Iberostar Hotel Tainos(4 stars)

Las Morlas km 12.5 42200 Varadero View on map

Average rating

477 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.0
  • Room
    5.1
  • Service
    5.3
  • Location
    5.0
  • Food and Drinks
    4.8
  • Sport & entertain
    5.2
Filters
You selected:
104 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
DJ
Relaxing Tainos
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
The resort was very nice and well maintained. We enjoyed the beach, pool and restaurants daily. We were all-inclusive and there was always some sort of food/meal available. All the bars were excellent and had a good selection of drinks and beers that were available. Food and drinks never ran out. As for the guests it seemed like it was a very international group of people at the resort during the week and the age range was from young children to older couples. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Room was a little dated, very clean but dated and was perfectly fine it actually grew on you by the end of the week. The mattress and bedding was older and if I had to explain it I would say it felt like a pull out couch mattress that was thin and you could feel every spring. Also updating the bedding may help make the room less dated as those duvet covers were pretty old and tired looking. The TV was and older tube TV in our room and was very fuzzy, I think our TV in the room was actually broken but just on its last legs we could barely even see the channels on the TV. Our friends room did have a nice newer flat screen TV and it work perfectly fine so maybe they are in the process of updating some room amenities as they go. Our friends room did have issues with their AC but ours worked perfect. We didn't pay the optional upgrade to have our minibar refilled everyday but it was refilled every second day. We really didn't need it refilled as we spent every evening down in the lobby bar drinking.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Now I did enjoy the food quite a lot well I was there for the week. I was very happy with the quality of the food and selection that was offered everyday. I know some of the other in our group were not as happy as I was and probably would have given the rating a much lower score. I tried to be creative with what was offered in the main buffet restaurant. The also have two additional al-a-carte restaurants and I would say the Japanese was the best of the two and the Cuban was just ok. All the restaurants were very clean and well maintained.

  • Service
    6.0

    The Tainos staff was great and always trying to please. Our room was always cleaned daily and had a nice surprise on the day after our arrival! (I'll enjoy making my own mojitos this summer with it THANKS Tainos). The restaurant staff was always great and always looking after you. The bar staff was also great and by the end of the week they had a good idea of what you liked to drink. Big shout out to William in the main lobby bar as he always took great care of us every night before and after dinner.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Like I said earlier the pool and the beach were fantastic. The entertainment staff was good and didn't bother you too much if you didn't feel like participating. Everyday there seems to be a good selection of activities from yoga/stretching, water sports, mini golf, beach volleyball, target shooting and darts it always varied daily. Some of the sports equipment was well used and warn out like the volleyball but they were useable. We participated in quite a few events each day to keep things active and that seemed to keep things more interesting. We did attend a few evening shows and they seemed to be well run and lively. One thing I would have liked to see was that the gymnasium would have been open earlier in the day. It only open from 9am - 6pm daily I would have liked to work out in the morning before the start of the day so I wouldn't miss other fun activities that ran through out the day (Gotta burn of those mojitos somehow!). They did have internet access but not WIFI, we didn't bother paying to use the internet as we heard it wasn't very reliable and I really didn't want to check the work emails anyways. The beach was nice white sand and the water was crystal clear and warm, beach cabana/shelters we plenty as well as the beach chairs. Pool and pool area was nice and clean and with in nice proximity to two bars for drink refills. Other then the hours for the gym everything else was great.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The resort was very nice and well maintained. We enjoyed the beach, pool and restaurants daily. We were all-inclusive and there was always some sort of food/meal available. All the bars were excellent and had a good selection of drinks and beers that were available. Food and drinks never ran out. As for the guests it seemed like it was a very international group of people at the resort during the week and the age range was from young children to older couples.

  • Location
    6.0

    The Tainos is about a 40 minute transfer from the airport to the hotel, so not to far. The resort is on a beautiful white sand beach and its about 2 to 3 minute walk to the beach from the main pool and about five minutes from our room in the hotel. Varadero is the main city in the area and is only about ten minute taxi ride from the hotel. We paid ten bucks for four of us each way. You can also take a bus for five dollars and we heard its about twenty to twenty five minutes and it gives you hop on and off ability. Varadero has a mainstrip were most of the souvenir booths are located. It took us about an hour to walk from one end to the other. We also did hire a private taxi with tour guide to take us into Havana for the day it was nice and very beautiful, especially in the downtown core of the city. There were other excursions available but we decide to just hang out and enjoy the beach and sun.

