InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort(5 stars)

Ville Valio, Coastal Road, Balaclava View on map

Average rating

125 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.5
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.6
  • Location
    5.0
  • Food and Drinks
    5.4
  • Sport & entertain
    5.3
Filters
You selected:
69 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Roberto
My stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Business trip
  • January 2015
Excellent service delivered with professionality and joviality staff. The staff was very cheriful and tactful with a good sense of humor. The staff was very accommodating respectfull and service was prompt. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Sophia
Beautiful hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
The hotel is modern and very beautiful. The staff and the service they deliver is exceptional. Everyone is extreamly friendly and no request is to much. The food is amazing with a great deal of both choice and variation from day to day. The hotel has extreamly high standards and the cleanliness and attention to detail with the daily servicing of the room is beyond 5 star. By far the best overall level of excellence i have had the pleasure of experiencing. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Akash
Amazing stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Business trip
  • January 2015
Lovely hotel with large welcoming rooms. Thank you for an enjoyable stay. Just awesome staff very friendly front office always smiling. Varieties of food available. Just the cyclone was not in favor. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Rashid
Best holiday long time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
I will definitely come back here and will ask all my friends and family to come and stay here. The staff very friendly and helpful the food is excellent variety of restaurants is excellent entertainment excellent. The spa treatment was outstanding, at reception i got fantastic service from Adiilah the Resort Assistant Manager, Karin spa therapist was very good, Raja Reservation manager very accommodating,Herve Restaurant Manager ,kitty hostess in Senso very hospitable. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jason
Shaky Start but... It got Better & Better
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
I had been in communication with the hotel (regarding limousine transfer, All Inclusive package & a room with an unobstructed Sea View) during the months prior to arrival for our fortnight's holiday. to ensure that everything would be perfect ready for when we arrived, as this was booked to celebrate my wife's 40th Birthday. (We stayed 4th Jan - 18th Jan 2015) Unfortunately, on arrival at the airport we had been forgotten about by the hotel & no limousine was waiting for us. Eventually (after contacting the hotel) our limousine arrived to collect us to transfer to the hotel - ... we had been left waiting for 1 hour at the arrivals hall. As a Platinum Ambassador of the IHG Rewards Programme, I was extremely disappointed with the hotel management that they could treat a loyal customer in this manner. On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted warmly by the Guest Relations staff who proceeded to check us in. When they advised that I was staying on a Room only basis, alarm bells started to ring & I had to advise them that I had been in communication with the hotel to pre-arrange the All Inclusive package. by this point, I was really not happy !!! They advised that this would be resolved and then allocated us Room 1221 (Jacuzzi Suite). We were escorted to the room and all facilities shown to us (safe, Jacuzzi etc.). The Guest Relations member of staff then left us. I then went onto the balcony to observe the view !!! There was only a view of palm leaves, we could barely see anything of the beach / ocean. Fuming, I returned immediately to reception and requested to speak to management staff in order to resolve the issues. One of the management staff came to see me almost immediately and set about rectifying the issues I had brought to his attention. We were offered a next day room change, a further upgrade to the Presidential Suite for the last few days of our holiday (as they were fully booked until then) and a Private Island Dinner. This, I agreed would be fair recompense for the problems encountered in the first few hours of our holiday. The following day, my wife & I approached the Guest Relations staff to find out what time we would be moving rooms and we were then approached by the Chief Concierge (Kevin Ritoo). Kevin took an avid interest in the issues we had had with the previous day and almost immediately our holiday experience changed. it got Better & Better !!!! Kevin personally saw to it that we were given the best "available" room with sea view (Room 1625) and arranged for V.I.P. treatment at all of the speciality restaurants for the next few days. I have to say, Kevin & his team (O'Bryan, Arun & all of the Bell Boys) were fantastic & always went out of their way to ensure everything was in place to make our holiday special. Thank You all !!!! At the Manager's "Welcome" Cocktail Party we were introduced to Shirley Emery (Guest Relations Manager) and after a couple of minutes Shirley realised who we were & expressed her apologies for the treatment we were subjected to on Day 1. From that moment on, Shirley always made sure that whenever she saw us, she always made a point of ensuring we were being looked after. (She also ensured that we were moved a day earlier than expected, to the Presidential Suite with the best view of all the rooms in the hotel - The "Pheonix" Suite - Room 1823). If you encounter any issues when visiting this hotel, ensure that you raise your concerns with either Shirley or Kevin. They will help & in fact, thrive on the opportunity to assist guests. It is pointless bottling up your problems when they are on-hand to resolve them. These guys are a credit to the IHG Brand. Despite Cyclone Bansi affecting the weather. we found that we were enjoying our Mauritian experience immensely, despite the shaky start. as almost all of the staff (from Room Attendants, Waiters, Bar Staff through to Management) were friendly & wanted to make the guest holiday experience a special one. I stay in many IHG Branded Hotels every year. the staff in this hotel are some of the friendliest I have met. Special mentions must go to the following staff, as they went over & above to ensure our holiday went smoothly: Kevin Ritoo (Chief Concierge), Shirley Emery (Guest Relations Manager), O'Bryan (Concierge), Arun (Concierge), Savina (Waitress in Palm Bar), Siham (Waiter in the Palm Bar / Beach), Jay (Room Attendant - Room 1823), Rajiv (Manager - Segala), Christophe (Waiter - Segala) & Patrick (Waiter - Veda). All in all, after the initial disappointment. everyone went out of their way to ensure the holiday experience was extra special (most other guests we spoke to also felt that the staff did their utmost to ensure the holiday experience for all guests was special). The hotel rooms are of an excellent standard for a resort hotel. (even the standard rooms are excellent), however. The Presidential Suites are just "Wow". Superb in every way !!!!!, The restaurants (speciality & the Senso buffet restaurant) all serve the most fantastic food & catered for every need, The Bar's - although the service could be slow, were all in fine settings & well tended. The grounds, Beach & Island. stunning !!!! Would we go back, given that we had initial problems??? Oh yes, without hesitation. Say no more !!!!!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    4.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Emma
International workshop - wonderful experience
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Business trip
  • January 2015
. The hotel was very quiet even when it was at 98% full capacity. All staff were very accommodating even with last minute changes! All of the restaurants were very intimate and beautiful. Food was delicious. Staff members were all wonderful. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    The lodging rooms were large and beautiful and easy to get to from the main areas. The lodging areas are very quiet and relaxing.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Food was good. Lots of options. Service was amazing!

