InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort(5 stars)

Ville Valio, Coastal Road, Balaclava View on map

Average rating

229 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.5
  • Room
    5.7
  • Service
    5.6
  • Location
    5.0
  • Food and Drinks
    5.5
  • Sport & entertain
    5.3
Filters
You selected:
100 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Cirlincione
Vacances exceptionnelles au paradis
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
Très bel hotel , L hôtel intercontinental bénéficie d un panorama vraiment paradisiaque avec ses piscines , sa plage privée , ses belles suites spacieuses et ses 4 restaurants . read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    La chambre spacieuse de 50m carrés donne vue sur L océan et les jardins de L hôtel . Certaines chambres ont la vue piscine . Tout est fait pour être dans un environnement zen et beau . La literie est très confortable , la television propose de multiples chaînes , un coin salon , une Terrace avec fauteuils . La salle de bain est immense avec coin douche , toilettes , double vasques , baignoire , serviettes , peignoirs, produits d accueils , relai tv dans la salle de bain ! Génial !

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    La restauration est vraiment de très bonne qualité et les mets sont très variés que ce soit indien, mauricien, asiatique, ou européen. Les produits sont bien cuisinés et chaque plat et détaille et nous indique s il est épicé ou végétarien . Tout le monde peut y trouver son plaisir . Pour ce qui est du restaurant sunseo , le buffet du petit déjeuner propose un buffet sucré et salé . Vous pouvez trouver des céréales , des fruits secs, frais , un espace œufs avec œufs aux plats ou omelettes à la demande , puis des plats chauds sales divers et de cuisines mixtes , un espace crêpes , et pains, viennoiseries variées. Le sugarcane est idéal pour déjeuner au bord de la plage , entrées mauriciennes , plats, hamburgers, dessers . Le Ségala est un restaurant en bordure de mer mais à rythme lent , service à la mauricienne , il faut pas être pressé . Le Veda est un restaurant indien qui est tres goutu , de bons plats et menus mijotés , tres bon accueil du maître de maison . Le noble house lui aussi proposé une cuisine asiatique . Vraiment pour avoir profité de L all inclusive , nous avons été vraiment enchanté et nos papilles ont été régalées

  • Service
    6.0

    Le service de L hôtel dépasse largement les attentes tant au niveau du service des étages , du petit déjeuner, de la restauration qu aux services de la réception avec priya et son équipe très dévoué . Service guets relation et conciergerie . Le spa et le boat house qui est aussi à disposition sont très accueillants. Nous avons eu durant tout notre Sejour la reconnaissance et L attention qu on ne pouvait s imaginer d attendre notamment siham et Kevin du sugarcane

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Le boat house propose plusieurs activités en lien avec la mer , nous avons testé le bateau à fond plat seulement mais pour les amateurs de ski nautiques ou parachute ascensionnel , leur plaisir sera à la hauteur

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Très bel hotel , L hôtel intercontinental bénéficie d un panorama vraiment paradisiaque avec ses piscines , sa plage privée , ses belles suites spacieuses et ses 4 restaurants .

  • Location
    6.0

    L hôtel est très bien situé au nord ouest de L île à Balaclava. Il est proche de grand baie où vous pouvez aller marchander au grand bazar . Vous pouvez également au départ de L hôtel prévoir des excursions partant vers le nord ou le sud de L île . Le jardin plamplemousse vaut particulièrement le détour et L aventure du sucre. La plage de L hôtel est aménagée de transats et un espace serviette est à disposition toute la journée . Une île artificielle accessible par un pont donne vue que L océan et peut permettre des balades ou dîners romantiques .

