Hotel Barcelo Capella Beach Resort(4 stars)

Villas del Mar View on map

Average rating

528 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.0
  • Room
    4.0
  • Service
    3.9
  • Location
    4.3
  • Food and Drinks
    4.5
  • Sport & entertain
    4.3
Filters
You selected:
163 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Kornelija
Holiday on Caribbean Sea
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
We were flying to Punta Cana airport, after 10,5 hour flight totally tired but still had to go by bus to our hotel and its about 2,5 hours. As we came in the night, in reseption was quite. and here it starts, I dont even remember if reseptionisist was greeting us. The biggest problem in the hotel, that stuff dont speak even good english (as we thought they do, cause except local guests, mostly are coming americans). The friendliness of workers.hm lets say they need time until they know you and then its ok. The room was ... old, when I saw bathroom, wanted to cry. Its very humity in there, so the room was smelling strange, but we got big room with a terasse and jakuzzi(as we were honeymooners), so this was saving a situation. The tv chanels, not even one russian and german chanel just 1. The Entertainment team on the ahows spoke just spanish, and also had problems with english, except animation supervisor, he waa really good! The shows started late, at 22.00pm. The beach was great, you can always find the sunbed, just sometimes the local sellers were annoying (50m of the beach can cross everybody). We stayed for 13 days but noy even once were in the pool, sea water was between 28-30degrees! The weather by the way also was great, in the evening not less then 26 and during the day you can guess by yourself. We had sometimea rain, but just for 15 mins and then clouds were gone and sun was shinig again. The food in the restaurant was quite same all the time, they had italian, brazilian, mexican, spanish evenings. Very tasty fruits, moatly pineapple !!!. But to a la karte we could go any evening we wanted, Was All incl. Tasty drinks in the pool bars(like pina colada, banana daquiri, mai tai, caipirina), all kinda exotic drinks. The gardeners were working perfect, was looking clean and nice the terretory. Cleaning ladies. Lets say they should do it better. exapmle, we stayed nearly two weeks but our terasse was cleand just once. But instead of all these not such a nice things, we liked that hotel was on Caribbean sea side, not Atlantic ocean, and Juan Dolio is a perfect place to travel, not far from Santo Domingo city, La Romana, Boka Chica. read hotel review
  • Room
    0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    0
  • Location
    0
Close
Svenja
Much better than we thought, you have to try it
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
Due to the previous reviews, we had rather low expectations arrived there, had nevertheless chosen us, since the offer was very cheap. When we arrived at the hotel, we were extremely surprised, since the hotel was a beautiful, maintained and generous hotel features. Initially we were given a room, not our expectations, since we could see a musty smell in the room. When we complained and we insisted to get a new room, could we on the next day a new room. This was very bright and had a nice view of the garden area. the beach was just our ... expectations, there were enough beach chairs, the one under a palm tree to its own preferences can. Also the beach invited for walks, as you can easily walk in both directions can a long piece. Look at for excursions Lisa past, we were also there and have a much lower price, than in the hotel. The beach right along its travel agency night. for all who want to make their course, or want to take the trial diving course, i can recommend the diving school directly in the hotel area. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Tatjana S.
Two star, more was actually didn't use it!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
The hotel came unfortunately into the years. The rooms were a disaster (dirty and moldy/the hotel should close the best). At least 90% of all the guests have two to 3 times the rooms changed. Not often worked the toilet flush, so that the most toilets were clogged. The hotel is not recommended! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    1.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
  • Hotel
    2.7
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    1.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
Close
Carina
Wonderful vacation in the Karibik
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
We as a family with two small children and a 3 year can further recommend the hotel, the staff can rather bad english, apart from german, but they make up for everything with her friendly and helpful nature. There is also a diving school right on the beach and you could from german also at any time to the staff with problems. The beach was clean and the garden area is beautiful. The only thing i have to complain about are really hitting from the sand on the beach strip. The food was great, every day there was enough choice ... and even if the dishes repeated weekly that was not a problem for us at all. From the hotel you can also book excursions, we have three piece and it worked all super. The rooms are of course no european standard but you just have to expect that, if you are in the Dominican Republic fly. It is clean, it is cleaned every day, you get fresh towels and we have no unpleasant creepy-crawlies seen. The service was also super, we had no hot water one morning and within ten minutes, somebody had come to repair it. Overall a lovely holiday and we want next year in any case fly there again! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Michaela &Paul
Top price for Karibik much value
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
We had a relaxing break away from 24,02-09,03,14 in the Barcelo cabella on arrival was getting used to the skyscrapers ruins in the neighborhood after the bad reviews prior to our stay we had the worst fears unbegündet it is an old property with a beautiful old gardens large beautiful trees the hawkers are 2 pools nice beach understand very good friendly a clear no! There are many palm trees (no umbrellas you don't need one shade!) satisfactory condition the sea the pool chairs on the beach to the left and right 200-400 meterkann don't forget you ... also without great corals in the water! We had a double room without a balcony as already often written and read the room was large, we had our first drawback luck clean without mold! Bathroom not 4 star standard optics since weathered the good just by the humidity good condition in the 2000 used everything short block top floor it was quiet from 23 hours direction reception (theatre) only hack there was no hot water. We are traveled with schauinsland have the right of our nice! Rep Beatrice said she has passed (can't understand the negative reviews as well) and i said to the customer service, if something is tell or directly to the service at the reception speaks Francesco german at the guest service Roberto the water was not to our satisfaction to solve fact they gave us a free at the 2 day junior suite with terrace on the 1000 block. nothing to complain given only for nörgler the bathroom it didn't bother us the main thing was that clean traces of rust! The food was great, the view from the restaurant was great, the waiters and waitresses were always friendly and after a day already knew to be trifled with what you wanted to drink the guys from