SunConnect Sunrise Diamond Resort(4.5 stars)

Om el Sid Hill P.O. Box 256 45615 Sharm El Sheikh South Sinai Governorate View on map

Average rating

712 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.2
  • Room
    5.4
  • Service
    5.3
  • Location
    5.4
  • Food and Drinks
    5.0
  • Sport & entertain
    5.4
Filters
You selected:
212 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Cara
The Amazing Sunrise Diamond Resort
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
Fantastic stay at Sunrise Diamond Resort. Hotel was clean, well staffed food was lovely, Free wifi throughout staff spoke fantastic English happy to help at any hour. Animation team fun, and kept us laughing throughout out stay :) Great location, shops and medical doctor on site. Weather was fantastic overall amazing :) read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Tia
Fabulous
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
We had wonderful vacation here. Big thanks to animation team who made our vacation absolutely fantastic and we never got bored! Daily and night program is organized and provided very well. Food can be warmer, but its tasty and fresh. Room and pools and beach perfect!! Cant wait to return!! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Joanne
A lovely relaxing holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
After previously staying at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay hotel i felt that we would have a great holiday. My first impressions Were that the hotel in general was a little " tired" and could do with a refurbishment. As I was travelling as a couple with no children, I was disappointed to see the "adult" pool was really run down and very shabby looking. As it happened we spent our time at the main pool, where we were treated like royalty by the very friendly and loyal staff. Both Mahmouds at the towel stand were amazing as was Ali ... at the bar, not once did our glasses run dry! Unlimited wifi was great. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Not much to say about the room, other than it did need a refurb, but it was spotlessly clean and we were greeted every day by a towel sculpture and petals on our bed

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    I will be honest here, the food was not as good as I had expected from a "sunrise" hotel, but I certainly didn't go hungry. I ate breakfast in the main dining morning but ate rest of my meals I ate in the Italian restaurant. The Indian restaurant was nice, but portion sizes were extremely small.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service we got from the staff was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. We only had to ask, and it was done. I made a point of learning to say "good morning" in Eygptian as I felt all the staff deserved to be greeted each day. There was one man I passed every morning who was sweeping and tidying the sloops going down to the pool who used to smile when I greeted him.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    I don't think I've got enough space to express how I felt about the Animation team ! I suppose one phrase could some it up -Totally Fantastic!!! Each and every one of those guys were brilliant, right from Cheeky Chappie Ben, the absolutely beautiful Twins Maz and Tia to " I love my Job" Ibrahim!! I could name them all as I loved each and every one of them - they certainly made my holiday, Mocha has got an amazing team working for him. Michael Jackson night was mind blowing. !!!!

  • Hotel
    4.0

    After previously staying at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay hotel i felt that we would have a great holiday. My first impressions Were that the hotel in general was a little " tired" and could do with a refurbishment. As I was travelling as a couple with no children, I was disappointed to see the "adult" pool was really run down and very shabby looking. As it happened we spent our time at the main pool, where we were treated like royalty by the very friendly and loyal staff. Both Mahmouds at the towel stand were amazing as was Ali at the bar, not once did our glasses run dry! Unlimited wifi was great.

  • Location
    5.0

    The location of the hotel was really good for us. We came away for a total wind down and that is exactly what we got! We didn't want to be on top of the busy areas of Sharm but wanted the choice to go to them if we wanted. Only half hour transfer time from the airport suited us also.

