Hotel Riu Palace Aruba(5 stars)

J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 79 Palm Beach - Palm Beach View on map

Average rating

77 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.5
  • Room
    4.7
  • Service
    4.8
  • Location
    5.2
  • Food and Drinks
    4.7
  • Sport & entertain
    4.4
Filters
You selected:
22 hotel reviews for undefinedsorted by travel date
Georg
Luxury which i loved
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
The Riu Aruba palace is enormous, i guess about 850 rooms, the all universe inclusive to be rented. Condition of the houses (main house and two side wing) spotless, well maintained and cleaned. In all guestrooms and the lobby is free wireless internet to receive. The guests are almost exclusively us-american and venezuelan. The few europeans english. Average age i would with 45 specify. Many young american couple, obviously as honeymoon. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a standard room with a french balcony, size about 30 square meter with bathroom and dressing room (if the walk-in closet so want to call. Good condition of all equipment: 2 king size beds, each as a double bed can be used, seating area with table, chest of drawers and was a night table with telephone, radio, bedlight. Closet with tv (never turned on, ka what programmes) with drawers beneath. Minibar with refrigerator, coffee maker and so-called ' liquer -dispensers', four upright hanging 1 liter bottles Bacardi, smirnov, red label whisky and cognac, for free service. Bathroom (tub, also available as the shower) with toilet. Smallest french balcony, a person could stand on it to outside to smoke. Air conditioning with a good function. In the room hangs thermostat however, it is old and clamped. The system are-unfortunately only three days before our departure with a cleaning of the area through the staff noticed-behind the small metallklappe above, these can by pressing against ejoy. Cleanliness without criticism, it is 2 times daily cleaned. In the evening during the food is, the bed was turned down, the towels again changed and the trash emptied.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Main restaurant and 4 time à la carte (steakhouse, asian, italian and the krystal, the probably due to Nobel american to do). 5 bars located on the property, one at the pool/beach access. A 24 hour bar (sports bar in the main building, which also offers snacks eggshell). The quality of the food in the main restaurant was great. It was always fresh, one sees partly in preparation to. You can, of course, the american taste and it hot and greasy take (there are always burgers and fries ready), but it has a vast selection of salads, fruit, desserts and even amuse beech buffet. Sometimes there were theme evenings, otherwise, the menu repeated after a week. à la carte: always mornings 8-11 hours for the same night. It is not a problem, to get places! The steakhouse Nautilus makes in the evening delicious surf & turf, steak with crayfish, the italian chef but never was Italy, except for the starters has nothing to do. The asian is nice, but also badly. At the krystal we were not. All in all nice, but the main restaurant offers more. Atmosphere is typically american, with welcome and be-seated. Nicely set, but the drinks were partly (beer, Cola) canned drinks ☹ it must not be. The champagne to all meals is free, also for breakfast there were always bottle with orange juice mix to leave. Tips are gladly taken, the americans very much given, but the service has no direct impact, if you're not so.

  • Service
    5.0

    I found the staff to be more than extremely courteous and helpful. A complaint (broken lamp) was not only within a few minutes on a sunday done, but also from the front desk asked, whether everything was ok. Language: language english. Spanish is also very well, however no german, although curiously all the signs, menus in german. Room cleaning 2 times per day. It is also 2 times a day the towels were changed. Everything, which used looks, even hung up again, will be exchanged. Cleaning available in the house, bag is located in the closet under the tv.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Sport: there was next to the pool a very well-equipped and visited fitness center (from 7a 19 hours). Eineindeutiges plus. Pool: i was never in it. Why? There are wonderful sea and beach a few steps away. At the pool often very loud animation, couches around close to each other, from the early morning reserved with towels. Children's swimming pool and kid's club available (not used). At the pool the pool bar, the care on the beach with disputes. It is there somewhat more frequently cleaned, the sticky floor from the many spilt drinks is in the afternoon often unpleasant. The same on the beach. There are also many beach chairs in good condition, they were always sufficient, however only very few parasols. These places are from 6 o'clock reserved in the morning. Curious because, very often emerges during the day no, it remains unused. Showers at the pool and on the beach. The beach is for a hotel of this size much too small! Everything is public, you can also in the neighbor hotel for swimming (where often it was empty is), but not their beach chairs and umbrellas to use

