SUNRISE Holidays Resort(4 stars)

Cornishe Road Hurghada View on map

Average rating

5,007 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.5
  • Room
    5.5
  • Service
    5.7
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.6
Filters
You selected:
2636 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Kerry
Fantastic!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
Fab hotel, the private beach was wonderful, adults only so no screaming kids! Excellent staff so friendly and couldn't do enough for you, tasty food and plenty to choose from, can't fault it! Will recommend this hotel to everyone!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Alanna
Entertainment team what an amazing bunch of people
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
I have just come back from my stay at this hotel, i had an amazing time staying here all the staff are lovely and very helpful they are there 24/7 if you need them. The entertainment team where amazing always making people around the pool and the beach feel comfortable and very smiley and lovely cannot say 1 bad word about the entertainment team all lovely and pleasant would come back again. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Andrea
Best holiday in my life in Sunrise Holidays Hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
It was my best holiday with best hosts and animators, in a beautiful place. With great programs and games. All days have very good programs with games, sports. We laughed a lot, we were happy together with other guests in the common ethnic programs. Very nice service and friendly staff made the holiday feel at home, the singer and élevezetes evening show programs and provided excellent entertainment. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jayden
Never come back
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
Its my second time in egypt and I am very disappointed I had the worst holiday so far the first day we arrived at the hotel to be honest we liked it because it's kind of small and nice but the stuff at the reception weren't helpful at all I did informed them about some problems at my room but nothing happens and the animation team was just running after the young women and it seems like the enjoying the holiday more than the guest I wish I didn't come on this holiday i didn't enjoy it at all and ... I am diffenly don't recommend this hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    2.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    1.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.5
    Quality of the beach
    3.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    2.8
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    2.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
John
Fantastic holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
This was our second visit to Sunrise holidays resort we enjoyed our first stay so much and our seconded visit didn’t disappoint. We arrived at 22.00hrs and was quickly booked into our room and went for a meal, the next morning we went to the Thomas Cook welcome meeting and see some old faces and some new ones I would advise everyone to go to this meeting you are given a lot of info about the hotel and the area. Our room was on the fourth floor with a good view of the pool and sea it was a ... bigger room than we had last time, it was kept spotless by our room boy the only fault with the room was a light not working we reported it in the morning and it was fixed before we returned. We always found something we liked to eat in all the restaurants and found the waiters to be very attentive with a smile we never had to chase them for a drink. We spent most of our time around the pool with the odd day by the lagoon, we would like to say a big thankyou to Zaki, Sammi and Omar at the pool bar you guys work so hard. The entertainment team are such good fun Gigi, Dina, Jade, Mido,Klaus,Kito, Meso and Moo these guys are on the go from mid-morning until the early hours of the next day but they always find time to stop and have a chat and joke. We did notice a few small improvements on last year ie: the free wifi in the lobby bar, there is now more outside entertainment coming in at night. The only negative for us we didn’t think the service in the lobby bar was as good, we would order drinks and they never came or he would get the order wrong. The bar tender had only been there 3 days when we arrived, to be fair to him he was always had a smile on his face and was very polite. Would we return again YES. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Carol
Wow, fantastic holiday!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
Location for this hotel excellent.Hotel very clean,rooms lovely and clean with clean towels each day.All services at this hotel very good.From Management to Entertainment team top marks. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Plenty of room space in the rooms.Had everything you wanted in the rooms.Rooms very clean.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Four lovely restaurants you can use from.Food good as well as the drinks.Very clean in the dining areas.You had a variety of food you could choose from.Lovely friendly staff at this hotel.

  • Service
    6.0

    Lovely friendly helpful staff at this hotel indeed.Any complaints they will look into it.Lovely clean rooms.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Top marks to the Entertainment Team,they put on some lovely shows,so very helpful we miss you all.Beach,water,sunbeds, sunscreen and showers always clean.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Location for this hotel excellent.Hotel very clean,rooms lovely and clean with clean towels each day.All services at this hotel very good.From Management to Entertainment team top marks.

