Pestana Dom João II Beach Resort(4 stars)

Praia de Alvor 8500-904 Alvor View on map

Average rating

235 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.1
  • Room
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
  • Location
    5.1
  • Food and Drinks
    4.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.0
Filters
You selected:
104 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Hans Werner
Early spring early march.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • March 2014
Hotel with about 250 rooms and was a good size. Very nice location on the dream beach of alvor, with views of sand and rocky beach. Hotel for reasonable price-performance ratio good, which normal usage clarify. The cleanliness wasn't to complain about. Free wi-fi in the lobby. We had only apply/ Breakfast. Sufficiently as many good restaurants in alvor Mostly older guests. Many english (golfers). read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Size, condition, decor and cleanliness of the rooms and Bathroom nothing to complain about. We noticed, that there is no Hair dryer are. We had a room with land views. Is okay, but room with a Sea view definitely recommendable, because it is really very nice.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Two larger connected dining rooms. We only had breakfast. Commendable quality coffee (self-service from machine), various breads, etc., juice, omelet, sparkling wine daily and tasty Oranges. Reprehensible is the lack of variation at the breakfast buffet (same cheese, sausage, no fish). Atmosphere a little canteen like.

  • Service
    5.0

    Service friendly. Room cleaning and change of towels etc. nothing to complain about. With german or english good communication.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Because jaheszeit (beginning march) not in the offer, or not used. Daily evening at the bar dance, a alleinunter rack with different quality.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    Hotel with about 250 rooms and was a good size. Very nice location on the dream beach of alvor, with views of sand and rocky beach. Hotel for reasonable price-performance ratio good, which normal usage clarify. The cleanliness wasn't to complain about. Free wi-fi in the lobby. We had only apply/ Breakfast. Sufficiently as many good restaurants in alvor Mostly older guests. Many english (golfers).

  • Location
    5.0

    Is located directly on the beach, unfortunately surrounded by unappealing - sehnlichen buildings, the apparently empty. Airport Faro is about 70 kilometer away, with a rental car about 50 minutes Great walks on the beach in western and eastern Direction possible. The nearby alvor is very comfortable and has plenty of restaurants and pubs. Bus stop directly at the hotel. Rental car recommended. Sufficient parking available at the hotel.

Close
Waldemar
Recommendable hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
Facilities: a balanced mix of modern and classic. Staff: balanced mix of ' manjana' and interkontinentaler mentality. The food in Portugal our next trip there is not reason - except fruit and vegetables tastes much somehow flavourless. We had only booked with breakfast and we had to eat out most of the hotel and found it not so great. And in addition we found it very expensive. The bottom line, however, was the highest of TUI heavy correct. Only with the weather we had really unlucky - was windy, rainy and just a bit too cool (end april march/beginning). The ... hotel itself we would not hesitate to recommend it. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Ingrid
Beautiful Algarve - top hotel on the sandy beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
We loved the very well-kept 4 star hotel, located on the gently sloping, kilometer - long and broad, very clean sandy beach. Beach chairs at the nice pool (seawater) and in the spacious garden area available, also in the shade under schirmpinien placeable. Indoor pool and spa and much more often only soft atlantic waves (weather and gezeitenabhängig ), also for me ängstlichere suitable for swimming. The beautiful rock formation '3 irmaos', one can - as far as the feet wear - on the sea or holzbohlenweg walking and in one of the beach restaurants again. In the small supermarket ... next door we bought comfortable water, fruit. A very nice clientele, many golfers, from the english-speaking countries, also many german-speaking guests. We have many famous places and hotels on the Algarve seen, the dom joao - without stairs to the beach and back - was for us in this location and price was perfect. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very well maintained, modern, comfortable (blinds to the beautiful bathroom closed), big enough. Beds were comfortable, large closet, couch, empty fridge ideal. Safe we didn't use it. Flat screen tv including german. Programmes. Telephone costs were not too expensive. Our 'lateral mb' from 2. og: from the balcony side looked somewhat sea (late fishing boats), trees, garden. Downside: just the right (4-5m) are balconies the 'garden view' room. One greeted, if, was rare one at the same time on the balconies. Advantage: rooms are not visible and not loud. Direct megabyte = top! Lateral megabyte = ok, 'garden view' also. But: 'country view' - rooms are on the street (a moderately busy) and to the hotel entrance, entrance, parking, are not ideal. For our room the price, it is a 'very good'.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We always found a free table on the terrace for breakfast (possibly only, because it in the morning, cooler was). The buffet until 10:30 a. m. offers a very good choice, very appetizing arranged: for example fruit salad, cut fruit, quark, yogurt, various sorts of cheese and cold meat, portug. 'feta ', various breads, bread rolls, croissants, cake, eggs cooked, baked, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, cucumbers, bacon (all 2 days), mushrooms, warm tomatoes, beans, cereals, sparkling wine, jams, honey etc. Cafes from the machine and orange juice tasted us. - a la carte (for bed and breakfast guests as we) was good, but a little upscale. Furthermore, there was for a 4 star hotel standard, higher prices. At night we sat after our return to the cosy hotel bar. On the terrace were not only smokers for a chat (you need nothing to order). The selection at breakfast was very good, 'always the same...' Lag ja to us... Because of the prices à la carte only 'good'.