Close
John
Lovely hotel with great staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
This hotel is compact but spacious with excellent rooms on a fantastic beach. We stayed all inclusive and booked bungalow rooms for extra space. We are a family of four including a 20 and 17 year old and we all can't wait to go back read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We had booked bungalow rooms which were clean and spacious with very comfortable beds

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food was good with a wide range of choice on the buffet. The vegetables were sometimes a bit lukewarm and the beef was not the most tender but the rest of the food was very nice, especially the fish

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were really friendly and helpful especially Lazara the dancer who was the best dance instructor we have ever had and was great at persuading reluctant folks to get up and dance

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Entertainment team were very good and there was plenty going on if you wanted to be active. Also the music around the pool was at a reasonable volume for most of the time

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This hotel is compact but spacious with excellent rooms on a fantastic beach. We stayed all inclusive and booked bungalow rooms for extra space. We are a family of four including a 20 and 17 year old and we all can't wait to go back

  • Location
    6.0

    Fantastic location on a wonderful beach. The compact nature of the hotel means it is only a short walk to the pool, the beach, the restaurant and reception

Close
Anna
Comfortable hotel.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
We loved this hotel very comfortable and would book it again. Outstanding is the friendliness of the staff and the cheerful atmosphere. Unfortunately, there was no possibility, to have breakfast or an evening meal. For the meals in the restaurant are cardigan or sweater recommended. We have one of the evening shows seen, the quality was quite good. As the music was unbearably loud, we further visits by far. I am afraid, that not only present children hearing face. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Olaf
Nice, relaxing beach holiday.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
The hotel (three floors) and the bungalow area (each with 8 units) had a pleasant size. Many beach chairs at the pool and on the beach. Bath towels free of charge. In-room safe 30 Euro nice playground. Guests to 50% canadians, 20% of south americans, mainly argentines, 20% russians and the remainder we europeans. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Large, spacious, large bed, many cabinets/counters, washing area from shower/toilet with a door. Daily cleaning. Fernesehen including a german program (dw)

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    It is not everything and also many repetitions, but always good quality and it was constantly refilled. Tables were always freshly set. Change the cuban and the japanese restaurant offer. In the morning and in the evening the food exclusively inside instead.

  • Service
    6.0

    Attentive, friendly, not a tip.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    At lunchtime and dinner, a small, or larger band caribbean rhytmen. The animation team is endeavored, it is missing however at variety. Pedal boats and kayaks are for use is required. Also surf boards are available on request. A small catamaran can from a hotel food are really good a short exit be ordered. There is a tennis court. Always find someone to the beach -Volleyball. Two table tennis-plates and a (not so good) gym. Jogging on the beach and on the sidewalk along the street. There is an auditorium (not visit). Internet was at a complete pc possibile, but too slow.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel (three floors) and the bungalow area (each with 8 units) had a pleasant size. Many beach chairs at the pool and on the beach. Bath towels free of charge. In-room safe 30 Euro nice playground. Guests to 50% canadians, 20% of south americans, mainly argentines, 20% russians and the remainder we europeans.

  • Location
    6.0

    Quiet location. However, in the evenings the außenanimation the neighboring area with appropriate wind direction to be heard. The 'nicest' beach in Varadero location. Flat, wide, a lot of beach chairs, also in the shade. Long walks at the beach were possible. Taxi transfer from/to the airport in 35 minutes to 37 cuc. Opposite the hotel the pier for catamaran day törns and next to the hotel the dolphin habitat.

