SUNRISE Holidays Resort(4 stars)

Cornishe Road Hurghada View on map

Average rating

5,468 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.5
  • Room
    5.5
  • Service
    5.6
  • Location
    5.6
  • Food and Drinks
    5.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.7
Filters
You selected:
2768 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Katy
Incredible holiday, amazing people
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
We arrived into Hurghada airport and although we had been warned to go to the bank to get our visa (turn left in arrivals for the bank) rather than the agents we ended up following the masses and paid a couple of pounds extra but worth it for not being hassled. Transfer was quick and easy, although as some have mentioned Hurghada had been dug up and the roads were something else! We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by cries of 'welcome home' from all of the staff - it was out first visit, but they assured us ... it would be our second home! The check in process was smooth and easy - we were taken the lounge, asked to fill out a check in sheet per room and everything else was sorted out for us. The porter who took us to our room (I can't remember the spelling of his name but he was called 'Go-Harry'!) revelled in taking us to see our see view even though it was pitch black! It was lovely to see him to excited and lovely for us, we thought we had a garden view room. Turns out most rooms in the hotel have a sort of sea view - some impedded, some not. The restaurant was open until 10.30pm - we arrived at 9.00pm so we got changed and went to grab some dinner. We arrived at the very end of service so not a lot of food left but what was there was good. We ate in Arabian Nights (it was 23 steps from our room!) for every breakfast and dinner time (bar one) and found it much better as it was slightly smaller so a bit calmer. Throughout our week the staff were fantastic - including helping surprise my sister for her birthday with a delicious cake and beautifully laid table. The Guest Relations team (especially Andjelina - thank you!!!) were also fantastic in helping arrange this as we had to change it a couple of times! The room was small but suited us perfectly as we didn't spend a lot of time in there. As others have mentioned, could do with refreshing but it was spotless. Our cleaner was brilliant, we had towel animals and he took the time to tidy up anything that was out of line! The bar staff were fantastic, Samy in the pool bar always had a smile and would bring us special drinks by the pool. Mahmoud in the 5th floor lobby bar was amazing, we were never without a drink and he would always make us special drinks - including some interesting green cocktails for St Patrick's Day. If you meet him ask him to say totes amazeballs - he'll break down in giggles!!! The Animation Team were one of a kind. They were a big, happy, slightly crazy, hardworking family. They took time to get to know everyone. Within 5 minutes of arriving Solly and Samo had taken time to say hi to us (we hadn't even checked in) and by the time we went to bed that evening we felt like we'd already made friends. Samo has a heart as big as his hair and can make you laugh by simply smiling (and he loves a game of Uno!) You could hear Sully a mile off and he was NEVER short of a smile and a laugh. Brown was a little pocket rocket of energy and would bounce and dance and sing and smile and would always find time to sit out and talk to you. The girls (Gigi, Cristina and Anna) were all brilliant. By the time we left we felt like we were part of their family. The hotel do let independent sellers to rent out space in the hotel - photographer, diving trip organisers etc. We were caught by some of them before our welcome talk and warned that the Thomas Cook Rep would try and put us off booking anything with them. After our welcome meeting we decided to book through TC and not through the independents - I'll let you make your own minds up! I must stress, if you do not want to be disturbed (and they are persistent - from diving school through to the spa) ask for a red flag from the towel collection desk. We spoke to Khalid, our TC rep a couple of times but all excursions etc. were booked by Sheirif who works for Blue Sky Tours (on behalf of TC). Sheirif was brilliant, gave amazing advice and would remember where we'd been and when and always ask us about our excurions. We did Desert Adventure & Snorkelling - both were great. The staff employed by the hotel will bend over backwards to make you feel welcome and nothing is too much for them. From the cleaners, to kitchen staff, waiters, guest relations, porters or the Animation team - they want to help and give you a holiday you will never forget. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Rae
Fab staff!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
We had a thoroughly relaxing week at this hotel. All staff members couldn't do enough for you, and the entertainment team were great, keeping you entertained through the day and putting on a show every night. For what we paid, we were extremely happy, and should we ever travel back to Hurghada we would stay here again. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Pauline
Reunion of friends
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
4th year at this hotel all staff very friendly and cant do enough to make sure you are "welcome home" Animation team excellent plenty of activities and enjoyed doing activities with them. Always out and about in the hotel during the evenings talking to everyone and ensuring everyone is having a good time. Hotel management were out and about round the pool area each morning and always available to speak too. Food varied and theme evenings in the top restaurant excellent. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Hannah
Great resort, amazing staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
