Hotel Colomba(3 stars)

Via Cavour 21 50129 Florence View on map

Average rating

18 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.6
  • Room
    5.4
  • Service
    5.7
  • Location
    5.7
  • Food and Drinks
    5.6
  • Sport & entertain
    0.0
Filters
You selected:
14 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date
Luce
What a welcoming place! We felt totally cared for.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • City break
  • June 2013
They made us feel like part of the family, always anticipating our needs. They called taxis at a moment's notice, washed a piece of clothing we needed at no charge, served us a lovely, varied breakfast,and always remembered our preferences. They really interacted with us. The hotel is very clean,well run, and convenient to many important sites. I can't wait to go back. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was large, airconditioned, with a great rooftop view. The bathroom was large.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Great and varied breakfasts!The diningroom was clean and attractive.All food was fresh and abundant.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service was wonderful, personal, and caring.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    They made us feel like part of the family, always anticipating our needs. They called taxis at a moment's notice, washed a piece of clothing we needed at no charge, served us a lovely, varied breakfast,and always remembered our preferences. They really interacted with us. The hotel is very clean,well run, and convenient to many important sites. I can't wait to go back.

  • Location
    6.0

    On a city street,near stores and the San Lorenzo Market as well as important sites like the duomo

Close
Kyle
Excellent stay in Florence
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • City break
  • April 2013
We had an excellent stay in Florence, and Hotel Colomba was a big reason for our enjoyable trip. Everything in the city is a short walk from the hotel and the staff did everything they could to ensure that we had a good stay. We truly felt that this was a home away from home and would gladly stay again. Highly recommended. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sévérine
Super city hotel in Florence
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • March 2013
Perfect located hotel to explore Florence. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and big breakfast. Price-quality is definitely right. Definitely again! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Marcelo
Excellent hotel! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Other stay
  • June 2012
I love Florence and I love this hotel!!!!! All was wonderful!!!! I recommend this hotel without a doubt. Great location, kind Staff, the best breakfast of the world!!!!, and a lovely room with all amenities that you want. Thank you for everything!!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Alice
Perfect hotel, perfect location, perfect hosts. archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • City break
  • May 2012
Well above standard for "typical" Italian small, affordable hotel. Generous room size ( can you believe it??) Very clean, comfortable bed, great shower ( not easy to find), friendly and helpful staff. Excellent english skills, interested in helping you get the most out of your Florence experience. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Very generous room size, excellent showers, Clean as a whistle and comfy bed!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Breakfast is a typical Italian experience. a bit of fruit, great coffee and some bread ( toast, croissant etc.)

  • Service
    6.0

    Simply perfect. I can not say I have had better help or service anywhere in the world. First rate.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Excellent for what you should expect from a large city Italian small hotel. WiFi in the room ( great) but this is not a large hotel with a gym. But you will get plenty of excercise roaming Florence.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Well above standard for "typical" Italian small, affordable hotel. Generous room size ( can you believe it??) Very clean, comfortable bed, great shower ( not easy to find), friendly and helpful staff. Excellent english skills, interested in helping you get the most out of your Florence experience.

  • Location
    6.0

    In the heart of everything you want to do in Florence. 3 min walk to the Academia and Duomo.

Close
Burkhard
The great city hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2012
The ideal hotel for a city trip to Florence, about 10 minutes to the cathedral and the about 20 minutes to the Arno. The hotel is family-run and there is a very good atmosphere. A small lift is available, for wheelchair users but narrow. Our room, very big and with a view of the roofs of Florence, simply beautiful. The breakfast ' for Italy' was good. The operator and the staff they were all very nice and accommodating. If you have your own car travels should be car in a garage outdoor parking with the hotel a contract. Costs per ... day 16, -€, for Florence is worthwhile this investment. Used to however the one the give up your key must be, our car was just 2 weeks old, since I had already a funny feeling. At the end: we had Florence amongst others because of the Mille Miglia booked, it was always worth it. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Ben
Friendly oasis of calm, impeccable hosts archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • City break
  • April 2011
Tucked away on the second floor of a large, old building containing other hostelries and the Leonardo Da Vinci machine exhibition. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The room was quiet, a good size, very clean, and with a spacious and modern bathroom. The reading area was right next to our room and was a perfect afternoon sun trap. The wi-fi (on which we used Blackberries) worked without a hitch.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Breakfast was a selection of meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurts and cereals – and everything you read about the amazing coffee is true! (For those who prefer tea, they have a wide selection available.)

