Hotel Grand Bahía Príncipe El Portillo(4.5 stars)

Carretera las Terrenas, El Limon Km. 4, Las Terrenas PO Box: 646 32000 Las Terrenas View on map

Average rating

653 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.4
  • Room
    5.3
  • Service
    5.2
  • Location
    4.9
  • Food and Drinks
    5.3
  • Sport & entertain
    5.2
Filters
You selected:
210 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date
Leonardito
Leonardito and Principe at GBP. El Portillo.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2014
We have spent 2 weeks at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, Las Terrenas, Samaná. The Resort had the usual beautiful Grand Bahia Principe style. One large main A/C buffet, Dalia, 3 a la carte restaurants. Orquidea was the gourmet, El Pescador was the seafood and Portofino was the Italian. All were with A/C. There was also a nice open air buffet at the beach. The food was delicious in all the a la carte restaurants and in the buffet. Lots of choice of fresh food. You could find everything and the red wine Baron de Valac (french) was also very ... pleasant. The Pueblo Principe, where the nightlife was taking place was a good place to meet people. The grounds were well kept and everything was spotless. This Resort is the cleanest place that we have ever visited. The beach had golden sand and turquoise clear water. The ocean was very calm and very safe for swimming. The main pool was kept very clean. It was surrounded by lovely trees. We appreciated the lounges at the pool with their thick and comfortable mattresses. There was also a quiet pool for peaceful reading or relaxing. Our Junior Suite Superior was very centrally located in building 7. It was quite large and everything worked very well. Good A/C, plenty of hot water, comfortable bed, mini bar replenished each day etc.The food. Buffet had an excellent choice of everything and was open morning, lunch and at night for dinner. We did enjoyed our breakfast and lunch at the buffet. At night, the A La Carte Restaurants were also very good and a pleasant change from the buffet. Orquidea, the Gourmet Restaurant, had a very helpful Hostess, Ysabel, who was always pleasant and took good care of the guests. We did not have a favorite restaurant as they all had something delicious that we enjoyed. The service everywhere was super. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. They really worked hard to please you. We met the Resident Manager, Carlos, who was always around making sure that all the guests were happy. He is a big asset to the resort. Amilcar was also very helpful if you needed anything. We also had the pleasure of meeting the beautiful Dianellys, who takes good care of the guests emails and add comments on the TripAdvisor reviews. The Hotel Manager Sigi is doing a wonderful job of managing the Resort. She is always walking around ready to hear the clients suggestions. We must say that the Bahia Principe El Portillo is the best Resort from all the Bahias we have visited. All our needs were met and it even exceeded our expectations. We would recommend this resort to anyone who wishes to have a good relaxing vacation. Hasta Pronto. We will certainly return. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our Junior Suite Superior was very centrally located in building 7. It was quite large and everything worked very well. Good A/C, plenty of hot water, comfortable bed, mini bar replenished each day etc.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    One large main A/C buffet, Dalia, 3 a la carte restaurants. Orquidea was the gourmet, El Pescador was the seafood and Portofino was the Italian. The food was delicious in all the a la carte restaurants and in the buffet. Lots of choice of fresh food.

  • Service
    6.0

    We did enjoyed our breakfast and lunch at the buffet. At night, the A La Carte Restaurants were also very good and a pleasant change from the buffet. Orquidea, the Gourmet Restaurant, had a very helpful Hostess, Ysabel, who was always pleasant and took good care of the guests

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    We have spent 2 weeks at Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo, Las Terrenas, Samaná. The Resort had the usual beautiful Grand Bahia Principe style. One large main A/C buffet, Dalia, 3 a la carte restaurants. Orquidea was the gourmet, El Pescador was the seafood and Portofino was the Italian. All were with A/C. There was also a nice open air buffet at the beach. The food was delicious in all the a la carte restaurants and in the buffet. Lots of choice of fresh food. You could find everything and the red wine Baron de Valac (french) was also very pleasant. The Pueblo Principe, where the nightlife was taking place was a good place to meet people. The grounds were well kept and everything was spotless. This Resort is the cleanest place that we have ever visited. The beach had golden sand and turquoise clear water. The ocean was very calm and very safe for swimming. The main pool was kept very clean. It was surrounded by lovely trees. We appreciated the lounges at the pool with their thick and comfortable mattresses. There was also a quiet pool for peaceful reading or relaxing. Our Junior Suite Superior was very centrally located in building 7. It was quite large and everything worked very well. Good A/C, plenty of hot water, comfortable bed, mini bar replenished each day etc.The food. Buffet had an excellent choice of everything and was open morning, lunch and at night for dinner. We did enjoyed our breakfast and lunch at the buffet. At night, the A La Carte Restaurants were also very good and a pleasant change from the buffet. Orquidea, the Gourmet Restaurant, had a very helpful Hostess, Ysabel, who was always pleasant and took good care of the guests. We did not have a favorite restaurant as they all had something delicious that we enjoyed. The service everywhere was super. All the staff were helpful and pleasant. They really worked hard to please you. We met the Resident Manager, Carlos, who was always around making sure that all the guests were happy. He is a big asset to the resort. Amilcar was also very helpful if you needed anything. We also had the pleasure of meeting the beautiful Dianellys, who takes good care of the guests emails and add comments on the TripAdvisor reviews. The Hotel Manager Sigi is doing a wonderful job of managing the Resort. She is always walking around ready to hear the clients suggestions. We must say that the Bahia Principe El Portillo is the best Resort from all the Bahias we have visited. All our needs were met and it even exceeded our expectations. We would recommend this resort to anyone who wishes to have a good relaxing vacation. Hasta Pronto. We will certainly return.