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The Riu Aruba palace is enormous, i guess about 850 rooms, the all universe inclusive to be rented. Condition of the houses (main house and two side wing) spotless, well maintained and cleaned. In all guestrooms and the lobby is free wireless internet to receive. The guests are almost exclusively us-american and venezuelan. The few europeans english. Average age i would with 45 specify. Many young american couple, obviously as honeymoon.

  • Location
    4.0

    Direct beach location, distance to the airport by taxi (25 us $) about 20 minutes In Palm Beach, so the area the hochhaushotels, there is within walking distance of lots of other hotels, restaurants and a few shops. In the evening also ' amusierbetrieb ' on the other side of the town, on the highway. Otherwise there was nothing in the 'town' Excursions on the island: diagonally opposite, at the 'old dutch windmill' is a car rental from avis, the considerably cheaper than in the hotel (small car with avis with all kilometer, air conditioning and automatic 48 us$ Links to the public transport: the right and left of the hotel are a few meters farther bus stops. The bus to Oranjestad (capital) runs very frequently, about every 20-30 minutes. Often holds also a priv. Minibus at the station and take the same rate with (2 us $)

Close
Thomas
Top hotel in Karibik
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
Great hotel in Karibik. The room is terrific. Large beds with always filled minibar. Zimmervermieter very good. Several restaurants. Everything was very friendly. Located directly at the beach with a great bright sand and himmelblauen sea. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Peter
Dreamlike but loud Aruba
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2012
First, a briefly said: The price is a five star hotel not worthy and the price-performance ratio is also okay not. The air-conditioning devices the room are not rational to adjust. It is in the room silent, however the klimakühler in the courtyard 24 hours day full to hear. We had room to yard. The hotel is rather new but certainly not older than 10 years. It fits however not to the overall impression Food is essentially american customers -greasy, but varied. A casino in the hotel is certainly positively mentioned should be the on Aruba rather standard. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    The bathroom is with effort than three stars standard to see with a bath and toilet whereby the two washbasin already in the room are installed. Cleanliness of the room is however ok.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The food is the us american standard: fatty and rich. After about one week is also another fare from the nearby restaurants recommendable. Cleanliness and hygiene in the restaurant area is ok. In the hotel there is 2 restaurants to visit you have to sign up for. 2 more restaurants the almost any time to be able to receive visits.