  • Service
    6.0

    For hosts, you could not ask for better in Rosanna, Michele and Sabine. Their attentiveness and helpfulness were more than you could hope for and they recommended some great eateries (Il Cantastorie is somewhere we visited twice, completely won over by the charming service, beautifully clean interior, wonderful food and romantic presentation).

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    Tucked away on the second floor of a large, old building containing other hostelries and the Leonardo Da Vinci machine exhibition.

  • Location
    6.0

    An oasis of calm only three minutes’ walk from the Piazza del Duomo (and ten minutes’ walk or so from the station, Firenze Santa Maria Novella), providing a perfect retreat from the busy excitements of the city.

Close
Julie
Fabulous hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • April 2011
Our stay here was everything you could ask for - room was spacious and clean, king-size bed, bathroom well equipped. Minibar with a good selection, all very reasonably priced. Desk staff were fabulous - very friendly and helpful with any request. We were made to feel very welcome. Great breakfast and the best coffee we had anywhere. Hotel is located within walking distance to most attractions - about a 10 min walk from the station. Fast, reliable and free internet! No complaints about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Would definitely stay here again. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.7
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Teresa
Absolutely wonderful! archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • April 2011
"My husband and I had a lovely time in Florence in April 2011 thanks in large measure to the hospitality of Sabina, Rosanna & Michele. The Colomba was immaculately clean & a nice welcoming place to come home to after a day of sightseeing & museum visiting. I will be sure to recommend the Hotel Colomba to all of my friends who are traveling to Florence in the years to come. For me & my husband, we miss the warm friendliness & hospitality of Sabina, Rosanna & Michele & can't wait to return!" read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    I had asked for a quiet room & we stayed in Room 14 which was perfectly sized for our needs and very quiet. There was a safe in the wardrobe, a TV in the room & a larger than usual shower stall in the en suite bathroom. The room was immaculate & the bed comfortable.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We both loved the breakfasts and the caffe latte and capuccino. Some of the foods offered for breakfast were fresh fruit, granola, hard boiled eggs & cornetti (pastry) - more than enough to be filling & tasty.

  • Service
    6.0

    Rosanna & Sabina helped us by making our reservations for the Accademia & the Uffizi and recommending the Borgo dei Greci street & the Santa Croce Scuola del Cuoio for the leather goods we wanted to purchase - & purchase we did! Staff members were very friendly & helpful. Rosanna set up an iron & ironing board for me when I needed to iron my clothes. In addition to Italian, Rosanna, Michele & Sabina spoke English which came in handy since my Italian is extremely limited.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    "My husband and I had a lovely time in Florence in April 2011 thanks in large measure to the hospitality of Sabina, Rosanna & Michele. The Colomba was immaculately clean & a nice welcoming place to come home to after a day of sightseeing & museum visiting. I will be sure to recommend the Hotel Colomba to all of my friends who are traveling to Florence in the years to come. For me & my husband, we miss the warm friendliness & hospitality of Sabina, Rosanna & Michele & can't wait to return!"

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is perfectly situated 2 blocks from the Duomo and it was easy to move about Florence from the hotel. We were able to walk everywhere in the historic area from the Hotel Colomba.

