Hotel Park Grand London Hyde Park(4 stars)

78-82 Westbourne Terrace View on map

Average rating

22 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.3
  • Room
    5.4
  • Service
    5.8
  • Location
    5.3
  • Food and Drinks
    5.4
  • Sport & entertain
    0.0
Filters
You selected:
12 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Jan
Super hotel in a good location
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • City break
  • February 2013
I had the Best Western shaftesbury Paddington court London booked. After i now have it wanted to check-in, said to me the lady at the reception, that all rooms were booked and me to a sister hotel a few roads further transferred has. In order to arrive there called me a free taxi. The time until the arrival of the taxi i spent in the hotel lounge. In shaftesbury premier London Hyde Park arrived i went to the front desk around to check. During check-in i was told by the receptionist, i as compensation a upgrade into the next higher ... room type, as well as the daily breakfast free receive. After opening the door to the room was i positively surprised. It was a suite. In the 'ground floor' this suite the bathroom was, and a living room with sofa bed, lcd tv and a small kitchenette with a microwave. Via a flight of stairs to the first floor where the huge king size bed is available. It was approximately 2 meters times 2 meters. Furthermore, stood on the first floor a large work desk and on the wall opposite the bed still another large lcd tv. The bathroom was for london standards, there was enough. The shower was pleasantly large and the floor was a heated installed. My conclusion: next time i book it right again! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    See description above. The room and bathroom were clean.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    In this hotel there was a 'restaurant'. This is but only for the breakfast buffet used. This restaurant is located in the basement which means that you no view to the outside has. You could choose between continental and british breakfast or you can get a mix of both. Furthermore, was not fresh fruits and juices were offered. In terms of taste, the food was ok. Also here the staff is friendly.

  • Service
    6.0

    Over the staff i can't complain. All are nice and helpful and speak perfect english.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0

    I had the Best Western shaftesbury Paddington court London booked. After i now have it wanted to check-in, said to me the lady at the reception, that all rooms were booked and me to a sister hotel a few roads further transferred has. In order to arrive there called me a free taxi. The time until the arrival of the taxi i spent in the hotel lounge. In shaftesbury premier London Hyde Park arrived i went to the front desk around to check. During check-in i was told by the receptionist, i as compensation a upgrade into the next higher room type, as well as the daily breakfast free receive. After opening the door to the room was i positively surprised. It was a suite. In the 'ground floor' this suite the bathroom was, and a living room with sofa bed, lcd tv and a small kitchenette with a microwave. Via a flight of stairs to the first floor where the huge king size bed is available. It was approximately 2 meters times 2 meters. Furthermore, stood on the first floor a large work desk and on the wall opposite the bed still another large lcd tv. The bathroom was for london standards, there was enough. The shower was pleasantly large and the floor was a heated installed. My conclusion: next time i book it right again!

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located about 5 minutes away on foot from the Paddington Station. This is the Heathrow Express from which Paddington Station with the London Heathrow Airport combines. The journey time is per direction only 15 minutes furthermore go here also the u-bahn, as well as some lines, whereby you to the center arrived.

