Barceló Hotel Bávaro Beach - Adults Only(4 stars)

Playa El Cortecito 23301 Bávaro View on map

Average rating

218 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.9
  • Room
    4.7
  • Service
    4.4
  • Location
    4.8
  • Food and Drinks
    4.8
  • Sport & entertain
    5.3
Filters
You selected:
55 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Lisa
Worst Vacation Ever
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2014
In general, at least 90% of the staff were unfriendly and at times downright rude - not to mention that I was sexually harassed several times by lecherous male staff during my stay. The facility was often unclean - with trash often being on the ground. Additionally, although I paid for an all-inclusive, adults only setting, it was clear that not all was included and the adults only rule was not often enforced. The service, quality of facility, cleanliness of facility and quality of food was atrocious. Guests were anywhere from late teens (with parents) through their 80s. Most frequent ... nationalities were Russian, French, Canadian and American. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0

    The size and furniture in the room is what's to be expected. The balcony was a little small as it barely held the small table and 2 chairs placed on it. The bathroom was a little small, but made more bearable by having the sinks outside of the toilet area. As stated earlier, the room/bathroom never really felt fully clean, with spots and stains all over the room. It was hard to rest in the room as you could hear everything that went on with all your neighbors (above and next to) from snoring to drawers being opened and more. The TV did not always work as the satellite didn't always connect, however as I was not on vacation to watch tv, this was not so bad to me.

  • Gastronomy
    1.0

    Within a few days into my stay at the "all inclusive" hotel, I learned that I could only make 5 restaurant reservations during my week long stay and that 2 of those required extra fees. Being served (both at the buffet and the restaurants) raw/under cooked meats and/or overcooked foods was a daily experience (practically every meal). Much of the food had little taste, however breakfasts had a decent variety of food. They are very focused on busing tables but they never seem to replenish the tables fully (i.e. glasses or utensils missing on every table). The bars were severely under stocked and they did not carry many varieties (i.e. no flavored vodkas). Most bartenders did not know how to make more than a handful of drinks so you could only get certain drinks at certain times from certain staff.

  • Service
    1.0

    As stated earlier, most of the staff seemed to want to be anywhere but where they were and they let the guests see it. They did not seem to want to be bothered with providing a service to the guests. For instance, waiting 20 minutes for coffee at the morning buffet was essentially a daily occurrence, while asking multiple people who would stare at you like they couldn't believe you dared ask them before stating that they "don't do that" and pointing dismissively to someone else we were to ask. Waiters were insulting and rude to the point that we walked out of one of the restaurants directly after being insulted while we ordered - they also did not seem to care about my severe food allergy, which was a cause for worry. The room never really seemed to be clean. While the beds were made, the comforters had stains on them that I didn't want to think about. Toiletries, mini bar, etc was not refilled (until we asked twice), used glasses remained in the same places for days. Overall, just never a clean feeling in the room. The "best" came when we were given 1 towel (for 2 people) and I called for a second towel. I was met by a supervisor who told me that the housekeeper said she had given us 2 towels. Dumb founded, I told her I didn't know what happened then as I have only 1 towel. I was only awarded a second towel when my friend (who was in the shower at the time) stopped her shower and put on a robe while standing in the shower to prove to the supervisor that we only had one towel given to us. We were then told "mi culpa" by the housekeeper and given the towel!!!!!!!!! The above shows how complaints were handled - poorly over all. When told of the lecherous behavior by the men, the general manager questioned if I was maybe being too friendly and they misunderstood my intentions! After a week of problems, the hotel tried to essentially buy us off with a bottle of wine - but to get the wine, we were supposed to sign a waiver that the wine was in "compensation for your troubles" and by signing the form we waived our rights to do or say anything else. Naturally we did not sign the form and we did not take the wine. The staff do not seem to know languages beyond Spanish. Most struggled with basic English and clearly only less than a handful knew French and none knew Russian (all the major languages at the resort).

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    I did not use the pool, but it looked clean and people seemed ok with it (I chose to go to the beach). Guests did not seem to partake in the leisure activities in the day, which primarily consisted of a salsa lesson or boccie. The night activities were full of (some) staff that tried to be entertaining, however unfortunately they failed. Night shows were pretty boring and not well organized (and poor performances). They tried though. The beach was beautiful due to the location, but they kept it pretty clean. Sunbeds were available, but many had rips or were broken in some way. Internet access was not free. You had to either pay per chunk of time at the PC centers or you had to pay per day for WIFI access. I tried at the end of my trip to pay for 15 minutes to check in for my departing flight, only to be told there was currently no internet availability at the hotel.

