Hotel Cactus Royal(4.5 stars)

Ag. Ioannis Str. 70007 Stalis View on map

Average rating

842 hotel reviews

    Rating by categories

  • Hotel in general
    5.6
  • Room
    5.5
  • Service
    5.7
  • Location
    5.4
  • Food and Drinks
    5.6
  • Sport & entertain
    5.2
Filters
You selected:
344 reviews for this hotel sorted by travel date
Franz & Rosa
A beautiful holiday in a beautiful hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2014
Was one of our best holidays, although we travel a lot! The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our room was very nice and quiet. We had the good fortune to stay on the 1st floor and so we had a partial sea-view. We would gladly come again and will also recommend this hotel. Many thanks to the whole team! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.3
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.3
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    5.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.8
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    5.7
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Other leisure activities available
    5.0
Close
Britta
We are going again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2014
We once again felt very comfortable and will certainly come back again the next year! We've not experience so much staff friendliness as we did the Cactus Royal. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Fiona
Oasis in Stalis
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Beach holiday
  • August 2014
Special holiday for my husband's 50th birthday. Thank you Soe for replying to my messages and requests! Late check in handled professionally by the most friendly male receptionist. Like an oasis with beautiful stone buildings and courtyards here and there with many flowers and small trees. Spacious feeling with lots of outdoor seating. All areas spotless. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Room spacious and well equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Beds comfy, good storage, power points. Air-con quiet and efficient. Small fridge and safe. Flatscreen tv. Good size bathroom. Balcony with table and chairs-seaview. Special thank you to " Elenia " for keeping our room perfect and her towel art !!!

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Restaurant manager was keeping everyone happy, worked so hard and always so professional. Standard of food and drinks excellent, so much to choose from. Different themes each evening. Asian night and Gala night fantastic. Cava some mornings. So much thought and effort went into planning meals. Chef visible and Hotel owner present at lunchtime. A la carte available free once per week. 5 courses of delicious food. Staff provided a birthday cake and champagne for my husband's 50th birthday. A fantastic evening. Thank you to the lovely lady who manages the Elia Restaurant - she made us feel so special.

  • Service
    6.0

    Staff a credit, so friendly and efficient. All could speak English. Theodoris, Manolis and Tony - great guys. Katerina hope you got the photos!

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    Pools well maintained and pristine. Quiet pool really peaceful. Very comfortable sunbeds with good quality mattresses. Rain showers for before and after swimming. Poolbar well managed with no queues. Shaded area with tables and chairs and good quality snacks including ice-cream. Thanasis and Christina, brilliant staff -even had time to teach us some Greek phrases! Light entertainment most evenings - Greek dancing and fire show. Lefteris - cocktail bar manager- made the most delicious cocktails and so friendly ... happy nights! Busy beach across the road, pay 6 Euro for 2 beds. Sea warm and clear. Beachcomber bar great.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Special holiday for my husband's 50th birthday. Thank you Soe for replying to my messages and requests! Late check in handled professionally by the most friendly male receptionist. Like an oasis with beautiful stone buildings and courtyards here and there with many flowers and small trees. Spacious feeling with lots of outdoor seating. All areas spotless.

  • Location
    6.0

    In a quiet area of Stalis, beach and shops at front of hotel. Good transport links. Parking at hotel. Beach 50 meters.

Close
Mikael
World class in Crete
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • July 2014
Yes we have done it again for 5 time we book a trip from Hamburg Airport and it has been a super hotel with 5 * and all inclusive for 8 days, it was a really cool hotel. Highly recommend this hotel. Will you have time to relax you must come here on summer vacations. From the family from Denmark. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    5.3
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.3
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    3.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    5.3
    Family friendliness
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
    Disabled-friendly
    5.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Lisa
A perfect holiday in the cactus royal
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • October 2013
Vacation from the outset in the cactus royal. The hotel was in a very neat condition. After a friendly welcome by the very friendly and service oriented front desk/inside we could fast our very nice suite relate. The area was pleasant the size and immediately felt comfortable and really get vacation from the outset. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Our suite was perfect. They had a south - and a nordbalkon. The beds had good mattresses and you could really sleep well. Our bathroom with bathtub was spacious and clean. The location of the suite was very nice, because it was very quiet. Air conditioning worked, but we didn't use them. The two large flat screen tv we hardly used it, who television needs, but get the most important german channels.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    There are two restaurants and one may à la carte once use. More would also not good for the figure to be, because the food is just amazing. And after 6 courses, the so tasty, that you don't omit would like to, you can just do not more food. In the buffet restaurant there was a different theme every night and it is very tasty and very clean and pleasant. The food was nicely arranged and everything makes a perfect impression. This complete the friendly staff from. The desserts are the hammer and surprise every day. Great one also the freshly pressed juice every morning.

