Reef Hotel Mombasa(3.5 stars)

Mount Kenya Road View on map

Average rating

122 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.7
  • Room
    4.4
  • Service
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
  • Food and Drinks
    5.0
  • Sport & entertain
    4.5
Filters
You selected:
50 hotel reviews for undefined sorted by travel date
Harry
Great Holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2014
The hotel reef was good ,they have good rooms, a very nice swimming pool ,the food was nice and the waiters are friendly and honest people.A very beautiful beach with people working on the beach, we were afraid at first when the boys on the beach approaches us as we went on the beach to swim but they are not bad people.We book 3 days safari to Tsavo East and Taita Saltlick at a good price on the beach with MASUDI and the safari was fantastic,We recommend him.We enjoyed our holiday at Reef hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Hanna
Reef hotel - price achievement is correct mombas
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • March 2014
The hotel has only 3 stars, but you can get very good holiday. The rooms are simple, but very nicely renovated, the food is excellent, the garden is quite large and very beautifully. The staff is extremely friendly. It is near Mombasa and can do a lot. The minibuses (Matatu) drive off directly before the hotel, you are cheap ( shillinge after 40 Mombasa), one is fast in Mombasa. If you the first time a drive not only ambitious, you can ask one of the young men, the bottom on the beach offer safaris, whether they are against a small ... payment able. Safaris can be very good and inexpensive book book these people, for example Richard or George. Both are very zubverlässig, but action is announced. Easy to reach to foot or with a Tuk-tuk is also a very well stocked supermarket. There are also atm, where you can with the ec card withdraw money. I was not the first time in this hotel with my husband, but not the last time. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Silvia
Jambo Kenya!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2014
Nice hotel on the beach in nyali beach. Clean rooms, comfortable in the african style furnished, daily fresh towels and toiletries. Very varied food in buffet form which no wishes unfulfilled. Staff and animation team multi-lingual, also german, are very tried to make our stay an experience. There's live music in the evening. Around the pools a lot of beach chairs partly under palm trees. A few steps away from the beach and the sea. At the pool bar in the pool, lots of drinks. Work was a lot offered. Spa at very reasonable prices. Trips and safaris one can ... book directly in the hotel. One would like gladly stay there again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Gerhard
Kenya see not only from the beach.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • November 2013
Older hotel but clean. Staff always friendly. Minor flaws were immediately removed. In the reference to the rooms you should be aware that you in Afrika is and not in Europa. The food was good by the bank, no matter, whether in the morning, at noon or in the evening. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Room was ok. In-room safe had to be paid extra. Bathroom was large enough. And everything was always clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Food was always very good. Everything in buffet form and it was always something grilled. Drinks were at noon and in the evening because table. That was also without tips! But what faster. But that should be aware that the people from the tip life.

  • Service
    6.0

    At the service there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Staff is multi-lingual and always approachable. Especially the ladies and gardeners us all 3 days fresh flowers on the room and for fresh coconuts on the beach has. The area and the rooms were always clean and it was from morning to evening always which cleaned or planted without the bother us.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Since we did not participate in the animation we can't really say. But there was water polo, gymnastics, and so on.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Older hotel but clean. Staff always friendly. Minor flaws were immediately removed. In the reference to the rooms you should be aware that you in Afrika is and not in Europa. The food was good by the bank, no matter, whether in the morning, at noon or in the evening.

  • Location
    5.0

    Very beautiful area with a lot of space. Beach was unfortunately not for. You would have no peace before because sellers. To walk but doable. As first days what laborious but after many discussions fully in order. Who should after Francis questions. It shows a there on the beach everything you could see. With him are also small tours doable.