  • Service
    5.0

    On Aruba everyone speaks English and spanish. German was rather less represented. The staff are very friendly.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    That is in our opinion completely insufficient. It was from o'clock until about 18 hours with a solid noise disturbance by the eternal animation to be expected. We wanted peace and the in the hotel clear not found. Those who seek peace and quiet is in the hotel guaranteed wrong hands. To the cleanliness there is to say, that the loungers area around the pool massive with expired drinks tape was the only poorly removed. On Aruba it rains then and when however cannot the dried layers of bargetränken release. The loungers and the mats are certainly not a 5 star standard-more building supplies store level.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    First, a briefly said: The price is a five star hotel not worthy and the price-performance ratio is also okay not. The air-conditioning devices the room are not rational to adjust. It is in the room silent, however the klimakühler in the courtyard 24 hours day full to hear. We had room to yard. The hotel is rather new but certainly not older than 10 years. It fits however not to the overall impression Food is essentially american customers -greasy, but varied. A casino in the hotel is certainly positively mentioned should be the on Aruba rather standard.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel located directly at the Palm beach and thus fully at the sea. The beach is absolutely wonderful. Water is crystal clear and generally everything very clean. In addition nearly no waves and no current exists you can fully and concerns/free of fear to go swimming. The proximity to the capital Oranjestad is pleasant and by taxi to 11 Dollar to make. The bus costs etwa 2 Dollar and is recommendable. Right on the beach there are plenty of possibilities from jet ski up to bananaboot, as well as snorkel trips is to do all of that. Aruba is the water sports and diving possibilities great. By the size of the island are the possibilities the country was rather small.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Sandra
dream vacation in the Caribbean 'Aruba' archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2012
the hotel RIU Palace alone is optically a absolute highlight. Over the cleanliness and the condition of the hotel we can nothing bad to say. We have stayed in different countries and different hotels on the same category and this was the best! however should any German clear, there were not many'German' will find. We have 14 days whole 4 German seen and heard, apart from that too many Americans and Spanish. All very pleasant and not disturbing, very kontaktfreundlich and funny. That means however that the staff NO German speaks, but with 'English' well get along. Gästetrunk unfortunately we ... did not get, however this was probably due to our responsible lady from TUI (but in addition I come perhaps later still) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    the rooms are also super. Clean and reasonable from the beds and facilities, however NO German TV Channels! Private ironing board and iron, a perfect minibar with Cola, water, beer, Vodka, cognac, a coffee machine and everything 'all inclusive' PS: some guests are however gladly times which louder and the around midnight... But you can nevertheless sleep well!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Dining we can only say: we in 14 days determined put on 3 kilos! we have never seen such a food: no matter, whether in the morning or at noon or it pays off in turn all evenings. The buffet is a dream and a huge large compliment to the chefs. Never was a bit cold or empty... Almost never has a bit repetitive (except fries, Rice and vegetables)! cleanliness, enough room, drinks... EVERYTHING perfect!

  • Service
    5.0

    friendliness of the staff: SUPER! foreign languages skills I have already told, for German... Unfortunately no! cleaning of the rooms: SUPER dealing in case of any problems. Well, I had mentioned it:we had the vacation through TUI and unfortunately we had the bad luck, that when we fly should Frankfurt striked was. We would have of Amsterdam to Frankfurt flies and that this flight was anuliert. We asked now TUI locally for us to ask (with KLM airline company), as and when we come home. Unfortunately the TUI only with the TUI-office in Germany briefly closed, they can't review it, clearly went about the KLM and we were solely I said ' you must on airport look and, where appropriate, by train go home, at your own expense '. We then finally had the KLM Germany called and with a lot of back and forth we are come home. This was a 'no-go' because what is a carers locally? Oh well...

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Pool: super, with 'swim-in-bar' and the boys and girls are really on the ball! animation: fun, laughter and good mood guaranteed and not pushy or disturbing. well, and umbrellas by the pool and especially at the beach unfortunately a little too few. by the pool it was however at the beach one must in the morning at 7 o'clock a umbrella reserve or otherwise with the hot sun EXP!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    the hotel RIU Palace alone is optically a absolute highlight. Over the cleanliness and the condition of the hotel we can nothing bad to say. We have stayed in different countries and different hotels on the same category and this was the best! however should any German clear, there were not many'German' will find. We have 14 days whole 4 German seen and heard, apart from that too many Americans and Spanish. All very pleasant and not disturbing, very kontaktfreundlich and funny. That means however that the staff NO German speaks, but with 'English' well get along. Gästetrunk unfortunately we did not get, however this was probably due to our responsible lady from TUI (but in addition I come perhaps later still)