Close
Candice
Beautiful, calm, peaceful and luxurious
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • January 2016
From the friendly staff, to the beautiful accommodation and the delicious food! we as a family thoroughly enjoyed every minute spent at the Intercontinental Balaclava Resort. The staff go out of their way to make your day and accommodate your every need. We went on the speed boat where our kids got an opportunity to feed fish in the middle of the ocean, we also went on a very special boat cruise where we learnt a lot about the countries history. The host was silly and very entertaining and the food was so unique! My son celebrated his birthday one ... of the evenings and they prepared a special birthday cake with balloons and got the band to sing a very happy birthday to him! Special memories we will treasure as a family forever. Thank you to the amazing team at Balaclava Resort with a special mention to N'tasha for arranging all our needs. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Kostas
Very nice resort
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2015
Nice located resort, well organized with friendly staff and excellent quality of room. The food was tasteful but the breakfast/dinner buffet has to be upgraded in terms of the hard. Big compliments to the concierge Mgr (Kevin) and Guest relations Mgr (Tania) for their professional way of working. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Samer
Just a perfect stay as every time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Business trip
  • December 2015
I have been to Intercontinental Mauritius Resort over 6 times and every time these guys really make my stay as joyful as possible and improving my experience stay over stay. Very professional, friendly and very attentive to my requests starting from the Kevin chef concierge, Jiri the sales and marketing director and Michael the GM. Top hospitality, just to let you know Natt Executive Chef asked to meet me to discuss some comments directly with me for constructively feedback! I will just keep foing thereover and over.. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.5
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    4.5
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Adeel
Fabulous moments at Intercontinental Mauritius
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2015
It was absolutely wonderful experience, stunningly beautiful beaches and most comfortable and lively place to stay. Excellent location and Extraordinary comfort, it was just like staying in a fantasy land. Staff was extraordinarily courteous and food was simply amazing.....Well i would say that if you want to get pampered and spoiled just spend few days/nights at Intercontinental Resort Mauritius........... read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Everything was very comfortable and nicely placed in the room however renovation, uplift and face lifting of rooms is very much due.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Excellent food with extraordinary ambience of the restaurants. Quality, Quantity and Variety of food in Senso is on top.

  • Service
    5.0

    Staff is very friendly, polite and caring however their spoken english needs some attention.

  • Sport & Leisure
    0
  • Hotel
    6.0

    It was absolutely wonderful experience, stunningly beautiful beaches and most comfortable and lively place to stay. Excellent location and Extraordinary comfort, it was just like staying in a fantasy land. Staff was extraordinarily courteous and food was simply amazing.....Well i would say that if you want to get pampered and spoiled just spend few days/nights at Intercontinental Resort Mauritius...........

  • Location
    5.0

    Nicely located Resort, However there are no shopping facilities in the area plus very limited shopping facilities in Resort ................ In house facilities must be developed.

Close
Michele
Staying in paradise
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • December 2015
I had the amazing opportunity to spend 10 nights at the InterContinental Mauritius. From the time we arrived, to the time we left, we totally felt like we were in paradise. The resort itself is beautiful and meticulously maintained, the staff are super friendly and accommodating. I never felt any request was too big or too small. The rooms are huge and gorgeous with amazing views, I didn't want to leave. Lots of activities on-site with a great beach and pool as well as nightly entertainment on the beach. This hotel is close to the motorway and it is easy ... to get to. They offer free parking which is a bonus and we never had any trouble finding a place to park. The spa itself and the services offered were amazing, we got a great package deal and totally got pampered by the staff. Every staff member at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel special and important. The dining options are great at the hotel, I can't say any one is better than the other, they are just different so it really depends on what you feel like eating but the food is excellent no matter what you choose. I particularly enjoyed the Noble House, we literally had a beach side table outside. It was beautiful and the food was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel, not only is it in a great location (Northwest, less rain), but the overall service and amenities can't be beat. Should I ever get the chance to return, this is the hotel I will come back to.I miss the view.and the food. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Best room ever....I want this at home.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Amazing food and lots of options.

