Iberostar Hotel Costa Dorada(5 stars)

Carretera Luperon Km 2.5 07560  Playa Dorada View on map

Average rating

711 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.1
  • Room
    5.2
  • Service
    5.3
  • Location
    4.8
  • Food and Drinks
    5.3
  • Sport & entertain
    5.0
Filters
You selected:
224 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Johann&Jolanda
Great beach holiday! Super relaxation!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
A well-maintained all-inclusive hotel! We were in the 25 march 2014 until 4 april 2014 Iberostar Costa Dorada guests. We enjoyed our stay and could relax super. The service by the attentive staff is great. All are very friendly and do a great job. Whether sea or pool, whether peace or activities, you can find everything in this hotel! We enjoyed the food tasted excellent! Very good food and drinks! We would like to thank you for the nice time and, if possible stay there again! Jolanda and Johann with Jonas (3 jöl (+ 6 mt.) years and read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Lakers
So far ok
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
I would recommend this hotel. But there were a few things that should be turned off. There are always many not flushed cups from the pool bar on the edge of the pools. These cups land often in the pool for example through the wind in the afternoon. The signs on the beach chairs with the hint the pool chairs not suffice should not be occupied by towels. In the morning all the beach chairs with handtowels 8 are blue and white. The owner at the time the towels are on the beach. Against noon then they return and claim ... their beach chair in the afternoon. If you reserve the sun-loungers by the towels is exempt these people sometimes react very angry rabiart and loudly. On the weekends it is really bad, then you will be forced to lie on the lawn as a german ii outdoor swimming pool. Here is the management asked to take action to remedy. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Michael
Super holiday with small drawbacks.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
First, we were already 7 time in the area and in the comparison to the previous year, much changed for the better. Unfortunately, there were also a few drawbacks, but more about that later. The hotel is still despite its age in a very clean condition, and it is constantly being improved and expanded. From the koi pond with chinese teichbrücke, the orchideenpark to easily converted pool. What we this year very positive, that very many visitors from Scandinavia there were (Sweden, finns, norwegians) less english and canadians than otherwise. I personally think that much better, as with the scandinavians ... very good conversation, and are not already in the morning drunk and chanting through the area. Wi-fi is available in the whole area available and costs only half of the, what it 2012 cost. 7 days for 35 Dollar, but still too much is, as so what in such a hotel 'for free' needs, as well as the safe per day 2 Dollar costs. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The first night we were in house 6 right on the el bohio accommodated. Unfortunately it is hardly bearable, since one heard the whole night the aggregate the kühlkammer as loud, deep, sonores hum noticed, what a normal sleep almost impossible. In consultation with the guest service we were then at an additional cost at hotel 5 and had a fantastic view from the rooms right on the beach and the sea (a room change with a view of the pool would be without surcharge possible). The rooms were always very clean and are also very well equipped with a flat-screen tv with 2 german channels, air-conditioning and a ceiling fan, mini bar, clock radios, bathrobes and slippers, as well as an iron and hair dryer. All rooms are non-smoking rooms with balcony.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    In addition to the special restaurants (brazilian, mexican and seafood, which this time we didn't use it) there is the Mercado (main restaurant) and el bohio (for the late risers). In the Mercado and el bohio the dishes were always fresh and sufficiently available, where it was in Mercado the larger selection. Both lunch and dinner in the Mercado the food in the 'show cooking' prepared. It is always for all something for everyone, from fish to meat to vegetarian food. Since we were there over christmas were also the tables and chairs very presented. Of typical on international to rustic food was always plentifully available, so there was several days even pork, ribs, sushi, mexican tacos or seafood of all kinds, as well as sweet and vitaminreiche healthy desserts. Twice a week is also a show cooking at the beach where it then either a huge pällapfanne with clams and lobster or savory bbq is.

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff (from the service to the guest service) was always very friendly and always tried everything to own satisfaction to settle. Foreign language skills are not really necessary, as there were many of the staff very good. Especially i must here times the work of those respond, all day long very inconspicuous the area in good repair, especially the gardeners and technicians, which this time something tip got, as these mostly nothing in comparison to the people at the bar or in the restaurant. Unfortunately, there was a serious lack of in the evaluation of Peter (super holiday with sanitary drawbacks) was raised. From lunchtime was the public toilets in such a miserable state, that it really denied has, these locations to visit and prefer the zimmertoilette used. Especially the toilets around the pool and at the beach bar were constantly clogged and overflowed, the smell was bad. Why nothing was done is genuinly a mystery, as this problem is not unique, but almost daily was present.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Sportbezogene offers we didn't use, but there is a Tennis- and basketball court, and in the course of the day will be stretching and steperobic and dance lessons (Merengue, Salsa, Bachata) offered. For children there is a great kids club with a children's pool and lots of facilities. The main pool has been completely renovated with newly tiled poolrändern and different swimming zones. As well as completely new is the pool bar, the both the water and the edge from is available. Beach chairs are both at the pool and on the beach always available, so always a place to sunbathe or in the shade. The animation team is the whole day on active and entertained very unobstrusively to various games at the pool and on the beach. In the evening then there were icebrakergames and every evening a different show, after that you can then also still to the hotel's disco route 66 visit (here from the dj without problems private music requests accepted, we always had a lot of fun)

  • Hotel
    5.0

    First, we were already 7 time in the area and in the comparison to the previous year, much changed for the better. Unfortunately, there were also a few drawbacks, but more about that later. The hotel is still despite its age in a very clean condition, and it is constantly being improved and expanded. From the koi pond with chinese teichbrücke, the orchideenpark to easily converted pool. What we this year very positive, that very many visitors from Scandinavia there were (Sweden, finns, norwegians) less english and canadians than otherwise. I personally think that much better, as with the scandinavians very good conversation, and are not already in the morning drunk and chanting through the area... Wi-fi is available in the whole area available and costs only half of the, what it 2012 cost. 7 days for 35 Dollar, but still too much is, as so what in such a hotel 'for free' needs, as well as the safe per day 2 Dollar costs.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is situated about 20 minutes by bus from the airport and about 10 minutes' walk from puerto Plata. The evaluation of Lars (good hotel but the country behind?) I have to disagree, we took long beach walks and the beach was not extremely garbage. Clear the outside of the grounds here and there times seaweed or ' a plastic bottle washed up, but that is also to other beaches sunday Also the paths the road, both to the left of the hotel in direction of plaza and right along after Puerto Plata, are mostly clean, we were before some years already seen much worse. In relation to the laid back culture of the dominicans was it all in all, but very clean. (in some german cities looks it surely worse)