Close
Simon
Fantastic animation, fantastic staff, brilliant hols
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
Seventh stay and the staff all over the resort are very attentive and willing to help with any problems that you could have. The entertainment is spot on and moka and the team do a fantastic job as always. The food in the restaurants as far as we were concerned was varied hot and well cooked. The waiters couldn't do enough for us and we were travelling as a group of 4 and anything we wanted we would get it even if it wasn't on the menu. The pools were spotless and Mamdouh Rachad Allam and the rest of the ... guys did a great job keeping everything clean and tidy and kept us entertained. All being well we shall be back again in May and as far as some of the bad reviews are concerned I would take them with a pinch of salt as some of the bad things have been blown out of all proportion. Simon and Lorraine read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Nicky
Brilliant entertainment team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
After staying at the sunrise diamond we have to say they have the best animation team even though they are on the go all day they always have time to stop and chat the activities they provided throughout the day were great as well as the night entertainment we have to give a special mention to tia,maz,ben and zino who really stood out and made sure we had a great holiday as for the hotel we would highly recommend people to stay there staff,food and cleanliness all get top marks from us all in all a brilliant ... place to stay if your going to Egypt. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Mair
A Wonderful Holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
This was my second visit to this Hotel this year and once again I was not disappointed. The Staff of all grades go out of their way to make you feel welcome and cannot do enough for you. What made my holiday was the input from the Animation Team, Muka and his team did a wonderful job of keeping me amused day and night and always stopping to make sure I was OK whenever they saw me. The choice of food was exceptional and very good. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - you will not be disappointed. Keep up ... the good work Muka!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Maya
Holiday to remember
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
We spent one week holiday at SunConnect Sunrise Diamond & it was amazing week, -Hotel itself is so beautiful. -food is ok for all inclusive hotel. -Room was always clean, we had activity pool view. -Staff are friendly and helpful. -Reciption staff and coustmor service are helpful. -Animation team are the best hotel should be proud of them as they do a great job thanks guys for making our holiday one to remember xxx read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Paula
Great holiday! Amazing animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
I had an absolutely amazing stay at this hotel, we meet the manager a few times during our stay I think this is great as it shows that they care and want to meet guests as much as the entertainment staff do! The waiting service was amazing! Mohammed who worked on the bar on the evening always made us welcome finding us tables and chairs as their was 8 of us during our stay' always making us different cocktails to try such a great guy! The waiting staff in the restaurant were great always making jokes and cleaning the tables ... fast! overall our experience was amazing and I will definatly be coming back! If not to relax I will be looking into joining their team! The animation team are one to remember absolutely amazing at their job! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room was very clean all throughout the week clean towels bedding everyday and the lovely designs the cleaners did each day made it that little more better, the only little thing was we had a cockroach in our room the one evening after squealing like big kids for half an hour we finally got it but the cleaners didn't clean it up the next day as we didn't want to touch it apart from that great rooms with great views

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    I feel the food in the restaurant was great we are in the main restaurant which had a great variety of foods to choice from I liked that they had live cooking stations, we also ate in the Indian the Italian restaurant and the oriental restaurant which we all truely enjoyed great variety and fast service the only thing I could give advice on would be the Indian some of our group found this too hot maybe they could Offer 2 sorts of spice for this

  • Service
    6.0

    The service at the hotel was fast and always good! Tables were cleaned fast always asked if wanted drinks, helped with what sorts of food their were avilable, we also for tips on what to do as a few of our group had upset stomachs!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The animation team are absolutely amazing and are a credit to the hotel! Moka and the guys make you feel so welcome and make your holiday experience one to remember! They work really hard with long days but they always have smiles on their faces and are ready to make you smile and laugh! I particularly enjoyed the evening entertainment the Michael Jackson tribute was great! Sam your amazing' never stop dancing! We participated in the day time events such as water arobics stretching Zumba yoga and Latin dancing! Which all were very enjoyable! All the team made you feel welcome we especially got on with Tia and maz, Ben Zeno and hema! Great people!!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I had an absolutely amazing stay at this hotel, we meet the manager a few times during our stay I think this is great as it shows that they care and want to meet guests as much as the entertainment staff do! The waiting service was amazing! Mohammed who worked on the bar on the evening always made us welcome finding us tables and chairs as their was 8 of us during our stay' always making us different cocktails to try such a great guy! The waiting staff in the restaurant were great always making jokes and cleaning the tables fast! overall our experience was amazing and I will definatly be coming back! If not to relax I will be looking into joining their team! The animation team are one to remember absolutely amazing at their job!

  • Location
    6.0

    Our hotel wasn't far from the airport which great after a long flight you want to get there and relax, the hotels taxi service were great quick and reliable! We booked them to soho square also and they told us all about the surroundings we were going past what they were which I thought was great! The hotel grounds were beautiful well kept amd always clean and tidy! So picturesque!