  • Location
    5.0

    the hotel lies direct at the beach! A dream beach as imagined if you are in the Caribbean fly. The sea... A dream! The panorama over the bay... A dream... options for shopping are also given, about 5 minutes hike. Many great restaurants, bars and a hard rock café (and the guys there are absolutely great!) for Bowlingfreunde and naturally Spielfreunde (casino) to about 15 minutes hike a big fun center and town center also further stores( boutiques etc.) well, possibilities for excursions: we have an island round travel with 'Willie'. This is the travel guide the originally from Düsseldorf and since 30 years on Aruba lives in the truest sense of the word. The island tour is great and one had a lot to laugh about. Advantage is, that a much and at places with a private car on own fist never would find because all sights ( for example Charlys bar, natural bridge) are not marked and it pays off in turn all, if they are found, not on German declared for a purpose and story have. So tell 'Willie' very much on Aruba and its story. Invested prefer this 45 dollars instead of a car to borrow... Furthermore, there is the 'sunset cruise' - catamaran go on sunset simply brilliant. Horse-riding is also an experience and is have fun. Great horses, great guide and nature pUR... The goal is a ostrich farm and this guaranteed 100% fun (but everything on English...)

Close
Frank
(Almost) perfect vacation of archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2011
Our second time at the riu. This time we were not disappointed. Riu palace Aruba is not a new hotel but therefor very, very clean. Everywhere was cleaned and swept. The rooms were great with very large beds. We had no view of the sea, but still got, because all the rooms have view of the sea. Cost: 2400 €per person for two weeks. All-inclusive, which in view of the benefits is not too much. Great choice-here, everyone could find something-, the entire hotel is air-conditioned which at the food was pleasant, but for sensitive people could be problematic. The ... air conditioning in the room is easy to adjust. We had it turned off at night. Drawback: only a few children there mainly couples in the honeymoon or senior guests (mainly USA-citizens) evening entertainment: Well, we are talking about it better. Also in this hotel palace of the daily fight for pool chairs and umbrellas by the pool on the beach. If you want good places, have to put your towel seven o'clock cheap. We had two very nice weeks with the same degree temperatures of 28-30 and can recommend this hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    2.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Horst
Immediately again archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2011
too many Americans and Canadians. Little Europeans. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    the size more than adequate. air conditioning a bit unusual for us. (loud)

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    4 restaurants, 2 bars, 1 casino all inclusive. Food tasty and varied.

  • Service
    5.0

    the staff are friendly and helpful. We arrived by a bit of English very well. the rooms very clean. 2 time per day new towels. no complaints had.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    animation a bit noisy-but what soll's . internet in the sports bar, expensive. beach and pool very clean, the 'occupied' the loungers held itself within limits.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    too many Americans and Canadians. Little Europeans.

  • Location
    5.0

    to the beach a few meters. Since the island very small is, we were in 4 hours with the visit to All sights by.

Close
Jürgen
great hotel, great people archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2011
in the RIU Palace Aruba is an upscale beach hotel. the both condition is very good. Cleanliness leave nothing to be desired. the lobby is a large, closed, air-conditioned room, which on the day of departure very pleasant is. in the guests it is mainly to young couples from the United States, there are hardly any German since. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was perfect: the air conditioning could be regulated well, bed very comfortable, every day Minibarservice, if the bottles of rum vodka and so on half were empty, there was new, towels there was twice a day new,

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    the dishes are very delicious, whether in the buffet-or specialties restaurants. the food is very diverse and it is always fine food, such as lobsters, sushi, and so on language skills. Except the steakhouse is closed, air-conditioned rooms. waiting times or food were out, there was not.

  • Service
    6.0

    the staff are international. All are very friendly and helpful. I was with because people in English and Spanish understood. German that is unacceptable, is also no wonder with so little German since. cleaning of the rooms is great.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The pool area is very large and filled with Americans. I am not in the pool if I go away in the beach was good,. animation was by the hour, which one then but also at the beach heard. the beach is clean and as you in the Caribbean presents. access to the internet was in lobby free and it has at least work.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    in the RIU Palace Aruba is an upscale beach hotel. the both condition is very good. Cleanliness leave nothing to be desired. the lobby is a large, closed, air-conditioned room, which on the day of departure very pleasant is. in the guests it is mainly to young couples from the United States, there are hardly any German since.