Close
Stefan
Everything fit
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Good all inclusive hotel with very friendly staff and good food. The sports facilities and the pool are very good (the new pool bar is good) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Inge
The 7 times in a row and... Potential addiction.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
On 01-11-2013 had the hotel after a renovation again opened. I am with some expectations again in my 'regular hotel' old. The 2012 announced renewal of the music is also takes place. But unfortunately each evening entertainment still much too loud. Please, a little the volume back up, you can do much better and have conversations with the other guests. Otherwise is in the course of the year, much has been done. Especially the pool is good. It can now secure celebrate. In the whole plant there is nothing to complain about. After 6 years room in block 5 we ... had this time room in the mitteletage the block 6, on schallhöhe of küchenaggregates on the roof of el bohio. It was horrible, the whole night without noise. Only against 'surcharge' we then back to the room, the we all years earlier had. (there are at least 3 rooms!) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are large enough, and include everything, which one needs. Unfortunately in the last two days not cleaned and no beds made. But esperanza was not there and the help - oh well. Esperanza is nice and considerate, it got better. Also here very much praise and thumbs up.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The quality of the food is probably dependent on duty chef. Times it tasted excellent, it is rather tough. But there is enough variety. Since last year, the choice effectively became. To mrs Alba pink everything good and further sunday Generally you can say, the food was very good.

  • Service
    5.0

    The service is not more excellent in all areas. Absolutely to praise were the gardeners, the service and all the workmen. In midfield are for me the maid and the front desk. Friendly but ' full on tips' are waiters in the restaurants and the barbesetzungen. In the restaurant Mercado have Santos and domingo a special compliment. You have just noticed, if the two for free. It was very slow and disinterested. Personally, i welcome, that mrs rosario after many years in the hotel and as second boss the rein in the hand has. A big compliment to you and much success for you and your team.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The entire activities team under the guidance of quimo is only to praise. Even if you have the schn. Full, the guests are moving their young and girls their frustration never. Thumbs up. Quite the contrary, some dancers and dancers. (not all, there are also very friendly) the lead in selbstverliebte eigendarsteller. The services are very good, however.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    On 01-11-2013 had the hotel after a renovation again opened. I am with some expectations again in my 'regular hotel' old. The 2012 announced renewal of the music is also takes place. But unfortunately each evening entertainment still much too loud. Please, a little the volume back up, you can do much better and have conversations with the other guests. Otherwise is in the course of the year, much has been done. Especially the pool is good. It can now secure celebrate. In the whole plant there is nothing to complain about. After 6 years room in block 5 we had this time room in the mitteletage the block 6, on schallhöhe of küchenaggregates on the roof of el bohio. It was horrible, the whole night without noise. Only against 'surcharge' we then back to the room, the we all years earlier had... (there are at least 3 rooms!)

  • Location
    4.0

    Good starting point for excursions in all directions. For 400 Peso (negotiate! ) you get in front of the hotel a taxi, which after Puerto Plata from station to station and the driver waited patiently at all stations. The beach is difficult to maintain, since the atlantic ocean side. The guys on the beach but very much trouble tine. We spent fantastic and long walks on the beach and we are also very many hikers and strandjogger met. That something garbage outside the resorts washes is normal. But who is to blame for this?

Close
Erich
Inside hui outside pfui.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Nice well-kept large area, with international guests, clean and good management. Beautiful grounds with plenty of beach chairs at the pool area as well as on the beach. Other highlights include the many shade Shady trees on the beach. Nice quiet atmosphere Nice staff. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Room was in order, unfortunately came from the air conditioning moldy air.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Dining, you can't much fault, international dishes for each something, probably not always so prepared as we are accustomed to, but lots of freshly prepared dishes, fish and meat and vegetables. You have to highlight the various, always freshly cut fruit, fantastic. Unfortunately, we have to always again the all inclusive The quality of service and with some people not good.

  • Service
    5.0

    Very friendly staff, warm and remarkably clean dressed, tip was gladly accepted and can improve the service.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The staff made a great effort with entertainment but not intrusive Evenings great shows and bandmusik. Plenty of beach chairs at the pool and beach, nice shady spots.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Nice well-kept large area, with international guests, clean and good management. Beautiful grounds with plenty of beach chairs at the pool area as well as on the beach. Other highlights include the many shade Shady trees on the beach. Nice quiet atmosphere Nice staff.

  • Location
    4.0

    The location is good, only 20 minutes away from the airport And adjacent to the city Puerto Plata. Unfortunately, we were already on the first day told, that one beach walks toward the city should avoid as this is uncertain. We have once more attempted to find, that the beach section to the last resort is so dirty, that it barefoot not advisable was further without the feet to hurt itself. Unfortunate something drübt dampen the And is incomprehensible straight, if one hears, that the guest numbers in the north are falling. Make sure you get the hotel area also leave land and people a bit to learn. The interior is very nice with green pasture much cattle (almost like at home) and beautiful palm forests. The people were very nice and friendly.

Close
Andreas
Great holiday and certainly not the last time.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
We had ten really great holiday in this hotel should. In our room there was no reason for complaint, neither the size nor with the room service we can negative points very pithy. We had a normal shower the bath is preferred, but i think those are small things. The initial fear the described here weekends with locals flew away already on the first evening. No one of these guests is negative - on the contrary - beach party with temperament and humans those simply can dance ☺ We travel always in a very good hotel and i think we ... can very well say, if something not would fit. The plant (pool, etc.) Was apparently in october renovated and expanded. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Already described above. Apart from some details, we were very pleased.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Super delicious - there's not much more to say.

  • Service
    5.0

    The service didn't leave anything to be desired. The only thing we found a strange liked the extra cost : 35 Dollar wi-fi for 7 days and with the departure per hour room extension after 12 a. m. 10 Dollar.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    We didn't use the entertainment and stayed on the beach. Beach chairs were our time always enough available. The beach is to say, as in the run-up to the issue of seaweed raised: who can which for it? Furthermore, it is really not very bad. Annoying are, in fact, the beach vendors on every fall on a beach walk opens. They want a immediately to the next shop companioning. But often enough is rejected you after a few days weren't spoken to any more.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We had ten really great holiday in this hotel should. In our room there was no reason for complaint, neither the size nor with the room service we can negative points very pithy. We had a normal shower the bath is preferred, but i think those are small things. The initial fear the described here weekends with locals flew away already on the first evening. No one of these guests is negative - on the contrary - beach party with temperament and humans those simply can dance ☺ We travel always in a very good hotel and i think we can very well say, if something not would fit. The plant (pool, etc.) Was apparently in october renovated and expanded.

