Hotel Melia Las Americas Suites & Golf Resort (4.5 stars)

Playa de Las Américas 45000 Varadero View on map

Average rating

209 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.1
  • Room
    5.3
  • Service
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
  • Food and Drinks
    5.2
  • Sport & entertain
    5.4
Filters
You selected:
73 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Chris
Great holiday with everything we wanted
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Had a great holiday everybody was very helpful and all the staff were friendly we had a junior bungalow next to the swim up bar only problem was the stairs in and outside the bungalow, they were very slippy when they got wet which my wife found out the hard way, some nonslip strips need to be put on the very varnished wood steps. But overall the hotel is very good would recommend it any day. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Elke
Dream holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
An unforgettable holiday for all who want to relax. Friendly staff, helpful and always endeavors the german language to learn. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Regine
One of the better hotels in Cuba
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • March 2014
We have ourselves after our Havanna melia las americas in the comfortable stay and our trip. The beach is very beautifully and the water wonderful. We found the food in the buffet was very good and varied. Especially the cuban evenings were very, very good. The service was from good to bad. There were very many employees, which were very attentive, even without a tip and some have just overlooked, that you wanted to order refilled or wanted. The room was very nice, was on the 4 floor and had a beautiful view over the ocean. and the golf course. ... But unfortunately it was very loud, since one heard the street and the room was right above the hotel driveway very. The cleanliness left something to be desired at the beginning, then however after several talks with the maid was much better. It was definitely one of the better hotels, the we in Cuba and definitely to be further recommended. Especially the cocktails and the evening entertainment were recommendable. A pianist played in the spacious lobby every evening and other groups occurred. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Katrin
If you stay here not holiday, is your own fault!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Unfortunately we had big problems with the arrival, since Alltours no room reserved for us had. Hotel was totally overbooked! Thanks to the manager and the german tourist guide from Alltours we could still remain and could our vacation in total freedom. We had a nice room. We have already decided, again this hotel to book, even though it is a bit old is. That is never happened to us, that we go back to a country, where we already were, let alone in the same hotel. The meal is top class, rooms are cleaned daily with fresh laundry supplies ..., including linens. Who does already at home! Staff is very courteous, even without tips. The beach and the sea are fantastic. The loving, unique atmosphere exudes this area. Whoever still complained here, should rather stay at home! We booked the christmas and new year's eve here and regret any day! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Günter
Not a completely satisfying vacation.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The hotel was already a bit older, the buffet reminded me of a cafeteria, the meals offered are not bad thing or good, the staff in the entire plant partly very badly much motivated, however, the director of the hotels unlikely much effort to the guests stay pleasant and is also on the criticism of the guests. Thanks again to director Bernhard meyer. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    We had a room facing the street, very noisy through the starting buses, but it was fine, the cleanliness was good. Tv in german only Deutsche Welle.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    The pool bar to the beach absolutely dated and unattractive, too little staff which for the most part was very rude. The other bars were also staff overstrained. The other restaurants were neither good nor bad.

  • Service
    3.0

    Partly very unfriendly staff, everywhere eternal wait for a drink in the pool area, in the morning the breakfast than 20 minutes wait until a table newly set was, afterwards again 20 minutes waited until the coffee came, then again in a endlosschlange lined up to the scrambled eggs were finished etc.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The entertainment was good, the staff very friendly and much motivated. The pool area also has seen better days.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    The hotel was already a bit older, the buffet reminded me of a cafeteria, the meals offered are not bad thing or good, the staff in the entire plant partly very badly much motivated, however, the director of the hotels unlikely much effort to the guests stay pleasant and is also on the criticism of the guests. Thanks again to director Bernhard meyer.

  • Location
    5.0

    The location and the surroundings of the hotel are good.

Close
Wolfgang
Very nice located and silent hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
After a 5 - tägigen round trip we found this hotel for our desired recovery. The buffet restaurant, and also all the 4 à la carte restaurants are highly recommended. The beach is very clean and we found despite a fully booked hotel always enough beach chairs. The whole area is very clean and well maintained. Only the room service was not as offered. One had to often wait a long time until Our order was brought to our room. Otherwise the staff was very friendly and helpful. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Isabella & Werner
Hotel is in order Karibik feels but you not.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Older hotel with great food. Who really Carribean like here he was wrong. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    It would be helpful, if the provider of the hotel instead of the beautiful bathrooms in the brochures really the condition ( bahamabeige bathtubs and sinks in the rooms) would show. Really nice bathrooms there is only in the suites. We saw a looked at, because we upgrade wanted but the suites have unfortunately no balcony. However, the rooms were clean, the refrigerator functioned and from and refilled. No mosquitos in the hotel premises ( nachtchemiesprühflugzeug ).

