Hotel Vivanta by Taj Bentota(5 stars)

Vivanta by Taj Bentota National Holiday Resort Bentota Sri Lanka View on map

Average rating

49 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.1
  • Room
    4.9
  • Service
    5.1
  • Location
    4.9
  • Food and Drinks
    5.3
  • Sport & entertain
    4.8
Filters
You selected:
11 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Ali
Excellent Hotel , Excellent Beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
very nice hotel , i took the room facing the sea , Lovely & amazing sunset you can ever seen ! i really recommend this hotel . it will be the right choose in Bentota beach. give it try and you will never regret. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Maryam
Great hotel to stay at Bentota
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
This is probably the best hotel at Bentota Beach if compared to several other hotels we saw. It looks good, nice service, quite nice beach, good food read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a standard room on the second floor facing the ocean, was very nice and comfortable

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We had breakfasts only in the hotel, they were good, they have both european and local sri lankan dishes, choice of food is very good

  • Service
    5.0

    Service is nice, there is a Russian speaking girl at reception which is good

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    Sun bathing is better inside the hotel territory, near the pool or on the grass in front of the beach

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This is probably the best hotel at Bentota Beach if compared to several other hotels we saw. It looks good, nice service, quite nice beach, good food

  • Location
    6.0

    Its situated wright at the beach, this very place has no big waves so its comfortable to swim even in rainy season. Shopping is also not far awy, a couple of minutes ride by tuk-tuk

Close
Matthias
Luxury after trip.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
The extensive renovation the hotel is to be desired clearly very well done. Everything made a good, fresh impression - except for the bathroom, but the sequence: Very friendly front desk, an upgrade to sea view-category, a really great renovated rooms, so will one gladly received. Only the bathroom is with the work a bit scant. All public areas are very well maintained. The breakfast buffet offers a large variety. The dishes at lunch and in the evening are relatively expensive, but really worth the money. Very clean pool area, plenty of towels, mega-sandy beach about 3 kilometer in both ... directions. With some caution is swimming in the sea (surf). On foot in 10 minutes or with the {ent_transport_19852} you will find a good number of restaurants, where we always drove. Conclusion: a great beach-week after 10 - day trip - highly recommended. Who tips for a good guide should, i ask you to contact. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Franz-Josef
Currently not recommendable
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
The hotel is only a ruin. Noise dust construction. Almost no guests. From the morning until the evening only disturbing noise. Hotel were changed. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    2.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.3
    Quality of the beach
    2.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    1.3
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    1.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    1.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    3.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Abdulla
The ocean hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • July 2012
the location is amazing its beside the beach directly, the stuff and the reciption is very kindly , the food are very delicious in the resturant beside the swimming pool even if you take the boufett or normal order, the room is excellent but the wifi is chargable not free. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Bernd
Vivanta by Taj, again at any time archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2011
Mostly I write my first review for the, the book breakfast only, as a means of getting from the hotel. In the guide books we had, was not much to it. We stayed for two weeks in the hotel, which is located at the end of the road. In front of the gate (about. Hundert meters from the hotel) are at almost every time taxis and small train-Driver. The nearest restaurant in the street and easy to reach on foot, is the Mallis seafood (1500-2500 LKR). Small clean shop with offering a clear view map, very good quality and service ..., a little more expensive than the rest, fully recommendable. Also easy to reach on foot in the hotel's Susantha (500-1200 LKR). In contrast to the Mallis the menu is huge, the price small, quality and service. The manager spoke very good German and after he had tried the Arak, felt compelled to spend us then a. One could also, in order to know, such as brandy. The Susantha 's past few meters away from the golden grill (800-2000 LKR). There is a restaurant, you immediately noticed the service. The food is very good and also to be recommended. These are the three restaurant nearby, we have tried and easy to reach on foot are. The silk route was the furthest away (500-1500 LKR). By taxi or small train no problem. There is a small restaurant, in which we in the evening are not the only guests were. The map is, in accordance with the load, and offering a clear view, reasonably priced and the others failed. We were at the end of the vacation once there, but would definitely more time, went back a second time. For a bit of a walk away is the time (800-2000 LKR). It is of the size, price and quality with the golden grill comparable. On our second visit was the shop full and as you noticed, that there are too many places. The service was totally overwhelmed and you had to wait forever for your food. The quality of the food there but didn't do any harm done, this is fully recommendable. On the beach we were approached and one evening were in the sea view to the prawns eat.10 piece to the price of 1500 LKR. It is a simple restaurant on the beach, which lives, the people will be addressed during the day on the beach. The prawns were okay, the rest of the menu we wanted to try and were only there once. So you have to Don't eat in the hotel, there are sufficient possibilities to dine out at low prices. One evening it rained and we ordered a taxi driver. I would imagine this here. He is called Jayantha and spoke some international languages. The good thing about it is, he tries not to prove, that a Formula 1 driver Sri Lanka has the capacity to absorb, the with Michael Schumacher. It runs completely peaceful and relaxed this hectic traffic. What also positive it should be noted, that it, like others, permanent with the horn tried the way freizuräumen. We made it a day trip to bile and whenever it rained in the evening called, and at the latest after 20 minutes he stood in front of the hotel. A word to the hotel. It has a nice atmosphere, despite the relative size. A lot of staff handled complaints a pleasant stay. The check-in, there was an upgrade to superior deluxe room, started pretty good. The breakfast is more than enough and it invites you, other things in the morning to try, you would not make in Germany. There are nothing to complain about. There were relatively few Germans, therefor but more in the dining and bar areas were excellent and the hotel to reserve pool chairs with towels we also observed, it is not only the German, make something. Been there in between for two days by an Indian wedding, nevertheless one had not the feeling, the staff lose the overview. The railway line at the hotel can nothing say, for us it was under repair for a total of six months and is in about two months to bring back into service February 2012 taken. This means, be careful when crossing the tracks to the nearby restaurants. From my point of view I would recommend this hotel unlimited also with only breakfast. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Volker
Ayobowan archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2011
Medium-sized, a little older hotel, but very clean and tidy was. The breakfast ( we only booked with breakfast) was very extensive, varied and tasty and left nothing to be desired. In the house there were further restaurants, but we only 2 times used. It gave also here nothing to complain about. The prices in the hotel were a bit higher, but the standard of the hotel properly and you can also outside of the hotel food & beverage. There were many Nationem represented, where Arabs and Russians the largest contingent represented, but not negative anything else. We didn't use ... the pool, since we always at the beach swam. Couches were sufficiently available. Vorfrühstückliche the deck chair managers were only German and Russian guests observed. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was air-conditioned, very beautifully located with great view and good facilities. The TV was a slightly aged model but there was also a DVD player, if you definitely tv wanted to look. Water stood every day free of charge available, also coffee and tea, so that one with the kettle something could prepare. The mini bar was also well stocked and a safe stood also free of charge available. The supplies in the bathroom (Seifwe, shampoo, shower gel) was replenished daily. All together was the room/ bathroom getting a bit old but was nevertheless quite well maintained and very clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We have essentially only the breakfast in use, and there were purely nothing at all to complain about. The restaurants (4 piece with different styles) we only 2 times and also here there was in the atmosphere, the food and drinks nothing to complain about and we were very pampered felt.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service fully meet the expectations the one at the building can. All are very friendly and accommodating. Communication also worked perfectly, cleaning of the rooms was also very good and special requests (we needed a bouquet) were friendly and reliably.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    From activities of the hotel we only internet used, the however subject to a charge is. We didn't use the pool. The lawn for sunbathing was the beach by a fence separated and security staff guarded. Beach chairs, cushions and towels were each time of day available. Both the lawn, as well as the beach were very clean. As protection from the sun on the sunbathing lawn, the palms. It was one sometimes a bit close together, but we don't mind that, What we missed were toilets. Here you always had to in the pool range climbing.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Medium-sized, a little older hotel, but very clean and tidy was. The breakfast ( we only booked with breakfast) was very extensive, varied and tasty and left nothing to be desired. In the house there were further restaurants, but we only 2 times used. It gave also here nothing to complain about. The prices in the hotel were a bit higher, but the standard of the hotel properly and you can also outside of the hotel food & beverage. There were many Nationem represented, where Arabs and Russians the largest contingent represented, but not negative anything else. We didn't use the pool, since we always at the beach swam. Couches were sufficiently available. Vorfrühstückliche the deck chair managers were only German and Russian guests observed.