  • Location
    4.0

    Around the hotel is no way to pass time. A drive to Puerto Plata city lasts with the taxi about 10 minutes. We drove with the hotel called taxi. The taxi driver was just behind the hotel and one had the possibility of a guide hop to leave (a must!). We had chosen and it definitely didn't regret it. What we really recommend a trip to samana (about tour operator). Here is a dream beach, an insight into the nature of this island and a ride with mulis to the falls. Top!

Close
Yvonne & Martin
Very nice stay in a good hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
A very nice hotel. A lot of green in the area. The rooms were clean and large. The bathroom with shower and hair dryer very well maintained. For us especially was the coffee maker in the room. Including were also for example, kayaking and Tennis basketball. The meals were always in buffet style. There are also three a la carte restaurants. We were in the brazilian and mexican. Both were very delicious. The guest structure was mixed, different nationalities and ages. The staff were all very nice and friendly! The beach was clean and well maintained, the water wonderful. There ... was entertainment, but not pushy. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a room with partial sea view, a balcony is always there. The room was big enough and clean. Air conditioning and a ceiling fan was available, as well as a two days stocked minibar and tv. Telephone was available, was not used. The safe cost 2 American Dollar per day. The coffee maker were replenished every day. The bathroom was with hair dryer and shower tub. Everything not brand new but clean and well maintained.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Breakfast and dinner in buffet form. There was a lot of different selection of food and drinks. Very good service. Always different themes and styles ( sushiabend, dominican evening etc.) Everything was apetizingly arranged. The various freshly squeezed juices for breakfast pleased us very well. With the lunch we were never.

  • Service
    6.0

    The entire staff, no matter, whether in the lobby in the housekeeping or in the garden area were very nice and friendly! To emphasize here is our service at the breakfast and dinner, Santos, the was again nice and friendly! The room cleaning was correct and accurate. We had no complaints, we can therefore dealing rate. The fremdsprachenkenntnisse are good. English is an advantage.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There was a entertainment, this was not intrusive. Which we did was kayaking and basketball. In addition there were still many possibilities, such as air rifle shooting, archery, bingo, horseshoe pits, taster course in diving, aerobics etc. The beach was caribbean wonderful, beach chairs in large number available, were showers were also available. Cushions for the beach chairs and towels you could get.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    A very nice hotel. A lot of green in the area. The rooms were clean and large. The bathroom with shower and hair dryer very well maintained. For us especially was the coffee maker in the room. Including were also for example, kayaking and Tennis basketball. The meals were always in buffet style. There are also three a la carte restaurants. We were in the brazilian and mexican. Both were very delicious. The guest structure was mixed, different nationalities and ages. The staff were all very nice and friendly! The beach was clean and well maintained, the water wonderful. There was entertainment, but not pushy.

  • Location
    6.0

    The transfer is about 20 minutes long, we are back to Puerto Plata run, even threats. Both is possible. Taxis and minibuses are available everywhere. Important: to validate a price beforehand. In the hotel there was a souvenir store, we have probably the most expensive postcards of our life bought. There were also once local glass in place, which could create your artwork watch, this was very interesting and we also with a purchase rewarded.

Close
Franz
Super holiday, always again Iberostar Costa Dorada.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The hotel is located in a very well-kept area in the middle of a large and well-kept pool. On both sides are 9 building with rooms on 3 floors. Inclusive services were very good except savekosten 2 us $per day and wi-fi internet access 3 5 us $for 7 days need for a hotel in this category including. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Size and the condition of the rooms are good. Each room has a balcony with furniture and a clothes line. In room tv, air conditioning, fan, coffee maker, telephone, mini-bar, every 2. day filled with soft drinks and beer. Size and cleanliness of the bathroom are ok but some need a renovation. Each room has a bath which is not absolutely necessary, it would also meet some rooms only with shower facilities.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is evening the büfettrestaurand and 3 spezialitätenrestaurands mexican, brasilianischund a fischrestauraurand. In büfettrestaurand there is a different theme and many stands where food freshly prepared. Drinks and food was always very fresh and good. Also the waiters in the restaurant always friendly and also always clean tables. Very good atmosphere and a small tip of course, all.

  • Service
    6.0

    Friendliness of the staff was very good, no matter, whether reception, service it is and always helped immediately, no matter what problem some also spoke very good german. Room cleaning was always very thorough and cleaning staff was very friendly. The children throughout the day and in the evening from a friendly animation cares for.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is a fitness centre and spa at the hotel with very friendly and well-trained staff. There was no entertainment during the day and also in the evening you but not bothered, but always friendly asked. Impool has since november a bar and there is also a new bar on the beach. Beach chairs were always sufficiently available. Also sufficient lounge chairs under parasols and several showers on the beach and around the pool.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is located in a very well-kept area in the middle of a large and well-kept pool. On both sides are 9 building with rooms on 3 floors. Inclusive services were very good except savekosten 2 us $per day and wi-fi internet access 3 5 us $for 7 days need for a hotel in this category including.

  • Location
    6.0

    Hotel has a beautiful and well-kept beach there were always sufficient pool chairs available even a lifeguard always a watchful eye on the frosty has. To the airport 20 minutes, to go shopping Puerto Plata best locals sammelbusse walkest, stop on the main road directly at the hotel.