  • Location
    6.0

    The grounds were well kept and everything was spotless. This Resort is the cleanest place that we have ever visited.

Close
Rosalie
Never again!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2014
The beach is a dream. Otherwise, the hotel was disappointing for us. Very noisy, very crowded. We found a Ballermann-level. From 9 hours no free beach chairs at the pool or on the beach. Beach chairs are close to each other! The entertainment was very noisy and the hotel beach to hear speakers. We spoke with german regular customers, know the hotel differently, it however not book it again. There is a development for canadian cheap-tourism. A few examples: guests go go barefoot into the restaurant. The own bierkannen will mornings already filled with this at the beach and pool ... and alcohol before hergetragen. On our first day was our table, as we went to buffet at the same time, occupied by other guests. In the specialty restaurant we changed the table, because the guests around us were so drunk and we wanted to enjoy our food so not. So overall: nothing for silence searchers! We arranged ourselves. Left after 3 minutes walk from the hotel on the beach and enjoyed the really beautiful beach or use the at the very end of the hotel zone was. For us: never again! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    2.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    1.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    1.0
Close
Das Schwabenpaar
Many thanks for the beautiful days!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
We very much enjoyed the time in the hotel and the dominican republic, were very satisfied with everything! Special thanks to the grand Bahia Principe-staff, for making it possible to have us as a couple (double room) and daughter (single room) my man, the Amerika arrived, 2 adjoining rooms are available on request to found, although we have different travel agencies booked. For my husband's birthday, there was a nice surprise in the room in the form of decoration, fruit plates and a small gift, we found this very attentive, warm thanks for this! The sea was wonderful, you could ... go snorkeling and long walks on the beach! In the bistro at the sea, you could enjoy a snack etc. with beautiful view. The area was extremely clean and well maintained. Beautiful gardens on the whole area! A big thank you to all, we would come back immediately. Warm greetings from Germany read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Josef
Josef i was until 04-04-2014 21-03-2014
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
But hello of german should stay at home, if you do not do like this is a paradise on this earth which is a pure endspanung nature peace and the complained should stay at home and his joguht spisser which then becomes lucky people like to eat Pablo number 10 which is normal but ausflige biettet walked along the beach and the you can eat at home and with much to see. I personally come a time in each case i read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Irene
Vacation in paradise.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Nice hotel in a beautiful garden, directly on the kilometer long beach. Had booked a junior suite and were very pleased. The only negative was, that in the lobby bar in the evening around 11:30 p. m. the light turned off and you in the dark the way to the lobby had. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Had a large junior suite on the upper floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. There was a coffee maker with coffee, tea bags and sugar at room. The minibar was refilled daily (included in the price). The bathroom was very large, with a nice shower and extra bathtub, the toilet was in the bathroom, but in a niche. Very clean. The beds became each day beautifully decorated with flowers.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Very good and large selection at the buffet. Both breakfast, and lunch and dinner. Also in the beach bar was the selection at lunch was very good. Furthermore, you can the three restaurants in the evenings. Eat you excellent. The kitchen style is international with landestrypischen food. The wine in the various local is excellent.

  • Service
    6.0

    All very friendly and cheerful. English almost all, some very good, the other a little. Some could also a little german. But our special thanks to mr. phillips from the front desk.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    Nice hotel in a beautiful garden, directly on the kilometer long beach. Had booked a junior suite and were very pleased. The only negative was, that in the lobby bar in the evening around 11:30 p. m. the light turned off and you in the dark the way to the lobby had.