We had a great flight from London to Hurghada; full credit to a great Thomas Cook team on board. Arrived at Hurghada at 8pm local time, and we were through the airport and onto our transfer coach within 30 minutes. As expected, people at the airport were after tips for throwing(!) our bags on top of the minibus, and when we arrived at the Resort, they wanted more tips. Just be savvy, and tip for the right reasons! As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by nearly every available staff member with Welcome Home! (We'd never visited here before ..., and when we told them that, they said they hoped we'd make this our second home, and they will look forward to welcoming us back!) The staff really made this holiday for us! From the porters as we arrived to the reception staff, animation team, restaurant staff right through to the cleaners! We were checked in without a hassle, and the porter was pleased to take our bags to our room, opening the door and asking us to close our eyes as he guided us through to our balcony, where we could hear the sea! Bliss!! Our twin room was pleasant enough. On the smaller side, but we didn't spend much time in their at all, so perfectly adequate for our needs. Also, we had lovely fluffy duvets which was a real bonus. (We visited in Mid March just as Egypt was about to hit spring so maybe the duvets are a winter/spring thing? Can imagine them being quite warm in the height of summer!) On the night we arrived, we were warmly welcomed into the restaurant (Arabian Nights) to have a quick bite to eat, and then afterwards we headed to the bar for a drink where we met Solly from the animation team. Within a minute of speaking to him, I knew we were going to be ok! He had so much energy and passion that you couldn't help but get caught up in the buzz! Waking up in the morning, we were wowed when we opened the curtains and saw our sea view! Our holiday has begun! The whole management team attended our welcome meeting which was a nice touch, and we were introduced to our Thomas Cook Rep, and his partner from Blue Sky Tours. Sheirif from Blue Sky Tours was brilliant. A friendly face in reception, and took care of our excursions for us which were amazing. We did the Snorkelling Trip, and the Desert Adventure. Would recommend both. The animation team kept us entertained day and night! During the day round the pool, Solly, Brown, Samo, GiGi, Anna and Christina had us smiling all day. Their energy to get us involved in every activity going was infectious! By night, the evening entertainment was just that - entertaining! Some good in house shows, as well as outside people coming in. We'll worth a giggle and a boogie! The team spent time after the shows chatting with us, joining in games of Uno, or drawing on us! If you interact with them, they will look after you! They would have done anything and everything to make our stay memorable. On our last day, I celebrated by birthday at the resort. Alladin, and the rest of the restaurant team in Arabian Nights went all out! Then the animation team and restaurant staff brought in a cake and made a fuss! They really made me feel special. After the show on that night the animation team also announced by birthday to the disco room, and all danced around me and cheered me for! This will stay with me forever. Please don't be in any doubt about visiting this resort! The staff are amazing, and will welcome you with open arms and make this a holiday to remember. The hotel is clean, the rooms are alright, and food is good and everything else falls perfectly into place. Have you wits about you with the people who are selling goods, services and excursions within the hotel as they aren't actually hotel staff and they made me feel very uncomfortable, but I think that was because I'm a younger female with a very English Tan!! So I stood right out! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sally
Fab animation team!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
We had a lovely relaxing time at the Sunrise. The service and friendliness of the staff were exceptionally good, and the animation team were excellent! They all work really hard to make sure you're having an enjoyable holiday! If all you're after is a chill out holiday in the sun then I would definitely recommend this hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    4.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Diane
Sunrise holiday 13/2-20/02
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
This was our 4th visit to this hotel. it is as usual one of he most friendly hotels i have ever been to. From The manager down to the room cleaning guy everyone was really nice and helpful. Also the weather was great, bit windy for a few days but Hurghada always seems to get the wind this time of year. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    most if not all have a sea view, they vary in size but all seem nice. They all have tv ,mini bar, safe, kettle and balconies overlooking the red sea.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 2 main restaurants one al a carte and one beach bar. All of which serve a rotating menu. (apart from al carte) BUT Ashraf the head chef will prepare any meal you would like. They rotate a set meal plan over 7 night of Mediterranean, oriental, british etc etc. Mostly i tipped a dollar a serving to get a great service. BUT and this is where its different as far as i know, it all goes into on pot to be shared between the whole waiting staff.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff are very friendly. They ALL have at least a basic grasp or english/russian/german. The waiters Esp Mahmoud(Mody) in Aida and Mo from the jungle bar where very friendly. Our room cleaner Moshhn did a bang up job and created some wonderful towel critters for our bedroom for when we returned. Amer(sp) in the laundry was great . All our clothes returned fresh and pressed with extra care taken to my wifes dress and my shirts. When we arrived our sink had no plug and the shower was blocked. Within one hour of telling reception both had been fixed.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    during the day there are quite a few sport activities runs by the animation team. From Volleyball to Yoga. Also there's a dive school on site and snorkelling just about anywhere there's water. all the areas are kept spotless by the grounds team.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    This was our 4th visit to this hotel. it is as usual one of he most friendly hotels i have ever been to. From The manager down to the room cleaning guy everyone was really nice and helpful. Also the weather was great, bit windy for a few days but Hurghada always seems to get the wind this time of year.