Close
Marwan
Wonderful holiday with a wonderful animation team
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
amazing holiday .. the hotel is fantastic .. everyone was moving just to make us happy .. specialy the animation team .. mokka and the rest of the guys did a really good jop to entertain us ...would gladly come back again .. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Theresa
My new favorite place in the world
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
I cannot praise the staff of all levels enough, Restaurants, Bars, Pool, Animation Team, Garden, Cleaners, Maintenance, Spa. ALL work long days often over 12 hours and remain polite & friendly even to those that do not appreciate their dedication to ensuring their visitors enjoy a trouble free, relaxing holiday. Choice of pools, restaurants and bars, all will see you taken care of. I will be returning. probably more than once! :D read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kayley
Beautiful hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
Just been back from a lovely holiday at the sunrise diamond and what an amazing place and lovely people, staff in the hotel were vet helpful and always have smile on while serving us. Entertainment one of the best we ever seeing. Defiantly will be back. Thanks guys read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Trish
Amazing holiday spent with amazing company
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
Amazing Holiday spent with great company. The animation team were always good fun and great entertainment what more can one say. Will be coming back soon ya hooo read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Julian
The Nuts!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2015
The hotel was really good, nice and clean everywhere. Rooms were attended to daily to a very good standard. The food was different daily with a good choice to suit everyone, although the cakes looked amazing they did all taste pretty much the same and this was the same of other hotels too! The staff were attentive and couldn't do enough for you especially when you treat them with respect, after all these people are working in 42c and still smiling. The Animation Team were brilliant, always good fun and had time for a chat. They came from all over ..., England, Ukraine to name two. They organised the kids club and games around the pool which were good fun, and by the way they do love being pushed in the pool!!! They also go on nights out and if you can stand the pace I suggest you sign up for s night out with them, it's crazy. The team put on nightly shows and have a new choreographer who is excellent do they are well worth seeing, spectacular and very entertaining. there also guest appearances, due show and magic to which were very good. all in all a great experience and well definitely be back. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Mike
Not he Diamond you would think !
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2015
Sunrise select diamond resort The activity entertainments team here are fabulous, the most outgoing, enthusiastic group of young entertainers you could ever want to meet. THIS REVIEW LOOKS PAST THE ENTERTAINMENT TEAM. THIS REVIEW LOOKS AT THE HOTEL ITSELF. OTHER REVIEWS (as published not hearsay) WILL PRAISE THE ACTIVITY TEAM SAYING HOW THEY MADE THE HOLIDAY FOR THE GUESTS. A HOTEL IS MORE THAN JUST AN ENTERTAINMENT TEAM. READ A HONEST ACCOUNTABLE REVIEW HERE. This resort would be perfect to be rated as a 3*. To say the resort can attain a 4*+ /5* is certainly not true the hotel ... is advertised in the Thomas Cook brochure stating approximately 450 rooms which is advertised a Thomas cook exclusive hotel, certain members of the reception staff are rude, the bellboys will take you on a nightmare golf buggy ride to your room, they are then rude if you do not tip them enough. I experienced this when I had to move rooms. The rooms themselves are being renovated slowly, although the décor is very worn, my room had air conditioning problems, the safety deposit box was not secured properly to a wall, only to the wardrobe unit shelf and this was by 2 screws, proof of this was retained by photographs. There is a hotel disclaimer stating no responsibility would be taken for any theft of personal items due to there being a safety deposit box in the room. Wi-Fi was available and free, this would often not be working when a new influx of guests would arrive, it would resume after a couple of days once the server had been rebooted, the hotel reception told me that it was their service provider, that was accountable for the loss of internet services. The restaurants: Half moon, this was the main buffet restaurant, this was a fiasco, there was no waiting staff to meet greet or show you to a table, you had to hunt for a table which looked free, once you found a table, you had to find a member of staff to either clear the table or replenish the cutlery, if you did not leave some form