  • Location
    4.0

    The hotel is the only right by the beach. You can in both directions long walks on the beach. Las Terrenas is about 5 kilometer away, you can to get there walk along the beach, or with the taxi (American Dollar 10 for a way) drive. There are some souvenir shops and restaurants.

Close
Roland & Andrea
A really good hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
We were very pleased with the hotel and the area and also with the food, very nice staff and nice entertainers, there were all very helpful, and on the beach were local vendors also in order, with which you also excursions as a leader could do one of these was the kelvin number 17 with which we really great fun and the trust leaders give could. only the spa prices from the hotel is expensive, all in all it was a nice beach holiday read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Dieter
Nice clean hotel we were very satisfied.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Were from 4-01-2014 until 19-01-2014 in the hotel there was a small schnorchelparadis right on the beach. Definitely take snorkeling equipment with you or borrow it's worth it. Food and drink till you drop. For the kids there was a kids pool area great. Terssor you don't need, we have our valuables in the bag closed. Of theft in the hotel we didn't hear a thing. Carry plentifully sun cream forward 3 bottles have not enough, otherwise expensive. Excursions we only after the mangoven was very beautiful nature and stay on the baccadinsel with swimming was very nice. We are ... about santo domingo flown the drive to the hotel is fast on the new road and landscape beautiful. Excursion to santo domingo, we have not made, because 3 hours 3 hour visit and 3 hours. If you have the old town to see wants should it with on or departure connect. There were lots of canadians and americans there, because only 4 hours. Some russian, french and a few german. Tip only in us dollars, outside in pesos. Money exchange to the airport is cheaper than in the hotel. If you have TUI fly TUI map gives % for the tours. Beachwalkers are as but disturb not. At the reception also german spoken otherwise only spanish and english, but the waiters understood everything. Postcards are expensive in the hotel 1 Dollar outside 20 pes. Dispatches up to nine weeks, the best write and with stamp in Germany send, then is also. Wi-fi is only for an hour free on the day in the lobby apart from that, for a fee. Time lag 5 hours in the winter time. Whales we sadly didn't see are only end january. We were very pleased with the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Andreas
Great hotel and location - since you have to go there ☺
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Very friendly staff, one everywhere is served, super layout beach and pool areas, as well as villas, great clean bathroom, good entertainment, great food including restaurants, etc. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Siegmar
Very good hotel with room for improvement.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
A nice hotel with a very good location and 1a beach. By surbooking you will without previous information in a standard room. The clarification of room type, the waiting time and the move costs unnecessarily valuable vacation time. %singlelinebreak % Friendly staff and good food the inconvenience of the first day will soon be forgotten. The offer at meals and beverages was very extensive, but in the variety verbbesserungspotenzial. %singlelinebreak % There were always enough beach chairs at the beach. Towels can also several times a day were changed. %singlelinebreak % The junior suite you can thoroughly recommend it. The ... very large rooms are partly in new buildings (house 10.11 and 12), are very clean and quiet. The service was exemplary. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    3.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Melanie
Samana, always worth a visit -6 stars.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
A dream vacation, i can't say anything else. Is definitely worth a trip! The only thing that was a little too busy, was the prior, after you in Puerto Plata landed, the 4 hour transfer time with the bus, was very long and exciting :-) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Hans-Jürgen
Quiet location - nice beach - good food.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Large but spread over a surface this resort in a beautiful bay with sandy beach. Through the two - to three-storey construction, the grounds but not daunting. The gardens of the hotel each day by gardners looked after/cleaned, paths, if necessary, repaired etc. All in all the hotel area made a very neat impression. The condition of the room was a bit dated and could be the one or the other renewal ( möbeltüren loose in the hinges, crt is not state-of-the-art.). Wi-fi is available in the hotel lobby free of charge (tip: as network ' kubi_hall' use, start ... browser and on the login page down scroll, there basic surfing click. From then works' everything ' as requested). The guest structure was international, which meant we, americans, canadians, russian/spanish/french speaking people and germans as fellow guests. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had booked a junior suite, had two standard rooms (p. o.). Balcony has each of the two types of rooms, telephone, mini bar, coffee maker, air conditioning, tv, radio alarm clock, hair dryer and large umbrella also. The difference of the two types is the size of the bathroom and the sleeping quarters. The standard is the shower in the bath, toilet sideways before, in the suite there was a bathtub, separate shower and separate toilet. Coffee and tea bags and minibar are replenished every day (stop all-inclusive).