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Fish and meat was freshly grilled and is perfect. Of course, it takes time but if you don't stress, left just fresh shrimp or a larger fish roast also the buffet was well stocked. The cleanliness of the tables must one as cuban designate.

  • Service
    4.0

    With a small tip everything was possible. Room service very good. It is not necessary the extra for a room with a sea view to pay, because the peninsula at the hotel so narrow, that you with the standardrooms in direction to the street also saw the sea and the street practically no traffic the disturbing. Sunrises... One saw in the standard room better.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Unobtrusive entertainment with a really fun boss as amor or queer revetted the guests laugh brings. Daily live music on the terrace. The cuban Quartett was super. Cushions for the beach chairs and worn but with a cuc for the boy, there was also clean. Professional evening shows.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    Older hotel with great food. Who really Carribean like here he was wrong.

  • Location
    3.0

    The beach was very well maintained but in such a way, that you in the winter months not sunrise or sunset can see. Sonnenliegenam beach of circa 10-16 pm. Before and the sun behind the hotel or on the other side of the peninsula Karibik feeling is not. No local bars or restaurants in the vicinity.

Close
Erika
Nice holiday with a few drawbacks.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Beautiful plant directly at the sea. View from the sea view rooms and from the terrace great, Karibik-feeling-relaxation. Different bands played the daily at the beach bar and the hotel bar and for Cuba-feeling concerned. The cleanliness left but hard to be desired. The hotel is rather old and sees one also. Lime on the tiles in the bathroom, mold on the shower curtain and on the ceiling (in the dining room). Food for cuban standards. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Size of the room was okay. The decor is partly old. The rooms smell musty (1st floor with sea view). The size of the bathroom is ok, but only a bathtub with shower curtain available (no shower). The shower curtain was moldy, the towels were partly not clean (yellow and red stains). The tiles were completely calcified and meadows other stains on.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    There is an international buffet and different theme restaurants. The food is for cuban standards. With dirty plates and mold on the ceiling but you have life. There was daily changing dishes, but every few days repeat themselves. The drinks at the bars are great.

  • Service
    4.0

    At the bars and in the restaurant very friendly staff with good english knowledge. Room cleaning was in the week in which we were not really. The beds and towels were arranged, but that was it then already. Sweep, sweep or similar was not made. There were mostly stained towels and sheets in the room.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The beach is very nice. But there are only plastic with old cushions. The beach chairs and umbrellas are with plenty of space between them set up.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    Beautiful plant directly at the sea. View from the sea view rooms and from the terrace great, Karibik-feeling-relaxation. Different bands played the daily at the beach bar and the hotel bar and for Cuba-feeling concerned. The cleanliness left but hard to be desired. The hotel is rather old and sees one also. Lime on the tiles in the bathroom, mold on the shower curtain and on the ceiling (in the dining room). Food for cuban standards.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located directly on the sea with the hotel's own beach. To the airport it was 30 kilometer. Varadero is to buys unsuitable (except for rum and cigarettes) it consists mainly of hotels. Directly beside the hotel is a shopping center in the restaurant, bars and shops are (overpriced).