  • Location
    6.0

    right on the Red sea. this place has a pool ans its own seaside lagoon, and o the toehr side open water for snorkelling and swimming. With in 20-30 minutes walk of the Marina and 15 mins of the tourist shops.

Close
Zoe
Winter sun
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
I stayed 1 week at this hotel and wish I had booked longer. I'm looking to go back in April. The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment team work 110% to make sure you are enjoying your holiday wether you just want to laze by the pool or beach or join in and party. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Allison
Relaxing break
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
We were very pleased withe the Hotel. It was clean and the staff very welcoming and friendly. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were not disappointed at all. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Clean, good size, large balcony. Had all we needed.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food was excellent with plenty of choice for each meal. Ashraf the head chef was always on hand making sure that everyone was happy with the food prepared by his team.

  • Service
    6.0

    All the staff were friendly and welcoming without exception. The room was kept clean and tidy and frequently we were surprised by our towels being made into animals on our bed!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Internet access was free in the main bar area and could be intermittent and slow at peak times. The entertainment team in particular were wonderful, friendly without being pushy. Thank you to Shivo, Samu, Brown, Solly, Mido, Gigi, Anna and Christina for the evening shows, they were great fun! The beach and pool were kept spotlessly clean. Sometimes there were problems getting a sunbed or windbreak due to other guests getting up very early to put their towels on them to reserve their spot - no good for us on a relaxing holiday and not wanting to get up early!

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We were very pleased withe the Hotel. It was clean and the staff very welcoming and friendly. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were not disappointed at all.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located right on its own private beach with lagoon to swim in as well as a heated pool. Only 500m walk to the beginning of the many shops in Hurghada. We went on 2 excursions - one to the desert and the other was a boat trip. Both were very enjoyable even though the sea was a bit choppy for the boat trip.

Close
Natalia
Great winterbreak!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
Very nice hotel, good place for elderly, but also for young! Best thing about this place is entertainment group! Awesome time with them! Volleyball, aquagym, zumba dance and more and mooore also in the evening! I'll never forget this guys and that great time! Best regards for everybody: Brown, Mizo, Solly, Mido, Gigi, Sivo, Ania, Kristina! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Janni Holm
Sunrise Holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
A nice 3+ hotel. Good location. Very nice staff. Saki in the poolbar the best in town, the most kindly and friendly person. Mohamad in Grand Cafe very nice. The intertaintment Group were exelent. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Julia
I will definitely come back!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
We spent here ten wonderful days. If you have doubts about visiting this hotel, you should get rid of them. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, lovely view, great variety of facilities, delicious food and drinks - all these have made our holidays perfect. Special thanks to all the animation team - they didn't let us to be bored and we spent amazing time together. Always smiling they charged us with positive emotions for the whole day. We've enjoyed every minute of our staying here. As a result - we want to go back at this hotel again! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.7
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kathryn
Another fab break
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
Fab hotel been lots of times and never have I had any complains, They say welcome home when you arrive, and this hotel is my second home, Yes it looks abit scruffy in places but its a fab Hotel, read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Stayed in different rooms over the years and never had complaint about any of them, obviously the ones looking over lagoon and pool are better because of the view,All you need, from tea,coffee,bottled water,Safty deposit, and more,

