Freehand Miami Hostel(3 stars)

2727 Indian Creek Drive View on map

Average rating

27 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    4.9
  • Room
    4.1
  • Service
    4.5
  • Location
    4.9
  • Food and Drinks
    4.0
  • Sport & entertain
    4.6
Filters
You selected:
13 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Stuart
Great hostel in Miami Beach with a stylish vibe
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • City break
  • January 2014
Having stayed in my hostels in my time, I was pleasantly surprised to find such a trendy, well priced and friendly hostel as this. Sure, it's a bit of a walk from the hustle and bustle of Miami Beach and Ocean drive, but it's worth it. And being only 2 blocks from the beach is ideal. Trendy open plan foyer/reception and sitting area. This is also where they served breakfast but was rather poor to be honest (pastries and a few bananas). But it was included so can't complain. Bed was comfy in my 8 bed dorm. We had two ... bathrooms, a view over the pool and air con. The pool was a nice touch outside with the cocktail bar and evening seating area. Overall, as hostels go, this is a good one. Easy to meet people too! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Chris
Very good hostel with passionate staff
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2013
Hostel in a very good location just a couple of meters away from Miami beach. It has a nice pool area with many benches and other sitting opportunities. Directly at the pool is a bar serving a variety of drinks. Breakfast is basic but sufficient. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    4.7
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Martin
Where indian creek tin is Freehand inside
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • February 2013
The Freehand Miami Beach we had for four days. As at two days still befriends from us also there stayed, we booked a quadruple room. The building itself is still the name indian creek hotel. The lobby was very comfortable and had an atm, as well as information boards on activities on site can do. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    The quadruple room with bunk beds was very colourfully decorated and had lockers (castle must bring) and a small bathroom. The shelves were quite broken. Everything seemed we a IKEA-youth room. Seats were abundant. The air conditioning was alright and not too loud.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    The breakfast consisted of a kind of fruit salad with red fruits, croissants and small muffins. In addition there was coffee and orange juice. That was it. For a hostel too few choice.

  • Service
    4.0

    At the front desk was rather student working staff, this was friendly. The rest seemed rather grumpy.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The small pool with sun loungers was very youthful and stylish and was in a lovingly and funny presented garden. Here was in the late night parties and there is a small bar, as well as table tennis.

  • Hotel
    4.0

    The Freehand Miami Beach we had for four days. As at two days still befriends from us also there stayed, we booked a quadruple room. The building itself is still the name indian creek hotel. The lobby was very comfortable and had an atm, as well as information boards on activities on site can do.

  • Location
    4.0

    The hostel is located on the border between the north and South Miami Beach. To the beach it was only a few hundred meters. In the area there are a supermarket and a few restaurants. Nearby the hostels there is a station the bus directly to the airport from Miami leads. I think it was the line 150. the hotel has no own parking, so that the public must take, the however only from 08 to 18 hours free of charge.