  • Location
    5.0

    the hotel lies direct at the beach from Palm beach. Behind the hotel, on the other street Palm beach with shops and restaurants. To the hard rock cafe are approximately 500 meters. All the other, like MC, King, Wendy's, and so on come afterwards.

Close
Erika & Hubert
Pure Caribbean, everything was perfect archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2011
From the flair of the Caribbean an absolute must.5 star well for the Caribbean OK. Europe No. Service and staff very helpful. The beach and surrounding area supert. Food was perfect if you didn't find anything here it was your own fault or an abnormal taste, although we only once a five special-restaurants have visited. The sports bar with Suleika as a bar-CEEP maker was the best. Will be back. Were Presidente ultra all inclusive in Aruba. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Patrik
Never again riu archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2011
This resort has large and clean rooms. Throughout the hotel are at the 700 rooms. You can perhaps imagine, therefore, that about 1200 persons to be more or less at the same time want to eat. It is all the same whether breakfast, lunch or dinner. The quality is absolutely unacceptable. Furthermore, the police patrolled daily in the area. I just wonder why? Of course there were the masters of the order free breakfast. Free Wireless worked only sometimes and then only in the lobby area. As soon as you walk in the lobby there was nothing more. Drinks were ... served mainly in thin plastic cups. We booked three double rooms at this resort, but on the third day in the Hyatt changed. The difference was night and day. We have stayed in quite a lot of riu's (Cancun, etc.) but for us it was probably the last time. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    1.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    1.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.3
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Jörg
Great vacation with sun archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2010
Very good riu standard. To be highlighted was the change of towels twice a day. Food is very good, but repeated after a week. At the front desk were many languages spoken, but didn't speak any German. The 'entertainment' we didn't notice much. (Except for loud music) had unfortunately during a lot of rain and the entertainers did this time sleepy! The island is however very recommendable-a European island in the Caribbean. So you can undertake a lot and great shopping... We also recommend the tour with Mr Piecyk. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Sonja
Dream trip with small 'obstacles' archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2010
The flight with the Martinair was not comfortable, to put it mildly. It was a relatively old machine, in which not even monitors on the flight information. That is to say to any time we knew where we are. In addition I had not more legroom as in a charter plane with a country flight! The monitors, with which one could look at you had to borrow movies for 15 euro and the service for a ten o'clock flight has left a bit to be desired. There was a warm meal and drinks and up until about two hours before ... landing nothing more. And then a sandwich and a drink. So I think you could at such a long flight and drinks at least through. At the airport in Aruba, we were welcomed in a really nice area and to our hotel riu palace Aruba brought. Then we could check in without problems and our room card. Then came the next highlight literally. The standard room with a French balcony everything was not, for example, only five stars hotel (no more than three stars). Each light in the room had to manually switch and be turned off. The carpet was old and had stains everywhere. The bathroom wasn't 't't even a fan and it was very old. Not' friendly ' looked. And I had to really get it to shower. Also the cleaning staff, which were really three times a day in the room was filled up order (minibar, towels were changed, beds turned down and so on) the whole couldn't do better, as they are old was old. So were the first hour. Not a good start for a vacation. But the complex is a dream. Really comfortable and all very, very nice, open, always friendly and helpful. Cleanness was capitalized in the hotel area was very large. It was cleaned the whole day and everything was very tidy. Also the drain in the shower didn't work immediately someone skilled you, the whole situation. The restaurant's cleanliness level is excellent for a hotel. Leaves nothing to be desired. Everything was available which one can imagine in a buffet and always fresh. The four theme restaurants (Italian, gourmet, fish and Japanese). You could sign up each morning between nine and twelve o 'clock for those respective evening (or 18,30 o' clock 21 o'clock). In addition to 80% Americans in the hotel and only a little German. But with English you always got along and never had a problem with the communication. So I have to say on the whole, I always thought if I over TUI and in a riu hotel I have the best of the best. And it was unfortunately not. Sunday. We had a beautiful vacation but for a five stars hotel, I expected more. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ilona & Peter
As Urlauberinsel small, but nice archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2010
Our aim, peace and quiet with Caribbean flair, as well as optimum comfort status, is completely open. Certainly one could also have a bit cheaper, but if you want to spend the vacation on Aruba, you can't expect Dominican Republic-price. It was just wonderful; whether hotel with all the amenities, orange city, island tour, individual tour with a rental car, long walks on the beach or the boat. The reference to the use of the CC of Amsterdam and you should definitely take back. Height 1.90 a sufficient legroom in is very useful. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Roland
Apart from the kitchen not a Riu Palace archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2010
We have already been to the Riu Palaces in Mexico and the Dominican Republic, so that we were not worried about the all-inclusive. But, unfortunately, this is standard is not transferable to Aruba. The kitchen was excellent, but everything else did not live up to our previous experience with RIU. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The room itself was clean, but a 2-year-old carpet, I prefer tiles. Replenishing the dispenser only after asking (when after 3 days nothing was happening).