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    4 resterants,1 beach bar and snack bar, all food is good, always something to tempt you, Different themes most nights, and can even get a Sunday lunch, my self I love to try different food when in different country so found the Egyptian night very good, Atmosphere in all areas good, It up to the individual who you tip,

  • Service
    6.0

    No other words but excellent in all areas of the Hotel, Bar staff,waiters,room boys,Gardeners,and not forgetting the life guards and beach boys,i have made many friends, even the head chef and kitchen staff can not do enough,

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Animation team once again fab,these guys work so hard from 10 in morning to many nights after12,I been Aug last year,December,and back just 3 weeks ago, and they have always had some thing new,Gigi,Mido,Solly,Brown,Samo,Shivo,Anna and Christein,you guys make this Hotel, I miss you all, Lagoon is just what you need,Snorkaling is a must and even have a turtle living local, The beach is kept very clean thanks to the boys who also work very hard, and they so friendly,Gomma my best friend, miss you,

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Fab hotel been lots of times and never have I had any complains, They say welcome home when you arrive, and this hotel is my second home, Yes it looks abit scruffy in places but its a fab Hotel,

  • Location
    6.0

    Location is great for down town Hurgada,If you do not like being out and about with the local people, and want 5star plus out of hotel then its not for you, I travel on my own sometimes to this hotel and area and always felt safe out and about,Marina,and shops well worth a visit, I even haggle with the Taxi drivers, all in good fun, respect and you will get it back,

Close
Molly
Still in hotel and don't want back home
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
e experienced a very warm welcome as we entered the hotel lobby, which continued throughout our stay. The staff from the management team right down to the cleaners were really friendly and helpful. Fabulous hotel staff, always cares about you, never let you stay sad and lonely - especialy entertainment team midooooox and all the team. The beach is small but we are enjoying it. They have a different theme for the restaurant every night.. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Marion
Amazing
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
fantastic holiday! Could not praise staff and entertainment team enough (Gigi!!!) they all made our holiday one to remember. Food was very good with plenty of choice.... Sunday lunch was fantastic! Entertainment team were so good and always available to help. Only slight negative is bathrooms are slightly tired but didn't affect quality of holiday. Pool/beach boys are great(especially Mr Friday!!) Bar staff are amazing, thank you to Omar and Alaar who went over and above to make our stay amazing. This was our second visit and we will return next year read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Martina
Amazing!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
I was in this hotel twice and I really enjoyed it! Staff here is amazing, they are very friendly and helpfull, it was really a great pleasure to spend time with them all! Especially with barmans from beach bar and Mido from animation team. Hotel is very clean, with big pool, restaurants and beautifull lagoon, which is great for swimming in winter months. Food here is really tasty and good looking. great surprize was when head chef came to us and told us, that if we missing here something he gonna cook it for us! If you are hungry at ... the beach and don't want to go to restaurant, you can simply just go to beach bar and have delicious mini pizza there! This hotel is like my second home) thank you for everything sunrise, please stay amazing! Hopefully i will come back soon! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Joan
Fantastic Fortnight
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
There are 7 floors to this hotel, the ones overlooking the private beach and the red sea have a fantastic view. The cleanliness is first class. All inclusive meals were brilliant, always a wide variety of choice. The guests were varied, Russian, German, British and no children under 12 years. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room consisted od 2 double beds. We had a desk, 2 chairs, 2 sets of drawers, a double wardrobe with plenty of hanging space, a safe which was free of charge.There was also a 32 inch T.V. Tea and coffee making facilities and a fridghe and telephone. Spotlessly clean, age of building approx 10 years.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 5 restaurants all with bars plus a beach bar, pool bar and 2 more on the balconies on the 4th and 5th floor. Quality and quantity of food and drinks were superb, all overseen by the head chef Asraf. The dining areas were spotless. The cuisine was varied, something foe everyone, most nights were themed e.g. Chinese, French, Mediterranean and a good old Sunday Roast with the best Yorkshire Puds ever. The atmosphere was always friendly, you tipped as you pleased, all tips were shared.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff couldn't be more friendly, from the boys on the beach who would get your towels and set up your sunbeds right up to the General Manager. They all spoke Russian, German and English. The rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed daily and sheets changed twice a week, all done to a very high standard. Laundry service was available, we used it 3 times but you only pay for 2. Complaints were dealt with instantly, staff walking round all day asking if everything was okay.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The entertainment team were FANTASTIC, there was Volley Ball, Darts, Boules, Aquarobics,Belly Dancing and Zumba every day. These kids worked there socks off, They put on a show in the Hotel Disco each night which was always well represented by a wide section of the visitors in the Hotel. There was free internet provided you stayed within the lobby areas, and ther was a selection of shops within the hotel. The beach was spotless, Mohammed and the rest of the boys took great pride in there work keeping it clean, plenty of sunbeds,sunscreens and showers.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    There are 7 floors to this hotel, the ones overlooking the private beach and the red sea have a fantastic view. The cleanliness is first class. All inclusive meals were brilliant, always a wide variety of choice. The guests were varied, Russian, German, British and no children under 12 years.