Close
Horst
Very nice hotel and great holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
So:we were for the first time in the Karibik and for the first time in a Iberostar, therefore, we lack in the relationship of course the comparison opportunities. But we can collectively only say: we liked it! In reading some of the neurer reviews wonders tw., if we really were in the same hotel. And everyone must know what it wants, but only exclusively in an area to lie, you, in our opinion, no 10 h flies. The hotel had recently been closed, the outside was much renovated, everything is new painted and it was a new pool bar ... under construction. Frankly, the hotel is in really better, as the catalog pictures! The hotel is' completely outdoors '. This means reception, the bars, the restaurants are covered with open walls. Great. In the area are peacocks freely and there everything is open is also with a few birds in the pool restaurant to be expected, at the buffet we did but never seen and dirty was also not everything, as criticized! The piles of garbage around the hotel we can definitely not confirm, to be honest we found the environment and the cathedral. Repair. General was very clean. No comparison to 'use of waste products', which we have on Corfu, the Turkey or Spain seen. This applies especially to the airport, the local toilets and also many ' facilities' in the hinterland! Of course, tried, the business with the tourist economy, but in all cases was a simple, rarely strong 'no' of peace to be left. (in contrast to Turkey here is the significance of the word 'no' understood.) And the traders on the beach (public as all in the cathedral. Repair., but guards) are also only right in the first row a friend, on the beach chairs, you had absolute peace and quiet! To the guests: at our travel time mostly couples, small groups, like middle or let's say of mature ages. Many canadians (at the herd be quite noisy.), british, a few dutch. In the 1st week hardly german, in the 2. week more. If the (for the behavior of some fellow countrymen in the holiday) a 'advantage' is, is now said, or should everyone judge for themselves. In the 2. week was a bit more lively, but you never had to for free beach chairs or tables in the restaurant there! Weekend were (like probably in all installations usual) increasingly wealthier dominicans present than guests, including weddings. (as described elsewhere) disturbing, however, can not be confirmed! And: we are in their country, not the other way around! As in various reviews written: the resort is very well maintained, there were always gardeners underway. The cleanliness in the public areas (including toilets) was nothing to complain about and we have no (dangerous) broken points around the pool, or otherwise in the hotel can discover. Altogether the 4 stars in the german catalogs and 5 stars category absolutely in order! I was in the last time in many german 4 stars hotels, the standard not offered! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are a good size, as stops one anyway hardly on... Bathroom could have been a bit bigger, but ok. With tub. The furniture could have partly been a bit be revised, but the bed was really good. In the foreseeable future could certainly be updated, but as i said i stayed in last time in mhereren german 4 star hotels with worse standard stayed in! Air conditioning and fan, and a balcony. Tv with german channel, safety deposit box (2 American Dollar rent per day), plenty of shelf space and desk, sesel or sofa, ironing board, coffee maker, mini-bar and ice cream containers. The room on the first day it smelled a little damp, change but that was not a problem. Wi-fi (if the holiday you must) costs of 3 American Dollar/h to 30 American Dollar/week, but less at the hotel than at the high state levies is.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Main restaurant and 3 specialty restaurants (each 2 alternating speechlanguage open) with pre-reservation. Everything the heart desires... The program was repeated weekly. 1 times per week dominican evening. There are lots of freshly roasted (beef, sometimes lamb, pork, chicken), minutes 3 fish, these other dishes, pizza and pasta, burger, 1 ' schausgericht' (salmon, turkey, pork...) Etc. (for vegetarians rather difficult, but now yes...) Besides different desertschmankerl and fruit, cheese, parma ham... 1 times per week sushi, lobster, several lobster. Breakfast was international and plentiful (7-10 h), goes directly to the late riser breakfast (10-12 hours) in the pool restaurant on. From 12 h also lunch buffet (grilled, burgers, tacos, various dishes, pizza, pasta, salad, dessert, fruit), which was seamlessly into the nachmittagssnack skips. Also lunch in the main restaurant. Afternoon ice cream. Several times wöchntlich actions at the pool (grill) or on the beach (barbecue, Paella, fäja...) Varied and entertaining. The bars open around 10 hours, the pool bar and beach bar, open until 18 h, the bar in the lobby and in the show has open until 24 h, in the disco until 2 pm. selection of national and international spirits (several brands per kind!) , liqueurs, sparkling wine, wine, beer... The choice is very rich, if you can't find, is your own fault ☺ tasted good, volume unlimited. Outside the 'closing' the minibar (all 2 days filled) with beer, water, Cola and Fanta available, as well as vending machines at the bar.

  • Service
    6.0

    All service staff (maid service, waiters, bar staff, reception) were very courteous and tried very hard. Tips are gladly taken, was however no precondition for good service. Even without one was at the bar and in the restaurant friendly to a warm welcome and good service. Unfriendly staff we didn't use. Complaints were easily and competent dealt with. The room cleaning was in order and nothing to complain about. English and/or german by virtually all of the staff at least so far controlled, that communication were well possible. A doctor was in the hotel, cost extra though. The day after the doctor demand of gästeservices for the/whether everything was okay. Also a sign for good service ☺

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Pool reletavily large, with jacuzzi. Beach feinsandig. Sport : table tennis, billiards, kayaking and other non-motorized wassersort on the beach, gym (we were however never...) , football pitch on the beach, Volleyball etc. In the framework of the animation also archery, airgun etc. Animation mainly around the pool (noise but ok) and on the beach. The entertainers tried hard, respected but also, if you'd rather wants its peace. Daily entertainment program (water sports and gymnastics, sport, dance and fitness, yoga, bingo, etc.) Virtually all 30-60 minutes a program with lunch. Everyone could take part as and when he wants, but often the same 'make' encountered. The pool, like i said, with noise, but in the framework. If it was too loud in the direction of the beach or on the other side of the oblong pools, away from the bar. Beach and pool towels can daily be changed, as often as you wanted... Evening shows (entertainment, sometimes with the participation of the observer, dance shows, parodies, etc.) Regular live music before and after the show, with professional dancers and dancers.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    So:we were for the first time in the Karibik and for the first time in a Iberostar, therefore, we lack in the relationship of course the comparison opportunities. But we can collectively only say: we liked it! In reading some of the neurer reviews wonders tw. , if we really were in the same hotel. And everyone must know what it wants, but only exclusively in an area to lie, you, in our opinion, no 10 h flies... The hotel had recently been closed, the outside was much renovated, everything is new painted and it was a new pool bar under construction. Frankly, the hotel is in really better, as the catalog pictures! The hotel is' completely outdoors '. This means reception, the bars, the restaurants are covered with open walls. Great. In the area are peacocks freely and there everything is open is also with a few birds in the pool restaurant to be expected, at the buffet we did but never seen and dirty was also not everything, as criticized! The piles of garbage around the hotel we can definitely not confirm, to be honest we found the environment and the cathedral. Repair. General was very clean. No comparison to 'use of waste products', which we have on Corfu, the Turkey or Spain seen. This applies especially to the airport, the local toilets and also many ' facilities' in the hinterland! Of course, tried, the business with the tourist economy, but in all cases was a simple, rarely strong 'no' of peace to be left. (in contrast to Turkey here is the significance of the word 'no' understood...) And the traders on the beach (public as all in the cathedral. Repair. , but guards) are also only right in the first row a friend, on the beach chairs, you had absolute peace and quiet! To the guests: at our travel time mostly couples, small groups, like middle or let's say of mature ages. Many canadians (at the herd be quite noisy...) , british, a few dutch. In the 1st week hardly german, in the 2. week more. If the (for the behavior of some fellow countrymen in the holiday) a 'advantage' is, is now said, or should everyone judge for themselves... In the 2. week was a bit more lively, but you never had to for free beach chairs or tables in the restaurant there! Weekend were (like probably in all installations usual) increasingly wealthier dominicans present than guests, including weddings. (as described elsewhere) disturbing, however, can not be confirmed! And: we are in their country, not the other way around! As in various reviews written: the resort is very well maintained, there were always gardeners underway. The cleanliness in the public areas (including toilets) was nothing to complain about and we have no (dangerous) broken points around the pool, or otherwise in the hotel can discover. Altogether the 4 stars in the german catalogs and 5 stars category absolutely in order! I was in the last time in many german 4 stars hotels, the standard not offered!