the showcooking no matter the grill or nudelstand everything was super delicious and plentifully present from everything taste and for european stomachs very gutverträglich, honest you could eat something different every day and theme nights we only used the main restaurant, the bar at the restaurant closes at 22:30 the waiters also always on the ball only three stools at the bar the only drawback the theatre bar until 23 hours with entertainment partly good show! The bar in the disco until 2 o'clock also there also great staff there was all-inclusive was great, the music was so loud at the sea there is a matter of taste you can avoid the, if you, the restaurant. The only one i think was the toilets in the beach block the toilet are good and 2000 grusel tip or at the theatre which also clean on the beach you also always a nice unobtrusive animation team quiet spot there, the pool at the 1000 block was nice quiet place to eat in the main restaurant for lunch there were also snacks but it was delicious and the view to the sea. Many german guests Switzerland Austria Italy at our travel time there were hardly russians Much holiday for little money just great last minute 13 days 1168 Euro it was definitely worth it! Thanks to Airberlin great crew had the best service there is more keinederder january are magazines! But top board entertainment it was not boring but i think only for people to a size 175 centimeter! So i would recommend to reserve seat i should also like to thank our tour operator/supervisor and especially all the staff of the Barcelo mucias cabella beach resort Gracia we will be back and it is still long hoffendes hotel! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Isabel
Beautiful hotel but far away from Juan dolio.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
The hotel is not new but still everything was clean and the area was in a good condition. You have to be aware, that it in the surrounding area not much and since always a bit could be dangerous, must consider it well, if one left the hotel area. I was there for two weeks. But i think the 10 days completely would suffice. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Andreas
A lot of money for the so popular dominican republic.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
The hotel is old, but the cleanliness and the daily maintenance and cleaning of the area was very good. The moderige smell in the rooms is the air conditioning, the, as well as the channels dirty are. The furniture was worn and dirty. The kingsizebetten ( futonbetten ) took some getting used to. After 2 times changing rooms we ended up in the strandhaus (3) with great views, without the usual extra for balcony and the beach (all 40 Dollar/night) to pay. Initially very good, but picked us the everyday life also here a, beach party (until 02:00 a. ... m.) directly in front of the window, next to the theatre with disco from 22:00 until 02:00 and always full volume. Laundry was ok. The food was varied, sufficient and tasty; changed however, in the 2. kw to negative. The basic understanding should be fluent in english, french or spanish be spoken, then you to navigate. The staff is mostly friendly, if Dollar be ordered. The service, particularly for breakfast, is a disaster; either there were no cups or the coffee is all, a waiting period of up to 20 minutes to calculate, since the coffee served by the staff it was poured without much love machine does not give it. The private security should be responsible for security. Circa 20-25 traders come daily circa 4-5 time, their were elevated prices (action is recommended) to sell. The place itself offers no shopping possibilities; of the estimated 100 hotels are about 70 closed; garbage and dirt everywhere. Stores in vain. The additionally offered day trips, we can advise you not to go there. The visited places and houses in santo domingo are well maintained and worth seeing. The rest is pure time and waste. The extra for us separate/reserved beach on saoma attacked already 400-500 tourists, of which 100 at the same time then also in the snorkelling spots (in the very large 'bath') are. Since we otherwise, for similar expensive travel are used, we can the place and not recommend this hotel. Or stay only in the hotel and enjoy the beach, the water and the variety of alcoholic beverages, the from 10:00 a. m. returns. For holiday-makers the peace and quiet we recommend the rear the area. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    3.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    2.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    2.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    1.0
Close
Rolf
Possibly again :-)
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Dated hotel with nice garden area. We are for a holiday that destination and not to complain about. There are flaws, the only with a grundhaften rehabilitation can be removed. The staff is, as one called in the forest so it schallt out, (95% were pleasant) but there are a few missgünstige fools. The weather compensated for much. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Andy
Cleanliness is written very small over here.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Area looks well maintained in rooms all dated and dirty cleaning staff is friendly but as good as nothing with or without tips the other staff partly friendly but many of them were also not the only good thing about my holiday was the beach again but i would not stay at this hotel read hotel review
  • Room
    3.3
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    2.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    2.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Chirin
Beautiful beach holiday in the cathedral. Rep.!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Beautiful, very well-kept hotel area. Direct beach location. Culinary delights. Large clean rooms! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
John
Hotel service, food, beach, condition of room
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
the room was dirty. air conditioner did not work. could not sleep at night because it was so hot. maid did not clean the room. service was zero. the food was disgusting. same food served day after day. not fresh. blue travel was our ground transportation provider. we signed up for a trip to santo domingo. they never came and later cancelled our trip that we paid for. do not use them, not reliable. the beach was beautiful but they played very very loud music all day and into the night. rocks in the water. wear water shoes or flip ... flops if you go in the water. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    rooms need complete overhaul. very dirty. floor has numerous stains. toilet does not flush. no air condtioner

  • Gastronomy
    1.0

    food was old and stale, never fresh

  • Service
    1.0

    very hard to find someone to provide assistance or provide directions

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    1.0

    the room was dirty. air conditioner did not work. could not sleep at night because it was so hot. maid did not clean the room. service was zero. the food was disgusting. same food served day after day. not fresh. blue travel was our ground transportation provider. we signed up for a trip to santo domingo. they never came and later cancelled our trip that we paid for. do not use them, not reliable.. the beach was beautiful but they played very very loud music all day and into the night. rocks in the water. wear water shoes or flip flops if you go in the water.