of personal belongings at the table, it would be taken by another guest upon your return. The food was limited and many dishes were emptied and not replenished very quickly, on several occasions food was not hot, as it should be ( as an ex chef I avoided certain dishes of this kind). Serving utensils were used by some guests as their own personal cutlery, often eating directly from them and then passing to other guests to be used. I encountered this on several occasions. The refreshment area often ran short of cups, glasses and mineral water, disposable cups were often used, even though the hotel had replied to other complaints on trip advisor about this problem, stating they had addressed the situation (written and published not hearsay), obviously this was not the case. Waiting staff seemed confused, they had no set area to manage, many times there would be staff shouting at each other, with arms flaying in directions of tables which were still strewn with dirty cutlery and food. Staffing levels in my opinion were limited and stretched. Italian: As the hotel was very busy and in my opinion over booked, this restaurant was now being used as an overflow for the main buffet restaurant, this also meant that there was no longer a themed Italian restaurant available to book through the automated booking screen which was located near the reception for the themed restaurants, service in here was only slightly better than in the Half moon, the food itself was now down scaled to only certain dishes and not the full variety of the main buffet restaurant. Glasses were once more sparse with disposable cups often in place. A picture of which was placed on instagram. Beach bar: The day service here was very very slow, the chefs here were not very friendly and would often have to be drawn from the rear of the kitchens after I had to ask, to serve me, where I was standing in direct 40+ degree sunlight. Night time service here was much different, on special themed nights, food here was generally very good, freshly cooked and always hot, Mamood the restaurant manager was always accommodating and very friendly. The activity pool bar was run by Ahmed and Nas, they had a hard job to do on many occasions once again running out of solid plastic glasses and resorting to disposable cups, the supposedly swim up bar did exist to an extent where you only swam up to it. The bar itself was never manned, neither was it ever set up as a bar, more than not it was used as a spring board for the Arab children who had no regard for their own safety. The activity pool has issues, grouting around and in the pool was now degrading or missing altogether, if you were to create a wave against the side, cement would be dispersed onto the pool floor. The towel guys, Rashad and his other co-worker had a very hard job to do, of which they did to a high standard, Rashad was very very good helping many of the guests with sun beds and shelter from the high temperatures. Animation team: Amazing team these people are the hotels BEST asset, without these guys and gals this hotel would fall flat on its face. Moka is the head of the entertainments team, he does a fabulous job, different themed days around the pool, plus evening entertainment up at the terrace bar, his team are great Zino, Sam Fire, Tony, Alina, Karolina, Julia, Katua, all asking on a daily basis if my wife and I would like to join in the activities even if we said no, they would ask everyday, some of the evening shows they put on are very entertaining and well thought out, to entertain all the different nationalities. Terrace bar Tamer and Mamoud are very good at keeping all the guests happy with drinks on a regular basis, even though this area can get busy they are brilliant at keeping the guests happy. Going Staff The rudest, people I have ever encountered, unless you are Italian you will not get a smile, a response in a civil manner of any kind from this team. The kid’s entertainer Paola would allow the Italian children to bomb and annoy other guests in the pool, without any concern for other users. Whilst we made the most of our holiday here, my wife and I made the most of our holiday, my wife and I are well travelled, knowing not to drink water from the taps and to avoid certain things with heat and ice cold drinks. During the second week of our vacation we ourselves encountered illness, the chemist is within the grounds of the hotel, I encountered other guests requesting the same medication as myself for an upset stomach, to which we then ate out of the hotel. On the occasions we ate out of the hotel we were not ill the next day. I have been asked if I would revisit this resort, I would like to say I would not endorse this resort for either friends or readers of trip advisor. This review is of true fact, no hearsay, or repetition of any other guest’s thoughts or concerns are mentioned here. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    adequate but worn rooms are being renovated try to get a room by the lobby