Close
Rab
Terrific Tainos
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Stayed for two weeks in October, in the main building of the hotel, not the bungalows. Hotel was all that we could have asked for. Staff were friendly and helpful , and always met you with a cheery smile. All in all really nice hotel and a beautiful beach. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kami
Hotel Iberostar los tainos.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Great hotel, clean, great bungalow. Only recommendable. Pool is clean and plenty of beach chairs available. Food at the pool is 16 hours. Self-service. As well as in the restaurant. Kids disco. Clean beach and plenty of space to beach chairs. Sandsachen with bring. In Cuba you can't buy, there is not, as wassermatratze. Charwomen are small gifts, such as soap, toothbrush, deodorant, bandages etc. Excursions we did with taxi, since we the 4 were times there we know some. We also known. The rooms have no water kettle and no iron. In the restaurant it is not like in ... a cafeteria, always space. Staff very friendly, tips gladly accepted, they live it, you have to say. We loved it of the hotel. For 100 Euro you get 130 ccu Cuba is not cheap! Weather in october hot 30-35 card 1 day 1 hour rain. ☺ despite the rainy season. Warm sea and the pool. Don't believe the movement here. People forget the we Cuba are. There is nothing to buy. Quiet ☺ read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We were in bungalow, i can recommend, as you not by the front desk i must run, but so from the beach there can. Cracks beds, television in room 1 german channel, large bathroom. No kettle and no iron. If a need to bring. Plaster women works of art from the towels, we have every day 1 ccu left and small gift. Puzzle for children or things such as cosmetics.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    For Cuba 1 a, a lot of choice, fruit only the what Cuba wehst. Meat and fish, as well as pommersche and talent for children. And plenty of ice cream. 1 a

  • Service
    6.0

    Great, always ready very soon. Happy to receive tips. Tables set very clean.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Tennis i go, pool great entertainment top

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Great hotel, clean, great bungalow. Only recommendable. Pool is clean and plenty of beach chairs available. Food at the pool is 16 hours. Self-service. As well as in the restaurant. Kids disco. Clean beach and plenty of space to beach chairs. Sandsachen with bring. In Cuba you can't buy, there is not, as wassermatratze. Charwomen are small gifts, such as soap, toothbrush, deodorant, bandages etc. Excursions we did with taxi, since we the 4 were times there we know some. We also known. The rooms have no water kettle and no iron. In the restaurant it is not like in a cafeteria, always space. Staff very friendly, tips gladly accepted, they live it, you have to say. We loved it of the hotel. For 100 Euro you get 130 ccu Cuba is not cheap! Weather in october hot 30-35 card 1 day 1 hour rain. ☺ despite the rainy season. Warm sea and the pool. Don't believe the movement here. People forget the we Cuba are. There is nothing to buy. Quiet ☺

  • Location
    5.0

    12 kilometer from city. Taxi 10 ccu a distance. Carriage ride respect for fraud say first 10 ccu for all and then after the drive you want to per person. 10 ccu good bargain.! Hotel is located on a dream beach turquoise bright blue not described, so nice