Close
Carolina
Good price-performance ratio.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2013
In principle, the reef hotel is a medium-sized hotel where you very good to relax, without unnecessary noise, without intrusive staff. %singlelinebreak % Depending on which one for claims it could a completely dissatisfied. The rooms are really in need of renovation, but they serve their purpose; we were rarely inside were accordingly, we would like (especially because of the price) not complain. %singlelinebreak % The grounds are very well maintained, everywhere are monkeys around, staff is very friendly! %doublelinebreak % All in all, you can say) for someone more exclusive or luxury vacation to experience would like; the ... hotel is not recommended! Conflict given! ) you want a good price-am pfahl with a rather spartan furnished rooms but great food, so is the reef hotel definitely recommended! read hotel review
  • Room
    2.3
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    2.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    1.0
  • Location
    3.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Herbert
Good hotel for nondemanding
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Very nice garden and pool area. Food good and varied. Staff is friendly and helpful. Price-performance ratio alright. Hand towels only 2 times per week instead of. Rooms are in the african style. The cleanliness of the rooms is however to be desired. (african standard). The service is extremely in need of renovation. The toilet glasses were totally dirty and smeared. There was no dirt, but simply worn out, so that the white plastic disgusting, brown appearance it lacked. The showering head was firmly (flexible) so that it was only in certain positions showers. We showered then always by the ... pool. In my opinion, the management should more frequently times the rooms inspect and corresponding improvement in. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.5
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.3
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    3.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Karola & Siegfried
Great vacation, beautiful country - would gladly come again
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Great vacation - gladly again:-) Since one always from the reviews on- We were pleasantly surprised, from the hotel, area, Staff and of course the price-performance ratio. The hotel is rather small, with about 80 rooms. It is, of course, also ageing and some is certainly in need of renovation, but everything is very clean kept. We had all-inclusive and were also very satisfied. The breakfast it could have been a bit 'lush' can be, but you are not allowed forget - three stars -, and you know that already when booking. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The rooms are by the size perfectly adequate, the balcony is large and we had a sea view-a dream. The air conditioning Worked well, since without it not have lived. There is also in every room a fan in addition, which was very useful. Unfortunately, no mini bar in the room, so that you didn't cool. The bathroom is standard, as in every hotel, very clean, but also a little renovation

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There was a main restaurant, very tidy and clean, the Tables were always freshly set, one was served (beverages), there must be i already again write, it is Ja ' only a 3 star hotel. Lunch and dinner were rich, always enough since, there were also nationaltypical things, also very tasty. As described above, the breakfast could a bit more his.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff is very friendly, nice and helpful. They also speak a little german, they give themselves very much trouble, whether at the front desk, in the restaurant, with cleaning and so on. The room was always clean, bed linen was constantly Changed. In case of any problems you could always at the Reception or Isabella shall apply, it was always Helped. Also thanks for that.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There were always enough lying available, the chairs and covers were from the staff brought, obviously you have to from time to time also tip, they are all very grateful. The animation was adequate and we had also lots of fun with you, for example Abdul ☺ the beach we actually only for walking go used, since because of ebb and flow, either the water was not there or so much seaweed at the beach herangeschwemmt were. The pools were always clean. Don't forget we want the abendrprogramm -for so a small hotel really great, in 2 weeks, just 2 times a program repeated. Great!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Great vacation - gladly again:-) Since one always from the reviews on- We were pleasantly surprised, from the hotel, area, Staff and of course the price-performance ratio. The hotel is rather small, with about 80 rooms. It is, of course, also ageing and some is certainly in need of renovation, but everything is very clean kept. We had all-inclusive and were also very satisfied. The breakfast it could have been a bit 'lush' can be, but you are not allowed forget - three stars -, and you know that already when booking.

  • Location
    6.0

    The beach is right next to the hotel and over stairs to reach. The shuttle from the airport is short, around 30 to 40 minutes, is Of course, the time (the best), during the day it is not quickly Mombasa. It has good Shopping, the next town about minutes Distance, the best tuk tuk, the directly in front of the hotel Is possible. Excursions could be without hesitation at the beach Book, everything well organized! We had a 2 day safari, super, you can not describe.

