Hotel St. Gothard(2 stars)

20 Rue Paganini View on map

Average rating

23 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    3.6
  • Room
    3.8
  • Service
    4.6
  • Location
    5.0
  • Food and Drinks
    3.1
  • Sport & entertain
    3.7
Filters
You selected:
8 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Aleksandr
Economical hotel near railway station
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • City break
  • July 2013
Hotel is simple and economical. Its location is near railway station, so is convenient for those who want to be near station or to travel by rail to other places in French Riviera. We were such kind of travellers so for us location was good. Otherwise it might be not so perfect as a distance to the nearest beach is about 2 kilometers and an old town is also a bit far. At the same time the neighborhood is quite lively and to get to the beach faster one can get a tram. There are lot of various shops and ... cafes in the vicinity. Breakfast served in the hotel is very limited. But at least it`s still better to have a cup of coffee from a vending machine and a bread roll than nothing at all. Our room in the hotel although simply furnished was quite comfortable for the price, clean and sunny. It had an air conditioner and small ensuite bathroom. Wi fi was available at the hotel lobby. Overall impression the hotel left in my memory: large building, rather shabby and old and in need of some renovation. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Silvia
The 2 stars standard
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • March 2013
The hotel is a old city hotel - the area is not really so good. However the location is great. You are right on a shopping street (about 5 minutes). To the main square and to the promenade you need about 15 minutes For a short stay the hotel i can definitely recommendable. I have for this price and in the light of the 2 stars expected more. The cleaning of the rooms was done well. The breakfast except the coffee was bad. But there is in the area enough opportunities for breakfast. My expectations were met-i would the hotel ... visit again. It is surely the 2 stars standard, you get what you get for this price expect can. Wireless worked in the lobby and also in the room. We had a room on the 2 floor and this was clean and alright. I saw a on the 4. floor with a balcony and this was dated and smelled. So it is certainly also a matter of luck. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.3
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    2.5
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Caroline
Cockroach and not-so-edible breakfast
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • March 2013
Cheap - yes! We stayed four nights and it didn't break the bank. Three things we couldn't take: 1. The breakfast is just too bad. Hard baguette, no cheese, cheap coffee machine, old cereals. Better not bother with free breakfast and just charge a breakfast we could actually eat. 2. We found a cockroach in the very small rooms. We booked two rooms for the family. 3. The cleaners speak English and they told us to keep our kids from not messing up. We met them late afternoon as they are not done cleaning the rooms (yes, they clean so ... late and so slow!) We definitely got what we paid for and what we didn't pay for. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.8
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    1.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    1.5
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    1.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    1.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Rainer
The Hotel Is Close To The Train Station archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • October 2011
I had to complain about the room odor very unpleasant, this perfume or tried to open the door to the balcony to suppress. Therefore, my recommendation is limited. I had a room on the fourth floor with a balcony and tight view over the roofs of nice; I had looked at other rooms without a balcony to the backyard, much worse. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Tom
Hotel St. Gotthard archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • September 2011
The positive first: the St. Gotthard hotel is quite Central, right next to the main station and is relatively inexpensive. The old town of nice is either on foot or with the tram in 15-20 minutes reachable. The previous positive reviews we can not confirm. The hotel is old and, above all, smelly. Our room was probably after a water damage in a very bad condition. Cracks in the walls, mold, a natural pond of the, which was a carpet and an intolerable intensive decay GES tank. The condition of the bathroom unacceptable, Windows didn't open. Very noisy. A room ... change did not help much. Breakfast minimal. At least the hotel staff was quite friendly. Free Wireless Internet access only in the hotel lounge. We have only modest demands on the general city hotels. It is very simple, but for two/three nights accommodation perfectly suitable. This hotel is by far not. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.5
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    2.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    1.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Susanne
Nice city hotel in central location archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • City break
  • June 2011
Simple but nice city hotel. Centrally located in the heart of nice. You can walk erl. beach nearby, clean, great water quality. We were only a couple of days in nice, but would go again at any time. Great city, great atmosphere, nice people. You can follow a verb, live like God in France, swimming, relaxing. Great City. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Wolfgang
Nice, Monaco, Cannes, pc. Tropez, favorably and well archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • August 2010
Also we wanted a favorable (overall) journey at extremely a favourable price at the Côte D Azur in France. Because we were invited into Monaco to the wedding by Anja and Chris. Other offers in August very expensively. As predecessors describe: The hotel is in an extremely favorable starting position for fast connections, because directly been because of the station and the urban highway. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    2 asterisking class accordingly, small reductions in the bath.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The breakfast is typically French: A croissant, a bit baguette, jam as well as hot beverages as much as one wants and Zerealien plus orange juice and milk. Pleasant area.

  • Service
    5.0

    The hotel personnel is extremely friendly - however no German, but English, French speaks and Spanish. Our experience: Very friendly receipt always at the reception. The price performance ratio was correct thus completely. If one anyway hardly is thus in the room, but all day long on the way, this hotel is an ideal starting point for journeys is Nice ideally.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    Also we wanted a favorable (overall) journey at extremely a favourable price at the Côte D Azur in France. Because we were invited into Monaco to the wedding by Anja and Chris. Other offers in August very expensively. As predecessors describe: The hotel is in an extremely favorable starting position for fast connections, because directly been because of the station and the urban highway.

  • Location
    6.0

    All Côte d´ Azur of places such as Monaco, Villefranche, Cannes, pc. Tropez and San Remo (travel time about 1-2 hours) important supertip for attendance in pc. Tropez with the car: One is possibly last 10 km only in the back-up, finds no parking lot - makes too expensive. Absolutely before of the highway A 8 coming in the beautiful sea place: Sainte maxim on the green boats (Bateaux verts) change. Costs 12, 60 € per person, children 7.50 € great ones troublefree Hin-und back travel over the bay directly into the port of pc. Tropez. All 15 min. Frenchmen drive boat seem this tip to take good heed of.

Close
Dieter
Great holiday in St Gothard hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • December 2009
We wanted a reasonably priced trip for an extremely reasonable price in a city of France. The worked fine. The hotel is in a very favorable position for beautiful walks in the city center. well as right on the train station. So you can from the airport take the Airport bus number 99 to the train station and then it is five minutes walk to the hotel. Cost: 4, - Euro per person ( a taxi 36 euros). The staff is extremely friendly - did not speak German, but English and French. Breakfast is basic. A croissant, a piece of ... Baquet, jams, and hot drinks such as much as you want and cereal plus orange juice and milk. As starting point for trips, Nice ideal. All nearby towns such as Monaco, but also Cannes ( approxitmately 1 3/4 hour) are only 1 euros each way. You've read. Exit from the bus station. Nice itself is very lively with plenty of shopping and bars. Tip: Irish pubs to happy hour. Normally a pint of Guinness book'-like 6.20 Euro. Happy-hour only 3,90 Euro. Happy hour times are usually from 6.30 - 9:00 pm. For a week with flight and hotel with breakfast we paid about 250 Euro in December. So what can you expect from the hotel? Not much. Rooms are absolutely of renovation, especially the bathroom. Fernseherprogramm has as a German channels only Eurosport. Extremely friendly staff at the front desk. It was a good value for the money so completely. So if you're hardly in the room is, but the way all day long, this hotel is an ideal base. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close