Close
Ria
From our side-tainos not recommended
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2013
Rooms: - double room in the main building - room was aligned to the road - bed was big enough - rooms very basic, the room old, dated - hand towels and bed sheets always stained, bedspread best equal in the closet store (totally dirty, unwashed, the same applies to the pillows so that the maid not constantly new bed is - room unhygienic, small insects rummage in and on the Cabinets, cigarette burns in the furniture, Motten in the closets, spiders on the walls - in the bathroom you feel uneasy, not clean, the toilet was not cleaned, the ... shower/bathtub. Everywhere lime and dirty grout, tiles stained Hotel/resort - super beach with as well as neighboring beach bar - always friendly restaurant/bar/entertainment staff - lunch and evenings live bands but particularly in the evening Overlaps this entertainment with the Dinner in the restaurant. Deficiency always the same bands That every 2 days alternate and insufficient seating - entertainment for both adults and children good for example on the beach Aquagymastik, stretching, beach volleyball, dancing, Boccia Toilet at the beach - entertainment entertaining - reception/foyer area not air-conditioned, very humid warm, service Mostly rude, cigarette burns in seating, not Enough room for rainy days - toilet paper and seifemangel always in the reception area/the Beach and in the evening theater bar. Beach: - the beach section where the tainos is great especially the beach bar and the nearby toilet may be positive - water sports - lifeguards - really annoying was the morning fight point 7:00 around the Few contemporary beach chairs inclusive An umbrella. Sleep in unthinkable jdf. If you like on the beach under a schattenplätzchen. Here was noted, that it does not the germans are, the beach chairs already at 7:00 with their towels and then against noon tack. It were at that point in time hardly any germans in the hotel. Food/ drinks: - drinking water from the bottle there was not anywhere except the 1 bottle of you every 2 days from the maid service gets. Everywhere else just filtered water from the wasserhanhn, so that also the Ice cubes prepared. - restauranttischdecken, dishes stained - meat in the restaurant could have been better prepared to be - fish in the restaurant was good - food varied and plentiful (early/lunch/dinner) - food was also for the eye nicely arranged, it was very varied, it was always refilled - the japanese restaurant is good, a worth a visit (show cooking) - the pool bar serves evening alternativrestaurant converted-sah not appealing, food was on old schiebewagen similar in the hospital to the table supplied Conclusion: - hotel is ideal for families with children as the Entertainment really wide was set up (for children and adults alike) - great location, nice beach - but otherwise the hotel is aged, it is not Anymore starting at room decor until reception and Beach chairs - the hygiene was not enough (except food) read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Tatiana
Great beach holiday with a toddler
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
Very suitable for a relaxing beach holiday with (small) children. The entertainment was the highlight! The food was great. The additional restaurants were ok, cocktails were great. We had a times the room change and again in the other room the air conditioning let repair... But everything was always quickly and friendly cared for! If you need luxury is on Cuba wrong, but pure relaxation is! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Klaus-Peter
Tainos Varadero by the wonderful beach Karibik
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2013
Were already 12 years ago in the same hotel. This then was the food were better and richer. Otherwise the hotel offered the same good quality. Therefor the hotel is still recommended. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Viola
Way too expensive and not become ill
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
The hotel is very much off the beaten track and you have to taxi or bus. Walk is only the delphinarium about 15 minutes to reach. The rooms were huge and also very clean. We were lucky and had a big balcony however there are also rooms- with balcony entered-but it is surely only a safety rail to prevent falling from about 50 centimeter wide and not a balcony. For us the fountain around the hotel renewed, so only empty pool, which was of course not looked very nice but certainly was necessary. The beach bar is brand new built. ... The guests were mostly older people from 50 upwards. While we were there, there were canadians, peruvian, chileans demanding, english, plenty of argentinian, russians, austrians and a few german tourists over there. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    As already described the rooms were very big and also very clean. From and to you on its bedding large black footprints of shoes, so that you only to foot could turn around at the top end white linen to have. Our air conditioning was not adjustable. The küphlschrank very loud. This was every 2. day with 2 beer, 1 Cola, 1 lemonade refilled. A large bottle of water, you got always, if the old was empty. The balcony was also very large, if you get a (see above).

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    Dining we found good. You have always found something, something edible. The offer of fruit and juices, excellent. It's not very seasoned but you can with spices, a large number were offered redress. The restaurant was always clean.

  • Service
    4.0

    In the whole hotel one strives to speak german, with english well, as the cubans english in school learning. The staff is very friendly and always with a hola or smile on the lips and sang also the one or other song at work. I was disappointed from the medical service, although opening hours advertised were, no one was to reach. After several requests i was then from the neighboring hotel a nurse in/out privileges. My expectations after, after my complaints to questions were disappointed. The first question was: 'the costs 50-cuc you can pay?' But this is only the consultation of the doctor, the large bill will then. So don't be sick or just take enough money. My bill amounted to 380-cuc. What more is noticeable negatively is, that the cubans for everything a tip expect, for example, for the live music in the evening in the hotel. The hotel assigned, from the vacationers paid.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    The animation has itself over the whole beach spread, thus it was often loud or the sand your games on all distributed, partly very unpleasant. Beach chairs on the beach are enough available. For us it was so, that from 8:30 a. m. the beach chairs in the shade with a towel were reserved. The related people appeared but sometimes until around noon. Something we have not yet seen, and we were for the 9. time in Karibik. The schattenplätz are rare and partly the schattenpilze totally broken. Since one could help. Showers at the beach unfortunately we did not find, if there was any, they were well hidden. What was really worth seeing, is the pool show of the entertainment. The evening shows we visited only once, extremely loud and not very attractive. The costumes were the best part of the whole thing.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    The hotel is very much off the beaten track and you have to taxi or bus. Walk is only the delphinarium about 15 minutes to reach.. The rooms were huge and also very clean. We were lucky and had a big balcony however there are also rooms- with balcony entered-but it is surely only a safety rail to prevent falling from about 50 centimeter wide and not a balcony. For us the fountain around the hotel renewed, so only empty pool, which was of course not looked very nice but certainly was necessary. The beach bar is brand new built. The guests were mostly older people from 50 upwards. While we were there, there were canadians, peruvian, chileans demanding, english, plenty of argentinian, russians, austrians and a few german tourists over there.