  • Hotel
    2.0

    In general, at least 90% of the staff were unfriendly and at times downright rude - not to mention that I was sexually harassed several times by lecherous male staff during my stay. The facility was often unclean - with trash often being on the ground. Additionally, although I paid for an all-inclusive, adults only setting, it was clear that not all was included and the adults only rule was not often enforced. The service, quality of facility, cleanliness of facility and quality of food was atrocious. Guests were anywhere from late teens (with parents) through their 80s. Most frequent nationalities were Russian, French, Canadian and American.

  • Location
    5.0

    The beach was beautiful thanks to the location. No one walked up and down the beach trying to see you things. It was a quick (10-15 min) trip from the Punta Cana airport. Don't know about the surrounding areas as the hotel was like a compound and you were warned not to go off site. There's a "mall" inside the family friendly section of the resort, however the prices are typically more expensive than I find at home for the same brands. You can bargain prices with some of the cigar stores.

Close
Beat
Noise-an impertinence.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2013
Incredible noise in and around the hotel. Surely 100 helicopter flights in low altitude per day, motorgleiter, speedboats, bass-boom-boom throughout the day. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    2.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Regina
Nice holiday, nice hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
The plant makes a very good impression, everything seemed very well maintained. The guest structure was international, whereby american and russian guests in our travel time in the majority were represented. Remarkable it is, the russian guests all are positive, while the american guests very often misbehaving behaved and almost exclusively through noise and increased consumption of alcohol noticeable. We had room 5015 occupied. The room was neatly furnished, however, i would have for a hotel in this category a little more expected. What didn't work was the bathroom, this made an old us very upkeep and was not even ... in the approach of the booked category. The beach was fantastic, there were enough pool chairs and places in the shade by the palm-fringed beach. Also around 11:00 a. m. we had no problems to get a free beach chair. The staff is very friendly, after gift of a small tip also many small services are provided. The noise - whether through music or motor boats or ausflugshelikopters - held itself within limits, one is in a touristy active area. We would the plant book here again, as we all in all, very comfortable. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Bathroom disappointed, room itself is not the star standard

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Nothing to complain about, perhaps the meals could be somewhat warmer

  • Service
    5.0

    Friendly, english no problem

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Everything in order, entertainment not pushy

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The plant makes a very good impression, everything seemed very well maintained. The guest structure was international, whereby american and russian guests in our travel time in the majority were represented. Remarkable it is, the russian guests all are positive, while the american guests very often misbehaving behaved and almost exclusively through noise and increased consumption of alcohol noticeable. We had room 5015 occupied. The room was neatly furnished, however, i would have for a hotel in this category a little more expected. What didn't work was the bathroom, this made an old us very upkeep and was not even in the approach of the booked category. The beach was fantastic, there were enough pool chairs and places in the shade by the palm-fringed beach. Also around 11:00 a. m. we had no problems to get a free beach chair. The staff is very friendly, after gift of a small tip also many small services are provided. The noise - whether through music or motor boats or ausflugshelikopters - held itself within limits, one is in a touristy active area. We would the plant book here again, as we all in all, very comfortable.