  • Service
    6.0

    We held a three day workshop with 10 people from all over the world. The services that we were provided were amazing. We were given a large coonference room that was complete with 4 staff members who were very attentive. Our coffee breaks were given twice a day and provided us with delicious snacks. The lodging rooms were all very nice and clean.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pool was beautiful and large for several guests.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    . The hotel was very quiet even when it was at 98% full capacity. All staff were very accommodating even with last minute changes! All of the restaurants were very intimate and beautiful. Food was delicious. Staff members were all wonderful.

  • Location
    6.0

    The location was perfect. Landscape was beautiful. Location was very quiet and a great escape.

Close
Mats
Nice vacation at Intercontinental Mauritius
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
Nice hotel with spa more or less on the beach. We have all inclusive and can recommend that. You can also book on three restaurants and chose from a set meny. We can really recommend the restaurant Noble House. Excellent food and serviceminded staff. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    4.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    4.0
    Family friendliness
    4.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    4.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    3.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    2.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    2.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    3.0
Close
Maureen
Best hotel stay ever
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
We had a fantastic stay . The facilities are superb , very clean , well kept and fantasti staff . We stayed bed and breakfast . South african age 50 plus . read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    Excellent . Well fitted out . Comfotable and clean

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Excellent buffets every night with shows . Breakfast provided a large variety . Several restaurant lunh options .