Close
Eva
The best holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
A succesful vacation in a great star hotel. Our expectations absolutely exceeded for three stars. The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was okay. It is however no hair dryer in the bathroom, if this is required should. There was the balcony very nice. The air conditioning worked without any problems. The staff is extremely nice and courteous. As we were from essen positively surprised. Breakfast was as a always the same offered, however, i think, should something for every guest for everybody. Afternoons and evenings there was a rich buffet. Also the desserts were delicious. I found ... good also, that it from time to time african food and the food not very west oriented. Always there fresh fruits and delicious pastries. Wholegrain products and assorted are however rarely. Drinks were quickly 'delivered'. Also during the day as one on the couch was. The loungers were comfortable, need but some updating. A place, also shade, one has always the large garden or the pool can find. The view to the sea down was unique. The large pool was the water temperature pleasant. Often there were only a few guests in the pool. You could also free of charge towels for the pool check-out counters. Alltogether it was a quiet atmosphere in the hotel, despite numerous guests. The pool was not so refreshing, however therefor we were there often the only guests. If you were lucky, you could here also one or another monkeys views. Through the inconvenient time low tide, we were only rarely in the sea. The water is very clear, however there are at the start many algae. You should wear bathing shoes. And at the end: please please don't let the traders hold, to the beach or otherwise where to go. Certainly everyone wants sell something, but if you thankfully decline, they are also fast again away. We have two small boat tours at the beach booked, the totally great and relaxing were. We also have a safari on the road in front of the hotel booked. Also the we can recommend. Have no fear. ☺ a safari you should definitely make, if you have in Afrika is. We were a day, it was exhausting, but enough for us. As we were in Mombasa. You should may be seen. But much culture/sites, there is not. The haller park, the approximately 10 minutes away with the tuk tuk from the hotel is, we can also recommend it. Entrance is at about 12 €, but since you have your own guide has, this is also okay. In the vicinity of the hotel there is a shopping center - on foot circa 10 minutes. Here you can in the supermarket shopping, if necessary. Entertainment nearby the hotel, there is not really. Also i can the behindertenwerkstatt bombululu workshops very good. Here you can nice things for a good purpose and also inexpensive. Currency exchange is in the hotel possible without a problem. Gladly i would here again 'drive'! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Alexander
Good hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
If you don't want luxury can book this hotel! It is a simple hotel. The majority of the guests come from Germany. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you don't like at the beach of boys addressed to be remains rather by the pool. The massages i can recommend! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Sibylle
Great hotel in a delightful country
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • March 2013
The value for money of the hotel is super, you just mustn't forget, that the hotel no 5 stars! We had the half board, which was absolutely enough for us. We were mostly the whole day on the way, therefore have been all inclusive for us not worth it. It were many germans since, but also english. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are not the largest and yes, there are also only ZDF on tv, however therefor i travel not to Kenya. We were only for sleeping in the hotel and it was enough to super. It was important for us, that everything always was nice and clean. We also had a kettle. The safe we not at all and always had our valuables in the hotel, stolen was never what.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food has us through the bank super good tasty. It was diverse. We have also every day salads and fruit ate and had no problems. Who here nothing to meals finds, it is your own fault. Somewhat disturbing empfande i, that always cats through the gastronomy area ran and is always the chairs unexpected.

  • Service
    6.0

    We were satisfied with everything. Initially we had a room in the back part, what already very worn out. We then wanted to in the front part, had then 100 Euro are charged for 2 people 2 weeks, but it was worth it. If we had questions or problems with the airconditioning, worried the employees to it. Also the rooms were always clean.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The pool we hardly used, we are always into the sea gone, if you have the indian ocean on the doorstep has. We didn't take advantage of the entertainment on offer. Chairs were always free and enough shade also.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The value for money of the hotel is super, you just mustn't forget, that the hotel no 5 stars! We had the half board, which was absolutely enough for us. We were mostly the whole day on the way, therefore have been all inclusive for us not worth it. It were many germans since, but also english.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location is very nice, next to beautiful beach. By high and low tide one could not at any time of the day go for a swim, but the nothing at all mind, we were still every day in the sea and it was wonderful. At the beach is a lot of seaweed, which the hotel but can't. In addition from the airport quick to the hotel (30 minutes), also to Mombasa you are by taxi or tuk tuk in 20 minutes. To the next supermarket it is on foot also only 15 minutes, with tuk tuk 2 minutes. In front of the hotel also, there's always taxi or tuk-tuk, we are exclusively with those risks, have before the price mind and action, it was much cheaper than if the front desk a short cab ride in/out privileges would have... At the beach many boys, which really also times can be annoying. However, if you absolutely nothing you want to book, you say clearly 'no' and then let a in peace. We found it a great place to stay with the locals and booked all our trips booked with them, what you harmless do! More details at 'tips'. The location is really very good. You can also eternally long at the beach walk along.

