 5 star restaurant.

  • Service
    6.0

    All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and all appeared to speak at least two other languages.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Although it does not have a pool the hotel does have a wellness centre including a sauna, kneipp bath, ice grotto and solarium.

  • Hotel
    5.5

    The hotel is well situated on the main street, only a few minutes walk to the station and has wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and always kept impeccably clean.

  • Location
    6.0

    Kandersteg is very well served by the railway and excursions to other parts of the country are generally easily accomplished. There are two cable cars and a chair lift within walking distance of the hotel. The village bus stops outside the hotel.

Close
Alexandra
An excellent hotel in a beautiful area archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Countryside & spa
  • May 2007
The hotel is in an ideal location with a beautiful view from the restaurant over a flower filled meadow to the mountains beyond. My room although on the side of the hotel still had attractive views over the village to other mountains. The short walk to the train station is easy and pretty and the train service gives access to many parts of the area to continue exploration. The food is superb, as a vegeterian it is often difficult to find appetising dishes on the continent, not so here. The chef excelled himself as the other members of my group ... had, the also excellent, set menu, my alternative dishes were just as appetising. Deserves four stars! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Robert
Excellent hotel, wonderful balcony views, perfect service. archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Countryside & spa
  • June 2006
The hotel is even better than it appears in the Kuoni brochure. It has the best position in Kandersteg and the 'superior' rooms with balcony have the most wonderful view straight across to the mountains and waterfalls. (Summer visit.) The Lehmann's are excellent hosts, and all the staff are delightful. They also pay special heed to people visiting alone. Food is extremely good value, and the presentation in the dining room is super. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. There is so much to do in the valley or by easy train journey that one week simply wasn't long enough! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Howard
Perfect Hotel and Location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Skiing and winter sports
  • December 2005
All hotels should be as good as The Bernerhof. It is quite simply one of the best hotels in which we have ever stayed. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are well equipped and comfortable, with wonderful views of the mountains, and the modern bathrooms have a shower, bath and hair dryer. Very quiet so that you get an excellent nights sleep. newspapers in several languages are provided every day.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The buffet breakfast is excellent with a terrific selection of fruit and juices, wonderful Muesli and yoghurt, sliced meats, cheeses, and eggs with wonderful fresh bread rolls and croissants. The coffee is excellent. Free afternoon tea and homemade cakes were very welcome. The four-course evening meals as part of the half-board are always outstanding and beautifully presented. The 6 course gala dinner on New Year’s Eve was spectacular, and the table settings, changed every evening are always extremely artistic.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff and owners are all extremely friendly. They make you feel as if you are the most important person in the hotel. You are instantly made to feel "at home" by the owners and their staff. Their attention to detail is outstanding. They speak English fluently plus several other languages - French, Italian and of course German.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Well situated with cross-country ski trails starting outside the hotel. Non-skiers are well catered for with 55 kms of cleared footpaths through the woods and to the Blue Lake. A trip to the Oeschinensee Lake, which is frozen in winter, is a must. The internet access was very fast, and the mobile phone reception was good.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    All hotels should be as good as The Bernerhof. It is quite simply one of the best hotels in which we have ever stayed.

  • Location
    6.0

    The Bernerhof is conveniently located within the centre of a lovely Swiss village with outstanding views to the Alps from all rooms. Kandersteg has an excellent selection of sports equipment shops for skiing, hiking and cycling, plus the post office and various food shops are very close.

Close
1