  • Location
    6.0

    Location and Surroundings to the Hotel just beautiful,could not ask for more.Very close to all amenities,next city and airport.Many Excursions to go on.

Close
Alex
Happy happy happy
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
The hotel was in an excellent location for a relaxing holiday. Staff were the most friendly i have come across, making you feel like your one of the family. Entertainment staff were inclusive but in no way pushy. Special mention to Jade and Solly. People like them make holidays to remember. Excellent diving facilities within the complex, and fantastic diving at a great price was enjoyed. Only gripe was having to get up at 05:30 to reserve (signs said no sun-bed reservation) a sun-bed under shade or you were left in the full glare of the sun all day. ... They have a great system of putting a red flag on your sun-bed / parasol if you don't want to be approached for trips, sports etc.works well. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Dan
Value for Money
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
The hotel was well situated & full of facilities. The room was small but well equipped and clean. The staff were friendly, attentive and many were fluent in a range of languages. The food was high quality and varied enjoyed every mouthful. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Elaine
Experience the real egyptian welcome
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Other stay
  • August 2014
The 'welcome home' greeting by managers on arrival and amazing sea views from the room balcony were just the start of this pleasurable stay The hotel may be slightly outdated decoration wise however the friendliness of the staff, the food and the service with a smile more than make up for this. The food was fantastic always a variety to choose from and the manager of the restaurants was more than willing to accommodate any special requirements we even had a Sunday roast with all the trimmings ! The entertainment was good and the entertainment team were very friendly and ... made everyone feel welcome. The lagoon allows for some amazing snorkeling experiences and sunbathing on the edge of this allows you to also view the local diving and fishing boats going in and out A very pleasurable and relaxing stay ! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Julia
We are still in the hotel! Great holidays!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
I'm still in the hotel with my family and everything is fabulous! We enjoy every minute of our holiday! The staff is great, food excellent also. We have a room on 5th floor, cleaning every day. The animation team is so great, they do lots of activities in the day time, and the evening program is also every day different and interesting. Want to say a big thank to GIGI, Mido, Jade, Diana, Solly, Klaus and Yoni for the job they do! We will definitely come back! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jim
Superb staff make this hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Fully Inclusive, adults only (although this does depend on the holiday companies definition of a child.) Decent sized rooms with a sea view. Cleaned and linens changed every day to a good standard. The rooms are a little tired in their décor but perfectly adequate as a place to rest your head and get changed, reflecting the hotel as a whole. The staff bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable and stress free as they can and the management team are VERY visible, taking an active role in making sure your needs are met. Good range and ... quality of free entertainment read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We stayed in a good sized room with a large balcony and a double bed. The balcony had a chaise longue style sun lounger a table and 2 chairs but didn't feel cramped. The décor is a little dated and "tired" but I understand that there is a refurbishment plan in progress. Tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge are provided as is a flat screen TV. Each room has a safe that you can secure with your own pin number. The rooms are air-conditioned. Furnishings are basic but perfectly adequate. The room is cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis and linen's and towels changed daily.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Several places to eat in the hotel depending upon the time of day. Very good choice and food is prepared and presented VERY well. Cleanliness is to a very high standard, reflecting the quality of the food. An excellent range of choices catering for all tastes - but in the event that there is nothing to your liking (HIGHLY unlikely) the chefs will prepare you anything you like and cater for special dietary needs too.

  • Service
    6.0

    Cannot fault the service in the hotel. Staff are friendly and professional and most are multi-lingual. All staff do their utmost to ensure that any complaints or requests are handled promptly and efficiently. A member of the management team is never far away if needed and daily check that everything is ok with most if not all guests.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is a man-made lagoon with it's own beach, a pool area and an open air entertainments stage, each with their own bar area, so drinks and snacks are never far away, all manned by friendly, helpful staff. The entertainments team deserve a special mention. They do exactly what it says on the tin - they entertain! They lead lots of activities such as Belly dance lessons, water gym, volleyball, water polo, shuffleboard and their own unique, daily, fun, darts competition and provide some of the evening entertainment too. They never fail to amuse or entertain and are VERY friendly, approachable, professional and above all LOTS OF FUN. They definitely add another dimension to your stay at this hotel. Separate towels are provided each day for use at the beach or pool (there is a card system so that you get a fresh, cleaned towel everyday from the towel centre).