Close
Heike
Hotel in need of renovation
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
Hotel in need of renovation (room dated ),very friendly staff, food was good but with differences (breakfast wasn't so great),partly over-salted food or without any taste-but you always got full if you're not picky! Salads every day-delicious, anitation should one forget-only water polo, water aerobics. Stop entertainment. Beach bar always crowded, small snacks, beach chairs broken or outdated, beach not accessible because of beach boys, a lot of seaweed, no tenders for example. Glass boat, snorkeling all in Voyage Hotel bookable! At the weekend many locals in the hotel-came finally mood ☺ evening entertainment -15 minutes always akkrobatik. ... Schlussbeurteilung the hotel must be reconditioned, animation must ago, diving station was missing, despite all it was a lovely vacation not for elevated requirements read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.3
    Quality of the beach
    2.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Elke
Zielgruppenabhängiges hotel
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2013
The hotel complex is very pleasant and green. We had a standard room. By the size the room was ok. But that the hotel is already older. Everything seemed a bit worn. The door of the bathroom was not too, as they completely deformed was. Beach totally unsuitable for a relaxing beach holiday, extremely many dealers is possible in the wings, every morning a new algenflut, no one came on the idea sometimes once, at ebb-tide stinking the putrefying algae to silage, hardly any fish or crabs to watch. Good food, but it has repeatedly. I would have liked more ... local food is desired. Offered mostly european standard food. Another gripe was the beach chair cushiohns and towels by the pool. The pool boy, also no trouble gave themselves all zusammenzukriegen, there was never enough. Annoying was also the you at 18 o'clock of the pool had to, because it had been cleaned ☹ For me is sure Kenya yes, reef no read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    3.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.3
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Stefan & Irene
Good value for money!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2013
The reef is an older hotel with very nice location directly at the beach. Fantastic pool and garden with many couch possibilities. At the beach itself almost no chairs available and makes also little sense, as many boys etc. And you here so little peace. Our room was old, but very clean and with a fantastic view of the pools and the sea. For the price which we paid, certainly ok. The lowcostzimmer in gartentrakt we only from the outside seen, but we would not want to stay. The mix of guests was We as very pleasant (german, dutch, czechs ..., austrians, etc.). In the hotel also meetings. African delegates gave A the feeling not in a 'pure' tourist hotel the Holiday. A few sex tourists (so-called zebrapärchen ), the however not really bother us. Conclusion: very Good value for money. One must always consider, It is located in a 3.5 star hotel in Afrika! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    Our room was small, but sufficient from the size. Old furniture, but clean. Bathroom/shower: rather new and Worked out very well. The room was daily completely Cleaned and 1 times per week was the bed freshly made. Towels could be changed daily,. Very nice balcony with a great view of the sea and the pool. Room was in the 3. floor (number 311) - very recommendable. Air conditioning: a bit dated, has been repaired. Cooling Rather moderate. Advantage: you got no cold. Huge mosquito net without holes; very comfortable. Safety deposit box in the room didn't work; repair was not possible. To us not a problem, as at the front desk 24-hour access to the safe deposit box in the safety deposit box was possible. Tv available, but not used. No mini bar - with all inclusive No need.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    It outside of the restaurant tables and buffet directly By the pool set up. So you could in the evening the beautiful african stars enjoy. Good choice of cocktails. The food: theme nights, Lunch time an indian buffet (delicious!) , there was always Fresh fruits, salads, fresh fish. Certainly not extraor- Comfortable, but the price measured on any case Order. We were not sick, nor have we during Of our stay not even once ate out, which We usually do. This speaks for the hotel food. Atmosphere : the restaurant was typically african decor And we found for the size as cozy. Tables on A window with a view directly on the white beach-we found Lunch great. Prices: no statement possible, as we booked all inclusive had.