  • Service
    6.0

    All the staff, whether at the reception, the friendly and perfect ladies of the room cleaning, the breakfast or at the bar - all very commendable. Suitcases were brought to the room. Thank you! = obgrigada (legend i as a woman), obrigado (spoken ' obrigadu' says my husband). Tip: a friendly ' olà' (hello) were politely replied. Difficult: bom Dia until about 12 hours. Boa tard (e) until about 18 hours. Boa noit (e) afterwards. The (e) remains silent. Now i can's!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    For the pool and the beautiful garden area as well as the beach 'excellent'. In the evening gave it possibly always a program, music, show. Not used. As there are no animation, a 'very good'.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We loved the very well-kept 4 star hotel, located on the gently sloping, kilometer - long and broad, very clean sandy beach. Beach chairs at the nice pool (seawater) and in the spacious garden area available, also in the shade under schirmpinien placeable. Indoor pool and spa and much more often only soft atlantic waves (weather and gezeitenabhängig ), also for me ängstlichere suitable for swimming. The beautiful rock formation '3 irmaos', one can - as far as the feet wear - on the sea or holzbohlenweg walking and in one of the beach restaurants again. In the small supermarket next door we bought comfortable water, fruit. A very nice clientele, many golfers, from the english-speaking countries, also many german-speaking guests. We have many famous places and hotels on the Algarve seen, the dom joao - without stairs to the beach and back - was for us in this location and price was perfect.

  • Location
    6.0

    We had only üf and knew, that one the center 15-20 minute walk. Rental car we left is possible, because we in the evening no water wanted to drink. Alvor, a nice, not too big town, small streets, mainly places to eat, bars, cafes, few shops (pole 100er Marlboro € 44). Taxis (€4.20) are always present, are also at the reception. We have very good and inexpensive fish eaten (and portug. Wine), for example, anglerfish = tamboril, dorade, tiger prawns are ½ serves, sardines, sole, dorado, etc.. We were spontaneously in the Buganvilla with terrace, adega d'alvor, a ribeira on the harbor, por a Sol (2 kilometer outside), 5 quinas on the beach. 'couvert' (€1.2 per person) Often enough: fresh bread, including olives, butter, fischmousse or similar where appropriate after 'mayonnaise de alho /garlic' questions ('aioli' is unknown). There are many more excellent and inexpensive restaurants in alvor! The large supermarket was about 8 minutes, at the roundabout turn right, at the end, turn left. Here, for example, 'al dente' with garden (pasta/pizza with lobster among other things) or the simple ' suica snack bar' (beer cheap, krabbenomelette and much more) and other local, the lauded. To the harbor with restaurants it is the easiest on the roundabout, turn left, then turn right. Also here pedestrian zone with well visited local, even to sit outside. In vagabondo there was a great pfeffer steak (' tournado' €1 8.20). So quiet it is on the beach was, in the evening in alvor was something going on. Area - desk - see tips.