  • Service
    6.0

    The staff are all very friendly and very service-oriented, for guests, the not speak perfect english, it is no problem, because everyone spoke a bit of german. Problems will soon be resolved.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    The two pools were in the off season enough and you always got a beach chair. Nice, that the beach chairs were very high quality and the pool bar right nearby. Everything is in a very good condition.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Vacation from the outset in the cactus royal. The hotel was in a very neat condition. After a friendly welcome by the very friendly and service oriented front desk/inside we could fast our very nice suite relate. The area was pleasant the size and immediately felt comfortable and really get vacation from the outset.

  • Location
    6.0

    The situation is optimal, if one the eastern side of the island to explore would like. In addition one does is to rent a car and the beautiful corners of the island in the east of the island explore. The beach section was completely usreichend, if you are not a pure beach holiday and not in the main season on the ground. You don't need beach shoes, as the sand was very fine and the sea very clear looks. Even a small beach is possible.

Close
Ralf & Melanie
For peace and relaxation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
We had a pleasant and relaxing holiday in this hotel. For us everything was perfect. The reviews, as well as the star rating, are absolutely appropriate. We are definitely coming back again! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    4.0
  • Hotel
    5.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    3.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Anna
Cactus Royal
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
The hotel is very peaceful, family-run and is very suitable for a holiday as a couple or families looking for peace and quiet, no entertainment programs are. However, if you entertainment opportunities, can relax in the Cactus Beach, the hotel was extensively play. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.0

    We had a standard room for two people, the size was i. o, cleanliness so far in also very good, also the all-inclusive offer the mini bar really impressed us. Negative point: we had the room nr.420, which was in the back, quieter property is located, but cheated. The view of a wall, 1/3 one has still the inland seen. Also not very quiet, since above the main road and in the evening in both the early is very busy. Also from the neighboring hotel Cactus Beach you can hear very good nor until into the night the music from the entertainment. Otherwise ok.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    The food was always with a lot of love and effort, and quite diversified, there were different culinary evenings. Criticism; several dishes repeated every day, as for example the vegetables (potatoes, zugginis, carrots.) Or spaghetti. Also the selection of salad was every day the same, but good.

  • Service
    4.0

    Very attentive service, welcoming and always friendly. Only had certain information missing in all-inclusive offer, for example, whether mineral water, beer in the evening, separately charged is, we were unsure, because always in the evening after our room number always asked.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    It offers the possibility in the hotel's fitness room to exercise. Pool is well maintained, the places is desirable and are already reserved early in the morning, that the one or other guest anger could (us however not, since we the beach enjoyed).

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel is very peaceful, family-run and is very suitable for a holiday as a couple or families looking for peace and quiet, no entertainment programs are. However, if you entertainment opportunities, can relax in the Cactus Beach, the hotel was extensively play.

  • Location
    6.0

    The hotel is perfectly located, near beach location (only a crossing a road), shopping and bars both fine restaurants are also in the immediate vicinity.