  • Location
    6.0

    The beach was attached to the hotel as it had it's own private beach. Plenty of shops in Hurghada town and round the Marina. About 10 minutes from the airport. Plenty of excursionsif you wanted them, ie boat trips, desert safari, trip to the pyramids.

Close
William
Our february break
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
The hotel is airy, spacious and clean with a bar on level three restruants on level two three with shops on the grounds which include nail bar gym bar with premium drinks that you pay for. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our room was a deluxe suite ground floor it was clean and airy tv fridge tea and coffee facilities. Made up every day everything re plenished the furniture although is a little dated but not in bad condition Could do with brightening up. Safe is free telephone in room calls are chargeable to other countries. The size of room is nice good shower pressure and tap pressure.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    All the eating ares are well presented and the food is tastefull well presented and tons of it, The chefs take pride in what and how they do it everything is clean. The waitng staff are flat out but always there to help polite too. Tipping is optional but a pound now and then gets you just a little more, the food is dependent on the theme of the day ie med, italian english etc all very nice and tasty. Quality of food is brill and quantity more than you can eat superb.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service is superb nothing to much trouble and always helpful and smiling, curtious too, The staff are well groomed and smart room cleaned daily with a little extra touch, room service perfect and when it arrives its still hot.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There are some sports volley ball aqua arobics etc or just sunning yourself pool is warm internet is free but a bit slow, pool area is kept clean all the time and the pool clean every day, sun screens or wind breaks are a little worse for wear and one per every two beds this does not happen as people take two leaving sum beds with none. But if you ask you normally get given another one. The entertainment team from the manager to his staff Solly Anna Gigi Mido Samo are superb always having fun with you nothing a problem.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is airy, spacious and clean with a bar on level three restruants on level two three with shops on the grounds which include nail bar gym bar with premium drinks that you pay for.

  • Location
    6.0

    Location is perfect with local shops 5 mins away to the left of the hotel and a pharmacy to the right 30 seconds away opposite, The grounds are well looked after and pleasant with the beach just out side your door with a man made lagoon. The swimming pool is of reasonable size with a swim up bar plenty of sun space. There is diving eexcursions and island excursions with boats just at the swimming pool area door to door really.

Close
Hania
Best holidays ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
Everything was just perfect! Our room was very big and spacious. The food was varied and very delicious. Perfect location - near the city center so it's not a problem to go for a walk any time. The beach was beautiful and there was no problem with finding a place to stay. The staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpful, especially animation team. The time spend here wouldn't be the same without them. All of them were working so hard, talking with everybody, preparing shows and making people feel like home. Their passion for their job was clearly visible. Special ... thanks to Solly who is really a professional enterntainer and keeps on joking all the time - it's impossible to stay upset with him and Shivo who is one of the kindest guys I've ever met. I grately miss them all! These were the holidays I will never be able to forget and I will definiately come back to this hotel as soon as possible! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
SuzyQ
Sun, sea, sleep & superb service
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
Our main aims for this February half term holiday were to unwind, get some sun, snorkeling and good food. I have to say we achieved all but one successfully (that was due to weather conditions). As we arrived in a large group the hotel were very good to get us organised and into our rooms as soon as possible. We were definitely made to feel like the staff were set to make our stay as enjoyable and relaxing as they could and I really felt they did this well. The welcome meeting was worth attending. Khaled was informed and gave ... specific details that helped us make good decisions about our week's holiday (tips as well as warnings offered). I thought it was very reassuring that all the key managers of the hotel introduced themselves to us so we knew who to lookout for and speak to if needed. Whilst I've always believed the world is too big to return to the same place twice, if we returned to Hurghada, I would have no hesitation in returning to Sunrise Holiday Resort. With the warm send off that we were given, we felt we left good memories and friends behind. Maybe one day we'll be back! P.S If anyone reading this knows about my grey shawl that I lost, please let me know. it was my favourite-( read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had room 544 which was a good sized double room with a large balcony and sea view. It was always kept clean and smelt fresh.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food was great and lots of variety. Ashraf (Head chef) was usually on hand to make sure everything was fine. It was very good (and reassuring) that management would eat in the restaurant with guests. We had expected food to be a bit spicier and missed our chilies but options were available - we're Indian! The themed nights were good so didn't feel the need to try the al-a-carte restaurant which was available to us every night. Beach bars did nice snacks particularly the pizzas. The wine was a little watery but drinks were ok as far as all inclusives go. If you're lucky, the barman will make you a nice strong cocktail that hits the spot!