Close

Archived reviews

These are not counted into the current average review rating, as the journey took place more than 25 months ago, or the hotel has completely changed.
Klaus
Good location overburdened front desk in case of a complaint archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • July 2012
If the front desk not on a complaints must respond the hotel is OK. Room like almost everywhere in London small but clean. Hotel lies about 5 minutes from a subway station ( Lancaster Gate) away. read hotel review
  • Room
    3.8
    Size of the bathroom
    3.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    3.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    3.0
  • Service
    2.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    2.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Michael
2 days short trip in London archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • July 2012
We were for a short break in London. There hotel is recommendable. Because of the location of the hotel one is on public transportation or taxi. Taxisfahrt direction center costs about 13 pound - simply. These costs can mount up. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Sascha
Caution! Never again Shaftesbury! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • June 2012
Never again SHAFTESBURY! Actually we have the ' Grand Royale London Hyde Park' booked! But were during the check in pointed out, that the hotel overbooked! It would be a taxi in a other SHAFTESBURY - hotel ( SHAFTESBURY PREMIER London Hyde Park ) drive, we had the hotel ' GRand ROYALE London Hyde Park', because the location is good and, because it is a good impression ( hotel reviews 100% positive/ pictures) left. Having arrived in the Shaftesbury premier London Hyde Park we had to first Los Angeles N g e wait until we the room got! The first ... two rooms were so unbelievably small, so you got anxieties got! The rooms were all not the pictures on the internet! The 3. room, which we at 17 o'clock move was a little pleasant, but also no 4 * level! The rooms were very old and ageing! The mattresses were great thick, but unfortunately worn out, so that we after the first night had back pains-> D r e I further followed.! Because of the age of the building you could every word from all surrounding rooms hear, In short: never again SHAFTESBURY! read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    1.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    1.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    1.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    1.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    1.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    1.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    1.7
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    1.0
Close
David
Overall acceptable archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • September 2011
The rooms are tiny (single room), one has hardly place its case. The room, the 'Deluxe single room' was offered was partly renovated, although it had a 32 'tv with English channels, but the furniture was very scuffed, the radiator could do with a lick of paint, and glazed window to the inner courtyard it could not be opened, which also said, that it was very dirty, which wasn' t't so bad as you had no view. The room had no 815, although the ground floor was. in the narrow hallway to the room numerous folding doors, our bags in ... the way. Hotel near Paddington Station, but if you have never been to London was, is still difficult, since all houses in the street look the same on both sides, and the hotel logo small and unassuming is appropriate. Right across the street is another Shaftesbury, looks exactly the same. 99 pounds have the night without breakfast. Centrally located and by and large for London standards in order, I would look for a Roma tables weekend with Mrs but what better. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.8
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
  • Service
    3.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    3.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Andreas
This was nothing archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Singles
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • January 2011
Except for easy access to public transport it can't really positive. Room was more than small, broken tiles in the bathroom, bathroom very small. Worn old mattress. Breakfast typical English. read hotel review
  • Room
    1.0
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    1.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    1.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    1.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    1.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    1.0
  • Service
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    2.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    2.0
  • Location
    4.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Kathrin
Outside hui, inside pfuii! archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • July 2010
The hotel made a very good impression, but the staff is a disaster! Alone the check in is only at certain times of day, for a hotel of this category what I just don't understand the flight with hotel: We booked with a Reisunternehmen and wanted to check it as soon as we arrived in London check in ( around 830am) unfortunately this was only at 2 PM (?! ) possible, which I found rather strange. So we just had to take the time was still a bit in Lodnons downtown distributed - no problem! After checking in got ... to the hotel rooms: very, very small room - but to stay is sufficient even definitely! The best were waiting for us when we at 23ready for bed: We heard at 5 -minute intervals the tube under us herrollen ( we had a room on the ground floor/btw they still had room in the basement)! The noise level was not extremely noisy, but it was hardly possible for me to get to sleep. The next morning, then take it away to the breakfast buffet, the sparse, but adequately equipped was! In addition to this, we were from a service for coffee and our room number, this was the list ticked as far as everything was okay. However, on the second morning when my friend without me for breakfast was relatively rage, he came after about 30 minutes to get to the rooms: He was just on breakfast, when he asked for one server to his room number. After he had to the list ticked, he came with a note to the table and my boyfriends family insisted that he him this sign. With this note should my friend for a payment of 15 pounds for the really spartan undertake to breakfast Ridiculous. We had booked accommodation including breakfast! He tried the problem with the lady at the front desk to try and sort it out, but this was convinced that all our fault that he just £15 for the breakfast and we needed to pay only continental breakfast including booked! A real cheek! We couldn't even with our travel agency to contact without exorbitant prices for a phone call to Germany to pay 10 % full with these! In my opinion, the behavior of the staff of the hotel was unacceptable and I can only recommend the finger away from this hotel! Four stars are one or two too much in every way! read hotel review
  • Room
    2.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    3.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    2.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    3.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    2.0
  • Service
    2.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    1.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    2.8
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    3.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    2.0
  • Location
    3.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    2.0
Close
Anne
Very British archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • May 2010
We wanted something from England, it was very British. fancy, old English hotel. Distant-courteous staff. British charm. Location was ok. A bit you needed to the city but that was again what we'd expected. This is the Paddington close to hyde park! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Also here: VERY British! Very dark, very hard, very old United Kingdom! We thought that was great but you had to like of course. Everything was well equipped, but a bit on the small side. The only drawback was that we were in the basement. This is not my cup of tea. And the heating was very noisy at night. In May, it was still very cold. If you're in the summer with no heating need - everything was great!

