Hotel Ypsilon / Ypsylon(2 stars)

Moragalla View on map

Average rating

61 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.0
  • Room
    4.8
  • Service
    5.3
  • Location
    4.6
  • Food and Drinks
    4.9
  • Sport & entertain
    4.8
Filters
You selected:
27 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date
Wolfgang
Nice resort with limitations at Ayurveda
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Countryside & spa
  • March 2014
First the positives. The 'upsilon' is located on a beautiful beach and due to the offshore reef one can swim wonderful artificial, almost an exception on the west coast, and has a nice pool under frangopangi trees. The staff is friendly, warm yes, and made a great effort, the pool is enormous of national and international dishes. Our room was immaculate clean and was cleaned every day. But Dagmar, the owner, could be engaged more on, at least, if you greet the guests through the complex. It is a absurd, that again and again guests sit in the dining room ... the food in the trunk, and the mind is unpleasant. Nice and polite staff you can of course not the request, that it will, this would be the task of the Dagmar. Wi-fi is free, but often do not and if, then incredibly slow. We had two weeks Ayurveda inclusive. The treatments in the spa are absolutely okay and doctors and therapists give themselves large trouble. We were essentially satisfied. There were some flaws, but i want to not here the signs, as Dagmar has announced, to overcome them. Conclusion: the 'upsilon' is a really recommendable hotel, but, as Ayurveda is concerned, some homework to do here. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Julia
Not that the pearl of the indian ocean
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • July 2013
We fly for 20 years after Sri Lanka and for the 3. time the ypsylon. For us Sri Lanka the most beautiful spot in the world. This year i have my man to Sri Lanka married and my family and friends have traveled. Overall, we were 15 people in ypsylon and it was perfect nice. The ypsylon is a simple but very clean and nice hotel right beside the sea. You wake up with a sea view. What is better? Dagmar, the manager of the hotel is always present and ask for the sensitivities. The staff is always very friendly ... and you feel in this small family hotel was very comfortable. To Sri Lanka itself: it is meaningful enough, if you the 20. time after Sri Lanka fly. We love the food, the scenery, the people, everything. On touring the many facets of this beautiful island. The wildlife and landscape of sri lanka is simple as in the paradise. After our 4 most beautiful weeks of the year, we are now back in Germany and we have to once again to get used to. We are already looking forward to the next year, we definitely stay there again when Dagmar and the ypsylon will spend! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Julia
Great as always nice
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • June 2013
We have been coming for the 3. time the ypsylon and for the 20. time after Sri Lanka. It is always beautiful. The hotel right on the beach. One is awake with the sea views. Dagmar, the boss, is always there and ask for the sensitivities. I cannot awarten to come back again! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Nicole
For a resort value for money okay.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
It is a resort and you can't expect. Value for money is very good. Very good food and staff is very friendly. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Silvia & Christioph
A little piece of paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
We are as a group, consisting of 5 persons from three generations traveling. For us it was a wonderful and unforgettable vacation. We Are on the final day very nostalgic flew home. We can only say, that we lots of countries saw, But this vacation was unique and incomparable. The hospitality of the sri lankaner, the great guesthouse with the beautiful Sandy beach, great location and delicious food. The guesthouse is right on the sandy beach. There is nothing, what a from the fine sand and the waves of the ocean from. The building is one level and surrounded by ... lots of palm trees. %blank% by the pool, as well as on the surface in front of the hotel (right in the port to the beach) for sufficient sun shades. Of course, there is for sun-hungry also lie is. The hotel fits very well in the area a. We also very pleasant found, that it almost no beach boys are, a wanted to sell something. Perhaps 2-3 are per day past come. If one shopping, one needed only a few minutes the beach walk along in the direction the large hotels! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had luxury rooms with air-conditioning booked. The rooms are big, the furnishing is not modern, but functional and you will find everything you need. In many other reviews can be read, that the rooms worn should be, we can't confirm this. Our group had 3 rooms, and all have Fit. The bathroom is with a shower. Every room has terrace or balcony. The rooms are clean, she are cleaned on a daily basis – also mopped. Towels and bed sheets will on request (or 2 times the week) accomplished, Here you will find small in the room, you simply for the room service to see places. Here also big praise to takes!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    You can only room or with breakfast or half board. We had the half board and were very satisfied. In the morning you could between sri lankanischen, 'normal' breakfast and müsli choose. The european option There are tea or coffee, toast, delicious jams (pineapple, papaya, mango.) , fresh fruits or fresh squeezed Juice and eggs to choice (scrambled eggs, omelets, poached egg.). When sri lankanischen breakfast every morning Something else – this depends on a frühstücksplan from. For dinner there is also a month plan, the very varied is. It is sri lankanische kitchen, but also german and international Cuisine. On request once another dinner to be ordered. This gives you just a few hours Before the meal answer. Also good, that the local food a sharp sauce on request Got. So that everyone could the acuity of his court to decide for themselves. Delicious also the dishes with fresh seafood and fish, of course, also plentiful in the half board- menu Included, but you should want riesenlangusten or other delicious have, you need only order the day before and you She gets on the next day freshly caught from the private fisheries – super! The restaurant from 7 o'clock in the morning until 23 o'clock in the evening always opened. Breakfast from 7 to 11 o'clock, so ideal for those that want to sleep And dinner from 18 hours until 23 o'clock. à la carte you can always order something. Super were also the breakfast, which one gets, if you take a trip a little earlier start.