Close
Detlef
Absolutely recommendable for a holiday without hype.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The hotel was starting point for a journey through the whole island, so we only 3 days were there. Unfortunately were the first two rainy days (yes, you can hear right: rainy). It is a proper bathing holiday with a beautiful beach, upscale atmosphere, rather were elder, children none, for it all the more golfers. Sometimes we said, in a businessresort to be. The rooms were big, bright, modern and well furnished. We also had a very nice view of the ocean. Cleanliness was always given. The staff was for cuban standards very friendly, except for the mandatory stubborn bartender ..., the it in every bar in the world. In the evening there was always a good live music at the piano bar, but not so well attended and for our taste too early the music exit had, because of the room over it. Also the other evening entertainment was not so good, partly due to the fact, that the rooms brutally cooled down were. Negative for an all-inclusive hotel is the fact, that bottled water in the room and not at the bars. The request after water was to a large problem by. There is actually all kinds of alcoholic drinks are all-inclusive the hotel we can quiet recommend, especially for guests, the no hustle and bustle to have would like. However, one should be aware, that Varadero as tourist enclave with Cuba nothing really to do. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Karola
Cuba is well worth a visit!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The hotel was from the size and number exactly the right thing for us. Even if it is not new anymore, we did very well. The guest structure was international. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Spacious rooms with large beds, not any longer completely new, but perfectly ok. Air conditioning, minibar, kettle for morning coffee. Large, clean bathroom.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There were three restaurants, 2 pool bars and 1 bar. There is plenty of choice of food, and everyone should there which find. It is just Cuba and there's no hocks and Schnitzel, so typical of the country.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff is very friendly and with a little tip it even better. You can communicate very well in english and, of course, with the 'sign language'. The rooms are clean and cleaned every day. Complaints were immediately dealt with.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Very nice and funny entertainers, every day for the guests were at work. Very nice beach and pool and it is very hard, that each a pool chair, even with cushions/for a small tip.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was from the size and number exactly the right thing for us. Even if it is not new anymore, we did very well. The guest structure was international.

  • Location
    5.0

    There is an on-site, very nice beach, directly at the hotel. Varadero place is about 5 kilometer away and is by taxi and shuttle bus easily reachable. Shopping develop just and whoever morbiden charm is, is just right.

Close
Sven
Recommendable hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
We were surprised, in a country such as Cuba but to find so good standard. The food in the hotel were great, especially the grill in the restaurant, the drinks at the bar but not the outside. Since one could surely offer better. A big compliment to the manager, the for the guests constantly visible and accessible in six languages with virtually all and guests converse could. The hotel by the tour operators offered excursions are plentiful, but it is little responded to our individual wishes. The one or the other part of such trips one can save confidently. Particularly ... our two-day trip was through the lasting several hours bus rides quite strenuous, the objectives (except of course Havanna) were not worth the effort. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Melanie
Beautiful grounds, only little criticism
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
At first glance unassuming as it was a somewhat older area. With the 2. you saw but also with how much loving details the optics in the house effortless and the one is endeavored from the older facility still the best possible out to get. Cleanliness also okay, for sensitive german but certainly could be improved ☺. The majority of the guests came from Canada, as the canadian flag at the entrance of the hotel suggests. Otherwise a lot of south americans, german are rather the minority. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Size of the standard room absolutely adequate and well equipped. Partly already a bit worn, but it is not a new facility. Climate worked well, safe and minibar available. The minibar was refilled daily. Cleanliness was ok.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food in the buffet was very good. It was very varied. Also fish and meat freshly grilled. The service in the büfettresturant was also very good. The specially-restaurants we found the italian the best. The ambience, the waiters and the food were great. In the international restaurant the meals were also ok, service but a bit aloof and not as warm as in the other restaurants. From the japanese we were disappointed. Food was ok, but it was very quick, the cook was hardly spoken. From other holidays was always a highlight as the chefs a real show and the guests with included. Tips: without tip is unfortunately little to nothing. We are used tip admit if you get good service, here you have to tip for service to get. This is mainly in the 24 hour bar and on the terrace of the case. There is the service down to the individual exceptions rather bad. Guests were ignored and before someone to address can you get quickly back to rotated. The subject but not all areas, still daily with 10-15 cuc tips on the one wrapped.

  • Service
    5.0

    Friendly staff except for individual exemptions. English should you already speak, with german comes one not far. The housekeeping was good. Daily the towels animals formed and on the bed placed. Minibar was also always refilled.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    No pushy entertainment. You can join in but you can just chill. Daily around midday live music on the beach. There were also enough chairs and umbrellas available. Toilets on the beach were very clean! So clean toilets at the beach we had never. It was constantly cleaned off. Showers were also available. Pool i can't rate since we were only on the beach. The evening animation was varied and good. The beach party was great, there were then in the evening live music at the beach. Daily one could use for a half hour rent pedal boats or a drive with a small catamaran make.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    At first glance unassuming as it was a somewhat older area. With the 2. you saw but also with how much loving details the optics in the house effortless and the one is endeavored from the older facility still the best possible out to get. Cleanliness also okay, for sensitive german but certainly could be improved ☺. The majority of the guests came from Canada, as the canadian flag at the entrance of the hotel suggests. Otherwise a lot of south americans, german are rather the minority.

