IBEROSTAR Hotel Paraiso del Mar(4.5 stars)

Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309 77710 Playa del Carmen View on map

Average rating

235 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.8
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.8
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.6
  • Sport & entertain
    5.7
Filters
You selected:
85 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Adam
Fantasticas Vacations!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
This was my first trip to Mexico and it was an amazing overall experience! The hardest decision i had to make all. Week was between going to the pool and the beach. Both were amazing. The food was delicious at every meal. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Luke
Best honeymoon ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
The stay here was awesome, great staff very friendly would recommend to anyone!!! The room and lobby were spectacular! Felt like my wife and i were in paradise. Drinks were amazing! You feel like family read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Proulx-Garcia
Great week in Mexico
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
Good weather. Good food. Good shows. The personnel is nice. Always smiling, ready to help and always there to entertain, play volley, futbol, karaoke, etc. Perfect week. Great time with my buddies Javier, Yvonne. Nice yoga with Claudia. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Tony
Exceeded our expectations
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
The entire property from the lobby to the beach was very clean, well maintained and easy to navigate (its a huge property to walk). The rooms (we had three) were very clean and while a bit dated showing some wear and tear they were very comfortable. We did have two issues but they were immediately addressed. The AC was not working and there was a large (two fist size) hornets nest on our balcony wall with live bust baby hornets. We had to make a couple of calls on this but both issues were taken care of by the end ... of the first day. The pools are incredibly clean, the beach area is very attended to and the restaurants were spotless. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Our rooms were a bit worn but very clean and spacious enough. Wet bar was always stocked. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary and our daughter had flowers for her birthday! So nice.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    I only drop this to good because the food in the buffets (while a great variety) is kinda blando. You need to spice it up, It is amazing that they produce so much and its very tasty but kinda bland after the first meal. We did find that fish was well cooked and tasty and the staff does a fantastic job of catering to anything you want. We ate at three specialty restaurants (Japanese, Brazilian and Mediterranean). All three were excellent and a nice break from the buffets. Love the Steak and Lobster!!!! We were very happy with the speed of service, availability of drinks and friendliness of the service..

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff is outstanding! From the front concierge (who are there to sell duh) but Salina, and Ceaser were SO helpful! All staff including housekeeping, waiters, bartenders are always smiling and seem genuinely friendly. Our pool bartenders, Geraldo and his bud will dazzle you with a toothpick trick, you will lose (shots for everyone). Tip these guys they make you happy! Only piece of advice on services is that you must be persistent if you have any problems. I.E. our AC was out and the first tech showed me the fan motor was shot. The next morning a tech tried to tell me he cleaned it but Nah, he wasn't shining me. Just stay on it and they will take care of you.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is something for everyone. The shows at night are super entertaining (we love the cheesy stuff) but actually a few were Vegas quality. The Viva Mexico was probably our favorite. The Star staff are phenomenal! They are everywhere entertaining you in the morning at the activities and at night on stage. We loved Rigo, Karin and even Sexy Poopy! They were our family for the week. We look forward to partying with you next year! These guys are like energizer bunnies, they keep going and going! Cant say enough about how much fun they made it for us. Thanks

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The entire property from the lobby to the beach was very clean, well maintained and easy to navigate (its a huge property to walk). The rooms (we had three) were very clean and while a bit dated showing some wear and tear they were very comfortable. We did have two issues but they were immediately addressed. The AC was not working and there was a large (two fist size) hornets nest on our balcony wall with live bust baby hornets. We had to make a couple of calls on this but both issues were taken care of by the end of the first day. The pools are incredibly clean, the beach area is very attended to and the restaurants were spotless.

  • Location
    6.0

    Be warned that this property is long and no matter what your room location you will walk a lot! Which should be good since your eating and drinking a lot! We didn't really shop as we didn't need anything but there are a couple of sundries and souvenir shops. If you need something more that what the store has you can call a taxi as they are right outside the gates. A short trip to the mega market will cost you a few pesos . The excursions were offered by our Amstar rep but we didn't feel they were very cost effective as we were a group of 7. We hired a taxi for the day (Roberto!!)) and he took us where we wanted to go. Save a few bucks and get your own driver.