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Fully Inclusive, adults only (although this does depend on the holiday companies definition of a child...) Decent sized rooms with a sea view. Cleaned and linens changed every day to a good standard. The rooms are a little tired in their décor but perfectly adequate as a place to rest your head and get changed, reflecting the hotel as a whole. The staff bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable and stress free as they can and the management team are VERY visible, taking an active role in making sure your needs are met. Good range and quality of free entertainment

  • Location
    6.0

    Lots of excursions on offer, local shopping is good. The hotel has it's own "beach" area around it's private lagoon. Snorkelling is good, both within the lagoon, locally in the Red Sea and further afield. Be aware that in some areas the street sellers can be very "persistent" and can be quite aggressive and rude at times.

Close
Carol
Wonderful holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Another great holiday at Sunrise hotel, great location, great weather, great animation team with lots of games and shows, well done guys :-) Management team are always happy to do anything they can to make your holiday one to remember. We had a fab room with allsorts of things make from our towels when we got back, had a lovely day out at sea on the Tropicana boat, we saw dolphins and really beautiful fish, lunch was fab too. Can't wait to go again xx read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Tea and coffee and a mini bar in the room always stocked up. Fresh bottled water in your room everyday and if you need more there are plenty of places around the hotel to get more. We had a lovely room and a lovely balcony with a table 2 chairs and a sunbed. Lovely to watch the sunrise if your awake early enough.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Plenty of food all the time, there is always something to suit every ones taste.

  • Service
    6.0

    All staff were brilliant always wishing us a good day and a little chat too, the room was always clean, they work so hard.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Entertainment team are really good working hard to make sure every one has a good time.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Another great holiday at Sunrise hotel, great location, great weather, great animation team with lots of games and shows, well done guys :-) Management team are always happy to do anything they can to make your holiday one to remember. We had a fab room with allsorts of things make from our towels when we got back, had a lovely day out at sea on the Tropicana boat, we saw dolphins and really beautiful fish, lunch was fab too. Can't wait to go again xx

  • Location
    6.0

    Right on the beach, really lovely location.

Close
Caroline
Lovely holiday, can't wait to return
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
I have just returned last night from this hotel where I stayed with my 2 female friends This is my 3rd hotel in Hurghada and though I enjoyed the other 2, this was much nicer Layout of the hotel - well a bit confusing but once we got our head around the restaurants being on one side and the bars the other, we soon had it sorted, We had fun getting lost for the first few days! The pool area is on top of one of the restaurants, which is good as normally I am not good around the pool ... but there was still a breeze.There is a bar around the pool and also a nice one on the beach. Main feature in the layout of the hotel is that beautiful lagoon, it was wonderful to keep dipping in and out of it, during the afternoon. There was no shortage of sunbeds any where on the beach or around the pool, no need to be rushing to reserve them Heaven! You are given towel cards, which you take to the towel bar daily, get your beach towels and take them back at the end of each day, this is common in Egypt and is a nice touch to lay on a clean towel daily. We tended to make the most use of the beach and pool bars, during the daytime. The lobby bar above reception, however, we called into after bathing, on our way to the room- there is a smoking area there too and late afternoon they do cakes and coffee. The hotel staff on the whole were friendly enough and if they can't smile all the time well it is understandable when they are working at least 17 hours in temperatures of high forties! I never found anyone to be rude at all, I can only ask the people who came accross this "were you polite with them?". I ask this because I did witness some people, in particular, 1 or 2 Russian people being rather rude to them! The young lad who cleaned our room could not do enough for us and the one day we had to ring reception for a blocked toilet problem, it was attended to immediately. Also the management walked around the hotel every day asking people if they are happy and if they have had any problems, they do seem to actually care whether people are enjoying their holiday and want people to be happy, this I was very impressed with. Just a note about trips. We booked a couple of trips, not with Thomas Cook but with the people around the hotel selling trips. We did the quad bike safari, which was excellent value for money, it cost us £25 each, we drove accross the desert in convoy to a Bedouin vilage, had a camel ride, watched them make bread and looked around the camp and the animals. Set off back and had tea and a show and watched the sun set, was excellent! The other trip we did was to el gouna, there were only the 3 of us on this trip and again excellent afternoon out, I am not sure I would want to stay there but it was nice to see, very not typically Egypt! All in all, we had an excellent holiday and are already planning to go back in late May and I can't wait. All I can say to people is, go with an open mind and try things. In the past I have found Egypt is a country people either love or hate and I guess if people want Spain, then they should go to Spain! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    First, on arrival, we were given a room upgrade to a suite, which was massive and very welcomed. We had a bathroom, kitchen area with tea and coffee making facilities, a large living area, bedroom bathroom and massive balcony, which overlooked the sea and even had a sunbed on. The room was not one which had been refurbished, though that didn't matter and it was spotlessly cleaned with fresh linen and towels daily. You need to keep in mind that this is an older hotel and they are trying thier best to refurbish - personally the room is the thing that matters least to me, as long as it is clean of course - I sleep and shower in there that is all. I have seen comments saying the rooms are dirty, I can assure you the rooms are spotless