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    terrible food service, limited dishes very bland cold dishes with not a very goo d set up

  • Service
    3.0

    management do not care about guests

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    Sunrise select diamond resort The activity entertainments team here are fabulous, the most outgoing, enthusiastic group of young entertainers you could ever want to meet. THIS REVIEW LOOKS PAST THE ENTERTAINMENT TEAM. THIS REVIEW LOOKS AT THE HOTEL ITSELF. OTHER REVIEWS (as published not hearsay) WILL PRAISE THE ACTIVITY TEAM SAYING HOW THEY MADE THE HOLIDAY FOR THE GUESTS. A HOTEL IS MORE THAN JUST AN ENTERTAINMENT TEAM. READ A HONEST ACCOUNTABLE REVIEW HERE. This resort would be perfect to be rated as a 3*. To say the resort can attain a 4*+ /5* is certainly not true the hotel is advertised in the Thomas Cook brochure stating approximately 450 rooms which is advertised a Thomas cook exclusive hotel, certain members of the reception staff are rude, the bellboys will take you on a nightmare golf buggy ride to your room, they are then rude if you do not tip them enough. I experienced this when I had to move rooms. The rooms themselves are being renovated slowly, although the décor is very worn, my room had air conditioning problems, the safety deposit box was not secured properly to a wall, only to the wardrobe unit shelf and this was by 2 screws, proof of this was retained by photographs. There is a hotel disclaimer stating no responsibility would be taken for any theft of personal items due to there being a safety deposit box in the room. Wi-Fi was available and free, this would often not be working when a new influx of guests would arrive, it would resume after a couple of days once the server had been rebooted, the hotel reception told me that it was their service provider, that was accountable for the loss of internet services. The restaurants: Half moon, this was the main buffet restaurant, this was a fiasco, there was no waiting staff to meet greet or show you to a table, you had to hunt for a table which looked free, once you found a table, you had to find a member of staff to either clear the table or replenish the cutlery, if you did not leave some form of personal belongings at the table, it would be taken by another guest upon your return. The food was limited and many dishes were emptied and not replenished very quickly, on several occasions food was not hot, as it should be ( as an ex chef I avoided certain dishes of this kind). Serving utensils were used by some guests as their own personal cutlery, often eating directly from them and then passing to other guests to be used. I encountered this on several occasions. The refreshment area often ran short of cups, glasses and mineral water, disposable cups were often used, even though the hotel had replied to other complaints on trip advisor about this problem, stating they had addressed the situation (written and published not hearsay), obviously this was not the case. Waiting staff seemed confused, they had no set area to manage, many times there would be staff shouting at each other, with arms flaying in directions of tables which were still strewn with dirty cutlery and food. Staffing levels in my opinion were limited and stretched. Italian: As the hotel was very busy and in my opinion over booked, this restaurant was now being used as an overflow for the main buffet restaurant, this also meant that there was no longer a themed Italian restaurant available to book through the automated booking screen which was located near the reception for the themed restaurants, service in here was only slightly better than in the Half moon, the food itself was now down scaled to only certain dishes and not the full variety of the main buffet restaurant. Glasses were once more sparse with disposable cups often in place. A picture of which was placed on instagram. Beach bar: The day service here was very very slow, the chefs here were not very friendly and would often have to be drawn from the rear of the kitchens after I had to ask, to serve me, where I was standing in direct 40+ degree sunlight. Night time service here was much different, on special themed nights, food here was generally very good, freshly cooked and always hot, Mamood the restaurant manager was always accommodating and very friendly. The activity pool bar was run by Ahmed and Nas, they had a hard job to do on many occasions once again running out of solid plastic glasses and resorting to disposable cups, the supposedly swim up bar did exist to an extent where you only swam up to it. The bar itself was never manned, neither was it ever set up as a bar, more than not it was used as a spring board for the Arab children who had no regard for their own safety. The activity pool has issues, grouting around and in the pool was now degrading or missing altogether, if you were to create a wave against the side, cement would be dispersed onto the pool floor. The towel guys, Rashad and his other co-worker had a very hard job to do, of which they did to a high standard, Rashad was very very good helping many of the guests with sun beds and shelter from the high temperatures. Animation team: Amazing team these people are the hotels BEST asset, without these guys and gals this hotel would fall flat on its face. Moka is the head of the entertainments team, he does a fabulous job, different themed days around the pool, plus evening entertainment up at the terrace bar, his team are great Zino, Sam Fire, Tony, Alina, Karolina, Julia, Katua, all asking on a daily basis if my wife and I would like to join in the activities even if we said no, they would ask everyday, some of the evening shows they put on are very entertaining and well thought out, to entertain all the different nationalities. Terrace bar Tamer and Mamoud are very good at keeping all the guests happy with drinks on a regular basis, even though this area can get busy they are brilliant at keeping the guests happy. Going Staff The rudest, people I have ever encountered, unless you are Italian you will not get a smile, a response in a civil manner of any kind from this team. The kid’s entertainer Paola would allow the Italian children to bomb and annoy other guests in the pool, without any concern for other users. Whilst we made the most of our holiday here, my wife and I made the most of our holiday, my wife and I are well travelled, knowing not to drink water from the taps and to avoid certain things with heat and ice cold drinks. During the second week of our vacation we ourselves encountered illness, the chemist is within the grounds of the hotel, I encountered other guests requesting the same medication as myself for an upset stomach, to which we then ate out of the hotel. On the occasions we ate out of the hotel we were not ill the next day. I have been asked if I would revisit this resort, I would like to say I would not endorse this resort for either friends or readers of trip advisor. This review is of true fact, no hearsay, or repetition of any other guest’s thoughts or concerns are mentioned here.