  • Location
    6.0

    Super! You can easily walk far into the sea before it becomes deep. There is no coral the entrance to the water more difficult. Bathing shoes you really need. Ideal the distance to the airport, no long transfer time but far enough away over from the noise found to be good. Next door is a shopping center with supermarket, pharmacy, bank, post office and various stores. There is also a taxi rank or the bus stop for the hop-on-hop-off tours. To Varadero city is one also very fast with these transport possibilities.

Close
Carmen
Nice and clean hotel, with good service
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
Our nice tour guide umberto of thomas cook, one of the better hotels in varadero. Many guests came from canada and south america, a few german and a few russians. The hotel is child-free. There were both young and older guests staying at this hotel. Unfortunately, we had no flight more about varadero and had over havana flies, which after such a long flight again 2-3 hour bus ride is read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had changed the first room, which was very large and clean, it is on 2 floors with 2 tvs and 2 bathrooms, but it was right next to the entrance on the street. The room change folded perfectly, the hotel manager itself has taken care of. We were then given a room in the 4 floor, this was a bit smaller, but with a great view of the golf course and the sea. Our room was cleaned every day also the towels were changed daily. The minibar was daily with soft drinks and beer every day.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There is a buffet, 4 speciality restaurants, a beach bar, a pollbat and a bar the 24 hours had opened. We were in gormetrestaurant, seafood and japanese. In the buffet restaurant there was plenty of choice at all meals. The breakfast we had at other hotels, we have rarely had so much selection. The hamburgers in the bar were delicious. The waiters had a tip looking forward to it, but the service was without a tip just as good.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff was very nice, even if the least understand german, one comes however with a little english. In addition it gives for some time a german manager, which is also very nice to the guests. Our room was always clean and every day we had nice hand towel figures on the bed, even our curtain for the window was nicely arranged.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    We always found a beach chair at the beach, although we observed, the beachboy in the morning some beach chairs and then for a tip to guests give. The pools were clean and there was a huge jacuzzi, There were showers at the beach and even in the toilets by the beach were clean. On some days was the water aerobics in the sea. Otherwise we didn't use the entertainment.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Our nice tour guide umberto of thomas cook, one of the better hotels in varadero. Many guests came from canada and south america, a few german and a few russians. The hotel is child-free. There were both young and older guests staying at this hotel. Unfortunately, we had no flight more about varadero and had over havana flies, which after such a long flight again 2-3 hour bus ride is

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located directly on a beautiful clean beach, crystal clear water, bright sandy beach and everywhere green and palms. In front of the hotel there is a bus retaining station. Next to the hotel there was a shopping center, but is very overpriced.

Close
Willi
Melia las americas to recommend again and again.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
We were the 5. time since the opening in melia las americas and one must say it is always an experience. The beach is simply a dream and the staff was great. Since it concerns a without children hotel you can enjoy peace and quiet. The guest structure was international and the villa dupont next to the hotel is highly recommended. The best cocktails on Cuba and the most beautiful sunset can be seen from this vantage point We are since the opening in 1990 from the hotel Sol palmeras 2 time, about the hotel Melia Varadero several times and ... in the years 1998 to melia las americas and it is to this day one of the best hotel for us Varadero the we not the last times have visited. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Patricia - Othmar
Pure relaxation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • April 2013
Our holidays had only one disadvantage, 'our home' the entertainers were all great, we really have nothing to complain about there were very nice and relaxing holidays. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Marion
Always again.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
We spent 2 beautiful weeks in the melia and were more than satisfied. The staff was very friendly and if one considers, for little money as the hotel staff on Cuba need to work, it is, of course, the one or the other cuc to give tips. Everything was very clean, of course into the years come, but one is stop in Cuba and if i asked with the destination should i know, that one not everything in such a way as in other vacation countries and so you should not over somewhat worn furniture in the reception to complain. ... We had a renovated junior suite and were very satisfied with it. The food even topped every all inclusive hotel, that we have visited. So always again melia. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Great, renovated spacious junior suite.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Best all inclusive hotel. The specialty restaurants were a poem.