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff areabsolutely wonderfull . There is aashish at lobby bar , vaneesha at senso restaurant . Singh at senso . Amresh at senso . All wonderfull staf

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Many activities . Great pools and comfortable pools . Good beach equipment . Beautiful site

  • Hotel
    6.0

    We had a fantastic stay . The facilities are superb , very clean , well kept and fantasti staff . We stayed bed and breakfast . South african age 50 plus .

  • Location
    6.0

    Port louis is only 15 to 25 minutes away . There areother facilities nearby .

Close
Oliver
Enjoyable stay in Mauritius
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
After mistakenly being situated in a lower room category than booked the hotel upgraded us to presidential suite. Very nice. Over all the staff was very accommodating, friendly and polite. The cleanliness was good but could be slightly improved. The a la carte restaurants are awesome with respect to quality of food and service!!! We enjoyed our stay very much and consider the hotel very recommendable! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    4.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    4.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    4.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.3
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Fahad
Excellent location, great service and good water sports
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2015
Rooms are clean and especially my room had a great location and i loved the service overall read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Nice rooms, i love my riom and view, easily accessible to pools

  • Gastronomy
    0
  • Service
    6.0

    Great services especially from Arun and akshy they were really helpful.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pools are clean, good complimentry water activitues

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Rooms are clean and especially my room had a great location and i loved the service overall

  • Location
    6.0

    Best scenic beach with a view of mountains, perfect beach side holidays

Close
Namiko
Best New Years eve ever!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
Holiday with my boyfriend for New Years celebration, enjoyed hotel stay with good food and very relaxing beach time. But what impressed me most is the New Years eve, start from cocktail party with nice mojito, sangria and African performance which made me feel like I was in one of the movie! Then slowly moved to the dinner, there were 2 venues, one was at big ballroom with some nice black and white decorations for gala dinner, but we have chosen another one set in front of beach as romantic dinner since I was with my boyfriend, the table was ... nicely decorated on the sand and it was just beautiful. 5 course dinner slowly served in perfect timing, staff was very attentive even though they had to serve 100 of people at same time! Another African performance after dinner, some guest started dancing too and it was lovely to see all those happy people on this special day, then we moved to ballroom area to the count down. Nice music was played to welcome the new year, highlight was the Fire works and fire show. This was the best New Years celebration ever indeed, all the entertainments, friendly staff, beautiful dinner set up with nice food, I guess all those factor made the night so special and memorable, I hope to come back here for the end of 2015 again! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Claudia
Intercontinental Mauritius never fails to impress
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
I have been visiting Intercontinental Mauritius for many years and it never fails to impress me! The staff are like family to me and it feels like being at home. The hotel is modern and fresh and satisfies my every need in the highest regard. The rooms are neat and tidy and as always I stayed in the Presidential Suite which was spectacular and a real treat! The pool area is beautifully set out and the pool helpers are friendly and attentive! The pool bar runs efficiently and is adequately stocked. The food is very good for both breakfast and ... dinner and is tasty! My only complaint is that there is no longer ice-cream available at dinner which is a big let down and I did hear other patrons complaining about this too. There has always ice-cream in my previous visits! The desserts need to be looked at as well as they are bland and nothing amazing except for the Indian themed evening which had incredible goodies. I have travelled the world and visited many hotels and the one thing which stands out is the staff at Intercontinental Mauritius. I would like to highlight a few staff members in particular Kevin Ritoo your chief concierge whom I have dealt with for many years. Kevin just gets better like a good wine. Before my arrival he was regularly keeping me up to date with my travel arrangements. Upon arrival he was his usual professional self and nothing is too much for him. He speaks so nicely to the guests and all that he had promised was first class. His team is excellent and its obvious that he has trained them superbly. His friendly disposition and ways are both refreshing and delightful. Kevin is truly an asset to this hotel! Some of the pool bar staff need to be made mention of - Anoop, Babu and Ravi were tops. Great service and friendliness. In the dining area - Wesley and Reena were magical and need to be praised. Jay cleaned our Presidential Suite with pride and gusto. All in all it was an amazing experience as always and being Platinum Members now is a badge we will wear proudly! Thanks to all you do to make my holiday simply fabulous!!! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Steve
A great holiday and great hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
Just had a fabulous week in the Intercontinental Mauritius and had a great time. The hotel and it's staff are of the highest standard. Everyone you meet has a warm smile and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel has four restaurants to choose from and all provide food to a very high standard. Our favourite was the Veda Restaurant where the food was outstanding and the service provided by Nitish and his team was excellent. We also used the spa facilities regularly and also had three massages each which just made a great holiday even better. Yanti, in particular ..., in the spa was brilliant. We would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to have the opportunity to go back again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Hein
Fantastic holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
We had a fantastic stay at the Intercontinental Balaclava resort. We would especially like to compliment Shirley the Guest Relations Manager for her friendliness and excellent service. Rajiv, Nitish and Wesley treated us so well we felt like we were at home. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.2
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Joe
Top-notch facilties and service
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
My wife and I felt welcomed from the moment we arrived, and the feeling of "customer comes first" remained for our entire stay. The hotel has everything you need for an ideal beach-resort-vacation. We literally had no complaints; hotel staff took went above and beyond to take care of everything. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room was clean, spacious, and simply nice.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are 4-5 restaurants, but we chose the all-encompassing buffet each night. There are different themes each night, but no matter the theme, there always seems to be some Indian, Chinese, and American food to supplement the theme.