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Ok so food, as this is what people seem to moan about the most, again this is common in all hotels in Egypt and my guess it is the culture shock for people who are more used to Europe, personally, I never holiday in Europe these days as I like to feel I am in a different country. There is a choice of restaurants, one below the pool on the ground floor, one on the second floor, which opens out to the pool area and the Arabian restaurant on the 3rd floor. We tended to use the ground floor one or the second floor one, because we are smokers and we could take our coffee outside with a cigarette. There was a massive choice of food in each one and I find it very hard to believe that anyone could go hungry in this hotel, there was absolutely something for everyone, even chips every day!. The beach bar do chips, burgers, hot dogs and Pizza at lunch - we did tend to use that most lunch times. There is also an a la carte restaurant, which can be booked, we never felt the need to use it. I have been to lots of hotels in Egypt and without a doubt, the food here is the best I have had - not that I have had a bad one yet, there is much more choice her

  • Service
    6.0

    I found all the staff to be friendly and polite Management always asking guests how they are finding it and if anything can be improved Fantastic animation team, all friendly and very helpful if you need advice. Jade is the English girl and was a lovely lass who gave us lots of advice, they were all lovely though

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Fantastic entertainment package - we joined in the water aerobics most days and did belly dancing round the pool. There were lots of other stuff on offer but we declined those as we really wanted a lazy holiday Animation team work round the clock and always smile and ready to help even though they must be shattered working in that heat. They are also an international team which is brill for the guests and they will help with absolutely anything Jade, hello keep up the good work and Mido, we will miss your pretty smile every day