  • Service
    6.0

    Amazing service from all staff members, we really enjoyed seeing Jackie at the towel hut everyday. She was so friendly!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Had 2 great pools, ping pong and lots of other activities. Sea Kayaking was great, glass bottom boat and snorkling amongst other activities.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I had the amazing opportunity to spend 10 nights at the InterContinental Mauritius. From the time we arrived, to the time we left, we totally felt like we were in paradise. The resort itself is beautiful and meticulously maintained, the staff are super friendly and accommodating. I never felt any request was too big or too small. The rooms are huge and gorgeous with amazing views, I didn't want to leave. Lots of activities on-site with a great beach and pool as well as nightly entertainment on the beach. This hotel is close to the motorway and it is easy to get to. They offer free parking which is a bonus and we never had any trouble finding a place to park. The spa itself and the services offered were amazing, we got a great package deal and totally got pampered by the staff. Every staff member at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel special and important. The dining options are great at the hotel, I can't say any one is better than the other, they are just different so it really depends on what you feel like eating but the food is excellent no matter what you choose. I particularly enjoyed the Noble House, we literally had a beach side table outside. It was beautiful and the food was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel, not only is it in a great location (Northwest, less rain), but the overall service and amenities can't be beat. Should I ever get the chance to return, this is the hotel I will come back to...I miss the view....and the food.

  • Location
    6.0

    Beach front property with amazing views.

Close
Matt & Anne
Paradise escape
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • November 2015
Just came back to cold London after most relaxing holiday in long time. This resort doesnt deserve anything less than 5 star. Despite our London flight arrived early in the morning, we have been able to receive our room at 10 am. What a surprise and well received after almost 18 hours on the way to Mauritius. All rooms are ocean facing so no need to bargain for different blocks. Just make your choice if you would like to be close to heated pool, but honestly no need during this time as its summer in Mauritius! We stayed on all ... inclusive and to our surprise, all five restaurants are included!! Great spa and water activities, crystal clear water for snorkling. Read some reviews about birds in main restaurant, but looks like its solved as they installed net during our first week of stay and birds gone-) Made some good friends here within recreation team and cant wait to come back, hopefully next year. Matt & Anne read hotel review
  • Room
    5.8
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.8
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Anne
First stay to Mauritius but not the last
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2015
The first time Mauritius and we enjoyed our stay at Intercontinental the whole time. The whole staff were extremely friendly and helpful. we felt welcome and well cared. we looked forward to the next time read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Hooray
Beautiful location
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2015
A real treat; right on the beach & good value for money. Great facilities; sea, Gym, tennis. Clean, huge rooms with a good buffet breakfast. We opted for half board because we didn't have a car & there aren't any restaurants nearby. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Nice large room with all the facilities & a lovely balcony. Just wish the decor was a bit brighter. Lovely big bathroom.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    Generally quite good; we found the Indian restaurant to be the best; excellent dal & kheema/mutter. Breakfast at the small beach shack was a real treat although they didm't have any pork sausages! The Chicken ones are so rubbery!

  • Service
    6.0

    Excellent; very friendly & efficient & hard working.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Loved the tennis court, nice & shady. Balls too. Great gym. Lovely clean beach & pools. Very long beach with lots of spaced out seating.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    A real treat; right on the beach & good value for money. Great facilities; sea, Gym, tennis. Clean, huge rooms with a good buffet breakfast. We opted for half board because we didn't have a car & there aren't any restaurants nearby.

  • Location
    5.0

    Fantastic but the Hotels further along the beach had even better views; on harbour views! An hour from the airport. No shopping or restaurants nearby but the well known Brunch place at the Maxine Hotel.