  • Location
    5.0

    Direct access to the beach, airport transfer about 30 minutes

Close
Stefanie
Barcelo bavaro beach adults only - always again
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Barcelo bavaro beach adults only is in relation to the palace deluxe a relatively small hotel. The hotel consists of a reception with customer service and giftshop, a lobby bar and the theater. The rooms are located in 6 separate buildings. In this area there is a large pool with jacuzzi and pool bar, as well as the buffet restaurant and the a la cardrestraurant chezz gourmet. It was at every time of day and night for fine catered for, so that it always clean and tidy was. In the buffet restaurant there was breakfast from 7a 11 hours, lunch ... from 12:30-15 o'clock and dinner of 18 to 23 hours. Wi-fi was unfortunately not included and costs per week 4 5 $. If one however in the premiumclub is, this is inclusive. Guests were of various nation available: a few germans, few russians, americans, canadians, french and at weekends the dominicans. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are sufficiently large. In the entrance area is a built-in closet, which the safe and the ironing board with iron. Directly adjacent is the double sinks with a huge mirror and hair dryer. Adjacent to the shower and the toilet. From the entrance area through another door separated from the living and sleeping area. This is equipped with a double or two twin beds, flat screen tv, desk, two other cabinets. One of which contains the minibar. Furthermore, there is a table with two chairs available. An adjustable air conditioning system and a ceiling fan are available. The adjacent balcony is relatively small, but enough for two chairs and a table. An extendable clothes line is also available. The drain the toilet took some getting used to, since the water was only go upstairs, before it flows out. Toilet brushes there is nowhere in the hotel!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    In the adult area there is a buffet restaurant and two a-la- cardrestaurants ( chezz gourmet and la breeze). Otherwise, you could even the other a-la- cardrestaurants the palace deluxe share. Here there are the following restaurants: steakhouse, fish, mexican, spanish, italian. All these a-la- cardrestaurants were with vorreservierung included. Then there was a french and japanese a-la- cardrestaurant which for a fee you could book. In each restaurant, the food was delicious and plentiful. And there really is something for everyone. If you didn't find anything here should stay at home. It has already been mentioned, that the food wasn't quite hot. We found this not tragic, since one mostly ate outside and since it was always hot. So it was more pleasant not steaming plates in front of us. In the a-la- cardrestaurants the food was always hot. The best part was the food in the chezz gourmet loved our experience and tasty. Where we also could put a bottle of wine from the wine list it (this had to be paid extra). Over tips the staff of course looked forward to, but it was no evil or you were not worse, if one did not give.

  • Service
    5.0

    The entire staff was always helpful and courteous. At the reception partly little german was spoken. English almost all spoken, except possibly the cleaners the room. The room cleaning in the 'normal' rooms left to be desired partly. But after a short complaint at the guest service was the better. The minibar was daily with beer, fanta, coke, sprite, water, juices and small snacks ( bananenchips, peanuts and nuts and raisins) filled. Otherwise there is a small coffee machine. In the bathroom there was a small basket with various things, such as toothbrushes, razor, comb, sewing kit, shoehorn, inter alia, available. Because our electrical toothbrush despite adapter not in left, we were very grateful for the toothbrushes.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The fitness-studio we sadly didn't use it, as it has always specially in the palace deluxe over had to go. We have this but once and there are modern equipment are available. At the beach and pool there were enough pool chairs from very good quality available. Umbrellas were not, but enough palms. These concerns for the caribbean feeling. We have umbrellas rather than disturbing. There were showers at the beach in the distance of about 20 meters. From the beach you could also well the toilets at the pool bar use. If you are in the 5. or 6. area room, is the pool bar but a bit far away. There would be a further bar an advantage. For entertainment is at the beach also provided (beach volleyball, water aerobics, among other things). The animators were however not importunate. If you didn't want to join in you have a left in peace.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Barcelo bavaro beach adults only is in relation to the palace deluxe a relatively small hotel. The hotel consists of a reception with customer service and giftshop, a lobby bar and the theater. The rooms are located in 6 separate buildings. In this area there is a large pool with jacuzzi and pool bar, as well as the buffet restaurant and the a la cardrestraurant chezz gourmet. It was at every time of day and night for fine catered for, so that it always clean and tidy was. In the buffet restaurant there was breakfast from 7a 11 hours, lunch from 12:30-15 o'clock and dinner of 18 to 23 hours. Wi-fi was unfortunately not included and costs per week 4 5 $. If one however in the premiumclub is, this is inclusive. Guests were of various nation available: a few germans, few russians, americans, canadians, french and at weekends the dominicans.

  • Location
    5.0

    The beach lies directly before the door and is simply fantastic. The airport is circa 15-20 kilometer away, so the transfer was relatively short. Since luckily it was off-season, was the here often mentioned noise from speedboats and helicopters within limits. They were available, but not further disturbing. So you had always something to watch! In the evening we from and to the shows in the theater viewed. These were very well done. Otherwise, you can get the disco and casino at palace deluxe recommend. There is always something going on. Otherwise, you can get the endless long beach along walk. Outside of the hotel area is not a lot to discover.