Close
Colleen
Awesome resort!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! The resort was beautiful, the jungle surrounding the rooms and the pools was gorgeous, and the beach was fantastic as well. We stayed here for two weeks and never got bored. All of the entertainment staff were fantastic and we enjoyed getting to know them. We had great experiences with Karen and Javier who always remembered us by both our names and our nicknames they gave us (Poncho and Maria!) They were great at facilitating activities and made us feel like we mattered. We also had great experiences with some of the other entertainment ... staff.Sexy Papi, Cesar, Ricardo, Rigo, Andy, Manual, and Dede. The food was pretty decent, we had no complaints there. We had two servers who really stood out for us.Jacinto at the breakfast buffet was always so good to us and had our drinks on the table for us as soon as he saw us coming. And Israel from the Rock and Roll Cafe was also fantastic and went above and beyond service for us. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Justin
Ricardo!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • January 2016
Fantastic. The pool was amazing, the winding "jungle" vibe walk ways added to the experience. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    it was unfortunate to find out room only had 2 double beds when told it was going to have 3. which resulted in my brother having to sleep on the couch.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Range of different restaurants, the team at the bars were high energy and funny. In particular the beach bar and Aqua bar were most pool entertainment took place.

  • Service
    6.0

    Couldn't have asked for more. Staff super friendly. Waiters always a split second away from tending to your needs. House keeping were great also enjoyed the "towel animals" they created each day :) (the stars are for the house keeping team)

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Mate, Ricardo absolutely made our holiday! He is the most energetic, outgoing person who always went out of his way to make sure everyone was having fun and felt included! I would normally exclude myself from group activities but somehow Ricardo changed my mind on that. Thanks mate! Whooop Whooop! The whole entertainment team were fantastic! Especially Ivonne, Many thanks to you all.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Fantastic. The pool was amazing, the winding "jungle" vibe walk ways added to the experience.

  • Location
    5.0

    Beautiful beach with great activities.

Close
Lindsay
We love Iberostar!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
The hotel is a wonderful place for people of all ages. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. There are always activities going on and many things to do. It is a beautiful place and an excellent hotel! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was always very clean and fresh! The cleaning staff does a great job!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food here is great also! There is always a wide variety of fresh foods and flavors at the buffets. There are many dining options to choose from so you always are trying something new! The Japanese, steakhouse, and Mediterranean are the best dinner reservations at the resort!

  • Service
    6.0

    The service here is INCREDIBLE! All of the staff members are friendly and accommodating. Bell boys, bartenders, entertainment, public relations, and all other staff are exceptional and provide great service

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment team is Wonderful! Manuel and Rigo are two of the best! They treat us like family and always help us to have a wonderful vacation. There are always lots of games and activities going on at all times and there is always something fun to do. The entertainment team works very hard to help people enjoy their vacation and they do a WONDERFUL job! :)

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is a wonderful place for people of all ages. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. There are always activities going on and many things to do. It is a beautiful place and an excellent hotel!

  • Location
    6.0

    The location is absolutely beautiful. The beach is breathtaking and the wildlife animals are very fascinating as well! It is a close trip into the city, but also not too crowded! Excellent location!

Close
Genevieve
Amazing trip
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Other stay
  • January 2016
this hotel is just amazing! The flower, the animals, the poll.... it's wunderfull read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    the room is big and always clean. The bed is very good.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    the food it's great. There is a lot of variety but it's always the same. The a la carte restaurent is ok but not exceptionnal. The decoration is minimalist and there is a buffet again for the entre and the dessert. I prefer to have a complete service at a la carte and not going to a buffet that lokks like all the others! The food is fresh, the restaurent is clean. I would like to have more people cooking for me like I see in others resort.