Close
Linda
A few great days!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
The hotel is situated right by the great beach. Bars etc. About 15/20 minutes away. Is a bit angled to get there. The quality of the food was ok. But nothing special. But the rest was really great! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Veikko
Very nice hotel with everything that you could need!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
We now have a very nice vacation behind us. Unfortunately was the a week too fast. We were really satisfied with this hotel and can it heedlessly recommend! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms were very modern furnished. We had a balcony with sea view, in the evening beautifully withdraw could. A tv with some german channels is available. Undoubtedly exceptionally was a large slice of the bedroom to the bathroom. You could literally from the bathtub/shower directly into the bedroom look and of course the other way around. However, it was a role-pulled, if you the toilet visit a somewhat observed felt. A safe was in the closet, however 2 €on the day costs. Also the air conditioning made no problems.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    In our week we had booked half-board. Here was normally contain: - breakfast with coffee/tea/cocoa/juice etc. From the buffet. Actually everything which one needed was available. From sweet to deftig. - dinner. There was every evening a buffet set up on a given issue. This means once there was an italian buffet, once there was brazilian buffet and so on. In our week were unexceptionally every evening different dishes in the offer. Delicious was almost everything. But here like anyway the a, the other. Which i love: One had the possibility instead of the dinner a voucher to be given be able, with the you at this day for example lunch from the menu could eat. But not at the buffet could participate. Or one had the possibility of the dinner buffet a voucher to be given be able, from the map have dinner to order.

  • Service
    6.0

    Friendliness: We were always very friendly and ready to help treated. Every question and every request was best met. Spontaneously a car, order a taxi, showers after check-out: no problems at all. Language: Almost every employee has a name plate, on the next to the name of the language in the form of flags is. This was of course great. However, minimal knowledge of english was an advantage. (however not a must) These but only outside of the hotel. Cleaning: Our room was cleaned well every day!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Beach: This was fantastic. Very clean! In our week very little going on with great weather! Here it is possible to pedal boats or a jet ski to borrow undundund. About 500 meters away on the beach beautiful rocks, which should not be missed.! On the beach it is possible to lying chairs with umbrella or sail to use. These are but you have to pay. Whereby 10€ for the entire day for 2 people not tragic. But there was always someone there, the also a little on the things the visitors attention. You can of course also free on the sand. Without beach chairs. Pool: The outdoor pool (filled with seawater) was very clean and i saw not damaged or anything like that. It is situated in the beautifully landscaped gardens of the hotel. Here, the beach chairs be used free of charge. Other: In the garden is also a miniature golf course, a scuba diving center and a small bar.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We now have a very nice vacation behind us. Unfortunately was the a week too fast. We were really satisfied with this hotel and can it heedlessly recommend!

  • Location
    6.0

    The location was generally great. Beach: To get to the beach, one must only by the well-kept garden, through the garden gate and one already stands on the jetty too, beach. Really great! One was quickly in the room, if you have forgotten something or fast times in the pool, if one does not go into the sea to cool off in. Shopping: One has the possibility on the grounds in a store or directly in the town of alvor walk. This is easily reached with the taxi for about 4-5€. Or one goes the 600 - metre walk. Here you will find the gift shop on the ice-cream parlor to the irish pub actually everything, which one needs. Airport: From the airport Faro is about 2,5 hours by bus away. Which i personally not very bad found. The buses at the airport picked up were totally clean and without odor.

Close
Walter
Hotel, with the exception of the food, very recomm
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
With the exception of the breakfast everything was okay. Very nice and well kept complex read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Rooms, facilities and toilet, the bathroom was ok.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    Breakfast moderate. Snack bar much too expensive and not very good.

  • Service
    5.0

    Room cleaning and service ok.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Couches plentifully available

  • Hotel
    5.0

    With the exception of the breakfast everything was okay. Very nice and well kept complex

  • Location
    5.0

    Distance to the beach was ideal. Good restaurants nearby.

Close
Erich
A 4 star hotel with some flaws
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
A hotel on a beautiful beach and a beautiful, well-kept garden with a mini golf course. There are 5 floors and 257 rooms. The average age of 45 and older. All nationalities, almost no austrians. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Our room had 21 square meter, was very clean, with balcony and lateral sea view. Of course a/c and a safe. If you use them, this costs €2 per day. It is in the whole room no drawer, so everything was free umherliegt. From the room there was a window to the toilet and bathroom, one must a blind move down, the partners in the toilet not to watch. If one in the night on the toilet, disturbs then the light.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Firstly, breakfast: there is no omelet, fried bacon and pineapple there is only every 2. day. The dinner from 19 hours until 22 hours. If you at about 21 hours, the tables had already been cleared away and it's no longer everything available. On the main courses not everything was our taste met. Dress code there is no. One goes with t- sirt and short trousers for dinner.