  • Location
    4.0

    As mentioned above very isolated and rather dreary. The property is well maintained up to the leereb wading pool. Beach is about minutes distance. To the airport one drives about 40 minutes public transport is easy to reach. With the taxi for 10 cuc or bus for 5 cuc taxesticket you can Varadero city. From the bus, you can everywhere aussteigebn and with the same ticket again. In the more immediate vicinity are hotels or the dolphinarium. Excursions in the hotel from the travel agency, but it was just great.

Close
Stephanie
Iberostar tainos? No thanks!
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2013
For us it was the worst holiday we have ever had, we were frequently in Karibik but so which we do not have yet experienced. The food was 14 days very bad! Always the same and mostly of very poor quality. During the time we were there, the window in the area the pool bungalows were changed so it was often something loud. The way to the beach with a buggy not possible nearly, because it is the purest buckepiste is for someone not really good on foot remains better at the pool, although here the cleanliness and the broken ... pool places to be desired leaves. We are Iberostar very disappointed and would have expected more. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    1.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.5
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    1.0
  • Hotel
    3.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Christine & Klaus
Good 4 stars hotels, value for money is okay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2013
Room is huge, the furniture have already gotten a bit old and worn. Cleanliness of the room was good. Every day it was Wiped and the beds changed. Lcd tv is also available. There are only 1 programme and that is the Deutsche Welle. The is however not important, as we on vacation were there. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Rooms were okay. Air conditioning was quiet, but fridge quite loud, Have turned off after midnight. Rooms are very poorly soundproofed.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There was 3 restaurant, and 5 bars. The food was varied and something for everyone there. The beverages were okay, too. The japanese restaurant is also recommendable, in the cuban restaurant were not we. Cleanliness and hygiene were capitalized here. We had the service often tip gave, what They were very thankful. We had also still over 20 chocolates with Taken, what the staff very happy.

  • Service
    6.0

    The friendliness the service we would stress here, It was especially good. Man had also tried with us To speak german. Room cleaning we were also satisfied. We had in our holiday season a complaint, Because towels were missing. Was from the reception immediately Repaired.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    Room is huge, the furniture have already gotten a bit old and worn. Cleanliness of the room was good. Every day it was Wiped and the beds changed. Lcd tv is also available. There are only 1 programme and that is the Deutsche Welle. The is however not important, as we on vacation were there.

  • Location
    6.0

    Distance to the beach was short and approximately 150 meters from the Main building. Public transport there was about 200 meters away From the hotel by bus to Varadero. You can also a taxi to the hotel. We booked our trips through our tour operator Booked, which worked without problems had. We were in Havanna old and Neustadt, and in a cigars and rum factory. The highlight was the tropicana show. The trip we really liked, however, we were 20 hours on the way.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Kurt & Waltraud
A hotel class you leistenmuss archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
We really liked the hotel, the rooms were big and clean, the complex also very well maintained, we had all-inclusive and were very satisfied there was enough to eat, we could often not at all something try, because it everyday something different to choice. At the time we were there there was a very lots of guests from Canada, Russia, Germany also there were a few which from Belgium, South Africa, Chile and we were the only austrians i think at least we didn't see, the average age so 40-60 years. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Size and good condition. Furniture was adequate. Mini bar also okay. Tv program unfortunately only a german transmitter and as was most of the time the tone not. Bathroom and toilet big and clean enough, towels we could determine yourself.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Restaurant and bars were sufficiently available. The food Everything was always very good, very wide choice you could not at all decide and try everything, because it every day which new gave, also with the drinks and the freshly squeezed juices. The restaurant was clean, there were immediately, if one with the meal was ready, fresh clean tablecloths hung up on us, the staff friendly, courteous and always a smile in the face. Yes there was also a landestybisches food for us.