  • Service
    6.0

    I cannot say enough about the great service we received from beginning to end, from the front desk to the gym to the restaurants. We were greeted with an infectious smile wherever we ventured on the hotel grounds.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The boat house offers free equipment, such as peddle boats, kayaks, and snorkel gear, which we took advantage of.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    My wife and I felt welcomed from the moment we arrived, and the feeling of "customer comes first" remained for our entire stay. The hotel has everything you need for an ideal beach-resort-vacation. We literally had no complaints; hotel staff took went above and beyond to take care of everything.

  • Location
    6.0

    Most resorts in Mauritius are spread out along the coast, according to my research. It was about an hour taxi ride to/from the airport. If the hotel resort and it's adjacent beach is not enough, the hotel does offer other options for tours around the area and island. We were more than satisfied to simply relax at the hotel for the entire trip.

Close
Narendra
Fantastic break on beach front hotel in Mauritus
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
You can tell when a hotel is managed well, we got this feeling as soon as we arrived here, greeted very well and in the most professional manner. The staff and management team seem to be very happy doing what they do there! Escorted to our room which bought a smile to our faces. This has been the most relaxing holiday we have had in a very long time, you may want to go on the all inclusive deal as trust me it is well worth it! The food ( so many tasteful options) it seemed unreal. The breakfast,lunch ... and dinner options are very good. I have stayed at the Oberoi in mauritus and this hotel is much better for all choices. after dinner they even provide entertainment on the beach! Lots to do! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Super clean with all and more you can expect from a 5 star hotel

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Super! Out of this world! great service all around and everyone takes care of you when in and around the hotel.

  • Service
    6.0

    out of this world! Nothing is ever too much for anyone and above all everything comes with a smile!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    excellent, very clean and great maintained.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    You can tell when a hotel is managed well, we got this feeling as soon as we arrived here, greeted very well and in the most professional manner. The staff and management team seem to be very happy doing what they do there! Escorted to our room which bought a smile to our faces. This has been the most relaxing holiday we have had in a very long time, you may want to go on the all inclusive deal as trust me it is well worth it! The food ( so many tasteful options) it seemed unreal. The breakfast,lunch and dinner options are very good. I have stayed at the Oberoi in mauritus and this hotel is much better for all choices. after dinner they even provide entertainment on the beach! Lots to do!