  • Service
    6.0

    The room boys, the waiters, the ladies at the reception, just all of the staff are always friendly and fulfill all wishes. Day trips or short trips but also whole tours directly in the guesthouse be booked. The drivers are on request english or german-speaking. We booked a 3-day tour and several supplements Day trips. We have a lot of the country and the unique hospitality enjoyed.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pool: beautiful behind the guest house in the garden located and surrounded by lots of palm trees. Highlight is probably the hammocks, In which one wonderful place to relax. Also chairs are enough available! The pool is on the one hand, flat and on the other Page approximately 3 meters deep. The pool is very clean, not huge, but was completely enough. Entertainment: there is a guest house to relax, to the go on excursions and around the country to get to know. The long sandy beach invited to Walks. There is no animation and that is also well like that! Sport : in the guesthouse there was also a diving school. This is very recommendable! Everything was very well organized, for safety is ensured ( sauerstoffkoffer Was always on board), less experienced divers get one diving guide. The tauchplatzbesprechung before the dives in german and in english. The equipment is modern and in very good condition! Now to the underwater world: it is true, that the zunami some coral reefs strongly damaged, But in low depths of 10-12 meters whole swarms of fish swam to see – just amazing.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We are as a group, consisting of 5 persons from three generations traveling. For us it was a wonderful and unforgettable vacation. We Are on the final day very nostalgic flew home. We can only say, that we lots of countries saw, But this vacation was unique and incomparable. The hospitality of the sri lankaner, the great guesthouse with the beautiful Sandy beach, great location and delicious food. The guesthouse is right on the sandy beach. There is nothing, what a from the fine sand and the waves of the ocean from. The building is one level and surrounded by lots of palm trees. %blank% by the pool, as well as on the surface in front of the hotel (right in the port to the beach) for sufficient sun shades. Of course, there is for sun-hungry also lie is. The hotel fits very well in the area a. We also very pleasant found, that it almost no beach boys are, a wanted to sell something. Perhaps 2-3 are per day past come. If one shopping, one needed only a few minutes the beach walk along in the direction the large hotels!

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located right at the fine sandy beach a bit remote from the large high rise hotels. The beach is from a reef protected, which approximately 300 meters outside the large waves breaks. So you can at any time in the wonderfully warm indian ocean swimming-which in Sri Lanka was not like that everywhere! The transfer to the hotel takes about 1,5-2 hours, depending on traffic. The guest house is not right on the main street, you will come across a small side street to the hotel. Therefor is the location also very quiet and you hear just from time to time a car drive past. The location is for day trips top. Briefgarten : circa 20 minutes, largest buddha the island: about 15 minutes, galle : about 1,5 hours. There are shops at 50 metres on foot (small shop for groceries) or in the next larger town 10 minutes with the tuk tuk, there There is as well numerous restaurants.