  • Service
    6.0

    It were all very friendly, at the front desk unfortunately a little only german and more english, the entertainers could also speak german, we could nevertheless communicate well. The rooms were clean and were cleaned daily. The doctor we needed, it worked out despite communication-the could not speak german, but very good. There were no complaints.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The leisure offer was the entertainment interesting, we were very satisfied. Beach chairs and umbrella by the pool enough, at the beach unfortunately too few we had but often by the pool remain, because no shade to find. The condition of the chairs was alright, at the sea the umbrellas were a bit broken. Showers was okay, too.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We really liked the hotel, the rooms were big and clean, the complex also very well maintained, we had all-inclusive and were very satisfied there was enough to eat, we could often not at all something try, because it everyday something different to choice. At the time we were there there was a very lots of guests from Canada, Russia, Germany also there were a few which from Belgium, South Africa, Chile and we were the only austrians i think at least we didn't see, the average age so 40-60 years.

  • Location
    5.0

    The distance to the airport took the 30-40 minutes so, the way to the beach was super one went only a couple of minutes, to the next town - no idea were only once in Varadero and it took so half an hour. Were once on a trip with us, we are to Havanna dangers was satisfactory after 2 hours bus ride. In front of the hotel there were a bus stop to a few -minute walk.

Close
Ralf
Rather three stars, needed. Bed. No recommendation archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Hotel has the best times behind it, badly in need of renovation. Some smaller measures are especially on the run (new beach bar, the zierpools are currently all empty and will be newly tiled, new doors in the main building). Therefore everywhere sometimes construction noise (circular saw, hammer, hammering). Unfortunately the toilets were the biggest fault (in the lobby/restaurant) all without klobrille/cover (only china) and not lockable (all locks broken). At the beach there was only 2 toilets for all of the guest (1 gentlemen, 1 times women). Food unfortunately split. Shortly before general guest questioning is clearly gained, on ... day then again bad, gästeverarsche! The guest structure was at random (couples, families, few singles, all ages). German, spanish, french, russians, argentinian, americans and canadians are at most represented. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Big enough for 2 adults and an additional bed for the child. ' Mini bar ' every 2 days filled (2 cans Cola, 2 cans of beer) Satellite tv (1 german program: dw), bathroom big enough. Fixtures very old, in need of to be changed, the toilet bowl. Rooms spotlessly clean. Windowledge type balcony (we were in the main building with a view of the sea, 3. floor) Gives also still minihäuser for the city. 8 parties around the pool/ garden area.

  • Gastronomy
    3.0

    Creolisches restaurant (reservation necessary): was rather mixed. Salad buffet, main course & dessert à la carte. Tenderloins (sirloin steak or kreolisches pork chop not recommendable; tuna totally dry Japanese restaurant (reservation necessary): 3 layers, so only 1 hour time to eat. Tepanaki as a main entrance, starter 5 sushi, the nebenmann have to share; tasty but ok. For lack of time served, no real tepanaki feeling. Main restaurant (mittags/abends): unfortunately split. 2-3 days before general survey correctly served (suckling pig, turkey, sektauschank, iberico ham, 5-6 sorts of cheese), after the questioning of everything! General: bad seasoned food. There are always separated. Pizza/pasta (mostly overcooked) + noodle bar; 'sushi' (only california rolls with vegetables/surimi); the daily selection at normal days is always the same (fleisch/fisch/salate); enough dessert; fruits unfortunately only not riped water melons, pineapple; guavas, bananas, oranges (but not always everything at the same time); cereal in the morning rather something for children's department (everything sweet, no grains, etc.) ; 2 eggs stations in the morning; bacon inedible. Pool restaurant: for brunch (small selection from the main restaurant, eggs then for example fooled/warm (also fried eggs, etc.) : from 12:00 ageing. Lunch: always the same choice (pasta/pizza, hamburgers, Hot Dog; salads, dessert)