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Several à la carte restaurants (reservation needed), and the general buffet restaurant covers the taste and quality of our expectations. The food was always tasted good and if the one or the other dish does not assure, has various alternatives to choose from. The meals in the buffet restaurant had, inter alia, daily changing themes, which means there was a day spanish/portuguese/american/german etc. About every 2. day there was at the buffet restaurant live music, which means a trio plays in guitar various title. And yes, the table, the performance of songs. Who likes it, can also with a then tip thank you (but is not forced).

  • Service
    5.0

    The staff is always friendly and with a smile at work. Except in the spa area were the foreign language skills (english, german) with good, it is in german (almost) everything adjustable! We had booked a junior suite, on the day of arrival we were in a standard room assigned, the next day after complaining at the reception (also through guide was) a junior suite. For this downgrade a compensation in the form of a einkaufsgutscheins in the hotelshop granted. Our pick-up at the last day already in the morning is, you could the suite for the whole last day left (instead of compensation). A day before departure fell in the suite the whole well as full hookups (bad/toilette/klimaanlage) from. When we complained at the front desk we were told, that the whole house affected is, water pipe in the ground broken and a repair three days would take. And we were the last guests in this house, the others were on the day before left or moved. We received from the manager then an additional standard room to sleep/wash. This room was not on the other end of the complex but almost 'diagonally opposite'. Complaints are thus seriously taken and one tried, short-term remedy to create. The room cleaning and towel change took place every day (which otherwise) and is good as to designate. After cleaning it smells something after chlorine, if you don't like air (for example with the air-conditioning etc.). Unfortunately the time of cleaning (at least in the house with the junior suite) with ~16:00 relatively late, this could rather show.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    No pushy entertainment! Who likes with, otherwise remains' he ' on its couch. And the offer was varied. Per guest, there was a beach towel at the corresponding position in the proximity of the pools change (several times daily, if wanted) can. The pool daily with ke cleaned and water tests. The (adjustable) pool chairs were out of wood with cushions, relatively large sun screens are likewise present. On the beach are the (adjustable) plastic with covering. Both liegentypen are pleasant with ' stundenlangem' remain ☺ We could watch, that the beach chairs regularly again covered are! There are, of course, on the beach umbrellas in the form of screens from wood with a roof Palm-/bananenwedeln. A little less of these screens can be found on the western side of the beach in front of the snack bar.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Large but spread over a surface this resort in a beautiful bay with sandy beach. Through the two - to three-storey construction, the grounds but not daunting. The gardens of the hotel each day by gardners looked after/cleaned, paths, if necessary, repaired etc. All in all the hotel area made a very neat impression. The condition of the room was a bit dated and could be the one or the other renewal ( möbeltüren loose in the hinges, crt is not state-of-the-art...). Wi-fi is available in the hotel lobby free of charge (tip: as network ' kubi_hall' use, start browser and on the login page down scroll, there basic surfing click. From then works' everything ' as requested). The guest structure was international, which meant we, americans, canadians, russian/spanish/french speaking people and germans as fellow guests.

  • Location
    5.0

    Currently the only hotel, will soon be supplemented by another plant directly east adjacent, the area was in a beautiful bay with a direct sandy beach walk to 'right' (east) and 'left' inviting. The distance from the airport Puerto Plata is ~195 kilometer and that means ~4h bus transfer on arrival/departure (with a small pause after ~2h). The relatively close lying international airport (~45 kilometer, ~1h) is (apparently) not directly from Germany cruise terminals. The transfer will take place with small buses instead of (bags in the trailer) but depending on the number of guests also bags on the inside 'with travel'. The space is for people from ~190 centimeter bit cramped, where with the long 'stilts'? It is in german already something about the travelled places and landscapes. Shopping in the hotel shop is possible, otherwise area leaving, after right ~400m supermarket. Depending on the weather the guests at the pool and on the beach. The wind blew but too strong (coming from the north-east), the eastern seashore uncomfortable and it comes to redistribution that means the pool, and the western part of the beach is very busy.

