Club Amigo Marea del Portillo(3 stars)

Carretera Granma, Km 12 1/2 Pilon Granma View on map

Average rating

19 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    3.6
  • Room
    4.3
  • Service
    2.9
  • Location
    3.0
  • Food and Drinks
    3.0
  • Sport & entertain
    3.4
Filters
You selected:
9 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Grete
Hotel farallon del caribe - marea del portillo archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
We had a cabana at the marea del portillo booked, but when we arrived, it was closed. So we were in the farallon building. Room was very clean -, although the decor was already a few years more bad than right, survived. We were in the quieter wing away from the pool with 4 floors. The first week only 1/4 and as we left about half (off-season) Internet available in the hotel. Average age was at about 55-60 years, although some groups of young people was to be met. 95% canadians - many of them regular guests; 1 dozen german ... and counted 4 people from austria. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Increase in a hillside location; in the 1st floor of 4 floors; large rooms with balcony and a beautiful sea view. Wonderful sunrises every day. Tv and fridge available, air conditioner was pleasantly quiet. Size of the bathroom with toilet adequate and clean.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There was 1 main restaurant and a snack bar at the pool, where one at noon burger, hot dog and chips. Furthermore, there was a bar in the hotel, from 15 hours -23 hours open. In the pool was also a bar integrated. Beach bar from morning until late into the night. We were very satisfied with the food - there was a lot of vegetables and different varieties of rice, potatoes, beans, and so on. Meat as beef, lamb, chicken, turkey, pork, fish, prawns, crab and pasta were always again on the buffet. Salads, ice cream and sweet as well. Food was well seasoned and meat never tough. Many freshly squeezed juices as pineapple, mango, guava and papaya etc. If you have a bit later for breakfast went, the buffet was usually geplündert, but please refilled. A disadvantage was, no bottle of water with on the room, but we organised a bottle and they left the breakfast with water refill.

  • Service
    5.0

    We were with the service and staff very happy - also without tip one was politely greeted and treated in a courteous. With english and hands and feet ☺ they understood well.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Sport and pool weren't used by us. Entertainment was offered. In the evening was from about 21 hours -10:15 p. m. music and dancing. The beach chairs at the beach were partly broken cushions not available. Umbrellas protected 2 pool chairs not suffice; we under the palm trees put. Beach towels were the maids and to change. Showers and toilet's were in the beach bar. We always asked, where are the whole tourists, since we a 3 kilometer beach most of the time for us. Now - there were very many, the spent the entire holiday by the pool and didn't walk to.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    We had a cabana at the marea del portillo booked, but when we arrived, it was closed. So we were in the farallon building. Room was very clean -, although the decor was already a few years more bad than right, survived. We were in the quieter wing away from the pool with 4 floors. The first week only 1/4 and as we left about half (off-season) Internet available in the hotel. Average age was at about 55-60 years, although some groups of young people was to be met. 95% canadians - many of them regular guests; 1 dozen german and counted 4 people from austria.

  • Location
    4.0

    To the beach it was a bit tiring for my partner with artificial hips, as about 150 metres until then (where also the beach bar was); of which 65 steps. The beach section in front of the farallon was unfortunately full of seaweed, so once again, about 400 meters toward the sister hotel, there was pure sand. In the hotel itself there was a shop, but not a lot of choice. Local cigarettes, alcohol and other beverages. Otherwise only knick-knacks - no real souvenirs. In the next town pilon you had more possibilities - distance about 13 kilometer. we had our taxi for 2 hours to 15 cuc. In the hotel you could book excursions. For example a day trip including lunch to santiago de cuba to 150 cuc per person! Distance about 4-4.5 hours by car along the beautiful coast. Very adventurous, since the road before 7 years ago by hurricane dennis partly destroyed and repairs take longer ☺ We had a guide named bernardo with a four-wheel car booked. The hotel marea del portillo, there was a container, where the intermediary leonardo is accommodated - speaks good german. We have a 2 day trip to santiago were made, with a night at the privatzimmer in santiago including breakfast and dinner at 217 cuc for us both! Our guide was the best thing - he gave us on the way back from santiago recommended inland over the city were slightly lacking (worth seeing) and the sierra mästra to drive. Very, very recommended - one comes from astonished not want to leave. Was however only with a four-wheel to navigate.