Close
Gregor
Dream resort on beautiful bavaro beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
A wonderful beach resort the waiter - if not even luxury, three hotels in a file combines, great room, fantastic location on the beautiful bavaro beach. Selection can't be beat, great buffets and 8 restaurants, lots of bars. In the high season very busy, lots of russians (but the higher). All around recommendable! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Rudy
Spacious hotel facility for couples
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2013
4*+ with the entire spacious area with the sister hotel and the entire area directions. The balconies are a bit small side. The bathroom divided into a spacious laundry area with 2 sinks and a private too small become bathroom with a small bath and toilet. Only drawback, the bathroom from a specialist to renovate; advertised be renovated, but unfortunately from a bungler. The beach only lunch cleaned, i am from Punta Cana not used. The food too few variation and always only lukewarm. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Renate
Great swimming vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
We went as a couple 10 days in the Barcelo Bavaro Beach (adults only) accommodated. On arrival we were friendly greeted and also have a welcome drink are. The large surprise came for us however when we from the bell boy into the room been accompanied are. The bedroom was okay. The room or the bathroom (standard room with ocean front view) is not the european standard. The bathroom was very cleaned bad. The bathroom fixtures was very much lime and the bathtub seemed also not particularly to be clean. The shower's wall at the bathtub was not properly set. ... Even a layman can better fit flush. We of course complained immediately at the front desk and a free upgrade to a junior suite. The junior suite is essential spacious, however the bathroom was also not particularly good geptzt. At least but it was better than the standard room. The toilet was not properly on the wall attached. Of the toilet paper holder was broken. The shower was leaky and water ran side to bedroom. The complex (beach, lobby, restaurants, pool area.) Is very clean. There is every day animation at the pool where you participate can. The complex itself consists of 2 hotels: Barcelo Bavaro Beach and Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe. There are spaces only for adults, a family area with the barcey water world (pirate-ship with 3 slides, area with slides with plaskiktieren, child care.) And an area for golfers (18 hole golf course). There is also a mini golf course and a laser tag playground. - so everything your heart desires.-) As a guest in the Barcelo Bavaro Beach you can buffet restaurant and 7 à-la-carte -restaurants (against vorreservierung) provided for free. 2 restaurants - a japanese and a french restaurant (la comedy), you can pay for visit. The food in the buffet-style restaurant is in our opinion better, than in the à-la-carte -restaurants. For breakfast you get fresh omelet prepared by the chef. Often you have to however therefor queue. But we would not recommend the baceclo bavaro palace deluxe for breakfast to go, since both buffet-style restaurant completely full at 9 o'clock. It was on the 1. floor the steakhouse breakfast buffet for the guests offered. But there was everything crowded and you had for all for a very long time line up. The mittas -and dinner buffet are pasta dishes prepared fresh in front of the guest. Unfortunately are the other food from the buffet lukewarm. The desserts we didn't tasted like this, as they all taste right fal were. Fresh fruit there are at the buffet cut and there is even a schkoladebrunnen. The service staff is very friendly and efficient. Unfortunately you can't from the cleaning staff to maintain. They often forget the mini bar to fill or no fresh towels. With demand but we fresh towels received. As i have already mentioned leaves the cleanliness in the bathroom to be desired. Perhaps it is but also the bad cleaning agents. Overall it was a very nice beach vacation and we would definitely recommend this hotel. Ps:in the entry at the airport from Punta Cana you should 10,00 Euro per person with, as a fee for the visa charges. Please no Euro in Peso shift. American Dollar rich, as everything you in the hotel with Dollar pay. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sebastian & Tanja
No 5 stars, caribbean russischkurs, no service
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
The good food makes a lot of the renovated hotel again good. If you don't speak spanish can hardly understood. Five star are not adequate, bathroom was old and broken., in need of renovation, services in case of a complaint or whatever a disaster. Very lots of russians, some americans us some europeans. At the beach very much noise from the planes by helicopter and partyschiffe. Price for massages outrageous, 50 minutes 140 US Dollar. Big hotel with dreamlike beach, but nothing for ruheuhe searching despite adults only. See us not more, if you spoke russian want to explore great ... place. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.3
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    1.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    1.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Angela
Obviously a common evil
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
We had the impression, that without tip considerably less ran as you want it. As europeans clean we, the tips after supplied service and not before. Unfortunately had the service, the staff already prior to be bought. These showed especially with the room service. The rooms were always only after 18:00 made and the quality was mostly complaints occasion. Unfortunately. It would be good, if the management this issue could be. Apart from that amazing fitness center, good restaurants and night life. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Udo
For swimming ok.
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
We were in the november/december 2012 for swimming in the hotel. Opposite 1999 has the complex strongly changed the good & bad. Focus was on beach and canvas chairs at the beach, the also fine were. The knadenlosen noise by boats and helicopters could one well with earphones and take earplugs to be missed. The stench after fumes at the beach is a bit for geruchserotiker. The buffet restaurant 'caribe' for me was the culinary great meltdown. With sprachunbegabtheit and very slow to no service at the table got scored. The restaurant 'la brisa'hat closed in the morning, at noon ..., you could eat better as the ' caribe 'and in the evening it is a specialty restaurant where you very good at the sea sit but only moderately good food. The specialty restaurant'chez gourmet' was outstanding with a menu in spanish and russian and with a very good T-Bone-steak and the charm of a besenwirtschaft. At the ' mamey 'lobby bar each evening were the couple funny american and canadian guests wortführend what the ears was good as i with the language of the russian guests, the comfortable 80% of the guests is, nothing can start. A large part of all activities, shops, entertainment, disco, bars and specialty restaurant you find in the neighboring hotel which one could also use. To reach on foot or train. Since the last train at 4 o'clock its round, is a larger number of discogängern to the hotel washed and a travel alarm clock can stay at home. The consolation, there are guaranteeing hotels in Punta Cana. As the beach only from 4 houses is it a small hotel in a large complex. We had more of a adults only hotel promised but for swimming ok. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    2.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Michaela
Definitely again
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
Great hotel, brilliant atmosphere, everywhere very clean, very good food with a massive selection, the alcohol in cocktails quite and not at all stingy, room clean and spacious, only bathroom a bit dated, pool big and clean, the beach was nice, only relatively a lot of seaweed, staff (waiters) unfortunately rude and very unmotivated, you have to first tip, even then they are friendly... read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    3.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Frank
Everything was great
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
The hotel itself is definitely recommendable. Furthermore, the services and facilities of the Barcelo palace share what the stay a Krone dons. It wasn't missing anything to relax, relax and to take it easy. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Friedhelm
More appearance than substance
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
The adults-only hotel has 391 rooms, the according the homepage all renovated, but not true. The rooms were only with paint and a flat-screen tv refreshed. From the ancient badewanen and toilet wanted one inseparable. The name ' only adults' refers only to the hotel. At the beach children are welcome. Guest structure: 75% russian guests, 1% germans, the rest italian, canadians, americans and latin americans read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Furniture and bed were in good condition and the cleaning of the rooms was after dominican style.