  • Service
    5.0

    The friendliness of the staff is limited. German is understood the least. The rooms are very clean.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The salt water pool is always clean. There is also a children's swimming pool. Deckchairs and umbrellas are free. The beach is very nice and one could constantly hiking, but also lovely bathing in 23 degrees.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    A hotel on a beautiful beach and a beautiful, well-kept garden with a mini golf course. There are 5 floors and 257 rooms. The average age of 45 and older. All nationalities, almost no austrians.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is situated right on the beautiful sandy beach and from the airport is Faro about 60 kilometers away. In the town of alvor is about 20 minutes. There is also a bus service.

Close
Karsten
Good hotel, better beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
The hotel is not a high-rise, only 5 floors. So it was very pleasant to look at, in comparison to the surrounding hotels and high-rise buildings. Number of rooms about 300, both standard room, as well as superior and suites. Room with sea view is highly recommended, as the view is fantastic and you otherwise a view of the adjacent street and the high rises have. The guests were predominantly from the german-speaking countries, also many english and portuguese. The hotel looked quite well-kept, wi-fi in the lobby is free of charge. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    We had 3.5 hour wait for our room, as it was not ready, only from 14 hours. Many other guests it was exactly the same. We have never experienced something like that! We had booked a superior room, but it was very small. Also it was already a bit worn, despite quite modern furniture. Carpet in the room was dirty. Bathroom very small, but quite clean. Nonstocked mini bar was available, which we appreciated, as we didn't use and so our drinks just put could. Glasses the whole stay of 10 days not changed/changed. The towels were changed every day. Balcony small, but sufficient, but no wäscheleine. Tv programs altogether 4 german, but for us not relevant.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Only one main restaurant, for the number of guests rather small. Sometimes too little staff for the number of guests. In addition a small outdoor terrace, but it was mostly a place outside (at the right time). Quality of the food was okay, in the evening often after 21 hours not more in the full refilled. Evenings there was always freshly grilled food (fish and meat in the change), but was around 21 hours also conclusion. And each evening ice, the was very tasty. Breakfast was sufficient, however only 2 fresh jams, the rest was packaged in small packaging, also the honey. Bread and bread rolls in different flavours. Also in the morning always full english breakfast. Fresh fruit were always only 3 sorts of (water, honimelone and oranges), otherwise only canned fruits. Also no nut-nugat-and-cream and no freshly made pancakes or similar in our view, this is not 4-star standard. Prices for the drinks just about ok, but still high. 1 beer (0.5 litre) and 1 soft drinks (0.3 liters) cost 6,95 Euro.

  • Service
    5.0

    Staff is friendly, at the reception mostly spoke english, but also german language skills partly available, one can inform oneself thus well. Room cleaning was ok, and TUI-guest you got in the first week every day a fruit basket.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    We didn't use the sports program, pool likewise little. Live music every night. Furthermore, 3 times/week evening entertainment, but the programmes on monday , wednesday And friday (monday acrobatics and dance, wednesday folklore dancing, friday reptiles-or parrot show). The shows were good, but more also not. Beach chairs at the pool inclusive, but we didn't use it. At the beach there were always beach chairs and umbrellas available, costs for 2 beach chairs including umbrella 1 0 €, from 14 hours 8 Euro. No showers at the beach available, one must into the property go. Toilets in the beach bar were available, also clean.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel is not a high-rise, only 5 floors. So it was very pleasant to look at, in comparison to the surrounding hotels and high-rise buildings. Number of rooms about 300, both standard room, as well as superior and suites. Room with sea view is highly recommended, as the view is fantastic and you otherwise a view of the adjacent street and the high rises have. The guests were predominantly from the german-speaking countries, also many english and portuguese. The hotel looked quite well-kept, wi-fi in the lobby is free of charge.

  • Location
    5.0

    Distance to the beach is perfect, a few steps away through the hotel area, and you can see the sea. Very fine sandy beach, also clean. Transfer time from the airport Faro fraud about 1 1/4 hour. Alvor than the next village is approximately 10 minutes away, with many tourist shops and restaurants. Bus stops right in front of the hotel, in direction Lagos and Albufeira/portimaò.