Close
Marlies
Always again.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
We were very pleased with this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again. The food was very varied and tasty. Special effort to New year's eve there. Unfortunately was the fireworks only very short. Very nice and always in a good mood staff. Only the long transfer time of 3 hours with the bus was annoying. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Erika
Completely satisfied.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
We were with 6 people at this hotel and completely satisfied. The food was very good and varied. We would not hesitate to come back to this hotel spend our holiday, but be careful, the airport wasn't so far away from the hotel entgernt is. The transfer from Puerto Plata to the hotel from about 3 hours was the only thing that was unpleasant. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Sabine
Pure relaxation.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
We felt in this resort well supplied, Nice staff always up for a joke. The food was varied, there was something for every taste! Who finds there nothing, could not be better.-) The in-house reef, unfortunately not much. Actually a shame as we love to snorkelling. A beach chair at the beach you will always find and In the background is the bar with a beautiful view of the sea. Who it alone like the moves Only a few meters to the left or right on the beach. We have a trip on the beach with (Oliver point 12) ... Waterfalls el limon booked. Was a eventful nice day. Thanks to Oliver and nice greetings ☺ All in all it was a very relaxing holiday, We can this resort only recommend it. A lot of fun.-) read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Pierre
Great holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Very nice holiday in a great hotel. Typical beach of the Karibik. The hotel has very friendly staff, a very good kitchen, good ' à-la-carte-restaurants' the all-inclusive including. As we had a very relaxing holiday, everything was perfect. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Joachim
Holiday on a dream beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
The Hotel Grand Bahia Principe el portillo is located at the beautiful nature beach el portillo close Las Terrenas and in the last one and a half decades after various changes and besitzerwechseln of a small family beachclub to a large international hotel had been developed. The architecture is caribbean with appeal the classic colonial style and fits into the nature well. The large area (about 500 rooms) is the first driving directions first as a dignified living or apartment complex. In the entrance area there is a 'village' (pueblo Principe) with shops and small plaza in a style typical ... for the country. (who wants can with small golf carts be driven.) The main building made a quite elegant impression, but never stuffy. The plant in its present form is about eight years old and is extremely well maintained and with beautiful garden, framed, the daily maintained. The cleanliness was excellent. Smaller ausbesserungs and maintenance are constantly made, but are always limited very limited and did not disturb. (for example, during our stay the modern pferdeskulptur at the entrance newly painted, which one and a half days took). It is an 'all inclusive' area, but no typical location in, but it seems many guests in the let's say of mature age to them. The average age was in middle age, but also some families (with mostly smaller children) and many seniors there. Many nationalities find a, including very many older canadians, u. s. citizens and in our time about 30% german. In addition to other nations, such as argentine or dominicans (this mostly as a larger family including grandma and grandpa). There were noticeably a lot of regular guests and many long-term vacationists. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Here is from our view a genuine weakness given. Although the junior suites (this we can assess) sufficiently large, bright spacious and tastefully furnished, The furniture is not worn, there was also a coffee machine, a radio alarm clock, bathrobes and slippers (the latter only in the golden club package) But the technical installations (climate, television, refrigerator, toilet) are, although outwardly well maintained, but dated, and therefore often broken. We had in seventeen days stay, on average every 2. day any broken or a technical problem, very often with the toilet, the several times no water. Although always immediately technician dispatched, but it was mostly only in the short term. This has on the duration annoying, nevertheless we in the room comfortable.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The kitchen is the sometimes large rush very grown. Almost all dishes are attractively displayed, varied, tasty and well seasoned. For almost every taste should be something. In the buffet restaurant, ' las dalias' there were following theme evenings, starting with monday: Asian, spanish, italian, mexican, international, dominican, american. In addition there is themenecken, for children, canadians and vegetarians. The mediterranean furnishings and the mexican we found the best. Not so great was the food in the a-la-carte-restaurants, (italian, fish and gourmet), the we tried it once. The atmosphere was very nice, the food was quite mixed. Good course alternated with less good from. Especially the desserts are included in the buffet restaurant clearly better. Even at noon there was a pretty large selection of warm and cold meals, which change daily. The hygiene is impeccable. I have both raw fish (ceviches and raw octopus and marinated mussels) and salad and vegetables eaten without the potential problems to have. The table wines are simple, but good, the cocktails at the bars were mostly well mixed, but sometimes a little sweet, there is a very extensive menu, which one hardly within a stay 'execute' can. There is a lobby bar, a snack and cocktail bar on the beach, as well as a small bar on the beach, this sometimes a zusatzbar into the water, as well as two pool bars, one at the main pool close to the beach and one at the 'relax pool' between the houses 9.10 and 11 is. Also evening managed are the theatre and disco, however only, if operation. Room service is also available, but only when booking the golden club package. Friends of seafood should know, that there are different than for example in Asien rather mussels and squid, and large crabs (crawfish), which it only against surcharge gives, but hardly any prawns are. Fresh fish from the atlantic ocean but there are plentiful.