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff are what make this hotel and would be the main reason we'd go back. They really go out of their way to make your holiday enjoyable. They were always friendly, often stopping for a chat, helpful even if it wasn't their area of responsibility and go to lengths to correct anything that may not be right for you as their guest. It had a real family run feel to it. The animation team were especially brilliant (Mido, Miso, Gigi, Anna, Brown, Shivo, Christina and I know I've missed one sorry!). They worked tirelessly from morning till night to put on a good range of activities. Evening entertainment was varied and fun. Bingo was a little bonus at the end of the evening. Thanks to all of you.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There is a little gym available, free to guests, with modern equipment. The spa was decent although the directions of what to do were not clear. I had a body scrub wearing underwear as it was a little public. If you have a massage, clarify what exactly you are paying for. Their hot stone massage was missold as it was a heated stone platform you lay on to relax! My first massage was ok but we were given a second by Shafi I think her name was who was brilliant. She sorted my back out in 15 minutes.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    Our main aims for this February half term holiday were to unwind, get some sun, snorkeling and good food. I have to say we achieved all but one successfully (that was due to weather conditions). As we arrived in a large group the hotel were very good to get us organised and into our rooms as soon as possible. We were definitely made to feel like the staff were set to make our stay as enjoyable and relaxing as they could and I really felt they did this well. The welcome meeting was worth attending. Khaled was informed and gave specific details that helped us make good decisions about our week's holiday (tips as well as warnings offered). I thought it was very reassuring that all the key managers of the hotel introduced themselves to us so we knew who to lookout for and speak to if needed. Whilst I've always believed the world is too big to return to the same place twice, if we returned to Hurghada, I would have no hesitation in returning to Sunrise Holiday Resort. With the warm send off that we were given, we felt we left good memories and friends behind. Maybe one day we'll be back! P.S If anyone reading this knows about my grey shawl that I lost, please let me know... it was my favourite :-(

  • Location
    5.0

    The private beach is a great asset, the lagoon is beautiful and cool but not freezing at this time. My husband enjoyed the snorkeling around there and a little further out beyond the bridge. It was very safe and clean. The weather in February was good, about 23 degrees but very windy and pretty cold in the breeze too so come prepared with clothing for day and nights as temperature drops quite a lot. Wind breakers helped keep the breeze out, I even managed to pick up a lovely Egyptian tan!

Close
Marjorie
Fabulous holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • February 2015
Arrived home from Sunrise Hotel two days ago. Everything was brilliant; the food was very good, the hotel rooms were cleaned every day (Ahmed was brilliant), the Animation Team (Gigi and rest of team) worked very hard. All of the staff including Recreation Team (sunbeds etc), waiters in restaurants and lobby bars were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Ahmed the new young beach bar waiter and Alaa, the lobby bar waiter - great guys, cannot do enough for you. The management team come round the beach every day to see if you are happy with everything; ... they welcome all comments, positive and negative. We upgraded to a superior room on the 5th floor and it was brilliant - original room was too small and it was changed within a couple of hours. The lagoon and beach are amazing and the swimming pool is heated. Negative comments: some of the rooms looked tired, plastic glasses from the beach bar do not look very hygienic as they are very scratched and stained, waiter selling fresh orange juice while you are having breakfast (£1.50) was unnecessary. Overall, tremendous value for money and will definitely be returning. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    0
Close
1 3 4 5 ... 139