Close
Franzi
Very good hotel, but lacking in some things because of the e
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
My boyfriend and I went on vacation together for the 1st time. We were really looking forward to it and we were not disappointed. We can only recommend this hotel! We were there at the end of October, so at the end of the season. The weather was still brilliant - warm and sunny. Beach: We just had to go out of the hotel and walk along a small street for a few seconds, then we were already on the beach. The first section had sun beds, but if you walked a short way further in one direction, there were ... lots of nice sun loungers. The beach was very clean and the water was so clear, so blue and warm *-* - we felt really good there. We usually had a small section for us by ourselves, as there weren't many tourists any more. We had a lovely sandy beach, there were larger stones at the edge, but that didn't bother us. There were some large stones in the water too in certain parts, but you could easily see them through the water. To go swimming, you could walk into the water, until we were around chest-height in the water and then there was a sandbank), then the water only went up to the ankle or the knee, so that section is very good for kids! The Greeks working on the beach are not intrusive at all, they immediately understood 'no' and were always friendly. Surrounding area: The hotel is located outside the city, so you need to walk a bit to get to the shops, but you can also go to the shops at the beach, which we didn't find bad. There were lots of small shops on one side, which sold everything, but only a few restaurants. Most Greeks there speak good German and are very welcoming, but otherwise you'll be fine with basic English. Hotel: The hotel was amazing, it looked very well maintained. The hotel rooms were scattered in small bungalows. Our room had a bed, a television (with English channels), chairs, bathroom with shower and a small balcony. The rooms are very nice, but unfortunately the cleaning ladies didn't really clean properly after our arrival. They just poured cleaning stuff into the toilet and then it was clean for them. In the bathroom, the hair from the first day was there the whole week. We suspect that the cleaning ladies were not in the mood anymore, as the hotel would close a few days later, (on the 28th November 2013, the hotel closed, and we traveled home on the 27th November 2013). The staff was still very friendly, though. Our room was facing the kitchen, so every morning, lunchtime and evening, there was a smell of food in our room, and we looked out to the back of the hotel, which bothered us. We didn't like that not all the cocktails, desserts and snacks which were on the menu were actually available any more. They just used up the leftovers, and I had to pay 5 star prices for that! They didn't even have the products there! The hotel is an all inclusive hotel, but unfortunately the program only has the bare minimum. 3 cocktails with alcohol, 3 without, and so on. You then had to buy lots of extra things, which was not mentioned in any of the information. Food: The food itself was delicious! Unfortunately, after the first few days, it was always the same thing, and there was less and less choice (as already described), as they were just using up what they had. On two days, I unfortunately only had olives and feta cheese, as they only had things with meat, pepper and fish soup. For vegetarians, this hotel is not suitable. Because every day, most meals consisted of meat or fish, and then you must be satisfied, as I had to be, with little things(. There were always delicious desserts and fresh fruit, though. We were allowed to eat at the à-la-carte restaurant once. There was a 7 course menu! Gorgeous, was very tasty. First something to dip, soup, salad, starter, then something homemade, main course and dessert. All very tasty) But unfortunately my dessert wasn't there either( so i had to change to another one, but that was delicious. So if you eat there, you should definitely try the pudding for dessert (it's not a real pudding, but it tastes brilliant). This hotel is not suitable for families with children, there's no entertainment or similar. In general, there was only a small slide for children. All in all this hotel is really good, except for the small flaws which I mentioned! read hotel review
  • Room
    4.8
    Size of the bathroom
    5.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    2.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    4.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    4.0
  • Service
    5.5
    Competence (handling complaints)
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    1.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    3.0
  • Hotel
    3.7
    Family friendliness
    2.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    5.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    4.0
  • Location
    5.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
Close
Manuela
Very nice and quiet.
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Proof of booking
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Very nice, quiet hotel near the beach. During our stay in late October you needed to reserve no more couch, there was found at any time of day or a free beach chair. The menu is versatile, but does not change so often, so do not try everything on the first evening, because of cost but rather gradually Despite the low occupancy rate evening program were still varied There was absolute peace and quietness at the small pool, as in the relaxation room of the sauna, we hardly dared whisper, also at the large pool it was pleasantly quiet, although ... families with young children/babies were there. Once across the street, is on the beach and one could get for 5,00 Euro 2 beds, umbrella and a cup of coffee. If that was too much, you could lie a few meters directly on the sand. With a rental car you can make beautiful excursions in the area (knossos, Heraklion, lassithi with zeushöhle, Agios Nikolaos.). We have even been on the west coast (day trip about 500 kilometer and back). We really liked the hotel, we can not quite understand the last nagging reviews. read hotel review
  • Room
    4.3
    Size of the bathroom
    2.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    5.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.5
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    5.0
  • Service
    5.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    5.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    5.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    5.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    4.5
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    5.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    4.4
    Proximity to shopping areas
    4.0
    Distance to the beach
    5.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    4.0
    Other leisure activities available
    4.0
Close
Andrea
Unfortunately not so relaxing as expected!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
The hotel is very nicely arranged, within the rear range a large garden with a nice pool deck, mostly german and swiss guests read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    We had a standard room which was very spacious and the decor was also great - everything was there what you need. The only thing for me was too expensive, was the safe rent. We stayed for 9 days 30,- Euro paid. The cleanliness of the room and also in the bathroom was nothing to complain about.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food and drink were very good, also the cleanliness in the restaurant was exemplary.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service was very good, friendliness of the staff as well as, what surprised me almost all spoke german.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    The gym was well equipped and it was qualified personnel on site. The outdoor pool was too cold. Indoor pool we didn't use. Beach chairs and umbrellas were sufficiently available. On the beach we didn't spend any time, as you rent the beach chairs had to, the beach was excellent and the ocean was very cold.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel is very nicely arranged, within the rear range a large garden with a nice pool deck, mostly german and swiss guests