Close
Alex
Great location, great village, good hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
A smaller hotel, therefore also not so much use for example for the food, free wi-fi, but only in the basement conditional front desk. Predominantly englishmen and portuguese, otherwise a few german, french and spanish. All ages. All guests were considerate and quiet, no binge drinking... read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Bathroom with bidet and bath, small balcony with a small table and 2 chairs more space it did not. But partial view to the sea and at night with the door open the surf on the beach. No mosquitoes! Neither from the nearby nor at night is something to be heard, so quiet it was nowhere. Small flat screen tv bigger closet. We had 2 times double room with extra bed, it was very cramped. Amazing per day 2. €. But everything was super clean. Small clean umgefüllter refrigerator. Great air conditioner which really, if you want under 20 °c cools. We but only during use, in the evening cools down it pleasant, but not cold from. If the wind gehtdarfs then draußeen quiet a vest are.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Tasted good, not quality but good. Selection was not so much, but in the 10 metric ton It was always something different. Clean and always the this also the whole evening is. Tip eat on the terrace! Water about 4 Euro for 0.75 liter of water, most favorable red wine 13 Euro. Because of the size of the hotels, it was never really loud in the dining room and on the terrace are not.

  • Service
    5.0

    Service staff all speak english. Sometimes also german. Service was always good and friendly. Room service as well. Only disturbing were the only at the reception Wien hair dryer in the bathroom had to ask. For kids there is a care where the children can come and go when you want without and log off. That is only for children starting from 6/7 our! Einübt suitable, but nice bastelideen and at the end there were a gift for the kids.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    A smaller hotel, therefore also not so much use for example for the food, free wi-fi, but only in the basement conditional front desk. Predominantly englishmen and portuguese, otherwise a few german, french and spanish. All ages. All guests were considerate and quiet, no binge drinking...

  • Location
    6.0

    5,8 would, we feel. Direct beach location, clean and great for swimming and walk. From the hotel to the right is a small kiosk about 100 meters and directly afterwards a medium-sized supermarket. Bowling alley and a snack bar also there. About 10 minutes to the left will be the first local after about 20 minutes you are down by the harbor of alvor. The village is really great. Dozens of shops and restaurants and pubs. The town was in the hands of the english, but also many portuguese. And as i said no sauf tourists. Bus stop directly before the hotel. Transfer time about 1.5 hours. But the drive is interesting and our kids (6.8) fallen.

Close
Anna
Nice 4 star hotel with super nice beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
A nice 4 star hotel with a wonderful sandy beach. Very friendly staff. Big plus: only a few german guests. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Kartin
A bit overrated, but still good.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
Due to the many positive reviews we booked the hotel for 1 week visited. It consists of a large building with about 300 rooms and 2 other buildings (suites). On the very well-kept hotel area is also the pool (not so nice, since it came into the years) and a miniature golf course (costs extra). The hotel itself was already a bit older. Nevertheless, it is good at 'shot', as it is in the meantime been renovated. The cleanliness was in order. The previously read statement, that few germans in the hotel, we can not confirm. wi-fi is available and ... inclusive. 2 pcs is possible to use free of charge close to the restaurants is required. There are free of charge 1 towel per guest for the beach - or useage at. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    A room with a sea view is highly recommended. On the one hand, the views fantastic and the other side is just the street. The size is completely sufficient and next to a large closet, tv and balcony you also had a small fridge and safe. The bed is very soft and a sofa is also in the room. Unfortunately our room was already very carried forward. Stains on the walls, disgusting stains on the wall light, stains on the carpet, etc. Luckily we had 2 rooms in the hotel and looked so also still one of the nicer rooms. There were only the stains on the carpet.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There is a restaurant, a bar in the hotel and another bar at the pool. We had only booked overnight stay with breakfast and would recommend it to anyone, as it in alvor so many good restaurants. There, you could every evening freely, whether you fish or meat food, or whether it indian or italian to be. The breakfast buffet in the hotel is very large. To choose different bread and bread rolls, jams, sausage, cheese, fresh fruit, vegetables, cereals, delicious cakes and hot beloved coffee/tea/hot schokolodenautomat. There are also hot foods such as scrambled eggs, fried eggs, tomatoes, beans, mushrooms and bacon. Who finds here nothing... And yes it is the same every day buffet, but due to the large selection that was ok! We recommend against 8 o'clock to breakfast, since it from 8:30 a. m. very busy and a place on the terrace to secure. It is much quieter and you have a great view. Caution before the Frechen sparrows - one should always stay at the table the food ' guard ' :-)