  • Service
    6.0

    For this category of hotel for certain above average. We spend hotelaufenthalte time in 5 star hotels. The service in the hotel reef, there is surely nothing after. The frontdesk employees were extremely helpful and Stood with advice and act to the side. Example: loss of the airconditioning: after 10 minutes the tech Niker locally and the air conditioning immediately repaired. Example: we have a safari and got already Around 6 hours in the morning a small breakfast. Also on the day of departure We were 3 hours in the morning a small breakfast is served. A boy was waiting in front of the rooms to the collection of the ge Päcks and this without request! We had only a Wakeupcall ordered. In addition: It was even drinks by the pool or in the garden (here directly at the liege) serves. This we had in all-inclusive never.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Pool very clean. Was daily intensive early in the morning Cleaned. Very nice pool area, also with sportschwimm - Pool. Enough chairs and towels as much as you Needs. Entertainment: available ; we didn't take part - therefore No statement possible.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The reef is an older hotel with very nice location directly at the beach. Fantastic pool and garden with many couch possibilities. At the beach itself almost no chairs available and makes also little sense, as many boys etc. And you here so little peace. Our room was old, but very clean and with a fantastic view of the pools and the sea. For the price which we paid, certainly ok. The lowcostzimmer in gartentrakt we only from the outside seen, but we would not want to stay. The mix of guests was We as very pleasant (german, dutch, czechs, austrians, etc.). In the hotel also meetings. African delegates gave A the feeling not in a 'pure' tourist hotel the Holiday. A few sex tourists (so-called zebrapärchen ), the however not really bother us. Conclusion: very Good value for money. One must always consider, It is located in a 3.5 star hotel in Afrika!

  • Location
    5.0

    Hotel is located right at the beach. In a surely better area (suburb) of Mombasa. Cave! In the area surrounding the hotel there are no pubs, Restaurants or discos. If you don't want is always in the hotel To stay, need either tuk tuk (works perfectly) or A taxi (in the evening recommendable, since no lit Streets).

Close
Ina
Read
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2013
Good value for money with drawbacks, old, worn-out rooms in the rear part of the hoteltracktes with a view to a further pool. Food was excellent! Service staff in the restaurant and bars were very good. Choice a drink is limited but ok. Many germans, dutch, scandinavian guests. Few russians! read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    The 1st week we had an older room boy, very friendly, there was also always clean, and fresh bedding. The 2. week we had a rude younger boy, who as mentioned our things vergriff! , the beds not referred to the explanatory memorandum, the washing machine is broken. A moskitonetzt for our child i have only after 3 times friendly questions. Please no monkeys on the balcony feed! The bathroom is really needs some redecorating, the toilet seat was so yellowed-pfui! Thank god - the air conditioning worked! The light in the bathroom was also 2 broken. We had room 345.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Delicious food, you made a huge effort. The waiters at the meals and at the bars was perfect! The all-inclusive drinks limited to a few a few drinks and beer, but i was not 'drinking' there. We also had no diarrhea or similar. It was cooked internationally, also local-what i especially good think. Push 1 Dollar over and iher drinks is possible without asking since. Please don't open eat ice cream!

  • Service
    2.0

    We had a massive problem with our roomboy, the very probably euros from the purse my husband and took against ( kopiertes ) fake tauschteam last night, we realized the loss. (they make the always on last day, because if you back in Germany there is nothing more!). It was a not insignificant sum! My husband showed the loss with the police to, the hotel apologized (that would be never happened!) And promised on the insurance of the hotel us the money to reimburse, until today, we have heard nothing. If you your money dear ireland standard time; not this hotel book! Or you carry your money always! I was 3 time in Kenya, the country is very corrupt has become. Also from other guests we heard about that ( taschediebstahl, safe broken ) the friendliness at the reception was not always given. Rooms were not always clean, but ok. Also the child care leaves a lot to be desired 'lazy Leila' was always disappeared when it comes to the work went. Better in the shade sit and do nothing!

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    As already mentioned :' lazy Leila'we booked the hotel because of the entertainment, have finally in 14 days 3 hours kinderfrei had, ☺. Go diving at peponi divers, the spoke german, safety on tauchbooten was okay. , massages in the hotel are not expensive, but outside you get a half-hour for 500 ksh (right from the beach with Rebekka). This is really a steal. Pool was okay. , there are always 2 boys by the pool and rigid the whole day the pool to, which i didn't get out! Evening entertainment with disco and shows very well. Do you want a sunbed the whole vacation only? Then you talk about askari of (security man always on the stairs to the beach is) enter him 5 Dollar the week, select a beach chair and he will ensure, that you always this space! The beach chairs weren't enough for all the guests! The pollhandtücher are not for all the guests!