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is only a few kilometer far away from the airport, the transfer took (depending on the number of other hotels) 30-45 minutes Depending on anflugroute, is the beach from and to time of airmen landing flown over, about 6-8 landing per day that was less disturbing... In the north it was mid-november on beach windy and therefore a little waves (yellow flags), you had to know that. The hotel has however not only a beautiful beach, but various' liegereihen ' from the beach to the pool, so that one with the strong wind on the beach at the pool of which practically anything notices. The north is scenic, you should have the opportunity to one of the offered excursions to the hinterland or with the only cable car in the Karibik the nearby pico Isabel de torres use. The hotel is located on the road to Puerto Plata. There one can in 30-60 minutes walk (or if one wanted by bus or taxi). We definitely have not felt uncertain and it is quite nice, in a foreign country from the touristenanlage go and the 'real' country or the people and atmosphere there was at least a little experience. Next door is a 2. hotel, on the beach you can, if you want to Playa gilthead go. Otherwise around the hotel from pubs/local not onderlich much tourist offered: the price of all inclusive resorts...

Close
Bianca
Wonderful and relaxing vacation in tropical. Setting.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The hotel has been 2011 renovated and has 498 standard room + 18 junior suites, in the 3 story building complexes are accommodated. The whole complex of 9 blocks in colonial style, with a beautiful and spacious garden, in the several fountains with bridge and fountain, and orchid gardens gives, also stray peacocks and flamingos. The hotel was in the october this year on the basis of poolrenovierungs and umgestaltungsarbeiten closed. There was a pool bar and a small exercise area integrated. The pool bar is reversible usable (inside and outside) and in the field of sport, for example, can ... water polo or water Volleyball be played. The guest structure was mixed: americans, canadians, british, dominican, german, austrian, a few french; the age of the guests was, i think depending on the travel time (holiday.). During our stay was the spread between a few months and about 80 years. Restaurants and bars are there some: the main restaurant ' el Mercado' has a large buffet and left nothing to be desired (also the meals are with us always hot). • s. a. Dining A mini club for the small ones there is also, and in the evening as usual a mini disco around 20° °. A deduction for the pay wireless internet access, as i believe many of the other guests, that in this hotel category included should be, at least in the lobby area. This would be a good compromise. The extra for the safe i think the present time with the stars (by the way in Germany 4,5 and not 5) also not ok. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a) double room: room 8001, and were very satisfied with the facilities. The bathroom and the room were spacious, and there can't think of anything, which somehow is missing may be due, even space for a rollaway bed would be with us! It was in the closet, there was enough space and hangers, a safe (for 2 us $per day), an iron, a luggage rack with drawers, a dresser with stool also with drawer and lamp, a small coffee maker with ingredients (even an extra bottle of water), an ice cream container, a closet (top a flat, inside the mini bar, which always with low-calorie beer 4,3%, Cola, Fanta and water refilled) and 2 bedside tables with drawers, and a telephone. We had a king size bed and our room had a connecting door to the room 8002 (for families certainly helpful). On the balcony there was a small table with 2 chairs and a pull out clothes line (a few laundry clips from at home would not bad). My mom had in their b) ez 8002 2 queen beds, otherwise the same facilities. To the greetings we had in the double room a fruit plate and 1 small. Bottle rum is possible. But i don't know, if this is normal. But thank you! A sun less, as it is like a general. Problem with the ceilings in the bathroom, i heard from the other guests, with which it now and again from the ceeiling is, as with us. My hair dryer was next to it, and also the batteries the camera to recharge...

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    In addition to the actual main restaurant, there were 3 specialty restaurants (brasilianisch-mexikanisch-mediterran). Here were the tastes different, however the mediterranean 'el bohio' only positive comments. It is simply a matter of taste, if what specifically like or tasted. The service was very good! The brazilian there was still a little live music (3 musicians played and sang with guitar for example guantanamera or cuando...). Here we gave 2 $tips, because they per table sang and it was the atmosphere simply value (for us at least). Alone in the hr there is so much choice, it was hard to decide, what you like to eat would like. It was really something for every taste, whether fish, meat, pasta, vegetables, salad, dessert, soup or other additional delicious or sweets. Sometimes there was something mexican as tacos, even sushi. And always meat freshly cut, for example suckling pig, lamb shank, putenkeule... If you didn't find anything here, it was really his fault! For lunch we were mostly in the pool restaurant, where one only a shirt on needed. But there too, we have always found something delicious, chicken there was actually every day, time bollen, once steak or wing. But even here there were pasta, pizza or burger, salads, fruit and dessert. Furthermore, every few days on the beach or in a huge pan a fischpälla prepared, a real spectacle and super more delicious, as my mom afterwards said, it loves lobster and mussels! The main restaurant had for lunch from 12:30 until 15° ° open and had a little more selection than at the pool, however one had here as the breakfast to appear, thus not in gear. Cleanliness and hygiene were great! It was always someone from the kitchen to the plates... Salad bowls... And looked to the right. Also was renewed constantly, which became less. One gives tip to so, as you would think, whether at the bar or the waiters with the serve in the restaurant.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service is good, both at the front desk (there is also german. -speaking staff), in the restaurants, at the bars and at the maids. At least we have it felt, we were always and everywhere super service (after the motto: as one called in the forest...). My mom had problems with the safe and your card and it was within a short time to help. As in our ankunftsnacht in the bathroom a little water through the ceiling (had a room in the ground floor), came at 1° ° still someone and looked after and the following morning the review seemed a technician! But again rechtherzlichen thanks! The hotel has a doctor, but we didn't have to use him.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    It is next to the pool a handtuchstand, to not only towels, but also plays give, should boredom arise ☺. Next to the house is the large animationstafel. But not always all activities as fastened instead, you need to have a little look, to announce or requests. But generally nobody too short, whether games, fun and sports, everything is. Of course, there were also plentiful spa! In the vicinity of the handtuchhäuschens there is a further wooden houses, where you a massage. At the beach and at the pool are always times again the girls and questions, rich with needed a map (my mom and was with the massages very satisfied, better than at home, she said) around, where all spa treatments are listed. One should however pay attention, that free masseuses is, at the beach run around. The hotel are by official Iberostar clothes recognizably! The renovated pool is huge and a real eye-catcher and in the middle there is a hot tub. There is also a separate kid's club, their own animationstafel and private activity offer. Between the pool and the beach there were showers and there were foot showers too; beach chairs and umbrellas were plentiful and wonders, you could also in the morning at 10 and later a couch, should say, in so many hotels usual reserve beach chairs were not available here (to individual cases). I thought that was super! It is next to the lobby bar a innendisco, the sometime after the evening show begins. We were not in it, it sounded quite loud!