  • Service
    5.0

    Nice service, the always a cuc happy.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    3 nice pools, but too few umbrellas.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We spent 2 beautiful weeks in the melia and were more than satisfied. The staff was very friendly and if one considers, for little money as the hotel staff on Cuba need to work, it is, of course, the one or the other cuc to give tips. Everything was very clean, of course into the years come, but one is stop in Cuba and if i asked with the destination should i know, that one not everything in such a way as in other vacation countries and so you should not over somewhat worn furniture in the reception to complain. We had a renovated junior suite and were very satisfied with it. The food even topped every all inclusive hotel, that we have visited. So always again melia.

  • Location
    6.0

    Directly on the beautiful sandy beach with enough beach chairs.

Close
Waltraud
Almost perfect
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
The hotel has a pleasant size with about 280 rooms. Although it is already older year of construction, which one at various points noticed, but totally flair and was always well kept and maintained. We had all-inclusive, which in comparison to european hotels was the significance of the word includes. The guests came mainly from Canada. Second largest group were german. Otherwise, there were guests from very lots of different countries from the ages were very mixed. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Our room had a pleasant size and was with wicker furniture, which somewhat older, but still well-preserved were. There was a lot of storage space, a seating area, and even a rocking chair, air conditioning, tv, coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, telephone and minibar (free daily filled with 2 beers, 2 soft drinks and large bottle of water). The balcony was quite small, but with a beautiful view of the sea and golf course. The balcony furniture was for a 5-star resort poor and cheap. The bathroom with a bath, sink, toilet and bidet was also big enough and cosmetics. The cleanliness you can in the room, as well as general in the hotel not in all respects with german standard compare, but where one finds still somewhere else. By the moist climate, close proximity to sea and the age of the furniture it smelled in the room slightly musty.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Except the buffet restaurant there was still 4 à la carte restaurant(italian, japanese, international and seafood) which we two used. Japanese was okay, seafood better, however, everything way too quickly, no waiting between courses. Furthermore, the buffet is fantastic, so that we, on other à la carte uprade. There was next to many ready fried dishes and the pasta station a barbecue area on the constantly 6 meat and 4 sorts of fish, and seafood lived were, the freshly grilled let could. Optimal! Could you highest, that very weak peppered, but there are different tastes, and there was enough to nachwürzen there. There was different themes, candlelight, violin music and many more, what one elsewhere didn't find. For breakfast amongst others freshly squeezed juices and even sparkling wine. Overall a huge offer. Except the 4 beach and poolbars there was still the lobby bar and the cascadabar (24 hours open) with a rich and high-quality selection of drinks, in the cascadabar (with outdoor terrace) snacks at any time. In both bars was there each evening piano and live music.

  • Service
    5.0

    Most of the staff was very friendly, especially, if you noticed, we are also friendly and not pretentious met, even if you not, as the canadian with tips around itself raises, but appropriate rewarded. However, it is somewhat snotty and tersely-connected staff at the reception the exclusions. In all in all you can except in spanish english. Only a few spoke a few words of german. Doctor was available, but we didn't need that.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Overall 3 pools was nicely decorated and designed. Beach chairs at beach and pool found in sufficient number in spite of the many reservers, also many hammocks and pool beds. Entertainment was from early in the morning until late at night with many offered, as i had never seen, but without familiarity. The evening shows (we saw) were qualitatively very high-quality. In addition there was a gym and a spa, which we didn't use. Wassersportboote were free at the beach, unfortunately the sea during our stay to stormy, around out to drive. All in all a big offer, something for everyone and except wellness absolutely free of charge.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel has a pleasant size with about 280 rooms. Although it is already older year of construction, which one at various points noticed, but totally flair and was always well kept and maintained. We had all-inclusive, which in comparison to european hotels was the significance of the word includes. The guests came mainly from Canada. Second largest group were german. Otherwise, there were guests from very lots of different countries from the ages were very mixed.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel lies directly at a beautiful beach, fine sand laying at the turquoise blue sea, right next to the famous villa dupont (mansion xanadu). To the airport it was about 45 minutes, to the city center of Varadero with the hop and hop bus about 15 minutes. Equal next door is the largest shopping centre in the Varadero the Plaza americas.