  • Service
    5.0

    The service was good, almost all of the approximately 500 employees are friendly, with complaints plays but the booked category a role. The service package 'royal golden' booked, which we had, there was an own reception. All requests, the you overcome, will be taken care of immediately. Only there are (next to access without own device) also staff with really good english. Even the staff at the front desk can partly not well english, overall, the rather bad foreign language skills of the staff already a complaint. Nevertheless gives you many trouble the guests a beautiful holiday, the hotel one avoids better, should be very expensive.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There is everything of sport and entertainment which is conceivable; except golf and horse-riding, even a children's water park is on the edge of the area designed. Gym and spa are available, prices at the spa are utopian, the quality of the entertainment is a matter of taste. Also a variety of water sports on different way,. There were showers and clean toilets near the beach, the condition of the couches was moderate, the umbrellas were in order. The shows in the evening we hardly used.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The Hotel Grand Bahia Principe el portillo is located at the beautiful nature beach el portillo close Las Terrenas and in the last one and a half decades after various changes and besitzerwechseln of a small family beachclub to a large international hotel had been developed. The architecture is caribbean with appeal the classic colonial style and fits into the nature well. The large area (about 500 rooms) is the first driving directions first as a dignified living or apartment complex. In the entrance area there is a 'village' (pueblo Principe) with shops and small plaza in a style typical for the country. (who wants can with small golf carts be driven.) The main building made a quite elegant impression, but never stuffy. The plant in its present form is about eight years old and is extremely well maintained and with beautiful garden, framed, the daily maintained. The cleanliness was excellent. Smaller ausbesserungs and maintenance are constantly made, but are always limited very limited and did not disturb. (for example, during our stay the modern pferdeskulptur at the entrance newly painted, which one and a half days took). It is an 'all inclusive' area, but no typical location in, but it seems many guests in the let's say of mature age to them. The average age was in middle age, but also some families (with mostly smaller children) and many seniors there. Many nationalities find a, including very many older canadians, u. s. citizens and in our time about 30% german. In addition to other nations, such as argentine or dominicans (this mostly as a larger family including grandma and grandpa). There were noticeably a lot of regular guests and many long-term vacationists.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location of the hotel is simply heavenly! Although it is very remote (with long transfers of up to four hours) and no good transport links is, the beach is, in our view, hard to beat. You can in both directions for hours walk and comes from a beautiful bay in the next still more beautiful. You feel a little old commercials and must initially almost pinch, if all of this Real is. The place is perfect for a relaxing holiday to 2. and for nature lovers. A reef with colourful fish, although somewhat sandy, but not dead is. Loads to snorkels in. If you want to party and want to go out, could be better to another capacity, particularly samana but very isolated and the drive is long, the peninsula but with lush nature offers. The beach directly at the hotel is environmentally certified, it regularly floor and frequently taken.

Close
Bernardo
Gran Bahia portillo left after. Still highly recommended.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2013
Lovely green, well-kept hotel area with best beaches also next to the hotel. Purchase and restaurant/bar in the surrounding area, as in 4 kilometer and after 18 hours only with expensive taxi. Motoconchos at night you should because of the 11 missing gullideckel avoid. During the day the Guagua (einheimischentransporter ) for 50 Peso prostrecke and person use - circa all 30 minutes Money not in the hotel/airport, and with tauschen, as in Las Terrenas the course about 19% is better! (hotel 48 Peso, in town 57/58 Peso for 1 Euro). Tip: in the village of exchange and bill for ... laundry/safe etc. in Peso pay! The free offers of scuba dive, often from. Reason wind and currents. Front desk check-in/out note: if someone into the hotel, should the price in advance and by bill to confirm, the posted number of days available, otherwise pay. Best trusting to the rep asap and book! Table decoration of the standard restaurants is miserable. Something was missing always. Should after 2 complaints be, this is but a dauerproblm - as well as the year before. Almost raw sprouts or more frequently times tough meat came more frequently. The disco in the catalog not be offered anymore. It is always the same, the audience not restated, which led, that the disco 30 minutes after opening is empty. The local music was even from dominican guests hard devalued. Multiple strong complaints have no substantial change brought. International music is totally outdated and after 3 visit hear you always the same. Bring top hits 2013 were copied but not play. The hotel is not in the location, the composition of the guests the music to offer! In the lobby at 2-3 evenings changing however under owner placed, the mostly desert music reel off. The service of all the bars is above average. A big compliment to these staff. The entertainment is with the departure of the best employee (Daniel) beginning january 14 considerably broken into. Daniel was a real artists in the animate and entertain the guests. On a scale of 1a 6 is the entertainment from 6 to 3 devalue. Unimaginative, not being active enough. 2 times in 1 week race you can not differently call. Tip for smokers: due to allegedly many complaints is the smoking in the lobby bar are not allowed. Other aufenthaltsteile were for smokers saved, even though they actually in the fresh air (walls generous open) and fans air verwirbeln. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    2.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Jana
Gorgeous beachfront hotel with much peace
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Spacious, clean hotel with nice gardens and free wi-fi in the lobby. Remote all-inclusive resort with a nice beach and reef. Mixed guests, many canadians. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Condition of the room absolutely ok, is of the typical Bahia standard, bed sheets could have been repeatedly changed. Beware! Chambermaids leave very gladly balcony door unverriegelt! You should always check. In-room safe. The mini bar was 1 times a day free refilled, but it is not always everything there, does a generous tip for nothing. Normal: 2 beer, 3-4 1.5 liter of water, tea, coffee, 1 Sprite, 2 Pepsi, 1 Pepsi lite, and somewhat undefinable orange/red drinks. The air conditioner worked only, if room card interpolated is.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food is of good quality and choice available, buffet was immediately refilled, hygiene capitalized here, the guests receive a handrub in front of the food. In the evening when the hotel was fully booked, it was sometimes a bit chaotic, but at the end of the day i think all satisfied. Unfortunately only very late breakfast (for trips not so nice) 8 hours.