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel has been 2011 renovated and has 498 standard room + 18 junior suites, in the 3 story building complexes are accommodated. The whole complex of 9 blocks in colonial style, with a beautiful and spacious garden, in the several fountains with bridge and fountain, and orchid gardens gives, also stray peacocks and flamingos. The hotel was in the october this year on the basis of poolrenovierungs and umgestaltungsarbeiten closed. There was a pool bar and a small exercise area integrated. The pool bar is reversible usable (inside and outside) and in the field of sport, for example, can water polo or water Volleyball be played. The guest structure was mixed: americans, canadians, british, dominican, german, austrian, a few french; the age of the guests was, i think depending on the travel time (holiday...). During our stay was the spread between a few months and about 80 years. Restaurants and bars are there some: the main restaurant ' el Mercado' has a large buffet and left nothing to be desired (also the meals are with us always hot). • s. a. Dining A mini club for the small ones there is also, and in the evening as usual a mini disco around 20° °. A deduction for the pay wireless internet access, as i believe many of the other guests, that in this hotel category included should be, at least in the lobby area. This would be a good compromise. The extra for the safe i think the present time with the stars (by the way in Germany 4,5 and not 5) also not ok.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located in the north of the island and is about 20 minutes away from the airport. Distance to the next town (Puerto Plata) circa 10-20 minutes; Taxi fares to the cable car and back in pp from the hotel 4 5 $, in front of the hotel 4 0 $(maybe with a little less) to the center (Central Park) = simple travel 1 7 $; With the bus into the center we had for 3 people 100 pesos paid, worked great, just a bit adventurous; Admission to the fortress' san felipe ' p/p 100 pesos; Taxi from the Central Park to the cable car, 250 pesos; Admission for cable car 350 pesos p/p; Taxi from the cable car to the hotel back 600 pesos; About 15 minutes walk from the hotel you are in the hotel area of the Playa Dorada, both several hotels as well as a huge golf course and a shopping center includes. Here you get everything, what you need and the cheaper than in the hotel itself.

Close
Michael.sigrid
We'll be back there were two weeks
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
Hotel is past its best. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Room ok. Good facilities everything you need is available.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    It had four restaurants. The food was very good and rich for everyone.

  • Service
    6.0

    Service was very good the food our waiter bonno was very funny and children friendly and courteous. Room cleaning was good. Complaints are dealt with immediately.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Sport, activities, shows, real super, super cool! Good beach there were always enough chairs at the pool, also umbrellas, showers also. Wellness spa with large offer. Massage very recommended. Angela was very good.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Hotel is past its best.

  • Location
    4.0

    . Okay. Hotel consists of several buildings, beach depending on the room location. We had only 10 meters to the beach. Airport approximately 20 minutes away. Shopping rather little but a supermarket. Excursions from the tour operator or locals. You can taxis from locals or from the hotel.

Close
Michelle
Our holiday at the paradise north coast
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
First of all is to say, that our 3. stay in the dominican republic was, however, our first stay on the north coast of the island. And in order to anticipate: all prejudices on the north coast to the despite, it is simply fantastic! If you Dominican Republic from its true, unobstructed caribbean side with its unspoilt nature want to explore, combined with a holiday in a first-class hotel, then you are in the Iberostar Costa Dorada on the north coast just right. The hotel consists of several three-story building complexes, around the large pool in the garden area. The ... general cleanliness and the condition of the area are really the level of 5 stars and leave no room for any complaints. We were right from the first day loved this hotel. Not only the hotel itself, but especially the rich buffet and the excellent quality of the food (you have to at this hotel most delicious!) We were more than impressed. The area was very carefully well-kept and you always were any gardener thereby, to keep everything in order, so you get a beautiful botanical diversity of the utmost attention found, which we every day for a new admired. Especially the fantastic small orchid forest, unfortunately tucked away behind the buildings on the right side is, is a feast for the eyes. The guest structure of the hotel was very mixed. The majority were spanish, as well as americans, canadians, in addition also many dominican families represented, as well as a few french and german. However general signs (the daily programme, etc.) Always in english, spanish and german written. The announcement of the entertainment was in these languages made, so that really every hotel guest know, what him now expected. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms had a decent size and were in very good condition. There was depending on the room 2 single beds or 1 king-size bed, and a flat screen tv and a table with seating, and a dressing table with mirror. Also the bathroom with shower/bathtub was very clean and in good condition. There was an iron and ironing board, a mini bar free of charge, was restocked each day, as well as coffee and tea in the room. From the telephone you could free from room to room calls. Generally we were very pleased with the room.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    As already mentioned, we were from the gastronomy and especially by the food, the most enthusiastically in this holiday. After we had already many holidays in hotels of this category have spent, we can safely say, that the quality of the meals its 5 stars worthy. Especially the food in the main restaurant was excellent. Every day the meals were individually prepared before the guests eyes (no matter, whether pasta or grilled meat/fish), the wishes of each guest were fulfilled. Also in the morning was fresh omelets for each individually made, simply super. The culinary offer is therefore genuinely nothing to be desired, and if you still desire on somewhat 'find' had, could, in one of the 2 à la carte restaurants (mexican, brazilian, international) play.