  • Location
    6.0

    beautiful and very clean, well maintained hotel

Close
Fiona
Lovely holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
Beautiful property, spacious, peaceful and very comfortable. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    We stayed in a suite with private jacuzzi and 3 large terraces. Air-conditioning, two large flat-screen tvs, separate kitchenette equipped with microwave and fridge, kettle, free wifi, safe, beautiful bath on raised dias in the bathroom, extra restroom downstairs.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Visited all the restaurants on the property at least once and all the meals were very good indeed. Perhaps portions at Segala on the beach for dinner could be a little bit more generous but quality wise we could not fault the food. The settings are divers and magical. Service is efficient and special dietary requirements are catered for.

  • Service
    5.0

    Very friendly and ready to help. Staff are wonderful, always smiling and calm all speak English and French very well. Sometimes service was a bit slow but this did not spoil our fun at all. Guest relations regularly called to ask if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything they could do to make it more enjoyable. Rooms were very clean and towels and sheets changed regularly.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    Beach is not natural and water in the lagoon is very shallow. They could perhaps invest in a few more sun beds as there were times when they were short. Did not participate in any beach activities although they were offered but just watching people lounging and relaxing was relaxing for us in itself.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Beautiful property, spacious, peaceful and very comfortable.

  • Location
    6.0

    A bit out of the way but just enough to be in total peace and quiet. Grande Baie is a short drive away and there is no traffic to talk about on the roads.

Close
Jean-Marie
Excellent
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2014
There is much to like in the facilities of this hotel. This is after all a 5 stars resort. Further to some of the comments below I would simply add that there is much space on the beach and pools and even when full it does not feel overcrowded at all. As a (far too much) experienced traveller I enjoyed the best check in procedure ever, best breakfast ever (Sagola restaurant) and even more importantly best visibility and willingness to listen and engage with guests from a management team. Juan (Resort Manager), Michael (General Manager) and Shirley (Guests Relation Manager) ... are driven by their desire to ensure every single guest has a memorable holiday and that passion is what makes this resort not just a very good hotel but a true fantastic place to be for your holidays be it a family one or a romantic one Well done guys and thank you for providing me with the canvas upon which to write my very own special memories. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    A very comfortable room where the air con is absolutely quiet and efficient. True luxury!

  • Gastronomy
    4.0

    perhaps the weaker part of the facilities (Sagala excluded). Still it's all very good

  • Service
    6.0

    From the moment you arrive you are experiencing true service. The staff is always willing to help and assist in anything you require

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    2 pools and much besch space ensure ample room for everyone. Beach towels are provided

  • Hotel
    6.0

    There is much to like in the facilities of this hotel. This is after all a 5 stars resort. Further to some of the comments below I would simply add that there is much space on the beach and pools and even when full it does not feel overcrowded at all. As a (far too much) experienced traveller I enjoyed the best check in procedure ever, best breakfast ever (Sagola restaurant) and even more importantly best visibility and willingness to listen and engage with guests from a management team. Juan (Resort Manager), Michael (General Manager) and Shirley (Guests Relation Manager) are driven by their desire to ensure every single guest has a memorable holiday and that passion is what makes this resort not just a very good hotel but a true fantastic place to be for your holidays be it a family one or a romantic one Well done guys and thank you for providing me with the canvas upon which to write my very own special memories.

  • Location
    5.0

    good location between Port Louis and Grand Baie

Close
Nancy
Beautiful beach resort hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2014
We've stayed in this beautiful resort in Nov for holiday and it was the best vacation of our lives. The staff is always smiling and very friendly any time we we interact, especially the recreation team has done the wonderful job! They looked after us and gave us a special treatment. Also several dinners we had at Nobel House were just fantastic. The beach setting we had was just amazing which I will never forget! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Johannes
Fantastic stay with my family
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2014
Fantastic family stay. Staff knew that we have only limited time together as family and from the start and went above and beyond. Great management presence as well and staff couldn't be more courteous. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4