  • Service
    4.0

    There is a doctor on site. A lot of german speaking staff, which is very friendly (exception here lobby bar, There is only everything served as money in the hand and hochprozentig.)

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Disco available. Enough beach chairs were there, but at sunshade mushroom lacks a bit. Unfortunately the beach chairs very gladly reserved, although before 8 o'clock forbade is, collects nobody as advertised the things a so that often around 7:30 a. m. all reasonably good places away. After that you can between dauerschatten and sun decide. Often strong wind on the beach. Fish are already just 1m from the beach to see. Beware of turbulent water the view is bad and so you can enjoy the corals hurt, by the flat water.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Spacious, clean hotel with nice gardens and free wi-fi in the lobby. Remote all-inclusive resort with a nice beach and reef. Mixed guests, many canadians.

  • Location
    4.0

    Very long transfer time from the airport, especially the way back was really endless by slope detours (about 5 hours). Now we have about 4 hours. Is right on the beach. Excursions with the organizers possible, except a small town by taxi, there was nothing in the surrounding area. Those seeking peace, beach and fish was right here.

Close
Magdalena
Dream holiday to relax.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
Very beautiful, well-kept area. The rooms are in 2-3 story bungalows, the set in the middle of a park. Beach and restaurants are close to walking distance. Was represented each age from young to old, a pleasant mixture. There were very many german guests, a few americans/canadians and french. Wi-fi is free in the lobby; works well and also quite fast. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a standard room and this were really large enough. Unfortunately we did not have a king size bed, but two singles, but were big enough, that you 2 in a bed to sleep. The rooms are perhaps a little dated. For the short time, the one is in the room but it was perfectly adequate. It was always clean and tidy. The minibar was daily refilled and could be used free of charge. Air conditioning was a bit noisy, but ok. For the safe one had to however 4 $per day...

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There was a main restaurant, in which there was breakfast, lunch and dinner. There were different theme evenings with relevant food. The food was very delicious and always for everyone which. Whoever found nothing here, i don't know... On some evenings there was a small band of three persons, the restaurant music and from table to table ran. At the beach bar there was for lunch until afternoon constantly something to eat. Everything was always very fresh and constantly replenished or replaced. The fruit is super fresh and delicious! Unfortunately was thanks TUI inside the bar on some days only for TUI inside guests open and for the remaining guests locked! There are 3 à la carte restaurants in 3 times a week to go can. The gourmet pleased us best.

  • Service
    5.0

    The friendliness in the restaurants and bars is great. Before the restaurant everyone gets disinfectant for the hands and a table. In the morning you have to from time to time something on tea/coffee wait, it seemed a bit uncoordinated, but that did not disturb us or bad. So is the dominican mentality. On the beach/pool bars the service is great, the staff were always in a good mood. If you want to get a coconut would like must one only ask and get on the next day a brought. In the evening at the bar one should include oneself its beverages even to your table, as the bar girls are a little slow and you also gladly times a half hour for a drinks have to wait ☺ Unfortunately, not many german and a few english. But with hands and feet you could always communicate, as all friendly. Our maid was very nice and super clean and care of us. The service at the reception is ambivalent... Some spoke very good german and happy to help. Others are rather rude and a bit lustered. My hut lost and three days in a row was asked, whether found something i have only a 'no' gotten without, that time was looked after. Our pick-up day our flight 2,5h delay, which we however not announced, we have it only by chance. Nobody knew when we collected in the hotel should be. Our guide, we could not more... The doctor in the hotel better not go. The extortionate prices! For an inflammation had one 910 Euro pay, another paid for a wasp sting she had come down 600 Euro...