Close
Alexandra
Small idyll in top -location and top -price
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • January 2013
Before my cruise from Miami i was while searching for a cheap hotel, not really to find. Therefore i thought to myself, i show nevertheless times for hostels \u263a and i by accident on the freehand encountered, which probably only for about half year was open. I was never in a hostel, but the freehand is in my opinion not a typical hostel. It worked very well and there were luckily no loud parties etc. It was a small idyllic location. The freehand is from Miami airport with the express bus 150 for 2,35$ about minutes away, stop directly ... in front of door, stop:27 st. indian creek drive. Perfect access. The South Beach is just a block away 2 minutes away and along the beach promenade one goes around 20 minutes away on foot to Ocean Drive. The freehand offers different room: double, quad, 8 bedrooms -either only loose woman or mixed. I was in four women,20 Euro p. night. Unbeatable price for the location. Everything very clean, new beds, comfortable mattress. Gave small spindschränke - definitely itself castle to bring their own. Apart from that not lots of space something or hanging space. A small breakfast with fruit salad, muffins and croissants included the freehand has a beautiful, yes romantic garden, even with a pool and upholstered wooden pool chairs. You will feel, the all with much attention to detail one prepared. Supermarket, subway, 2 small restaurants just round the corner or about 20 walking to the Lincoln Road(shopping). I was really thrilled for my first stay in a hostel. For singles and passing-through really recommendable. For me it was hard to get used to, with 3 other girls the room to share, but for 3 nights it was also fine and a nice experience. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Birgit
A hotel, which is one of youth hostel makes up for archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • February 2012
The hotel seems very long renovated we have been... Pity, because it has a very beautiful inner courtyard, and garden, and thus also special charm. The air conditioning fall off of the wall, window approximately 50 years old, pretty thin doors. Beware of inner courtyardPosting, it is each night A party with music until 2 hours... So it was with complaint... We were on the through journey, and in this night little sleep, breakfast consists of 2 cakes-sorts, coffee, tea, juice and water as long as still available. So really only for the young people! read hotel review
  • Room
    2.8
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.7
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    2.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.5
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    3.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Collin
Disappointed! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • June 2011
I would recommend this hotel really not recommend it! The front desk wanted to give us on the first increased press, was still three o'clock in the morning in the room called! We are three of us arrived and there were only two beds in the room! They gave us a third bed was ultimately provided but at the beginning they wanted to even out blast! The room was very dirty, everywhere cockroaches, the bathroom was very small! I am really disappointed with the hotel, but the location is great! Maybe 2-3 minutes to the beach and 7 blocks from ... the hotel there was a shopping street! read hotel review
  • Room
    1.3
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    2.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    2.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    3.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    1.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.3
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    2.0
  • Hotel
    2.3
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    1.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Tom
Charming small hotel with rough edges archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • March 2011
For the price, the Indian Creek is a very nice hotel. You should do a decent breakfast (which is common in Miami anyway). The hotel has its own Charme. In three minutes walk to the beach. The staff are very friendly. For young people, who can overlook a few things and a cheap hotel to stay, find the right balance here! read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Marcus
Light and shade close together archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • February 2011
The ambience of the hotel is very good and nice. It is clean, but you can tell that the best time. demand a renovation of the whole hotel good. So unfortunately it's a patchwork to see. To the nightly room include a continental breakfast, which we later. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    We had the opportunity to test the apartments and double rooms. The apartments are very large. Kitchen with complete equipment, bedroom with queen size bed. Small living room with a sofa-sleeper. The bathroom was newly tiled, but unlike the spacious apartment too small. The apartment was clean, but didn't correspond to the understanding for proper renovation. The double room was with 2 king-size beds. The bathroom needed renovation, but as the whole room clean. The topic beds: Very clean, no stains on the sheets and featuring an with mattress covers. Mattresses are very good and highly recommended for people with back problems. Small drawback: the rooms not don't have a safe, so you had to carry your valuables always.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    Here we can only continental breakfast rate. This is included in the rate. It consists of coffee, tea, orange juice (from the 1 gallon plastic canister) and water. Food is muffins, Blättersteigtaschen filled with Cherries and different cake with cinnamon. All served in and on Pappgeschirr. If something was empty, it was a nice Allroundkraft refilled. went for you in a closet and did she pull out in various cardboard boxes. We decided to visit a nearby BREAKAST shop.

  • Service
    4.0

    The staff at the front desk were always friendly and always had a tip about excursion or evening entertainment. But not always well organised. English and Spanish are not a problem. German is not on the program. The rooms were cleaned properly, also the sometimes to forget about.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0

    A small garden with a kids' pool and then the offer is also had been completed.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    The ambience of the hotel is very good and nice. It is clean, but you can tell that the best time. demand a renovation of the whole hotel good. So unfortunately it's a patchwork to see. To the nightly room include a continental breakfast, which we later.

  • Location
    3.0

    The hotel was located directly on the Indian Creek, which unfortunately a thru street. That's it at night from early in the morning and not quiet. The path to the beach slooped very short and is a small supermarket in the close vicinity. The path to the nightlife, restaurants and a couple of blocks from Lincoln Road is a bit longer. We are about 15 minutes' walk. You can take a taxi of course treat yourself.

Close
Christina
The words are missing to me archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2010
Drag the bags as there is not even a slant to have to go up, very strange people at the front desk-looked like a Freakshow of, the pool was dirty, the elevator unsteady and loud-I even with my grandma with its 40-year-old elevator without being scared, but I am here voluntarily six times daily the fifth floor on the stairs. The keys hang on a huge toy Crocodile (2 persons-1 crocodile), we took the key and therefore we could not go without a huge bag from the house. Breakfast consisted of coffee and other iwas. We were only on the ... first morning down to breakfast, I have seen that a bowl with a pastry stood on the table. The worst was, that we were not warned that stay in the hotel very difficult people with disabilities. I only have two people not seen Betreuuer product to belonged to them. So if I am in the vacation I don't expect to be surrounded by people, is a constant and unhappy life. The check-in process was horrible. The entire hotel was full of them and I almost ashamed with shopping bag to come into the hotel while your there most of the time in the area around the hotel to spend, partly hard handicapped in a wheelchair. I found it to be really sad. The room was also not particularly nice. It smelled beastly, dirty, old furniture. The bathroom was also a shock scared when I first wanted to take a shower, the use of the toilet or the shower was ten minutes a mystery. Even if I may have gotten where a group of disabled people the hotel has rented, I think it could have been done to inform us counted. This hotel is in my opinion not recommended. The people at the front desk didn't seem to want to talk, not even call a taxi for its guests. And the Internet was infernal too expensive, at an age-old PC in the basement. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    1.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    2.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    2.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    1.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    1.0
  • Hotel
    1.8
    Family friendliness
    1.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    1.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    1.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Melanie
Noisy Marco Polo a insider tip archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2010
This is a nice, well renovated, small, 3 -story Art Deco hotel. The hotel is offered with breakfast. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.0

    The rooms were enough from the size and with a double bed, bedside tables, TV, telephone, wardrobe, table and chair. The bathroom is very small, not really space for 2 people, Shampooproben, toothpaste and a razor are available.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    For breakfast tables and chairs in the lobby, across from the front desk was set up and served pastries, coffee, hot chocolate, water and orange juice.