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We only went to the main restaurant, as the selection and variety there was more than good. There even was sushi and not a bad one either. Besides, one could sit outside and you didn't have to stick to specified times, standing in line for the booking at 9:00 am was also omitted.

  • Service
    2.0

    The staff during meals preferred to talk, so that was possible to have three plates stacked on top of each other in front of you. There was one exception and he was from a facility in the Dominican Republic.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    Since there is only a one-digit number of sun umbrellas available at the pool, the reservation of loungers already started at 7:00 am in the morning and continued on the beach. (There the towels were wrapped around a palm tree ... ). At 8:00 am the area around the pool had not yet been cleaned and was sticky from the cocktails. The entertainment team was a fan of all types of music, except Caribbean, but loud. The daily bingo at 3:00 pm announced through the speakers also did not interest us.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    We have already been to the Riu Palaces in Mexico and the Dominican Republic, so that we were not worried about the all-inclusive. But, unfortunately, this is standard is not transferable to Aruba. The kitchen was excellent, but everything else did not live up to our previous experience with RIU.

  • Location
    5.0

    There is no problem taking the bus to Oranjestad. The system is simple, because you only have to remember the colour of the bus line and can straight away buy a return ticket. The island tour offered by TUI is interesting and very entertaining, because of the German bus driver.