Close
Christiane
We can absolutely recommend
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
Good size rooms with new bright furniture. Everything available, which one to the 'live' needs (flat screen tv, kettle, coffee. Minibar (contains daily 2 beer, 2 cans Fanta/Sprite, 1 large bottle of water), hair dryer, cosmetic towels, make-up mirror, bidet. Cleaned daily of course, even if not always allzugründlich (dust wipes is not the lieblingsaufgabe the maid). But nevertheless it was clean enough. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Room description was already above made!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We only had 1 times the japanese restaurant visited and were disappointed. Fastest release, no personality to the customers, no quality quality of the dishes. After each main course on the plate had, cleared the chef his stuff together and went. One got then taken still fast the dessert and then was still undesirable, the next meal time was at! The main (-buffet) restaurant was unique. With a lot of love the optics were here really magnificent food served! If you didn't find anything here, the is not to help, should then on bread and water change ☺ The staff was super friendly (even without giving any tip, as always claims). We had usually 'our wunschtisch' without reservation and always (!) Very nice waiters (here special greetings to papote!). Tables were always clean set, and we were attentively served.

  • Service
    5.0

    We can not criticise the friendliness of the staff practice, because everyone worked really hard, a the vacation as pleasant as possible. The old saying ' as one calls into the forest, so it echoes zurück' is also here as everywhere. Foreign language skills are mostly english, spanish, of course some can be a little german. In english there is no communication.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Pool was available, we have because of the fantastic sea didn't use it. Beach was clean, enough chairs and umbrellas available. There are enough guests, the morning panicky reservations of the chairs and then only in the evening to the beach come, but you always get space. Entertainment sufficiently available, but without that you to join in required. Miss however, you can also nothing, since sufficiently stressed, ( mikroansage ).

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Good size rooms with new bright furniture. Everything available, which one to the 'live' needs (flat screen tv, kettle, coffee. Minibar (contains daily 2 beer, 2 cans Fanta/Sprite, 1 large bottle of water), hair dryer, cosmetic towels, make-up mirror, bidet. Cleaned daily of course, even if not always allzugründlich (dust wipes is not the lieblingsaufgabe the maid). But nevertheless it was clean enough.

  • Location
    4.0

    Distance to the beach of course almost no, as a beach hotel. Flughafenentfernung about 30 minutes, if no traffic or accident is. With the hop on/off bus in 15 minutes to Varadero drive, which we however not worth it found. Many tourist stores, the same as everywhere else to buy. No beautiful city center. Evening entertainment we know unfortunately not, during the day as we were there.

Close
Hans
Comfortable and quiet golfing holiday at the sea
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • March 2013
We were mainly for golf (4 times in 6 days) here, the hotel is perfect for this ideal (5 minutes walk from the clubhouse). The green fee is bearable, especially when comparing (in the club or hotel is no matter). The hotel was with many canadians occupied, which was pleasant. The two pool areas are beautifully laid out, the windy and not so hot weather but not for swimming animated. Instead we have in the sheltered area by the pool between the bungalows sunshine. The beach is very near and enough room, you can easily from pool and beach change. ... Thrilled to have us some of the evening shows (45 minutes), there were about 10 real tanzprofis at the tropicana-style on the stage. The food the limoncello-italian can one give oneself, it was lukewarm and nothing special. In japanese, it was really good and a nice atmosphere. The main restaurant offers for one week enough choice. By the age restriction of the hotel from 18 years it is on the complex quite quiet, but the guests are in the average was also a bit outdated, it has a bit of life was missing. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Nana
Professionally run, personal badehotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Although the original construction already had some decades old, are all areas very well renovated and well-kept impression. Also the hotel appears to be cozy and well arranged. There is no anonymous riesenferienanlage. In the winding buffet you don't the noise level of a cafeteria. You can tell this hotel and the service staff also the professional management. Guests from other hotels, of the trip knew, had with their hotels for a long time not so good luck. If you did not book sea view, go the rooms on the lagoon and the golf course out. There is the sunrise. ... The rooms have all an ironing board and iron, flat screen tv (Deutsche Welle, bbc, etc.), bidet in bathroom, make-up mirror, etc. The majority of the guests %blank% in the winter from Canada, in the summer from Argentina, many europeans. A few words of english or spanish open all doors. Tip: in the Jan/february sometimes cold fronts from Nordamerika give. The thermometer drops on 20° and it can rain or cloudy be for a few days. The best time to travel is april/may. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4