  • Location
    5.0

    Na ja the distance to the beach for us was not so decisive, because the sea at our time middle october was very cold. The beach itself i personally didn't like. It is quite centrally located, all the same into which direction one is everywhere small shops and restaurants.

Close
Laura
Great hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
Medium-sized super awesome facility. Everywhere it was very clean. The hotel has 177 rooms. Wi-fi, towels are included Average age about 35-60 years read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Large modern rooms. Modern furniture, flat screen tv, balcony, air conditioning, minibar, telephone & safe. Large and very clean bathroom with bathtub.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    In the hotel there were 2 restaurants. 1 buffet restaurant, 1 a la carte restaurant. 2 bars & 1 coffee bar. Very good quality of food and drinks. Both restaurants were very clean. The food from day to day was changed. The drinks are not in the all-inclusive package included were, were still very reasonably priced.

  • Service
    6.0

    The hotel staff was very friendly and always helpful. All employees spoke german. The cleaning ladies had the room to the fullest satisfaction cleaned.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    There was a fitness room available.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    Medium-sized super awesome facility. Everywhere it was very clean. The hotel has 177 rooms. Wi-fi, towels are included Average age about 35-60 years

  • Location
    5.0

    Hotel is only separated by a road from the fine sandy beach. (about 10 metres) The transfer to the airport takes about 45 minutes. For shopping one should also go to larger towns for example chania or rhtymnon. Wide range of excursions.

Close
Ivonne & Maik
My first vacation in Greece, just perfect
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
A wonderful, not yet a hotel which is past its best in the center of Stalis, would even say the best hotel. I would and will stay here travel. Positive for us was the relatively few russians were there. Many german. Age structure was very balanced, from 20 to 70 everything was there. Children were less (except smaller). There are the sister hotel Cactus Beach. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Everything was always clean, the housekeeping makes good work. Rooms very modern and large flat screen with many german programs. Two small thing but it was for me to complain about. 1: any ' putzmittelchen' has extremely strong smell which one it without open windows at night could bear. We could not find out what it was, but probably a kind of fußbodenpflege. 2: wi-fi is free, but worked almost not, i think that it could be reduced, there is surely a little better? Has annoyed me sometimes. We lived in the main building, and of course, it was sometimes morning a bit loud, but the garbage trucks must now happen. And guests who depart the rooms with their suitcases past, but that is why my urlaubserholung is not affected, can sleep on the beach ☺. Complainers should perhaps in the apron about the hotel and on a deserted island book your holiday.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    Excellent, am in the food and know what i am writing. Particularly noticeable is the in the service area the utmost importance to style is attached. Here makes the restaurant manager a great job and his staff very motivated. All staff always have a smile and a nice word at work. Is there really a great conditions, kudos. Short waiting times for dinner i gladly accept, but everyone has made peace with the food, there is also always at the entrance a aperitif with the times pleasantly elapses. Kitchen is without exception always been perfect, i really wonder how guests the choice to criticize to be able? But i know from my direktorenleben, there are just people who must always complain about. Tip: absolutely in the à-la-carte restaurant elia food (once per week inclusive with great menu) the lobster dinner we did, was a great closing evening before our departure. The service was always perfect and professional. Small tip for the management: offers please an espresso to after the meal, a filter coffee is also ok, but after such a great meal would be certainly many better. P. s. Freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast inclusive! And on sunday also sparkling wine, the deserves a special mention.