Close
Peter
Relaxation at it's best
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days at this superb hotel. As an IHG member we were upgraded to a jacuzzi room which was fantastic. Being on the third floor there were quite a few stairs to climb. We enjoyed the exercise though, after indulging in such a wonderful selection of food at all the restaurants. Our favourite spot place was Segala as the service was outstanding and the view over the water was sublime. The only criticism we had was the slow service at the pool bar even though there was not a crowd about. We found the whole experience ... to be very relaxing and would not hesitate to return. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    4.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    3.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Kosheek
Excellent Hotel - Intercontinental Mauritius
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2015
We booked a holiday on our own to Mauritius, we stayed 5 nites at Intercontinental Hotel , west coast , a great experience and great service, staff are accommodating, food great, facilities tops, entertainment versatile, I will def go again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Rick
Wonderful holiday
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2015
We stayed at the Intercontinental hotel Mauritius for 2 weeks, it was wonderful, and recommend this hotel. From the management and staff they were superb they looked after everything we had no need to ask for anything and always had a lovely smile and warm friendly greeting every time they met you, nothing was to much. If you go there for a holiday you will not be disappointed, you meet people like Nash (barman) Julian (entertainer) Jessica and Premita who works in the Sugar Cain bar, it was people like the above that really put the icing on the cake ... they and all the other staff were great. The hotel rooms were spacious and kept very clean, food no complaints plenty of options, entertainment every night was very enjoyable Best 2 weeks holiday we have ever had and we are going back. Rick Watkins read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    5.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    4.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
A. Ibrahim
A memorable stay
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2015
I've stayed at this hotel for five nights with my wife celebrating our 20th anniversary. The stay in general was wonderful, and we really enjoyed our time in the hotel. We liked very much Nobel House and Segala Restaurants, the beach, housekeeping, and our room upgrade to a suite. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    All rooms overlook the ocean and have a good size. As an IHG Rewards Club member, I was upgraded to a suite. It was fantastic.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    We've tried Nobel House restaurant (Asian cuisine) and Segala restaurant (Mauritius cuisine) and found both of them superb in all aspects: taste, presentation, dining area cleanliness, and service. Also, I tried Senso restaurant (international open buffet) and found it average, nothing special with slow service.

  • Service
    5.0

    The service in general is very good, especially in housekeeping, concierge, Nobel House and Segala restaurants. However, the service in Senso and beach bar needs improvement. The wi-fi internet connection is very good in the common areas, but weak in some guestrooms.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    I didn't have kids during this stay, but I've seen others' children enjoying their time in special sport and entertainment programs arranged by the hotel. Also, there is a special large swimming pool for them separately from the main swimming pool. The hotel's private beach is wonderful. We enjoyed looking to the sunset every day. Also, there is a boat house that offers several water sports.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    I've stayed at this hotel for five nights with my wife celebrating our 20th anniversary. The stay in general was wonderful, and we really enjoyed our time in the hotel. We liked very much Nobel House and Segala Restaurants, the beach, housekeeping, and our room upgrade to a suite.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is located in Balaclava area in the north-western part of Mauritius, near Arsenal village. It's located around 1h 15m drive from the international airport. The long beach of this area has many isolated resorts of 4-5 star hotels. The nearest shopping/ touristic area is Grand Bay towards the north of Mauritius island. The concierge can arrange a taxi for full day trips either to the northern part or southern part of the island. I've tried both of them, and they were very convenient.