Close
Marion
Perfect archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2010
We spent two fantastic weeks in the riu palace. In the previous reviews say the hotel was already described very detail, what we can confirm. What was especially to be highlighted was but for us, this is terribly well gelaunte staff, which always had a smile on their faces and really every conceivable request from the guests eyes. Thank (Edward, Houward, Diego, Hector and so on.)! This terrible tacky Sea and the snow white beach have led to a situation, we have our dauergrinsen during the whole two weeks were busy. Forget all the negative reviews and go. We ... will definitely be back! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Corinna
Super relaxing beach holiday for singles and couples! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2009
A great place to stay if you're looking for quiet and want to relax. No kids hotel and not a party hotel! Great pool, beach, and restaurants! Not crowded hotel with stress or bath are fighting! Very friendly staff. The room did not live up to my expectations in the facilities-mini bar-bathroom-tv. It could be a bit more in the hotel has to offer-activities, program and so on outside of the hotel there is great shopping, restaurants, bars and discos with lots of live music. Few Germans in the hotel (for me positive). Very international guests. Itself typical for those ... German tourists not to be recommended. Price/performance voices will usually not match our expectations. Otherwise highly recommended for me exactly the right-tip: Snorcheltour on the sailboat Taquila and horse riding tour through TUI bookable! Super Nice! As well as restaurant in Oranjestad El gaucho, Mr. Jazz at the street! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Ulli & Nico
All in for gourmets without Freizeitansprüche archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2009
This hotel is really great for all, the only vacation food, drink and want to laze around. The buffet was incredibly varied and leaves nothing to be desired. It is time for silence searching discouraged, since the hotel and the entire crowded Palm beach from early morning to eleven loud music. The search for shady spots were rather difficult and sunshades were scarce commodity. All the leisure activities on the island is also rather limited, our riding tour was a real highlight. Unfortunately no excursions were offered to Curacao, Venezuela or Bonaire. The hotel is huge and looks like the ... other hotels on the Palm beach more like a bunker beds, although the highest standards. The Eagle beach as a whole is quieter and not as crowded, you can escape the loud music on 'one happy island' but nowhere. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Anja
The best honeymoon-great island in the world archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2009
The hotel is 100% recommendable. The entire hotel and the grounds are very well maintained. Is offered at the o'clock. The rooms are cleaned once a day. In the evening, the 'king' bed turned down and the towels changed again. The food is varied and very tasty. Here each something finds. It started with a large salad bar, various pasta and meat dishes to sushi. The staff was always very friendly and attentive. Very recommendable are the four specialties restaurants. You should definitely take with you. However, it is only for those from the current day nine o'clock. Timely appear ... ensures a place in the restaurant. Not to 9.30 o'clock, as the Americans come alive and the line forever. ☹ They only spoke English or Spanish, which also, inter alia, the national languages. The only drawback; the beach chairs and umbrellas at the pool and sea. The problem is not to get to grips with. From about 5:15 o 'clock the' spectacle begins '. Who is nine or ten at the pool or beach was bad luck. Beach chairs on the beach there were enough. However much too few umbrellas, but due to the intense sun fast can backfire. We went on three excursions. As first a island tour with Willy, which very informative and funny (cost per capita 40). Second to butterfly-farm. Was nice, but the entrance costs 15 $per capita. The third our highlight. A helicopter-circular flight over the island. Takes about 30 minutes and is very nice. With a bit of luck, we had, you can look to Venezuela. Per person you have to pay 140 $, which it is worthwhile in any case. Our Rep Kim was really hard, but some one you can make it was never very. You should not forget or when checking in, as the weather. We had in the two weeks at the 34 °C. The air humidity was 85%. Is the Caribbean but normal. That is why it is normal, when the laundry is a little damp. Change nothing-is the best kind of tourism. Greetings to you, Kim. Unfortunately nice vacation is over. At the flight over Amsterdam has a stay on Curacau (about 90 minutes). So a few dollars and get something to eat there or a small buy souvenirs. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
UTA
One happy island archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2009
Few sunshades on the beach and pool Beach neglected (kostenpflichtig) No ashtray Little music (typical Caribbean music missing in comparison to Westin Hotel next to the riu) Bath-towel output and income for beach chairs too late start in the morning and again too early in the evening (example are award seven o 'clock in the morning and only around eight Strandtüchervergabe o' clock) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Patricia
Super nice honeymoon archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2009
We had wonderful honeymoon on Aruba. The service in the hotel was great, there were fulfilled all expectations. We would definitely recommend this hotel again at the drop of a hat. The access to the city center is very good. With the bus one is in about 10 minutes in orange country, where you can shop well. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Sandra
Pleasant beach holiday in Aruba archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2009
This hotel was a RIU hotel of the higher category. It was a very good beach hotel of a higher standard. There were 450 rooms. The hotel was right by the fine sandy beach of Palm Beach. The hotel offered all inclusive. Mainly couples were spending their holidays here. As tourists from the USA could reach Aruba quickly, lots of them were spending their holidays here. Families with kids, like us, were rather the exception. The hotel was very clean, and everyone made a big effort to maintain that. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a junior suite on the 9th floor with direct pool/ocean view. The rooms were new and very nicely furnished. Even the extra bed for our son had already been set up and prepared when we entered. The junior suite was pretty big, and the double bed met our expectations too. It was a bit hard, though. The bathroom was spacious too and came with a jacuzzi tub which we often used. There were always enough fresh towels available too. The balcony was pretty big too and had a clothes horse at the wall. Bring clothes pins because of the wind. We lost a shirt.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There were 5 restaurants altogether. 4 of them were à la carte restaurants, one had a buffet. For the à la carte restaurants, you had to register for dinner between 9 and 12am on the same day. (It was a bit annoying to wait in line for it.) You could eat in the buffet restaurant without a reservation. We personally preferred the à la carte restaurants as buffets have an uncomfortable atmosphere, in our opinion. The food was very delicious, always freshly prepared and indeed fit a luxury standard in the à la carte restaurants. The buffet restaurants offered different themes every night (such as Mexico/Caribbean) and was very delicious too. Snacks and lunch were available on buffets in the restaurant near the beach (Nautilus) or in the main restaurant. We always had lunch in the Nautilus. There were mainly US American snacks (burgers, salad, nachos and pizza), but they were very tasty too. The breakfast buffet was very varying and provided a large choice. Regarding the food, we really recommend the hotel.