  • Service
    6.0

    Friendliness at reception from check-in through check-out. Also with german you have no problem to communicate. Even the night porter was very friendly and made early riser breakfast. I would find it but good if you order a lunch bag could be, especially if you have a stressful day trip to Santorini before itself has.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    There is no entertainment, but we had known and enjoyed, at the sister hotel next door can one the however, if you like. Dinner was from and something going on, but i can not say so much, since we were often away. Tip: please in Nico (hope the name is correct) in kafenio real greek coffee, the is great, and Nico anyway

  • Hotel
    6.0

    A wonderful, not yet a hotel which is past its best in the center of Stalis, would even say the best hotel. I would and will stay here travel. Positive for us was the relatively few russians were there. Many german. Age structure was very balanced, from 20 to 70 everything was there. Children were less (except smaller). There are the sister hotel Cactus Beach.

  • Location
    6.0

    Everything a tourist wishes is easy to reach and everywhere you were served friendly. Also beginning october still very warm and all the shops still open. 30 minutes to the airport. Book excursions outside, one comes u

Close
Jennifer
Can be highly recommended ;-)
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
It was our first visit to Crete and to the Cactus Royal and we loved it. The members of staff and especially the bar manager were all very friendly and helpful. I was there with my husband and we had a wonderful holiday. The food is excellent (especially the omelettes in the morning). There is something for everyone, a lot of variety. There are mostly couples in the hotel, hardly any children (what we were looking for). It is easy to find your way around the complex and ideal for those who like individual attention. If you have an issue ..., you only have to go to reception and you will immediately be taken care of in German, English or Greek. A fully-equipped gym is also available. The beach is directly opposite the hotel, 1 minute's walk. A special thankyou to the bar manager, who made our holiday special. Warm greetings to him-) We can only recommend it. Warm greetings to Jenny O. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    4.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.3
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    4.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Nicole
We will come the 3rd time!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Friends
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
It was again a great stay in Cactus Royal. We had the room (154) on the 2. floor with a partial ocean view and view of the Petrino Kafenio. From October 13th to 10/27. 13 we enjoyed our holiday. In the last week the end of the season has become gradually noticeable. Many bars and hotels closed. That is why there was not so much going on in the place. In the hotel there was a good service, as well as delicious food, continued normally. We will definitely come back again! However, we would then, as in 2011, come again ... in September to the Cactus Royal, as the last week before the end of the season, it was but a bit too lonely after all. The great thing was, of course, always plenty of beach chairs were available. In conclusion, we had our beloved relax pool, all to ourselves. Although we enjoyed it, but if the hotel is very busy, it is still nicer. Conclusion we are already looking forward to it today to our next stay! read hotel review
  • Room
    5.5
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    5.0
    Size of the room
    5.0
  • Gastronomy
    5.8
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    5.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0
    Quality of the beach
    4.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
  • Hotel
    5.5
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    5.0
  • Location
    5.5
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    5.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    5.0
Close
Ursula
Autumn vacation
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • October 2013
The hotel is really very nice, the sea is clear and clean. The hotel could put nicer sun beds on the beach. The kitchen is very good and varied. Staff very attentive and friendly. The Internet is unfortunately somewhat weak. The hotel is top for those seeking peace, but at the same time you're right by the village. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    5.7
    Quality of the beach
    5.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Olga
Excellent hotel
  • Recommended hotel
  • Families
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
Fantastic hotel, peoples, food, pool, near everywhere. Intresting willage. Beauty beach. Clean. Relaxing spa. Nice restaurants, bar, koffie. We spand there fantastic familly holidays!! I recomendet this hotel. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0
    Size of the bathroom
    6.0
    Cleanliness & linen change
    6.0
    Room amenities (TV, balcony, safe, etc.)
    6.0
    Size of the room
    6.0
  • Gastronomy
    6.0
    Atmosphere & furnishings
    6.0
    Quality of food and drinks
    6.0
    Overall cleanliness in the restaurant and in the dining areas
    6.0
    Variety of food and drinks
    6.0
  • Service
    6.0
    Competence (handling complaints)
    6.0
    Reception, check-in & check-out
    6.0
    Friendliness and helpfulness
    6.0
    Staff's knowledge of foreign language
    6.0
  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0
    Quality of the beach
    6.0
    Overall condition of the pool area
    6.0
    Child care or playground
    6.0
    Leisure activities (e.g. sauna, tennis, entertainment, etc.)
    6.0
  • Hotel
    6.0
    Family friendliness
    6.0
    Condition of the Hotel
    6.0
    General cleanliness of the different areas
    6.0
    Disabled-friendly
    6.0
  • Location
    6.0
    Proximity to shopping areas
    6.0
    Distance to the beach
    6.0
    Transportation connection and available excursions
    6.0
    Restaurants & bars in the area
    6.0
    Other leisure activities available
    6.0
Close
Juergen
Beautiful area in Stalis
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Other stay
  • September 2013
The hotel has a medium size and is due to its attractive loose architecture very generously designed. It is very clean and has a good condition. However, on occasion some doors be replaced, as this through moisture easily aufge -overflowing are, that is the general condition very good and does not in principle to the devaluation, since barely visible. The hotel - and seated at our is very on cleanliness mindfully. We had the 'all inclusive' performance and were with the offer and the quality of the food very pleased. The alternation was very large and national and international dishes ... in any variety offered. The wireless internet is very unstable. At our travel time the hotel was to the main thing from the group over 50 and 25-30 - year-old crowd. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    Sufficiently large rooms, with good facilities and air conditioning. The bathroom was absolutely top and big enough. Great shower.