  • Hotel
    4.0

    Good value for money with drawbacks, old, worn-out rooms in the rear part of the hoteltracktes with a view to a further pool. Food was excellent! Service staff in the restaurant and bars were very good. Choice a drink is limited but ok. Many germans, dutch, scandinavian guests. Few russians!

  • Location
    4.0

    Beach is great, but too many beach boys. Water wonderfully! Sometimes a bit seaweed but not bad. Shopping not far, but often massively overpriced : for example nakumat market!. Also good to reach with the small tuk tuk (200 ksh per drive-not more) Beautiful gardens.

Close
Donald
Spacious garden-normal hotel for three stars normal
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
We were almost 2 months in reef hotel with small discontents we can recommend the hotel we were satisfied and our friends on our recommendation arrived 5 on the number. We must not forget: It is still a 3. world country and expandable we were now already 8 times) safari in the Masai Mara has really everything you could think of, again and again. Okay we must say there were many Poland and czhechen as they are noticeable to us. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Niko
Reef hotel review
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2012
Was very satisfied there with all. You can recommend with a good conscience. Everything wudner bar fit. Delicious food, very friendly staff, clean everywhere and mixed clientele, from young to old, families or singles. Very international also. Directly at the beach ideal for swimming in the sea. Please my tip when reseisetipps note (but only because 2 bechboys, the food etc. Sell. Simply email confirmations) at the reef hotel but very nice chaps. When booking just too Vincent or dan go. Good prices act. Simply beautiful greetings from Nikolas say, then they know the good prices should be.-) All ... in all good. I am coming again read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.7
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close
Brigitte
14 wonderful days in the hotel reef
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2012
The hotel reef offers a very nice generous laid out garden area with 2 large pools. Whoever is looking for peace and quiet, can find them here. The staff is definitely friendly and accommodating. From the room ( daily towel- and bedlinen and basic) one a wonderful view on the complex and the sea. The white beach is nice, but the sea, as it was quite dirty, invites a might not to swim. Very good and preissgünstige massage there are at the beach, right on the hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    3.7
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    3.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Klaus
A dream under the african sun!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2012
Nothing to fault! Everything was clean and the staff always friendly! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Large enough. Functional. Was regularly cleaned.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Breakfast in buffet form ( English). Lunch either buffet or set menu. Dinner a buffet. Every evening under another motto.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff were friendly, partly understood German. The room was always very clean. We had booked all inclusive and therefore had no disadvantages. Annoying was only the eternal gegezeichnen after receiving a drink and the food, even though it was a blue bracelet had.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Three clean pools. Very low-key animation. Beach with the reef was wonderful. First days were somewhat stressful because of the beach boys. When you realized you were left alone! At the weekend you got the life of the locals at the beach with. As the hotel area higher and at the beach ascent a security guard is the scene observe well.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Nothing to fault! Everything was clean and the staff always friendly!

  • Location
    6.0

    Directly at the beach. Very peaceful location! At night there was only the sound of the wellern and the wind through the palms to hear!

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Kerstin
Again a great time archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • June 2012
Were already to 2. in the reef hotel, everything was again super. From the service up to cleanliness we had no problems. Despite 'alleged rainy season' the hotel was not fully booked. The majority of the guests the locals were, but nevertheless it was very nice. It was in the 14 days 2 even though it rained one day, and the only 5 minutes. So the weather really great in June and cheap. So at this time you can with a clear conscience there. The rooms neither for Z all newly renovated! We are with this hotel super satisfied and ... feel like at home. The next reef vacation is already booked for March 2013. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kai
Very good value for money archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • April 2012
Meter e. from the value for money the best hotel at the Mombasa-north coast. (and we were already there well 10 times, the last 4 times in the reef hotel) Yes, there is not every day fries/hamburgers /pizza, but very good locally oriented food. Yes, for excellent service to have, you have (despite all inclusive) also a tip jump. And yes, you should also behavior and not the arrogant larry out i. So it is now, but in these countries and that must one stop understand and can cope with it. And since the hotel is optimal, rather a bit ... easier and cheaper, nevertheless but everything on good level. Very nice hotel, perfect location at the beach, as good as all rooms with at least some view of the sea, the next shopping center included nakumatt in walking distance read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
1 3