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff was very friendly. They especially liked little kids, which was very nice for our little son. Almost everybody spoke and understood English well. The room was completely cleaned once a day, plus there was the so-called "Turn Down" service in the evening when we received fresh towels again. The mini bar was replenished with beer/Pepsi/water and Seven Up every day too. Unfortunately, the room was partly cleaned only superficially, and we repeatedly found hair under the bed. But apart from that, it was always clean and neat. When we were checking in, our safe was broken and a water tap didn't work. These flaws were fixed immediately, though, and the reception asked us several times whether everything was okay. So, complaints were handled quickly.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Entertainment was offered by the pool bar and on the beach, but it was fortunately limited to beach volleyball and water gymnastics. It was no club hotel anyway. The hotel also had a spa area and evening entertainment. We didn't make use of them and can therefore not rate them. I can only say that you didn't notice the evening entertainment when you didn't want to. A big drawback were the beach/pool chairs and umbrellas. Aside from the fact that plastic chairs weren't really suitable for a 5 star hotel anyway, there was also a lot of room for improvement. In fact, it wasn't allowed to reserve pool chairs. But that was still being done, and the towels weren't removed. Unfortunately, there weren't enough pool chairs and umbrellas available by the pool, and we really needed shade with a little kid. There were enough chairs available on the beach, but far too few umbrellas which were partly already reserved by the guests at 5.30 in the morning. We even noticed that the RIU service staff was "bribed" with tips to reserve umbrellas in the morning. The hotel said that they couldn't take care of it because it was a public beach. That unfortunately rather matched a simple tourist hotel than a 5 star luxury hotel. We had actually expected the US standard where reserved chairs/umbrellas were cleared after some time (1-2 hours) when they weren't used. Oddly enough, the hotels next to the RIU (Radisson/Occidental) reserved their chairs and umbrellas for hotel guests only, and it was no problem to still get some at 11 in the morning there. The palm trees didn't provide enough shade either. The pool and the beach were basically very nice and met all the promises.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    This hotel was a RIU hotel of the higher category. It was a very good beach hotel of a higher standard. There were 450 rooms. The hotel was right by the fine sandy beach of Palm Beach. The hotel offered all inclusive. Mainly couples were spending their holidays here. As tourists from the USA could reach Aruba quickly, lots of them were spending their holidays here. Families with kids, like us, were rather the exception. The hotel was very clean, and everyone made a big effort to maintain that.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel was right by the beautiful beach. It really was as nice as shown in the catalogs. Several water sports could be booked right on the beach on site. There were lots of possibilities to eat and buy little things outside the hotel. The Hard Rock Café Aruba was about a 10 minutes' walk away. Excursions could be booked either directly in the hotel or at one of the many stalls right by the beach. There was always something going on, but the beaches weren't as crowded as in high season in Europe.

Close
1