  • Location
    6.0

    beautiful beach and many palm trees for shade

Close
Mike
Nice local area, we will come again.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
As i already before many years in the cathedral. Repair. And in many countries were on the way, we were pleasantly surprised by this resort. Some of the negative reviews of the hotel are exaggerated and meetings. It must always be aware, that you are in a developing country and of course no european standards to expect can! The value for money you should always compare. Who absolute luxury, it has also pay. Weekend rates are many locals in the area and it is something torbulenter too, but not necessarily a disadvantage. Because more people in the disco more fun. ... There were many french, spanish and americans guests. Less german. The age of the guests was about 35-55 years. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are quite large. As already mentioned typical for the country. So no standards like at home! Who really luxury would like should not not in this area, but in a area easily the double costs. But that is no guarantee for cleanliness. We were satisfied. You only sleep in the room. There is a tv, hair dryer. Refrigerator and coffee maker. For own equipment you needed a adapted plugs if. There was no power cuts and water was always available.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are several restaurants for the main meals. One is for smokers. It is typical of the country, thus openly with fans. We were with the food fully satisfied. There was always something different refilled. They tried the food always hot to present. ( heated container). We had nothing on food to complain about. There was always plenty and to our surprise, some things like Europa. Tasty. For example, italian. Dishes pork chops and potatoes. Fruit was always available - many sorts, sometimes less. The cleanliness of the restaurant was okay. The table cloths are always available and are changed constantly. Here we have no pests seen. Actually a miracle! You shouldn't forget, that the people in the villages are poor and the food in abundance borders. There is otherwise a franz. Restaurant in the all-inclusive, but we didn't use it. The opening times for the bars alternated constantly. So that you always something to drink. There are local drinks in all in and you have to pay import drinks. The drinks are served in the dining hall in the glasses enough. In the disco and in the pool bars in plastic cups, it is of course the security and is also better constantly a new cup zuerhalten, to flush. The disco until 2 o'clock.

  • Service
    6.0

    The coworkers at the reception are friendly and try to do everything as fast as possible. Also without previous tips was our castle in the night exchanged, so that a room change not necessary.. The service in the restaurants and bars is fine, friendly and attentive. If the dining room is full, it is normal, that you not immediately its beverages can. With a little english knowledge you can get along pretty well. With german less. The room cleaning was good. Always fresh towels and bed sheets were also changed. Of course with a small tip, as it should be but also heard. We stayed in the 2000 rooms. Had no noise. Arrived but also always late to the room. Balcony was available. The refrigerator was very la. Ut. Nice, that there is. One can it at night get away from it all. The minibar was daily with soft drinks refilled. The standard of the rooms is for the country ok. Those who complain about crooked tile and rusty taps excites, is absolutely wrong in these countries.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Here everything was there, if you want to use. Fitness, animation. There are wassesportmöglichkeiten, at least Gabi at the diving centre right along the beach. It also helps to keep and good tips. The pool was always clean - even after an invasion of wealthy local on holidays was next day everything was ok. There is a swim üp bar. The pool area we didn't use it. It is on the other side of the extensive and maintained plant additional pools and bars. There is no entertainment. It was but not intrusive. Evening there were programmes. The staff gave a lot of effort. But not everyone taste. On the beach we need not talk. A lovely Karibik beach with warm water (28 degrees) also grereinigt was. The couches are in a normal condition. We never had a defective one. But there are enough and none of the stupid reservations. Beach towels including umbrellas were not, but under the palm trees, everyone can find a shady spot. Showers were available. From the traders you should not worry, the expiring after 2 days on. Otherwise you are looking for a beach chair behind the small wall, since they didn't come back. The price made the travel offered on the beach has. We stayed at the safari and it has a lot of trouble. The price was 40 Euro. The provider a third more.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    As i already before many years in the cathedral. Repair. And in many countries were on the way, we were pleasantly surprised by this resort. Some of the negative reviews of the hotel are exaggerated and meetings. It must always be aware, that you are in a developing country and of course no european standards to expect can! The value for money you should always compare. Who absolute luxury, it has also pay. Weekend rates are many locals in the area and it is something torbulenter too, but not necessarily a disadvantage. Because more people in the disco more fun. There were many french, spanish and americans guests. Less german. The age of the guests was about 35-55 years.

  • Location
    6.0

    The complex was located directly on the beach. It is a piled up sandy beach, therefore recommendable to wear swimming shoes, because in some places stones in the water. Very nice is the situation of the open dining and disco - direct view of the bright sandy beach. To the airport it was about 2 hours. Santo domingo would be closer. In front of the hotel there were a few shopping possibilities and bars, taxi rank, as well as restaurants.