Close
Vaneshri
Honeymoon
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • May 2015
Had a great stay for my honeymoon, I was upgraded to a jacuzzi room 1725 with a nice view. The cleanliness of the room was remarkable with a beautiful decoration made by the housekeeping staff. I must say that the service in general was on top and we would recommend this resort to everyone. A special thanks to Sachin from housekeeping department, jean pierre, the concierge team very helpful and Kevin R. who made it memorable. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Pierre
Perfect days in Mauritius
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
The best start for your perfect days is to stay in InterContinental Hotel ! Close your eyes.and dream of to wake up by the sound of the waves just outside your hotel room. The red, 'cardinal" birds will welcome you with their song while you step out on the balcony, with a lovely view over the Ocean and the exotic garden. Time for breakfast! As I chosed the big, buffet breakfast with everything you need (and even more!) yesterday, I'll take the breakfast today in the calm and more intim one, close to the sea. The activites are waiting. ...! snorkeling? cayaking? swimming in the sea, or in the pool? or maybe some gym with aircondition ? It's hard to chose in Intercontinental Hotel.! an Excursion to explore the beautiful island of Mauritius, just in time for some relaxing time near the pool, before the aperitif and dinner in one of the five restaurants. I loved the Indian one! And also the chic Noble House! The charming and helpful staff made their very best so we could have our Perfect Days in Mauritius.a big thanks! to everybody, you made the difference! Can't wait to come back to Intercontinental Resort Mauritius! read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.6
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Jiri
Perfect for honeymoon
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
I stayed here for my honeymoon and found it perfect.To start with the check in quite quick and being a IHG club member I was given priority. As I entered the hotel and informed them abt my membership they escorted us to ihg club lounge and served us complimentary snacks drinks juices. by that time they complete check in formalities.Our room was well set and had a garden/ocean view. I opened towards garden. Toilets were clean. We were given complimentary fruit basket and a bottle of wine. The room was quite, well lit. Room service staff were helpful. ... We had included breakfast and dinner in our package. The food spread for vegetarians in buffet was quite OK but the taste was little average. This was quite expected. The hotel has three restaurant also which u can opt for with prior booking.The hotel has various complimentary activity for its guests like snorkeling glass bottom boat ride, golf tennis and many more. The best part of the hotel was its private beach. It was simply awesome. Its perfect for a romantic walk in evening with ur partner. It was never crowded. U can get ur privacy. And enjoy the beach / ocean view with ur partner. This I found to be the best part of this property. Hotel use to organize theme based party every evening. Once it was Arabian night. Other day it was belly dancing. Indian night. Hotel had two swimming pools. Pools were clean and tidy. I had stayed one day in a jarcuzzi room. But found it little too pricy. We had asked for late check but the hotel staff politely expressed their inability to prove the same as they had booking which was quite OK.Overall I was highly satisfied with hotel property and service. A good choice for anyone planning honeymoon in Mauritius. Room Tip: select room on ground floor near reception area. It will open towards garden and will have proximity to buffet area, pool, beach and restaurants. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    0
Close
Buholzer
Very good hotel and a beautiful garden
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • April 2015
The hotel is situated an a silent place. At this place you need a car if you want to go eat at a different place. The food at the hotel was great. Also the staff was very kindly and helpful. In you'd like a Standby beach than is this hotel the wrong place. You Van go Swimmingpool gut the beach has a lot of stone. The children are welcome and the childrens club is great. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.8
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    3.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    3.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    2.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Michael
Wonderful time at InterContinental
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
Recently stayed at the hotel for a 2 week break with my wife. The hotel was great for both of us, lots of dining options, both in the hotel and also close by. You have to take a taxi to get to Grand Baie in the North, but it is close. The staff were really amazing with us, they made you feel so comfortable. The beach was really nice and quite big. The hotel was split into 3 sections from what I can see. Waters ports were free for us everyday. Will defiantly go back if we go to Mauritius ... again. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    4.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    4.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.7
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Herta
Just perfect to me
  • Recommended hotel
  • Singles
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
This was my 15th stay at Mauritius and my 2nd at Intercontinental Mauritius. Again, my holidays at Intercontinental have been to my full expectations and I hope to return in 2016. The resort ist impressive because of a beautiful location, a tasteful and unique ambiance, an international atmosphere and a large and quiet beach with well spaced (for me very important) beach umbrellas. The rooms are tastefully designed, the furnishing is well thought through. For me it´s just perfect. The Boothouse is one of the most important institution for me and I am happy that (again) my wishes for a ... daily memorable snorkeling experience were fulfilled. 4 restaurants bring culinary variety and offer good food. Service is warm and friendly. I enjoyed the rich breakfast buffet in the main restaurant, my favorite restaurant for dining (fish and seafood) is Segala. However, the principal reason why I feel most comfortable at Intercontinental is the friendliness and the heartfelt hospitality of so many motivated stuff members. The individual service in all areas which is tailored to suit my wishes and needs make me feel very welcome and happy. This is the Mauritian hospitality to be found under good working conditions which is, of course, a result of good management. Big thanks to all the highly motivated team members who made this wonderful holidays possible. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Janssen
It was a very pleasant stay, will come back again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • March 2015
It was a very pleasant stay everything was ok, the people was very kind and professional. The great variety of food was superb and so the service! We really enjoyed a nice stay at intercontinental mauritius. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    5.8
    Proximity to shopping areas
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
1 3 4 5