  • Gastronomy
    1.0

    Buffets restaurant bohio and Miramar similar to a cafeteria. The staff understaffed and it worked hardly somewhat. The table-ware one must at the best yourself. Unfortunately one the beverages yet on self-service moved so can one luck have at least a 'water' to get. Food selection very much however the quality very bad. Meat tough, fish dry. La brisa is also not recommendable. The same motto, mass instead of class. Coral sea food resembles a cafeteria. In the other restaurants was received from us at least the meat, filet or steak twice (every evening) exchanged, since it tough and not correctly was roasted. The beach restaurant caribe has a comfortable atmosphere. But also here, mass instead of class. It was also here already in the morning to salmon saved, gave it if one luck had ale 4 days. The bread selection was rather limited. Also here afternoons and evenings hard meat and dry fish. The ' mero ' during the 3 weeks there were only three times or on request with the chef. Also here was the kindness and service only dependent on tips. The menu for the christmas buffet super read. We have only the announced food searched, and international cheeses (same normal cheese) as usual, the rindermedaillons, a meat in disguise gleichten. The only thing which the truth were the lobster and prawns. Unfortunately for a fischalleriker no alternative.

  • Service
    2.0

    The friendliness of the staff held itself within limits. It was from the tips subject. The cleaning of the rooms was satisfactory, since often also already time towels were missing or the mini bar not restocked. The customer service couldn't or did not at all with complaints bypass. Everything was simply ignored and you had the feeling not as a guest true to be. Smaller uannehmlichkeiten, as cold water or a broken bulb were fixed.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    The adults-only hotel has 391 rooms, the according the homepage all renovated, but not true. The rooms were only with paint and a flat-screen tv refreshed. From the ancient badewanen and toilet wanted one inseparable. The name ' only adults' refers only to the hotel. At the beach children are welcome. Guest structure: 75% russian guests, 1% germans, the rest italian, canadians, americans and latin americans

  • Location
    3.0

    Known as the hotel lies right on the long fine sandy beach and the airport is only a couple -minute drive away. Noise from helicopters and boats, with extremely loud music about 60 meters away from the beach drove. Petrol and diesel fumes included.