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff was absolutely friendly. German was spoken at the reception, otherwise you could get by with english well. The room cleaning was always spotless. What we didn't like, was the disorganized service. The check-in should be according to the reception from 14 o'clock possible and 15 hours we got the first - half an hour later the 2. rooms. The bags were brought to the room. It was however only 1 of 3 suitcases brought. So we had to us again in the reception queue including waiting time. The hair dryer there was only for a pick-up at the front desk... Reappoint. For the safe we have 2 Euro per day. Our complaint (towel rack fell from) was in the week did not dealt with. The connect to the hotel's pc you could have been better explained, since every guest that had a problem. We were from other guests and helped we helped then as well.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    There were activities, for example beach volleyball games, football, water aerobics. The activities in the hotel lobby a large display. On different evenings there was a range of at the hotel as: folklore, acrobatics, live music the 80' s etc. We can't say anything about the quality, since we didn't have one of the offers noticed. There are very beautiful beach chairs with fabric covering. However, there were much too few. Reserving with towels is therefore encouraged, since all fear no more chairs were available. A shame. Umbrellas there was no entertainment at the pool, here one could only the shade of the trees to use. If you want to lie on the beach, pay for the beach chairs and umbrellas 10 Euro on the day! Cheaper it is an umbrella or to bring in alvor to buy.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Due to the many positive reviews we booked the hotel for 1 week visited. It consists of a large building with about 300 rooms and 2 other buildings (suites). On the very well-kept hotel area is also the pool (not so nice, since it came into the years) and a miniature golf course (costs extra). The hotel itself was already a bit older. Nevertheless, it is good at 'shot', as it is in the meantime been renovated. The cleanliness was in order. The previously read statement, that few germans in the hotel, we can not confirm. wi-fi is available and inclusive. 2 pcs is possible to use free of charge close to the restaurants is required. There are free of charge 1 towel per guest for the beach - or useage at.

  • Location
    5.0

    Our transfer time from the airport Faro to the hotel took about 1 hour. The hotel is located in the 1st series. To the beautiful beach one needs thus no 30 steps. In the immediate area there were other hotels and the already several times described concrete blocks (6 piece). Ok, they are not really nice. The supermarket in the proximity, we can not recommendable. Tip: take a backpack filled with and buy your food in alvor. That is partly 3 times as cheap! Alvor is 10-15 minutes away from the hotel (on the road). If a beautiful way want to go to it, take the back of the hotel and walk on the boardwalk along the beach. Then the 3. bridge down from the beach and always straightforward ;-)