Close
Walter
Area okay, just the rooms are bad.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Bad room but everything else was ok. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    Very poor condition. Have pictures to my tour operator and sent for our double room 300, - €and our single rooms 200, - €back.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The food was always good up to beef, that was always very tough, the drinks order at the table was also ok but could be faster.

  • Service
    5.0

    Refrigerator was refilled daily with water,Cola,Sprite,orange juice replenished, but no beer.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There was everything available, also a dive centre where even cave diving can be booked.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Bad room but everything else was ok.

  • Location
    5.0

    Very nice location directly on the beautiful sandy beach.

Close
Carmen & Michael
Curse of the Karibik has a name : Barcelo capella.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
We can Regina and Harald only agree. The hotel was the last dump, and dump and not a cent worth. The regeneinfall in the room by the cover was only the ipünktchen and if i am now someone tell the you in such a country expect that the next time we will better in Germany stay. Even with large drawbacks we expect a dry room. Result from the invading moisture is, all the furniture in the rooms disgusting smell. The closet better not use as at least one week the clothes so strong smells, that you at the hotel only ... times washed must. Unfortunately cleaned our charwoman despite tip very reluctantly but for me it was typical local country and thus we were from the dirt not really surprised. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    This is really nothing more. Simply only widerlich. Without words and with extreme much tolerance not justifiable.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    If you like for breakfast jam breakfast is the best off, if it in the supermarket opposite itself buys in the restaurant there were only sporadically. There are for breakfast bean stew etc. Well who likes it. If you enjoy a drink would pitch. Drinks there was only evenings in conjunction with entertainment or disco.

  • Service
    3.0

    Room cleaning note 6 Friendliness note 3

  • Sport & Leisure
    1.0

    Who on constant acoustic irradiation is here correctly because peace is there only at night 2 hours until 6 hours. If you're on an entertainment program with lowest level is also right here because they allow the guests on the stage to the clown make. Without these special additions of the guests is the staff not in the location is a bit on the legs. To all the joy the program is being repeated about all 3 days. Because in the evenings but only there was something to drink you have to suffer. At the restaurant there was sadly only 3 chairs. So you can choose between activities with drinks or drinks in is possible.

  • Hotel
    1.0

    We can Regina and Harald only agree. The hotel was the last dump, and dump and not a cent worth. The regeneinfall in the room by the cover was only the ipünktchen and if i am now someone tell the you in such a country expect that the next time we will better in Germany stay. Even with large drawbacks we expect a dry room. Result from the invading moisture is, all the furniture in the rooms disgusting smell. The closet better not use as at least one week the clothes so strong smells, that you at the hotel only times washed must. Unfortunately cleaned our charwoman despite tip very reluctantly but for me it was typical local country and thus we were from the dirt not really surprised.

  • Location
    2.0

    Apart from annoying strandverkaufern and finished chairs the beach was beautiful.

Close
Thomas
Long not so bad as expected!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
When we just before our holiday the various urlaubsportale again durchforsteten we were scared. The could with the bad reviews only in the pants. The fear was absolutely unfounded. The hotel is relatively large. But not very noticeable since the plant is very extensive and in a beautifully landscaped garden. We were in the 2000er block the location was ideal, in our opinion was. The 1000er is quite far away from the action and the 3000er is right on the beach but also directly with the service. We were there during the off season so the hotel was under the ... week relatively empty which we found very pleasant. Should recovery are. From friday afternoon it becomes somewhat full since then the local weekenders come. The youth makes then understandably party there and it got a bit loud. Really disturbing was the not and punctually on sunday afternoon are all gone again. Nationalities you meet not too many there. Mainly tourists from latin america, Amerika and a few germans. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Here is the only criticism. However, this point not very weight since we only for sleeping and for showering in the room were. We had a relatively large room with a huge corner balcony. The furniture was already a bit older and should be replaced. Bed was ok and with 2m wide also a nice size. Air conditioning system functioned perfectly. The bathroom was good size but here again need of renovation. Conclusion: rooms were already aged and need of refurbishment. But if you on the room did not have too large value puts that is fine. The rooms were clean and that was important to us!

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There were 2 buffet restaurants and 2 gourmet restaurants Due to the off season, there were in the rear buffet only snacks for in between. The rear gourmet restaurant had closed. The front gourmet restaurant, which was the french is but in the 2 - daily rhythm between french and dominican changed. The food was very good and we gladly taken. The buffet was completely correct. Great location right on the beach with ocean view. Selection was plentiful. The food was good and it was constantly refilled. Daily changing themes (chinese, spanish, etc.) So the food has to complain. Honestly: we can zero understand! Only the drinks were sometimes a little confusion, if you have a large group, but that is to forgive.