Close
Mario
Nice located area, top relaxation archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2012
Very nice hotel, beautiful landscape, very friendly staff. Really recommendable hotel with a for cuban standards great service. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Manfred
Good hotel, but can be noisy archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2011
Compact area around the main pool and entertainment area grouped. Meant short walks but no quiet secluded room spaces. service and cleanliness very good, food also varied and good. the guest structure was felt 100% Canadians which often in groups arrived with appropriate mood and volume. the specified time transfer of 4 hours turned out to be exactly. (the only route 160 kilometer we had hoped to obtain less, the streets but they are really so bad. we had originally booked cabanas in the Marea, upon arrival we were greeted with a lapidary 'hotel is full' referred to the 400 ... meters away sister hotel Farallon where we stayed. The facilities of both hotels are for all guests usable. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    little small and air conditioning not really work (made mainly noise but never cold). There at the same time, no ceiling fan and with the balcony door Crowds of mosquito stormed into the room it was usually quite stuffy at night in the room. facilities reasonable, cleanliness the best. Bathroom/shower also clean, no problems.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    several bars, meal times in buffet form with the possibility, after reservation in the restaurant food (we didn't used, we found the buffet delicious), varied. On Christmas and new year's Eve right great large buffets.

  • Service
    5.0

    everything was great, no reason to complaint. Of conversations we had the impression, both in the service as Essensqualtiät Marea is significantly worse.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    clean pool, good water, always sufficient beach chairs. Access to the internet cuban scant (1 computer for hotels, extremely slow), activities and evening entertainment alternately always only in one of the two hotels. ( shuttle bus-service available, apart from that 10 minutes maximum footpath), from 23:00 disco below at the beach.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    Compact area around the main pool and entertainment area grouped. Meant short walks but no quiet secluded room spaces. service and cleanliness very good, food also varied and good. the guest structure was felt 100% Canadians which often in groups arrived with appropriate mood and volume. the specified time transfer of 4 hours turned out to be exactly. (the only route 160 kilometer we had hoped to obtain less, the streets but they are really so bad... we had originally booked cabanas in the Marea, upon arrival we were greeted with a lapidary 'hotel is full' referred to the 400 meters away sister hotel Farallon where we stayed. The facilities of both hotels are for all guests usable.

  • Location
    5.0

    The two end heard hotel complex Marea and farallon (the farallon is located on the top of a hill) are located on a dark sandy beach. The best are in the price complimentary, in 4 days of the week offered free transfer to hotel's own Cayo Blanco with Island wonderful beach and good snorkel possibilities. (in the catalog that the 2 days/week is free, but not complained or if you asked more often rides) all in all the location is out of the way, excursions to for example, Santiago de Cuba are rather 2-daytrips, because the streets really bad. day or half a day from flights-next to jeeptouren or a bus tour through the surrounding 3 villages there are actually nothing. Ideal for unhitch.