Close
Anja & Philipp
Gladly again
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
We were 10 days in this hotel. Food was very tasty, there were in the evening always a wide selection so something for everyone was, only with the breakfast there was everyday the same and what we really liked, was Nutella. There were a lot of guests (especially couples with children) your einigenes glass Nutella with us. The rooms were very clean and every day it was cleaned. Into town there was to foot about 10-15 minutes. Which we appreciated a lot it was distance to the beach, you from the hotel right distance. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Anna
Great vacation in a brilliant hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
Together we have a wonderful holiday at the end of june to early july in the Hotel Beach resort pestana dom joao ii spent. Our room was in the 3. floor of the house and was facing the land side swept. From the exterior appearance of the hotel area over the room, the food and the location of the Algarve to the hotel staff our expectations were far exceeded. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room was incredible. It was exactly as described, modern furnished with a double bed, sofa, cabinet, bathroom and balcony. For two people the space was perfectly adequate. A highlight was the bathroom. It was very modern and nicely decorated. A plexiglass window separating the bathroom from the room and could with the blinds will be covered.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We had booked half board and they allowed us daily breakfast, and dinner served. In the morning, there was a variety of cereals, eggs, breads, fruit, yogurt, vegetables etc. Evenings there was next to the dishes in the restaurant or on the terrace, varied with fish and meat. There were always several different prepared salads, as well as a salad buffet to themselves. We have both in the morning, and in the evenings always something found something delicious. In the restaurant it was always clean and one was friendly welcomed and, where applicable, for the table. We spent most of the time outside on the terrace eaten. The restaurant was always friendly and courteous.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff is throughout friendly. Always helpful and courteous with the guests of the house are. A problem of communication has never existed, as many german, and english languages. The rooms were cleaned every day, thoroughly cleaned and new towels, and shower gel and soap were regularly replenished.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    There was not a typical standardanimationsprogramm, which continued to disturb us not. Although every day beach volleyball or football, Boccia and Midget Golf offered, but we didn't use it. A kids club was available. The pool was clean and had a good size. Since we were in the evening were in the pool, on the sea, we would have a chlorwasserpool preferred. In the evening there was often live music, but not to our taste. Also found a reptile show instead of, and a portuguese evening.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Together we have a wonderful holiday at the end of june to early july in the Hotel Beach resort pestana dom joao ii spent. Our room was in the 3. floor of the house and was facing the land side swept. From the exterior appearance of the hotel area over the room, the food and the location of the Algarve to the hotel staff our expectations were far exceeded.

  • Location
    5.0

    The drive from the airport took about 1.5 hours and was tolerable. The beach is almost directly on to the garden. He is through a gate and a short boardwalk to reach. The fine sandy beach was very clean and while we were there not crowded. The gigantic rock formations are overwhelming and an evening walk on the beach worth it. A bus stop, as well as a small supermarket are located in the immediate proximity of the hotel. The small, but nice old town of alvor is to foot into well 10 minutes. Small shops, restaurants and bars are in the small streets and to find.