  • Gastronomy
    5.0

    There was a main restaurant and a separate restaurant, where one has the right time per week à la carte meals. It would be nice, if the times could use. Cafes and bars were sufficiently available. The food was very tasty and variety-rich. Every day there would be a different choice. The präsen - tation was lovingly and not pushy. There was always greek dishes but every evening a topic, which we appreciated a lot. The food there was nothing to complain about. Top quality! The hotel wines were simple, but ok. Both restaurants were very good, the restaurant-head had a view of all and in allocating the tables to help. The restaurant was rather neutral with a light greek Touch but nicely decorated. The atmosphere was very pleasant and not too loud. The prices were moderate, if additional services to have wanted.

  • Service
    6.0

    We have very friendly, helpful staff vorge - Finds. Top foreign language skills, german and english. The room was cleaned thoroughly and thorough. As we were first a room close to the pool bar offered, we asked for another room, which we immediately got. There, the location was optimal.

  • Sport & Leisure
    5.0

    Enough beach chairs available. But as german must still hour or even half a day before our couch occupied, insolence! The quality of the pool was not very big aberausreichend. The sport can we not judge.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel has a medium size and is due to its attractive loose architecture very generously designed. It is very clean and has a good condition. However, on occasion some doors be replaced, as this through moisture easily aufge -overflowing are, that is the general condition very good and does not in principle to the devaluation, since barely visible. The hotel - and seated at our is very on cleanliness mindfully. We had the 'all inclusive' performance and were with the offer and the quality of the food very pleased. The alternation was very large and national and international dishes in any variety offered. The wireless internet is very unstable. At our travel time the hotel was to the main thing from the group over 50 and 25-30 - year-old crowd.

  • Location
    4.0

    The beach was only a few meters from the hotel away, but it was not used by us, because the weather is not very stable. The airport is relatively close. The hotel is in the middle of a number of resorts. Shopping is available, night life did not interest us. , was offered in the hotel. Excursions from Stalis very easy to do. The restaurants nearby we couldn't judge because of 'all-inclusive'. The place Stalis made already a bit battered impression. You can tell the economic situation in Greece.

Close
Steffen
Great service, gladly again!
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
The hotel and our total stay really pleased us. We would love to go back. It was very clean, well-kept and seemed to be new. The all inclusive offer was always enough. There is wi-fi. There were several other couples in our age there, otherwise a mixed age structure. Many german and eastern european guests. Something we also found negative, that we on the first day to the sister hotel because of overbooking were being relocated, what our holiday mood first intercepted and for us a little comprehensibly was. We find, that in a hotel in the price range, not ... going to happen. We can therefore not the full number of suns assigned. We could however the rest of the hotel used and got the safe and the mini bar for free. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    Air conditioning was available, was not used by us. Room was clean, large and it seemed not worn, sonderm rather new. Each room has a flat-screen tv. We had a room on the first floor with a big balcony. However, there are also rooms on the ground floor, the we are. These would have for this reason we did not like.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    We stayed at the gastronomy nothing to complain about. The choice is big, so we always found something. However the offer repeats itself after a week. The meals were always quickly refilled, also until shortly before the end of the meal times. In the morning you can make your individual omelette made and there were freshly squeezed orange juice. The atmosphere was always very friendly and accommodating. With possibly a short wait you can eat outside. For us to be recommended was the à-la-carte restaurant 'elia'.

  • Service
    6.0

    The service in all areas is excellent and the best service, which we have in our vacation experience. All of the staff spoke enough german and were always courteous and helpful. Especially the service in all areas the dining was noticeable to us very positively (friendly, fast, courteous) The room cleaning was always tidy.