Close
Ute
Nice hotel, right in the dark sandy beach archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2011
Nice hotel something off the beaten path (about 3.5 hours transfer) with dark sandy beach. Very friendly staff than you expected the more In the morning you can get a Omelets for lunch and dinner is grilled (usually fish and meat or poultry) Great fruit selection at all meals, it is morning fresh fruit juices Twice weekly to Cayo Blanco (just great trip with white sandy beach) inclusive with Neckermann No tour operator (this was us before the trip by catalog known) You can nice horse-drawn sleigh ride or make the kanad. Travel line book excursions (good price/performance ratio) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Fred
Sunwing blatantly misrepresented accommodations archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2011
There is no mention anywhere of the Punta Piedra Section. If you are assigned to “room number” Punta Piedra, it means that the “all inclusive” amenities are 3 miles (5 KM) to the west with no access except on foot or by hiring a taxi. Taxis are not there: wait ‘til one is called. There may or may not be one available. Chances are, you’ve missed dinner! The Beauty Salon, Restaurants, Buffet, 3 Meals daily plus snacks, Daily activities, Nightly entertainment, Scuba Show by the pool, Non-motorized water sports, Beach Suitable for Swimming, Beach Chairs, Beach Towels, Sun Shelters, Bar ... on Beach, Currency Exchange, 24 Hour Front Desk, Doorman, Boat Dock, Shops and Services, Tour Desk, Car Rental, Clothing Store, Gift Shop, Smoke Shop, Beach Volleyball, Pool Table, Board Games, Dance Lessons, Hiking/Biking Trails, Horseback Riding, Volleyball, Mini Golf, Tennis, Spanish Lessons… All 3 miles away. The attitude was “So sad, too bad.” If you get stuck at the Punta Piedra, and want lunch, call a taxi from the main hotel. There may one there, which may arrive within 25 minutes. If not get a taxi from Pilon, up to an hour wait. This is so you can pay for a ride to your all-inclusive meal. Too much heat, want to get your sun-block, return for a nap or more money: get another taxi. Go back to the main hotel to change money, but before 4:30! Wait until at least 600 for dinner. That’s when the line up starts. You may not get in until 730. Calling it a day? Go through the same taxi routine again. The Marea del Portillo (the main hotel) may have been acceptable, but there was no warning about the possibility of being stuck in an 8-room satellite site 3 miles past nowhere! read hotel review
  • Room
    2.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    2.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    1.8
    Quality of the beach
    1.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    1.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Svend
Isolated hotel on the south coast archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • November 2010
The hotel is very remote, it were no shopping possibilities in the vicinity. The beach is not especially, but the area is worth seeing. On the drive from Manzanillo on Portillo after santiago de Cuba, on very poor road with barriers, probably the best hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Lutz
Than durchreisehotel super. archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2010
, But would like to spend my whole vacation there not, as the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere! We were on our car trip organize one night only (and night) and breakfast in this hotel (hotel Marea del Portillo, 'club amigo Marea del Portillo'). It is located at the foot of the Sierra Maestra directly at the Caribbean. We were warmly welcomed. The room are either in the main building or in 2-storeyed villas (partly right on the beach). We were given a room in the basement with view on the sea a villa. Unfortunately the sand is ... the beach and in the sea not white, but grey. Also it is a lot of seaweed in the sea, therefore we have on it without bath unfortunately (risk of sea urchins-take beach shoes!) the room including the bathroom was OK, clean, conveniently furnished and also sufficient in size (and beautiful terrace to the beach!)-OK, the bathroom was rather small. Safety deposit box exclusive (2 CUC/day). The warm water for other villas was apparently under our bathroom floor along; the floor was very warm-underfloor heating with temperature 35 °C! We have eaten in the absence of any other occasions in the hotel to evening and breakfast also; for us the offer was good and also tasty (at the measured), only the coffee was as always scary (Cafe Americano = 1 bean per cup). It was quite empty in the hotel, approximately a 20% allocation of not more than (so about 100 people), so everything was very relaxed to. The May is for Cuba to be so a kind between season. Mostly older Canadians were present, a few younger. Since some to the hotel in the immediate area as also in another is, we have seen us the evening entertainment. It was OK for a one-night stand. But as written above, more than a few days I would stay there it not; not an entire vacation stay! Santiago de Cuba is away 180 kilometer away on direct way, the street there is between mountains and sea and is some more available (no coach! possible). We are this way (gorgeous beautiful to look at) with the car in seven hour drive. Safe only for drivers! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    2.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
Close
Dietmar
Anytime again archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2010
We were two weeks with car on the away by Cuba and on the away to Sierra Maestra (La Comandancia de La Plata) a few days here descended. Wonderful beach with clean, warm water (Caribbean sea). The us has almost better fallen in Cayo coco Cayo Guillermo /, where the water cooler was (Atlantic) far. Most of the guests come here from Canada. Recommended. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ejlaine
Very nice for the price archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2009
The hotel was actually much nicer than we expected considering it is only a 3 star hotel. It was very clean, the rooms (we stayed in the cabanas) we much nicer than I expected and very clean. The hotel was nice looking and in very good shape. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    (Cabana) Plain rooms, nice, clean, roomy enough...no complaints.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    They run out of popular food items. The buffet is fairly basic..but you won't starve. Healthy food that isn't loaded with salt, sugar and fat.

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff were very nice and polite..but not in your face and they never looked for or hinted for tips. Service could have been a little quicker...but at least they weren't in your face bugging you.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The pool was nice and had a deep end. The entertainment tried very hard..but..were very lacking in costumes and acesseries.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    The hotel was actually much nicer than we expected considering it is only a 3 star hotel. It was very clean, the rooms (we stayed in the cabanas) we much nicer than I expected and very clean. The hotel was nice looking and in very good shape.

  • Location
    6.0

    We absolutley loved the surroundings. It was fronted by a large beige sand beach and backed by the Sierra Maestra Mountains. It was the real Cuba that we had been looking for!! Its very isolated..but that was part of its charm. Very non touristy!!

Close