  • Service
    5.0

    The people of the service were all very friendly and outgoing. With hands and feet and a little english you could relatively communicate well. Some could also a little german. Room cleaning was ok for us. Fresh towels and bed linen every day and the rooms were relatively clean. On the first day, we had 10 Dollar tip on the bed a little motivation.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The entertainment team organized the whole day through various things. Strandaerobic, dance lessons, Volleyball etc. In the evening well it was not so good but certainly also on the few guests. It repeated itself constantly and mostly are there any programmes in which the guests take part in must. As we are used to better standards from other hotels. About the pool we can't say so much because we preferred going to the beautiful sandy beach to have put. The beach was cleaned every morning. Beach chairs are enough available. Whereby some already quite saggy. Bathing shoes we didn't need it. If you look where one step then the. There were not too many stones in the water but you should be careful because of the sea urchins. The first two or three days, the beach vendors were quite on the nerves. If you but a few times abwimmelt and buy nothing then the remainder of the vacation peace.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    When we just before our holiday the various urlaubsportale again durchforsteten we were scared. The could with the bad reviews only in the pants. The fear was absolutely unfounded. The hotel is relatively large. But not very noticeable since the plant is very extensive and in a beautifully landscaped garden. We were in the 2000er block the location was ideal, in our opinion was. The 1000er is quite far away from the action and the 3000er is right on the beach but also directly with the service. We were there during the off season so the hotel was under the week relatively empty which we found very pleasant. Should recovery are. From friday afternoon it becomes somewhat full since then the local weekenders come. The youth makes then understandably party there and it got a bit loud. Really disturbing was the not and punctually on sunday afternoon are all gone again. Nationalities you meet not too many there. Mainly tourists from latin america, Amerika and a few germans.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location of the hotel is not actually cheap. If you are in santo domingo takes it a cozy drive 30 minutes to the hotel. Outside the hotel there is a few shops, a bank, etc.. One does not need more also. In the shop the prices are relatively ok and you get cheap the same stuff at the beach expensive is sold. Cigarettes, for example, cost 12 Euro per carton (gold seal) To the excursions to do or absolutely should do would be to say that we not in the hotel as it is there too expensive. Just a nice walk to the right until you to a german flag is. We have all trips booked and were completely satisfied. Santo domingo full-time 25 Euro Safari with waterfall, food and drinks all inclusive 40 Euro Los haitises all inclusive 45 Euro Saona (a must!) All inclusive 40 Euro German travel agent etc. We had nothing to complain about and the trips were all an absolutely fantastic experience especially Saona.

Close
Harald
Never to this hotel again
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
In such a dump i have never ate. The bathrooms, if you even can be so called, include all to be completely renovated. We had also two further rooms stand, so that one be concluded, that all rooms so run down. Toilets you should generally only in the rooms. One sees having everywhere people do something but the decline of the plant is unstoppable. Esbringt also not really with a mop the dirt back and forth to wipe. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    That corruption in this country is normal, you know before one drives there. If you don't know, get the right at the reception with the check in. We arrived broken at two in the hotel. For a 'room' to get had we per person 20 Dollar squeeze. Unbelievable but true. The joy was very large, when the operation of the toilet the whole 'bathroom' stood under water. Disgusting as the room was, we sleep not even stripped and around 8:00 a. m. with substantial emphasis the changed rooms.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    If you're just looking for a few days, has enough variety. But warm meals if you here in vain. If you cold fried things like we were after a couple of days mostly eat out. The new manager closes after sämtlicha ausweichlokalitäten, so that only a french responsable than ausweich remains (for reservation). In a separate corner against tidy a lobster dinner offered as sour beer. We usually liked to claim, however the to display Hummer, for die, his red colors in the sun should get. Although it was on a little ice cream but at least three days of open in the restaurantzugang with moderate success offered.

  • Service
    1.0

    Unskilled labour try in vain dripping toilets, inter alia, to fix it, each minute loudly water follow must. For everyone to sleep, is intolerable. We had to the wasserzufur the toilet at night off. It is the same with other 'repairs'.

  • Sport & Leisure
    1.0

    We were there for diving. The diving school is served from Gabi well run. The prices are okay. The sites are in the immediate vicinity and the boat in a few minutes reached. The offered diving excursions were amazing. Caves dive, wrecks and party island with the catamaran are simply a must. Simply nice. We didn't use the pools. The sea is in front of the door. A swimming pool, and Areal around it, is also constantly dirty with bird excrement, the also not removed. The local visitors but that seems not to disturb you, that probably flock of birds parties and also a lot of drop. Only because the diving school at least one star.

  • Hotel
    1.0

    In such a dump i have never ate. The bathrooms, if you even can be so called, include all to be completely renovated. We had also two further rooms stand, so that one be concluded, that all rooms so run down. Toilets you should generally only in the rooms. One sees having everywhere people do something but the decline of the plant is unstoppable. Esbringt also not really with a mop the dirt back and forth to wipe.

  • Location
    2.0

    Apart from the penetrant annoying traders the beach is beautiful and fine sand. Karibik stop. The quality of the beach chairs is the rooms. One finds rare a couch not sags and one thus on the tie bars. Should be newly covered or also be exchanged. The beautiful weather and the sand because at least two stars.