  • Service
    6.0

    Everybody talks english and if they don't they are going to ask someone else to help. The staff is so kind and we have a great service. The room is always clean. The animation staff is the best point of this hotel. There are just amazing! There is always a new game you can make. They have so much fun to work with each other they give you their energy and make you laugh and having fun without being insistant if you don't want to play. Thanks to MANUEL and ANDY of the animation staff. I have wonderfull time with you. You are nice, kindly and so funny. I will remember my stay at your hôtel because of you guys!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    like I said before the enternainment is the hot point of this hôtel. The satff is amazing. i play horseshoes, bingo, card and many games where I was a jury or participating games. They always have an ideas to make you smile. There are just crazy. thanks again to MANUEL and ANDY. They always tell me to see them if I need something. They are so kind. Thans you boys!

  • Hotel
    5.0

    this hotel is just amazing! The flower, the animals, the poll.... it's wunderfull

  • Location
    5.0

    The location of this hôtel is really big but it's easy to know where you are and there is always someone nice to tell you where to go. You can take a walk or jogg easily, There is many shop and a commercial center you must see because it's beautiful!

Close
Nicholas
Great family experience at Iberostar del Mar
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
Wonderful time with friendly and entertaining employees. The entire hotel was kept clean and there were many activites at the hotel to keep the entire family occupied. We went on multiple excursions that were easily accessed through the hotel. The hotel beach was beautiful and at the large pool there was never a problem finding a sunny place to sit. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Louise
Where friends becames family
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
We had a great vacation time at the LiberioStar Parsio Del Mar Hotel. The staff is professional and friendly. The animation team was SUPER. We had the impression of being part of there families. Thank you Andy, Ricardo, Daniel, Cesar, Ravier, Manuel, Sexy Puppy, Nachoman, Ivonne and Karen. It was a pleasure just hanging around with you guys. You are more than an animation team and we could see it. You seem to have so much fun working together. We hope we will be able to go back soon and make more beautiful souvenirs. Thank you. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Valérie
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso del Mar
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
Many fun activities with Javier, Daniel, Yvonne and all the other one, great food, awesome staff and the hotel is very nice to look at. But only one thing that i dont like...the bed was too hard for me. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Cassandra
Fantastic place and visit!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
Loved this place. A lot of activities for anyone of all ages. We loved ricardo, spicy taco, and ibonne! They were so friendly and fun, constantly having smiles on their faces and a cheerful disposition. Every day was a new day filled with new activities and new people to meet. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Joy
My favorite all inclusive! Outstanding staff!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Other stay
  • December 2015
I love the location of this resort. It is only about 20 minutes from the airport yet once there, you feel a world away! The grounds are lush and the hotel is built through a jungle to the beach. It has great walking paths, plenty of golf carts to drive you back and forth to different locations and unique and fun wildlife to watch. This is an All-Inclusive so everything is included (though I still prefer to tip everyone). There are families with children all the way up to older couples. I have been here twice in 2015 and saw ... babies to 80+ year olds. Most at the pool and beach where I was most if the time were 20-50. I met folks from USA, Canada, Mexico, England and Russia. Loved them all! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    I stayed in a suite both times and lived the spaciousness. The rooms have AC, mini-bar in fridge with beer, Cokes and other soft drinks and water. There is even a large water for the coffee pot. There is a safe and if you accidentally leave it open, the maid notifies security immediately and they lick it with a note for you to reset the code. Nothing was ever missing. The rooms have a balcony with two chairs and a table and I had a jungle/pool view once and an ocean view in December. There are telephones and though an alarm clock us provided, I prefer wake up calls and they can be made from your room. There is room service from 11am to 11pm! I loved this when our flight arrived late and we were too tired to go out of the room to eat. I don't know how old the resort is but it was in great condition. The staff are always working on something to make improvements.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are ten restaurants at this location though one or two may be closed during a season. My favorites were the Medeterrainian, the Japanese Hibachi and the Italian restaurants. I also loved the buffets for all the variety and some things that I could try that I never tried before! The staff working the restaurants and buffet areas are phenomenal! I loved our waiters in the regular buffet; Yordy, Israel and Samuel. I loved our waiters in the Medeterrainian restaurant; Salvaro? I'm sorry I can't recall the spelling of his name but he was young, fun and super professional. I loved Malcheco (or Malchero) in the Medeterrainian restaurant. I felt as if I were in a super glamorous restaurant with the way he treated us. The food was exceptional and he surprised me for my 50th birthday and he, like many waiters, made a big deal out of it and treated me so wonderful. Yordy was my favorite waiter -- in Feb 2015 when I went, he was in the Japanese Steak house but I spent nearly all week looking for him only to find that he was in my regular buffet restaurant all along- just on the other side of the buffet! I was so happy to find him. He is the most sincere, and most professional waiter who never made me feel rushed and made me feel as if I were the only guest there. Cleanliness was perfect. Staff are always cleaning or wiping an area and they take great care to provide the most beautiful and tasty cuisine. Personally I tip everyone because I see how incredibly hard they work. I also noticed that the staff treat everyone as they did me and many didn't tip.