Close
Miloslav
Pleasant vacation in Sri Lanka
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
You can fenjoy beautiful nature, wonderful monuments and pleasant helpful people in Srí Lanka. Sightseen tours and entrance fees are generally overpriced. The food is very tasty. Using hotel services only ( transports sightseens etc.) is forced, what is strongly unpleasant. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Rudolf
Ideal for swimming
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2013
The just a few meters from the ' ysylon' away beach is by offshore reefs and islands protected And therefore ideal for a bath or swimming vacation! Attentive and friendly staff, as well as the relaxed atmosphere by Numerous tribe and long-term guests appreciated. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Wolfgang
Nice hotel with exceptions
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
The quality is so nice and friendly as we had not so ever experienced. In contrast to this had the owner of the hotel and his son no greeting for the guests desired, several times greeted we by the pool lying to the owners, which only a grimmigen, obsessive view of us had. The range of dishes and their quality were excellent. The pool in the garden the hotel was great clean and wonderfully quiet. We had in our luxury rooms unfortunately no place to sit. Also would be a fridge a useful complement to a comfort room. Wireless worked ... in the restaurant very good. It was thanks to the very nice service team really enjoyed. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Sabine
Not again
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
There is better possibilities, spend your holiday. The building has gotten old. Apparently, the owner in includes mafia-like activities involved. We are after 5 days to the neighbors changed. Newer house, clean, cheaper, nicer people, better food. Unfortunately is Sri Lanka altogether very dirty, garbage, misery, many wild, räudige dogs, dirty beaches, much fraud and fraud, tourists will be everywhere except. We travel next time elsewhere. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.8
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    2.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    3.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    1.0
    Quality of the beach
    1.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    1.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Rainer
Family-run hotel for relaxing
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
An ideal hotel for relaxing. The location on middle beach is great. Those who seek peace and quiet this is the correct place. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Manfred
Very nice resort directly at the beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
Very nice resort directly at the beach I had my long-term vacation from 3 months in ypsylon resort, an excellent resort with a perfect value for money- hotel with about 26 rooms small but sweet. Room, kitchen, front desk, staff under the guidance of manager Dagmar all expectations arrived or exceeded. With the hotel's own small busses you can great travel undertake, whereby particularly the driver sunil (german speaking) for each personal perfect trip put together and at the same time as tour operator everything perfect said. The ypsylon resort is located in my opinion at the most beautiful beach ... section of beruwela to bentota, where you after desire and mood under palms eat indoor or outside area take can. I can the ypsylon resort absolutely recommend and just say, if someone your vacation in Sri Lanka to spend, bay in the resort (no noise, no animation, no annoying beachboys etc.) Small but sweet read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.7
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Asichris
Nice hotel, however never again Sri Lanka
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2012
We spend in this hotel overall 10 days. The waiters and cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful! The owner is nice. The food in the hotel is really very good, but a bit more expensive than outside. Unfortunately, there was around the hotel not much entertainment or restaurants. The room was always very clean cleaned. Unfortunately we had a few animals in the room (many ants, geckos. And so on.) Against the from the reception only with a smile was done! In the all in all the hotel has its star rating, the service staff is very friendly ... and the 'beach' is reasonably! (the water but quiet. Is ideal for swimming) To Sri Lanka itself: we would certainly not again again in the future. The natives are very clingy, pushy, want the money out of your pockets and cheat (there are certainly exceptions. Unfortunately we had this never caught)! The whole country is terribly dirty and there is very lots of dogs! What popular attractions yet at the end: the fortress in galle! The is really nice and very interesting! Careful watch out: the fortress has 7 days in the week at 24 hours open! Us wanted a local cheat and a restaurant skew, since the fortress allegedly had closed! (the tourist information has said, that the fortress never closed) Yale national park is a sight, but too expensive and we had not a single elephants to face! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Sarah
Perfect seaside location without music, entertainment
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • October 2012
Who a hotel at the beach would like to, german food preferred, has no english knowledge, no animation and no music acoustic irradiation need, is in the right place here. For a connection with the outside world is a laptop required. The german manager is not on. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Jennifer
100% recommendation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2012
Small however fine plant. Owner Dagmar was always very present and with many tips at any time to the side confessed. We have us in the ypsylon felt good. The staff was very friendly, the food very delicious. Value for money superb. (both property, and the food). Not only the local food was delicious, even the german kitchen was to our surprise very good. With the belonging to the hotel driver (sunil) we have short-day trips undertaken. We have said, what we think, he has made proposals and on the next day went already starts ☺ also planning tours would ... have been possible. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Rooms were very big. Were cleaned daily. Bedlinen and towel change at any time on request.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Everything very uncomplicatedly, kitchen has in the morning 7 hours-22 hours sunday and the, although not even main season was. You could have your food eat when and where you wanted. (outer area of the restaurant, interior of the restaurant, on the terrace of the room or on the sun loungers (snack in the afternoon). We have found very pleasant, at no time schedule connection.