Close
Regina
Hotel on the brink
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
For the last 5 years i am 3-4 times per year in this hotel. The first three years i was thrilled and the hotel each further-recommended. For two years (management replacement) i could now watch, as it downhill was. And now it was definitely the last time in the hotel. I knew from the beginning where i am and that the standard is not as with us. Lots of drawbacks with which one still live. But currently mutated the hotel the last dump. It has a long not more 4 stars. I would possibly not more than two stars. This ... is even the hoteltester from the television to see! Five years ago there were still flamingos in a beautiful area. Also peacocks running around. Everything was from cost reasons abolished. The staff was at least 50% reduced. I knew once many people there. Today there are only a handful of. A holiday should generally positive start. This hope is a at the reception took. In the morning if one around 3 hours arrives, is expected, that you after a long trip (many hours on the way and tired) until at 15 hours herumsitzt in order to check-in. You ask strongly for a room either claimed, that no room is free, and the cleaning lady only one ready to or one must still extra 20 dollar pay. And that, although the hotel is not even half full. But even if you then the 20 dollar pay for you get a run down room and you should at noon still times report then again to move. If you are unlucky enough, you get only once a room was even occupied and gives you other from the bed. Then again back to the front desk and the game from the front. Seldom you get a decent room. The staff at the front desk don't know what work is. In the dominican republic are very slow. Normal check-in took about 30-40 minutes! If one then finally proud owner of a magnetic card for the room door is, is this not properly programmed for the duration of your stay. Under the circumstances, every 2. or 3. the day to the reception and reprogram keep you get to your room. That was before 5 years already once better! It is important, that one the room only looks at once before you take! The plant outside of the building is actually still very nice. You could which make it! What is very important. It is completely no matter what one booked for a room. There are people who are charged more money for a room with an ocean view or with balcony. The interested the employees at the reception. On the one hand, because you can't read what was on the vouchers, and on the other, because you didn't have a room with sea view or balcony to provide. You have to which only once clear, that you have to paid more, and the money of the company zurückfordert. Only then will give you a bit of trouble with the room. Otherwise the rooms alternatively somehow forgive. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    For 5 years (3 times a year) i'm at this hotel and had up to this year always a nice and clean room. The european tourists were mostly in the 4000 block. All rooms from sea view no matter, whether directly or sideways. In april 2013 the 4000. Block with beach before, sold. There is now only the 3000. Block to the ocean, however exactly the disco before it. Falling asleep before 2 o'clock in the night is not possible. The bass vibrates, that the edge of the bed wobbled. But dominicans are generally a noisy people and love it loud. The 2000. Block to the garden, is not much quieter and you have all kinds of animals in the room. Ugly green baumwanzen (with us stinkbock syndromal) or wasps and mosquitoes or also lizards. I believe that the current 1000. Block is probably the best. Rooms are without balcony but big windows. Large, clean and above all at the furthest away from the disco! With my current holiday first i had a room in the 3000. Block. Here i had in the bathroom a swimming pool, since the water from the ceiling came. After a violent argument at the front desk, i was another room. This was very large with closet, dressing room and bathroom. The bathroom was very small. Since the entire width of the building took, the balcony all around. That was in 2000. Block. But then also with an appropriate insects in the room. Cleanliness is not largely written. But this is, from the cleaning lady to cleaning lady and also partly dependent on tips. But even my tip has not used. The killed bugs were at the end of my trip still at the same place. Therefore was not only one times the soil was wiped. In the bathroom the mirror was never cleaned. All in all the cleanliness a no-go! The size of the room was acceptable but nothing else. The ceiling tiles were hanging as something goes wrong. But there is simply not repaired or once renovated. I had also partly no water for showering. Even no water and otherwise you must either before 16:30 or after 6:30 p. m. showers. In between are most of the guests in the room to shower and the water pressure is not the state, so that often only trickled the water flows. The size of the bathroom, however, is different. The furniture was simple and functional. However should one 8., that in the closet there were no roaches in the laundry are, otherwise you had the home! The quality of the pool was not. There was once a week, the whole area of insects cleaned (exterminator). There was never something. But also here is now saved!

  • Gastronomy
    1.0

    From seven o'clock gives it to breakfast. As is but usually not provided. The butter then at half 8... The jam to 8... The man behind the counter, the omelets freshly prepared, not tool and is not in the location this to get let alone the gas on routes to bring. Then there were chefs, the not know what an omelet at all is. He skin two fried eggs in the pan, flips the ingredients (cheese, onion, peppers, etc.) Top, wait until the protein is and stings then times with the fork into the egg yolks to make it expires. This is then an omelet! That was also everything times better! Toast need hour, because the toaster is outdated and no longer work properly. Is the basket empty, takes times loosely half an hour until refilled. It makes the breakfast no fun. Lunch i am rather rarely went out to eat. May i now say anything about it. But the dinner is the best! Only half from the buffet with food stocked. No matter which meat, it is a sole or stringy. They know no loin or schnitzel. Even if the door is. It is just another piece of meat as. And there were no sauces. Neither meat nor vegetables. Everything very dry! The dominicans not. There is only at the noodle bar tomato sauce, bolognese, bechamel sauce or a undefinable sauce. When i cook for a sauce for the meat asked, i got the information at the noodle bar sauce to take. But how, please, is because the alleged loin with tomato sauce? And... There is the same every night and then also still cold or lukewarm. On hot food must be altogether. I am therefore almost every evening except house into a restaurant. But i don't need no all inclusive! Also here was the something different. There were theme nights (mexican, italian, spanish, brazilian, etc.) It was probably too expensive!? Then there were still three speciality restaurants (grill restaurant with a nice atmosphere at the beach, dominican restaurant and french restaurant). This is however only french restaurant open. One must staff save! Cleanliness in the restaurant is still sunday The drinks you have to wait for a very long time, if one at all only once one was asked. Tip helps sometimes but not always!