  • Sport & Leisure
    4.0

    We have the possibility, the activities of the sister hotels Cactus Beach to participate. Here we have Volleyball and football joined in. The competent entertainers seemed not always fully motivated and the offer was less than in other hotels. The entertainers defendant too little participant in our travel. Some other guests have only by us know, that the entertainment can use. Therefore, we find it useful, if these on a ankündigungstafel (for example at the pool bar) included would be. We enjoyed the gym use it. It looked from the outside tidy, with a lot to offer and was much used. The pool and the pool chairs were clean. To complain about is, the pool nearby couches already early in the morning ' were reserved. In other areas, but mostly still loungers free.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel and our total stay really pleased us. We would love to go back. It was very clean, well-kept and seemed to be new. The all inclusive offer was always enough. There is wi-fi. There were several other couples in our age there, otherwise a mixed age structure. Many german and eastern european guests. Something we also found negative, that we on the first day to the sister hotel because of overbooking were being relocated, what our holiday mood first intercepted and for us a little comprehensibly was. We find, that in a hotel in the price range, not going to happen. We can therefore not the full number of suns assigned. We could however the rest of the hotel used and got the safe and the mini bar for free.

  • Location
    5.0

    The hotel is located in a busy street with lots of restaurants and shopping. Nevertheless the hotel is peaceful. If you don't want to, you get from the 'action' nothing with. The beach is a small street to reach. Is however for us not a dream beach, as it is rather narrow and with many beach chairs stocked. Public transport we didn't use, are however present. The airport is 35 kilometer away. But there was no aircraft noise.

Close
Ellen
Crete - first time
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
The hotel was in all areas already extensively described. We can confirm, that condition and cleanliness of the rooms are good. During our stay there was no complaints at all. Only on the whole island existing please, no toilett paper in the toilet to dispose of, we found very hard to get used to and a bit disgusting. But that is because of the cretan kanalsystems and the narrow pipes apparently and not the fault of the hotel. The guests were mainly from Germany and a couple from Holland, France, Switzerland and Russia. All the 5 star resort in accordance ... with behavior. read hotel review
  • Room
    5.0

    The rooms are of a sufficient size and are well furnished. Unfortunately is in the bathroom the lighting so sparse (energiespar-leuchtmittel), that make up so good as not possible. Eventually, a lighted make-up mirror and the female part of the guests happier too. The expenditure for the hotel would be rather small. Nice - and a 5 star hotel was adequate - would be a tea/coffee in the room. The beds are very comfortable. On the balcony there is a clothes line to dry the bathing suits and towels.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    The food is well-known all inclusive. All buffets in the morning, at noon and above all evening are very extensive and varied. Who finds here nothing, not to help is. The dishes were well seasoned, the vegetables not overcooked and there is always cretische products and dishes. What us personally was missing, would be a steak defendendo or and once again a dish with lamb. Somehow we had lamb in Greece expected. The theme evenings were a nice change. Only the asian evening should the restaurant save. It does not fit the mediterranean concept of the hotel and we believe was not so great. But that rate other guests may be different. We are also at home no China-fans. We stayed at the Elias the lobster menu and can only recommend that. It was very good and entertaining with musical accompaniment. Definitely after the meal a greek coffee in the kafenion enjoy. Fun!

  • Service
    6.0

    The friendliness and attention of all employees in the Cactus Royal is worth mentioning. Such friendly staff, we have rarely experienced. Very large compliments! Almost everyone spoke german, which we do not expected. We stayed at the day of arrival a room checked in, which later than for us not so optimal turned out. At the reception one had us immediately another room shown, which our thinking better and we could still on the same day to move to another room.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The pool area is really nice. As it is on the whole hotel area there were enough pool chairs there, we understand the moanings around the reserved beach chairs. We find it but also a bad habit, the beach chairs to block and only in the afternoon at the pool end. Beach chairs and umbrellas were of good quality. Towels can borrowed and spa all 2 days were changed. So all 2-3 days evenings in the bar area a light musical entertainment.

  • Hotel
    5.0

    The hotel was in all areas already extensively described. We can confirm, that condition and cleanliness of the rooms are good. During our stay there was no complaints at all. Only on the whole island existing please, no toilett paper in the toilet to dispose of, we found very hard to get used to and a bit disgusting. But that is because of the cretan kanalsystems and the narrow pipes apparently and not the fault of the hotel. The guests were mainly from Germany and a couple from Holland, France, Switzerland and Russia. All the 5 star resort in accordance with behavior.