  • Service
    6.0

    Very friendly staff. Very attentive. All spoke a little german.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is a pool, but we not so frequently used, because we wanted to be right next to the sea were. There are enough sunbeds with cushions. Umbrellas needed you weren't, the palms have to order enough shade. Wireless internet in the restaurant and lobby is free. Dive club and 2 boats include to the hotel. We are for example even with the boat as well as a 3 hours cruise made. Also that was, as everything in ypsylon, at short notice and spontaneously.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Small however fine plant. Owner Dagmar was always very present and with many tips at any time to the side confessed. We have us in the ypsylon felt good. The staff was very friendly, the food very delicious. Value for money superb. (both property, and the food). Not only the local food was delicious, even the german kitchen was to our surprise very good. With the belonging to the hotel driver (sunil) we have short-day trips undertaken. We have said, what we think, he has made proposals and on the next day went already starts ☺ also planning tours would have been possible.

  • Location
    6.0

    Great location, directly at the beach. 20 metres from the bed to the sea ☺ the next town with the tuk tuk about minutes away. There also many purchase possibilities, nice restaurants.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Sabine
Here you can really 'bear' archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • April 2012
The Wye is a real surprise. If you have a pleasant value for money would like to experience, then you are here. Great beach, brilliant view, but also possibility for excursions either in the hotel or at the beach or before the türe offered! Relax, walks, diving, everything is possible here! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Ralf
Best location on site and really friendly archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2012
Staff super friendly and helpful. Minor drawbacks in the room, no AC. If you don't luxury needs, but rest and relaxation want is right at home here. Good Ayurveda area. Stay may also tours be suspended. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Vera
Guesthouse to be comfortable archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2012
We are after 2,5 weeks in Ypsylon come home. we had a beautiful comfort room direct view of the see, everything was perfect reasonable and very clean. Was sometimes to complain about, ants in the bathroom, was immediately reacted. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Room was large and sufficient. On the balcony we could under the roof also with rains super to sit there.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    very good value for money. The Cream at Noon delicious ☺. everything we tried was delicious. Requests for extra prepared fish were gladly and above all things good in terms of taste fulfilled. Reorder for breakfast was never a problem.

  • Service
    5.0

    everybody was very friendly and have all requests fulfilled. Great we found, that bed sheets and towels only as needed were changed. Rooms were always spotless.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Since we only the pool and the sea used have, we can 't further information. For us however fully sufficient. More we didn't want that anyway.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We are after 2,5 weeks in Ypsylon come home. we had a beautiful comfort room direct view of the see, everything was perfect reasonable and very clean. Was sometimes to complain about, ants in the bathroom, was immediately reacted.

  • Location
    6.0

    great location direct at the beach with and bathing possibilities/ snorkeling to the lying off reef, we have long walks at the beach and with our personal small trains Driver the area explored on foot.