  • Service
    6.0

    It can't get any better! Every staff member I spoke to did speak at least a little English but I enjoy practicing and learning other languages and several of the staff spoke more than two languages. Star Friends were one of the best parts of staying here. They are so wonderful and really are like family now. Manu A. was going around the pool area promoting the shows at night and I shared with him that I recently lost my brother whom I cared for and Manu A. related to me and shared a similar experience about the loss of his niece. I did go to see his show that evening and He was awesome! I didn't even know what he did because when he promoted the show, he didn't single out himself. I couldn't believe the amazing talent of him and others in the show! It was my best birthday ever! "Spicy Taco" and other Star friends were also great! They only get a short time to eat and they eat fast but also will sit with you if you like and they will visit and practice your language or theirs. I loved this interaction! Carmen was our maid and she was wonderful. Whatever I needed or wanted was provided and when I greeted her, she always smiled. By the time I left, we were hugging The Bell Boys Marco and Raul were so incredible. They are concerned if you appear to be unhappy and they are funny when you want to joke with them. They are always professional and even though I like to walk, I usually got a ride with them because they were so fun to talk to. The concierge folks from Faviola to Yessie to Luis made me feel as if I were the only guest. They always had huge smiles when we greeted. If I had an issue, it was resolved immediately. The staff here really do make me feel as if this is now my home away from home.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    You can be in the party side of pool or go to fun beach activities or you can be in a quiet area of each or in between. We like the in between because we could easily join in if we wanted to or relax if we wanted to. There were three swim up bars at pool area and one in lobby plus you gave beer in your room fridge. Scuba diving is offered and big here. There are shopping stores in the lobby and more in the big shopping center. Plus they have a taco place (so good!) and burger place and coffee/pastry place and an ice cream and crepes shop all within the shopping area about a 7 minute walk from our hotel. We often took a golf cart ride there and they have them going back to resorts also (there are five resorts here). Plenty of chairs and loungers at pool and beach and several areas that allow you to wash off your sandy feet. I swam in the ocean a few times. Right in front of the Del mar there are some big rocks so you want to be careful there but further down we swam there were no rocks. The staff work extremely hard to keep up with the seaweed that comes in constantly. This is an ecological phenomenon that has happened this year and all over the Riviera Maya. It didn't bother me especially when swimming.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    I love the location of this resort. It is only about 20 minutes from the airport yet once there, you feel a world away! The grounds are lush and the hotel is built through a jungle to the beach. It has great walking paths, plenty of golf carts to drive you back and forth to different locations and unique and fun wildlife to watch. This is an All-Inclusive so everything is included (though I still prefer to tip everyone). There are families with children all the way up to older couples.. I have been here twice in 2015 and saw babies to 80+ year olds. Most at the pool and beach where I was most if the time were 20-50. I met folks from USA, Canada, Mexico, England and Russia. Loved them all!