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    4.0

    We hardly used service but the staff was very polite and very British - exactly what we expected!

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.0

    We wanted something from England, it was very British. fancy, old English hotel. Distant-courteous staff. British charm. Location was ok. A bit you needed to the city but that was again what we'd expected. This is the Paddington close to hyde park!

  • Location
    4.0

    The location is absolutely ok. If you don't hotel 'in central London' can afford it always expect a bit subway. So here, too: in the part of the the Paddington isn't so incredibly busy, but close to the nearest metro (Lancaster Gate) it is only about 7 minutes and then you don't need long until the Piccadilly Circus or to Oxford. The hotel was super close in Hyde Park!

Close
Kai
Quiet and central city hotel archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • March 2010
We frequent in this very centrally located hotel, less than five minutes from Paddington station. Just one hand the proximity to bus, tube, restaurants, bars, Hyde Park, Queensway etc. And, on the other hand, the quiet street lead us again and again in this hotel. The breakfast was a little over the years has improved - is now as pretty good. The rooms are clean, spacious and according to the standard of a 3 to 4 star hotel. This time we had a room on the ground floor a bit bad luck, as they are passing subway - even if ... it is not a really bother us, as we were traveling long and the 1 Train back from 5:00 drove. Despite these minor Unannehmlichlichkeit this hotel is definitely recommendable and 114, - GBP ( circa 130, - EUR) incl. breakfast for a double room in London and this location as affordable. Kai read hotel review
  • Room
    4.5
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    4.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Marc
Friendly hotel ideal for short breaks archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Business trip
  • January 2010
We were early January for a few days stay in London. The hotel was exactly what the location which we needed for the stay. Perfect connection in a relatively short distance. Shops, bars and restaurants are nearby. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Even though weather-related we met two days booked delayed arriving at the hotel. These two nights without our request non refundable afterwards. The already older building was completely newly renovated. The rooms are small but sufficient with TV, safes, irons and ironing boards, and air conditioning and kettle. Everything was clean and in order. A courtyard ... room brought quiet and peaceful nights. We would go back to this hotel any time and would definitely recommend it. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    4.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    4.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    4.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
Close
Ines
Quaint hotel, but very noisy archived
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • City break
  • December 2009
We have stayed in a clubroom, of the two floors. In the lower was the bed and the mini-bathroom, upstairs kitchenette (with coffee maker, fridge, crockery), lounge. We could only the lower floor, you couldn't the bags in the room. Upstairs there is however enough space. The bathroom was really winzigst. Hotel was very clean, very quaint ( a little old), really nice. However, the walls of paper and you do hear everything. We had a room facing the street, where however there was a building site is and no cars drive, but I imagine it is very noisy, as ... the road traffic on it. The location is really great, in 5 minutes walk from Paddington station. There are also very nice restaurants nearby and supermarkets. Definitely ok, but you should take your earplugs! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    3.8
    Family friendliness
    3.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jenny
Good location, poor service, very small rooms archived
  • Hotel not recommended
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • City break
  • July 2009
The location of the hotel is very good and easy to reach by public transport. However, the rooms are extremely small, so you have 2 people had bad difficulties, not on the competing against. The rooms face the part to the rear of the hotel overlooking a dirty shaft which didn't necessarily to anyone else. The bathroom with shower is ideal for folks who aren't that thick. The shower is only about a 30 cm opened and the enterance was difficult and only have an oblique available. The shower head when they fall due depends ca, 1,90m for small ... people very inconvenient. Apart from few exceptions, the staff was very rude and not guests-oriented. The value for money is not correct. read hotel review
  • Room
    2.5
    Size of the bathroom
    1.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    4.0
    Size of the room
    1.0
  • Gastronomy
    3.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    3.0
  • Service
    2.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    1.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    2.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    2.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    3.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
Close