Close
Nadine
Beautiful hotel area
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
The all inclusive hotel is top and offers everything which one for a relaxing hotel wishes. For our stay were about half of the guests from Russia... read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Gyula
Everything ok, but rooms were small and had only 2 beds
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • December 2012
Very friendliness, restaurant and hotel was very great. Room relatively small for 4 people, but clean was okay, we next also further to go. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ina
Too much noise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
It is a huge hotel, as you all in the dominican republic so. The complex is tidy and clean. There are the most diverse restaurant à la carte and buffet. Food and drink is abundant, although the quality of the food was rather average. We were on the complex ' adults only ' and the hotel was great. We had a suite with a view of the sea and with this suite extremely satisfied. Unfortunately, there was every evening some party with a lot of noise and commotion, which we not at all that pleased. If you in peace on ... its balcony would like to sit is also during the day always loud music of the various ships to hear: boom boom boom so is es' from. Unfortunately that was a drawback. If the noise that didn't bother us and if you the food no expectations is, is one in good hands here. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    2.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Agnesa
Bavaro beach is dream hotel on a dream beach
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
If i at from my bed atlantic ocean through the palm trees can see, if no matter who from staff, (chef, rooms. Mädch.,gardener or manager ) 10 times per day with wide, natural smile welcome, if we no matter wether for breakfast or lunch the sea see and do not know, what this with love prepared meals only eat should. How can you as still complain? But you can have it, we have just come back, were from 24,11-9,12 there, and i have just returned from evaluation gelessen couple of, the same time was, how bad this ... hotelistr, as they never would recommend and so on. Believe it not. Beach is wonderful, hotel is wonderful, food is a culinary madness with humer, caviar, shrimps, fruit, vegetables. All in one massive choice, we almost wasteful found. Nothing like, people who complain about for me sick, should Maldives or balconies book, as there is nothing to moan. And adopted their klamoten with, their right over give away can, the people are very poor and grateful for everything read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Emilie
Cleanfold only nice
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
A dream holiday, it wasn't missing anything. Pure relaxation! The food was really like in cockaigne. Also the beach is very nice and clean. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Heike & Joachim
A wonderful vacation in a great area
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
The hotel is wonderful and in december 2011 they were extensively repaired newly renovated. They were extensively repaired desegen, because in some rooms the bathrooms to be renovated. The complex and all the right paraphernalia is wonderful. Guest structure: very many americans, canadians and russians. Very pleasant guest structure and the hotel management it, that none of the strands proposes ☺. We were in the 'Barcelo Bavaro Beach' hotel and were able to all restaurants, thus also on the restaurants from the 'Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe' access. What you need to know, vice versa is not that means all restaurants ... in 'Barcelo Bavaro Beach' are kinderfrei and if you want to the hustle and bustle, could also gladly stay in the restaurants of the 'Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe'. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Size and the condition of the rooms: definitely big enough and great renovated. / facilities : minibar is refilled everyday with all drinks that means beer (4 cans ), Cola, water with and without carbonation, juices and so on the we had in the way also never. / flat screen tv : on the wall with a german transmitter (Deutsche Welle) / air conditioning: worked great, also with thermostat that means the focused temperature was kept and the air conditioning has reliable and also turned off. Furthermore was the complex so, that the kaltluftzufuhr not unpleasant (not directly on the bed, etc.) - very commendable. / radio: with port for iPod/ balcony: pull-out clothes horse, 2 great chairs and a table. Bülgeleisen and ironing board too in the room (in the closet well stowed away)/ the size and cleanliness of toilet and bath: are still not all renovated. Our shower and our bathroom was still in the old condition. Therefore not so nice. Shower gel, shampoo and conditioner are also available (3 donors on the wall). / anteroom bathroom: super beautifully and newly renovated. Everything there that you need that means hair dryer, two wash basins, large mirrors, soap, reisezahbürsten, toothpaste, wattepad, schuhschwämchen and so on

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Number of restaurants & bars : more than enough and something for everyone. / quality and quantity of the dishes and drinks: we found the food excellent and diverse. Also the beverages. Whoever isn't satisfied here, in a holiday this kind never be satisfied. There are restaurants and one must its yardstick. / cleaning and hygiene in the restaurant: excellent. / kitchen style (for example nationaltypically, german ): very varied (u. a. due to the theme restaurants). / atmosphere, tips, prices, etc. : a little tip that means 1 Dollar with the meal or at the bar, is a nice guests and brings a smile to the faces of the staff. / theme restaurants/restaurants : sparkling wine- and weinbkarte with good wines available. Prices depending on wine between 20 and 160 US Dollar. Wines were given in weinkühlschränke chilled.