Close
Julia
Great beach, ok hotel, bad food!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
For a one time vacation with baby (7 months) you can the hotel and its surroundings recommend. It was uncomplicated than we thought and there were also lots of families with small children on-site. Really not recommendable is the breakfast (only had this booked)... The selection was huge, but the quality leaves a lot to be desired... The really good thing is the fresh fruit and 4 stars, but not for the rest! The location of the hotel offers, the food definitely not! You can in alvor very good food... read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Markus
Very nice and relaxing vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
Very nice, relaxing holiday. Ocean view rooms with a fantastic view of the atlantic ocean. Staff was in all areas very friendly. The buffet in the morning and in the evening was very diverse. In the evening there was a wide selection of cold hors d'oeuvres and hot main course. Everything was prepared deliciously. Disturbing we felt the bad habit of reservierens of beach chairs with towels in the early morning, so that one had bad luck, if you came later. There was from time to time a bad smell from the drain the bathtub perceptible, the especially at night ... happened. Finally i advise all tourists to take a rental car, to the nice surroundings with many beautiful beaches to explore. Lagos we also liked. From there on you can with a dinghy a dolphinwatchingtour on the atlantic companies, what a unforgettable experience. If you have a rental car, you should, to avoid problems later, with the borrowing car company showed up discuss, such as the toll is charged, on the highway a22 will be charged. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Thomas
Only the beach is great, the rest
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
We can't recommend this hotel, because it has hardly any young people here (only retirees, only people from England and Germany), in addition, the service, both those at the front desk as also in the restaurant more than to be desired (the people at the reception feel with questions rather gene ffs and the waiters are in the way). Prices: very expensive! For example €3.30 for a stengeleis (magnum) or €3.30 for a mineral water (1 liter). It is only the location, which is why we chose this hotel. Many people drink therefore just a beer (which is ... extremely expensive), but wine is literally hardly consumed. Food: the bread is very dry-it has hardly a right choice of meals (also there has been no live cooking, and the buffets are also rather dreary). The only good things were fruits from the country, like oranges (saccharine) and olives. The rest you can forget genuinly! In short the hotel is past it and tourism is still in its infancy to put. There is although efforts, to improve their service, but in every corner and ends were saved, which was probably no true creed to more customer service is. Also we have a room with seaview receive, but be careful, there was only a partial ocean view! Our tip: better after Tenerife flying, the service is just miles better and not Really much more expensive than in Portugal. P. s. for about a year, you also pay still tolls on highways Portugal and for the bridge 'Vasco da Gama' - not much, about 10 cents per kilometer, but nevertheless is the system of payment of the toll really arduous, for example rent from mauterfassungsgeräten the autovermietstationen, or payment on post offices, and so on. Who really service estimates and a certain standard knows, the yields better on the Canary Islands (Tenerife) from. We would the hotel only stars give, due to the bad food, etc. Like much else in Portugal rather more complicated and laborious has become. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.3
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    2.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    1.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    1.0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
Close
Thomas
Super vacation, friendly and clean
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
I can than relaxation-and seaside holiday only recommend it. Will definitely go again. The cleanliness of the rooms, as well as the dining rooms were certainly in connection with the really friendly and helpful staff to be highlighted. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Markus
Super holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
There is not much to say. Absolutely top and again again. There is nothing to complain about. ... read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Sabine
Fantastic relaxing holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • April 2013
We were höchstzufrieden. Hotel lies right on the sandy beach or for other side directly to the beginning of the algarve cliffs, so you could choose, long beach or small bay. Fantastic. Hotel very recommendable, we had overnight stay with breakfast, this was well sunday The prices for à-la-carte food in the hotel very expensive. The small town alvor is 12 minutes away on foot distance, lots of restaurants, from 10,00 Euro (without drinks) you get a rich meal. Breakfast in the hotel the best, the garden and the swimming pool very well maintained, you can lay anywhere, get ... towels for the loungers. Hotel mostly older people, in the town of alvor there are a few pubs and sport bars (almost only english), so vacation for relaxing. Absolutely borrowing car and the fantastic landscape check. The tour guide from TUI is great, gave us many tips gave, which is well worth it, take a look at. The next larger city is portimao, 11 kilometer away, runs once a day a free hotel bus there and back. A successful holiday. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Detlef
A hotel for feeling good
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Countryside & spa
  • March 2013
The room was for about 3 years renovated. Very tastefully decorated. Big enough. The lobby and bar make an inviting impression. Everything was tidy and clean. Guests between 30 and 80 years. The hotel was in march mostly fully booked! Many golfers, also fallschirmspringerstaffeln. 60% english. Rest other nationalities. 240 rooms with different arrangement. Rooms at 4 and 5. the floor had a fantastic view. Sea view to Lagos on the most beautiful. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms were 3 years ago renovated and tastefully decorated. The size is sufficient. Bathroom for the use of a person ok. Bar after a request refilled. Safety deposit box costs per day 2 Euro. Rooms were at different times properly cleaned. Rooms at 4. and 5. the floor because of the view of advantage. Balcony about 4 square meters with 2 chairs and table. Definitely not rooms to the rear or on the parking lot book!

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    We only booked with breakfast, which recommendable is, there is in alvor very nice and cheap restaurants. The breakfast buffet was so la la. Breads and rolls varied. So however not the selection of sausage and cheese. Every day three sorts of sausage and cheese! Jams in one-portion packages. The juice was watered down. Coffee, oh well, is perhaps a matter of taste, we have chosen, tea. Cereal was available and also fresh fruits. You can dine buffet for 27 or 22 €food, or only once a plate stow for 12 €.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff at reception were very friendly and were willing to help. Three ladies languages good german. The drinks at the bar are relatively expensive (0.4 liter beer = 4,20 Euro, tea = 2,70 Euro). The cleaning of the rooms was completely satisfactory. Bed linen every 3 days new. 2 small complaints were immediately! Taken care of.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    The room was for about 3 years renovated. Very tastefully decorated. Big enough. The lobby and bar make an inviting impression. Everything was tidy and clean. Guests between 30 and 80 years. The hotel was in march mostly fully booked! Many golfers, also fallschirmspringerstaffeln. 60% english. Rest other nationalities. 240 rooms with different arrangement. Rooms at 4 and 5. the floor had a fantastic view. Sea view to Lagos on the most beautiful.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located right next to extensive beach. The hotel offers free daily shuttle to portimao. Bus stop to Lagos on the doorstep. Walk in the historic part with many cheap restaurants about 10 minutes different supermarkets easy to get to. It is probably a good sign if this hotel almost fully booked, while other hotels vacancy has been made.

Close
1 3 4 5 6