Close
Diana
Home away from home archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Business trip
  • March 2011
A warm and welcoming place in a wonderful location. Rosanna, Michele and Sabina could not have been more helpful and friendly. Very spacious and comfortable room. Everything is done with such care and attention. The breakfast is superb and offers lots of choice. Rosanna immediately makes you feel at home and is a patient and generous host, answering all manner of questions about visiting Florence. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
Close
Johannes
Perfect location, great staff archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • City break
  • September 2010
This is a very nice family run hotel right in the center of the city, just a three minutes' walk from the Duomo. Perfect location, clean and quiet room. The owner is fluent in English and the staff are very, very kind and helpful. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Thomas James
Best stay in Italy archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • City break
  • September 2010
I stayed at the Hotel Colomba a few weeks ago, during my annual leave for four nights with my family. I think that it was one of the most welcoming hotels I have been to. The owners,Roseann and Michel are very helpful, they answered all our questions about restaurants, museums, gelato and shopping. Our stay was wonderful also due to Sabina, who made museum reservations for us. The hotel is clean, the room really spacious and the location is perfect, in a city like Florence it is essential, eveything being within walking distance. The breakfast is very generous and ... the cappuccinos are unlimited. Thank you to all the Hotel colomba staff, you made our stay unforgettable and we hope to return soon. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Victor
Adding 50% to the pleasure of Florence archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • City break
  • July 2010
One of the best small hotels in the crowded center of Florence! Very friendly with really relaxed homewise atmosphere and a lot of different languages at hand. Fresh breakfast with real cappuchino (our favorite). Strongly recommend to all our friends and other people intrested in Florence! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Amy
Hotel Colomba made Florence a trip to remember archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Other stay
  • June 2010
When we arrived in Florence we (my girlfriend her mother and myself) checked into a not so nice hotel. It was not someplace we felt comfortable staying in let alone showering in. At midnight we decided to change hotels. We got a recommrndation for Hotel Colomba. We called and they had a room open for the three of us. They were so nice to let us come down and see the hotel before we checked in. We walked in and they put us in room #1 right across from the front desk. This room looked like a palace compared to ... the hotel we were in. Our room was beautiful with hard wood floors, a double bed and a twin bed and a amazing veiw out our window. The room was plenty big enough for three people and with three women showering we never ran out of hot water. Even though our room was right outside the check-in desk and by the front door we never heard the other guests coming and going. We had a wonderful breakfast every morning with coffee, rolls, cheese, hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit. When I go back to Florence Hotel Colomba will be the only place I would stay. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our hotel room was beautiful. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean and up to Americian standards. There is air-conditioning and T.V. as well as a mini-bar.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Hotel Colomba has a wonderful breakfast buffet. As for other meals you are within walking distance from so many restaurants.

  • Service
    6.0

    Rosanna, her family and staff went above and beyond any time that they could. Anything from helping us with our map and pin-pointing some of the best things in Florence to helping us read the labels on over the counter medicine. Rosanna truly has a big heart for all those staying in their hotel. Language was not a problem at all, Rosanna and her staff spoke perfect english. I tried to get Rosanna to come back to America with us, unfortunately I will just have to visit with her everytime I am in Florence.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Although Hotel Colomba does not have a pool or any sport activities that I know of they do have internet access for all their guest.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    When we arrived in Florence we (my girlfriend her mother and myself) checked into a not so nice hotel. It was not someplace we felt comfortable staying in let alone showering in. At midnight we decided to change hotels. We got a recommrndation for Hotel Colomba. We called and they had a room open for the three of us. They were so nice to let us come down and see the hotel before we checked in. We walked in and they put us in room #1 right across from the front desk. This room looked like a palace compared to the hotel we were in. Our room was beautiful with hard wood floors, a double bed and a twin bed and a amazing veiw out our window. The room was plenty big enough for three people and with three women showering we never ran out of hot water. Even though our room was right outside the check-in desk and by the front door we never heard the other guests coming and going. We had a wonderful breakfast every morning with coffee, rolls, cheese, hard boiled eggs and fresh fruit. When I go back to Florence Hotel Colomba will be the only place I would stay.

  • Location
    6.0

    You are with-in walking distance of eveywhere in Florence. We walked to everything that we wanted to do and see in Florence. From the Hotel Colomba you are only blocks away from Piazza San Marco, the Duomo and around the corner from the shopping markets. Although we were within walking distance from the train station we did take a taxi to and from the hotel.

Close