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I have just returned last night from this hotel where I stayed with my 2 female friends This is my 3rd hotel in Hurghada and though I enjoyed the other 2, this was much nicer Layout of the hotel - well a bit confusing but once we got our head around the restaurants being on one side and the bars the other, we soon had it sorted, We had fun getting lost for the first few days! The pool area is on top of one of the restaurants, which is good as normally I am not good around the pool but there was still a breeze.There is a bar around the pool and also a nice one on the beach. Main feature in the layout of the hotel is that beautiful lagoon, it was wonderful to keep dipping in and out of it, during the afternoon. There was no shortage of sunbeds any where on the beach or around the pool, no need to be rushing to reserve them .......... Heaven! You are given towel cards, which you take to the towel bar daily, get your beach towels and take them back at the end of each day, this is common in Egypt and is a nice touch to lay on a clean towel daily. We tended to make the most use of the beach and pool bars, during the daytime. The lobby bar above reception, however, we called into after bathing, on our way to the room- there is a smoking area there too and late afternoon they do cakes and coffee. The hotel staff on the whole were friendly enough and if they can't smile all the time well it is understandable when they are working at least 17 hours in temperatures of high forties! I never found anyone to be rude at all, I can only ask the people who came accross this "were you polite with them?". I ask this because I did witness some people, in particular, 1 or 2 Russian people being rather rude to them! The young lad who cleaned our room could not do enough for us and the one day we had to ring reception for a blocked toilet problem, it was attended to immediately. Also the management walked around the hotel every day asking people if they are happy and if they have had any problems, they do seem to actually care whether people are enjoying their holiday and want people to be happy, this I was very impressed with. Just a note about trips. We booked a couple of trips , not with Thomas Cook but with the people around the hotel selling trips. We did the quad bike safari, which was excellent value for money, it cost us £25 each, we drove accross the desert in convoy to a Bedouin vilage, had a camel ride, watched them make bread and looked around the camp and the animals. Set off back and had tea and a show and watched the sun set , was excellent! The other trip we did was to el gouna, there were only the 3 of us on this trip and again excellent afternoon out, I am not sure I would want to stay there but it was nice to see, very not typically Egypt! All in all, we had an excellent holiday and are already planning to go back in late May and I can't wait. All I can say to people is, go with an open mind and try things. In the past I have found Egypt is a country people either love or hate and I guess if people want Spain, then they should go to Spain!

  • Location
    6.0

    Very close to the airport, around 10 mins Very close to the old town of Hurghada Lots of excursions available. Quad bikes in the desert was fab and good value for money

Close
Simone & Adam
Fantastic hotel, fantastic food, fantastic staff!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Me & my boyfriend stayed 10 days all inclusive at the Sunrise Holidays Resort & we had a fabulous time!! The hotel itself was beautiful, bigger than expected, very clean and perfectly furnished! Our room was situated above the beach. It had 2 comfortable single beds (which we didn't mind), a large TV & an average sized bathroom and balcony. The food was delicious, it differed every evening and we enjoyed experiencing the different restaurants as there were 4 to chose from, 1 of them being an a la carte. The pool & beach were perfectly sized with a very ... beautiful view over the Red Sea. But there is no doubt about it. The staff made our holiday! From the kind and talented house-keeping staff (who left fabulous towel designs on our bed each day) to the amazing entertainment team who worked hard to make each person feel at home & involved. The managers were helpful & respectful to everybody, the on-site shop staff were friendly & did not hassle which was wonderful and we even made great friends with the bar staff and chefs! I would recommend this hotel to anybody! And me and my boyfriend look forward to returning in the future. Xx read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jamie
Minor issues
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Overall enjoyed holiday, had issues with room etc, had to pay to change room which wasn't happy with, reception staff and reception manager very poor, didn't receive room service when booked. Asked for room to be decorated as special occasion but nothing. Entertainment team are very friendly and helpful, good entertainment etc.. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    3.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Lynne
Beach attendents
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
This is a first class hotel, cannot fault the cleanliness first class ,food was very good a good range for all to choose from. A mixture of all nationalities read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Brill room very large furniture good every thing with in the room was very good

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 4 restaurants 3 bars food and drink brilliant dining areas were spotless very good service and very friendly staff a good mixture of foods

  • Service
    6.0

    very clean hotel staff brilliant. There is one lad on the beach his name is Gomaa my husband had a bite on his foot and we went to see the doctor and he stayed by my side the whole time we were there he was a darling I could not of done it without him. He is always very polite and nothing is too much trouble for him.He is a very hard worker and on the go all of the time and I am sure he will go a long way if given the chance

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    good leisure activities for all

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This is a first class hotel, cannot fault the cleanliness first class ,food was very good a good range for all to choose from. A mixture of all nationalities