  • Service
    5.0

    Friendliness: very good in the positive sense/foreign languages: english is always. Sometimes also german, but this is probably the exception/room cleaning : was okay. Once forgot, complained at the front desk. 2 hours later the room was cleaned. / dealing with complaints: very good and professional, see room cleaning.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Leisure facilities including sports, entertainment, kids club, disco : we didn't use. / beach/pool : the pool area is unbelievably versatile and large. We were very pleasantly impressed. Super design is unique and amazing. At night as well by the great lighting a feast for the eyes. / beach chairs: super comfortable and new. / umbrellas: yes, but in natural form-so palm trees ☺

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel is wonderful and in december 2011 they were extensively repaired newly renovated. They were extensively repaired desegen, because in some rooms the bathrooms to be renovated. The complex and all the right paraphernalia is wonderful. Guest structure: very many americans, canadians and russians. Very pleasant guest structure and the hotel management it, that none of the strands proposes ☺. We were in the 'Barcelo Bavaro Beach' hotel and were able to all restaurants, thus also on the restaurants from the 'Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe' access. What you need to know, vice versa is not that means all restaurants in 'Barcelo Bavaro Beach' are kinderfrei and if you want to the hustle and bustle, could also gladly stay in the restaurants of the 'Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe'.

  • Location
    6.0

    Distance to the airport: about 15 minutes/beach : the hotel lies directly at a gorgeous beach. By an offshore reef the water is very quiet that means no high waves. Beach is very clean, since this morning and lunch cleaned. / shopping: very lots of possibilities in the hotel complex. However mega overpriced. Who cigars buy should go out that means in a cigar factory. Cigars were in the hotel shops 3 times as expensive like in Germany. The best the tour operator ask you where good manufacturers gives.

Close
Andreas
Perfect - very satisfied
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
The whole complex has everything to offer, from the golf course to the kids paradise (and if i paradise say i think so ) - what your heart desires. The bavaro beach adults only is small and is about 8 minutes' walk away from palace (way is covered or you can take a shuttle train) where one everything can use. We had all-inclusive and it was perfect, everything clean and tidy, pleasant staff from the front desk to to the gardeners. The audience mixed, americans and canadians due to the near numerous read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Renovated, spacious with a mini bar (including ), balcony or terrace, coffee maker, telephone... But beware-if you double bed would when booking as the most rooms 2 twin beds-the however therefor king size

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    First, the choice is at the beach is less than in the palace, but as mentioned you can use all the restaurants also in the palace, there was everything from a to z, oysters, spiny lobster, roast beef, beef, pork, pasta... Everything. Also recommended are the 6 or 7 themenrestaurantes (by prior arrangement), tips are appreciated and the staff deserves also ayes frogs' legs, there was no ☺

  • Service
    6.0

    Since there is nothing else to say-perfect-room always fine cleaned, doctor in the palace and pharmacy, they spoke but almost only spanish and english

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pool with submerged beds and service, in the palace swim up bar, entertainment, we can't say, because is not our thing, are as mentioned new and everything is in perfect condition, shower abundant, sailing, canoe, surfing, dancing lessons are offered. The striker's bar 24 hours open, disco from 23 o'clock and casino also nonstop, in the theatre daily shows

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The whole complex has everything to offer, from the golf course to the kids paradise (and if i paradise say i think so ) - what your heart desires. The bavaro beach adults only is small and is about 8 minutes' walk away from palace (way is covered or you can take a shuttle train) where one everything can use. We had all-inclusive and it was perfect, everything clean and tidy, pleasant staff from the front desk to to the gardeners. The audience mixed, americans and canadians due to the near numerous

  • Location
    6.0

    The well-kept beach with new beach chairs, 2 times daily cleaning of the beach section and guarded, so no beach vendors (we have never seen). Right in the port but some shops and bars on an invite, if you want. To the next town or shopping center but you need a taxi. We booked through our travel agent (Alltours) a trip to santa domingo and a catamaran ride to Saona, everything perfect with german speaking guide - thank you Elias

Close
1 3