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The entertainment i have stayed in other hotels better. Every day Volleyball played, what we guests but rather even started. There was a disco in which we however only once were. The evening shows were ok, but nothing special.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Very beautiful, well-kept area. The rooms are in 2-3 story bungalows, the set in the middle of a park. Beach and restaurants are close to walking distance. Was represented each age from young to old, a pleasant mixture. There were very many german guests, a few americans/canadians and french. Wi-fi is free in the lobby; works well and also quite fast.

  • Location
    4.0

    Unfortunately was the distance to the airport is very large. With 3.5 to 4 hour transfer is to be expected. The way leads by towns and mountains. The journey is long and tiring, because the bus driver also without, if and but accelerating. The check in but it was worth it! Long great and quiet walks along the beach are possible! In the proximity there is nothing except for a small supermarket about 500m away from the hotel and a doctor outside. The village Las Terrenas is with the car about 10-15 minutes away by car. We definitely recommend the local pickups partake. The people are very friendly and fun. You pay for only 1-2 Dollar per person and ride instead of 10 Dollar with the taxi! In the village there are some souvenir shops, kiosks, and bars. However, it is already quite dirty. About 40 kilometer far away is the capital city of samana. There were some excursions like for example the el limon waterfall or the national park. Desk definitely over the beach vendors book and not over the travel line. We are Miguel (we believe number 24, also sells beach towels and t-shirts) the waterfall and it was great! Small individual group of 7 people. Super delicious lunch, always drinks including rum and fresh coconuts from the trees. Over the travel line (its) we had the national park and the cayo levantado and it was an absolute rip-off! Mangrove forest we have 5 minutes and on the bacardinsel there was only one drink per person for free for 3h stay; the rest was all 5 $. Furthermore we were a group of about 20 people under which unfortunately not only germans were so guide everything in different languages has tried to explain... Strenuous!

Close
Peter & Andrea
Recommendable. We are coming again.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
The hotel was in a very neat condition, Nice rooms. Every day it was cleaned well although No tip on the bed. Food was varied and the a la cart restaurants excellent. We were 3 weeks and had the feeling the 2. week, the hotel was overbooked, Until we have seen, that 3 buses with TUI-staff came. They were courted like royalty, that was the only thing i this hotel have to complain about. Because we would have had a evacuation quarter on the barcadinsel for 3 days, only, that the people had a room. Who wants Gone, if you ... were satisfied. Guests were many nationalities. Excursions to be booked on the beach. Especially is highly recommended Pablo with the number 10. He makes trips with smaller groups. Just great. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was clean and roomy with air conditioning system. The minibar was refilled daily. Toilet was clean and cleaned daily. And who needs in the Karibik already tv, Tv was also available.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    3 alla cards restaurant fish, gourmet, italian all really Recommendable. Main restaurant for each everything the heart could desire. Hygiene and cleanliness in the restaurants is faultless Staff always friendly even without a tip.

  • Service
    6.0

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, Were particularly commendable. The check-in and check-out, we had no Problems, because the staff good german Had. (especially Alfonso) Also complaints were immediately dealt with. Room cleaning was always well done.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    We didn't use the entertainment. Beach chairs and umbrellas were sufficiently available. Beach vendors weren't pushy. On the contrary, we had very much fun with santiago ( schildkrötenverkäufer ) We especially want to eucebio from the beach bar in the water Praise. Always friendly and fun. In our opinion as bartender behind the sun terrace Wasted. He is more at the beach bar, since it is the absolute crowd-pleaser. The staff from the sun terrace were always in a good mood and particularly there is Martina to be highlighted. Only the boss of the sun terrace had the laugh in the basement left ☹

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel was in a very neat condition, Nice rooms. Every day it was cleaned well although No tip on the bed. Food was varied and the a la cart restaurants excellent. We were 3 weeks and had the feeling the 2. week, the hotel was overbooked, Until we have seen, that 3 buses with TUI-staff came. They were courted like royalty, that was the only thing i this hotel have to complain about. Because we would have had a evacuation quarter on the barcadinsel for 3 days, only, that the people had a room. Who wants Gone, if you were satisfied. Guests were many nationalities. Excursions to be booked on the beach. Especially is highly recommended Pablo with the number 10. He makes trips with smaller groups. Just great.

  • Location
    4.0

    Distance from Puerto Plata until el portillo is approximately 3 hours, But that was worth it. In the next city to terrenas with a Shuttle bus. Or if one at the entrance of the hotel right about 500m is, is on the left hand side a supermarket. As you get everything. The hotel is located directly on the beautiful beach.

Close
1 3 4 5 ... 11