  • Service
    6.0

    The kindness of the employees in the hotel (especially the waiters and bartenders) was really worth the price. Both the food, as well as in the bar in the evening always courteous and very guests' wishes carefully. This again our warmest compliments to kennedy, without our dinner probably only have been half as nice it would be! The foreign language skills were ok, as you with all staff members in english could communicate. A doctor was also available, which we luckily didn't have to go. The room cleaning was also very commendable, as the rooms every morning to our complete satisfaction cleaned. Especially attentive we found the sweet animal figures, which we nearly every day on our bed found.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The entertainment was so quite 24/7 instead, mainly in the area of the pools. The entertainers were very friendly and the entertainment very varied, especially the evening shows, which were very professionally were (Lion King was the evening highlight of our trip). The beach was, as already described, as well as one a caribbean dream beach presents. Palm trees, golden sand and turquoise sea. The pool was huge with the jacuzzi in the middle, surrounded by white pillars, very nicely arranged. As it is in an older condition (but nothing changed, that he totally clean) and this autumn fully renovated. Unfortunately the swimming pool water was very warm, but it was each night thoroughly cleaned. Due to the size of the pool it was never too full (although the hotel was fully booked) and you could always find a spot, around his laps or rest.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    First of all is to say, that our 3. stay in the dominican republic was, however, our first stay on the north coast of the island. And in order to anticipate: all prejudices on the north coast to the despite, it is simply fantastic! If you Dominican Republic from its true, unobstructed caribbean side with its unspoilt nature want to explore, combined with a holiday in a first-class hotel, then you are in the Iberostar Costa Dorada on the north coast just right. The hotel consists of several three-story building complexes, around the large pool in the garden area. The general cleanliness and the condition of the area are really the level of 5 stars and leave no room for any complaints. We were right from the first day loved this hotel. Not only the hotel itself, but especially the rich buffet and the excellent quality of the food (you have to at this hotel most delicious!) We were more than impressed. The area was very carefully well-kept and you always were any gardener thereby, to keep everything in order, so you get a beautiful botanical diversity of the utmost attention found, which we every day for a new admired. Especially the fantastic small orchid forest, unfortunately tucked away behind the buildings on the right side is, is a feast for the eyes. The guest structure of the hotel was very mixed. The majority were spanish, as well as americans, canadians, in addition also many dominican families represented, as well as a few french and german. However general signs (the daily programme, etc.) Always in english, spanish and german written. The announcement of the entertainment was in these languages made, so that really every hotel guest know, what him now expected.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is directly at the extensive and wide sandy beach of Costa dorada. The beach is very well maintained and there are more than enough pool chairs and umbrellas available. That was our first holiday, which was not necessary, in the morning before the breakfast already to reserve beach chairs, since it easy throughout the day still free beach chairs were. The airport is 25 minutes by bus and Puerto Plata (the next town ) in a few minutes, you get to. You can even walk there. There are the historical city centre, as well as a cable car, which on the nearby mountain leads, from which you can enjoy a fantastic view over Puerto Plata and the sea. In Puerto Plata even you will find everything for shopping which the tourist is looking for, and night life there was also. However it gives in the plant even a disco called 'route 66' and right next to the hotel (no 2 minutes walk) the club 'pure' with adjacent 'dream casino'. The nightlife is accordingly, if you like, definitely not too short. The location of the hotel is also the perfect starting point to make excursions. We booked the trip to 'Paradise Island' made. It was with the bus up to a jetty, from where you are on a catamaran migrating, which one to the beautiful atoll brought. During the drive there was food, drinks and dominican music. Also we had on a place of board jump and cool down in the sea. There was even in the water out cocktails and drinks-just great! We were then to lunch after punta rusia stituents. There are the most beautiful beach in the Karibik and you had to the pool even still time, in the wonderful sea swimming. Then click Paradise Island we were stunned by the island, in the middle of the open sea as a small perle from the ocean stands. There you could then the coral reef by snorkelling explore, what an incredible experience was. You get to see the most colorful fish, with luck even turtles. Biodiversity under water, as well as the colourful corals you should definitely a underwater camera hold! Then it went with the catamaran back to the bus and then in the hotel area. This was an absolutely great trip, which we can highly recommend and even do it again would! The 2. trip we have done was to ocean world. There are we with dolphins swam, what the best experience we had. Also the rest of the facility from ocean world with the various shows (dolphin show, shark show, sea lions show, parrot show) were great and really professional! It is really worth it, a visit to the ocean world to make. The public transport links of the hotel was very good, you can drive directly with the bus (which stops in front of the hotel) to Puerto Plata. At the reception there is also a price list with taxi prices to all kinds of places in the dominican republic.

Close
Ashley
Lovely relaxing hotel - staff couldn't do enough!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
this holiday was amazing and largely down to the hotel we stayed at. The facilities were clean and well looked after. the restaurants and buffets were excellent. The staff were so freindly and learnt our names! Drinkes we good. definetly reccomend this hotel! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sandra
Nice hotel in the city
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
Always go again there, the kitchen is varied, 2-3 times a week there was a lunch grill or Paella or fish served on the beach. Room was clean and staff friendly. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Sybille
Super holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
I was with my mum from 21,06. 13-06-07.13 in the Iberostar we liked it there very much. The staff was always friendly and helpful no desire remained open long everyone was very good holiday at the most beautiful time of the year to make, which also succeeded. A big compliment to the entertainers every day a new experience to have. Also the beach parties both on the day, and in the night were great even with great live band at the beach, so which not yet seen. The food was great and very varied something for everyone every ... day there was fresh fish, pork, lamb, beef, chicken, and many more who here nothing to the meal finds. Also the selection of drinks and cocktails just great ☺ I would like at this point to a special mention for the guest service express no matter what the heart was sorted immediately. Above all i would like to especially in Mario the guest service thanks to the always on the spot. What disturbed me very much, were the many dominicans the hotel on the weekends they are already friday arrived and only sundays again way that was the hell the food at the pool and on the floor they are simply everywhere and very noisy it was a way for the remaining tourists not really nice everyone the staff have complained if the friday came. This should really be changed. Otherwise it was as said it was a great holiday with a lot of fun. I will definitely be back.-) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Natalie
Caribbean dreams become true!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
What can you say? It is just a 'Iberostar'! In the quality, which we have from this chain are used (we were already in Cuba, in Punta Cana and in Spain in Iberostar houses-each time it was great!). The complex is huge. The open lobby, bar, disco, stage (evening entertainment) and shops. On an open courtyard leads to the two-storey bungalows, in the spring of ' 13 a new coat of paint, and new roofing have received. The bungalows are around the spacious pool area is arranged. The tropical garden was very neat. The rooms are spacious and clean. The ... only drawback: the beach. Is atlantic, not Karibik. The all-inclusive program leaves almost nothing to be desired. At least the in-room safe should also included are; internet access i don't need in the holiday. The guests were british, german, french, canadians, russians; on the weekend many locals. Mostly couples, but also many families. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had a superior room with balcony. Big bed with lots of space around it. Mini bar every 2. day refilled.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 4 restaurants: the main restaurant (buffet, different theme evenings), a churrasceria, a seafood restaurant (during the day snack bar) and a tex-mex. Everything-before-ra- gend! For the specialty restaurants must be reserved beforehand, but it is no problem, to get a seat. Clean clothing is desirable. Also the beach bar, where on weekends for lunch grilled and Paella prepared, is very popular. Tips weren't expected, but welcome (and one worries especially). Very delicious is the cocktail Iberostar and the freshly prepared iced tea.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff is eager and always tried, to make the guests happy. At the reception english, spanish and partly even german spoken. It helps, of course, if you have a bit of spanish: so we could our maids make it clear, that we gladly a 2. sheets could have been, because we not so gladly 2. under a ceiling (a few extra dollars made sure also helped). But with ' hola! Qué valley?' And 'thank you' is well over the rounds.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    On the weekends, when the locals come, the pool is busy and noisy. The water is also only in the first moment refreshing. There is at any time enough deckchairs and umbrellas (no practice necessary!). During our stay there were new beach chairs supplied. Outstanding is the evening animation on the showbühne. Really, really good! The best night was the 'white night' party on the beach: all in white (or bright) things, cocktails, music and fackelfeuer on the beach.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    What can you say? It is just a 'Iberostar'! In the quality, which we have from this chain are used (we were already in Cuba, in Punta Cana and in Spain in Iberostar houses-each time it was great!). The complex is huge. The open lobby, bar, disco, stage (evening entertainment) and shops. On an open courtyard leads to the two-storey bungalows, in the spring of ' 13 a new coat of paint, and new roofing have received. The bungalows are around the spacious pool area is arranged. The tropical garden was very neat. The rooms are spacious and clean. The only drawback: the beach. Is atlantic, not Karibik. The all-inclusive program leaves almost nothing to be desired. At least the in-room safe should also included are; internet access i don't need in the holiday. The guests were british, german, french, canadians, russians; on the weekend many locals. Mostly couples, but also many families.