  • Location
    3.0

    We were in about 40 minutes from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is a little on the outskirts of Stalis. This place is not our case. Completely touristy and bars, souvenir shops and similar flooded. It was our first visit to Crete and if we go back Crete there, we know now, in which direction we are on the island must be geared, a beautiful resort to find. Quite different the hotel was a real resting point in this tourist place. One enters the hotel, one feels immediately well and relaxed. You can hear a bit of the road and the architecture of the area adds. A wonderful garden, which is very well-kept and a great pool area. One runs about 10 minutes to the main street, where the bus stops toward the Heraklion and agios nicolaos are. In about 30 minutes can walk to the next town Malia walk. But it was still worse than Stalis, so you can save money. The beach is very narrow and overcrowded with beach chairs, umbrellas and people. Unfortunately the beaches are Stalis not so, that you take a walk along the beach could be.

Close
Raphaela
Relaxed and relaxing holidays
  • Recommended hotel
  • Couples
  • Translated
  • Beach holiday
  • September 2013
The hotel has about 180 rooms, in several small buildings, in the greek style. Looks very nice. Cleanliness and hygiene was good, had no problems, the rooms were made freshly every day, the floor cleaned. The hotel can only be booked all inclusive are, but it was worth it fully and completely. Families had it rather little, they came in very handy, the guests were rather older (30-...) It was a very quiet atmosphere. The hotel has it's own spa area, which was worth it to visit, is really very nice and relaxing. read hotel review
  • Room
    6.0

    As we changed rooms, (as we are not on the ground floor to live wanted) we could two different see. Both were very nicely furnished, with a double bed, balcony/terrace, tv, minibar, 2 telephones, air conditioning. Bathroom with toilet, shower and sink, was totally enough.

  • Gastronomy
    6.0

    In the hotel there was a main restaurant, which was extremely nice is, in the evening always a different theme (for example, chinese, greek, international, and so on.) Cooked. There is an elegant restaurant, which serves à la carte, once you can with a coupon, which one with the check-in, free food, then you will have to pay. We have just the gift coupon and it was very worth it. Then it has two bars, which different open and different cards offer, both mega super. And then there was a small 'coffee houses', which in the evening open, which greek specialities, very cool. The food was very nice, we are very picky eater, but there was nothing to complain about. Always large buffet, in the morning, at noon and in the evening.

  • Service
    6.0

    All the people who work at the hotel are very friendly, from the hotel fachangestellten to the cleaning staff. Many speak german and english, longer speak we had not. :-) The room was made always beautifully clean. About the handling of complaints, it runs also mega great, we wanted to change the room, because we don't like on the ground floor and were able to get a day later in another room school, without large something was said. Mega great.

  • Sport & Leisure
    6.0

    The hotel sets especially want peace and relaxation, you could really good to relax, we were not such club hotel bucher, so we selected this hotel and it was very good for us and we were really turned off by the hardline, hectic work schedule. During the day there was no entertainment, luckily! In the evening, there was entertainment, for example greek music, magicians, greek dances... We are no pool bader, were never there, but it looked very nice. It was at the pool, many beach chairs with umbrellas and distributed in the hotel area, for the quieter, private wanted.

  • Hotel
    6.0

    The hotel has about 180 rooms, in several small buildings, in the greek style. Looks very nice. Cleanliness and hygiene was good, had no problems, the rooms were made freshly every day, the floor cleaned. The hotel can only be booked all inclusive are, but it was worth it fully and completely. Families had it rather little, they came in very handy, the guests were rather older (30-...) It was a very quiet atmosphere. The hotel has it's own spa area, which was worth it to visit, is really very nice and relaxing.

  • Location
    6.0

    The distance to the beach are somewhat 2 minutes walking minutes, across the street and you're at the beach. With the car we had about 45 minutes from the airport, however, as he always other people in other hotels set off had. The next larger town, Malia, is about 35-minute walk away, but you can everywhere, if you like quads, if it too long to walk. If you these but didn't want to, it has plenty of tavernas, restaurants, clothes stores, souvenir shops around the hotel, completely sufficient. Super

Close
1 3 4 5 ... 18