  • Service
    4.0

    Staff is constantly very friendly and helpful. It is also generally gladly gave tips. Positive: tips hiking in sammeltöpfe and will probably shared. Room cleaning was perfect and very clean. On bad condition of the armatures could the cleaning nothing (more on that later). Doctor is on site. Tablecloths in the main restaurant are not always clean, that means only once in the evening changed... You came through well with english, even partially speak german.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Entertainment very friendly and hard-working, not intrusive. Many games, also air rifle shooting, archery). Dancing lessons ; Volleyball, water polo; evening themenshow /disco. Mini club Pool good condition, enough chairs & sun protection Beach: only partly new pool chairs, umbrellas (sheets) partly broken. No showers at the beach Beach bar is currently under construction (construction noise); ' bridge ' to the beach on a broken

  • Hotel
    3.0

    Hotel has the best times behind it, badly in need of renovation. Some smaller measures are especially on the run (new beach bar, the zierpools are currently all empty and will be newly tiled, new doors in the main building). Therefore everywhere sometimes construction noise (circular saw, hammer, hammering). Unfortunately the toilets were the biggest fault (in the lobby/restaurant) all without klobrille/cover (only china) and not lockable (all locks broken). At the beach there was only 2 toilets for all of the guest (1 gentlemen, 1 times women). Food unfortunately split... Shortly before general guest questioning is clearly gained, on day then again bad, gästeverarsche! The guest structure was at random (couples, families, few singles, all ages). German, spanish, french, russians, argentinian, americans and canadians are at most represented.

  • Location
    5.0

    Lies directly at the beach, to the airport it was about 30 minutes. On the tour from the airport one is i. d. Rule the 3. the hotel. In the area (Varadero) little possibilities (the usual souvenirs, etc.) , on foot nothing within walking distance (taxi). Nearby marina (catamaran/ mangrovenausflüge ), delphinbecken. Excursions were offered enough.

Close
Brigitte
A bit modest, but very hard and no block archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Not a luxury hotel and a lack, the us however not disturbed. If you are very picky, you can find surely quite a bit. But they tried and the hotel is no typical block and we liked it. The food is very good and the rooms spacious. We had pecht with the weather, but the beach is nice with good weather. For us was Varadero only a starting point for a round trip and we were only there 2 nights. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Bernd & Maria
We were very satisfied archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
There my wife and i already some long-haul journeys did, we were because of the partly very Bad reviews skeptical, which this hotel subject. But all the more we are glad, this house Nevertheless booked. It is a not too large, facilities, with short ways, clean garden, Clean for and altogether very comfortable. The staff, especially, especially in the restaurant, was so friendly, like we it never experienced. The food was also good and always attractive decorative arranged. From the service we were without asking asked, whether we still another drinks or, if everything is okay and so on Our ... room in the bungalow was clean, large enough and had a beautiful, corner balcony. On the dreamlike beach must you no word to say-the speaks for itself! Place was abundant and a good couch was as requested debatable, where we wanted. Every afternoon and evening you could pleasant life musek hear and the performances in the theatre were also entertaining. We felt very good and keep therefore, the may be manipulated, bad reviews for completely unangeracht! Who this hotel bay, not go wrong. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Frank
I would go back again archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
We were after a trip through Cuba for 3 days to relax in this hotel, i am no friend of all inclusive shed, but i have to say, the hotel is great, i know, there are always people who complain about, but you have to keep in mind, that we are not in Europa are, and the hotel was perfect for this a positive surprise. All people, service, cooks entertainers were very pleasant and accommodating. We were not on entertainment forced, a nice no thank you, and you will not further troubled. The beach is great and only for the ... hotel guests, chairs are enough vorhabden. One everywhere served, and there is only at the beach plastic cups. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Lore
Fly again in may out archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
I the hotel can really recommend it. Friendly staff, great animation. Good food, comfortable rooms. You are not allowed forget you're in Cuba, The hotel is perfect for this really great. We liked it so much we in the may again Fly. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Stefanie
Wonderful vacation in a beautiful country archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
We can really recommend this hotel. Our stay passed as in the flight and the staff was always make an effort it us as beautiful as possible to make. The four stars is fair. More descriptive in the following. We had booked all inclusive. The majority of of the guests comes from Russia and some other Europa, Canada and south america. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We were in the main building accommodated. The room offers enough room. There was a balcony facing the land side with privacy to the neighbors and two plastic chairs. Tv with a german transmitter available. Klimeanlage and safe (against an extra charge) available. The mini bar (1 times water, 2 times shower, 1 times beer) every two days free refilled. The maid service was daily there and also every day our towels changed. We were very pleased the cleanliness looking forward to it.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There are almost at any time of the day somewhere in the hotel something to eat. Most meals are in the main restaurant in buffet form served. Morning there was different meats, bread, fruit, freshly squeezed fruit juices (guavas, banana, pineapple, papaya, melon), fresh fried eggs and pancakes. Lunch is mostly burgers and hot dogs to do it yourself, Paella, various pasta dishes and salads. In the evening there is also a wide choice of fish, chicken, pork, beef and side dishes. You didn't starve definitely not and there is for certain something for every taste. The cuban restaurant (also included, with reservation ) is also very recommendable. Different local à la carte cuisine freshly prepared. The japanese restaurant (also included, with vorbestellung) is also great. Sushi was not so good, but the rest was great. One sits in a semi-circle and in the middle, the chef prepares the ordered food freshly. There is a small cooking show was offered. The bars are numerous and you never have to wait long. The crockery is clean. The cocktail menu leaves nothing to be desired. Unfortunately these are not with Havanna Club mixed and also only after a careful eye. Each cocktail is a bit different than usual.