  • Service
    3.0

    The staff is mostly friendly. With even more friendly when getting a tip. A few people are friends of mine, so that i as less had a problem. Otherwise work a foreign word. In the morning at 7, there was breakfast and there are only three tables. Nevertheless it creates any of the three staff even a coffee at the table. Many people walking around, but nobody does what. With 10 guests they are already overstrained! Complaints were taken note of but it happens then nothing more. If something is broken, it took forever until someone took care of it. A few employees were however endeavors a few words in german or english to speak. But exceptions! Room cleaning see above

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    The beach animation i never participated in them. I can't say, since i always diving go. However, there are for evening a theatre. Earlier in the evening live music with a band and separate activities for dancing and a show. As i was always in the evening from 08:30 until 09:30 a. m. dancing. Were all of my friends. Every day there was a beautiful show of 22 to 23 hours. In-house production. Since may 2013 was dismissed with costs to save. There was music by the dj and beach entertainers must daily alternating two for dancing are available. These two but no support for dancing and demolish or sit with guests on the table. The show is served during the week with the guests. You have to the stage and the monkeys make. On fridays and saturdays there is then a real show the outside is purchased. (service) every friday the michael jackson show and saturday a dance show. Sunday is bingo. I then evenings on theater declined. The beach chairs at the pool and beach were already very old. The need to be updated or at least be curious. It is only on the slats which considerable back pain causes. Umbrellas there is no. You have to the beach with the palm trees, exp. The pools are so far in order. Children's playground are also available. The disco starting at 23 o'clock. Here there was in the change merengue, bachata, salsa, reggäton and with good luck even normal pop music. And the whole loudly, so that the music boxes already caw. Talk you can actually nowhere more. In the theater as well. Everything only loud!

  • Hotel
    2.0

    For the last 5 years i am 3-4 times per year in this hotel. The first three years i was thrilled and the hotel each further-recommended. For two years (management replacement) i could now watch, as it downhill was. And now it was definitely the last time in the hotel. I knew from the beginning where i am and that the standard is not as with us. Lots of drawbacks with which one still live. But currently mutated the hotel the last dump. It has a long not more 4 stars. I would possibly not more than two stars. This is even the hoteltester from the television to see! Five years ago there were still flamingos in a beautiful area. Also peacocks running around. Everything was from cost reasons abolished. The staff was at least 50% reduced. I knew once many people there. Today there are only a handful of. A holiday should generally positive start. This hope is a at the reception took. In the morning if one around 3 hours arrives, is expected, that you after a long trip (many hours on the way and tired) until at 15 hours herumsitzt in order to check-in. You ask strongly for a room either claimed, that no room is free, and the cleaning lady only one ready to or one must still extra 20 dollar pay. And that, although the hotel is not even half full. But even if you then the 20 dollar pay for you get a run down room and you should at noon still times report then again to move. If you are unlucky enough, you get only once a room was even occupied and gives you other from the bed. Then again back to the front desk and the game from the front. Seldom you get a decent room. The staff at the front desk don't know what work is. In the dominican republic are very slow. Normal check-in took about 30-40 minutes! If one then finally proud owner of a magnetic card for the room door is, is this not properly programmed for the duration of your stay. Under the circumstances, every 2. or 3. the day to the reception and reprogram keep you get to your room. That was before 5 years already once better! It is important, that one the room only looks at once before you take! The plant outside of the building is actually still very nice. You could which make it! What is very important. It is completely no matter what one booked for a room. There are people who are charged more money for a room with an ocean view or with balcony. The interested the employees at the reception. On the one hand, because you can't read what was on the vouchers, and on the other, because you didn't have a room with sea view or balcony to provide. You have to which only once clear, that you have to paid more, and the money of the company zurückfordert. Only then will give you a bit of trouble with the room. Otherwise the rooms alternatively somehow forgive.

  • Location
    5.0

    The location of the hotel is actually optimal. 20 minutes to the airport of santo domingo. 1 hours in the city of santo domingo (takes longer because of the traffic) 20 minutes from san pedro d. m. 45 minutes to la romana The beach directly before the door. You can from there very many excursions start. But usually not particularly worth it. The best is, if you're going to the diving station with gabi the trip to isla catalina bay. There you can also snorkel and has a beautiful day for 69 dollars. Diving cost extra! Juan dolio itself has many good restaurants and bars. However, it is normal and is part of the normal life, that in every bar the prostitutes sit and wait for customers. You have to just ignore them. On the main road drive during the day always buses to santo domingo or san pedro. Is cheap and you can also do something. However, you should outside of the hotel was already a bit speak spanish. Otherwise you were in a fix. The few locals speak a different language. But helpful you all. For shopping is juan dolio rather not suitable. You have to in the next town! Souvenirs there is of course plenty of.

Close
Helmut
All in all, a successful, nice holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
Neatly arranged, well-kept area in the middle of a park-like garden. There are 3 blocks (1000, 2000, 3000). The often mentioned block 4000 is not available and through a fence from the complex. We were in block 3000. a few steps from the beach, restaurant and reception. We had a room to the garden. The rooms with sea view have the disco in front of the windows and it can until 2 hours early quite noisy. During our stay there were mostly dominican tourists. Americans, some italians, little german and except for us no austrians. From babies to grandma everything ... was represented. Wireless internet is but it is not free. Normal internet gives it for 2 Dollar per hour. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The size of our room was fine. The bathroom is rather small. There is a safe (free of charge), tv, hair dryer, air conditioning, minibar, coffee maker and an iron. Furniture is actually not many and a few were already a bit older. Balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. I have already improve rooms but it is actually only to sleep used. It is okay. Is, i would like to comment on duration not.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    A main restaurant, 2 specialty restaurants, 1 disco and 4 bars. The speciality restaurants we didn't use. The food in buffet form was surprisingly good. Meat, chicken, fish, reichlisch local vegetables, rice potatoes and a spaghettitheke. So there should be something for everyone. After a week the selection of dishes repeated. Cleanliness and hygiene were ok. When serving the drinks were sometimes delays. The waiters you must from the bar which already times 10 minutes lasted. The next day they were again immediately on the table. Except for the weekends was always enough space and the restaurant was empty.