  • Location
    4.0

    Limited surroundings airport 30 mins area is run down

Close
Caprice
First holiday abroad in 10yrs!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2015
This hotel was absolutely fantastic, the animation team was brilliant and so was the manager. I didn't enjoy the food that much as I was a bit poorly but overall it was great! It's such a lovely caring environment and welcomes all. You always think you want to go on holiday to have a break from home but realise once you get there you want it to be more like home, and this hotel is a perfect combination of the both! No matter where you go everyone is smiling and laughing and trying to make you feel comfortable, if there's ... a problem everyone wants to help you personally which is great! I've recommend this hotel to everyone I know and even the people I don't know just because I really think everyone will love this hotel as much as I did, and I love it so much I'm planning on going back next year and to also move there! Honestly you must go, it's nothing you have ever experienced before, it's like a dream come true!) xx read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Ashley
Fantastic staff and brilliant hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2015
Stayed here in August with my husband and enjoyed every second of it. Was our 4th time to Egypt and this hotel definitely won the others over. As soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the reception/concierge/bar staff who checked us in quickly with a lovely welcome drink. Rooms are big and spacious and all in good locations, our room was situated by the main pool which had great views. All staff were very attentive to ensure we were having a memorable holiday. The hotelis all inclusive but each day there was so much to choose from and ... we never got bored of the food.There was an international animation team who worked round the clock providing the hotel guests with daytime activities/kids club/night time shows etc. All of them worked equally as hard and really made our stay at Sunrise Diamond one to remember. We will definitely be returning in the future and hope the staff don't change. Thank you for an amazing holiday! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Luke
Animation team!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2015
We returned on August the 1st and even now have fresh in our minds how wonderful our first trip to Egypt was, the hotel, food and surroundings all contributed to a successful stay but I'd personally have to say the animation team was the main reason we enjoyed our stay! They were all happy and friendly everyday which really helped us settle into the hotel plus the activities on offer were great, now I am not someone who usually takes part in such activities but due to the effort of the team and the fun everybody else seemed to be ... having I found myself taking part several times and really enjoying myself! I think the team work very hard and do an amazing job, we would definitely be happy to return to this hotel and would recommend it to others! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Krzysztof
Family time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2015
The nice hotel for family vacation incuding very intersting idea of SunConnect, so you have got WIFI in the whole area together with Teenlounge. Helpful staff at the beach and pool. Only the service in the restaurants and bar was below avarage, exluding the waiter Samer. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Gregor
The best vacation, we want to come back again, top
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Very nice hotel and staf. The best are the Animation team of Moka. The food is good, and children was very happy in the pool and the beach bar. O jea, the watter melon party with dj Jackson was very good. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Ok, the room was clean and enought big for us. Only problem was becouse we have a family room, witch was far awey from sea, pool ,,,

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The food was good, but you must serve natural juices, this we mised.

  • Service
    6.0

    We spend every day allmost in heven. All the service was prfect.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Yess, that's the best I alleedy sey. The Moka's team was the best

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Very nice hotel and staf. The best are the Animation team of Moka. The food is good, and children was very happy in the pool and the beach bar. O jea, the watter melon party with dj Jackson was very good.

  • Location
    6.0

    Location is good and close to the beach.

Close
Chris
Another Great Holiday at Sunrise!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Just got back from the Sunrise again. Had another snashing holiday. It was great to to see that a lot of the staff that we met last year were still here. We were made to feel very welcome by everybody at the hotel. Mr. Salah, the front of house manager, was very accommodating again. The room was great mohammed Thank you for all your help. The animation were even better this year.I didn't think that they could improve on last year, but they did! The team are all great fun and are around all day and night interacting with ... the guests. Julie and I are going to miss you guys. But we will hopefully be back in September. Thanks to Ali for the towels & to Ahmed and mohammed for the regular supply of drinks in the evenings. The room was cleaned every day. With new towels, water in the mini bar & toilet rolls replenished. I have read some of the less flattering comments about the Sunrise & to be honest looking at the grammar from some of the supposed British guests. I wonder how reliable they are. I would recommend the hotel & will be returning ourselves. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 11