  • Location
    6.0

    Right on its own beach Good variety of shops Lots of excursions to book

Close
Jane
Animation team!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Amazing holiday met some friends out there which we're great. Food is just what you need cooked and presented to a high standard Beach is the best I've seen it has it's very own lagoon with 2 slides pool area was also great you could have a swim to cool down followed by a drink after at the pool bar. Animation are the best I've seen small team but plenty of team work with smiley faces Great activities and night shows the dance show was great too. Special mention to jade she's a great friendly person but also GiGi, Mido ...,mezzo,Diana,solly, clous. We wish to return soon thankyou again read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Tracey
All inclusive excellence
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Although slightly tired in appearance this hotel goes out of it's way in service, cleanliness and good quality food to make your holiday one to remember. based on 7 floors in a w shape most rooms have a sea view. If you are not happy with your room every effort is made to change your until you are satisfied. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Each room has coffee making facilities and a fridge, water is provided daily and use of a safe (FREE) is provided in the room. Beds are comfortable and the standard of furniture is comparable to Travel lodge or Days Inn although a little dated now. Balconies vary in size and the amount of sun on them. Air conditions is provided in each room operated by the room key.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    there are a wide variety of eateries in this hotel. By the lagoon there are fast food areas serving Pizza and burgers or koftas and chips all day long. There is also a beach bar, and a seating area here along with several external services including a bracelet and necklace making service. By the Pool is another bar and the main restaurant (The Sol) This provides all three meal services. Below the pool and next to the Towel service is another restaurant that provides breakfast and lunch. On the third floor above the Sol is The Arabian restaurant which serves and evening meal. On level one is an Al a Carte restaurant which has to be booked. Every day the evening meal has a different theme in each restaurant, so there is always something for everyone's taste. Food standards are very high, not only in taste but presentation and cleanliness. And if there isn't anything you like you only have to ask and the chef's will prepare it for you. Tips are not expected but appreciated usually at the end of your stay, but it is totally at your discretion.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service is outstanding in this hotel, all staff speak English, and a variety of other languages from Russian, German, Italian and Arabic. Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and nothing is too much trouble from extra tea or coffee to flowers and fruit in the room. Everyone smiles and says a greeting to you from the gardeners to the senior management (who are visible all the time and check every day that everything is ok). Service staff work exceptionally hard all the time, bringing you drinks and clearing your table or pool area.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The Animation team are the "Butlins Red Coats" organising games dancing, water polo, darts, shuffleboard, beach volley ball, belly dancing (has to be filmed when the males lead the dance) and aqua aerobics every day. They also lead the entertainment in the evening with whirling dervishes , magicians and fire eaters. Around the pool and beach are a wide range of sun loungers under parasols or slated covered areas, showers and toilets are easily accessed from both areas.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Although slightly tired in appearance this hotel goes out of it's way in service, cleanliness and good quality food to make your holiday one to remember. based on 7 floors in a w shape most rooms have a sea view. If you are not happy with your room every effort is made to change your until you are satisfied.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel has it's own enclosed lagoon with an exit into the Red sea. Coral is starting to form under the causeway attracting a variety of fish. The hotel also has a good sized pool where a variety of activities take place. It is approximately 15 mins from the airport but you are not disturbed by aircraft noise. A wide variety of bars and shops are available around the hotel and a good pharmacy is across the road from the hotel. The hotel has a dive school on site and a number of snorkelling and dolphin watching excursions are available from the jetty.

Close
Chris
You won't regret staying here!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
One of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff from the management to the cleaners make sure your stay is unforgettable. Everyone there is always ready to help. The entertainment team are so much fun and have given us some very memorable nights out! Thank you to the Sunrise team for making my holiday! Would 100% recommend this hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sophia
Still in hotel with my grand mum with crazy midoo
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
not first time for us here and i think will not be the last we still in the hotel and don't want to go cause we love every one here all the staff so friendly and helpful and the entertainment team one from the best team i meet ever big thanks to mido,mizo,gigi,yoni,solly all of the team is very good and so friendly and hope when i will come back next year they will be here guys. so still have some days to enjoy with you guys thanks a lots. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 132