  • Service
    6.0

    The employees are totally friendly and speak almost every language. It was always make an effort us great stay possible without a consideration or holding up your hand (as you well Egypt knows). The maid service is also friendly and neat. Once was our light in the bathroom not. Short at the front desk gesagt and the next day was again everything okay

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The entertainment team in the hotel offers a wide variety. You can dance, bowling, archery, Volleyball play or the lottery attend, etc. The entertainers there is a lot of things. Since this is not our case, we it however did not test. The other tourists seemed satisfied with the offer. The beach is beautiful and offers enough space, and shade-and lie is. The quality of water was super. The beach from the staff of the bar was kept clean. Unfortunately, it is not all the guests now their plastic cup in the trash bin, so it evening already somewhat messy and cups in the area around.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    We can really recommend this hotel. Our stay passed as in the flight and the staff was always make an effort it us as beautiful as possible to make. The four stars is fair. More descriptive in the following. We had booked all inclusive. The majority of of the guests comes from Russia and some other Europa, Canada and south america.

  • Location
    4.0

    In Varadero stands a hotel on the other. Los tainos is on the touristenhalbinsel about on the last third (whole length Varadero: 20 kilometer, hotel lies at kilometer 12.5). The hotel is directly at the beach. To to the center to arrive one drives at the best by bus. A one-day ski pass costs 5 cuc/adult (1 cuc = 1 American Dollar). The journey takes ten minutes. A taxi ride with a vintage car costs around 8 to 10 cuc (it depends on the skilful way in). For excursions is always very long. For a stops at some other hotels further tourists gather, to other the streets are on Cuba not in best condition. In Varadero and the surrounding area is not much worth seeing. If you wanted to see more, you can travel to Santa Clara about 3 hours, to Havanna about 3 hours and the vinales valley about 5 hours by bus.

Close
Monika
Very good all inclusive-hotel without cubanischem flair archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2012
The tainos is a very good all inclusive hotel. Except the hangers, the always down and the way too cold set air conditioning in the theater i can absolutely nothing complain about. It could be however also on the mediterranean. Varadero is a tourist place and the typical karíbische flair i found here. That is the only reason, why i would not recommend. If you Cuba experience and feel wanted, could be better to Havanna. The evening shows with absolute professional dancers really had a very high standard. As well as the live band the lunch buffet and in the ... evening. It has a very informal atmosphere and the staff are extremely helpful and caring. The weather in the november was not particularly good and there was always the yellow or red flag at the beach. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
1 3 4 5 6