  • Location
    5.0

    To the airport there are although it is only circa 60 kilometer, but because of the ample chaotic traffic is the transfer during the day, if one already overtired arrives, more than stressful. The hotel lag on the edge of bentota, and you could both Aluthgama as well as Bentota on foot explore. It enpfiehlt however, the expectations the small trains Driver to take advantage of it, as this good( lots of shops/ restaurants beach chairs for example badly hidden) and very inexpensive. Trips from the hotel to the restaurant ( for example Ayesha in Aluthgama) and return to the hotel cost us 300 rupees (about 2 euros). Also excursions the one from the hotel via tour operator can book, you should in our opinion better outside book, since cheaper, usually in smaller groups carried out and one not different hotels drive to the participants collect.

Close
Andreas
Elephant would stay at the Taj archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2011
We were pleasantly surprised by this Taj hotel: great beach, even for swimming it was good; good food, taste full area with comfortable wooden pool chairs with cushions, very good service in all areas-the angrenzede Jiva spa is also highly recommended-very good good value for money, great trips to Kandy, Galle (recommendations from the TUI tour guide: so a solicitous the competent guide we hadn't been touched) outside of the hotel there are fantastic food at Mallis (the Seer fish is the best). Ayurveda is present everywhere: see our tips all in all a super- vacation on a highly interessting ... Island. We would love to go back, as long as we remain healthy! The Taj vivanta is a winner! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Daniel
Hotel with good price/performance ratio archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2011
Large hotel with a personal care. The morning as well as in the evening buffet were more than enough and the food always tasted good. The fruit offer could have been a bit wider as well as fresh fruit juices offer. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Torsten
Simple hotel with bad service archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2011
The Matrattzen hänegn by the bed. Overall very below average Hotel. It is located directly on the main street. From three o'clock night trains at the hotel and bubble with a horn. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    1.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    2.0
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    2.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Fritz
Care archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2010
Front desk when we checked in was not effizzient. The ladies at front desk were not very helpful, we found it to be very arrogant. We had only booked bed and breakfast, which proved to be very good. Supper we were ausswärts, it has in the surrounding area were good restaurants. We would like to especially recommend the next from the hotel, seafood restaurant Malli's. excellent kitchen and very friendly service. Breakfast in the hotel was very good. The quality of the service was very friendly and helpful. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    2.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close