  • Service
    3.0

    There were English and Spanish spoken and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are cleaned every day.

  • Sport & Leisure
    3.0

    A small pool with beach chairs and umbrellas available. Internet connection per day extra.

  • Hotel
    3.0

    This is a nice, well renovated, small, 3 -story Art Deco hotel. The hotel is offered with breakfast.

  • Location
    3.0

    To the beach it was about 5 minutes and easily accessible by foot. The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle. The Lincoln Road Mall can be reached in about 20 minutes by foot. Excursion possibilities offered by the hotel. The hotel does not have its own private parking and around is parking within sight. We fed the metered parking right in front of the hotel, we have 1€ for an hour. parking within sight is from 8:00 until 6:00 pm.

Close
Sibylle
Hotel with charm archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Other stay
  • July 2010
The hotel has a homey atmosphere which is very nice and on the South American or Spanish regions recalls. Breakfast is included and the crowd rather young. The hotel is very clean. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The corner rooms are elsewhere, since they have a separate living room and in addition a fridge. But the other rooms are very nice.

  • Gastronomy
    2.0

    The breakfast couldn't compete with the other standard of the hotel (small pastries and cakes as well as coffee, tea, orange juice).

  • Service
    5.0

    The hotel room was clean and the service of the staff is to be commended. Also a longer stay can easy to plan.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    A pool is available next to a small bar in plenty of green. At the pool the beach chairs and towels are available from the hotel. In the basement there is a lounge. The Internet access is connected to additional charges per day. Other entertainment is not available.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel has a homey atmosphere which is very nice and on the South American or Spanish regions recalls. Breakfast is included and the crowd rather young. The hotel is very clean.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located in Miami Beach has to offer, and is only two Parallelstrassen from the beach, the famous South Beach is within walking distance. On the other side was it separated by a road on a canal. The hotel offers day trips. There is no parking.

Close
Uwe
Ok but has seen better days archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • November 2009
Very friendly staff, put in a lot of effort. Hotel not up-to-date anymore, but nice an Art Deco style. Beautiful garden with pool and restaurant. Restaurant very good but not cheap. Breakfast, well, very spartan. orange juice, tea coffee and small sweet pastries all in/on plastic cups and plates ... As a base for a few days, was ok. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    3.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    4.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    3.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Bernhard
The best years are over, noisy and expensive archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • March 2009
This hotel did not meet our expectations. It has a nice lobby, a very good, very expensive restaurant and else we have not good. We found the staff to be rude. The room was small, the bathroom wasn't quite clean and the fan in the bathroom was awful loud. The door and a door to the next room so paper thin, the it was impossible at night sleep through. At the front desk for first a policy which manalles don't let you and what it costs if you do leave (the only key lose a pool towel or not back ... ) Of all the hotels we stayed in on US round trip to this year it was for us the worst! read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0

    Our room was very small. The bathroom also. There was however, a small closet. No balcony. Unfortunately, it was not very clean. There is no coffee maker as is usually almost anywhere in the United States. Our room had a locked door to the next room, but is apparently not soundproof, as well as the door to the hallway. The windows to dual carriageway closed not nearly sound proof. Hardly any possibilities to get a good night's sleep.

  • Gastronomy
    4.5

    The included breakfast was usually USA wrapped cookies available, so cakes, juice, milk and coffee. In the hotel there is an excellent restaurant with bar to expensive.

  • Service
    2.5

    The staff at the hotel was to us with a few exceptions annoyed and abrupt.

  • Sport & Leisure
    2.5

    The pool was cleaned during our stay (before noon cups from the pool bar were still from the night before), the beach chairs were not cleaned up and bins full.

  • Hotel
    2.5

    This hotel did not meet our expectations. It has a nice lobby, a very good, very expensive restaurant and else we have not good. We found the staff to be rude. The room was small, the bathroom wasn't quite clean and the fan in the bathroom was awful loud. The door and a door to the next room so paper thin, the it was impossible at night sleep through. At the front desk for first a policy which manalles don't let you and what it costs if you do leave (the only key lose a pool towel or not back ... ) Of all the hotels we stayed in on US round trip to this year it was for us the worst!

  • Location
    2.5

    The hotel is located on a dual carriageway one-way street. It is about 5 minutes to the beach and about 15 minutes to Ocean Drive. Parking only for a fee at the public road, 6.42 dollars from 12am - 12am!

Close