  • Location
    5.0

    Our bungalow was only a few meters away from the beach and pool. Since it was very windy at the beach and at the pool to noisy was, we were mostly a place on the 'outer ring' searched (between the pool and beach are 3 paved paths with parasols laid out). Transfer from/to the airport about half an hour. The attached to the property shops were very expensive (you can pay in us $or pesos), unfortunately gives it in the outdoor area only a mini market and a casino. In the town you can book a taxi or with the bus go. We have 2 organised excursions; a day trip to Puerto Plata and the Tropicana evening show in the delphinarium (there were 2 for the price of 1). Has both worth it, but that is not a must-have. A bit stupid, on the day of departure, if you have a late flight. There are showers available and one can the suit-cases include, but the area is not very well maintained.

Close
Daniel & Melanie
Dream vacation also with a wheelchair
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
Ladies and gentlemen, We can really speak of a dream vacation. The only thing to complain about is the long flight. The weather was great and it was despite the rainy season only rained twice and also there only a few hours. The hotel is very facilities for disabled people. There are ramps everywhere and what we particularly good find the small jetty for wheelchair users at the sandy beach. What we would like to see, that in our next holiday more, not only to the half of the sandy beach, as we also easy with the wheelchair to the ... sea could come. Maybe this way still extend. The food was an absolute delight and frankly we understand not at all like some guests an overall rating of 4.0 in the eat can, since it very tasty and varied decorated. At this point we would us at Joseph for the outstanding service in the restaurant thanks. The cocktails tasted delicious and rich choice available. We find that everything in this hotel 5 stars. Even when the hotel is already somewhat older, it is very well kept and maintained. The staff were incredibly decorated and never was somewhere trash around. The room was good wheelchair accessible and the especially large beds are really comfortable. Also in the bathroom, i am with a querschnittlähmung amount of bws alone very good our own. Should the disability but worse, the shower is only with the help of distance, or by a lift the you even have to bring. The shower is not wheelchair accessible, but the shower is through intense umsitzen well attainable. On the toilet in the room there are no mountings, perhaps it is possible to change. From the maid service every day we were with the ' various decorations and a piece of chocolate for every guest surprised. The cleaning was thorough and clean, we got every day fresh towels and the mini bar was plentifully refilled. The animation is super and not pushy and if you wants to have his peace. In the evening they provide for a great and varied program with live band and zirkusreifen dance and schauspieleinlagen. The performance from the Lion King pleased us best, it all children of the guests this evening play. The wardrobe is enormous. Within the atmosphere was all in Euro affordable, but we would like to recommend, right at the airport Euro in Dollar to change, because the hotel only the possibility Euro in pesos to change. The atms accept mainly credit cards, no EC-maps. All in all the hotel we can highly recommend and will be back. Kindest regards Daniel & Melanie scholger Germany read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Julian
A successful and spaßieger holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
The hotel is in good condition but in the area of the pool and the dining room in the october completely renovated. The whole day you can actually eating and drinking as long as you are in an all-inclusive. If you in the room a safe to have wants must unfortunately at the day 2 $on the day i did with such a price we paid than inklusivleistung see. Wireless internet is available, however, we must always be paid 24 hour (expire after the 1st loggin from) costs 1 3$ read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Lcd tv was available with a german transmitter. The balcony is large enough for 2 people and the things which the best outside dry. ( small tip: the towels not on the balcony to hang as advertised, but the chairs, because when it rains the most are again wet) The bathroom could use a new coat of paint which does not mean that they are bad but you can see the humidity in. Then i would a new air conditioning system prefer, because this not exactly the temperature to adjust could but only in 3 stages choose.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There are 2 büfettrestaurante, the 1st is at the pool and from 10 to 18 o'clock open the 2. the front lobby made always 18,30 on. Then you can à la carte food in mexican or brasiljanichen restaurant. The dishes were everything was very good and the buffet also always durchgwechselt where you from a to z everything. If you give the waiters also tip ( every 2 days 2€ ) you get a regular table and must not take care of it.

  • Service
    6.0

    I have rarely been friendlier staff in a hotel. Languages like all speak english fluently. Some can also german. The cleaning of the rooms was always good. But you have the room cleaned to get a map out in the card slot stuck A small doctor practice right at the hotel and a large playground with all-day child care is also available

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    If you want to do sports is there exactly correct. A short list. beach volleyball Darts on the beach Luftgewähr shooting Archery Beach football Windsurfing Snorkelling Diving Water polo Water Volleyball Water basketball table tennis Tennis Basketball So, as you can see something for everyone The beach is ok. The couches need to be changed. The umbrellas were great. The pool is in the october renovated and get a pool bar. But it was so far ok but the renovation does not. With the entertainers is only a word excellent. Special thanks apply here for gee gee, Maria and mr.. Baby face.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel is in good condition but in the area of the pool and the dining room in the october completely renovated. The whole day you can actually eating and drinking as long as you are in an all-inclusive. If you in the room a safe to have wants must unfortunately at the day 2 $on the day i did with such a price we paid than inklusivleistung see. Wireless internet is available, however, we must always be paid 24 hour (expire after the 1st loggin from) costs 1 3$

  • Location
    5.0

    From the airport to the hotel it was about 20 driving minutes The beach i indicated stumble already reached ☺ Puerto Plata in 5 minutes with the bus one could shop there but not much. Rather the cultural and the nice view from the mountain from which you can take the cable car to get to them is worth a visit. I would highly recommend it to anyone on your own Puerto Plata to explore. Save the money that you want and don't book the expensive trip with the travel guide

Close
Reinhold
Always a very lovely vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
A very well managed, family friendly hotel. Super nice people, both executives, as well as Other staff. Thanks to everyone and we will be back next year would gladly come again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 12