Hotel Papendal(3 stars)

Papendallaan 3, 6816 VD Arnhem View on map

Average rating

10 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.5
  • Room
    3.8
  • Service
    3.9
  • Location
    3.4
  • Food and Drinks
    4.5
  • Sport & entertain
    4.2
Filters
You selected:
8 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Fabian
Bad service for the price
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • November 2012
100€ for a very small rooms without hair dryer are quite steep. Also did the heater not be regulated, so that it much too warm for sleeping at night was. The staff at the reception was extremely unfriendly. The breakfast was ok however nothing special. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.5
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    2.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Jurswailly
Good one
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Other stay
  • October 2012
It was a good hotel. Food was very tasty and the staff was very kind. I did like the bathroom because it was clean and big. The restaurant was really big and the decoration was very nice.. I recommend it to everyone. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    1.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    2.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Dirk & Sonja
No four stars-from our point of view absolutely dubious archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • October 2011
We had booked the hotel through a portal under the heading of four stars hotel. During the eincheckens was only one known to us, that we had a three-star room. After our protest we were there was the nature 'against', that we instead of twelve, 50 Euro extra charge, the normally for a four star room would pay due, only seven, 50 Euro extra charge. We decided against it, as we were told, the difference between three and four stars would only, that the three-star room the shower in the bath tub integrated. The room 111, we then got, but ... from our point of view maximal two star level. Mold and mildew in the bathroom, a bathtub, in tight ten minutes after taking a shower the water was ankle, damaged walls, not at all, or only poorly renovated, the mattresses were so soft, that we in the night with back pain woke up several times, a broken door to the bathroom. Photos, the most faults document, prepared on holidaycheck we. Bad was it again, as the next morning we saw, that the portal specified hair dryer were not available. Also usually obvious things, like a toilet brush were non-existent. Furthermore, the hotel was so loud, that we received, when the neighbors in the adjoining room and in the room above us arrived. The early checkout time and ten o'clock we have experienced in any hotel. I believe it is fair to say, that the breakfast, included in the room rate was the, a good standard, but for the offered services were 89 €plus one, ten euro levy absolutely not appropriate. As the front desk when we left with our response to the demand, if everything was okay except former, handled is, all but the cake. After we had expressed dissatisfaction, we only got the answer: 'The is probably only their opinion, we could also change nothing more'. Conclusion: we can not recommend this hotel. We'have done a lot of traveling, so, as in this hotel is never happened. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.5
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    2.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
Close
Jule
Is okay archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • October 2011
The hotel is very modern equipped, the size of the room was big enough for two people. It was clean. The choice of breakfast buffets was kept within limits, but there were fresh fruit; as honeydew melon and pineapple. The eight kilometer away in town center, you can take the bus. The bus stop is a kilometer away, however. Furthermore, it is the wrong bus schedule either on the tram stop and in the hotel or from the bus driver was not on the departure times and you have to be prepared with 20 minutes late. And late in the ... night you can not walk from the bus station to the hotel. The way is very poorly lit. On the whole, the hotel is too expensive, that therefor in the forest and very bad traffic situation. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    1.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
Close
Jürgen
Brand new, modern hotel, great facilities. archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • November 2010
Very modern furnished hotel, glass, parquet flooring and wood furnishings. The location was ideal for relaxation, in the middle of a private forest with its adjoining golf course. The breakfast is great in quality and quantity, it's just everything there for a great way to start off the day!! The staff is friendly and very fast with queries and refill. Rooms are well equipped and nothing was missing. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Waltraut
Not 4 star archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • October 2010
Very large impersonal hotel. updated with modern interiors, for example, laminate, separated by glass shower, but in October but very cold rooms, heating is just below the ceiling, which wasn't so very much, as we were staying in the 'basement'. Beds were good but two twin beds. Breakfast actually nothing to complain about, there was no cocoa, what a 4 star hotel is very limited. This makes it for me but very lost. Room service was very bad, the pillows were not pillows fluffed, the tissues were still empty, long black hair, although both blond/gray are, light switches broken very ... clairaudient, no surprise since everything from concrete. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    As already described, cold, impersonal, cleaning not so good, noisy

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    There were hardly any dishes food but good. A bar and a restaurant, more do you need.

  • Service
    5.0

    The reception staff was very friendly and accomodating

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.0

    Very large impersonal hotel. updated with modern interiors, for example, laminate, separated by glass shower, but in October but very cold rooms, heating is just below the ceiling, which wasn't so very much, as we were staying in the 'basement'. Beds were good but two twin beds. Breakfast actually nothing to complain about, there was no cocoa, what a 4 star hotel is very limited. This makes it for me but very lost. Room service was very bad, the pillows were not pillows fluffed, the tissues were still empty, long black hair, although both blond/gray are, light switches broken very clairaudient, no surprise since everything from concrete.

  • Location
    5.0

    Situated Arnhem is easily reached by car

Close
Nicole
We will not stay again! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • July 2010
We have tried the Papendal time, but we didn't convinced us. The hotel's off the beaten path of street surrounded by forests and meadows. In the immediate vicinity is also a golf club. This hotel is more like a closet, initially seemed not appealing. In the entrance area and public areas modern Looked for us not so very comfortable. We liked the large foyer free internet. The rooms were rather olala. Clean, but the great disaster were the beds. Totally soft, the tiniest movement loudly creaked. Totally uncomfortable; sleep was really tiring. For such a hotel we had expected more. ... Safe was available, flat screen TVs, but nothing for German tourists, as only one German channel (ZDF). No hairdryer in the bathroom. And only a "shower", so showering in the bathtub with such a " slimy,plastic shower curtain. But anyway showers was difficult; shower head no water pressure! The window in the room was half to open; the other side was a Feststellfenster. There was only little air and therefore it was warm. Great we found the free, very many parking at the hotel and the breakfast was great. We will not again; in the area around and there are so many hotels in Arnhem, the for a similar price had a lot more to offer. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    2.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    1.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Carina
Very stylish and upscale archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • October 2009
Partly very modern hotel. Unfortunately we had in advance at the reservations via the Internet in German/English hassle. Servicing different prices for the same demand ... When you arrive as athletes event, due to injury/illness is not event and have to leave, is unfortunately not very accomodating: If 3 nights, this data must be booked. No cancellation possible anymore. The restaurant was very upscale despite few choice: 6 dishes (incl. 2 Menu's) on the dinner menu. The breakfast buffet was nothing to complain about. However there were hot drinks only getting cups, considerable "Lauflärm" CONTINUAL was almost always someone, get coffee. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
Close