Close
Eveline & Edgar
nice and well run hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2012
The Wye is a very recommendable small guest house/hotel, where we 2 weeks super felt at ease have. we have a room with a view of the sea and breakfast booked. Sufficient breakfast with coffee, tea, fresh fruit juices after election, jams and different egg dishes. the guests come too many from Germany and Austria, we did some places met. The age structure rather from 40 to 45 years and older. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    rooms are practically furnished, with fan and mosquito net. in front of the rooms on the large terrace, enjoy magnificent sunsets in a comfortable seating area with table. Unfortunately had the room has no fridge and no kettle, what we actually a great shame found.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The restaurant of the Wye offers a very good value for money with a large menu of local and German kitchen.

  • Service
    6.0

    the friendliness the service and staff was very pleasant, they even German spoken the rooms were daily our fullest satisfaction cleaned.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    The Wye is a very recommendable small guest house/hotel, where we 2 weeks super felt at ease have. we have a room with a view of the sea and breakfast booked. Sufficient breakfast with coffee, tea, fresh fruit juices after election, jams and different egg dishes. the guests come too many from Germany and Austria, we did some places met. The age structure rather from 40 to 45 years and older.

  • Location
    6.0

    The Wye is located right on the clean, fine grain sandy beach and inviting for swimming a on quiet sea, due to a lying off reef. The large lawn for sunbathing of the Wye with sufficient beach chairs with sufficient Schattenplätzchen through the many palm trees. possibilities for excursions the gasthaus offered. options for shopping in the nearby Store (means really so), as well as in nächsgelegenen place Alutgama, which with the small trains, in about 10 minutes to reach is.

Close
Anton
good value for money
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2012
immediate on ocean located Inn, CIRCA 25 rooms, we had a fairly decent and clean room with enough room on the balcony-Gallery, no air-conditioner. Breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, 3 slices of toast per person, a little butter, jams and 2 eggs. Tools were at a charge zubestellbar. Too many older guests, lots of them Long term (up to 3 months) with appropriate ' Kleingärtnermentalität ' will say: it is a quite difficult, contact to this group to get. For the is worthwhile at a short stay not. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Adequate furniture, about 30 square meters, no extras such as fridge, air conditioning, safe. Bathroom simple but functional, shower without right water pressure. The promised Toilettebartkel consisted of a piece soap.

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    beautiful outdoor space to use meal times / drinks right next to the sea under palm trees. Dining room inside rather simple. good kitchen, enough big Portions, we always get a portion with 2 plates taken, we easily enough. Small map, however German, Sri Lanka and international dishes available. Tools to order possible

  • Service
    4.0

    friendly staff, tip in central box, thereby no term Kleingeldsuchen arrival. English and knowledge of German available. Manchmanl orders something overburdened, but always nice and unobtrusive.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    small pool and ping-Pong table, that was it then.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    immediate on ocean located Inn, CIRCA 25 rooms, we had a fairly decent and clean room with enough room on the balcony-Gallery, no air-conditioner. Breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, 3 slices of toast per person, a little butter, jams and 2 eggs. Tools were at a charge zubestellbar. Too many older guests, lots of them Long term (up to 3 months) with appropriate ' Kleingärtnermentalität ' will say: it is a quite difficult, contact to this group to get. For the is worthwhile at a short stay not.

  • Location
    4.0

    immediate at the beach quite nice location. Good for swimming, since a reef lying off is. Beach not children suitable. Walks on the beach are right strenuous - zuumindest the first about 500 meters are depending on tide quite difficult to commit. Then a super beach, about 1 kilometer, until the bentota river very good accessible, flat, children suitable. Variety at the beach by bars, restaurants beach vendors and small shops.

Close
Ulla
Relaxing paradise landscape archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2012
A guest house to the be comfortable with wonderful view of sea, beach, Palms and sunsets. The building busy very friendly staff, tried to fulfill every request. I would come back again very soon! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
1