  • Location
    6.0

    This is the perfect location for me. When I go on vacation, I want to get to my hotel right away and just settle in. I've been further down Playa Del Carmen and Akumal but I prefer this location and it has everything that I enjoy. The beach us a walk from your hotel. Playa Del Carmen for shopping is about 25 minutes away. There are so many excursions offered because they will get you to whatever tourist destination you may like. I have done so many ver the years that now I just prefer to stay at the resort. And oh. My. Goodness! This resort location has a fabulous spa with awesome wet areas! I loved going here so much that I spent 5 out of 8 days here for several hours!

Close
Rognvaldur Geir Hannah
Nice Holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2015
The hotel was very nice, very good service and entertainment . I went with my girlfriend and it's a perfect place to go with the one you love. The hotel had many people with children and I would recommend people with children to go to this Iberostar hotel it has a perfect enviroment for children at any age We will be back hopefully with a young baby read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Leander
First time in Mexico
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2015
My first time in Mexico was incredible, the activities are fun and enterteinmet, the people are very friendly and the starfriends are very helpfull. The food is excellent and there is a lot of choice in what you can eat. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Taras
Amazing staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2015
The hotel was clean, excellent beach and good food. The staff was amazing. Special thank you to Ivonne, Ricardo, Manuel, Rigo, and Javier from the sports and entertainment team. They took extra effort to make sure my stay was as enjoyable as possible. Thank you from Taras from Canada. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Liz
Excellent vacation at Iberostar del Mar
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2015
The staff was so friendly they made you feel like family. The entertain tent staff made you feel like you were one of them. Even through it was raining most of the time they made our stay so enjoyable you forgot about the weather. Rico suave was so friendly he made us feel like part of the entertainment. He would always talk to us when he saw us and with everyone else. I would highly reccommend this resort. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Vanessa
Fantastic resort!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
The resort was beautifully maintained. There was so much to do and the food was great. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Rooms were clean, beautiful and comfortable.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    The food was quite good. I loved all the fresh fruit.

  • Service
    6.0

    Every employee was so kind, helpful and upbeat. I know they all work long days serving others but they always seemed to keep a positive attitude and showed passion for their work. One person in particular, Manuel A., was so fantastic. I saw him everywhere. By day he charismaticly led activities by the pool or ocean and by night he was an energetic, talented, always smiling performer. I had the chance to talk with him a bit and just asked a few questions about what his work life was like and he had nothing but good things to say. I was impressed by his attitude, work ethic, and never ending energy. He displayed leadership and passion.....and even though he didn't think so, his English is quite good. Very memorable person.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The pool area is massive. You can choose a peaceful area, a spot more suitable for children, bar areas with music and activities and somewhere in between.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The resort was beautifully maintained. There was so much to do and the food was great.

  • Location
    6.0

    The resort is very large and beautiful. The surrounding areas were clean, safe and lively.

Close
Paul
Fantastic hotel!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Countryside & spa
  • August 2015
Excellent service in all the departments especially with the Starfriends because there games and activities are very fun and entertaining we met Gabriel,Bruno and Ricardo they where very friendly . Definitely we would come back!!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Carol
Fun filled resort with the best staff!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2015
Very clean, comfortable accommodations! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The rooms are modern, spacious and in good locations to all the amenities.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food is delicious and a wide variety of choices! They incorporated many different ethnic foods in the menu.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff is very attentive, helpful and welcoming!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Overall the entertainment staff is phenomenal! Manual A., Daniel E. and Arturo made our vacation memorable! The resort offers many fun activities and shows for guests!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Very clean, comfortable accommodations!

  • Location
    6.0

    The area was beautiful and well landscaped. A tropical paradise!

Close
1 3 4 5