  • Service
    5.0

    With the exception of the reception staff was friendly and helpful. At the reception you had the feeling to be a bother. Hardly anyone could speak german. With reasonably english but you get along pretty well. Room cleaning was in order. There was a doctors practice the supposedly 24 hour is occupied. Is at least at the door. But we didn't use them. The defect minibar was within 1 hour repaired.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    We didn't use the pool. At the beach there were Volleyball, stretching, aerobics and small games. The entertainers were not pushy. Showers at the beach are present. The lounge chairs are a bit dated but not broken. There are not sun screens for plenty of palm trees and other trees. The evening shows start at 22 hours. Since one has unfortunately after eating a hole. Unless you eat only at 21 o'clock. The shows only for dominicans and americans. On europeans is not taken into consideration. The level was not great.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Neatly arranged, well-kept area in the middle of a park-like garden. There are 3 blocks (1000, 2000, 3000). The often mentioned block 4000 is not available and through a fence from the complex. We were in block 3000. a few steps from the beach, restaurant and reception. We had a room to the garden. The rooms with sea view have the disco in front of the windows and it can until 2 hours early quite noisy. During our stay there were mostly dominican tourists. Americans, some italians, little german and except for us no austrians. From babies to grandma everything was represented. Wireless internet is but it is not free. Normal internet gives it for 2 Dollar per hour.

  • Location
    4.0

    As i said to the beach it was only a few steps away. The further the back rooms are also only max 3-4 minutes away. Transfer time was about 2 hours. The airport in santo domingo would be much closer but we were in Punta Cana landed. A few stores in the hotel. Before the hotel there is a shop of the actually had everything. Souvenirs, drinks, food, batteries, cigarettes etc. Right next to a shop the excursions offered. Otherwise is nothing in the area to do.

Close
Andrea
Great beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
The size of the room was ok, it was not the newest but for sleeping and showers was ok. The grounds were very well kept and clean! The staff was friendly, not always the fastest, but helpful. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The room was for 2 people a good size quiet, clean, nicely furnished, the bed was already somewhat worn out, the armatures not the best and the air conditioning system dripped occasionally, but all tolerable!

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    The food was always warm, taste however little diversity, did not disturb however further there was always something for everyone what my taste! Tables, cutlery, plates, everything was always clean. Beverages were partly somewhat crowded with ice but that is no minus told the less, and good.

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff was friendly, helpful and tried hard, the mentality is everything was a bit different but pleasant. With a little english, but it works with hands, feet and a smile. The handling of complaints i can't say had nothing to complain about.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    The range of activities is a bit poor, entertainment is not so great, well or it is mainly noise, but you can which keep away! The people of the diving school were very obtrusive and pushy, we wanted to only about the prices and the wanted us just everything possible intrusion with reservations and signatures, that was already very unpleasant. Furthermore, the everything tries prevent us to Lisa and the wildest whoppers invented, but we despite all Lisa and were very satisfied! The facilities include beach chairs, umbrellas, bar were not the newest but ok.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    The size of the room was ok, it was not the newest but for sleeping and showers was ok. The grounds were very well kept and clean! The staff was friendly, not always the fastest, but helpful.

  • Location
    3.0

    The hotel is right on the beach, we had to not far at all and a lot of walking. In Juan dolio there wasn't much to discover, or to experience, it is rather dead obs at the off season or it is generally always so is i sadly can't say! Something from the land and people watch, we have several excursions, but we did not at the tour operator booked (expensive). We booked on Lisa, small travel agency on the beach right out about 400m was great, much to see, hear and experience at great prices!

Close
Rahmi
Barcelo capella beach, Juan dolio
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
The Hotel Barcelo capella beach Juan dolio is relatively good. The resort itself is beautiful. Very much green, small animals like lizards, crabs are antreffbar what i found. Our room in building 3 with terrace and sea view was no 3 minutes away by the sea it was unfortunately was the disco 50 meters away where from 22 to 2 o'clock extremely loudly celebrated, every day. The food was very good. The buffet is really something for every taste (3 meals a day) and the bars were also satisfactory. The cleanliness of the hotel room was in derogation which the ... staff was. Time was only superficially cleaned and another time a different lady each corner cleaned. Unfortunately the drive from the Punta Cana International Airport lengthy, travel time about 2 hours and 15 minutes. The beach is clean and, in addition to a security monitored. The water is nice and warm and clean. Poor in my opinion were the information were given. The wanted is null. One had all the information itself soliciting, guide was contacted by telephone and personally past (4 days after our arrival) but i would have liked more descriptive information requested. There was internet access in the form of wireless internet and stationary computers against an extra charge of 1 0 us Dollar per day what a cheek and therefore also not used. Nevertheless the vacation was fantastically beautiful. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 9